Honda Vezel – new name and turbo engine for USA?

The Honda Vezel compact crossover has just gone on sale in Japan last week (see our mega gallery of the baby CR-V here, or a live gallery from its global unveiling at the Tokyo Motor Show here). If you think that the name doesn’t sound quite right, well, you’re not alone. Honda has confirmed that the Vezel name will not make its way Stateside.

When it does arrive in the US of A in the second half of 2014, the third-generation Honda Jazz/Fit-based soft-roader will carry a different, yet-unnannounced name. What’s under the hood will be tailored for American consumption too, the vehicle’s Chief Designer Yoshiharu Itai told Autonews USA.

At launch, only the base 131 PS 1.5 litre engine will be offered. Japan’s 152 PS hybrid variant won’t make an appearance, but the recently-announced direct-injection 1.5 litre VTEC TURBO unit is being considered for the American market. Its closest rivals, the Buick Encore (a rebadged Opel Mokka) and Nissan Juke, both have small-capacity turbocharged engines.

The Honda Vezel (or whatever it will be called outside of Japan) is currently being considered for a Malaysian introduction. What would be your preferred engine choice above the standard 1.5 litre variant – a hybrid that promises 27 km/l or a higher-performance VTEC TURBO version?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• civicz on Dec 23, 2013 at 4:02 pm

a serious X5 and porsche cayenne contender. up untill now no sedan can match powerful vtec engine. king of the road – honda civic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 70
    • Fahmi on Dec 23, 2013 at 4:13 pm

Competes with Porsche Cayenne and BMW X5??? Hey, are you mad? This competes with Nissan Juke, Ford Ecosport and Peugeot 2008.. No one can catch Honda Civic? Come on, the world is moving fast, as legendary as it is, N/A VTEC is a thing of past..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 7
      • BMW Fanboi on Dec 23, 2013 at 4:26 pm

^ how I spot a kimchi fanboi for dummies

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 30
        • Sam Loo 2 on Dec 23, 2013 at 5:23 pm

This Vezel is the King of compact SUV,and high RV also.Not like the Sui Kuan Euro Junk like Cayenne,2008,Ecosport X5.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 14
    • are u on drugs???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • sivik on Dec 23, 2013 at 5:16 pm

serious X5 & cayenne contender? hehe.i like u bro. u r my idol now.

• Turbo_Ridera on Dec 23, 2013 at 5:31 pm

even the new civic 2.0 lose with cerato 2.0
      dont believe it,watch paultan’s video on youtube
      civic 2.0 vs cerato 2.0 vs focus 2.0

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
      • namanama on Dec 24, 2013 at 10:57 am

cerato can swim and fly.you know?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
      • squidward on Dec 24, 2013 at 11:27 am

Are you watch the show entirely?Cerato has a most bad handling over two rivals.And hell lots of problem that KIA cant resolve.The car wont start (not even crank),ECU problem,bushes worn out,knocking steering rack.Good luck with your cerato!

• Turbo_Ridera on Dec 25, 2013 at 10:49 pm

i know cerato had bad handling.btw i say cerato’s performance is more horsepower than honda’s i-vtec.i hope honda will bring back their old big v-tec engine.p/s I DIDNT OWN CERATO

• klagang on Dec 23, 2013 at 4:08 pm

Hopefully Q4 2014 can be launched in Malaysia at the below RM100k price range to contend with Toyota Rush. Although that seems a bit too good to be true.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
  • Fahmi on Dec 23, 2013 at 4:15 pm

Wonder how much it will be priced in Malaysia.. Hope that it is priced no more than Civic here…

• looks like u hv been buried in a tomb in the vtec temple for 30 years and just woke up…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • iluvhonla on Dec 23, 2013 at 4:43 pm

Please equip with at least four air bags and vsa. Below 100k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Greyson on Dec 23, 2013 at 4:49 pm

Obviously u cant compare this with X5 and Cayenne. This aint a Range Rover. This one more likely to have fight with the one and only Toyota Rush and the upcoming Ford EcoSport. VTEC Turbo sounds delicious.. maybe Honda Malaysia can bring in the Turbo and Hybrid… CHOICES!!

• heng lee on Dec 23, 2013 at 4:51 pm

i think it will be priced close to the Civic. hope the turbo comes true

• i need a crossover on Dec 23, 2013 at 4:56 pm

Please bring in this car and the sooner the better…am under a gridlock of 2008 or ford ecosports. with honda’s vezel, there’s no need for options ;) 1.5 will do just fine.. and hopefully priced between 100-120k ;)

• seancorr on Dec 23, 2013 at 4:57 pm

The Turbo engine is of course the best option here but it will definitely bring up the price so the hybrid is the option here for Honda Malaysia to receive gov’t incentives and in turn offer it at a lower price to compete with say….the Toyota Rush and Ford Ecosport?

Honda Malaysia can also bring in the standard 1.5 and put it under the hybrid model as how it did with the Jazz?

• Sahipul on Dec 23, 2013 at 5:03 pm

I’ll vote for the hybrid model!

• Aravind on Dec 23, 2013 at 5:19 pm

If they are bringing in the turbo, make sure it is the 1.0 L turbo and not the 1.5 L one. It’ll be better on the taxes and better for fuel economy (considering the unstable prices at the petrol pump).

If not, bring in the hybrid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • azrai on Dec 23, 2013 at 5:21 pm

Yes, Honda designer manage to ‘kowtim’ with SsangYong OEM to supply the tailgate lamp. :-) http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/8/8a/SsangYong_Kyron_rear_20090423.jpg

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • Heng Lee on Dec 23, 2013 at 6:10 pm

It’s time that Honda follows Proton and offers turbo engines in Malaysia.

• motorhead on Dec 23, 2013 at 6:15 pm

I hold any car purchase for this one. Just bring it. Price nicely.. CKD konfem sell like pisang goreng.

• Kohster on Dec 23, 2013 at 7:07 pm

The 1.5 liter Turbo would be a very nice power plant for this car.

• Leon Loke on Dec 23, 2013 at 7:14 pm

Paul testing water for Honda….which one is the preferred one? Hybrid would be more comtitive price….if looking at pricing factor …Hybrid will be selected. Probably turbo will be costing RM15000 more

• My vote is for the hybrid version; better FC and lower pricing with the hybrid tax exemption. This will give Honda the advantage over all the other competitors in the same segment.

• vezelfanboy on Dec 23, 2013 at 7:30 pm

Let’s make thing realistic… if follow Freed (sharing most of current JaZz platform) pricing… the Vezel should priced in region of RM100k to RM110K.

Vezel should be placed below class below CRV then shouldn’t compare with Mazda CX5.

• heybadigol on Dec 23, 2013 at 8:42 pm

Lucky Americans, they are gonna get the new Honda 1.5 (or 1.0 turbo) first in the world. Japan (JDM) has to make do with a hybrid drivetrain for more power & torque. And while at it, please give the Civic and Accord turbo engines as well. Then, I will faithfully lust for a Honda again.

• Artic on Dec 23, 2013 at 8:52 pm

Turbo spec, VSA,5 speed paddle shift, 4 airbags (at least).. @ rm105k

• Paul,

Since you are asking on behalf of Honda Malaysia: Turbo Version please.

• t2357s on Dec 23, 2013 at 10:37 pm

Get the basics right first Honda. Safety number 1. 6 airbags plus VSA, EBD, etc. The think Turbo or Hybrid. If you can’t beat Proton on the basics, just tapau and rebadge everything to Proton.

• the price most probably RM140k an above.. thts for sure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • In Thailand, this will be launched around Q4 2014 by new Honda’s factory on the east of Thailand. In some countries, the name may changed to CR-U.

• Please bring in Hybrid SUV..

• jackson on Dec 24, 2013 at 6:31 pm

1.5 engine.
    RM85k price.

Just because it’s an SUV doesnt mean it has to be priced higher. It is a Jazz on stilts for goodness sake.

• jstan on Dec 27, 2013 at 4:49 pm

I’m of the opinion that Honda should bring in 3 models to Malaysia and use it to rejuvenate the core strength of the brand. Quite sure it is going to be a winner if Honda offer variance of a base 1.5l base, 1.5 hybrid and top of the line ivtec turbo(make sure it is very powerful and efficient). These car will definitely capture the young and the middle age syndrome professionals imagination. Hope that you win again Honda!!!!

• TURBO please!!!