VIDEOS: Mercedes vs Jaguar – a very public cat fight

For those caught working at this end-of-year festive season, here’s something to lighten your mood a little. Mercedes vs Jaguar. No, this is not another round of Driven Web Series shootout, but a lighthearted jab at each other between two of the world’s most well-known luxury car makers. They’ve got a sense of humour after all!

It all started innocently enough, with Mercedes-Benz releasing a funny TV commercial promoting the new W222 S-Class‘ Magic Body Control feature using chickens. Yes, you read that right; chickens. Watch the first video above to see what it’s all about.

Shortly after, Jaguar released its own version of the same ad. The Coventry-based company’s put its own unique spin into the ingenious video, which it titles – less than imaginatively, we must add – “Jaguar vs Chicken.” Suddenly it’s all Germany vs Britain (or is it Indian now?) again.

But, not one to walk away from confrontations, no matter how silly, Mercedes-Benz has issued Jaguar a reply on its official Facebook page. The image below speaks for itself, doesn’t it? So who do you think has won this cat fight? Thoughts below.

Mercedes_vs_Jaguar

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• sam69 on Dec 23, 2013 at 2:18 pm

wtf did i just watch?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
  • Hadi75 on Dec 23, 2013 at 2:21 pm

Hahaha….cool ad…

• kington on Dec 23, 2013 at 2:31 pm

Reminiscent of the old ad war between Audi and BMW.

• Yeah. Wondering when will Malaysian companies have this kind of ‘healthy’ competition. Because if this kind of thing done here, surely will involve saman here and there.

• damien on Dec 24, 2013 at 1:58 pm

it will never happen in Malaysia. we got code of advertising here lah bro.

• kington on Dec 24, 2013 at 4:19 pm

Of which you may see the Japs, Koreans and Europeans taking shots at Proton and Perodua..

• Dirirang on Dec 24, 2013 at 4:55 pm

There are no codes or ethics in advertising in Malaysia. That is why you get really unrealistic claims by advertisers here, unlike in the west.

• EnergyAnalyst on Dec 23, 2013 at 2:46 pm

LOL. this has really made my day !!! good one Jaguar!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
  • Makumbo on Dec 23, 2013 at 3:12 pm

It is a feeble attempt by Jaguar to ride on the fame of MB’s ingenious ad.
    The magic body control is a feature for top end sedans, where lithe handling is not of priority.

• Jinggo on Dec 23, 2013 at 3:15 pm

Jaguar > Merc
    Classic case:
    A CEO has been sacked by Chairman bcos the CEO own a Jaguar.
    p/s: The Chairman own a Merc..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 19
  • Mercedes wins. Their response to Jaguar was subtle, yet at the same time promoting their technology.

Jaguars video ad was just lame.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • LatukBandar on Dec 23, 2013 at 3:54 pm

Given a choice, I’ll choose Jaguar. Jaguar has the prestige, fame, class, style…

I can’t say which is more reliable and nicer to drive in. Don’t worry, I’ve started ‘Menabung sejak kecil’ and I think I get to own a jaguar in the near future.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
    • frenzyaustin on Dec 23, 2013 at 9:49 pm

S-Class has the technology, but the design just something not enough compare to the English classy looking car.

• magpie on Dec 23, 2013 at 4:01 pm

We want round 2!

• Proton management must be having meeting now for their own ads to counter all these nonsense. How can these 2 not respecting Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
  • budlee on Dec 23, 2013 at 5:18 pm

lol…. love it…

• farghmee on Dec 23, 2013 at 6:13 pm

macam iklan henpon LG(?).

• zamer on Dec 23, 2013 at 8:57 pm

i love the jag more..it projects someone who are sharp and precise.
    mercedes is all about money.

• ahmadfaris93 on Dec 23, 2013 at 10:49 pm

Mercedes all the way ! Merc’s advert was way more creative and Jaguar looks a bit desperate there and not as classy as the Jaguar I know.

• Jilbaber on Dec 24, 2013 at 6:53 am

It Mercedes for the winner..just admit it Jag, your glory is the thing of the past..

• budak subang jaya mmg ada gaya on Dec 24, 2013 at 8:42 am

if compare second hand value in malaysia, for sure Mercedes will lead Jaguar.

• ajo haterz on Dec 26, 2013 at 2:49 pm

hahahaha…good one

I want 2nd round…..