Malaysia hosts Kia’s Regional Skill World Cup 2013, Optima K5 facelift launching in January 2014

kia-world-cup

Naza Kia recently hosted Kia’s Regional Skill World Cup 2013, the fourth time in a row it has done so. The Regional Skill World Cup is a bi-annual event organised by Kia Motors for its technicians. Participating countries include Malaysia, Singapore, Indonesia, Thailand, the Philippines, Brunei and Vietnam.

Huong Nguyen Xuan from Vietnam won the challenge, beating Mohd Yusri Yahya from Malaysia and Indonesian Nurhidayat. The winner will be heading to the Kia World Skill Cup in Korea in June 2014, where six regional winners will battle to be the champ.

Besides a written test, participants had to troubleshoot and rectify engine, transmission, electrical and chassis problems on an actual vehicle. The contest took place at Kia’s 8,245 sq.ft. Overseas Training Centre (OTC) in Setapak, one of only five such centres in the world – America, Germany, Ukraine and Dubai are the other OTC locations.

Kia_Optima_facelift_IIMS_ 001

“OTC Malaysia has been an invaluable tool as it helps Kia technicians to improve their skills and knowledge. Hence, we are embarking on a global aftersales standard by introducing the Family-Like Care plus (FLC+) Programme as our long-term commitment to customer satisfaction,” said Roshdy Hassan, GM of operations at Naza Kia.

FLC+ is available at all Kia outlets in Malaysia. It includes three compulsory services – free multi-point inspection, new vehicle handover (service advisor to explain technical aspects of the car to new owners) and free car wash for serviced cars.

What’s in store for 2014? Product wise, Naza Kia will hit the ground running with the launch of the facelifted Optima K5 in January (already shown at IIMS in September and spied at JPJ in November), with the Cerato Koup also on the cards. The 2014 FIFA World Cup will be happening next year in Brazil, and as an official partner of the tournament, Malaysians can expect football-themed activities from Naza Kia.

Kia Optima K5 facelift spied at JPJ

Kia Optima K5 facelift at IIMS 2013

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• ZephyrLock on Dec 24, 2013 at 5:18 pm

I love all of Kia’s designs, all of them looks stunning at first sight. But for some reason they just look plain after awhile..
    It’s still a great looking car, but it just loses it’s dazzle over time..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 13
    • Sorchai on Dec 24, 2013 at 7:04 pm

Yup…I agree with you. Kia’s look stunning at first sight but look plain after a while.

T…look shocking because same look. After awhile…Still same look. Two generation a while…Same look. Last I checked…same look.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
      • Sam Loo 2 on Dec 24, 2013 at 8:10 pm

Rotten cabbage design will looks plain after 1 to 2 months,and RV of course will drop like hell.Want a car?Its Toyota Camry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 38
        • Som Lee on Dec 25, 2013 at 3:34 am

“helps Kia technicians to improve their skills and knowledge”

Toyota technicians don’t have to improve their skills. They can ask their grandfathers as Toyota technology didn’t change over the centuries.

Buy a Camry!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
          • Samloosupporter on Dec 25, 2013 at 12:28 pm

Support sam comment on RV . Itis wise to go for high RV car
            www.facebook.com/SamLooRV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
          • Camry big failure. K5 eaten so much of a share, Salesman like Sam Loo takut like hell. Bodoh the UMW salesman. All no otak. Come online to spread rumours, now backfire. All forum and nettizens ANGRY ANGRY ANGRY with Toyota name. They know what the Toyota salesman game plan. Lagi orang pergi beli Honda and Kia and hyundai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
          • Gitu je on Dec 26, 2013 at 10:51 am

I see the girl I stim la. What a solid ah moi.

• whattanow on Dec 25, 2013 at 1:53 am

This is a visual mystery to me as well. I can look at hundreds of Myvi on the road for everyday but seeing more than once or twice in a day a Kia Optima just makes me wonder what kind of spell did Kia designers got themselves into. Poor Kia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
    • sam69 on Dec 26, 2013 at 1:17 pm

That’s why I regret like hell 3 months after getting the K5

• Sam Loo on Dec 24, 2013 at 5:55 pm

I love the hailat look on the owners face when they do not even get to be shown the Hilux but a couple of broomsticks instead

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 19
    • sam69 on Dec 26, 2013 at 9:44 am

Put camri and k5 side by side.Your camri can turn invisible yo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
  • What about the long due Carens??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • TIGER Q7 on Dec 24, 2013 at 6:12 pm

Kia Malaysia Needs GDI turbo charged engine in order to boost sales,same goes to Sorento petrol GDI engine together with Diesel Turbo charged engines,dats only Kia Malaysia lacking behind to introduce Turbo charged engines,car designs of Kia are awesome and u ultimately think that it should be turbo charged engines but when dig inside its just Normal inspired engines and then mostly potential customers look for other brands.
    Moral of the story,we need TURBO CHARGE ENGINES,PLS KIA LISTEN TO CUSTOMER NEEDS

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • Contender on Dec 24, 2013 at 9:42 pm

GDI ? Our Euro2 diesel will just ruin the engine … and fasten the plunge in resale value of KIA which is already bad. Just take a look at diesel variants of even Merc and BMW in their 2nd hand prices …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
      • Then why hyundai launch their i40 sedan n tourer with GDI engine?

• contendernoob on Dec 25, 2013 at 7:08 pm

of course euro2 diesel will ruin gdi engine. you are supposed to put petrol in gdi engine not diesel.

• showyourmumyourhilux on Dec 26, 2013 at 10:36 pm

If you notice, there are plenty of other cars with GDI engine around us…ford focus, mazda skyactiv engine like cx-5, mazda 6, and most of the lately introduced german cars as well. So shouldn’t be any issue to have GDI engine here from Kia. and look at i40 also.

• sam69 on Dec 28, 2013 at 5:19 pm

KIA? Keep it Away.

Never again in my life

• PassingBy on Dec 24, 2013 at 6:37 pm

the front fog lamps looks like windows logo dont u think? bt overall it still looks way better that any current toyota cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • powershot on Dec 24, 2013 at 7:47 pm

or blackberry

• Sam Loo 2 on Dec 24, 2013 at 8:12 pm

Copycat rotten cabbage.Toyota Camry and Honda Accord still better than this Hailat car that cannot be trade in anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 35
      • JDMftw on Dec 29, 2013 at 12:01 pm

haiyaa no one buy the car how to buy second hand ?

of course got low RV, but also dont forget no SV (sale value)

• It’s an awesome looking car and is simply stunning on Malaysian looks. But to be honest, after my recent trip to its homeland, I’am kinda numb on the looks after seeing it almost every nooks and cranny. The pervasive presence of it on a Korean street sort of eclipse its charm, in fact, the most exciting I saw in Seoul was a FD Civic.

Not to say its bad look, its still an awesome car to look.
    (opinions may differ)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • Jibby on Dec 24, 2013 at 9:58 pm

be nice to me guys, i need overall opinion… since this article discuss about K5, it is somehow related. i’m planning to buy a new car sometimes in april 2014, an upgrade from my reliable 2008 accent (really it is reliable, trust me.. haha).. i’ve shortlisted few (don’t ask why). so which is my best bet on 1.engine reliability & fuel effeciency 2.handling 3.look (i don’t look into resale value, not gonna sale it on the next day anyway) which 1? cx-5/sportage/2014 k5/2014 sonata/civic 2.0?

• Green on Dec 25, 2013 at 12:45 pm

I see your budget = RM140k.

Get CRV- got promotion RM140k.
      Peace of mind @ Malaysia can flood anywhere.

engine reliability and FC.
      Take PRius RM137k.

Handling–Which car bad at highway?? all let u go steadily at least 140km/h.
      cornering??your car choice dont give great speeding cornering. All are heavy and bulky.. Please corner at slow speed.

Prius is World most reliabile vehicle despite it’s a hybrid car. 21km/L.

else, get a Civic Hybrid. I see you really FC-minded even though it’s RM100k+ car.

Hybrid is reliable, on the other side, Plug in hybrid is not reliable. Civic Hybrid is not plug in hybrid, Go Get 1.

Car Reliabilty Reference:
      Latest Brand Reliability report, October 2013
      http://autos.yahoo.com/news/consumer-reports%E2%80%99-car-reliability-survey-shows-japanese-brands-dominating–europeans-gaining-ground-165357824.html

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
      • Jibby on Dec 25, 2013 at 3:41 pm

thanks Green for your advice… But prius is not in my list… Forgot to tell u that boot size is one of the criteria.. Huhu… CRV was initially in the list but i think it does not have the look… I dont consider FC so much to an extend buying a prius… So i still only have those 5 as my options…

• Green on Dec 25, 2013 at 4:57 pm

considering you have been driving Hyundai Accent..

Speed may not be a high criteria.

Get yourself a Civic Hybrid then.
          It may not give you high acceleration. but there is high torque for low rpm. U can climb mountain easily with Hybrid Car.

FC not so much worry? jam at everyday situation, it does matter..
          Honda Civic Hybrid ~ 19km/L.
          others for city driving ~ 10km/L.

1. it save your monthly petrol expenses by 50%. Good bonus every month.
          2. it’s best value -> minimum tax paid to governement.
          3. Best NVH -> Electric Motor in Hybrid = 0 noise.
          4. ultimately, it allow your a better sound quality enjoying from your in-car entertainment too.

• Jibby on Dec 25, 2013 at 5:24 pm

hmm… thinking on what u said… i have a 6th option now… thanks.. will go for a test drive on that civic hybrid later..

• Sam Loo on Dec 31, 2013 at 9:41 am

If its Korean Brand, stay away at all cost

• Johny on Dec 24, 2013 at 10:28 pm

Hey Jibby, i like when you said (i don’t look into resale value, not gonna sale it on the next day anyway) You the man!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
    • illuminate on Dec 25, 2013 at 4:43 pm

sure Sam Loo gonna butthurt a lot kaw2! haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
    • Sam Loo on Jan 03, 2014 at 12:42 am

I used to say that many many years ago after receiving the first sarcastic remark 2 days after i drove my kimchi home.

“Don’t worry about resale value”

Have been cursing myself for walking into the Naza Kia showroom and getting conned by the Korean Cosmetics. Never Again

• Gegary on Dec 24, 2013 at 11:24 pm

One feature missing from our current K5? Ventilated front seats! The Singapore version has this, like in the Cerato. As paultan.org noted, the ventilated seats are awesome for our hot weather!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
    • Sam Loo on Dec 25, 2013 at 1:26 am

Kimchis can have gold plated door handles, but it will still have no RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 22
  • donny_k on Dec 25, 2013 at 10:19 pm

optima facelifted?
    do you freaking care?

i dont :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 26, 2013 at 8:47 am

Its like serving kimchi made of cabbages grown in Cameron Highlands instead of Jeju

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
  • sam69 on Dec 26, 2013 at 12:11 am

My new year resolution getting rid of my K5 appears doomed.

Sam still does not want my KIA, dem sian today, just been given a low RV remark by my Uncle. Have yet tell him that I can’t even get a trade in price

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 2
  • CowHead on Dec 26, 2013 at 10:39 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 124
  • mr zee on Dec 30, 2013 at 9:47 am

Do Proton R&D able to produce and compete with Korean? Proton R&D take so long time to develop new design, lastly they came out with Honda re-batch. What a Joke.