DRIVEN: Nissan Elgrand 3.5 V6 – all about comfort

nissan-elgrand-review-1

As you can see from the pictures, the Nissan Elgrand is a properly massive luxury MPV. To drive home the point of its girth, it is 1,815mm tall, 4,915mm long and 1,850mm wide. With a size that’s similar to a white rhino (I’m not joking, look it up), the Elgrand is always going to be an ungainly, graceless vehicle to drive.

Most certainly, the Elgrand doesn’t look athletic seeing that it does not have the form of a pouncing jungle cat that most vehicle have seem to adopt. But let’s not be shallow and allow the design to form unfound opinions. The design does have its practical uses, which I will get to later.

nissan-elgrand-review-3

Essentially, this two-tonne vehicle gets its momentum from a 3.5-litre V6 engine that produces 276hp and 344Nm of twist. Which gets sent to the front wheels though Nissan’s Xtronic CVT that gives you six speeds should you engage the manual interface.

It moves, yes, in a progressive manner till it hits 100kph and then builds more velocity from then on. So it is surprisingly easy to reach 150kph if you have the patience.

The Elgrand sails at speeds, like it is being wafted on cottony clouds. The last time I felt this desensitised was in the R-Class. You won’t feel the road of course, Nissan has ensured that front MacPherson struts and multilink rears disperse all nuances of the road. Which in turn is good for the passengers, they won’t have the slightest hint of the kind of road they are travelling on.

nissan-elgrand-review-15

Happiest on the highway, mild discomfort on the B-roads. Ah yes, the inevitable snaking back roads that many must traverse in order to go back home. Nope, the Elgrand isn’t bad here. Body roll is adequately restrained and understeer is tamed, simply because you’re not going fast around the bends, you can’t.

You’ll lose every bit of speed at braking before a corner, the nose dips at hard braking. And there isn’t enough muscle in the engine to give this MPV significant acceleration for the escape. What’s more, the steering is kept detached from the road and isn’t as quick nor immediate.

Then again, the nanny system are always on over-zealous mode. It has nothing fancy, just ABS with EBD and BA as well as Vehicle Dynamic Control, which is really stability control with a jazzy name. But the system is always too stringent, applying brakes and cutting speed at the most inappropriate times coming out from a corner into a steep hill. Then again, the MPV was never made for an exciting drive.

nissan-elgrand-review-7

The Elgrand’s sole purpose is to move people in luxury. The interior is appropriately appointed. All seats are wrapped in leather; brown in colour to match the dark wood accents.

The only gripe here are the plastics, which doesn’t seem to fit the whole theme of the interior. And there are a few switches in here that feels like it’s taken from a lower budget car. Nonetheless, the MPV is comfortable.

It has a wheelbase of 3,000mm that fits seven adults in a two-two-three configuration. You climb into the driver’s seat and sit tall. The dashboard layout isn’t very exciting to look at but it has all the amenities, and then some. There’s a lot of space here so you sit far from the front passenger, who will be seated in much comfort.

nissan-elgrand-review-18

Notably, the second row seats are individual captain seats, which leaves an aisle open for people to leisurely hobble to the rear bench. Needless to say, even when fully occupied, the Elgrand offers ample head, shoulder and leg rooms.

And there’s space leftover at the back to store things like shopping and grocery. It even fits luggage for the weekend, if one knows how to pack properly and use the space under the floor of the boot, which is quite hidden. One can even fold the rear seats if you need the space to transport a king sized mattress or two.

nissan-elgrand-review-17

Should you find yourself on a long drive and have to calm the rear passengers, there’s a DVD player up front that projects onto a roof mounted 11-inch LCD monitor that’s fixed just behind the driver’s head.

It comes with a pair of wireless headphones too so you don’t disturb the people around you while watching the screen. It really increases the exclusivity and privilege of being a passenger in the Elgrand.

Honestly, this is one vehicle that I do not mind stretching out in the back seat. In fact, I insist that someone else take over the wheel. Because with the Elgrand, it makes much more sense to have a chauffeur behind the wheel and you being driven around town.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• Johntan on Dec 24, 2013 at 11:22 am

Vellfire better than this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 47
    • consrito on Dec 24, 2013 at 2:26 pm

No bro! Sam Loo’s Hilux way better than Elgrand and Vellfire!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 6
      • I thought my KE20 is better.

• Company bodoh. Into big cc car. Sure to fail. Chinaman in ETCM got brains in their buntot.

• Gitu je on Dec 26, 2013 at 10:54 am

Bahlul betul, now minyak naik, electrik naik, toll naik, rakyat all down sizing. All going smaller. All MPV doomed. Tan Chong market research team I think are Utim or Mara graduates.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
      • Sam Loo on Dec 26, 2013 at 2:26 pm

True story, I just got an accident recently my car spin 360 and flip over 69 times along Jalan Hailat. I’m in terrible condition now, i’m using 1 finger to type now. I should have listen to you bro, never buy sorhai Toyoita because they don’t care bout your freaking life, with just 2 airbag & no VSC. In my next life, I will definitely get a KIA. Toiyota is just for Sorhai Tai Lan Ngong. I will RIP, this will be my last word in paultan.org. Sekian kthxbai.

• i love you Sam on Dec 27, 2013 at 3:47 pm

poor sam loo.. i enjoy your sarcasm alot.. kbai..have a RIP..

• Leesiowloong on Dec 24, 2013 at 11:26 am

If 2.4 vellfire better than elgrand2.5.but is elgrand 3.5 is the most excellent Mpv than other.y I know ? Cause I a owner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 8
    • sonyman on Dec 24, 2013 at 8:14 pm

respect for an elgrand owner. at least you got taste.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
    • Fariq on Dec 26, 2013 at 3:29 pm

What sonyman said. I’d go for an Elgrand over the Alphard/Vellfire on any given day.

• Sam Loo 2 on Dec 24, 2013 at 11:40 am

This sushi is like Toyota Alphard/Vellfire and Honda Elysion,got RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 15
    • Do u still has secondhand kia rio price around RM35k?..u said previously kia RV will drop 50%

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
    • Sam Loo on Dec 24, 2013 at 6:04 pm

If its a sushi, it will have great RV
      As long as its not a kimchi, it will have some RV
      If its a KIA, consider driving it into Klang River

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
  • Carnut on Dec 24, 2013 at 11:49 am

This kind of car are made to be driven in for sure. Pls do a review of the new Odyssey. Will be interesting to see how it compares to the previous model. Or do a shoot out between the Previa and Odyssey since both are sold locally now.

• dont forget to add the Sharan too in the equation…Previa/sharan/Odyssey comparison will be great..all have sliding doors full size mpv

• dugong on Dec 26, 2013 at 12:25 am

I find it funny when i see alot of ppl buy mpvs like alphard/vellfire to ferry their maid around. Can’t afford a driver better don’t buy.

• heybadigol on Dec 24, 2013 at 11:51 am

I must be in the minority, cos I think this is a fantastic looking MPV (though I prefer the previos gen low slung Honda Odyssey – but that belongs to the “lower” luxury MPV market). The Elgrand looks better than Alphard/Velfire, and will make you stand out from the sea of Alphards. You just have to see it in the flesh, and especially in black colour. Amazing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • Hyundai De La Junk on Dec 24, 2013 at 11:55 am

Vellfire ??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • how does it fair againsts its rivals: vellfire, odyssey?
    never the less good article on an ‘untouched’ vehicle.

• not-my-name on Dec 24, 2013 at 12:32 pm

The Sport rim design 90% look alike Exora Bold. He3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
  • Raptor on Dec 24, 2013 at 3:17 pm

“it is surprisingly easy to reach 150kph if you have the patience.”

hmmm… not sure what to make of this sentence.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • azhar on Dec 24, 2013 at 3:24 pm

no radio control button on steering in this so called luxury MPV?..WTH??!!

• shawal on Dec 24, 2013 at 5:13 pm

oddly…theres no price to be found

• Heng Lee on Dec 24, 2013 at 7:27 pm

Same design as GT-R

• Johny on Dec 24, 2013 at 10:33 pm

why not put GTR35 engine to this MPV? heheehe…. sure got ppl buy?

• Adaptyourreview on Dec 25, 2013 at 4:42 pm

Why do your first part of the article review this car as if it is a poorly made sports car? I bet you’ll do the same kind of review even if you were given a locomotive to review.

• letstorque on Dec 26, 2013 at 12:18 am

Agree.
      The writer must write in context of the vehicle.
      Same bad article as those Ford Ranger T6 review.

As if all vehicles on the road must be sports cars.
      Wake up. Get in touch with reality.

Writers, make yourself useful by writing article that help real prospective buyers buy real practical vehicle with their hard-earned money.
      Cause most of us are married by the time can afford RM100k-plus cars, and family in mind.

• i love you Sam Loo on Dec 27, 2013 at 3:48 pm

this car looks spacious and nice..

• cheah on May 11, 2014 at 7:21 pm

mazda biante is even better

• E51 a better bet. Rear wheel drive and faster