Proton P2-30A Global Small Car – now, a rear sketch

Proton GSC rear illustration
Click to enlarge.

You’ve seen the illustration of the Proton P2-30A Global Small Car that Theophilus Chin has come up with, based on the spyshots of the hatchback we’ve managed to catch thus far. Now, Theo has come up with a rear quarter sketch, again based on the outlines offered by a particular spyshot.

The rear looks rather familiar – the general outline is reminiscent of that of the second-generation Fiat Punto, the 188. The illustration continues on with the alloy wheel design and side window profile interpretation seen as before, with the frontal take.

Expect there to be plenty more views of the GSC in disguise and on test in the first quarter of 2014 – it’s due to be out by mid-year, but word on the grapevine suggests the possibility of a early Q2 debut. In the meantime, here’s a recap of the spyshots so far of the car.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• iluvproton on Dec 24, 2013 at 12:19 pm

It is uglier than savvy…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 73
    • nausea on Dec 24, 2013 at 12:37 pm

This is just the sketch…..wait till you see the real thing, you’ll vomit!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 23
      • Low Budget on Dec 24, 2013 at 1:58 pm

At 1st, you may hate it for her ugliness, who knows, later you might fall in love with her internal beauty.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 13
      • What a junk. Sure to fail like Satria and Tiara. Proton is king of failures eg Arena, Juara, Savvy etc. Bodoh the designers. All our income tax money used for thier R&D. Kita bayar. Rakyat bayar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 31
    • OMG…The rear remind me the old Kia i30…Come on..creative lah…nak copy…copy new design lah..puihhh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 46
      • have you heard the word SKETCH before!!!

• Gitu je on Dec 26, 2013 at 10:56 am

Better call this Global Shit Car. GSC. How to challenge good cars like the Picanto and Honda Jazz?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
          • lingishan on Jun 03, 2014 at 12:11 pm

stupid designers…. satria and perdana is the only cars that brimg satisfaction.the others are just like a box fitted with some systems. mazda lagi baik

• breaL on Dec 25, 2013 at 11:52 pm

ur most likely mean hyundai i20 cuz theres no such thing as kia i30

• Global Stupid Car on Dec 24, 2013 at 2:15 pm

Ha Ha Ha Proton GSC trying hard to become 1-Series of Asia…kesian.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 47
    • OMG….Again GSC – “Gana Sai Car” (in hokkien) lol…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 21
    • abuya123 on Dec 24, 2013 at 6:22 pm

Buruk! Hope yang actual cantik. Sudah2 lah bongok masa zaman Savvy. Jgn tambah bongok tu lagi.

Savvy is failure. Dont make this also failure

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 23
  • Apparently.
    Proton using Hyundai i10 and Kia Picanto as a benchmark to produce GSC.

just like taking Forte to produce Preve.

For Rakyat Car…
    At least fullfill Quality. Not quantity.

So many educated people in the world. most educated people would prefer Quality over Quantity.

@Proton R3 Biru.. u think a Bliss is very cool?? ok, that may be cool. but that’s a bonus.

Main Selling Point for a car = Quality FC, price accordingly to size.

Give us Honda Engine. Then your car is worth RM40k and can competed globally.

Campro? See what Australian saying about Proton.
    They take Proton as a newbie, even though Proton already 20 years. They take Proton on par as China Quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 15
    • nausea on Dec 24, 2013 at 12:39 pm

40k?!….20k is more like it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 22
      • DatukPa on Dec 24, 2013 at 3:39 pm

Saga SV so big.
        RM33k and RM38k auto.

this car so small..
        RM22k manual and RM25k Auto la~

high spec campro??
        considering high spec is always lower sales.
        Proton can price RM30k..

Proton Must Remember:
        Small car–> Cheap Car.
        Cheap Car –> GREAT SALES.

else, business marketing fail already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
        • below rm25k lah. smaller than saga flx. and i think the engine also smaller. if more than rm25k, good luck p1 with that

• free guy on Dec 26, 2013 at 10:31 am

so myvi should sell RM25k as well la??? wtf worst calculation ever

• Proton on par with Chinese car? … hahahaha …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
    • ongong on Dec 24, 2013 at 1:13 pm

u a right man, just like chinese prefer quality rather than quantity compared to other races

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 18
      • Low Budget on Dec 24, 2013 at 2:02 pm

Proron where got quantity? Only sold 100K plus units every year, but on the other hand, Proton ‘ada gaya’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
    • Bro/sis…this is third party sketch not by p1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
      • Actually the actual car is not far off from the picture above. I have seen it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
        • pirlo on Dec 24, 2013 at 4:09 pm

i really doubt that. please tell us how the rear light looks like during night. is it normal bulb? or LED type? if LED, does it be in horizontal like Preve or some specific shape. please.

• Hahahah … panic sh&t already. Trying to investigate if the design has been leaked out.

Tell you there’s nothing special about it .. so it doesn’t matter if it leaked out or not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
          • pirlo on Dec 25, 2013 at 7:47 am

nope. i do not give a damn whether it is leaked or not. i want to know how constructive and true your comment was. or you just gave a random talk. that’s all.
            HAHA!

• Proton Vendor on Dec 26, 2013 at 8:30 am

LED type. Trapezoid shape.

• Say Who? on Dec 24, 2013 at 11:30 pm

booo for amoiioma!!

• pirlo on Dec 25, 2013 at 4:04 pm

ioma/amoi is a fasiq person. know what fasiq means?

• naz64111 on Jan 02, 2014 at 3:06 pm

in ur dreams kot..hahahahaha

• DatukPa on Dec 24, 2013 at 3:35 pm

Quantity – so many features, got BLIS, got rain sensor..
      got so many airbags, got ESP, got Trac, got ABS, got EBD.
      got disk brake. GOT SV.

Quality -??? We dont say.

• ntah pa2 on Dec 24, 2013 at 12:53 pm

tolong lah design cantik2 skit..design dah mcm keta tahun 90an ja..kia rio design 10x cantik…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 15
    • Veneno on Dec 24, 2013 at 2:05 pm

tu baru sketch la.. kemungkinan untuk betul tu jauh lagi..

• Global Stupid Car on Dec 24, 2013 at 2:17 pm

Kalau masih hodoh jugak, you nak buat apa? Terjun sungai kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
        • bikers kental on Dec 24, 2013 at 4:05 pm

kalau masih hodoh, kau pedulik apa? beli je la myvi. apa susah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • Syazwan007 on Dec 24, 2013 at 1:07 pm

Am i the only one waiting for samloo to comment on this? :-p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • apekgoh on Dec 24, 2013 at 1:13 pm

at times i pity proton….their design is really yesteryear….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
    • Saga BeLum Masak on Dec 24, 2013 at 5:27 pm

Then tell me how to design for tomorrow? Once you have drawn it, it’s already yesterday…..

I doubt you also cannot do it….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • Yesteryear… Lol… I cant stop laughing…. You really made my day… Hahaha…

• yeehaaa on Dec 24, 2013 at 1:39 pm

waaaaaah Surpima S little brother :D

• nzain on Dec 24, 2013 at 2:37 pm

please dont so any sketches coz it look fugly…so badass than what we thought…juz wait till they’ll make some minor disguise

• better be as golf cart / buggy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • old dog on Dec 24, 2013 at 3:07 pm

spent all the money to have a savvy 2.0 mixed to be a Myvi wannbe?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • KenaPotongLagi on Dec 24, 2013 at 3:28 pm

Tak tak nak kena potong lagi. Sekali dah cukup…
    Yg tak pernah kena potong tu, jangan jangan fikir sekali pun jangan fikir…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • zapruder on Dec 24, 2013 at 3:35 pm

Haha.. majority of us Malaysian got this talent to look into the future.. too many Nujum Pak Belalang type. I’d prefer if we wait till the car comes out or at least the specs being officially revealed, then we can discuss or debate it.Don’t show to the world how shallow we all are..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • kadajawa on Dec 24, 2013 at 3:58 pm

Still wanna give chance for Proton to cheat you all over again?

Go visit nearest brain surgeon now OK!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 19
      • zapruder on Dec 24, 2013 at 4:13 pm

May I know how the proton cheat u?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
        • power window. Baru beli tak sampai setahun dah nak kene bukak pintu nak bayor tol, hahaha. Proton not only cheat me, but many proton customer have been cheated,. Soo shut up

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 22
          • VoidDance on Dec 24, 2013 at 5:32 pm

Current Proton line ups all got lifetime warranty for power window la. Go change it. I’ve seen even people driving BMW open their door to pay toll. Must be Malaysian mentality or something.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
          • Mr Blooms Nursery on Dec 24, 2013 at 6:34 pm

Power window? That is so yesterday. You drive Iswara eh? Or just got nothing to comment…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
      • cheating on Dec 24, 2013 at 4:15 pm

Other brands never cheats? The biggest hint.. toyolta..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
      • setiapaduka on Dec 24, 2013 at 4:30 pm

Can’t wait Toyota to produce car car below Rm 40 k so i can’t be cheated by proton. And don’t forget the specs should on par with latest proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
        • Heng Lee on Dec 24, 2013 at 5:49 pm

Then you can wait until the end of time…

• Green on Dec 24, 2013 at 7:38 pm

Perodua Viva 2014 aka Toyota Agya @ indonesia.
          1000cc for 20km/L.

20% FC improvement from previous.
          less then RM40k.

• toyota agya oso less safety equipment the highest spec oni 2 airbag no ba+abs+ebd, no tc and no vsa…price between RM29-31k

• if u want to include its twin daihatsu ayla lowest variant..no airbag, no seatbelt 2nd row, manual windows, of cource no vsa+tc+ba+abs+ebd, no AC!! no audio din n speaker!!…that for about RM20k
            the highest variant include all above accept safety equipment for about RM30k

• tiadaid on Dec 24, 2013 at 4:54 pm

I was cheated by Honda before (it would have been 10 years ago next March since I bought my old City). 2 GB failures – never again!

Surprisingly my current Proton is doing fine, when compared with the City at the same time period (almost 2 years)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
  • darkermarker on Dec 24, 2013 at 4:06 pm

I am very suspicious the designers from Proton are stuck in the retro 80′ world la….
    Design all so outdated ones….Ayoyoyo….

How la compete?? MAlaysian oso donwan Proton. Oversea market for this car surely TAK LAKU…

Pity proton…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
    • VoidDance on Dec 24, 2013 at 5:38 pm

I do not see any retro design in Theo’s sketch. Moulded side design is definitely new age as it was introduced by Chris Bangle during his BMW time and been tiru by almost all car manufacturer ever since. Even the wrap around rear design is somewhat new. Yes, this car is not quite good looking but to accused it as old 80s design is really lame.

Weird things is that on Theophilus website, this sketch received good review. Maybe a lot of people here cannot stand with Proton no matter how good it actually is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • ProtonTAK on Dec 24, 2013 at 5:15 pm

Since many people say TAK can we call this car PROTON TIDAK

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
  • Heng Lee on Dec 24, 2013 at 5:43 pm

I like the comments of P2/UMW salesmen here.
    They are already panicking before P2-30A is out… ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • mykar on Dec 24, 2013 at 5:58 pm

No quantity no quality but still alive, if other company bungkus already… keep it up proton

• tok_kok2 on Dec 24, 2013 at 6:16 pm

Global Small Car?
    Proton dunno the meaning of Global..
    looks more like Kampung Small Car to me…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
  • proton on Dec 24, 2013 at 7:15 pm

wow, impressive design! this design will boost sale for same segment car like Myvi. UGLY LIKE CHEAP CHEAP CAR

• albag on Dec 24, 2013 at 7:29 pm

why dont they just simply rebatch Kia/Hyundai hatchbacks easier… that’s what they do best~!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • come on la p1.. please built better car.. in UK those your car really hard to get 2/5 star rating.. if by overall 10, just 1+

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Just shut down Proton so that we can buy all makes of cars at decent cheap prices and superb quality. Not looking forward to any new Proton cars. Remember law of supply and demand, if there is no demand, Proton will find its ways to the grave yard soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 17
    • Stupid thinking, go create wealth, dun bullshit here laa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
      • Mubarakh on Dec 25, 2013 at 2:11 pm

Wow,.you hardcore supporter of the gomen willing to spend a lot of money for depreciating metal value. Proton has been robbing the people’s wealth. Think about it. People’s power, Najib will accede.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
        • haha…I believe you can change the world, keep trying k?

• Mubarakh on Dec 27, 2013 at 12:30 am

We can change the world if we stop submitting to this stupid agenda of producing our own cars with this incompetent Proton. Try to think how many years since 1985 since Proton has been around we are now behind Kia n Hyundai who started later. We just don’t have it and will not going to make it with current government policies. Stop kidding ourselves with Proton. Go back to the years pre-Proton when cars were cheap and affordable.

• pirlo on Dec 25, 2013 at 7:52 am

bro. confirm ke bila proton tutup, tax kereta pada kereta UMW toyota, honda melaka, kia gurun, vw pekan akan turun? confirm? (minus CBU model since got import tax)
      who can give us the confirmation that najib will abolish vehicle taxes when proton is shut down?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • Heng Lee on Dec 25, 2013 at 6:06 pm

Like in Denmark or Norway? Where people can buy high quality cars with 180% sales tax?

• This Proton GSC is not designed by Italdesign, it will not be as introvert, elegant and timeless as the Prevé/Suprima. Instead, it will look more extrovert, youthful and brash, or in other words, more Korean/American like.

Anyway, hold your horses people, the car hasn’t even launch yet, already wanna bash…. -__-

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • very American like??

since when American like small car?

their top 10 vehicle sales are all at least C-segment, D-segment to Truck.

• ANY-1 on Dec 26, 2013 at 11:30 am

i hear this gsc advisor is LG..

• Waja2004 on Dec 24, 2013 at 9:29 pm

Kena hitamkan border cermin belakang mcm dlm gambar baru tak nampak pelik sangat cermin belakang tu…Mcm dlm foto…

• NEIKO on Dec 24, 2013 at 9:45 pm

Hey a car that looks ugly to us Malaysians, will look Hot to Other Countries ie: UK, Germany , France ,and of Cause Italy ,Hey the Preve might look ugly to us but in UK and Germany They are quite fond of it yes they know How the Preve & Suprema looks and they say the preve looks like it was design in Europe than in Malaysia …..yes this is all very true …You can choose not to belive me but it is the truth .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
  • Waste of money!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
  • Hazrol on Dec 24, 2013 at 11:18 pm

Mitsu Colt design and platform. no doubt!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • LevelMinded on Dec 24, 2013 at 11:27 pm

Bashers will be bashers. I support P1 till this day. And I am very happy with my Exora Bold. I hope P1 keep improving. It’s already coming out of the dark ages of mismanagement and misdirection. Keep it up!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
  • oh…look at the tiny c pillar ≧◇≦

• Looks OK what? what is wrong with u people?
    Anything Proton produce, bash bash bash.
    Any idiots here think if proton die, u can get cheap toyota u can dream til u rot in hell la idiots.Thailand don have national car also tax is charged high almost like malaysia.

Plus, thats just the designer’s interpretation and ppl already bashing.

• bikers kental on Dec 25, 2013 at 4:09 pm

itu lah. siapa yang suruh proton & perodua tutup, boleh jamin BE-END (i would say najib & rosmah) akan abolish vehicle tax dan toyota, honda, bmw sama harga dengan US, UK? confirm? who can guarantee that?

• Not just bn…I doubt if pr takes over they could lower the tax for cars…plus, p1 or whatever car it is if u got the means to buy it pls do so. Why bother whether p1 produces any kind of car anyway? Our money, our choice. I don’t see people who drives an Audi gives a damn about p1. Chill people…

• anti body kit on Dec 26, 2013 at 12:21 am

Very tiring design overall. Stale look from the rear. No mojo. Second fiddle to Myvi.

• ANY-1 on Dec 26, 2013 at 11:35 am

no money to buy,don’t talk…. :P

• In my opinion, Tiara was beginning of a the downfall of Proton after the initial success with Saga, Iswara, Wira and to some extent Satria…Pls be careful not to create another downfall after working hard to restore yr image thru the new Saga and Preve. Exora not bad for its’ price too.

• proton indonesia on Dec 26, 2013 at 4:12 pm

lol kancil design is better than this~ come on proton mana designer korang? aku sebenarnya nak support kereta buatan malaysia tapi.. ye laa kan korang pon paham. xnak komen panjang2

• gOOsh on Dec 26, 2013 at 11:46 pm

overall, the design is not up to my expectation… proton can do better than this…
    hopefully, the actual is far better than this rendering… finger cross… :)

• customer on Dec 31, 2013 at 9:27 am

Proton kena ada kelebihan pada perkara2 lain yang bukan kualiti termasuk cost ownership kereta – termasuk harga kos kereta, harga maintenance part dan labour, enjin jimat minyak (bukan enjin performance) & kelebihan seperti safety 5 star dan kelebihan styling yang mesti melebihi at least toyota (on par with europe like volvo, volkswagen atau korea, kia sportage – stylign sahaja bukan semua feature) tapi yang paling penting adalah kos ownership disebabkan kos sara hidup yang tinggi di Malaysia. Boleh keluarkan 2 variant kereta iaitu kereta SV (yang feature/safety kurang) dan variant medium & high line (feature banyak). Ini tidak kos maintenance kereta proton agak mahal jugak…..mungkin proton boleh advertise on perbezaan maintenance untuk competitor dan kereta proton.

• What is the wheel size?

• naz64111 on Jan 02, 2014 at 3:00 pm

theo’s sketch is so bad, he only made it look sooooo fugly that others can bash it even before production start. i think we all should bash theo for bad impression instead lar..hahahaha

im a owner of honda city 2009. thinking of switching to this car after this..hopefully the safety aspect of this car is good though..is it possible to be the new proton hybrid eh paultan?

• bumippllol on Jan 06, 2014 at 2:25 am

hahahaha this time put a sakai on the radio to promote it

• solver on Jan 09, 2014 at 8:46 pm

PROTON….make a car design competition .. invite people that give negative view at proton…. Let’s what they get..