Chevrolet Colorado Muscle Edition going to Mid Valley roadshow – new Duramax engine, 6 M/T, MyLink

chevrolet-colorado-muscle-edition-1

It seems the 2014-update Chevrolet Colorado, which has already gone on sale in Thailand and Australia, will be called the Chevrolet Colorado Muscle Edition when it arrives in Malaysia.

The enhanced pick-up truck is set to be on display at a roadshow at Mid Valley Megamall’s Centre Court from January 3 to 5, when the order books will open. Ahead of that, distributor Naza Quest has let loose a brochure which divulges some info on equipment and spec.

Three variants of the Chevrolet Colorado Muscle Edition are mentioned – all 4WD: 2.5 LT manual, 2.8 LT manual and 2.8 LTZ auto. The range-topping 2.8 LTZ auto gets the new second-gen Duramax diesel engine and Chevy’s MyLink infotainment system; the 2.5 LT and 2.8 LT retain their respective 150 hp/350 Nm and 180 hp/440 Nm outputs, but get a new six-speed manual gearbox (previously five speeds).

The instrument panel Driver Information Centre (standard across the range) has also been enhanced with two new ‘pages’ – ECO Index shows you how fuel efficient your driving is, while Statistics displays average fuel consumption for the last 50 km in the form of a bar graph.

Click to enlarge.

Equipped with a variable-geometry turbo, the new Duramax unit produces 193 hp at 3,600 rpm and 500 Nm of torque at 2,000 rpm (up from 180 hp at 3,800 rpm and 470 Nm at 2,000 rpm previously).

This propels the 2.8 LTZ auto to 100 km/h from rest in 10 seconds and onwards to a 180 km/h top speed. Payload capability is quoted at 1,025 kg. Transmission continues to be handled by a six-speed auto.

Only offered on the 2.8 LTZ auto, the MyLink system brings with it a touch-screen, Bluetooth, USB and steering wheel controls that include voice control. The 2.8 LTZ auto also exclusively gets new safety features – Hill Descent Control, Hill Start Assist and Trailer Sway Control. Everything else seems to continue as is, in terms of specs. The final question is – how much?

Read our review of the Chevrolet Colorado pick-up truck.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• kadajawi on Dec 26, 2013 at 5:26 pm

Calling it muscle edition may be going a bit far, when you look at some of the more powerful trucks available in the US. Dodge RAM SRT-10, Ford Raptor, …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 42
  • Sam Loo on Dec 26, 2013 at 5:35 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 119
    • Hadi75 on Dec 26, 2013 at 6:47 pm

Yes hilux is the best…luxurious…advanced tech with 4 speed auto…best in class interior and safety features…..long live hilux the most advance 4×4 in the world….
      :p :p :p :p :p :p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 13
    • Psycho Sam on Dec 26, 2013 at 7:20 pm

YAWNnnn…!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • Hilux? How is a junk considered as luxury?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
    • mango on Dec 26, 2013 at 7:57 pm

Hahaha..u must b a joke..! Hilux more better?? Hahaha…what safety system do Hilux have? Aduiiii go back study first la before posting..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
    • philp lee on Dec 26, 2013 at 8:20 pm

I, myself driving a Toyota Hilux. Performance, interior, exterior and RV are enough and fine for me. But safety is not fine at all. Hilux has SVSC(Super Vehicle Stability Control) on board. The system controls 5 wheels including spare wheel when it loses traction. You get what I mean if you really understood my words. When you drive a hilux, you’ll feel it’s stable but actually it’s not. That’s is the reason why hilux are so fast on the road, and it get no control when something happens. You always talk about RV RV RV, you think RV is more important than your life?.. I suggest you not to waste your energy to talk about RV every times, but to tell TOYOTA MALAYSIA to equip HILUX with VSC! Alright?.. If hilux has VSC And I’m sure I’ll sell my current hilux with high RV to you. OK?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 4
    • Hilux for off-road is pretty good. But to say that it’s more luxurious, that’s pushing it. Have you been in a Hilux? Inside are the cheapest material that they can put in a vehicle.

If it’s just for work, off-road, then yeah, Hilux is a decent choice. But it’s definitely not luxury.

FYI, any pick-up would have low RV. Because people assumed that it have been off-roading, so there will be a lot of damage, especially to the suspension.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Screw the hilux’s rv. Alot of hilux drivers do nothing but hit and run other people’s cars. Above all that, the latest hilux’s are overrated.

• nicholasnhc on Dec 26, 2013 at 7:03 pm

Agree on Sam Loo, Chevrolet can’t beat Toyota in term of RV

Please accept the fact.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 40
  • TIGER 760LI on Dec 26, 2013 at 7:05 pm

Dis truck is awesome bez power of 3.2 litre n its capacity is 2.8litre(2.8 litre LTZ),now game is on dat how Naza gona use Sales strategies to boost dis truck sales (like free 3yrs service Parts n labour included, lowest interest rate, in range of competitive pricing, free accessories n so on n so forth).all depends on Naza now, bt I believe dat 2nd generation 2.8 litre engine is awesome bez chevrolet learn from weaknesses of 1st generation duramex engines.great job chevy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • Welcome it to malaysia, got more choice to choose. I will not buy it but good to see new tech comming in, for hilux i think they will update the engine after 2016.

• That will be far far away.. By the way, hilux is a market tester or low cost product but mark high in malaysia. If toyota really want to push its product to the max step. Why not tundra or tacoma to be launch here?

• Sam thui puii on Dec 26, 2013 at 7:36 pm

wow, a new ‘D-Max’?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • sepul on Dec 26, 2013 at 8:40 pm

Shouldn’t them Naza update the Cruze and Sonic with the MyLink system first? These are passenger cars, so I think such tech should be on these models first. Not to mention the Orlando.

The Sonic needs a stronger engine and both Cruze and Orlando needs the Ecotec turbo.

• As a Ford Ranger 3.2 XLT (M) owner, I’m least worried about this new Colorado.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
  • Scouser on Dec 27, 2013 at 12:44 am

i can safely bet that the price will not be less than 100k… malaysia boleh!

• Zhaf Owner of Colorado on Dec 27, 2013 at 5:01 pm

The best looking pickup truck in Malaysia, with the coolest interior and muscular exterior. You all should just go inside and see it from inside the Colorado then King of Toyota Hilux can go park side by side with this truck and ask any hot girls which one you ganna ride with? :) Plain and simple but ppl talking about Resale Value tend to change car every year or every new Toyota coming up from factory? Malaysia is full of rich people who drive Camry Only ;) hahaha

• sambalbabi on Dec 27, 2013 at 10:34 pm

i’m still waiting for these pick-ups to have rear brake disc. if prado or pajero have it, why can’t these pick-ups? safer and looks cooler too.

• Rokuth on Jan 08, 2014 at 5:35 pm

There is already a pick-up with rear disc brakes. It is the Ssangyong Actyon Sport. It’s even got rear coil springs like a SUV!

• variable geometry Turbo with 500Nm of torque

This is badass…. as true f**king badass

• hui8088 on Feb 23, 2014 at 9:08 pm

what is the price ? and when i coming out ? pls pm me if anuome know.. tq

• I prefer nissan titan. Strongest truck for me!!:D
    GMC sierra also not bad.

• yewipoh on May 12, 2014 at 5:58 pm

If Chevrolet Colorado improves on it noise
    insulation from the engine compartment, I think it can beat Hilux flat.

• charlz on Aug 22, 2014 at 1:44 pm

How can u compare a 3.0 A/T,generating only 343 nm torque,4 speed Hilux with a 2.8 LTZ, 470nm Torque, 6 SpeedA/T Duramax, equiped with Traction Control. Test drive the Colorado then talk.