DRIVEN: Volkswagen Beetle 1.2 TSI – reinvented again

volkswagen-beetle-12-tsi-review-8

Now here’s a car with a long history. Most cars I’ve tested have roots that stretch only till the 1960s. The Volkswagen Beetle started penning itself into the history books long before the Second World War was known as such. It was a simple car that could accommodate a family of four up to the Swiss Alps for a nice picnic. Much has changed since then.

The engine is now in front, the boot is at rear and the car is a stag beetle compared to the first generation’s lady bug. But unless you’re fortunate enough to have the first Beetle parked beside the third, you’ll never know. The round shell makes the car look smaller than its 4,278mm by 1,808mm by 1,468mm space the new Beetle occupies. Nevertheless, the general shape, which is still achievable with three circles, is still here. It is part of what made the Beetle instantly recognisable even without its nameplate.

volkswagen-beetle-12-tsi-review-10

That said, the new Beetle is not as round as the second generation New Beetle. Volkswagen has made the effort to delete all feminine connotations and replace that void with a good dose of sportiness. The bonnet of the third Bug is longer while the rear tapers off with less curves and the overhangs remain short, which are many nods to the first Beetle. The seats and the Beetle box are the other tributes paid to the Beetle the First. Continue the exterior tour and you’ll realise the door panels has similar characteristics to a wall, which result in the windows looking like it is being pinched.

No matter, once you’re in, you won’t feel the small windows or how large the door really is. You don’t so much as sit as you do perched on the driver’s seat. From here, the view afforded to you is adequate to judge where the Beetle’s snout is pointing at. Proximity sensors – front and rear – help plenty with tight manoeuvres, like navigating though a seemingly tight toll booth and haphazardly-planned parking lots.

volkswagen-beetle-12-tsi-review-23

The lack of floral embellishment is a welcome change. Do you really want flower power to make a come back? But other than the Beetle box and retro-looking seats, this is a modern Beetle and the interior possesses the arrangement of the current Volkswagen decor. However, the interior is plain and there isn’t much going on. The materials look and feel of the dashboard panels and door cards are suspiciously cut-price even if it is well-fixed in place. I have no beef with the leather seats.

Nope, no beef with the small engine also. In the Beetle’s range, the 1.2 TSI powerplant is the runt of the litter; the other sizes offered are the 1.4 TSI and 2.0 TSI. It’s light on fuel consumption and excretes small amounts of CO2 into the atmosphere. Underpowered, the runty engine isn’t but if you’re looking to win traffic light drag races, you’d better get used to losing. A lot.

volkswagen-beetle-12-tsi-review-13

Not that it takes off like a snail, Turbo notwithstanding, a little squirt of juice from the pedal and the Beetle will take off. Speed accumulates gradually and 10.9 seconds later reaches 100kph. The Beetle will max out at 180kph, which it has slight difficulty getting used to. Still, it will scamper away from corners or overtakes without breaking sweat.

Lightness helps with the car’s dynamics plenty. At 1,297kg, the 1.2 TSI Beetle is about 170kg lighter than the 2.0-litre full-blown Bug, which is plenty. So it doesn’t take much effort for the car to move around. It even feels better around the corners than the more athletic Beetle. There’s less tendency of understeering when you hit a corner at full chat and the steering is a dab more responsive. Quicker too, except that the feedback can get muddy at times.

volkswagen-beetle-12-tsi-review-12

In any case, this isn’t a car you take to carve corners because the suspension is a little soft, setup more for the everyday commute rather than the weekend races. Except it to lean more if you attack corners with it. But drive it with calm composure and the car will make sense. Comfort is the selling point here, which will suit the daily driver nicely.

With all things considered, this is a really nice car to get in an drive. Pay no mind to its small engine. And let me tell you that the 104hp and 175Nm the 1.2-litre engine makes is enough to eke out plenty of enjoyment from the usual city driving. Charming, this car.

Volkswagen didn’t do the Beetle wrong by letting it have a smaller but no less enthusiastic engine. In fact, this Beetle may be more fun to drive than its sportier stablemate.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• The price not worth mentioned?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
    • _xXx_ on Dec 27, 2013 at 9:29 am

This is a people’s car. It should not cost you more than RM30k. So don’t worry about the price. Hehe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 19
      • Damien on Dec 27, 2013 at 5:45 pm

People in Europe earning Euro, not people in Malaysia earning Ringgit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • DSG Banyak Hal on Dec 27, 2013 at 4:53 pm

VW Malaysia still want to introduce another DSG despite every other VW owner having continuous breakdowns??? Not once, not twice but continuous breakdowns?

Do they know that ALL their cars with DSG sold here in the past few years are all faulty and that they were in clear knowledge of it before they sold a lemon to their customer?

I think readers here must read previous post and their comments and they will stay away from VW far far away.

VW Germany already admit on May 08 2013, all their DSG boxes, whether its 2013 or earlier years strictly cannot handle 1) Hot Asian Climate 2) Asian traffic jams otherwise prone to non stop breakdowns. This is an admission in black and white. What this means is that, their DSG cars CANNOT be sold in Malaysia at all unless you want to use the car in the night only when it is cooling and got no jam.

For existing DSG owners, there is no way around it. Even the recent global mass recalls cannot sort this problem out. They will just put in a new DSG box when they recall but ALL the DSG boxes by Borg Warner are inherently defective.

How can I trust a car company who denied for years there was nothing wrong with their DSG until the China government came down hard on them?

So, a reminder again, the DSG cars should not have been sold or to be sold in Malaysia in the first place. You can use this car in Europe but a big NO in Malaysia. As earlier said, unless you use the car ONLY at night (when it is cooling) and there is NO traffic jam.

Pity current DSG owners. Their prices are going to have a free fall plummetting to ridiculous levels. Bargain hunters can now buy a 2012 Golf or Passat for less than RM90k because everybody knows about the DSG problems. Its all over the VW facebook page. Most owners are mad that to replace their DSG box takes 3 months. So, 3 months no car!

VW owners must do a class action suit against VW Malaysia. They knew about this problem for years but persisted in selling still right up to Oct 2013. In overseas, people are suing because it is a danger. Many people accident and die because halfway overtaking DSG lose power.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 53
      • DrDre on Dec 27, 2013 at 5:37 pm

What is your problem? If you dont want to buy VW, dont buy la.why do you have to write long essay? You think this is school project ah? No matter what you say, VW will still sell well, because as a car, it is very reliable throughout the world. Why do you think it is no. 1 in China and Europe? Dont waste your time using your wifi at your car showroom, just because your car make is not selling well. Emulate the VW car strategy and maybe your car can sell better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 123
        • Eminem on Dec 27, 2013 at 7:20 pm

VW salesman detected

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 30
          • Chong on Dec 28, 2013 at 8:43 am

Lets get one thing straight – the DSG problem can be resolved if you visit your nearest dealer. Also, all the new cars in the showroom have the problem resolved already. So do not play the broken record, unless you really have bad intention to discredit the car company and brand,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 29
          • Eminem's father on Dec 28, 2013 at 9:29 am

Peugeot salesman detected.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
          • Eminem's Grandfather on Dec 30, 2013 at 2:11 am

Poorman’s conti car salesman detected

• Colin Wong on Dec 27, 2013 at 7:44 pm

Let’s not get emo. The issue DOES exist. People ARE affected. There isn’t a closure yet. Does anyone have any update.

http://paultan.org/2013/05/09/volkwagen-malaysia-follows-suit-with-dsg-recall/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 12
          • Simon Har on Dec 28, 2013 at 9:26 am

Every car company has recalls, not just VW..

http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Business-News/2013/12/28/GM-Recalls-15-Million-Cars-In-China-Over-Fuel-Pump-Bracket.aspx/

• Colin Wong on Dec 28, 2013 at 7:14 pm

Simon, agree. Just that a recall for the transmission with the problems not being a permanent one is worrying. Civic had a recall for a steering pump hose 2 years ago. Would I equate that with say recall for Civic gearbox? You answer that.

• Colin Wong on Dec 27, 2013 at 7:48 pm

And another piece of news that illustrates the sheer magnitude of the problem…

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2507401/Volkswagen-recall-cars-worldwide-faulty-gearbox-light-fuses.html

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 14
          • CDavid on Dec 28, 2013 at 4:59 am

Peugeot salesman detected

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
          • Simon Har on Dec 28, 2013 at 9:28 am

Another one, this time by Toyota. In fact, Toyota has the most recalls among any brand. Yet, you dont see people stop buying them ..

http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Business-News/2013/12/28/Toyota-Recalling-More-Than-400000-Vehicles-In-Saudi-Arabia/

• BLT Club on Dec 27, 2013 at 7:57 pm

By no means am I a VW fanboy, but this sentence is outright slander “Many people accident and die because halfway overtaking DSG lose power.”
        Can you prove this? Else STFU!
        Salutations.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
      • Bejendra on Oct 10, 2014 at 11:37 am

Yes they had DSG problem with the previous cars..but now the issue is already solved..and VW is also sending 12 experts down to Malaysia to solve customers problem..

• DSG Fanboi on Dec 26, 2013 at 7:25 pm

Drivetrain Selalu Gagal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 54
    • Colin Wong on Dec 27, 2013 at 9:09 am

Paultan.org, is there an update on the DSG? Please share with us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
      • i just replaced my clutch pack & mecha unit for my golf tsi last tues, took them abt 3 days to do the work. my car only clocked 50k/2 yrs old and already need quite a major replacement. If not under warranty, i’ll be looking at around rm10-13k bills. VW shud look into their dsg7, the dry clutch gearbox is too fragile!…they shud consider selling the manual option, no more vw for unless they offer manual gearbox…i might consider.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
      • Sam Loo on Dec 28, 2013 at 9:34 am

Its a shame that new cars design like VW requires such extensive maintenance (2 days in workshop) after 2 year/50,000kms use

New cars in in general requires less time in the workshop for comprehensive maintenance (except kimchis)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 9
  • sudonano on Dec 26, 2013 at 8:09 pm

I think VGM should actually drop off the 1.2 TSi Beetle and let the lineup have a 1.4TSi Comfortline as a base spec with say similar specs as the existing 1.2 TSI and then make the current 1.4TSi as the 1.4 TSi Highline model. After all the Bettle is technically based off the Golf, imagine a 1.2 TSi in a Golf. Though it would be a bit fun as you’d rev the engine more, but your consumption might not be so good, if you don’t want to lose the acceleration.

Or at least make the 1.4 and 1.2 cheaper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
    • 1.2 or 1.4.. you still not gonna buy anyway..
      It is a lifestyle car to show off.. If you gonna drive it fast, how to

• Colin Wong on Dec 27, 2013 at 9:08 am

TSI, I think ALL of us chose the car we drive with looks and image as a consideration. It is a matter of how much it matters to you. I would not pay a premium for the Beetle myself and trust me, it has a place in the hearts of many Malaysians who grew up with the fond memories of dad or mum ferrying them around in a Beetle. How much are such memories worth? Priceless. Good enough for some to splurge on it as a rarely driven second car.

Just my 2 cents worth.

• frenzyaustin on Dec 27, 2013 at 12:39 pm

If for second car and good old memories, why not buy the original beetle and refurbished it?

• VW is selling emotion with their beetle.. if you fell for it, they just won over you.. there a lot of fond memory things that our parents use to have.. do we need to own every single things they own before? Lets move on with time..

• sudonano on Dec 27, 2013 at 12:26 pm

It is not about driving fast. It is more of having a little bit more confidence to overtake on the highway especially passing trailers. While yes, the 1.2 is sufficient for the city, but on the highway it might start to struggle. And yes, I’ve seen the 1.2 on the highway, it has to work a little hard. Poor beetle.

And when you say putting bigger cars to shame. Like what? Do tell.

• 1.2 or 1.4.. you still not gonna buy anyway..
      It is a lifestyle car to show off.. If you gonna drive it fast, how to expect ppl to notice you are driving a beetle..

I bet you have never driven a 1.2 TSI before.. great torque and putting bigger cars to shame.. FC is superb due to low rev high torque..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
    • Hello there! actually vw do sells Golf wt a 1.2TSI engine! ,…just look down south (SG)…btw, the 1.2tsi 170nm torque is abt the same wt the 1.8 Civic & it happen from 1,500rpm compared to almost 4,000rpm for the civic…basically, it have the same twist as the Civic 1.8…Go Figure!

• sick&tired on Dec 26, 2013 at 10:19 pm

would it have killed them to spruce up the engine bay? put la one nice engine cover!

• IM SORRY, WHY on earth would anyone prefer the engine to be covered in cheap looking plastic, unless its carbon fiber, there is absolutely NO reason to cover it up,
      Im not sure why car manufacturers like doing that, its pointless, its ugly and you still need to remove it, there would only be dust building up underneath it, and most of all you cant see the raw shape and or beauty of the engine, instead being replaced with some tupperware
      but then this is a girl’s car so i guess people like you wouldnt understand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
      • Colin Wong on Dec 27, 2013 at 9:05 am

Ben, my experience tells me that if you do not have covers, dust (aplenty) will go into all the crevices and profiled surfaces that are hard to clean. A cover makes it a first point of landing for the dust. Such is the case with my wife’s car which made it a breeze for the fortnight cleaning. I just need to sweep the dust with a shellac brush and use a portable vac to such them up. Wipe it down with a damp cloth. And it is as good as new. My car does not have a cover for the main engine (I suppose for better heat dissipation as it is a turbo engine). Needless to say, there are certain places where I cannot clean the dust.

Different folks, different strokes.

• Colin Wong on Dec 27, 2013 at 4:40 pm

Guys, please do not take things too personally and resort to name calling. Keep this site enjoyable. Such venoms create bad vibes.

Read this and then come back and discuss:
          http://www.dupont.com/products-and-services/plastics-polymers-resins/thermoplastics/uses-and-applications/automotive-engine-covers.html

• ben is stupid on Dec 27, 2013 at 9:47 am

The engine cover also acts to direct air flow towards air inlets, you dumbass

• LOL!
          ENGINE COVERS has NOTHING, repeat NOTHING, to do with air flow of the engine bay, if anything, it makes it all even WORSE. The nonsense you are talking about, air inlets are already built in with most hood/bumper of cars, seriously you just wish to defend whatever crap you drive because you must think it looks cool. You have 0 idea what you are talking about.
          hahaha Go onto Jalopnik and educate yourself, M*ron.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 20
          • ben is really stupid on Jan 02, 2014 at 6:24 pm

judging from the dislikes u’re getting, u’re the real moron LOL

• lonelyobserve on Dec 26, 2013 at 10:56 pm

Is it the car equipped with 7-speed dry clutch DSG? VWM really over confident with the improved 7-speed DSG but the reality is that the dry clutch DSG issue already hurt the car owners very deeply.

If the conventional manual transmission to be reintroduced back to this country then VWM may get some confidence back (DSG is meant to replace conventional automatic transmission, except 8-speed auto used in Touareg).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • yournearlytooignoranforanyeffort on Dec 27, 2013 at 2:17 am

Time and time again, BUY a GTI , if you wanna drive any other car like one then FORGET it !! ALL of those who drives a polo tsi, golf tsi, passat sedan like their sporty brethren(s)have NO right to complain if their cars break down due to inherent DSG problems (especially dry clutches) that comes with hot climates. Other problems like cylinders, pumps,actuators etc are legit but stop bashing DSG without understanding the REAL underlying problems…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 21
      • Colin Wong on Dec 27, 2013 at 9:14 am

yournearlytooignoranforanyeffort, thanks for pointing out that we do not understanding the underlying problems. We really like to know and from your post, seems like you know. Would you care to share with us here. May owners of VW who are suffering from DSG problems would like to know. This includes people who do not push their cars hard at all. Your sharing might just help them out of their confusion as to what the REAL problem is. You started the ball rolling, here’s only a further nudge. Otherwise, do consider your statement unsubstantiated (esp for many who have suffered financially because of the DSG).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
      • What are u talking abt? Not everyone wants a GTI, this DSG7 affect those passat/CC/Cross Touran too!

• Unless you have a passat CC with a DRY clutch ( which they dont) ,please refrain from making wild accusations…….And i agree with yournearlytooignorant…… I have had all the said problems with the dry DSG.(polo) So I know what I am taking about. On top of that we have the GTIs and Scirocco and those have not had problems till date..So stop trolling!!!

• heybadigol on Dec 27, 2013 at 8:36 am

Just my two cents, The Beetle was an economy car envisioned by a certain Mr. Hitler. And what made it special was its rear engine rear wheel drive (RR) configuration. AND it was designed by Porsche, no less. Even the 911 copied it, and has remained as an RR config since (thank you Porsche!!).

This is a historic nameplate, and meant as a car for the people. Sadly, here in Malaysia, its become car for the rich people. We have taxes, inflation and profiteering to thank for that. In my humble opionion, if you want a value for money VW (and dont care too much about looking cool), buy a Polo (which isnt bad looking by any means) or a Golf, which probably costs the same as the Beetle. Also, there’s nothing wrong with the new Beetle, just that there are better cars in the VW lineup at a similar price point.

• Alex Chan on Dec 27, 2013 at 9:14 am

this car no resale value…buy oso no good, tomorrow value drop until 55%, many problem summore..use car oso don want to take risk buying voksegen car anymore now..the DSG gear oso always breakdown…pity for those who bought voksegen…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 22
    • Thomas Ling on Dec 27, 2013 at 5:43 pm

Who said VW got bad resale value. If you actually do your research, it has the highest resale value among European cars. Only Peugeot and Citreon has bad resale value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 9
    • JDMftw on Dec 29, 2013 at 11:30 am

Dont pity them for buying vw, pity them for not knowing how good and reliable Japanese cars are

Japanese cars have the highest resale value in Malaysia

• There was a time when this car is so cheap, even ‘prebet polis’ also can buy this car. But now prebet polis can afford saga blm only

• blaster88 on Dec 27, 2013 at 3:40 pm

Honestly, when it comes to VW, you seriously have to consider the after sales service before you bring out your check book….dealing with VW is like slowing dipping your testicles into a nest full of angry fire ants…you get the picture.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • Johny on Dec 27, 2013 at 4:03 pm

Talk too much for what? buy a car with CVT better! CVT won’t brake down! everyday can full accelerate….vroommmmm power!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • lonelyobserve on Dec 28, 2013 at 12:00 am

Everyday full throttle with CVT your car’s fuel goes away quicker than you expected.

• Steve Kok on Dec 28, 2013 at 11:16 pm

Take it from an VW & Ford owner..
    I have both car with DSG7 and Ford’s DCT.
    Really regret buying these 2 cars.
    All OK except the gearbox.

Both car suffer jerking on 1st and 2nd gear. Especially during traffic jam on a hot day.

• Pissed-off on Dec 29, 2013 at 9:52 am

I m late to this article. From the comments, let it be known that for heaven’s sake all you VW sales exec, PLEASE STOP MISLEADING PROPECTSON THE DSG PROBLEMS AND SERVICE & PARTS ISSUES SO YOU CAN EARN A LIVING.

HOW DO YOU PEOPLE SLEEP AT NIGHT?

Don’t you people ever have conscience, compassion, and some decency when you are clearly cheating prospects in buying a lemon car and a third world service centers.

If you think I talk c**k, you can always arrange to meet me and my junk.

I DARE ANYONE HERE WHO CHAMPIONED OR DEFEND VW DSG!!!

Otherwise STFU, celaka …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • Proton Salesman on Dec 30, 2013 at 2:09 am

Proton salesman detected

• Please be accurate on Dec 30, 2013 at 6:20 am

Hey Pissed-off, people have actually died from Toyota’s sudden acceleration problem and other problems. VW’s problem has not caused any death so far? You know why? Its because the problem is not so bad and can be resolved at service centre level. By the way, have you seen any VW car breakdown on the road? I have not, but I have seen Mercedes, BMW and Toyotas breakdown!

• Blaster88 on Dec 30, 2013 at 8:58 pm

Hey Pissed Off. I share your pain! I share your pain! I share your pain! DSG gear box issues aside, wait till you start claiming warranty from the 3rd year onwards!!!!! Another example, recently my colleague wanted to claim warranty for a failed battery and was told it would take 1.5days! He then asked how long it would take if he buys one – 1 hour! I have written to VW Malaysia with regards to my issues, they never bothered to even reply. NEVER! NEVER! NEVER! buy a VW in Malaysia! Sad becoz my VW was a nice ride.

• farizY on Dec 30, 2013 at 9:36 am

I see a lot of people commented on the unreliability of DSG box when there’s a VW article despite that I don’t see that many VW on the road, probably due to these factors:
    1) DSG broke down
    2) VW are relatively expensive
    3) Probably Malaysians are just shiok sendiri; does not own a VW but dare to bash DSG (I thought DSG problem has long been resolved?)