Driven Web Series Season 1, 2013 – The blooper reel

No, this isn’t a new episode of Driven Web Series. The five episodes are all we have for now, but don’t fret, we’ll be back with more soon enough! What this is, is the blooper reel for Season 1, 2013. Let’s just say it wasn’t as easy as it looked. Enjoy.

All of us at paultan.org had an absolute ball planning, writing and shooting this first season of Driven Web Series. Watch all five episodes here, if you haven’t already. Or even if you have, watch it all again anyway – being stuck at work the day after Christmas is not fun, is it?

Here’s a round-up of Driven Web Series Season 1, 2013:

Episode 1: Toyota Vios vs Proton Suprima S vs Honda Jazz Hybrid

Episode 2: Honda CR-V 2.0 vs Mazda CX-5 2.0 vs Ford Kuga 1.6T + Subaru Forester

Episode 3: Volkswagen Golf GTI vs Mercedes-Benz A 250 Sport vs BMW 125i Sport vs Volvo V40 T5

Episode 4: Honda Civic 2.0 vs Kia Cerato 2.0 vs Ford Focus 2.0 + MINI One, Peugeot 208 GTi

Episode 5: Toyota Camry 2.5 vs Honda Accord 2.4 vs Mazda6 2.5 + Hyundai i40 Tourer, Lexus ES 250

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Very entertaining guys, keep it up!

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 26, 2013 at 2:33 pm

Harvinder, you look so sexy in the white dress. If you are here, I catch you and romance you. I french kiss you to the maximum. Once you kena french kiss from Sam Loo, you will bloom like a flower. You are gorgeous in the white dress Harv! I think I have fallen in love with you. I think your RV sudah naik in the white dress, so pure like angel. You are lucky I was not there on that day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
      • some sembelance of chindian, bai-nese, mal-nese, etc. 1Malaysia?

• Harv, when you wear dress, you must wear bra. Look at your puting, all sticking out. Tak baik. Tak senonoh. Budaya barat ni.

• Raptop on Dec 26, 2013 at 5:55 pm

omg i loled to hard at this comment!

and the video too. btw good job guys! keep it up!

• sam69 on Dec 27, 2013 at 1:09 pm

Harv is right.

Kimchis have no RV
      KIA’s cannot be traded in

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Sam Loo on Dec 28, 2013 at 10:52 am

K5 owner that could not get the kimchi traded in at work again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • Bellerina on Dec 26, 2013 at 1:22 pm

Any chance Harvinder will wear that white dress again?? :P

• sam69 on Dec 26, 2013 at 2:00 pm

After all these video, I learn 1 thing from driven. Toiyota is As Hilux As Sam Loo Face!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Hadi75 on Dec 26, 2013 at 2:13 pm

Harvinder in blonde and white dress….marilyn monroe????or manly monroe :D

• _xXx_ on Dec 26, 2013 at 3:16 pm

seriously I have not seen any souprima s on JB roads todate, have you?

• yamateh on Dec 26, 2013 at 3:20 pm

I wanna load on Harvinder

• Mttiang on Dec 26, 2013 at 4:21 pm

I really enjoyed this series! You guys are so cool & entertaining! Anymore???? Please!!!!

• A very comprehensive comparisons of cars but the verdict is not so conclusive. Most potential buyers would still follow their pattern, lifestyle and budget and would already make up their minds.
    For example, I have driven three generations of Accord. So is my boss who have owned 3 generations of Merc S Class.

• sick&tired on Dec 26, 2013 at 10:15 pm

what do you mean not so conclusive!? i think its conclusive as conclusive can be! In all of their reviews, they did come out with a clear cut rank. And no sh!t sherlock, obviously people will make their own decision based their needs la! you think someone who can only afford to buy a kancil will buy a golf gti just because paul tan says so?

• Sam Loo on Dec 29, 2013 at 12:19 am

Most potential buyers will still go Jap which will have a much lower TCO

• GreenMonster on Dec 26, 2013 at 11:46 pm

You guys are awesome!! Please continue with season 2 a.s.a.p!! Can’t wait!!

• EnergyAnalyst on Dec 27, 2013 at 6:08 pm

If KIA is Korean imitate Audi

What would FORD means ? Fabricate Others’ Research & Development?

LOL

• Henry on Dec 28, 2013 at 10:59 pm

Hi Mr Paul, hopefully in year 2014 can produce more driven episode, especially Kia Rio vs Ford Fiesta vs Peugeot 208…

• sam69 on Dec 31, 2013 at 7:11 pm

Still can’t get rid of my K5 today despite many tries at the used car yard.

Dam, need to change so that relatives dun look down on me this CNY

• As the fuel consumption of Toyota Vios stated in Driven 1 is about 17km/litre but in
    http://paultan.org/2013/10/10/2013-toyota-vios-fuel-sound-test/
    is stated 11.6km/litre
    May I know which is correct?

• holofanboi on Jan 07, 2014 at 2:48 pm

…Whoops.

Somehow I missed the episodes from 3 to 5 so here are my honest opinion regarding the 3 episodes in particular:

Episode 3: LOL, well done on all 3, although Hafriz + Chris combo seriously did standout for ep3. Both of their style of talking contrasts each other surprisingly well! Paul…not so much here. Feels like he’s too focused in remembering what to say…Hmm.

HAFRIZ STOP STANDING RIGHT IN FRONT OF THE HEADLAMPS YOU DUFUS! YOU’VE GOT COLD BUTT OR SOMETHING!?

Episode 4: Ah. Paul is kinda weak on the incar presentation it seems. His speeches feel hollow and the tone has this ‘forced’ feel about it. In stark contrast, Hafriz and Harvinder were so natural in this episode! @_@ (Although why can’t you both stand like how Paul does when outside perplexes me. Why the need to hide the car’s tail lamps with your butts?)

Oddly enough, Paul shines whenever he’s depicted as the asshole you want to kill asap. His irritating in-video statements compliments his relaxed body language rather well.

To editor for Ep 4: Close-up duration felt WAY too long when Harvinder said “Chuck Norris!?” Causing the joke to feel forced instead of sudden. Might I suggest instantly cutting in with a somewhat loud, silly sound effect right after such a joke the next time?

• holofanboi on Jan 07, 2014 at 3:13 pm

A keyboard warrior never leaves his reviews hanging! Even if it’s lengthy!

Episodey 5:

Well, its pretty obvious Harvinder and Hafriz have both gotten natural at presenting by now. They appear relaxed throughout most of their delivery. Harvinder’s random mazda outburst was as awesome as ‘Sam Loo’s’ sudden appearance xD

@Anthony

Well you certainly caught me by surprise. Not surprise as in your appearance, but by how your image and your presentation totally clashed with one another. When you first got out of the car, I was expecting a businessman with superiority complex kind of character! Instead, your speeches was so persuasive and fatherly (must be a closet Camry fan huehuehue) that the whole thing felt UNNATURALLY humble!

Going by pure image alone, Anthony and Paul would make a good rival/matchup to counter each other’s delivery~. Current character for Anthony would forbid any possibility of this though.

@Danny

This is going to sound kinda cold. So I apologize in advance.

I actually rewatched the video THRICE (third was on phone) to find out why on earth was your character so unmemorable to me. Because at first glance, your presentation seemed to have no flaw so why?…

Well when I closed my eyes for the 3rd video I pretty much know why. Your speeches are actually the best among the rest, minimal delay, eloquent presentation and pretty sophisticated actually. That is until as a viewer, I saw your how your body language clashed with your voice (Not the entire video, but most of it reeked nervousness.) Props on not blocking the headlamps though! ;D

Looking forward for season 2! (If there will be one) All the best guys!

• Finally we have a show that is eons behind UK’s fifth gear and top gear. However, by Malaysian standards, Paul Tan and company are at the forefront of the motoring world.

Therefore, should we rejoice? Hell yeah!!! Finally we have our very own motoring show albeit with exorbitantly over-priced cars.

Also, Paul and Co must never ever say that cars in Malaysia are affordable. That is an unforgivable lie and you know it. As we are all aware, car prices in Malaysia are the second highest in the world!!! True Paul??

In a car show like fifth gear, all the presenters are articulate, good looking and fit. Here well it is clearly the opposite. But never mind. God made us this way. Be thankful we look human.

Also, what’s with this trend of urban malaysians speaking english with idiotic indian accents???

SPEAK LIKE TIFF NEEDELL PLEASE!!!

On a positive note, having said all that, I sincerely think that this is a good start and these guys will improve over time. They will speak better, scripts will improve, cars will become more affordable (but not cheap)and we can only go upwards from here.

Keep up the good work guys. All the best.

• Sattheyah on Feb 25, 2014 at 5:45 pm

Hi guys, why were these cars were not tested against the Hyundai Sonata & the Kia Optima? they’re in the same class right?