Ford Mustang Sedan rendered – is there a market?

The All-New Ford Mustang GT

The sixth-generation Ford Mustang was unveiled simultaneously in six cities worldwide earlier this month, and we were in Sydney to welcome the newborn. Ford is taking its iconic pony car global, and right-hand-drive models will be available this time around, along with a 2.3 litre Ecoboost four-cylinder engine.

Will a ‘four-door Mustang’ join the coupe someday in Ford’s bid to widen global appeal? Here’s what a Mustang sedan might look like, as Theophilus Chin ‘does a Dodge Charger‘ on the S550. Looks good, doesn’t it, although a 2.3L Mustang sedan might be pushing it a bit too far. Pony car fans will wake up with nightmares, but do you think such a car might work?

The Michigan-made Mustang (coupe) should be reaching our shores in 2015, after Australia gets it. When that happens, I can foresee the paultan.org team fighting to have a go at it, something that has never happened before with any car. Merry Christmas and happy holidays everyone!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Pony car fans and enthusiasts might get very offended if Ford really does this, but what the hell,

I’d buy that!

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 26, 2013 at 2:41 pm

Car sure to fail in Malaysia, Ford make junk quality. In the recent US survey Ford was voted the MOST unreliable car. Always breakdown. In Malaysia also, Ford is King of Breakdown. Main problem is their dual clutch system.

Ask yourself this, why does Honda and Toyota cars still stick to single clutch system?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 26
      • Turbo_Ridera on Dec 26, 2013 at 4:02 pm

i have ford fiesta with dual clutch transmission.that car doesn’t have problem at all!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
      • You just disgraced your teacher Sam Loo la idiot.. Honda and Toyota uses torque converter-based automatic la.. not single-clutch automated manual. Go back to Sam Loo and learn the freaking difference between “Automatic” and “Automated Manual”.

Ford’s PowerShift dual-clutch automated manual gbox maybe not good enough for use in high-torqued cars and Malaysian weather… but at least all Mustang use conventional torque converters for automatic versions.. they won’t give you problems.

• mydaddy on Dec 27, 2013 at 1:15 am

@SamShowedMe,
        Funny, then why does JD&Power ranked Ford as the most reliable? Yes, they knocked MyFordTouch, but that’s not mechanical, that’s just an option you can skip. What review have you been reading in Malaysia? SumDumHo review? and Ford uses “dual clutch system”? really? now it just sounds like a bunch of jeberish coming out of your hole.

• krishna on Dec 27, 2013 at 9:23 am

I have been driving a Ford Focus TDCi for 3 yrs now. Zero problem. Yes, after sales service is not very good but who is?? I did a lot of research on Ford before buying and all were positive. Ford Focus is biggest selling model in its class. Ford Fiesta is the main reason why Ford is back in game in Malaysia. Its easy to mention abt surveys without showing proof….i can easily tell that in a recent car survey in the US, Proton is the best car ever made in the world!

• Junk of a car. Real junk. Sure buyers have to pay killer price for parts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • Definitely theres a mkt for a 4 door mustang coupe, Ford will make tons of money with this….ala Porsche panamera!

• its a rwd ford taurus with a mustang badge. Look at the dodge charger, so no, there would be no market.

• Jinggo on Dec 26, 2013 at 11:34 am

Jual murah sikit la baru bole ada market. RM120K sudah..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • Sangatlah berharap agar kereta ini dapat dijual di Malaysia dengan harga yang sangat berpatutan.Diharap janji kerajaan untuk menurunkan harga kereta dikotakan.Mana tahu kereta ini boleh dapat dalam harga bawah RM100K.

• azwad on Dec 26, 2013 at 1:08 pm

A mustang is a mustang. Not exactly loved for speed of for having 4 doors.

• Krishna on Dec 26, 2013 at 1:09 pm

I would definitely consider as it saves me money from having to buy another car for my family.

• unsohai on Dec 26, 2013 at 2:34 pm

Never mind, Proton will rebadge this car.. All people can buy it..
    Ohh wait, wait til SV version, can be more cheap

• ponyrider on Dec 26, 2013 at 4:13 pm

Halo mr.samhilux, s my name suggests, i own a ford, where got unreliable 1? 4 years, still going strong, dat double clutch.

• superbird #43 on Dec 26, 2013 at 6:14 pm

so long as i can have a 5L v8 motor and 6MT, i’m all into it.
    planning to have this for my wedding. haha :D
    btw, we pay 1/2 of the road tax cost in the east m’sia.

Cheers

• heybadigol on Dec 27, 2013 at 10:38 am

Of course, there’s no market. Just like there is no market for really expensive Italian supercars which have no value for money whatsovever, will burn down easily in a crash, and have bad RV. Yet, people buy them to the point Ferrari actually made tonnes of money.

Ford might just make it for the challenge or just- because-they-can, and make a loss. They can always cover from profit in selling Focus, Fiestas, and their trucks. It might happen.

• John Doe on Dec 27, 2013 at 11:15 am

A four door Mustang? They can’t be serious! OK… put four doors on it and while you’re at it put a different front end and rear end on it and call it something else… like Stallion or something. A four door Mustang… right… when pigs fly.

• Brian on Dec 27, 2013 at 11:33 am

Please do not let this happen.

• slick wog on Dec 27, 2013 at 2:15 pm

Charger, anyone?