New 2014 Perodua Alza facelift sighted on trailers

perodua-alza-2014-5

It looks like the new Perodua Alza variant that Perodua teased on their website last week is on schedule for its January 2014 launch, and here’s a first view of the new 2014 Alza, sighted by reader manspex_kp2 being transported by trailer, probably en route to dealerships.

That alloy wheel design is the same one that we saw in the teaser images. What’s new that we can see from these photos is a new tailgate design that puts the Perodua and Alza logos on a new blacked-out section below the rear windscreen. A front shot also reveals the new front bumper design, which is paired with a differently shaped front grille and new clear headlamps without orange blinkers.

perodua-alza-2014-6

Other changes for the new Alza that Perodua has already revealed via its teaser image include a monotone black interior in place of the two-tone black/grey combo we have now, new instrument cluster design, (possibly optional) new multimedia system with navigation and reverse camera functions, a roof-mounted monitor, an updated armrest with a storage compartment, split-folding third-row seats and ISOFIX child seat anchors.

The fact that the teaser image shows a front bumper with fog lamps while these Alzas being transported have no fog lamps means that this new Alza is a multi-variant product, which points to an overall facelift of the range. We will be back in January with more details of this updated 2014 Perodua Alza once it has been launched.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• sick&tired on Dec 26, 2013 at 12:00 pm

wow! now that’s what i call facelift! its almost unrecognizable! at first glance i thought it was the new bmw mpv! way to go perodua! your original and innovative designs never cease to amaze me! world class la this perodua! budyz is even better! what an awesome name! the a$$ho1es at vw even had the audacity to make a time machine, go to the future and copy the headlight design of the budyz and use it for the golf! damn you white man! i thank fu©k!ng god they didn’t copy the budyz name!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 202 Thumb down 47
    • Shitty Value on Dec 26, 2013 at 1:00 pm

Proton sure brings cheaper variant Exora SV to fight it off…such a pathetic loser when cannot compete with Livina, Avanza, Innova but pick smaller opponent to bully

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 111
      • powershot on Dec 26, 2013 at 2:14 pm

i agree that the grand livina is a good mpv. but i’m definitely sure avanza & innova is not. Exora bold is a much better value mpv in terms of performance, equipment & value if compared to avanza & innova.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 141 Thumb down 22
        • Alza is rated a very unsafe car. If your anak is sitting in back row and a lorry smashes the back of your car, habislah!

Bodoh designers. Mat Salleh always say, must have crumple zone. The boot is to crumple and absorb most impact. Perodua designers semua otak udang. Proton designers also otak udang. Please go learn how to make safe cars and then make safe cars. Or better close Proton and Perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 130
          • Proton not safe enough???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 14
          • jenny on Dec 30, 2013 at 10:40 am

Hot in 3row site..

• Ya,ya,ya…. Semua orang otak udang. Only you have the brilliant brain. Oh I forgot, Merc A180 got boot lor? Mini Cooper have bigger,longer boot than Persona?

btw, Alza is from Perodua? I thought it “rebagde” from Toyota? So, Toyota designer also otak udang?

Then design your own car lah if you a too smart, keyboard “designer warrior”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
          • S.Roma on Jan 07, 2014 at 12:25 am

Then tell me how much ncap star that alza got?

don just tell us with ur words, give us data pls

• This is a Japanese PASSO Sette Design, I felt it’s unfair u comment this way…

• mugamuga on Dec 26, 2013 at 8:32 pm

First of all, Avanza & Innova are low cost vehicles. They seem expensive because of the generous tax by our govt.

Avanza might just cost around RM40-50k if not for the tax. But the tax is there, to protect Proton/Perodua, so that they can improve with the taxpayer’s money for R&D on how to rebadge foreign cars as efficient as possible.

Proton/Perodua – Rebadge is our speciality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 25
          • Llort on Dec 27, 2013 at 1:47 am

Yeah, tell me more about how Grand Livina, an equally tax-ed foreign model, is a better MPV than Avanza / Innova.

Oh wait, you didn’t tell me that? Oh I see you conveniently ignored it on your reply.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
        • S.Roma on Jan 07, 2014 at 12:26 am

agree with u, good handling, more comfort, more torque in terms of cc

• perodua on Dec 26, 2013 at 2:44 pm

Competition is good..
        It shows that our product are the best among the rest.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 26, 2013 at 2:37 pm

Alza is a car for poor people who don’t know the meaning of birth control. They are like bunnies, multiplying non stop and got no choice but buy a 7 seater to accomodate the big rabbit family.

My advice to ALL Alza owners and potential Alza buyers, control yourselves. Cannot be like arnab (rabbit) everyday make babies. Do more sports and occupy your life with hard work. Once you work hard, you will be like me, able to own a luxurious Toyota. Working hard also, you got no free time to be a rabbit.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 138 Thumb down 176
      • GMan.. on Dec 26, 2013 at 3:21 pm

You must be fun at parties..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 3
      • therealrakyat on Dec 26, 2013 at 4:48 pm

Sashowedmeahilux. . .

Toyota is luxurious?? U high on crack or wat?? Please tell me u got a Celsior at least!! Oh wait. . . Most likely all u have is the almighty Dugong called Vios or the contractors truck called Hilux. . . To call this Toyotas luxo cars is laughable. . And dude. ,Me and my buddy were Toyota employees previously. . My buddy was in assembly services and i was in management. . . Only a Land Cruiser or Celsior can be called luxurious and none of this models are sold in Malaysia. . . The rest are basic bread amd butter cars even the almighty uncle car the Camry. . . Btw have u seen the Camry’s evil twin? The actual TRD model and not just a sticker at the back but a real one?? Own one and then we talk abt the great luxo contractor truck Hilux or Dugong Vios

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 113 Thumb down 6
      • phuwekkk on Dec 26, 2013 at 4:59 pm

toyotaya = luxurious..hahaha.. seems like we’ve found the next maharaja lawak wo..hahaha.. maybe rolls royce should also learn how to make their cars as luxurious as toyotaya..kuikuikui

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 2
      • u jelly cannot ‘make’ babies everyday.. haha..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
      • Poor man on Dec 26, 2013 at 6:44 pm

SamShowedMeTheHilux
        hahaha another jaguh kampung here. just have A Toyota bongkak nak mati! kahkahkah . im pretty sure you really work hard to get the toyata haha
        Work hard all day, no time for family,no time for wife (did u have? XD) and the result just A toyota? hahahaha pecah perut tgk org mcm ni XD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 4
      • mugamuga on Dec 26, 2013 at 8:34 pm

Hey guys, I know Toyota isn’t as luxurious, but it’s better than Perodua/Proton. If Toyota is shit to you, then Perodua/Proton must be lower.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 24
        • Low Budget on Dec 27, 2013 at 3:16 pm

Toyota cars are not ‘shit’ car but ‘Bread and Butter’ as some one has correctly pointed out. While most cars (any make) are bread and butter, Perodua and Proton qualify as ‘Roti Canai Telur’ cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • Got Bunnies and get Alza..Got toyota but no single bunny…you chose..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
      • das auto on Dec 27, 2013 at 10:48 am

For once i have to agree with samhilux. Except for his last sentence.

Cannot afford a proper mpv better think twice b4 making babies like rabbits. These alzas are like pest on the road…zooming in and out like mat rempit and think they own the road. Ptuiii just a pariah junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 16
      • JohnDoe on Jan 08, 2014 at 9:22 am

Hahahaha.. stupid stupid stupid guy.. are u on ice???

U can take ur toyota with u when u die because u are a pathetic guy..

• vee-oh on Dec 26, 2013 at 12:00 pm

You guys are very good in designing new design bumper…congrats!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 8
  • driveabird on Dec 26, 2013 at 12:01 pm

Is there any prossiblity that the low range will get ABS and EBD as well?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • perodua on Dec 26, 2013 at 2:20 pm

no sir, that will increase our cost, reduction in profit.
      everything is going up, and we shall follow that trend.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 9
  • i saw an intercooler. is that a new engine?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
    • perodua on Dec 26, 2013 at 2:24 pm

that is actually a radiator.
      but you can opt to purchase our intercooler package just for cosmetic upgrade, and self-confidence upgrade to drive at higher speed (we dont encourage our customer to drive beyond legal speed limit)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 6
  • nice facelift version which better than expected. hope the SE version also do the same

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
    • perodua on Dec 26, 2013 at 2:32 pm

Our SE line up will have better aerodynamic package.
      It will look fast even at standstill.
      so watch out 1.6L soft turbo’s…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 8
      • phuwekkk on Dec 26, 2013 at 5:01 pm

nahhh..a little aerodynamic changes cannot catch up with the turbo. it’s still alza. got smoked anytime with EB.

• pirlo on Dec 27, 2013 at 10:05 am

what is before (current alza) and after (new alza) CD values?

• perodua on Dec 27, 2013 at 11:15 am

We will setup a full size wind tunnel and get back to u soon.

U can expect a result ranging from 0.25 – 0.27. Yes, we are that good.

• annoy_namous on Dec 27, 2013 at 4:25 pm

Perodua have a full size wind tunnel !!! Wow, that’s great. Look forward to have a tour on it. Where’s the location? Maybe can send 1 team for F1 next year since you do have a FULL wind tunnel.

• Preve Lover on Dec 27, 2013 at 5:36 pm

a car that looks no different than a bricks wanna undergo a windtunnel design/test ??? a brick will always be a brick…and some more, does it undergo a crash test like ANCAP (Preve,Suprima S & Exora all did their crash test)?? want proof? use your brain and YouTube to see yourself…did Perodua ever bother about their customers safety???

• SOHAI NAJIB on Dec 26, 2013 at 12:13 pm

One word: FUGLY

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 6
  • Scouser on Dec 26, 2013 at 12:14 pm

eh what happened to the clear tail lights? why are the old ones still on? (o.O)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • perodua on Dec 26, 2013 at 2:47 pm

Clear lens are available for SE line up..
      You get what you pay for.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
  • Hang Tuah on Dec 26, 2013 at 12:26 pm

Nothing special, still a copy cat car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • Lan J on Dec 26, 2013 at 1:14 pm

copy cat? hahaha then what is Inspira and new Perdana?

copy paste?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 17
      • sam69 on Dec 26, 2013 at 2:05 pm

P2 & Toiyota are both from same piece of shit. Only Sorhai Tai Lan Ngong will buy them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
      • perodua on Dec 26, 2013 at 2:17 pm

its actually cut and paste

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
      • mamamia on Dec 26, 2013 at 2:17 pm

that is rebadge bro…rebadge…rebadge…rebadge…rebadge…rebadge…rebadge

• Now that’s a decent cosmetic makeover. The front now resembles that of a Myvi SE but the rear design doesn’t really work for me. Anyway, it’s not a car that I’ll be targeting on so, whatever :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • darkermarker on Dec 26, 2013 at 12:31 pm

If changing bumper abit….then called it facelift..
    Change amber lamp to crystal, oso called it facelift?

Seems like Perodua is copying what our Kedai-Abang are doing these days…..

selling and installing crsytal lamps, led bulb, steering wheels, cushion covers, floor matts, stickers, foglamps, gearknobs, plastic chrome trims, stainless-steel exhaust tip, etc…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
  • _xXx_ on Dec 26, 2013 at 12:33 pm

good job by Bumper Engineering Dept

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 0
    • perodua on Dec 26, 2013 at 2:35 pm

Thank you for your compliment…
      We’re doing our best to serve your need.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
  • Chow 1 on Dec 26, 2013 at 12:46 pm

Innovation of the Year award goes to Perodua!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Husin bakar on Dec 26, 2013 at 1:06 pm

I’m considering new alza for my 2nd car.but after looking at this..ouch.i’ll get the gallardo.i mean it.

• honest on Dec 26, 2013 at 1:13 pm

Looks like still using drum brake for rear tyre
    Adeh
    Bila nak berubah ni

• perodua on Dec 26, 2013 at 2:15 pm

why change when it is a proven technology?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 26
    • alldisc on Dec 26, 2013 at 4:41 pm

the rear end of the car is too light (because too short) to cope with disc brakes power. doesnt matter even with ABS or ESP, once the rear end loses grip bcoz of even mild braking power then thats it.

• honest on Dec 26, 2013 at 1:17 pm

Actually this car is under my observation but unless there is no improvement with the engine & rear brake I will not be interested. it should be wider and the engine at least 1.6 turbo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • facelift or bumperlift?

are the designer running out of design, or the previous design is too perfect which cannot improve anymore?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Wow… Must be high in RV…

• Sirimusa on Dec 26, 2013 at 1:57 pm

Perodua is making fools out of us.
    The only reason you exist you idiots is because we don’t have enough money to buy over-priced foreign cars.
    And now you come up with this “facelift”?

Pathetic Perodua but unfortunately many of us have no choice…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
  • i call this CATDOG. if u know what i meaan

and i found many singles late 20 and early 30 bought this MPV. for what?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Dec 26, 2013 at 2:01 pm

Kereta Mudah Terbakar – Lagi Baru, Lagi Mudah Terbakar…!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
    • sam69 on Dec 29, 2013 at 11:04 am

This car at least can trade in, unlike my K5, that kena the broomstick treatment from Sam

• sudonano on Dec 26, 2013 at 2:11 pm

I’d reckon the pre Facelift looks better.

• Pre-facelift looks like bigger version of Myvi. now look like bigger version of Viva, I think.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • perotiga on Dec 26, 2013 at 3:19 pm

the person using the username “perodua” seems rather defensive. you gotta chill out a bit bro/sis! don’t follow the footsteps of the proton engineer that lashed out at consumers for criticising proton. =)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • norman on Dec 26, 2013 at 3:47 pm

Haiz a guy here really take racial peace and harmony for granted with his usual Toyota chanting..Are you a Japanese by the way?How much Toyota pay you for promoting them?Really despo ppl.For your info Sucessful ppl use high end marque like BMW,MB,Maserati etc.
    If nothing else to say rather than ignite racial issues better go sell your arse to the Japs.
    Back to topic i was hoping Alza use 1.6 engine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • PreveLovers on Dec 26, 2013 at 4:09 pm

@perodua…are u referring to Preve CFE and Suprima S ? Preve n Suprima S already have a good aerodynamic design and one of the best Lotus Ride and Handling…guess u can’t beat that, right ? hahaha…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • alldisc on Dec 26, 2013 at 4:45 pm

may i know what is the co-efficient drag factor of both cars mentioned with a reliable link to support?

thanx.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
      • Prevé: 0.29-0.30
        Suprima: 0.30-0.32
        Perdana (facelift): 0.29
        Gen-2/Persona/Neo: 0.30
        Exora: 0.33
        2007 Lancer GT: 0.29
        Inspira: no official figure or paper but they fixed 2007-2010 LGT bumper aero problems, probably lower than LGT.
        BMW 3-series F30: 0.29-0.30
        BMW 3-series E46: 0.31
        new Civic (normal): 0.32
        new Civic Hybrid: 0.28
        Viper GTS: 0.45
        Lamborghini Aventador: 0.33
        LaFerrari: 0.30
        Audi TT: 0.28-0.30
        GT-R: 0.27

I’ve put some examples just to give you an idea how aerodynamically efficient Proton cars are, despite what others said about their design. They really did their homework, and they work.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
    • Is Lotus Ride & Handling something to brag about? Is it a standard that all car manufacturers have to go for?

No.

There are other stricter requirements for ride & handling.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
      • Preve Lover on Dec 27, 2013 at 5:39 pm

yup…at least it does handles better than this Perodua “Bricks” Alza…and some more way more comfortable than Alza or any other Perodua cars ever produced

• blower ekon belakang tetap takde.
    perubahan pada seat baris ketiga yang boleh dilipat sebelah itu bagus sama macam exora, ada kelebihan pada ciri2 itu.
    selain dari itu takde beza dengan alza sekarang.

• Mati Katak on Dec 26, 2013 at 4:48 pm

When to improve the safety of the car ? other wise, the next model should call as “KATAK” ! once accident, mati katak !

• Whats the difference???????

• Almost like Freed with No Sliding Door

• nabill on Dec 26, 2013 at 10:43 pm

hahahahahahahahaha…………….!

• protonsucks on Dec 26, 2013 at 11:31 pm

so is this ALZA SV terima kasih cikgu limited edition extreme sv flx new year edition ?

• Alza, proton, toyota , ferarri… or wat … make sure pay your car instalment on time and wthout arrears!! Buy car which suit your budget!!! Most of shits here talking kok??? When comes to month end… The bank have to chase this shits here for the payments!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
  • sl_tan on Dec 27, 2013 at 2:59 am

so it is the same freaking thing again , and again?
    yawn

• Christina yap on Dec 27, 2013 at 12:56 pm

any different ????

• KhairizzNoSora on Dec 27, 2013 at 5:03 pm

benda yg ptt diimprove utk model baru:
    1.Sound proof (bg kedap udara sket) hahaha..
    2.Suspension bg keras sket.
    3.Aircond utk 3rd row.
    4.Cat kasi tebal sket.

*hahaha

• iluvamd on Dec 31, 2013 at 6:38 am

alza 3rd is not very practically , in term of safety and ergornomics . I bought the alza as wagon … not mpv . you can search for opel zafira crash test , 3rd row is not safe even it’s zafira , if you want safety wise , please consider the true mpv , e.g. the length > 5m .

• NANDAKUMAR on Dec 31, 2013 at 5:22 pm

Tipu rakyat…tipu undi….tipu duit…
    songlap rakyat.
    Tkx.Stop buying local Malaysian cars.this monkeys are depriving each one of your your rights to own a luxury car.

• What facelift??

• nandakumar on Jan 05, 2014 at 10:19 am

proton & perodua & Mahathir.
    This 3 craps made automobile industry a rotten garbage.
    If not everyone us will be owing luxury cars at very decent price.This 3 F@cknuts really robbed us of our quality of life.

• zullo on Jan 06, 2014 at 12:37 pm

he he he he he dah pakai innova 8 tahun …model 2005. MEmang buruk keta tu tapi tak pening kepala jaga. Nak jual pun tak berbaloi.

• karipap on Jan 06, 2014 at 3:57 pm

safety is no question , truck hit s320 oso penyek..drive carefully guys..

• Alza 2014 on Jan 07, 2014 at 2:38 am

this variant really like sporty and still maintain for familys car. so mesti ramai suka kan..

• x alza on Jan 11, 2014 at 2:32 pm

Nov 13 trade in alza 2010 standart auto get rm38k. For sure this year tradein value drop 25k to 30k..
    nasib baik sudah jual..