Proton to come out with hybrid car by end-2014, to bring an EV into the market by the end of 2015

saga ev

Some news on developments on the hybrid and electric vehicle front for Proton – it was reported recently that the automaker said it’s anticipating to come out with a hybrid car by the end of 2014, and that it expects to launch an EV by end-2015.

According to executive chairman Tan Sri Mohd Khamil Jamil, the company is “still on track with the hybrid project, and will complete the new technology by the end of 2014.” He added that that in the case of the EV, the prototype was ready and that the automaker was now at the testing stage to ensure it meets local specifications. No details were reported on which model the EV would be based on.

In September 2012, Parliament was told that Proton would begin selling electric vehicles by 2014. At that stage, the national car company was collaborating with UK-based Frazer-Nash Research to develop its own EV.

Back in 2010 and into 2011, prototypes of the Range Extender Electric Exora and UTM/Proton-developed Saga EV were heavily showcased – the duo were involved in the RAC Future Car Challenge 2011 from Brighton to London, and eight examples (five Exora REEV and three Saga EVs) were handed to the government for fleet testing trials, but things seem to have quietened since then.

Click here to read our preview drive reports of the Exora REEV and Saga EV.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Abis la kene bash…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 44
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 26, 2013 at 2:27 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 231
      • Syazwan007 on Dec 26, 2013 at 2:57 pm

So toyota prius for the past 20 years never had any problem with, say, unintended acceleration, that became a huge issue in 2010?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 19
        • Petrolhead on Dec 26, 2013 at 4:06 pm

Proton should turn the GSC into an EV to battle the likes of Mitsubishi i-MiEV and Nissan Leaf

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
        • not to be on his side, but prius never had any court case of unintended acceleration incidents. it’s the camry that had this issue, and it only happens in Muricca, where low-IQ americans try to sue everyone out of anything. iinm toyota won the case. there are no cases outside of america, only 1 case in taiwan. toyota tried to recreate the case but couldn’t find anything wrong with the specific car in taiwan.

• Syazwan007 on Dec 27, 2013 at 1:22 pm

Steve wozniak tried to recreate the unintended acceleration on a prius and he succeeded. There was no court case, but the whole issue was subjected to congressional hearing in USA where akio toyoda even apologize.

• puiii..toyota quote 50k to replace broken parts dur to flood. gila bapak mahal

• Um…my saga blm never rosak before n I own since 2009..even when i plying with the power windows during traffic jam it still functional..but I do damage my car by my own fault like banging wall n hitting side of park lorry..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 92
        • I oso said the truth oso get disliked? I never had problem with my power windows not even once!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 79
          • Harmony on Dec 26, 2013 at 5:06 pm

I think people know you are racist. Every post you like to talk about race.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 29
          • KhazanahMalaysia on Dec 26, 2013 at 6:09 pm

Becoz ur saga uses manual one….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 20
          • sori beb my power windows is auto

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 60
          • necromaster on Sep 12, 2014 at 1:27 pm

i agree with kzm. my saga blm since 2008 never gave me problem. i did gave an avanza a problem though when i bang its back. rm700 to repair the avanza and rm50 to repair my blm. sold the saga earlier this year and driving an exora now..

• other people talk rasis..most people here like to included rasis comment indirectly..im just using frontal assault..if other people can use y i cannot?..i just use their word as my word..this is free country..its my hand i can write watever i want..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 75
          • Muhibbah Always on Dec 27, 2013 at 8:10 am

Sori, have to agree, you are one big racist. Stop your nonsense bro. Stop instigating and bringing hatred in this forum. No logic to what you trying to justify. A wrong is a wrong. Of other people eat shit, you eat shit also lah? Anyway, nobody in this forum spurs racist remarks except only you

• Fariq on Dec 27, 2013 at 9:48 am

Hahaha.. Free country my ass. Tell that to the people who got detained for saying things that are deemed ‘seditious.’

• Colin Wong on Dec 27, 2013 at 12:27 pm

Dear KZM, I have never read your post, so can’t tell if you often issue race-based comments. But, please do not make SWEEEEEPIIING statements like “most people here”. Give statistics. You are like the gomen of the day, always generalising!

Anyway, if you are racist, we don’t care whether you are Chinese, Malay, Indian or Kadazan, we’ll not condone it. Get it?

• Low Budget on Dec 27, 2013 at 9:36 am

You are one of the lucky ones who got a reasonable quality Proton while many have small nagging issue with their Proton cars. The quality got improve a bit may be because they have reduce the number of vendors.

• i’m sure you’re Toyota salesman

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
      • Vader on Dec 26, 2013 at 3:22 pm

This shame loo is just a joker, just take laugh them is enough..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
      • Oh look! It’s SamShowedMeTheHilux the idiot who condemn proton every single time he sees a news about proton. Don’t bring shame to yourself by calling yourself a No.1 toyota salesman. With that attitude of yours, you think you are qualify to become no.1 salesman? what a joke man. No professionalism in you at all. Oh yeah, i own a proton waja. Its 11 years old now and still working fine, while my toyota altis? only 3 years and the aircond compressor is faulty, starter faulty, lights faulty etc. yup its a toyota corolla altis 08′. So please dude, keep all your ‘ToyotaTheAlmighty’ comment aside. Every car manufacturer will have some mistake in their car model, not only proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 27
      • Toyota also got power window problem, brake problem, alarm problem, engine malfunction sometimes for those below 100k variants. Luxury and quality only for price higher than 200k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
      • SamLooPleaseStopBeingIgnorantandArrogant on Dec 26, 2013 at 5:41 pm

Sorry to interrupt, Proton and Honda signed an agreement, so, Proton won’t be using their own batteries and electric motors(Heck, even the turbo isn’t theirs)and more likely Honda’s motors etc, but maybe not the IMA because it has quite some problems.
        And I’d pick a Jazz if compared to Prius. Prius has near-zero headroom at the back seat although the car is quite good overall. And oh, my uncle recently sold his 3 years old Prius because of constant defects even he changed the parts like 2 or 3 times. So, buying cars mostly depends on luck, not the company’s reputation (reliability). Btw, he sold it for about RM50k only, more than half the price of the original price. RV eh? But nevermind, he’s a rich guy, he switched to a Merc now, so far so good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 9
        • Enthu on Dec 26, 2013 at 10:24 pm

If you want to spout buIIshit please prepare your defamatory statements carefully. 50k for a Prius?

I’ll take 10 of them, anytime, anyday.

Typical immature keyboard warrior

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 27
      • start-a-fight on Dec 27, 2013 at 10:07 am

if u say power windows is electronic… i say is it electronic problem or mechanical?

#failed

• EhDude on Dec 27, 2013 at 3:02 pm

Get your fact right dude, thats for old proton cars, my Neo served me well for 4 years, even the speed of down and up beat my friend’s new jazz.

• SagaOwner on Dec 27, 2013 at 5:38 pm

I am a fresh graduate that came out to work 1 yr ago. I can only afford to buy a saga and my parent can not afford me a better car. I actually use my own money fromy 10 yrs saving. It is sad to see from the blog of such arrogant blogger like Sam Loo and Hilux, We work harf to make our living, I am a proud owner of local car becuase I used my own money. I am 24 yrs old engineer. Even if one day I have more money to change to better car, I will not look down on others and critisize others like rheir life will be a failure if driving local car that we can afford. Sam shall be humble and respect others. As a man of Toyota, I dont think he is doing good in his career.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • http://www.utusan.com.my/utusan/Ekonomi/20131227/ek_10/General-Motors-tarik-balik-146-juta-kereta-dari-pasaran

Yang bukan kereta buatan proton pun kena panggil balik jd hebat sangat ke kereta buatan luar mcm ni? 146 juta unit tu beb….moral of the story….jd jgn kondem produk buatan tempatan…

• Akira on Dec 26, 2013 at 2:32 pm

Yup. Let the games begin!

• Khaibrid on Dec 26, 2013 at 6:32 pm

Normal car pun macam sial nak buat hybrid konon. Mabuk todi malam krismas ke ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 43
      • dalam malaysia ni mmg banyak org sial mcm kau. beli proton saga pun x mampu.lagi mau kondem..pui

• abuya123 on Dec 27, 2013 at 11:25 am

Nasi dah basi. Baru sekarang nak serius keluarkan hybrid? Patut tu yang buat dulu sebelum suprima. Biasalah… DSZ buat kereta fikir profit. DRB buat keta ikut trend antarabangsa… bukan trend Malaysia. Tu pasal kurang laku kat Malaysia

EV aku tak nak komen. Cek kat bawah, bersepah orang komen

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • sam69 on Dec 26, 2013 at 1:58 pm

Kimchi is still world No.1 best car! And Toyoita is No.1 trash car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 15
  • opaixxx on Dec 26, 2013 at 2:03 pm

hahaha.. bashlah kamu

• sudonano on Dec 26, 2013 at 2:08 pm

Delays and delays.

So what happened to the EMAS project?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
  • Temasekdude on Dec 26, 2013 at 2:09 pm

Proton is soo expensive in singapore, better buy bmw or mercs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 9
    • Lol..all car in singapore is expensive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 5
      • I think he’s referring to the fact that you can buy a Subaru Impreza for more or less the same price as a Proton Waja in Singapore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • paparadzi on Dec 26, 2013 at 2:14 pm

If Proton want to build a hybrid, let it be a Prius-style hybrid and not the Serena S-hybrid type.

• blabla bla on Dec 26, 2013 at 2:20 pm

proton u can go back to your cave 30 years ago

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 58
    • think you must be cave man … i did’t know cave man drive a car ….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 4
  • I can feel the war start soon haha…

Many ppl gave complements on China-Israel Qoros 3 sedan and bashed Proton. First car launched already got 5 star ANCAP! and then says Proton already 20-30 years still produced the same sh*t! If you want to compare like that how about compare Proton with Toyota? Toyota took them 60 years to sell its first hybrid car but Proton? 32 years only haha…

Anyway cant wait to see how Proton EV/hybrid looks like.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 17
    • rock you head on Dec 26, 2013 at 3:09 pm

Why don’t you say Thomas Edison fail to invent LED but just a Bulb that only last for 10hour?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 17
    • Enthu on Dec 26, 2013 at 10:26 pm

A pioneer took years to reinvent the wheel and the “last” copycat who came by gets all the credit?

Bravo….this is the product of our competitive education system in our country…as claimed by Muhyiddin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
  • sense on Dec 26, 2013 at 2:22 pm

Not bad consider Tun Abdullah Badawi had test drive the Proton Gen2 hybrid back in 2008, after 6 years of R&D finally the first Proton Hybrid car would came out from the factory.

6 years of R&D, it must be a very good hybrid car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
    • Ah yeah, the Gen 2 hybrid, kinda forgotten about that. But that was jointly develope by Detroit Electrics and as soonafter some press-drive, there was no news of it.
      Detroit electric latest project involves an electri-fied Lotus Elise and hopefully, given the fact that Lotus is under Proton, DE stiill have some connection with Protonn.

• That gen2 is develop with lotus under the name Gen2 EVE if not mistaken

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • KampungBoy on Dec 26, 2013 at 2:25 pm

EV my foot! Electricity tariff hike. Petrol price also hike. Either way we still got sucked.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 12
  • kudos to proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 18
  • Rosyam Nor Fan on Dec 26, 2013 at 2:41 pm

Rosyam nor like hybrid car. He will buy this car and used it for kl gengster 5. In 2015 all taiko in kl will drive saga hybrid cause it is cool and got bad ass look. Bravo proton the coolest car brand in entire universe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
  • No wonder tnb naik tarif

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
  • If I am not mistaken, Proton hasn’t shown any prototype or demonstrator of their hybrid system, only their REEV have been publically announce. Overall, a good progresssive move but of course, a clap of hands will wait until the real thing comes out, and at what spec and price.

But I am more concearn on how this will affect the hybrid-incentive thing. I am not sure how much influence Proton has on the governing of the local car market at its current state. Hopefully not a repeat of the past in which the Proton will attempt to monopolize the hybrid car by price than anything else.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
  • sauk304 on Dec 26, 2013 at 3:05 pm

tiap kali keluar topik pasal PROTON, teruk proton kena belasah kat alam cyber nie …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
    • coz, proton is the popular car in cyber space and universe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
      • Low Budget on Dec 27, 2013 at 9:46 am

Also because Proton is a ‘Global’ brand.
        ‘Kesian’ dengan Proton

• Norman on Dec 26, 2013 at 3:28 pm

Again why rely on UK for collaboration?Havent we learned enough UK & Europe making a fool out of us?There’s a lot of Japanese and Koreans partners out there and at least their parts are more durable and suitable for our climate.I dun know how much is going to cost for the hybrid cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
  • So, this proton hybrid car’s battery source from Energizer AA size Battery?

People is like this, wjen they could not afford a bettet build car, they will dying to protect the reputation of their beloved proton.

3 year persona, with less than 40k km done, need replacement for Engine Mounting, Drive Shaft with tak tak sound, windshield or wiper pump dead, leaking oil seal between gearbox and engine.

Many more faults, lazy to list all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 19
    • MyKar on Dec 26, 2013 at 5:20 pm

You.. skyu needs to mandi bunga… It’s you that give the jinx.. not the car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
  • superman on Dec 26, 2013 at 3:30 pm

More ancient UK out of service stuff by that frazer nash technology company to be used by Proton as latest tech?? pls stop making jokes brd has any idea how to run this company??? we know about their work in proton for years and so far Zero results. ppl beware.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
    • Robot boy on Dec 26, 2013 at 11:27 pm

People who have you negative point must be frazer Nash people or proton marketing people employed to do this. Everyone knows for the last 5 years how proton paid tens of millions to frazer Nash for hybrid technology and all gone to toilet. Drb being a company with no plans just open the old books and says we will do this and that same as their roadmap plans!

• nabill on Dec 26, 2013 at 3:50 pm

Why da heck thy give to governement to test??? Those guys cant even do their job n cant run a governemnt u xpect them to kno hybrid systems n its complicated hardware????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
  • luvrebadged on Dec 26, 2013 at 4:12 pm

Must be a rebadged.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • I totally lost confidence in Proton when the All new Perdana came out. But looking at the hybrid and EV, i started to change and at least Proton they are still putting effort in RND instead of just rebadge. Good job and keep it up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
    • sauk304 on Dec 26, 2013 at 5:35 pm

i think, the RND guy already left the company.

• Azmi turbo on Dec 26, 2013 at 11:30 pm

RND managers all resigned and left for tan Chong and in proton drb replaced them with alam flora management.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • its good that proton is following the hybrid trend but its better for them to solve the current issues they have in their cars first before implementing the hybrid tech into them..the build quality of proton cars that is

• Confuse on Dec 26, 2013 at 4:53 pm

Are they really want to produce it? or it just talk….

• Why not invest in the overall branding and the design feature of Proton? Basic design already looks like shit, now add another light bulb to shine and let the whole world see. Preve did a good job with the exterior looks but interior welcomes me to vomit even before test drive. Hope proton can welcome some new blood in the company instead of depending all these scholarship students with no passion for cars and low creativity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
    • You must be almera Ironman theme dashboard fan don’t you? LOLOLOL

• kadajawa on Dec 26, 2013 at 5:16 pm

Power window rosak, now wanna sell hybrid and electric cars?

Ends up at wasting time for repair at service centre more than use it for daily driving lah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
    • kadajawasuck on Dec 28, 2013 at 3:08 am

POwer window rosak aku tak heran, other big manufacturers airbag module rosak then did massive recall all over the world you don’t bash?

• Wut? Seriously, it’s already Battlefield 4

• haizzz on Dec 26, 2013 at 8:16 pm

They can’t even get the ‘regular’ cars right. Now they want to make hybrid?

Get the basics right first, then venture to different things. This is the truth. Anyone who dislike this is an idiot. There are a lot of excellent car manufacturers out there which haven’t entered the hybrid market yet. Why? Because it is very costly. If you don’t sell well, you lose A LOT.

But Proton? Proton? Seriously? Hybrid battery costs a lot. How sure are you that Proton’s hybrid battery will last you more than 3 years? Considering Proton’s reputation for its ‘reliability’? Would it beat the FC of a regular car? Would you part with your hard-earned money to buy Proton hybrid car? Which may cost north of RM80k-90k?

Or just buy a good regular foreign car for that kind of money, and have a peace of mind?

(BTW, the term ‘patriotic’ does not apply to Proton/Perodua. Now, all their cars are not made by Malaysia. It’s only rebadged in Malaysia.)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 17
    • Proton cars are rebadged?
      Either you are trying to be funny or you don’t live in Malaysia.

• Can’t even produce proper petrol cars, and now want to produce hybrid and EV cars?

Well done Proton, just well done…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
  • Alamak, Habis Rakyat!
    They will definitely withdraw or drastically reduce the current tax free status for imported hybrid cars in-order to protect proton and force the people to buy their junks.
    For goodness sake, try learn to walk first by removing the government clutches before you want to fly. Compete on level playing field or just rebrand Honda hybrid models which will guarantee success.

• Enthu on Dec 26, 2013 at 10:30 pm

By 2015, Toyota already set to move on to hydrogen fuel cell cars. Being a successful pioneer in reinventing the wheel again.

Then Proton announce…”we are finally in the hybrid segment!”
    When almost all automakers already step into it and moving on to other things already.

Another “Tidak Apa” attitude that guarantees our local automaker are always last in the show.

*facepalm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • ‘Being a successful pioneer in reinventing the wheel again.’

Wikipedia: ‘The first modern fuel cell vehicle was a modified Allis-Chalmers farm tractor, fitted with a 15 kilowatt fuel cell, around 1959.’

Toyota is a ‘pioneer’? LOL!

• Dejavu on Dec 26, 2013 at 10:50 pm

I hope the battery unit don’t blow up and stick into passenger arse

• Guan Yin Ma on Dec 26, 2013 at 11:04 pm

Haix. No cure.

• Denaihati on Dec 26, 2013 at 11:25 pm

my opinion, so many bashing shows M’sian still concern with proton and want to see proton success. and then people will get the benefits, but if no good action and “lepaskan batuk ditangga sahaja” i’m sure will not go anywhere.
    hybrid and EV car is new for proton, re-badge might be good during this learning curve.
    good luck proton.

• Sakithati on Dec 27, 2013 at 8:28 am

Go to hell lah Proton. Menyusahkan rakyat saja. Global car konon. Boleh blah lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
      • Orang sakit on Dec 27, 2013 at 11:54 am

Ini salah sorang rakyat Malaysia yang tak mampu nak beli Proton or at least Viva BZ.

• apexg2 on Dec 27, 2013 at 8:43 am

haha…dun bash la..even other giant carmaker have their failure..wait till the car out 1st la then baru comment good/bad…
    by the way…u drive what car?or merc maybe…never rosak one…
    be rasional bro…im not proton owner either but wait till the car produce 1st…

• darkermarker on Dec 27, 2013 at 9:30 am

Sorry, Proton. I had enough of your car problems oredi. I have given you many chances to improve but eventually I have given up hope.

I have switched to other brands long time….

• vroom vroom on Dec 27, 2013 at 9:36 am

don’t understand why proton fan thinks their favourite should be exempted from criticism? every cars/brands have pros & cons but every time comes a news about proton they think no one can criticize them.

• Orang sakit on Dec 27, 2013 at 11:58 am

The problem is they criticize something that not even launch yet. Always saying the same thing. Power window power window power window. That is not criticize. That is plain stupid.

• Herman Tino on Dec 27, 2013 at 5:24 pm

Kritik dan Bashing lain lah saudara… yale ya le….

Kritik – Wah, Nickname vroom vroom, bagus…tapi kenapa tak pakai Vroom Vroom…pakai la huruf besar pada awal perkataan…

Bashing – Bodoh bangang…pakai nickname vroom vroom mesti macam buadak sekolah yg baru dapat basikal, lepas tu imagine mcm rempit sangat la tu… sudah la…tutup je la akaun facebook ko tu…menghabiskan duit mak bapak je… dah… poket pon kosong, ade hati nak pakai nickname vroom vroom… pakai toyota la…baru la tak low life…

haa itu la beza dia… :)

• Top Gear on Dec 27, 2013 at 2:07 pm

wow, now we have a new car to hammer for our show……

• proton_sucked on Dec 27, 2013 at 2:08 pm

it is truth proton car is lower quality but sell expensive in Malaysia. Everyone knows when they drive Japan / Kimchi cars and compare with the Proton. If Proton BOLEH, they should sell expensive overseas. But Proton only able to survive with the protection from our lovely Government to allow Proton to keep on sucking big money from the POOR MALAYSIAN only. In the real world outside from Malaysia, PROTON is like the useless crap that totally incompetence to face other car manufacturers….

• sense on Dec 28, 2013 at 3:06 am

Lower quality? Is Vios has 5 star Australian NCAP like preve?

• unsohai on Dec 28, 2013 at 7:31 pm

Proton Macai always give this 5 star NCAP result to comparison… Hello!! go design your own Accord..

• sense on Dec 30, 2013 at 4:37 pm

So what, you butthurt? LOL
          It’s win-win business model, again, you butthurt?

LOLOLOLOL

• say who? on Dec 31, 2013 at 1:26 am

sense… hanya sohai..yg mengaku dia x sohai…dia igt proton rebadge accord n jual utk public…. tu yg meraban like a dog tuu

• Gto_twinturbo on Jan 06, 2014 at 1:01 am

Accord 2013 only got 4 stars?
          http://m.ancap.com.au/vehiclerecord?Id=537&make=25

• Whynot on Dec 27, 2013 at 9:02 pm

The only hope that Proton could spear ahead of others is to go straight in making REEV or Extended EV with plug-in type. Is no point making hybird or EV as REEV technology is readily available and super ceded in all aspects of feasible usage and economic! REEV is the future technology at its best! Don’t be a doggie following behind others as more and more of your Malaysia supporters are loosing fate on you!!!!

• Moonwalker on Dec 28, 2013 at 1:00 am

Proton don’t waste your money on R&D just do what you do best it called REBADGE. Maybe collaboration with Tesla car make us happy.

• Thompson on Dec 28, 2013 at 5:31 pm

Haih… No comment with nowadays people. Proton produce hybrid, still wanna complain. No choice because dont say malaysian, human always not enough with anything. Im human too, i smtimes oso not enough with something. Dont expect yourself to be holy

• unsohai on Dec 28, 2013 at 7:25 pm

From this post, we know Proton will rebadge Insight or Jazz hybrid by end of 2014.

• Keris Jawa on Dec 29, 2013 at 1:54 pm

“A country’s character is projected in the cars it produces”. Shall I say more?

• farizY on Dec 30, 2013 at 9:39 am

No point using EV, will burn your pocket much worse than a conventional internal combustion car due to electricity tariff hike.

• botolsusu on Dec 31, 2013 at 12:00 pm

diesel is the way to go.