Lexus ES – space comparison vs S-Class (and Camry)

ES & S Class 01

The way it is right now, moving up from the RM150k to RM200k range of sedans will take you into the realm of the entry-level BMW 3-Series, Audi A4 or Merc C-Class, with underdogs like the Volvo S60 coming in at that price range as well. These are cars that are all significantly smaller than the Camry/Accord segment, so while you are paying more, you end up with a smaller car.

To enjoy similar levels of interior length as what you are used to with a D-segment car, you’d have to move up to a car that’s significantly more expensive. When you talk about legroom, not even a 5-Series or an E-Class can beat a Camry or Accord – you’ll have to look at short-wheelbase S-Class or 7-Series territory, and those cars are priced from RM650k onwards, a massive jump from the RM150k to RM200k that people usually spend on a D-segment car.

This is probably why you see a lot of Camrys or Accords parked in huge multi-million ringgit bungalows – these owners do not want to spend that much money on a car, but there’s really nothing in the mid-segment that can offer a larger interior. It’s also probably why vans like the Alphard and Vellfire are so popular these days – for between RM250k to RM300k you can get a recond unit and get a big upgrade in interior space.

But let’s face it – as posh as they’re portrayed to be, Alphards are still essentially vans. The single-box interior usually means drab interior design and lots of sound intrusion from the rear-wheel wells. The tall roof also means driving dynamics are going to be far from what you’re used to in a sedan.

S-Class (left) and ES

The Lexus ES is based on the Toyota Avalon, a class of car larger than the likes of the Camry and Accord. Other cars in its class include the Ford Taurus, which is a size larger than the Mondeo. With the promise of an increase in interior space over a normal D-segment sedan, the Lexus ES is an interesting proposition, and one that we wonder why no one else has followed just yet. Perhaps Ford will make a right-hand-drive Taurus with the next generation? Doesn’t seem impossible, since the Mustang is a global car now.

Because of its large interior, I set out to find out if an ES could be a credible alternative to spending significantly more money on a car in the S-Class segment. The evaluation is based on my physique – I am about 182 cm tall. The benchmark car in this case is a W221 Mercedes-Benz S300L facelift.

The focus is thus on space and comfort, since you couldn’t expect an ES to match the gizmos that could be found in an S-Class. We also had normal D-segment cars such as the Honda Accord and Toyota Camry as a comparison.

In terms of legroom, the already generous ES cannot match the S300L, but it does have better leg space than the short-wheelbase Merc. You’ll immediately miss the adjustable rear seat controls in the S-Class. It’s no huge loss though, as the standard seat incline is already comfortable. However, sitting in the typical boss’ position behind the passenger seat, I found that the leg angle isn’t as comfortable as the S-Class or even some D-segment cars with outstanding rear comfort, like the Accord.

ES & Camry 01

The space under the front passenger seat also seems to be a little restricted – you can’t tuck your feet under it as comfortably as the other benchmark cars, and the left side of the floor seems a little higher than the right side, making it an odd sensation. The end result is you have to keep your leg closer to a 90 degree angle than stretch it out comfortably.

In terms of rear bench width, the ES is much narrower than an S-Class and even somehow even feels slightly narrower than an Accord. Putting the armrest down in the ES resulted in the armrest touching my thighs while there was a lot of space to be found with the S300L’s armrest down. I noticed that the rear door panels seem to protrude a bit more into the cabin compared to the front door panels, resulting in a slightly narrower rear cabin compared to the front area.

Headroom is limited as well – sitting straight in the rear bench in an ES resulted in my hair scrubbing against the headliner; all you need is for the driver to go over a speed bump faster than usual and your head will hit the roof. The roofline also slopes towards the C-pillar, resulting in the possibility of further ‘encounters’ with your head as you get into the car. In the S300L, sitting up as straight as I could, I still had about seven fingers worth of space above my head.

Camry (left) and ES.

Other things I noticed was a lack of storage space in the rear door pockets. And the front door pockets had no lining in them, so they looked pretty cheap and felt even cheaper when items such as a Smart TAG was placed in them.

So yes, on paper the Lexus ES looks like a fantastic budget chauffeur car, perhaps even having the potential to write off cars like the S-Class as somewhat redundant and as a result, even more of a luxury than before, but a side by side comparison in reality will show you the differences. There’s really more to interior space and comfort than just legroom and wheelbase.

Still, it’s not a bad proposition if you’re not tall like me, and it’s a lot of metal for your money, significantly more than anything else you can buy in the RM250k to RM300k range. But for me, I’d rather be in the driver’s seat of the ES than in the back.

Read our review of the Lexus ES 250 and ES 300h here.

Lexus ES

Mercedes S-Class

Toyota Camry

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Joe Radzif on Dec 30, 2013 at 8:55 am

ES color is better for me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • Boss,your steering picture for Lexus is wrong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
  • a japanese car will always be a japanese car, no matter how posh you want it to be. it will never beat how the germans engineers their cars. in a japanese car u will always find that sense of cheap plastics even in a more expensive japanese car, i.e. Lexus LS460. if you compare that side by side an s-class or a 7-series, you will feel that sense of cheapness significantly. and don’t come and talk about RV, people who buy such cars don’t care about RV. cheers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 90
    • Until the german breaks down….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 9
      • Taggy on Dec 30, 2013 at 7:37 pm

Hahaha & if the warranty expires… pay for the repairs through your @rse. When I think of it, I have seen BeeMers and Mercs & VW breaking down by the road side but never seen a Lexus break down . Maybe could be just my luck.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 9
        • das auto on Dec 31, 2013 at 3:48 pm

How many lexus only on the road? maybe 1 a day i see only. But i see hundreds of beemers/benz. Even if 1% breakdown also can see 1 benz/bm a day.

Just like i always see camry and corolla break down and overheat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
          • Taggy on Dec 31, 2013 at 4:50 pm

Pity those 1 % with broken down Germany makes. As I said in my previous post… now they bleed through their @rse and probably their nose to maintain their rides.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
          • if you like german cars so be it. Better talk to my buddy who is a service manager in a Mercedes dealer close to me. That Mercedes , BMW’s and audi break a lot than Toyota’s and Honda’s. It was intended that way for their service department to keep going.
            PLease, don’t lie. You don’t know cars better than I do.

• frenzyaustin on Dec 30, 2013 at 3:56 pm

But the new 3 series has more plastic than Lexus IS. The plastic is beside the front seat leg compartment there. It used Proton like plastic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 10
    • AUSNSW on Dec 30, 2013 at 6:27 pm

Both japanese and german are talent race…Come on,they are really doing well in engineering…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • makcik11 on Dec 30, 2013 at 6:48 pm

I can’t agree more. Logically, one would only go for a Lexus if they cannot afford the car itself, or cannot afford the maintenance of a Merc, BMW, Audi or a Volvo in this case (which regular maintenance can easily cost over RM1k), and let’s not talk about the likes of Porsches. The sheer difference in quality, from the refinement of the engine to the gearbox to the solidity of the chassis itself justifies the premium in price. Only the Japanese/Koreans etc can make a 3.0L V6 that’s lower than a 2.0t I4. With proper maintenance (if you can afford), they will be reliable, maybe not nearly as reliable as a Japanese, but let’s face it, you’ll already have an upgrade by the time it breaks down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 17
      • face it.

less reliable car got higher chance to break down, even during warranty period.

covered by warranty, but where is peace?

Lexus is more reliable then a Benz.
        but a Benz is still top 10 reliable car.

Lexus and Benz both are better reliability compared to Audi and BMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
        • anonymous on Jan 01, 2014 at 11:45 am

you still don’t get it? wanting a reliable/worth-it car = wanting to squeeze more out of your money = in other words, cheapskate. you either own a premium car because don’t care about value for money, or you own one to look as though you don’t.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • BMW Fanboi on Dec 30, 2013 at 9:16 am

Personally, I have always liked the look of the Toyota ES

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
  • 4G63T DSM on Dec 30, 2013 at 9:35 am

The problem with this segment is that brand image is just as important as the car itself. More often perhaps more.

If that wasn’t the case, every one will be driving Skoda Superbs. Driven in one before. The rear quarters were HUGH.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • Read about it’s rival with Audi A6, Bentley and a few more luxuries before in Autocar.

End up getting the same space/ comfort with Bentley, really impressive. I think it will kill the Lexus too in terms of space (too bad it’s actually a LWB passat).

• OMG…So Camry value for $$$…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
  • heybadigol on Dec 30, 2013 at 9:46 am

Not bad a review. But perhaps should do a decible test as well to hear how silent (or not) they are when on the move and when its raining heavily (a must test for our Malaysian roads). Or is that coming next? :) Also, to compare the boot space and shape of the boot for carrying different types of loads (long, fat, etc).

Honestly, im surpised that the Accord is more comfortable than the ES. That just made the Accord a real bargain – in terms of space. I do believe the Accord may be the noisiest of the cars tested here though, even with the Active Noise Cancellation. But not by much.

I think the lack of space in the ES rear pockets could be due to the Mark Levinson speakers (which I presume are in the doors of the ES – including subwoofers and woofers). You gain some (the awesome hifi), and lose some I guess.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
  • vincent on Dec 30, 2013 at 10:00 am

Another option is to get the Skoda Superb, can tapao this ES250 with ease with its’ 2.0 TSI engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 26
  • Taggy on Dec 30, 2013 at 10:48 am

I am an average build person and 176cm tall. Space was sufficient. Loved the leg room. Test drove the Lexus ES 250 luxury model last week. Although it’s not a high performance car, for a family car and also as an executive sedan, it has my vote. For rm279, I get a luxury sedan, ample leg room, good safety features, nice built quality, GPS,etc. for this price, there is no other NEW car that can offer these features. Certainly value for money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 11
    • zamer on Dec 30, 2013 at 1:42 pm

No other car can offer that?
      How about A6 hybrid at 280k?
      a massive 245bhp and 480nm torque which i can say can pull away most sports car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
      • downsys on Dec 30, 2013 at 3:34 pm

You’re right, the A6 hybrid is a better buy, unless of course the tax-exemption is taken back. Then it can’t compete in price anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
        • Taggy on Dec 30, 2013 at 7:43 pm

Hi Downsys & Zamer,

It is true that the Audi A6 Hybrid will be a better buy at that price range. However, during my car shopping weekend, I did pop into Audi in Glenmarie. They brought in 1500 units of Audi A6 Hybrid. All sold off and when I wanted to order one, the salesman told me that govt not renewing the hybrid tax exemption. So, that is why I went to look at the Lexus ES. The Audi A6 Hybrid is definitely worth the money at that price.

• Gegary on Dec 30, 2013 at 11:54 pm

If speaking strictly in terms of money, then you’d have to factor in the battery replacement and higher maintenance costs/lower reliability of the Audi too.

• Contender on Dec 30, 2013 at 10:49 am

Interesting comparison ….. the verdict ?

Stay with the Camry and save the $$ or upgrade to ES250 for the snob Lexus ? since S-class is way above the price bracket.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
  • qwerty on Dec 30, 2013 at 10:56 am

The ES is indeed a very compelling car. With a price tag of an entry level German sedan, it’s equipped with huge rooms, comfort and good features.

Some Taiwanese and American reviewers even said it ticks the box of handling! No wonder it’s the best selling Lexus sedan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
    • Heng Lee on Dec 30, 2013 at 6:02 pm

Taiwan and the US are known for strict speed limits. You’re right, it’s has very good car handling if you stay below 100km/h.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
  • niterunner99 on Dec 30, 2013 at 11:02 am

Yes, overall car sizes are quite similar, so are their interior spaces.
    BUT, main points are:
    1. these cars are market to different purchasing powered segments folks.
    2. other than spaces, each car performs differently.
    Rich folks will still go for the Mers even if they know Lexus has a better ride comfort, or that Camry is more fuel economical.
    Real drivers (price aside), will go for the best car to drive between these 3 cars.
    Don’t forget, Vellfire can flatten all the back seats to become a bed!! For what purpose is depending on your personal thoughts.

Thanks to Paul for all the work!
    Have a Happy New Year Everyone!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • So, some of those recond Alphards and Vellfires are used for make-outs in Japan.

• i wouldnt blame anyone who gets a lexus these days, the interior they offer is absolutely amazing and blows away all the competition, im just sad to say the exterior is not quite the same story, toyota really needs to find another design language. But if given the choice, id still have the lexus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
  • Do this test again on Driven haha

• Jinggo on Dec 30, 2013 at 11:25 am

Kanena…camry & lexus rupa pun sama saja. Apa barang? Phuih! Kasi angkat conti car saja la, baru ada class..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 58
  • kadajawi on Dec 30, 2013 at 1:35 pm

What’s with this obsession on leg room in Asia? As long as my feet can fit without touching anything I’m fine… And it is not as if Asians are very tall…

Anyway, why not consider the Skoda Superb?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • kairys on Dec 30, 2013 at 2:11 pm

if ES is comparable to S Class in terms of space, where that put GS? another level higher than S Class in terms of space? these segments in car really makes me headache

• frenzyaustin on Dec 30, 2013 at 3:59 pm

Es = GS space with IS price.
      GS and IS are better drivers car but ES are focus on value and comfort, which no premium car makers these days doing it.

• The writer seems to forget one more car that plays in the same segment of the ES albeit smaller which is the Volkswagen Passat CC. My friend has one and he’s now in a major headache when he wants to change car. He can’t seem to find a car to upgrade to, those within budget is much smaller and less powerful, while the others are simply too expensive.

• Taggy on Dec 30, 2013 at 8:12 pm

I was considering the CC at one point until I keep hitting my head upon going in and coming out of the car. Plus it’s very low hence you really need to be careful to peel yourself out from the car. Without even starting the car, I took it off my list of considerations.

• glaze on Jan 10, 2014 at 11:22 am

Passat CC is actually in another category, 4 doors coupe. The ES, Camry and S class are 4 doors sedan but not coupe.

• jolly_idiot on Dec 30, 2013 at 4:07 pm

A S class buyer will not look at ES.

ES buyer is far reaching S class.

Should comparing ES with E class. But then, I still feel ES is just another toyota with a different skin. E class do have better class.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
  • Cun Jaguh Bola Tampar on Dec 30, 2013 at 5:44 pm

i want Audi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • teamsleepnine on Dec 30, 2013 at 7:17 pm

when japanese r&d car the benchmark will always be mercedes,especially full size ones…when mercedes come out with a new s class,they re-invent automobile…to be honest the current lexus no where even close to the previous generation w214,w220..let alone w221…forget w222.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • tom178 on Dec 30, 2013 at 9:13 pm

Do keep in mind that with the Audi A6 & Lexus ES you are still getting a front wheel drive car (the assumption here is that rear-wheel drive cars cost more to build). It would also be great if we could have a comparison in terms of noise intrusion (maybe add the Honda Accord into the mix as well? ).

• Al Gorilla on Dec 30, 2013 at 9:34 pm

This is a proper article. Not a copy-paste press release with minimal writer input, not a “review” with superfluous writing (look I have a thesaurus!) that tries too hard to ape your British counterparts. NO AYAT BUNGA-BUNGA. This article is crisp, to the point, insightful and tries to answer a very practical question with utmost objectivity.

This is the reason why I come here in the first place. More like this please

• Sam Loo on Dec 31, 2013 at 9:30 am

Wow, Lexus and Benz being compared side by side, and Camry mentioned too

How come K5 or Sonata not mentioned at all?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
  • The design of the ES is so dull and the engine is under power. 9sec to reach 100, tht is 2.5L. They shld have fitted with IS engine.

• maman on Dec 31, 2013 at 12:55 pm

according to wiki, the s class is not a dsegment car, but instead its a F segment car. the merc c class is considered a d segment car.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vehicle_size_class

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Euro_Car_Segment

• Korean Fan on Dec 31, 2013 at 3:19 pm

Well it really depends on which country you are comparing. In some country Merc and Bemer (or any German/European) has no space in comparison to Japs and Korea. One of the country I know very well is Saudi Arabia. Some may say why Saudi Arabia?

Now for those who may not know Saudi Arabia (or other Middle Eastern countries), the car market is much more competitive and dynamic due to their low price (car and petrol) and high purchasing power. Also there is no issue of road tax and the CC of the car. All car has equal level of playing field. No issue with road tax or price of petrol. It is just how much the car company can offer.

Here, Lexus beats BM and Merc outright. In fact, Germans and euro cars have very little space due to their poor reliability, high maintenance cost (spare part) and poor RV.

BTW, in Saudi Arabia Lexus, Benz and BM are not considered as luxury car. They are just upper market car (except 7 series or S class probably) because luxury is the playing field of class like Bentley, Posh or Maserati. Just like Malaysian consider camry as luxury car, in Saudi Arabia, camry is just a decent car for an average Joe.

• das auto on Jan 01, 2014 at 1:24 am

Arab fellers dun know how to take car of cars. They just thrash everything like nobody’s business. Thats why ppl here avoid renting out their condos to them. Ask experience landlords and you will know. Just 1 month and the place is thrashed up.

So of course they prefer camry. Basic car and easy to maintain. Camry using cheap parts so it is cheap to replace.

• had an audi a8 lately, also my son had a s600. true , german cars are excellent in driving dynamics, but they don’t last. If you go pass 80,000 milles and over, the novelty wears off. It’s a piece of junk. Remember that. They’re just show off cars according to people who wanted a status quo. Japanese cars on this day are far supreme than german cars. Statistically, American cars comes second, third german cars. Nowadays, cars like tesla model s are the ones millionaires want to buy. Geraman cars however ate 90 percent leased. Only, 10 percent are purchasd. that alone will tell you german cars have all the bells and whisles yet false short in reliability and durability. That is audi cars improved their cars and suv’s because if consumers have so many complais on the product, audi and vw’s can’t sell their cars here in the u.s.
    Just like what wasdone to fiat back on the 60s