Qoros to debut second production car at Geneva 2014

qoros-2ndmodel-1

Chinese car manufacturer Qoros will be debuting its second production car at next year’s Geneva Motor Show scheduled to happen in March. Although only two teaser images of the front and rear of the new car have been released, it appears to be a hatchback version of their first production car, the Qoros 3 Sedan.

Since Europe is the land of the hatchbacks and wagons, it would make sense for the brand to debut the car there, since it has international ambitions after all. The hatch appears to have a slightly different front grille compared to the sedan.

qoros-2ndmodel-2

Earlier this year, Qoros launched the Qoros 3 Sedan at China’s Guangzhou Motor Show. Qoros claims the car is the most advanced car ever developed in China.

The base car which uses a normally aspirated 126 PS/155 Nm 1.6 litre VVT petrol engine mated to a six-speed manual cost just RM64k, and the top spec gets goodies like a turbocharged 1.6 litre engine doing 156 PS/210 Nm mated to a six-speed dual clutch gearbox.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Biskut on Dec 30, 2013 at 3:45 pm

Comments from people ranting about Proton coming up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 12
    • Petrolhead on Dec 30, 2013 at 5:28 pm

Malaysia’s best sedan, Proton Preve vs China’s best sedan, Qoros 3. Soon Malaysia’s best hatchback, Proton Suprima S vs China’s best hatchback, Qoros 3 hatchback!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • ntah pa2 on Dec 30, 2013 at 6:06 pm

apa mau buat proton talak improve kan diri dia sendiri..design suka2 ati tengok pon talak syok!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 20
    • Jaguh Kampung on Dec 31, 2013 at 2:28 pm

Stupid car must be bashed. After 30 years still a failure, need protection and cheating own local buyers. Pergi mampus lah

• yahooligan on Dec 30, 2013 at 4:27 pm

Brace yourself, proton bashers are coming!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
  • rosham nor fan on Dec 30, 2013 at 4:34 pm

Even though this car comes with 5 star NCAP rating, rosham wont buy it. If they use this car in kl gengster 5 then crook cannot die during crash scene. After all. Where got crook want to drive this sissy car. Better use proton the coolest car brand on the entire universe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
    • Low Budget on Dec 31, 2013 at 3:40 pm

Yes, the coolest car in the entire world. Only available in Malaysia and a few more countries.
      The Americans, Germans, Russians want to buy also no stock available in their countries..

• Joker on Dec 30, 2013 at 4:51 pm

I can bet this is better than Proton… at least they manufacture and design everything themselves..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 14
    • kadajawi on Dec 30, 2013 at 8:52 pm

Not sure if you’re being ironic there… Even their managers aren’t Chinese. Short rundown:
      Vice chairman: German.
      Head of design: German.
      Guy responsible for the drivetrain: German.
      Engine developed with AVL from Austria. Gearbox by Getrag from Germany.
      Marketing and user interface and stuff: Italian.
      Look through the linkedin page of Qoros and you mostly see Caucasians.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
      • Colin Wong on Dec 31, 2013 at 10:31 am

Kadajawi is right. The company is basically powered by Europeans leveraging but HQ’ed in China to access the market. Engineering and design are both based on Germany and Austria. Without a doubt China has the capability to build good cars and exceeding Proton quality, however, from marketing point of view, a car that is going to make it big in Europe CANNOT be seen to be designed by Chinese. Also, local Chinese buyers are buying a local car with an edge – European engineering team.

The problem I see with this car coming into Malaysia is that fact that it is 50% owned by Israelis. The other half is Chery. Hence, with our intense hate of anything Jewish, I am not so sure about the future of this car in our country however good it is.

• protonbusher on Dec 31, 2013 at 12:31 pm

Hey who are you dare to say this and that? Here the rule (according to proton bashers) is whatever good is not Proton and whatever bad is Proton? Got it?

You must say that Qoros is better than Proton, lol

• Low Budget on Dec 31, 2013 at 3:44 pm

Trouble is most of us ‘kena sengat’ by owning Proton cars in the past, and now very shy to try Proton again.

• frenzyaustin on Jan 01, 2014 at 12:37 am

Intense hate of Jewsish? Who are they? I thought no Malaysian here hate other country except our own you know who.

• Colin Wong on Dec 31, 2013 at 10:39 am

Interestingly, probably Proton should do what Chery is doing. Start a joint venture and start a premium brand. Many car brands do that. For example, if you want to buy a German Proton Perdana, you get a Passat. You want a German Saga SV, go get a Polo Sedan. However, if you want a premium VW, aka Audi, you would go for A4 and A1.

So, we have Proton. The Germans have VW. VW has Audi as the premium brand but Proton has none. So Chery’s move to start QOROS is worth watching.

• justsome dude on Dec 31, 2013 at 8:38 pm

But in 2007 VW wanted some sort of partnership/venture with proton if i remember correctly? Proton refused

• Chee Juan on Dec 30, 2013 at 5:19 pm

I like the rear lights

• dino years on Dec 30, 2013 at 5:27 pm

spec sheet is fantastic but its always so when dealing with the chinese. lets wait for a couple of years and see how the car performs in real life. don’t forget that they rebadged cars like the gen2 which even we consider crap. and the chery qq is an absolute joke. my friends told me how they had to push/carry the car up to a mountain picnic instead of the car carrying them.

• rifle on Dec 30, 2013 at 5:35 pm

I believe it will have the same visual as qoros 3 cross hybrid concept minus the suv styling

• Cun Jaguh Bola Tampar on Dec 30, 2013 at 5:42 pm

suddently i remember the famous george soros.. ok sorry out of topic.. ok bye.

• What'updutt on Dec 30, 2013 at 6:19 pm

Then u want us to compare to which other national car-P2?????
    Go figure la…..

• BrainlessSamHaiLat on Dec 30, 2013 at 6:47 pm

Isn’t the rear light is similar to Volkswagen Polo?

• Hurm…this car lack the chinese sense frm the design, quality and name…too european. I prefer cars like Chang-an, Shuanghuang, Foton to represent cars frm Mainland. U know..if u see a bmw instantly we know it is frm europe or a mustang is frm usa..etc.

• Denaihati on Dec 30, 2013 at 10:07 pm

look like a nice car and good performance. i think many of us still not so confident in term of reliability.

• Qorosmah

• hadi75 on Dec 31, 2013 at 11:14 am

Proton should learn from the korean and chinese….

• Henry on Dec 31, 2013 at 11:26 am

Malaysia signed a free trade agreement with China. This brand will be flooding our market soon with a MFN (Most Favoured nation) tax rate once the AP issue is sorted out. It will mean more choices for the consumers.

• “Once the AP issue is sorted out” – that is a million dollar question my friend. And many would bet that it will not be sorted out for the foreseeable future – tell me which AP holder is willing to give up free monies so easily?

• Leviathan on Dec 31, 2013 at 3:19 pm

RM64k sampai Malaysia sudah bloated 2-3 times the price thanks to mumbo jumbo taxes.

• mamamia on Dec 31, 2013 at 7:45 pm

israel products