Schumacher in critical condition after ski accident

M.Schumacher

Seven-time Formula 1 world champion Michael Schumacher is in a critical condition after a skiing accident, the BBC reports, quoting the French hospital he’s now in. The 44-year-old German suffered serious brain trauma, was in a coma on arrival and underwent a brain operation.

“Mr Schumacher was admitted to the University Hospital of Grenoble at 12:40 [11:40 GMT], following a skiing accident which occurred in Meribel in the late morning. He suffered a severe head injury with coma on arrival, which required immediate neurosurgical intervention. He remains in a critical situation,” the Grenoble hospital said in a statement.

The accident happened when Schumi was skiing off-piste with his son in the French Alps on Sunday. He was wearing a helmet when he fell and hit his head against a rock at the French ski resort of Meribel, according to manager Sabine Kehm.

Professor Gerard Saillant, a close ally and friend of Schumacher, and his former Ferrari team boss Datuk Seri Jean Todt are at the hospital. Prof Saillant, an expert in brain and spine injury, oversaw Schumacher’s medical care when the F1 champ broke his leg in the 1999 British GP.

We pray for a speedy recovery for the man who dominated a generation of F1, one who showed great will and strength when the chips were down. Get well soon, Schumi!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Wisdom on Dec 30, 2013 at 11:58 am

GWS…

• Boy Racer on Dec 30, 2013 at 12:07 pm

Hopefully, Michael wins this battle. He’s a seven-time champ after all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • xiper on Dec 30, 2013 at 12:08 pm

wish all the best to him to recover soon!

• Dom M. on Dec 30, 2013 at 12:37 pm

Hang in there, bro. You will be alright.

• sudonano on Dec 30, 2013 at 12:53 pm

Oh my. Hope he recovers. :'(

• Jayden Koo on Dec 30, 2013 at 1:03 pm

Hope you will recover ASAP, my F1 idol, all time legend! God bless!

• He he….. Datuk Seri…..who gave that title to the Ferarri team boss…i wonder??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
  • sam loo bitch on Dec 30, 2013 at 1:24 pm

F1 he may be fast…but comes to skiing….he sucks ass. Char kuay.

He is getting old. Better buy toyota. Safer and more comfortable. Resale value too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 80
    • Head Hunter on Dec 30, 2013 at 9:14 pm

You probably think that you’ve made an amusing statement but this guy donated tens of millions of dollars to victims of the Tsunami, and even a humanitarian to various charities in which he himself done so discretely. You sir obviously do not know anything about him and each year when still in Red, he attends Wroom skiing just like anybody else. It is an accident for God’s sake, still you think your comments are going to amuse some? Come on, this guy gave me the reason to work hard in school, inspired me to be the best in everything and all you can say is that your inanimate Hilux is the best thing ever? What a stupid comment to make, and you sir ought to be banned from this site!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
      • ItsASarcasmStatement on Dec 30, 2013 at 10:56 pm

CHill bro, he is being sarcastic towards a certain Toyota Hilux fag.

• Muslim on Dec 30, 2013 at 1:24 pm

Why when this person gets hurt every existing website and news channel go crazy. How many true Muslims are being killed everyday and no one minding. Judgment day is coming people. get prepared. Alhamdu Allah for being a Muslim, Ameen

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 106
    • because they are CELEBRITY, period.

• positive thinking on Dec 30, 2013 at 6:16 pm

He get attention because he is a public figure of sports, same goes to those muslim public figures no matter from sports, entertainment, political or others…and those victims of war or from poor countries no matter muslim or non-muslim did get attention too, many charity organisation did gave helped and public fund raising for them too…

• mamak on Dec 30, 2013 at 7:38 pm

wow. just wow.

• Head Hunter on Dec 30, 2013 at 9:19 pm

If judgement day were to come, I wished that God will judge you first for being so ignorant towards the deeds that this man has done. Just by quoting something that sounds religious will it make you any better? See Judge Act, not Judge Blindly and thinking Oneself as Pious?

• Muslim too on Dec 31, 2013 at 8:15 am

this is totally different bro.
      I believe this is not a forum to discuss about that bro but if u r concern enough than i bet u’ll find a better forum to discuss the issue. U just dont mix things like this. It will be complicated and inviting hatred towards Muslims.

• Judgement day comes when Terminator is here. LOL.. u watched too many movies. Chill. U wanna promote Islam or scared the shit out of ppl, u can do it at those extremist website or UMNO fanpage. Here is only for automotive fans.. Judgement day is when i shot u in the face.

• Brain injury requiring surgery…comatose on arrival..hmm..50:50

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • rockybalboa on Dec 30, 2013 at 3:10 pm

He should have used a toyota made helmet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 25
  • assassincreed on Dec 30, 2013 at 3:18 pm

I rather see him die of F1 accident than this skii accident. It just doesn’t make sense.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
  • Syameer on Dec 30, 2013 at 5:00 pm

It will be very difficult this time around since it is a brain trauma. *sigh* An F1 legend and idols to many of us, god blessed him.

• Get well soon, Michael. Greetings from Malaysian automotive enthusiasts.

• Cun Jaguh Bola Tampar on Dec 30, 2013 at 5:43 pm

get well soon mr. schumi the f1 legend.

• fatchicken on Dec 30, 2013 at 6:24 pm

not easy to cheat death more than 7 times in highspeed…

• transformer on Dec 30, 2013 at 8:09 pm

be strong~
    sure you can overcome this~
    please get well soon~

• Denaihati on Dec 30, 2013 at 8:49 pm

hope he will recover soon. all fans sad by this bad news.

• Sam Loo Fag on Dec 31, 2013 at 9:21 am

The need for speed never ends..he live by it and probably die because of it..

• baba gloaba on Dec 31, 2013 at 9:50 am

Well I watched youtube movies of him skiing, and seing the place of the accident, he was clearly not F1 in skiing. He looked like an intermediate with a lot ofcl attitude and that costed him.
    When you have the amount of money he has, one should restrict from activities that he is not properly skilled for, and that would include eating fish with bones.

• ahtiu on Dec 31, 2013 at 11:45 am

arwah baik orangnya