Not all fun and games! The life of a paultan.org writer

dannytan-not-sam-loo

“What a nice job you have” is one of the more frequent remarks I have received from new acquaintances over the years. Then, the phrase “Wow, you get to drive nice cars and travel” follows soon after, which will be met by a wry smile from yours truly. Some, after finding out that I work for a website and can type from home, offer to swap places.

Yes, being able to work in underwear is a freedom that I take for granted, especially when my neighbour has to get up two hours earlier to brave the rush hour traffic and start work the same time as me, who at 8:55 am, crawls out of bed to haphazardly poke at the laptop’s power button.

But there are drawbacks to not having to physically clock in everyday (Driven Communications has a lively base in Jaya One PJ, by the way), because with no office, there are no office hours. Keeping Malaysia’s No.1 automotive website rolling requires a lot more than just the typical 9-to-5 everyday (over 14 hours a day behind the screen is not uncommon) and our team have to attend to stories fast, no matter the hour, like paramedics, in a war zone. That’s no exaggeration.

maserati-press-kit

Of course, there are also events to attend. We do get to travel a bit in our quest to bring you the latest stories and drive reports from the world of cars – there are seven outstation/overseas event invites in our inbox this month alone, for instance, and we’re at full stretch. While we know of some motoring journalists who actively solicit ego boosting remarks from their friends (see first paragraph) by never failing to post a pretty pic of an exotic locale or flashy new car on Facebook, the reality is less glamourous.

The novelty of driving the latest GTI on the French Riviera, for instance, wears off fast when you realise that media trips can have schedules as tight as elbow room in a kei car. More often than not, it’s a quick in and out affair, with half a day of ‘free and easy’ time thrown in as charity.

Typically, it will go something like this:

Day 1: Arrive, transfer to hotel, check in, free and easy, dinner
Day 2: Product presentation, drive, lunch, drive, dinner
Day 3: Breakfast, check out, transfer to airport, depart for KL

I’ve been on one trip that required one stopover and two transits to reach the destination, only to be there for fewer hours than the total travelling time. Unless hanging out in a plane is your idea of fun…

beetle-in-rome

And unlike colleagues from monthly rags and paper pullouts, there’s little chance to sit down and focus on the story once we’re home, as it’s straight back into the daily grind of churning out news. All for you, dear paultan.org reader.

Daily deadlines means that work on feature stories and test drive reports have to be pushed to the weekend. And after looking at cars, talking cars and dissecting cars for the whole week, sometimes that’s the last thing I want to think about on a lazy Sunday afternoon. I love cars, but not that much.

Inevitably, this cycle will see stories mothball into debt, and we all know that the burden of debt can’t be washed away by a shrug and a couple of pints – it will come back to haunt you! There are highlights of course, but we’ll leave that for another day.

So there you have it, a glimpse into the life of a paultan.org motoring writer. It’s not all fun and games, but if given a chance, I’ll do it all over again.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• WTH7813 on Dec 31, 2013 at 12:21 am

I thought this is famous ‘Sam Loo’ lol… NOT!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 2
    • Fahmi on Dec 31, 2013 at 12:26 am

My thoughts exactly!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • AutoFrenz on Dec 31, 2013 at 1:27 pm

Why are you writing this article…i was about to cry…sob sob…at first i thought it’s a farewell or something…who knows maybe you are contemplating of quitting Paul Tan and joining Motor Trader as one of its agents…better commission maaa selling ads space…but NO aahh…ok lor…good for you…cheers…

• ben yap on Jan 01, 2014 at 2:20 am

danny was from Motor Trader / Autocar.

I don’t think he will go back to Motor Trader. Maybe On The Road…. LOL…

• Keep up the good work!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • panadoll on Dec 31, 2013 at 12:30 am

sam loo detected!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • sudonano on Dec 31, 2013 at 12:44 am

LOL, Sam Loo comments coming in.

But I think all of us here would like to tell you (and the rest of the team) that you guys really are amazing, cause no one has yet to beat you guys in terms of coverage in the Malaysian scene. And for that, we thank you very much.

And yes, I think there are many of us, me included, who actually check this site, 2-3 times a day, during lunch, even on vacation. And that is a good sign, as you guys are doing it right, since we are here too.

2013 highlights on paultan:

1. Sam Loo.
    2. Suprima S livestream
    3. Writeups on the Proton GSC.
    3. The battle in the comments on the Toyota Vios
    4. KLIMS 13
    5. Lots more.

Here’s to a great 2014! Will we get the writer’s choices just like last year? I hope so!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 2
    • Danny Tan (Member) on Dec 31, 2013 at 1:03 am

Thank you for your kind words. Stay tuned for the writer’s choice “awards” post, we’re putting our final touches to it now :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
      • sudonano on Dec 31, 2013 at 1:03 pm

Welcome! I am looking forward for the 2014 posts here! And also more Sam Loo cameos in Driven Season 2 (you guys have to do a season 2. Not an option, but it is a necessity).

And writer’s choice! Its coming? Brilliant!

Just in case anyone wants to read the last year’s one: http://paultan.org/2012/12/31/the-paultan-org-2012-top-five-cars-list-the-writers-each-pick-five-that-impressed-them-the-most-this-year/

Happy new year!

• Turboman on Dec 31, 2013 at 11:53 am

Sam Loo will come in and remind us that writers have got no resale value, and would be pointed at a Hilux when u trade writers in. Lets hope the long winded guy will not ask me to apologise to sam for this comment. Lots of interesting characters in Pautan.org over the years.

Being in a 24/7 kind of work myself with tons of travelling thrown in, i can fully understand the kind of life you guys go through. Kudos and good job.

• sudonano on Dec 31, 2013 at 1:05 pm

Imagine this, if no Sam Loo, how are we going to have a good laugh every morning in front of our computer/iPhone/iPad screens?

• Jeffooi on Dec 31, 2013 at 1:42 pm

Does anyone remember this old sohai commenter called Joe Ooi?

• Turboman on Dec 31, 2013 at 3:13 pm

Cant remember.

What was his “specialty?”

Ie: sam Loo on RV.

• tokmoh on Dec 31, 2013 at 6:51 pm

Waa, oldtimer betul la u. I remembered him too fufufu

@turboman: proton basher, mostly about power window iirc. But he insaf around saga blm launch time.

• jeffooi on Dec 31, 2013 at 7:28 pm

he always complain about waja power window. and he always types YAO MOU GAO CHORRRRR

• MyviKiller on Dec 31, 2013 at 9:52 pm

And remember JULIAN_LEE and SYOH?

Anyway, been your loyal reader since 2004, TIME FLIES!

• sam69 on Dec 31, 2013 at 1:12 pm

I dem kerlian.
      Still stuck with my K5 despite repeated attempts to sell

• At times, our love for something push us to the desire of majoring into a field where we can be close with the things we love. But as I found out, these can sometimes haunt you. I’am not old or experience enough to say how far it will haunt, but looking at my seniors, I’d say pretty damn far.

But this year alone, you guys have brought some of the latest and most interesting media relating to the automotive sector in Malaysia. Keep up the good work, I expect the same or better in the year to come……
    ….and also the major amount of popcorn I need for the flame wars in the comment section.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • erwinkarim on Dec 31, 2013 at 8:13 am

thank you paul tan and co for you efforts to keep this site up-to-date and bringing us the news on malaysia automative sector.

i read this site everyday and read every article that you guys posted. we here all envy the job that you have, but i know, it’s not all bed of roses there. but on those good days where you drive the cars of our dreams, man…. we wish we were you…

please, keep up the good work and fight the good fight…

• Hi..
    I wonder what you guys (Harvinder, Hafriz, Paul, Danny, Chris) driving?
    I mean your own car – Maker & Model.
    :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • I only know that Harvinder is driving a new BMW 3 series in red. paul is bmw 5 series?

• bangle on Dec 31, 2013 at 2:13 pm

None of them care to drive a Proton? Good for them! Stay away from junk cars OK

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • love paultan.org …. GOOD WORK!!!

• heybadigol on Dec 31, 2013 at 8:50 am

Thanks for the great work guys (urmm no gals?). Love reading the posts and the lovely pictures. If you need help to test cars, can just email. Haha.

• Sam Loo on Dec 31, 2013 at 9:27 am

Walau eh.

Blogger oso got award one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
  • kawan sm on Dec 31, 2013 at 9:33 am

keep it up bro

• Basically I agree with your sentiments. When you are working there should be no fun and games. When you are playing then there should be no work! I am like you. I love cars, but not that much. The important thing is you enjoy what you are doing. Your website and the Driven programme are probably ASEAN’s answer to BBC’s TOP GEAR. You may just be “Jeremy Clarkson” minus the unsavoury remarks about anything under the sun.

• Sylar on Dec 31, 2013 at 11:07 am

Way better than the actual top gear Malaysia which has become so kampung

• Wan Hadinata on Dec 31, 2013 at 9:48 am

Nothing good comes easily – every job has its own set of challenges. The important thing is that one enjoys doing it! =)

• As long that got good pay…

• Keep up the good work, team! It’s really fun and enjoy reading this blog everyday. Not to forget the Driven web version and the “SamLoo” character in the Driven series 5 :)

• istvan on Dec 31, 2013 at 10:30 am

the fact that you are able to work in underware realy realy realy make me jealous la…hahhaha..
    nway..Good Job. keep it up.

• Danny, is your company by any chance looking for new staff? I am quite passionate about writing and have emailed Paul and Harvinder but with no reply.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Dec 31, 2013 at 10:48 am

Thanks for your email. We’re full house at the moment, but will keep in mind when help is needed. Cheers!

• sam69 on Jan 01, 2014 at 10:23 am

Think you should send your CV to Sam’s PA

• malardev on Dec 31, 2013 at 10:55 am

Guys, have been a fan thus far. Keep up the great work. Maybe you can ask volunteers from the readers to tag along for local drives/events, guess many of us would like to volunteer for free!

• Ariefin on Dec 31, 2013 at 10:56 am

As a fellow automotive journalist I understand the same conditions you are in. It’s not an easy task to do, especially with the deadlines. I do however would like to thank you for inspiring me to have my own automotive blog for Indonesia which unfortunately I have been neglecting the past 6 months due to heavy deadlines to write in our local English newspaper for the Automotive Features Section. I would say keep up the good work and wish you all a Happy New Year 2014.

• Damon Kai on Dec 31, 2013 at 10:57 am

Keep it up! Been your reader for the past years to be in the know. Your web brings more than just car news!

• there’s lots of ups and downs this year. but you guys do manage to keep up the good work. but I think you guys need to keep in control for certain comments and block people like sam loo who insult others. the comment space is meant for the topic not insulting the other users and other brands. please look into that. and hope you guys will keep up the good work for next year. take care

• shawal on Dec 31, 2013 at 11:44 am

keep up the good work..
    The automotive scene would be alot more exciting and enticing if it cars werent so expensive in Malaysia …
    JC owns a lambo, RH has a gt350, JM drives a porsche
    Even chris harris once shown his newly bought M3

• PauCharSiew on Dec 31, 2013 at 11:51 am

sorry…DRIVEN has made me think by default danny tan is sam loo

• hi, i do check this website quite often.
    sometimes, i just wanted to read genuine comment from the car owner for their experience but there are many sales person in the forum and keep on bashing on other models and we cant get the real/’genuine’ information about particular car.
    please look into these matter.

• Stevensai on Dec 31, 2013 at 11:44 pm

THis is common and blog is a business too, they got to associate with thise jokers to make the blog traffic

• thanks paultan.org that always bring new knowledge to me. Im for sure will keep reading your articles guys.

• nobody on Dec 31, 2013 at 1:09 pm

Paultan.org.First or second website I surf everyday after Listverse.com.Happy new year wish y’all a happy good time.

• Just A Nobody on Dec 31, 2013 at 1:34 pm

Thank you for a lil glimpse of your as life as a motoring journalist Danny. I always thought it was all fun and games (still do though but now with more respect on the profession). Anyway, Happy New Year ahead to you guys behind paultan.org and fellow readers, keep up the good work :)

• ThreeTwentyDee on Dec 31, 2013 at 2:15 pm

Many thanks to all the writers at Paultan.org – indeed I am one of the many in the carniverse who voraciously laps up all that you guys dish out…almost on a daily basis (and sometimes even hourly!). Perhaps the writers can (like our good Danny here) once in a while pen a few lines about themselves, maybe talk about the car they own/drive on a daily basis as that would give us a more personal perspective of the writers. Clarkson et al do that on every issue of Top Gear but leave the British snobbery where it belongs and just add a little M’sian flava to the mix!

• Paultan.org, you guys are amazing. My morning online booster together with my Americano and a group of buddies for breakfast before heading to work.

Thanks for the many years in giving us the leads to local and international automotive news. Many more great years ahead guys. Blessed new year ahead to the guys in Paultan. Hurrah…

• Black Dog on Dec 31, 2013 at 2:51 pm

No matter what you say, Danny, it’s still a dream job. With current technology, desk space, location and time doesn’t come into the equation.

You might be sipping dry Martini on the French alps or downing Scotch Whiskey on a beach in the Maldives, you still can write your stuff.

That’s dreaming, I know. Schedules, deadlines still gets in the way. That’s why it’s still a dream job!

HAPPY NEW YEAR 2014! May paultan.org keep up the excellent work and churns out even better stuff. I especially love those shoot-out videos. Frank, funny and informative. TQVM

• Sam Loo, why you complaining ? I thought you are so happy shake leg with all the kimchi drivers trading in their useless junk and you make so much money when you gave the owner a Hailat price.

Even your tow truck business also so good with sam tow truck business. Why bother writing ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • noob_pinion on Dec 31, 2013 at 4:59 pm

it was supper time and we were savouring “tong sui” (dessert), keeping our radar scanning…tit tit…tit tit…(that’s the imaginary sound of our radar, jangan fikir bukan bukan)…suddenly he got a message…and then pulled out his Mac and put on his serious face…
    “with no office, there are no office hours” huh…but we still think “What a nice job you have” =)
    keep it up man…happy new year!

• Paultan are a group of ppl with the right attitudes that all Malaysians should aspire to be… pouring in hours of sweat and blood to provide us the most updated automotive news/information with incredible humility and honesty. Salute!

• Omakkaw on Dec 31, 2013 at 7:53 pm

Danny, leave Paul for a while. let’s go Bangkok.. We boom boom our bird out there. ..see who’s gear get more than seven speed..

• kbWarrior on Dec 31, 2013 at 8:53 pm

Imagine Paultan makes an anniversary party with the nice intro of Sam Loo. The whole bunch of PT readers at the party throw fruits, eggs, everyting to him because they cannot stand it everytime they read Sam Loo comments on PT. He runs away!

Bwahahahahahahahahaahah

• Keith Rozario (@keithrozario) on Dec 31, 2013 at 10:06 pm

I love your content guys…keep it up.

• Sometimes I miss those older days when you guys don’t have to tiptoe carefully around potential sponsors & advertisers. Nevertheless, now that this is a full time job for you guys, I do understand you got wives and children to feed and you did leave (sometimes not so) subtle hints on your real view on the subjects.

Thanks guys!

• Sawadcup on Jan 01, 2014 at 12:03 am

I never knew danny tan was so handsome. I wanna run his long hair all over my tatas

• Sammy on Jan 01, 2014 at 11:21 am

Keep up the good work! If not for you and your site, surfing the web would b meaningless!