Proton Suprima tops the Google Zeitgeist 2013 list – top trending car searches in Malaysia for the year

Google has released their annual Google Zeitgeist report for 2013, which reveals search trends by Malaysian web surfers for the year. Each report is customised for each country and since Malaysians love their cars, our report shows the top trending searches for cars on Google Malaysia for the year.

Just to clarify what ‘trending’ means – it means search terms that saw the largest increase in searches over the past year, as opposed to ‘most searched for’.

1. Proton Suprima
  2. Proton Saga SV
  3. Nissan Almera
  4. Kia Cerato
  5. Toyota Vios
  6. Kia Rio
  7. Peugeot 208
  8. Proton Preve
  9. Ford Kuga
  10. Lamborghini Veneno

As usual, the top searched car is a Proton, traditionally the Proton launch of the car. Last year it was the Proton Preve and this year two Proton cars came up tops – the Proton Suprima and the Proton Saga SV.

The Nissan Almera made it to the list again this year as the king of the non-national makes, a position it was in last year as well. To be a top trending search two years in a year is an achievement – by the definition of ‘trending’ by Google, it means interest in the Almera spiked again this year after its debut late last year.

Curious about what car topped the list the past two years? Check out Zeitgeist 2012 and Zeitgeist 2011.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• jolly_idiot on Dec 31, 2013 at 2:44 pm

People are trying to search the fix and fault of their car to see if there’s any solution

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 542 Thumb down 51
    • tempe on Dec 31, 2013 at 4:19 pm

Yes spending more time on repairs than driving it…only stupid fools buy Proton

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 716 Thumb down 126
      • And the Vios on pos. 5? ;)

• I wont be surprise in the future your childrens and your grand childrens will own Proton. I pity them, cause they consider one of the STUPID FOOL like their father.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
    • does not matter, at least they search it..

• downsys on Dec 31, 2013 at 2:58 pm

I’m not anti-proton but wouldn’t the search term ‘Proton Suprima’ be extremely low last year since the name itself was just announced recently?

(Apart from the rumoured ‘Suprima’ name for the Perdana replacement model)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • This article is about this year’s list. When they said past year, it doesn’t mean 2012.
      Btw, expect Proton to make some b***shit to make it number 1 search. Sales don’t lie. Have only seen one on the road so far. That also a test drive unit. What a joke.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 42
      • Rashuk Khan2 on Dec 31, 2013 at 5:20 pm

You should live in coconut shell….I’d see a lot Suprima S on the road… beside Preve…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 19
  • kalam on Dec 31, 2013 at 3:01 pm

jolly_idiot, your comment complements your name.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 36
  • sudonano on Dec 31, 2013 at 3:03 pm

Have to admit, the rather attractive price of the Saga SV has made it a fairly hot seller for Proton. Too bad the Suprima has not racked up that many sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
    • Tok Berlagak on Dec 31, 2013 at 4:02 pm

if the price is acceptable – great sales.

proton car are only acceptable at extreme low price.

ex.saga sv and persona sv.
      maybe they should come out few more SV ::
      1. New GSC SV auto RM26k
      2. saga sv auto rm37k
      3. persona sv auto rm 48k
      4. preve sv auto rm55k
      5. suprima sv auto rm59k
      6. inspira sv autorm69k
      7. perdana sv auto rm 79k
      8. exora sv auto rm59k -> trying to fight alza

sure jaguh kampong.
      best sales for all segment.

beyond those price are unacceptable with proton quality and service centre’s service, for the moment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 16
      • just for info…RM40k and below car price in thai/indo shows the car lack safety equipment and some loose standard equipment that we usually see..eg daihatsu ayla loose almost all safety equipment except seatbelt(oni 2 seatbelt cheapest variant) and its cheapest variant oso come without AC, 2-din audio+speaker n steel wheel cover..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
    • tempe on Dec 31, 2013 at 4:16 pm

Just because other car brands are not allowed to sell cheap b-segment sedan RM40K…don’t be proud of yourself lah Proton…kereta tak laku baru mau taruk harga lelong…penipu rakyat No.1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 37
      • Are not allowed? Source pls or you are just in high

• peyno on Jan 01, 2014 at 1:29 pm

ha??? soo umw wanna sell vios at 40k rite?? n proton does not allow rite???
        prffthhhh

• Suprima diaper?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 20
    • _xXx_ on Dec 31, 2013 at 4:22 pm

No, it’s mayonnaise and sausages…

http://www.suprima.be/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Could they have mistaken it with Suprima adult diaper?

• Denaihati on Dec 31, 2013 at 6:00 pm

perhaps, many people do the survey, find the sharing of experiences from others before making a purchase decision.

• I thought hilux…oops not..should be ‘Sam Loo’s Toyota Hilux’ tops the list?

• armandd on Dec 31, 2013 at 7:06 pm

There’re so many losers here. I know it’s hard to accept the fact that many people are interested to know more about this car.

Perhaps after this someone might even say that Proton gave some ‘under table’ money to Google to put ‘Suprima’ on top of the search list… Typical Proton basher…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Many ppl say this car is fail to sell, rarely see on the road… does not mean it is a bad car! The problem lies on the ppl ‘brain’… and proton itself. Bad marketing strategy, advertising and play wrong game that failed to attract ppl to buy this car. For 80k, those ppl dont give a da*n look on this car when they heard this car is from Proton! Never see never touch never feel never try… already bashed it till into drain. How to sell leh? On the good sight, I see more and more Preve on the road. Ppl pay this much can get a big car than hatchback! Why pay more for Suprima? Proton should revise its price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • I think 90% of Malaysian had tried Proton.
      Most of it either Wira, Iswara and Waja.

Campro Engine?
      this is what doomed Proton Sales.

When Proton Equipped with Honda engine at the same price.
      Sales will immediately back to like the 1990s time.
      PRoton will be King on the Road again.

It’s not nobody want Proton.
      Even when it’s cheap, nobody want a Campro.

if it got a Honda engine, people willing to buy Proton at their current price and will not complain much.

• peyno on Jan 01, 2014 at 2:31 pm

agreed… see more n more preve on the road after suprima launched.. proven that suprima sales low not bcoz it is proton , but it is hatchback… well expected hatchback is not for malaysian market , this is sedan market

• Browsing through web doesn’t make up the sale of the car..Proton suprima is actually a failed project where sale volume of it is poorly low. Not to say it’s a bad car but it’s not accepted by local people here. Perhaps proton should LISTEN MORE on what car need by the local b4 pushing new project into R&D n production.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • Suprima is not designed specifically for local market in the first place so the low sales volume is expected. They give more attention to preve.

• Thanks for the comment Wang. But since you mentioned it’s not designed specifically for local,where is their target market? As we know,the sales volume in overseas for proton is not that good as well. I’m not mean Proton new car is bad,just that it’s not well accepted by local o overseas ppl. Perhaps,their past record has tarnished their reputation even till now.
        For Preve,i’m actually like the design much compare vios etc.It definitely looks promising. just that it lacks leather seat and reverse camera which fitted on suprima.Hope it include in it’s facelift version which will launch soon.

• armandd on Dec 31, 2013 at 10:37 pm

Suprima sales volume is not as low as many people think. Go search suprima s owner club in facebook and see for yourself. Also, not all Suprima owners join the club.

• peyno on Jan 01, 2014 at 1:56 pm

umw expecting more sales from their new vios.. their fcst is higher than sales … well malaysian smart oredi n not simply conned.. malaysian need safety car nowadays

• Peter on Jan 01, 2014 at 1:50 am

Talking abt automotive billboard, it’s long time Proton didn’t publish their sales figure especially the Preve / Suprima aft drb takeover. While suprima top the list, I hardly see any on the road.

• Hmm.. I believe that Paul Tan and his team are doing a fantastic job reviewing cars and giving professional feedbacks (I doubt its 100% honest and unbiased). Nevertheless, great effort by our fellow Malaysian team.

But, to read at the comments on every post of this website, its SAD. Many of us leave comments not to give constructive criticism or compliments, but to make a big joke out of everything. Not just Proton, but on Toyota and others as well.

This reflects on Malaysian thinking and behaviour. And I don’t just mean Malays, or Chinese, or Indians.. But all.. We as Malaysians have this sort of trashing culture, speaking like we know everything, speak like we have this big revenge toward our country, the world, the other race, and every possible thing that exist in this whole world.

I would suggest for people to give better comments; to reflect more of your intelligence, as well as to appreciate Paul Tan and his team’s effort in producing all these articles. Remember, everything has its own pros and cons, be it Proton, Toyota, MB, BMW, etc. DON’T MAKE EVERYTHING A BIG FAT UGLY JOKE.

• nzain on Jan 02, 2014 at 11:12 am

win as top trending on web apparently not on the road as best seller…

• Jerry on Jul 22, 2014 at 1:30 pm

It is in reality a nice and useful piece of info. I am glad that you shared this useful info with us. Please keep us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.