Putrajaya to stop 20% toll rebate from Jan 1 – report

kuang-toll1

The 20% toll rebate for frequent Touch ‘n Go users is to be stopped from January 1, 2014 onwards, according to a report by Sinar Harian.

The rebate was introduced in September 2009 as a “gift” to frequent highway users from Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak on the occasion of his 100th day in office.

To qualify, motorists had to use the Touch ‘n Go card a minimum of 80 times for toll payment on any highway in Malaysia within a calendar month. The 20% rebate is given based on the total transaction amount, and can be redeemed via card reload at all 136 Touch ‘n Go sales counters.

Sinar Harian earlier reported that an estimated RM49 million worth of rebates have not been collected because of a lack of awareness of the rebate policy, cited as due to insufficient advertising.

Among those who were aware, however, some felt the redeeming process was too complicated while others did not bother. Sources told the Malay daily that around 100,000 people have claimed rebates, but only 70,000 have done so consistently.

This comes as a blow amidst proposed toll fee hikes. According to a report by The Malaysian Insider, works minister Datuk Fadillah Yusof was recently quoted as saying that rates for 15 major highways were expected to rise between 50 sen and RM2 next year, but that the Cabinet had yet to make a decision on the matter.

Other reports, however, indicate that the increase would be between 30 sen and RM1 for 13 highways.

Minister in the PM’s department Datuk Seri Abdul Wahid Omar was quoted by TMI as saying that the government had to pay RM400 million in compensation to toll concessionaires after it put on hold a revision of the toll rates that were supposed to be implemented in 2011 under the concession agreement.

In future, all highway projects must be accompanied by studies to determine acceptable rates to the public before concessions are awarded, he said.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• jolly_idiot on Dec 31, 2013 at 3:31 pm

I love PM

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 9
  • Chris on Dec 31, 2013 at 3:36 pm

Let see. The sales counter has the same working hour as I am, when I work, they work, when I got off work, they are closed. all sales counter are too far from my work place I can’t get there and back during lunch hour.

Basically if I want the rebate, I need to take half a day off, waste my petrol and time just to get some 20% rebate. What more, for the times I’m able to get to the sales counter, some transaction isn’t even registered in the system and I’m not getting all I’m entitled to anyway.

If they were sincere about giving us the rebate they’d make it painless, or even better, just lower the toll rates and benefit everyone. 49 million ringgit, how about giving 10 cent off for the next 490 million transaction for every Malaysian?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 121 Thumb down 11
    • Awareness was what lacking in the article above, and you clearly showed your lack of awareness towards Plus Customers Service Centres’ opening hours.

http://www.plus.com.my/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=88&Itemid=112&lang=en

Unless you work 7am-10pm EVERYDAY, 7 days a week, then yeah, you’re right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 26
      • The PLUS Customer Service Center and Touch ‘n Go sales counter are two different things. Get your fact straight.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 6
        • dey, is it so hard to click the link i provided?

“Customer Service Centers are provided at various locations to ensure that our customers enjoy the best services when using our expressways. At these Customer Service Centres, users can purchase or reload their PLUSMiles and Touch ‘n Go cards, purchase SmartTAGs or lodge complaints.”

In SIMPLE words, ANYTHING related to TnG, SmartTag, sales ka, purchase ka, complaints ka, reload ka, rebates ka.. all can be done there @ the Customer Service Centres. you know.. the white building with green roof/awning at almost EVERY toll where you can see the TnG or SmartTAG sign..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
          • Clement on Jan 01, 2014 at 12:09 am

Not True, saw this post this afternoon, all stated closed at 10pm. Went to Damansara’s Toll Plaza at 8.02pm, door closed. Ask the security guard, he says office closed at 7.30pm EVERYDAY…

Lesson of the day, take all these info with a pinch of salt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
      • WhiteFox on Dec 31, 2013 at 4:43 pm

not mention a lot touch n go spot at petrol station which can make claim too

• Chris on Dec 31, 2013 at 5:28 pm

I stand corrected in that case. However to my defence, it has been 17 months since I cross enough tolls to qualify for the rebate.

The only two place that is even close enough for me to go is Penang bridge, which closes at 5 the last time I tried (yes, reached there and the door was closed, not working during weekend), and Kubang Semang, which from the link still shows that it opens until 5, and closes on weekends.

I’ve claimed a few rebates before and they are all on the Penang bridge office, did that during my day off.

• Rulered on Jan 01, 2014 at 6:45 am

Always looks good on paper or in this case on website but the execution is well….err you judge. Anyway enjoy your bonus, it’s from our pocket!

• Redrules on Jan 01, 2014 at 7:03 am

Execution isn’t as what is presented on paper or in this case on the website. 49 million is a lot of money. Anyway enjoy your bonus PLUS staffs, it’s from our pocket.

• syntium1000 on Dec 31, 2013 at 4:58 pm

yes chris
      always too much problem to Touch n Go sales counter. lots of cases happen such as rebate lost…cash topup lost…yes they do give alternative/solution such as fill up the complaint form etc but all that are ridicilous. and the process to refund the lost take 30 days or more. Come on Touch n Go..u earn millions ringgit of profit but your sales counter system are LOUSY n USELESS…

• venven81 on Dec 31, 2013 at 3:39 pm

toll hike… inevitable.. ok so move on.
    removal of 20% toll rebate?!?!
    apa lagi BN nak buat ni?
    we just open our eyes BIG BIG, wait and SEE!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 4
  • Polo Saga on Dec 31, 2013 at 3:40 pm

Terima Kasih, Be-eNd.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
  • Mann Bell on Dec 31, 2013 at 3:48 pm

“some felt the redeeming process was too complicated”

biasala…kerajaan..mana2 pun sama

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • Fariq on Dec 31, 2013 at 3:53 pm

Great. Step 1: Increase prices on everything. Step 2: Remove petrol subsidies. Step 3: Remove rebates. Step 4: Screw Msians upside down.

Way to go, govt. Way to go.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 2
  • LGE lahanat on Dec 31, 2013 at 3:59 pm

Ini semua salah Lim Guan Eng yang tukar keretanya ke Mercedes S-class lah.

Bising kos sara hidup naik, tapi masih boleh pakai kerete merah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 84
    • letstorque on Dec 31, 2013 at 4:19 pm

At least Lim Guan Eng give permission to Ustaz Azhar Idrus to give ceramah in Penang.

What about other muslim UMNO MBs?

(With exception MB Pahang, which is ok with UAI)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
    • Hermes on Dec 31, 2013 at 6:06 pm

Sohai BN supporter, did u count how many hermes bag does kak mah has?
      Those bag and shopping duit enough for at least few ferraris…
      Typical blind BN supporter. LoL

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 2
      • berombon on Dec 31, 2013 at 9:46 pm

you mentioned how many hermes handbag that fat lady has..err how many arr? please let us all know. If you oso donno then don talk la..tired of people like you la…lagak macam pandai, tapi blom tentu pandai..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 53
    • PR LGE has the guts to declare personal assets every year..BN Lajib and croods? yalah…pakai proton/honda aje….tapi asset dia tu…berani declare?

• yogan on Dec 31, 2013 at 4:05 pm

Should not stop this. The redemption can be done at some of the gas station during odd hours. Very easy.

• _xXx_ on Dec 31, 2013 at 4:15 pm

No, why need to redeem? Why can’t simply deduct from the toll fee on the spot? I have a feel that they are not willing to give the rebate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
      • I know on Dec 31, 2013 at 5:50 pm

It is not possible simply due to the way contactless smart card system works

• talkcock on Jan 01, 2014 at 6:08 pm

Bullshit. It can be done on the spot. With IT technology, it is just a matter whether the cronies arm want to upgrade their IT system instead of spending their money on their new cars or holidays.

• i know on Jan 01, 2014 at 10:22 pm

you can do it if you’re willing to wait for 30 seconds at the toll plaza for verification purposes. How the hell do you withdraw money, and use your credit card (e.g wave). Instantaneous? That’s the purpose of using contactLESS smart card..

• well here is the thing.. if it’s a touch n go rebate that credit back to touch n go.. the same card you use 80 times and not into other card.. why isn’t it done automatically? why do we have to go to a counter so we place our card and they press some buttons and the computer do the work? your system will validate the 80 times.. your system knows how much to credit.. your system knows which day of the month is calculated.. why the unnecessary manual process?

it almost felt as stupid as those credit card promotion that require you to send a sms to participate.. i already have the card just join it for me by default??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
    • I know on Dec 31, 2013 at 5:53 pm

This is contactless smart card, unlike contact system which take ages to verify.. Imagine using your ATM card to withdraw money, that’s how long it will take to complete the transaction..

• so do you mean this card never contacts the server and only rely on local reader to read and write the card therefore it’s very fast and even buses can be used? i get that..

but i believe they already have a solution on pushing the credit to the card remotely without having you to present the card..

they have the Zing card… and because it’s essentially the same card but with added services and linkage at the application side.. and the 2 cards uses the same readers.. why they cant do it…

• I know on Jan 01, 2014 at 3:17 am

Zing card reloads automatically once u get to a certain balance (BTW, Zing card uses certain serial number). it will take time for the system to deduct from your account.. You can check with your back whether your account has been deducted immediately after it auto reload.

• and who said that the toll rate is govern by the state again?? puiii..

• billionaire on Dec 31, 2013 at 4:16 pm

High prices good . High prices will make us rich. Will make Malaysia rich.
    Don’t buy cheap things. Don’t pay low tolls, pay high. High prices good. Rich people never pay low price . Let’s pay high prices and get rich.
    We love our PM….he’s never cheap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • I didnt see any announcement in Touch & Go portal. Is this news confirm?

• Allan Soyza on Dec 31, 2013 at 4:18 pm

Najib can gibe 20% rebate to mark his 100th day in office but cannot stop toll from rising?? What the hell?? Not the same meh?

• _xXx_ on Dec 31, 2013 at 4:24 pm

lower down your expectation plz…

• bystander on Dec 31, 2013 at 4:30 pm

reason for all this BS in the first place is because tax payer money is used to pay for the 20% “rebate” – not because Touch N Go or highway operators is so “generous” to give you a rebate

• SamhowedMeTheHilux on Dec 31, 2013 at 4:32 pm

Wow, this is indeed a GREAT 2014 New Year Present

• fLU_bn on Dec 31, 2013 at 4:40 pm

luckily i redeem my rebate just today…
    i think it’s been revised from 20% rebate (80 transac/month) to 5% rebate if total transaction amount more than RM 100/month

good and bad la.. for those can’t hit 80 TIT sound/month

• AFAIK, 5% rebate is only for plus hi way using plus mile card. Don’t think it applies to any other hiway

• Gary YAP on Jan 02, 2014 at 10:04 am

The 5% for Plusmiles cards applicable to Elite & PLUS only I think. That is on top of the 20% rebate with a minimum tranx of 80.

• yuri03 on Dec 31, 2013 at 4:41 pm

If you think that to get the 20% rebate is a hassle to redeem, then it is your loss. I think the initiative good, then look at the toll booth, people still pay cash when exit. It is upto you to get the rebate. This should go on… see… RM49 million not redeemed, government still has “un-touched” money

• Show us the damn agreement between government and toll concessionaires laaa. No need to put under OSA. Why the government need to fork RM400 million compensation. Who can verify this number? How to justify?

• Guys, I just went to collect my rebate

The 20% rebate ends today but collection of rebate is allowed until 30 June 2014.

So no need to rush off now to the nearest office to get your rebates

Jonathan, I think you need to include this bit of info in ur article

cheers and happy new year guys!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • McLaren01 on Dec 31, 2013 at 5:56 pm

Basically all Touch n Go user must get rebate. Gov should encourage ppl to use smart tag and touch n go fo smooth traffic flow. There is no ppl collecting money. It means reduce operational cost.

• superbird #43 on Dec 31, 2013 at 7:25 pm

i feel sorry for my peninsular counterpart.

• Stealth on Dec 31, 2013 at 7:34 pm

I claim every month at KL sentral TnG counter. They open on saturday as well. This is definately a bad news. BN will not care coz they already won the election and a legitimate government. Screw you all people.

• motorhead on Dec 31, 2013 at 8:38 pm

What da heck? Is there any significant impact on gov with this removal? This small thing also you want to take? What the hell? Wtf? It’s like you take 20 cents from kids!!! I will remember this.

• droll on Dec 31, 2013 at 10:22 pm

wait for prices / inflation to go up, give it some time to hit max ceiling then BAM, introduce GST and profit! sigh…

• Denaihati on Dec 31, 2013 at 10:43 pm

should be automatic given to entitle customer, same as rebate for hari raya for example.

• “In future, all highway projects must be accompanied by studies to determine acceptable rates to the public before concessions are awarded, he said.”

– So…before this all highway projects are done at the behest of crony companies rather than to serve the public?

How apt the image shows the LATAR toll. Hundreds of motorists had to “cheat” the highway because its entrances & exits seem to be designed to benefit the concessionaire instead of the highway users. Highways are supposed to be primarily designed for ease of connection for the people, not just for monetary gain for the select few.

• thedarkside on Dec 31, 2013 at 11:12 pm

Im one of the frequent toll user and after reading this I feel like spitting on someone’s face!!!(you know who) From raya to dec I have redeemed more than rm 500, so the 20% discount has benefited me greatly. I hope the news is not true…

• Jangan la nak bising2.apa pun ah beng paling bagus di alam semesta ni hahaha ah beng ah beng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • WaJib on Jan 01, 2014 at 12:20 am

Rakyat hidup miskin…tengok keta u pakai..P…n
    Tengok keta crony pakai.. Face the Facts..

• sick&tired on Jan 01, 2014 at 1:52 pm

while the elites squander our tax money (rosmahs son riza just bought a 100 million apartment in ny), we regular folk are the ones who will have to foot the bill.

we malaysians need ti standup against corruption. if not, we are the ones who will suffer. if our parents had protested when high taxes were imposed on imported cars, we wouldn’t be burdened with paying high loans! next election pls vote bn out. if pr screws up, then we also have the choice to vote then out come ge15.

• ya lor on Jan 02, 2014 at 9:41 pm

Riza bought the 100Mil apt maybe using his own money, nobody knows. He can also get bank loan to finance his purchase, only cost less than 1 Mil a month to pay. His yearly earning, nobody here knows as well..

As for rosmah, she’d probably will be the cause of Najibs downfall, based on her own personality and behaviour (e.g leaving own hubby for najib)..

• sad guy on Jan 01, 2014 at 4:05 pm

so sad.. every day i go back work use toll.. but just arround 40 time i pay toll.. but arround rm150 i pay… cannot claim touch n go… how come??

• Gary YAP on Jan 02, 2014 at 10:03 am

Not necessary to go Touch N Go office collect rebate. Shell station also have, especially those station with a banner stating No service for reloading.

• Anti Hipokrit on Jan 02, 2014 at 9:14 pm

They should give back the money to customer by mail the statement or email or sms rebate that they have not collect.

Don’t CURI DUIT RAKYAT for KRONI.

• Anonymous on Feb 13, 2014 at 6:20 pm

Went to the counter to redeem but unfortunately I was told that there is no rebate, but the website shown that there is an amount to be redeemed. That’s why they got so much amount that have not been collected. The system itself got bugs. The information at the counter does not tally with the info at the website. End up, I have to call the Touch n Go call center to redeem manually.