Proton P2-30A Global Small Car on test near Genting

PROTON-GSC-3

It is now 2014, and Proton’s big launch for this year will be this hatchback, currently known as the P2-30A Global Small Car. These are some of the clearest views of the B-segment hatchback yet, snapped earlier today by reader Ahmad Tarmizi on the road up to Genting. They were escorted by a Proton Inspira.

It looks like there’s no new year break for Proton’s testing team. Last we heard, the car was supposed to be launched within the first half of this year, and a name has already been picked, as part of a naming contest called ‘Nama Siapa Hebat‘. The winner will get a premium spec automatic version of the new car.

Visit our Proton P2-30A Global Small Car infohub for past coverage on this new car. You will want to check it out as we even have illustrations based on the details that we can see through the disguise so far.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Really can’t wait for this GSC. Harap interior cantik .

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 6
    • Doesntmatterwhatmynameis on Jan 01, 2014 at 5:45 pm

It certainly looks better in this new batch of spyshots. And are those DRL’s i spot on the front bumper? Looks promising. Lets hope the interior isn’t the usual boring grey that proton uses so much.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 2
      • _xXx_ on Jan 02, 2014 at 9:04 am

call it a day if under the bonnet is again, a campro engine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 22
      • Roy Mustang on Jan 02, 2014 at 11:26 am

They grey selection for interior was from the previous previous CEO (before Syed Zainal).

preve no more gray2 aite :D

• side profile of GSC
        http://distilleryimage3.s3.amazonaws.com/560dca5a720711e39bbf12dadab21c47_8.jpg

• it look as wide as vios in the picture

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
      • Global Stupid Car on Jan 02, 2014 at 9:50 am

If the engine still Camproh with 9KM/Liter mileage, just forget about it lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 26
    • the tail light look like rounded triangle shape

• I hope they will price it reasonably..don do mistake like n.almera, m.mirage (thai made model) n t.agya n d.ayla (indo made model)…cheap is yes(in those country) but they omitted almost all the safety equipment n some standard equipment..eg daihatsu ayla lowest variant onli ~RM20k but no power windows, no AC, no 1-din audio, no speaker, no seatbelt(back seat), no airbag, no abs+ebd+ba, no esp+tc, no wheel cap, no power stering, no sun visor, no central lock, no alarm, no reverse sensor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
    • This called Myvi Killer by Proton management team. Let’s see whether the car live up to expectation. As of now, Myvi is Malaysia best selling car for 5 years in a row

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 3
      • matrxe on Jan 02, 2014 at 7:01 am

I do hope so. I really would like to see them annihilate myvi sale. I just hope proton dont use myvi as a benchmark.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
        • yes, certainly will kill myvi IF it has the spec of suprima (or kia picanto) at the cost of myvi (rm40-50k).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
          • Fredo on Jan 02, 2014 at 11:52 am

well, it really depends on ur definition of KILL.
            if u r referring to the possibility of this car taking up some of Myvi market, I’d say yes! but not so signifcant

• it may KILL myvi driver if they collided head-on..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
        • Roy Mustang on Jan 02, 2014 at 11:27 am

What if i told you, they dissect i10 to do this GSC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
      • kadajawi on Jan 02, 2014 at 12:29 pm

The way it looks angrily it really means it. It wants to eat Myvis for breakfast!

• Beras_Super on Jan 07, 2014 at 11:25 am

hahaha.. eat Myvis for breakfasst… Reminds me of a quote: “Have breakfast like a king, lunch like a prince & dinner like a beggar..

• Conan on Jan 02, 2014 at 3:27 pm

I never liked the Myvi until I had to buy one for my parents. Only then I realized why this is the best selling car in Malaysia. Compact, frugal FC and quite cheap to maintain. Unlike “another” local car that I bought for them previously.
        The only thing I dislike about it is the bumpy ride and lack of other safety equipment such as 4 airbags and ESP. If Perodua manage to cramp all that safety equipment in its new iteration of Myvi in the future (at a cheaper price of course), I don’t see why Myvi wouldn’t succeed as the best selling car in Malaysia for the next 5 years. Your move, Proton.

• bReaL on Jan 02, 2014 at 3:38 pm

based from feedbacks from a few friends working on this project, it wont be a myvi killer, and they ll omit bunch of features for local market…but it has keyless push start though…exported model will have front parking sensor and stop start…design wise..more or less at myvi level..well maybe slightly less

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
        • bvc100 on Jan 03, 2014 at 11:34 am

Pity PROTON if your friends are really working there. If they we’re working elsewhere, surely they’d not “kill” their own efforts by giving such disgraceful “insight” even before the car is launched.
          Regardless who works where in the automotive industry, everyone should try their best at giving a good value to customers and later let the consumers themselves decide whether they find the car good or not.

• True. Can’t wait for it to launch so that the sales figure can tell proton that their car sulks. But being a syok sendiri company, they won’t get the message.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 32
    • super excited on Jan 02, 2014 at 4:48 pm

I heard this model will be called Proton Mahathir. And they are also working on a “Proton Najib”. Personally ,I am going for Proton Najib….sexier.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 24
    • OMG…damn chun…Nice from the front. but others….

• Hopefully the rear design wont looks weird like the Savvy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 4
    • kadajawi on Jan 02, 2014 at 12:34 pm

Hm. To me the Savvy rear lights were really special, and it looked good. Different from other cars. This looks… boring, generic from what we can tell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • donadoni on Jan 01, 2014 at 5:13 pm

this is ford fiesta in camo folks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 54
  • Looks promising n international. hope this GSC can kick viva Ass out!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 9
  • are those a pair of DRLs on the bumper?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • Front looks really good.. but at the rear still blurry with that wallpaper. Gudluck proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 0
  • Too bad it looks nothing like the concept car they’ve presented few years ago

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 16
  • Wow. Campro ka….? Rakyat will suffer if ecu, cranksensor, map sensor and all vdo parts make trouble

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 68
    • sakitmental on Jan 01, 2014 at 9:50 pm

Other car’s owner also will suffer if those things broken. You talk like no brain or your brain is smaller than your eye.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 8
      • No la. Only proton got trouble with all the stuff. Pleasa ask people out there la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 44
        • sure? rajin2 go to other brand car clubs to know the truth.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
        • Beras_Super on Jan 07, 2014 at 11:32 am

r u sure? go upgrade ur knowledge abt other car brands.. or do u even have a car? LOL

• elvintien on Jan 01, 2014 at 5:34 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 238
    • Memang lah, those Vios or City isn’t even developed here, they had been launched somewhere long ago before they came here. Why need to stick on stickers leh?

Go Germany and see Mercs, BMWs covered with those so-called “ugly stickers” too if you thought no one uses those camos.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 127 Thumb down 3
    • ruffstuff on Jan 01, 2014 at 6:32 pm

Because they test the car where there car were built lah. But still they tampal2 their 2013 vios here in malaysia. That lagi stupid, people already know how it looks.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 1
    • Syazwan007 on Jan 01, 2014 at 6:32 pm

Seriously alventein? Can u really be that stupid? Every car on earth prior to being launch is tested on the roads and they are all covered up with stickers. U read through this blog, see how many spyshots with their car covered up. U want proton to release their car ASAP, but when its not reliable, u blame them. Cars need time to be develop lah boy. Aiyo idiot oh people like u.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 122 Thumb down 1
    • Stop living under tempurung la idiot. Go to Germany and you will find tons of camouflaged cars on the Autobahn.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 1
    • they just want to make sure the car works fine. you may not see other car companies drive their cars in stickers because you don’t look for one. even a Lamborghini did this. be matured man…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 1
    • this is not a publicity my man… they just want to make sure that the car works fine. Even a Lamborghini, Merc, BMW did this with their cars. you may not see much from them because you don’t really look for them. just grow up. open your eyes… no offense.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 1
    • batman on Jan 01, 2014 at 7:42 pm

your comment so stupid la bro….seems like you are not knowledgeable enough in this industry…if you are engineering background….perhaps you bought the certificate….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 1
    • Veneno on Jan 01, 2014 at 7:48 pm

if you’re a stupid, don’t try to be a smartass..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 1
    • what publicity you are talking about?
      Those other models are not developed locally. It’s only proton and probably once in a while Perodua.
      Where have you been????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
    • you definately don’t know anything about automotive field testing..period.!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • apesal kecik sangat otak mamat nih?

• Beras_Super on Jan 07, 2014 at 11:37 am

This is what happens when a human-being misused their thinking-media (for elvintien, it is called brain).. .

• taboogen on Jan 01, 2014 at 5:44 pm

look like led at the bumper

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • takin on Jan 01, 2014 at 6:02 pm

i can see the DRL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • nonama on Jan 01, 2014 at 6:04 pm

What engine if campro waste money better buy viva

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 60
    • Heng Lee on Jan 01, 2014 at 7:04 pm

Look at the pics again: The Vios try to overtake, but no chance… ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 4
      • No.. it is not the matter of engine… it is the lotus tuning hahaha… Vios cannot take corner fast 1 lolx…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 1
    • sakitmental on Jan 01, 2014 at 9:57 pm

Maybe because you only can afford viva..campro engine good for malaysian. Malaysian like that kind of N/A performance engine. Please note that campro is not build for fuel efficiency.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
      • Malaysian like campro….? Do you got brain when write this?. If it is build for performance why sell it to all rakyat.?…just build it for a race. But now proton is selling city car that eat a lot of fuel…all people realise on this. Not good for environment also

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 26
        • bontot asam on Jan 03, 2014 at 12:45 pm

performance is not just for race la u idiot..

• Beras_Super on Jan 07, 2014 at 11:40 am

Performance is not only for race la dear.. aiyoooo. Its about everything..

• peyno on Jan 02, 2014 at 1:13 am

no..no… 5 years ago.. yes.. but now ppl go for Safety..viva is rated unsafety car..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • naqib on Jan 01, 2014 at 6:06 pm

the front resembles toyota yaris….. does the shiny thing on the bumper=led drl? anyway, it looks quite promising….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Protong on Jan 01, 2014 at 6:35 pm

Ewah,ewah! GSC konon, Malaysia pun tak lepas. Kalau ko ambik injin Campro jugak, confirm I tak nak beli. GPS sial macam Lokatoo, buat orang sesat shj. Hampeh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 95
    • batman on Jan 01, 2014 at 7:46 pm

u r typical stupid person bro…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 6
    • kau yang pemalas nak update map…

I find it’s easier and more direct to use Lokatoo than Papago. It’s not really advanced but at least it’s friendly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
    • ada aku kesah ko nak beli ke tak?

• x de org paksa ngko beli pon…stupid

• Beras_Super on Jan 07, 2014 at 12:07 pm

hahaha.. Dier yg malas nk update map.. sembang.. Aku pedulik apa ko nk beli ke x..

• Heng Lee on Jan 01, 2014 at 7:08 pm

“and a name has already been picked, as part of a naming contest called ‘Name Siapa Hebat‘.”

My neighbour’s uncle’s friend (who’s cousin is working for Proton) heard it will be ‘Toyovios RV’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 51
    • voiddance on Jan 01, 2014 at 7:46 pm

No no no.. only Sam Loo can comment like this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
    • Lee Heng on Jan 01, 2014 at 8:40 pm

My neighbour’s uncle’s friend (who’s cousin is working for Proton)—- Is he Najib?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
  • rickyll on Jan 01, 2014 at 7:25 pm

The best and clearest spy shots so far. Though I am not a Proton fan boy, I must say that I am quite impressed with the front view. The bottom line is that will Proton introduce a new engine for this GSC, if not, Proton still only confine itself to domestic market, no break through so to speak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • Oh GSC but it is not small believe me.

• Daniel on Jan 01, 2014 at 7:33 pm

my guess on the name would be something “A” at the end… examples: Waja, Exora, Wira, Saga, Persona, Putra, Suprima etc. they all have “A” in the back.

• victortan on Jan 01, 2014 at 7:34 pm

Nice to see Proton test it on the Genting Road, because that is one of the toughest road in Malaysia.
    This time the car looked a bit better from the front.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • What I can see is the DRL is quite long. Because of the cut thru near to the trapezoidal grill on the left hand side but quite far on the right hand side, despite there’s still a DRL coverage goes thru.

• I like how Paul pointed out that ‘there’s no New Years break’ for Proton. I remember when the Prevé launched, there were so many reliability issues. But the Suprima’s launch was almost perfect. From all the spyshots, we can only assume that Proton’s QA people are working hard and smart on the GSC, big kudos to them!

Hope this GSC will live up to all of our expectations. Proton cannot afford to syiok sendiri, they only need to follow Hyundai-Kia’s and Ford’s strategy; reasonable price, good looks, modern technology, lots of kit and globally marketed.

Good luck Proton !

P.S I’m looking forward to the 2013 Malaysia car sales data. My prediction will be that Proton would have lessened the gap to Perodua and far ahead of UMW Toyota.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 2
    • Yes, could not agree more. Proton had made some moved recently, starting point after Preve launched. For this car, I think if Proton put reasonable price, reliable engine (campro also can, as now people recognize it), great FC and good torque, should be enough RECIPE to be successful. But if Proton want to ‘tapau’ Myvi, they need to craft a very nice interior. The interior is kinda of a desert for a car.. hehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
      • Well, to be exact, Proton’s ‘renaissance’ started with the Persona in 2007. In other words, when Syed Zainal Abidin became the Boss. But lately they’ve shifted up another gear.

I hope Proton makes an all-new engine for this car, the CamPro is 10 years old already, from the Gen-2 until now. The emissions is very high, FC is bad, and it doesn’t have the same kind of smart tech like Ford’s EcoBoost engine.

But one thing is for sure lah, this GSC must be cheap. Very cheap. Cheaper than Saga SV. Sure winner in Msia if it’s as cheap as the Viva today.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
        • ‘Renaissance’.. Good word! However, if proton put new engine in this car, i wonder if they will increase the price? compact car really depend on the price.. at least for Malaysian ;)

• u think viva is cheap?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
          • i think gsc maybe price bet RM30-45k..nice price n gud time to kill of saga n persona in 1 go

• DonkeyKong on Jan 01, 2014 at 10:41 pm

From the Campro CFE onwards, there’s very little resemblance of the Campro engine with what we’ve gotten before. The Campro NFE that is rumored to be launched with the GSC has variable valve timing like any other modern engine and possibly other minor enhancements to improve fuel economy and low-end torque.

The Punch CVT has been somewhat of a let-down all this while but as we can see with the VT3+ in the Suprima, many issues have been ironed out with stronger internals, better clutch adaptation programming and possibly improved hydraulics for the CVT pulleys to better handle torque output and engine braking. Hopefully these enhancements to the VT3+ CVT unit trickles down to the lower-end CVT units.

But I think Proton should just ask Punch to provide a different spec of CVT to Proton, using an early-lockup torque converter with twin torsion dampers in place of the multi-plate clutch pack so that there’s better creep and low-speed smoothness.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
        • farghmee on Jan 02, 2014 at 9:22 am

i would say that there is higher chance of having VVT in NFE since there is VVT in CFE.

• pirlo on Jan 02, 2014 at 11:40 pm

the existence of torque converter really helps a lot during creeping and climbing.

• I just finished practical training in a Proton supplier and for a few month I can see all ppl there are damn busy because Proton (or DRB?) keeps pushing them (and me) lol. Even today (new year’s holiday supposedly) my boss phoned me and said “HOI COME NOW NO VACATION LA TODAY WE ALL WORK!!!”

No sorry guys I won’t give details about this thing =P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 6
  • SagaUser on Jan 01, 2014 at 8:02 pm

i’m a proton user.. currently drive a Saga FLX.. honestly, i would say i really disappointed with my car.. how do i drive it? ok let me tell u.. from bukit mertajam to seberang jaya for 5month, and from seri kembangan to cheras for 6 month. 18000km for not even 1 year.. 2 times visit to Proton COSE for warranty claim(parts).. the way i drove? ya, same as i drove my dad Audi (my first car i drove is audi, so just imagine how i take care my car).. proton is nice car to drive.. Saga i tell u, its good.. especially as first car for young people like me.. but the quality.. haishhh.. please proton.. u have a good car.. i fall in love with suprima S, but when i think bak ther quality and problem i faced, i have doubt that proton is getting even better.. please proton.. improve..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 13
    • Proton is actually a ‘trainer’ for our local vendors. Until our vendors become efficient, Proton cars will forever be unreliable. Sad story right ? On the bright side, reliability is not everything. Ford’s Focus is one of the Top 10 best selling in the world, and it is not as reliable as the Corolla. Proton should follow in Ford’s footsteps. Hyundai-Kia is also following Ford btw, but unlike Proton, Hyundai-Kia just hires Europeans. Proton, not so much.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
      • Bangang on Jan 02, 2014 at 9:48 am

Proton not hired Europeans? Who are the Lotus? Or maybe the Lotus folks still refuse to be called as mediocre Proton staffs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
    • Fredo on Jan 02, 2014 at 12:18 pm

Dude, seriously?
      comparing Saga with an Audi ?
      Come on! Saga is an entry level car lah…have some merci! u shud be driving the old saga megavalve to appreciate saga FLX

• Beras_Super on Jan 07, 2014 at 12:01 pm

Yes Fredo.. I do agree with that.. I bought saga megavalve, still using it. N bought saga flx early last year, been driving JB-Pendang(Kedah)-JB 4 days a week… Try to calculate the mileage.. Hence, the flx never put me down..

• front looks pretty nice..the rear NOT. looks weird..

• oww..i love sturdy, wide body small hatchback.

• MAI Apprentice on Jan 01, 2014 at 8:56 pm

something is not right with its ass.. the frontal area looks good

• Looks promising. Can’t wait!

Anyways, I have a question here. If I happen to bump into these cars and I take snapshots of them, can I be charged of something? I mean, illegal photo shooting or etc…etc. Can somebody explain to me? Thanks.

• sakitmental on Jan 01, 2014 at 10:02 pm

If you bump into those car, please peel off the camo stickers first before taking picture..that will be great!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • If private area or road u can be charge but not at public area especially public road

• Steve Kok on Jan 01, 2014 at 9:29 pm

Aiya.. it will be just another re-badged car.
    with slightly changed front grill and rear bumper.
    Proton so secretive for what?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 57
  • happy new year on Jan 01, 2014 at 9:54 pm

Remind me of the 2014 hyundai i10.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • nabill on Jan 01, 2014 at 9:56 pm

rear bumper has a huge buldge on the corners

• Denaihati on Jan 01, 2014 at 10:23 pm

proton test again on the road a lot of corners and slopes. if i’m not mistaken last time at c highland.
    i think proton want to test until the limits. hopefully, this give some degree of confidence to user….in term of reliability.
    i have so many hope to proton eventhough don’t have any share….heee

• nabill on Jan 01, 2014 at 10:59 pm

hopefully next time we get a shot of the interior….actually i somehow dowant this car to be priced too cheap otherwise its gonna build as such…i dont mind it to be slightly higher than expected in return we get some good fit and finish refined package

• kusochon on Jan 01, 2014 at 11:19 pm

this seem to look better than suprima

• just name it Savvy lah, why need a new name. just consider it as a new Savvy. DONE! or a Tiara perhaps

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • darkermarker on Jan 01, 2014 at 11:54 pm

right now p1 gets alot of cheap publicity. later after launch, the public puke seeing p1 driven on the road….i think its nothing new or news…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • NurburgringDriver on Jan 02, 2014 at 2:30 am

Give me the car and let me drive it at the ‘Ring. Sure will smash the Porsche 918 Spyder and Nissan GT-R Nismo. Well, more like it will smash the Civic Type-R on the ‘Ring. Get yourselfs ready, Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
  • Think it’s a turbocharged engine. They could have hidden the car more by taping up the lower grille but they didn’t, just closing it partially. Looks like an intercooler shape where there is no tape. Normal radiators don’t need that much cooling intake area, the top grille would have been enough.

• Scouser on Jan 02, 2014 at 7:06 am

glad to see them testing the car rather extensively… hopefully most (if not all) of the quality issues associated with proton can be ironed out! =)

• proton driver on Jan 02, 2014 at 8:36 am

if campro engine is use again no point,even it is beatiful car.have owned 4protons already. quality is getting worst day by day.

• Look promising and hopefully the interior doesn’t
    let us down like previous launches.

• AUSNSW on Jan 02, 2014 at 8:38 am

Proton should develop d-segment car that have higher displacement, Not small car…No wonder US never allow them to enter their market…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 16
    • Syameer on Jan 02, 2014 at 10:41 pm

D-segment is too much for Proton. Irregardless how much improvement they made as in Suprima and Preve, they still get bullshit from Malaysians. Imagine if Proton spent hundred of millions to develop new D-segment car, if people still have this kind of attitude and prejudice towards Proton, Proton will be over for good. It will be a huge fiasco. Nevertheless, quality wise, Proton have improved much more than what those haters believe. Quality wise, the only thing I don’t like in their Suprima is the noisy gearbox. Overall, it is truly a value for money car which most of us looked down upon. Just my 2 cents and you don’t have to agree with me :)

• Flat Black on Jan 02, 2014 at 8:39 am

Proton GSC. Look like myvi, some says fiesta. Is it another re-badge? I don’t think so. Proton will only rebadge cars that politicians want to be driven in. Hope this is pure GSC. Not an overrated and over priced SC. Price benchmark is myvi. Quality benchmark is fiesta. Engine performance cannot be help… campro is so outdated and outperformed. Gamma 1.6 engine is an engine to be compared.

• Hero86 on Jan 03, 2014 at 4:56 pm

just remember what DSZ said during launching of exora.. Msian! wanna jap’s tech, wanna european’s style with Msian’s price..

• brian on Jan 02, 2014 at 8:44 am

i will not comment anything until the engine is reveal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • Proton…make sure the first year launch not an experiment for users to detect what’s wrong or right with the car…….we still remember Gen2, Persona and even preve…..and after a year later the car is 100% better that the first launch car…….please learned your lesson or people will hold purchasing the car until you sort everything first.

• Low Budget on Jan 02, 2014 at 9:50 am

You mean we should buy Proton car on their 2nd or 3rd iteration? The 1st batch of users are suckers to become their guinea pigs?

• budlee on Jan 02, 2014 at 10:11 am

I hope they will pack this car up with the latest safety equipment like the Suprima S. Then this car, along with the Kia Picanto, will be one of the safest cars in its class.

• Fun to drive, SAFE to drive and Good fc. Good luck Proton.

• nzain on Jan 02, 2014 at 11:08 am

hope proton will concern bout fuel consumption for these model..not even for better look but evyrbdy lay on fuel save in every each car

• hahaha on Jan 02, 2014 at 12:22 pm

please be cheap

• hahaha on Jan 02, 2014 at 12:23 pm

please be cheap proton please…dont be like perodua putting such a high price tag on their cars but with very few features

• I don’t understand … they done the testing but after launch first 1 year batch still got a lot kind of problems. As what happened to Preve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • maybe once the car is on the customer’s hands, we don’t know how they treat their car, thus more problems or that the factory needs a year to accustomed to building the car, as practices to make a better car. :p

• motorhead on Jan 02, 2014 at 3:36 pm

Myvi killer??? Hahaha.. You know how many years myvi already in the market? I forgot dy.. There was a time my power window switch ve a problem.. I went to a workshop under a tree.. I just asked the foreman if he has the switch for it.. He said, yes.. Ready stock.. Brand new RM50.. Secondhand RM25… It’s about product maturity lah.. Got it? Built Tiara.. Scrap.. Savvy then scrap again.. Then want to kill Myvi? Haha.. So funny.. Proton never learn.. Pergi tapaulah..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
    • bvc100 on Jan 03, 2014 at 12:03 pm

Cherry tree ah? Don’t be surprised if those charges you more than if you’ve fixed it at a PROTON service centre.
      Btw, i believe PROTON has that lifetime warranty on power windows system right? If your car is one of the current model, you should’ve just went to PROTON service centre and let them replace it under warranty. Should be at no cost at all.

• Quality should improve. i drove Preve..sadly got few quality issues…even the gear knob in preve ( silver cover) broken..n nw i have use glue to stick it..not sure Proton will replaced it for free. My car nw 1 year plus

• uzair on Jan 03, 2014 at 7:52 am

They actually do replace it for free. Just go to any SC.

• Saga BeLum Masak on Jan 04, 2014 at 11:54 am

What a waste of warranty claims. I change 16 warranty items in Exora CFE with only 4 having actual defect. Not to mentioned having change 12 warranty item in SS with only 3 with actual defect.

It’s how you address your claims to proper channel.And yet, both consumes fuel less than 8 l/100km average. (if you know how to do it without warranty void and no additional gadgets)

• yippi33 on Jan 02, 2014 at 3:59 pm

the rear reminds me of Ford Ka..

Front design gets my approval. the rear, maybe takes some time to adapt (as always with all the other protons)

• pro comment on Jan 02, 2014 at 4:28 pm

any negative comment on proton will get many dislike.only the gud2 comment will get more like….thank a lot proton for sponsoring this blog…pffftttt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • I am already puking rainbows now…..

• Mosama21812 on Jan 02, 2014 at 6:53 pm

May be powered by ivtec engine

• azmi turbo on Jan 02, 2014 at 6:58 pm

I hope this car do well for proton. but to be honest after seeing all the things that DRB “so called dream team” has done to proton so far laying off so many good people there and not having any professional experts there anymore, I have lost faith and hope in it. as long as it is DRB company for me there is nothing to see. I just want to see proton doing well not DRB ppl. sorry not to be rude but it is my opinion only.

• Gimme a Honda Engine.
    Maybe idsi, maybe vtec, maybe ivtec.

Then I will try you again, Proton.

Not Campro CFE, Not Campro NFE, Not Campro IAFM, Not IAFM+.

• Hmm I’m wondering about the escort inspira

• sam lol on Jan 03, 2014 at 12:59 pm

under new parentage, this car could be good I guess, but the design (my judgement based on the spyshots) is nothing to shout about… maybe i’d buy it because of price or fc…

Proton should realllly hire a European as chief designer… The koreans are doing so, dont be ashamed to jump on the bandwagon

• proton mungkin bagus dr segi teknologi enjin tetapi apa yang agak mengecewakan ialah dari segi rekabentuk keseluruhan, sering saja ketinggalan jika nk dibandingkan dgn kereta sekelasnya… diharap proton dapat mengatasi kelemahan yg sering diperkatakan oleh orangramai. lihat saja bagaimana kia melakukan perubahan terhadap kereta2 keluarannya, bertolak daripada kereta yang dianggap kelas kedua kini berupaya manakluk dunia.

• toyol on Jan 04, 2014 at 10:51 pm

yeke…bkn sebab mentality org malaysia..design proton lg menarik berbnding dgn toyota…tgk vios dugong je la..klu lmbang proton sure x laku…huhu

• There’s no point menyalak ask proton to do this and that and at the end if the day the rakyat always have the mentality “beli jela dulu merasa handphone clone galaxy note 3 v8 Super King” whilst actually they know they can afford the original one with a reasonable amount of money to have a realiable one. You know what Im saying?

• Global Small Car shud be “safe fuel car”… NO MORE ‘PAY AS YOU GO’ bullshit…!

• Request for one more variant please…..cfe engine option with manual tranny option, 4 disc brake….2 doors option
    …and a button to disable abs ebd

• Logesh on Jan 15, 2014 at 3:25 pm

The front looks bumper looks exactly like Ford Fiesta! another rebadge ahhhhh

• nazlan on Jan 20, 2014 at 1:50 pm

RRP for 1.3 variant almost 30k – same engine from Saga SV. Then another engine 1.6 CPS around 40k++ Premium. Overall price ranging from 28k – 43k base on interior,trans dan engine. Some insider info… :-) its really a MyVi killer !!!

• Looks very much like a Fiat Punto on the outside!

• terminate on Jun 16, 2014 at 9:40 pm

I still love my 7 year old savvy. The downpart is the engine and the transmission. Apart from it, the car is very strong and reliable. If they can enhance the savvy platforms with Proton’s own engine, handling and transmission and of course the interior/exterior enhancement, that should be good.. :)