The top 10 stories on paultan.org for 2013

Happy new year, and welcome to 2014! It’s been a very active 2013 for the Malaysian automotive industry, and we’re already gearing up for the next big thing, which will hopefully be happening this month at long last – the NAP announcement, which is expected to happen sometime in the middle of January.

But while we wait, let’s look back at the stories that received the most traffic on this website in 2013.

1. New Proton Perdana based on eighth-gen Honda Accord handed over

2014-Proton-Perdana-Accord-0013

Surprisingly, the top story of 2013 is that of a car that no one can even buy. In December, Proton handed over the government’s new fleet of Proton Perdana, which is based on the eight-generation Honda Accord, including a special stretched version for the Prime Minister. This is phase one of the Perdana replacement project, and a second phase which is expected to be ready in two years will involve an Accord-based Perdana for the general public that has more design differentiation from the original Honda design.

2. Proton Saga SV launched – from RM33,438 OTR

Proton_Saga_SV_002

Coming in at second place is another Proton. The Saga SV, the acronym standing for Super Value, is the cheapest Proton currently available. The manual goes for RM33,438 (solid) and RM33,888 (metallic), while the CVT is priced at RM36,438 (solid) and RM36,888 (metallic), all on-the-road with insurance.

3. GALLERY: Meet the luscious local ladies of KLIMS13

The demographics of this site is male-dominated after all, so it’s really no surprise that this story came in third. This year’s KLIMS featured our local beauties complimented by plenty of ‘CBU’ imports – it nearly looked like the Bangkok Motor Show at certain stands.

4. 2013 Toyota Vios launched in Thailand

toyota-vios-2013-bangkok-10

Thailand was the debut country for the new Toyota Vios, the automaker’s latest B-segment sedan contender. It was unveiled a day before the Bangkok Motor Show press day, and while we couldn’t be there on site, we tried our best to cover it remotely. We hope it was sufficient!

5. Proton Suprima S hatchback launched: RM77k-RM80k

Proton-Suprima-S-launch 0070

This was Proton’s big debut for this year. The Suprima S was the first Proton locally to feature ESP stability control and six airbags. It was a unique experience for us because for the first time, we broadcasted the launch live for the world to watch on a Saturday morning. You can watch the recording of the launch here.

6. Honda Jazz CKD 1.5L launched – cheapest Honda in Malaysia at RM74,800, with dual airbags, VSA, ABS

Honda Jazz Petrol CKD 1

Honda turned a car that used to be a ‘premium’ hatchback costing more than RM100k into one of the most affordable Hondas around, thanks to CKD and lowered equipment levels. Even so, VSA stability control remains a standard feature. Naturally, this caught the attention of many car buyers.

7. Perodua launches S-Series Viva, Myvi and Alza – all Peroduas now come with 3 years free service

DSC_0156b

Perodua’s version of Proton’s ‘SV’ cars. ‘S’ stands for special, and Perodua describes the S-Series as its “most value-for-money variants” so far, with added equipment over the phased-out variants but with “no additional cost to the customer” – not to be confused with the range-topping SE tag traditionally given to the priciest Myvi.

8. GALLERY: Koleksi foto cewek cantik dari IIMS 2013

Another story that we probably don’t have to explain ;)

9. SPYSHOTS: First look at the Honda Accord-based Proton Perdana Replacement Model (PRM)

Proton-Honda-Accord-Perdana-Replacement-006

The car from the number one story was sighted on test on public roads for the first time. Looks like any other Honda Accord, but a close look reveals some minor disguise as well as a steering wheel with a Proton badge in the interior.

10. GALLERY: 2013 Toyota Vios at the Bangkok show

Toyota Vios

After the new Vios debuted in Thailand, it was exhibited at the 2013 Bangkok Motor Show, where we could finally get our own live photos of the car.

Top commenters on paultan.org for 2013

We also have a few other numbers to share. Coming to this website wouldn’t be as interesting without our vibrant community of readers who contribute to the comments section. Here are the top commenters of 2013.

1. Sam Loo – 1,897 comments
  2. Jimmy – 1,000 comments
  3. frenzyaustin – 953 comments
  4. kadajawi – 867 comments
  5. AVH – 851 comments
  6. Name – 818 comments
  7. kzm – 730 comments
  8. VS – 650 comments
  9. John – 463 comments
  10. sudonano – 433 comments

Day with the highest pageviews

The site registered the highest ever pageviews in a day for the year on November 25, which was the day the 2014 Honda City made its world debut in India. We registered 888,532 pageviews that day. So while it probably didn’t get into the top 10 viewed list because the event happened late in the year, it was a very significant story indeed.

Top five countries that visit paultan.org

One of the benefits of being an online website is that readers from all around the world can visit your site. Most visitors come from Malaysia – about 80%. Next in line come Singapore, US, Indonesia and Australia.

That’s all we have to share for now. All in all, 2013 was a very interesting year indeed. There are now more players fighting for the same market share, so it has become somewhat of a buyer’s market, with prices coming down and equipment levels going up. Six airbags and stability control is becoming more and more available in cars under RM100k, which is a good thing.

Here’s to an even better 2014 for Malaysian car buyers!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Sam Loo on Jan 01, 2014 at 2:29 pm

Thanks for the support guys.

Now buy my Hailat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 104
    • anti_vios on Jan 01, 2014 at 6:07 pm

Hell no!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
    • More comments does not mean good comments.
      Actually, you have yet to make one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
    • whoa..so many comment that i contribute

• Im hoping regular paultan commenter stick to 1 nickname easier to be recognize…

• Jebonr on Jan 01, 2014 at 9:03 pm

I know You will win Sam. Congratulation, but please do it the right way this year ok.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • NurburgringDriver on Jan 02, 2014 at 2:43 am

Ok, give me one of your Toyota at let me drive it around the ‘Ring. Sure get destroyed before it leaves the pit stop

• Vader on Jan 02, 2014 at 10:10 am

Nope, it depend how many comment u submit but not how many support from others.
      And all ur comments related to 1 topic only, RV…. that really nuisance!!!

• hantu on Jan 02, 2014 at 11:36 am

this shows u have nothing to do in ur life, or u keep ‘makan gaji buta’ :p

• Bla bla on Jan 02, 2014 at 10:03 pm

Not hailat is hilux

• Sam Loo on Jan 03, 2014 at 12:34 am

Now with this avatar, all the fake fellas can no longer hide …….

• ZephyrLock on Jan 01, 2014 at 2:41 pm

SAM LOO TOP COMMENTER HAHAHAHAHAHA

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 4
  • voiddance on Jan 01, 2014 at 2:42 pm

Sam Loo rules!!! Yeah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 8
  • iskhalifah on Jan 01, 2014 at 2:55 pm

I believe there should also be an award for ‘The Most Annoying Commentor’ & ‘Blind Basher of 2014’. No prize for guessing who.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 11
  • iskhalifah on Jan 01, 2014 at 2:56 pm

I believe there should also be an award for ‘The Most Annoying Commentor’ & ‘Blind Basher of 2013′. No prize for guessing who. (edited: Typo error 2014)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • Haha… Sam Loo No. 1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • Proton story will always get many attention from car enthusiast.. be honest Malaysian, does’t matter u how much u hate Proton, this guy will always has some part in your heart.. hehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
  • ST Boy on Jan 01, 2014 at 3:33 pm

awesome sam loo aka hailat… lol

• Denaihati on Jan 01, 2014 at 3:39 pm

congratulations to Sam loo and others top 10 comenters. all top 10 stories about the famous, popular or full of controversy in malaysia i think.

• Sam Loo on Jan 01, 2014 at 3:46 pm

Sam Loo got first place bcoz so many people using his name

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
  • Stanley on Jan 01, 2014 at 3:58 pm

Sam Loo is the best! LOL

• UrtheOneSamLoo on Jan 01, 2014 at 4:07 pm

U r the one, Sam Loo!!!!! no one can beat you! remember, bro and sis, “buy hailat, find Sam Loo”!

• iloveSamLoo on Jan 01, 2014 at 5:00 pm

I like Sam Loo!

• Cheung on Jan 01, 2014 at 5:11 pm

Looking forward for the new proton perdana in our local showrooms

• Cheung on Jan 01, 2014 at 5:12 pm

Looking forward for the new proton perdana in our local showrooms
    If the price is right then may consider to buy

• sudonano on Jan 01, 2014 at 5:33 pm

Seriously, I didn’t know I did 433 comments. Wow comments fly when you have Sam Loo around. Happy new year!

And you guys should put, Sam “Hilux” Loo (and associates) la. After all he has so many associates. LOL.

Time to get him an award from Toyota MY, Toyota’s #1 salesman.

But seriously, have to thank him also la. Now everyone knows that there is more to under specced, overpriced, ugly Toyotas in the Malaysian auto scene.

I hope Sam Loo doesn’t name his kids Vios Loo, Camry Loo, Avanza Loo, Vios TRD Loo, RV Loo and Corolla Loo la. That… dunno what to say already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
  • This proves that Sam Loo is the most hardworking hailat salesman

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • Also PT site should have the option for international countries, and also for local, with local obviously having more news about our PM doing dumb things. While you filter all that for international news. I suspect that would make a lot more people visit your site since you update a lot of news and very fast.

• jojovich on Jan 01, 2014 at 8:10 pm

Congratz sam loo for 1st place. But most interesting n informative comments come from AVH I think….

• Really? I’am just writing on my thoughts and all my information are web-source, effectively I am no where close to the automotive industry in my position.

But thanks anyways of your thoughts.

• Just A Nobody on Jan 03, 2014 at 2:58 pm

Exactly, I couldn’t agree more. AVH got to be the most
      interesting fellow with informative comments around here. But there was this one lad as well, nicknamed ”Aero”, that lad always came up with brilliant and rasional comments. Thumbs up for u both, AVH n Aero :)

• kolejeon on Jan 01, 2014 at 8:44 pm

Kudos to paultan.org, you guys also amazing throughout 2013 with comprehensive report and coverage.

• setscrew on Jan 01, 2014 at 8:53 pm

If this is deemed to be one of Sam Loo’s 2013 KPIs , he’ll probably get a promotion and no longer a junior sales. :-P

• Registrar of Society on Jan 01, 2014 at 8:54 pm

I hereby announce the opening of Sam Loo supporter club, an NGO for automatise fans with IQ of less than 50.

• Jebonr on Jan 01, 2014 at 9:07 pm

Among other similar website, Your website has always been my top choice Paul. Keep it up. But I do hope this year Sam Loo with be more fair to other brand.

• Mackaroni on Jan 01, 2014 at 9:32 pm

seriously i wonder how to put a pic next to my name?

• Paul Tan on Jan 01, 2014 at 9:56 pm

Register on www.gravatar.com with an account with the same email you use to comment here. Then upload a picture to your gravatar account.

• Sam Loo on Jan 02, 2014 at 6:28 pm

Thanks Paul.

How’s my avatar?

• John Tan on Jan 01, 2014 at 9:41 pm

The No. 9 commentator… izzit me? Haha, looks like Sam Loo is the commentator of the year for Paultan.org. Kudos to Danny Tan for playing the role in Driven videos.

• Wow, 851 comments. From someone who usually would do nothing better to do in the coffee shop but type comments while waiting for the food.

Reflecting back, I first came into Paultan with more desire on understanding the Malaysian car-scene, thinking it would be a Malaysian version of Jalopnik. At first I don’t get much of it, they are more blatant hate of cars, usually of Japanese make, irrational comments and thorough WW3 almost like fan boys arguing between DC and Marvel. Thou few shows attempt in rescuing in thoughts but they will just get disliked into oblivion back when 40 dislike means immediate comment blocking.

But as I go on, putting up a comment is just waiting for a structural reply, and from the rare ones(not Sam Loo) I get greater understanding on the automotive sector and have a nice healthy discussion. Dislike merely became just that, someone who disagrees with you. Is more on curiosity for cars and the culture around it that I still comment in PT and WorldCarFans.

Anyways congratulation to all commentors, FrenzyAustin, Kadajawi ,Sudonano….etc bar Sam Loo, for you guys do at most time give vey resounding reply. And as for Sam Loo and co, keep up the entertainment, the best troll in PT and rather entertaining as some cant tolerate themselves and replying back, effectively falling into the trolls trap as I call.

Good Luck 2014.

• Spock1976 on Jan 01, 2014 at 9:55 pm

Hehe im partly responsible for story #3. Love paultan

• dugong on Jan 01, 2014 at 10:53 pm

Lol Sam Loo pwned everyone! It proves toyota sales is dropping and they have nothing better to do than troll here…

• David on Jan 01, 2014 at 11:36 pm

I wonder will admin still post if the top searches is about the awek/super models..

• victortan on Jan 02, 2014 at 12:45 am

I think admin should open a poll or list for the Top insightful commentors.
    I would vote for Aero.

• To sum it up for a less exciting year. Indeed the headlines are justified as some of the more intriguing news in the scene.

However, the one rooted at Number 1. is mere Jokes than exhilaration. In fact its nonsense. More than 20 years in the industry Proton can’t even make a decent sedan, and rebadging brands after brands?

20 years in the process we see the demise of the industry, where local assemblies moving elsewhere. Thereby taking their expertise and opportunities with them. Like most of the ppl, I thought this is the time we make our own cars, our very own tech. But on the contrary, they killed the industry. And 20 years down the road, they still do copies.

Jokes and disgrace. the fact the PMs are even there to celebrate makes this even more laughable. And the fact that our decision makers’ humility knows no bounds.