VIDEO: Mercedes-Benz Magic Vision Control wipers

Car wipers and washer systems have evolved in shape but have essentially remained pretty much the same over the years. Perhaps there isn’t much to be done. But here’s an interesting take – how about combining the wipers and the washers into a single system?

Magic Vision Control debuted in the latest generation Mercedes-Benz SL-Class, and the system is available for the Malaysian spec car as well. The innovation is how the water gets into the windshield. This is done by means of water guides integrated on both sides along the wiper blade – one on the left and one on the right – with minute laser-cut spraying holes.

Via these channels, the washer/wiper system always supplies washing fluid to the windscreen precisely where it is needed: just in front of the wiper blade lip, according to the direction of movement of the wiper.

BTW, pretty cheeky use of a Z4 at the beginning there!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• check check on Jan 02, 2014 at 9:18 am

yaya good

• Start workinn in the New Year….I think Peugeot 405 had it integrated in the wipers system back then I think. but only a few points….It is a good idea to prolong the life of wipers.

• alldisc on Jan 02, 2014 at 11:34 am

dont forget, first generation toyota estima (TCR10/11) had this as well as early as late 1989.

Alfa ROmeo GTV/Spider also has combined wiper/washer jets back in 1996.

of coz, this time merc had perfected it.

• gavincsy on Jan 02, 2014 at 9:59 am

Nice but if they get clogged up pain to clean, I’m sure Mercedes recommends only their washer fluid which costs more than petrol to ensure no clogging

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • kadajawi on Jan 02, 2014 at 12:00 pm

Just use water and some dishwasher (try to find the right amount) and you’ll be fine. Works great, at least with normal cars. And they have very fine nozzles too, so I would not worry.

• amirzaheen on Jan 02, 2014 at 10:06 am

Merc is having a go on BMW after a move by british Jaguar….hahahha…

McLaren have a better wiper developing…Resonance repelling wind shield is it…thats cooler~!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
  • Wow a peugeot 405 hasnt got that…oh wait it does.
    I cant wait to see what Mclaren is going to make, deleting the wiper system altogether now that’s revolutionary.

• calcutta on Jan 02, 2014 at 10:26 am

our climate going to destroy those wiper blade in no time,and imagine the cost mercedes going to charge you to replace those

• nzain on Jan 02, 2014 at 11:06 am

wow..this is magnificent idea..they’d did the technology on wiper to have clear view for ur windscreen

• Elvin on Jan 02, 2014 at 11:09 am

Hopefully w205 c class won’t have that..
    As in our country, it is hard to maintain due to the hot weather and i don’t wish to see my wiper kena stolen.
    Even my city’s wiper ‘nut cover’ was stolen.

• Blaze on Jan 02, 2014 at 11:16 am

Magic? Peugeot 405 and Fiat Coupe got it since the 90’s…

• sudonano on Jan 02, 2014 at 11:26 am

Funny enough, when Mercedes says “Magic…..” it really feels like magic. Interesting!

• summicron on Jan 02, 2014 at 12:01 pm

Replace wiper oso must go Merc service center. Sigh.

• kadajawi on Jan 02, 2014 at 12:12 pm

Steve Jobs is back! He is working for Mercedes now. It’s magic!

The idea itself is good, but does this mean I can’t use any regular wiperblade anymore?

• it consume more water then Benz need bigger wiper water storage tank….

• Bendspear on Jan 03, 2014 at 10:15 am

The real innovation is to eliminate wiper at all.
    There are new technology currently developing for high end car which to use sonic wave to disperse rain upon contact with windscreen. The technology currently deployed at military airplanes and jets. Maybe take a 5 or more years to reach common car once introduced to luxury car.

• kimchipark on Jan 03, 2014 at 11:37 am

Sonic and new tech is good and all. but can sonic booms off bird shit? Im sold if it could resonance of the droppings before it hits my windscreen. even better, integrate the tech into my car bodies and see carwash centres go bankrupt.

• EnergyAnalyst on Jan 04, 2014 at 11:53 am

What is up with Merz these days magic this, magic that , why so American commercial linguo laden

Merz Magic sounds so juvenile

• pug405 on Jan 05, 2014 at 9:31 pm

Lol, my 17 year old peugeot 405 still uses this.