VIDEOS: Funny Audi A3 ads poke fun at other brands

“Wait for the right one. Jumping the gun only results in shame and remorse. Don’t regret your first time.” In essence, this is the gist of Audi of America’s series of new ads for the upcoming A3 Sedan (badged as just the A3 in the US, where the three-door hatch and five-door Sportback variants are not sold).

No, Audi’s abstinence movement is not about what you think. It’s a call for first-time luxury car buyers to make the right choice – or wait for the perfect candidate (Audi A3) to arrive – and not fall into the metaphorical traps of the usual suspects (the Mercedes-Benz CLA-Class, E90 BMW 3 Series and previous-gen Lexus IS are featured in the ads).

The third video, titled “Buyer’s Remorse” is my personal favourite. “I really enjoy driving, but it’s been tainted. People judge me now.” How true!

So over to you – do you find the series of Audi A3 ads clever, hilarious, or uncalled for? Tell us your opinions and/or favourite scenes below.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Chris on Jan 02, 2014 at 2:40 pm

Audi’s commercial comes to me as somewhat genius/smart-arse, but childish at the same time. “Lesson” and “Shame” is a bit on the lame side, but “Buyer’s Remorse” seems to be a very realistic situation that would affect some of us.

I’m less concerned about how people judge me but how I judge my previous self when I sign that hire purchase agreement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • kadajawi on Jan 03, 2014 at 12:28 am

Well, but don’t the commercials even warn of test drives? Like how the woman wanted to let the man drive a Mercedes, and he didn’t want to. It wasn’t as if he had signed a contract if he had picked up the key, right? So what’s the harm, unless the car is better than the Audi?

• abuya123 on Jan 03, 2014 at 1:11 am

The bottom video if being shoot in Malaysia, the BMW is Saga and Audi is Myvi lagi best.

What I am try to say…. our desired is always exceed what we have. Surely after buy Audi, that makcik will say…. shame having Audi. I suppose buy Porsche.

• Ah Beng on Jan 02, 2014 at 2:43 pm

I couldn’t wait
    *piap piap piap piap*

• Done in very poor taste. C’mon Audi, did you have to stoop that low? Insecure much?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
    • Taizo on Jan 03, 2014 at 4:40 pm

Go visit Audi America channel on Youtube. Audi produced some finest commercial ads in the industry. My favourite, Audi R8 in Maranello. Brilliant!!!

• kadajawi on Jan 02, 2014 at 2:57 pm

Wow. These are bloody awful.

The second one says: Don’t try other cars, just buy the Audi. And implies that other cars are better, so if you drive them it would spoil you… you’ve driven better, you’ve tasted the poison, so you’ll either buy one of them instead, or you’ll regret having bought an Audi. It’d be like having owned a Pioneer Kuro Plasma and then being forced to use a LED TV. Like going from a Galaxy Note 3 to a Galaxy Ace.

The third and fourth ones say: Audi buyers are superficial ****** who only care about what others think about them. Will my neighbour, will my parents approve? The cars don’t really matter. Image is everything.

Are you sure these were done by Audi, or were they commissioned by one of the other brands, to display Audi owners as absolute dicks? It’s like Microsoft would be doing those Mac vs PC ads where the PC is a square in a suit, and the Mac is hip and cool.

This is a much better ad at bashing the competition:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1Rk8WmJhAek?w=200

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
    • tokmoh on Jan 02, 2014 at 9:01 pm

Aye, Volvo’s ads are way more tasteful.

Should check out ‘People’ too, that’s how you sell your own brand: by telling what it really stands for.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oLZ3np-61Yo?w=200

“Some say cars are all about going fast.
      Some say cars are all about looking cool.
      They aren’t wrong.

But our main passion is to help our drivers and their loved ones to live longer. To help them take responsibility for the world around them. And to help them live life less complicated.”

I think everyone here surely heard Volvo Truck’s Van Damme Epic Split. Not only the stunt is real, but the message is very empowering. At over 60 million views, it become the most viewed auto-related ads ever.

Beat that, Audi. What I see is your badge is for annoying hipster who can go die for all I care. And that they look down on everyone and think they’re driving God car. Like Sam Loo version german. How tasteless.

PS: can someone tell me how to embed youtube video in comment?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • tiadaid on Jan 02, 2014 at 2:58 pm

It’s amazing how USD 30,000 is considered luxury car level in the US. In Malaysia, RM 30,000 is cheap valley

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
  • khairulx19a on Jan 02, 2014 at 3:20 pm

when mercedes is your company car, that isnt your company haha

• motorhead on Jan 02, 2014 at 3:23 pm

What you waiting for? SUE Audi.

• downsys on Jan 02, 2014 at 4:37 pm

It doesn’t work that way overseas. It’s ok to poke fun at competitors to a certain extent. But in Malaysia, advertising rules are different.

• motorhead on Jan 02, 2014 at 7:08 pm

We ll see their reaction.. Anyway nice to know hard earn money well spend there.. At USD30k get an Audi.. Malaysian are rich.. 100-200k also no problem.. Respect… I know a few bankrupts that own a few cars before.. Respect also..

• 1st of all I am not a BN fan and not a crony and I dont condone high tax and high price. But i can tell you that most Malaysian are rich compared to European and American counterpart. Anything 5 digit to them is consider very expensive. U cannot compare value to value. Coz our Ringgit has no value, like shit. Therefore, USD1 or Eu1 is not equivalent to RM1

• In Malaysia everything is being protected. The protection scheme can be used during the 80~90s. But in today’s globalization,protectionism means death end. There is no room for healthy competition hence no healthy growth. A lots of Malaysian’s companies are like tat and it includes local automotive brand.Therefore, while there thought they are invincible but actually they are lagging way behind due to protectionism in terms of policy and advertising alike.

• it become more and more like Microsoft vs Apple vs Google fight

• haha…people feeling shame when driving merc or bmw….what should we do as Malaysia forced to pakai P1/P2??? fxxx

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • tokmoh on Jan 02, 2014 at 8:30 pm

Listen listen listen! Syukurlah mampu menghasilkan kereta sendiri. zimbabwe, sudan, ethiopia semua kagum dengan kami. Tak suka, keluar #terimakasihbn #ilovepm #syukur

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 29
      • Yalah…sure these 3 world countries “kagum” that we have P1/P2 as most of they people still pakai kereta lembu/kuda. Anyway, are they realize that got Proton/Perodua in the world???

• ionlaw on Jan 02, 2014 at 3:56 pm

Here we have Toyota, Honda and Nissan vs Korean….Buy Korean or you will regret.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • frenzyaustin on Jan 02, 2014 at 4:46 pm

Quit company when company only offer a Mercedes Benz. #FirstWorldProblem
    I feel more shame when driving A3 comparing to others. It shared the same chassis and engine with a much cheaper people’s car VW Golf and the rest are unique on it’s own. And A3 are more to look at compare to CLA.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • Chow 1 on Jan 02, 2014 at 4:48 pm

USD30k for an Audi. Dollar to dollar, cheaper than Saga.

• it cost in malaysia RM98266…. but still cheaper than HONDA n TOYOLTA in malaysia. LOL.

• Fredo on Jan 02, 2014 at 5:00 pm

Any new car introduction will be beneficial to us as customer…giving us more choices..
    if they price it below Passat, which i doubt it, then it will be even more interesting….
    else, might as well get the A4

• sudonano on Jan 02, 2014 at 5:10 pm

no Audi. No.

VAG used to make good ads, this one falls flat. No funny, rather silly.

And isn’t the A3 sedan based on the Jetta? I don’t like the look of the sedan A3. A3 hatch looks better.

• Polo Saga on Jan 02, 2014 at 6:42 pm

What could we buy with price of USD30,000 in Malaysia?
    Terima kasih, Be-eNd.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • thats why dont undi BEEND. USD30000 u can own a dugong here in malaysia. TRD version lol…. ermm kesian tau nasib rakyat malaysia

• Fahmi on Jan 02, 2014 at 11:13 pm

From the ad, I’ve concluded that I’ll take the used E90 3-series, preferably LCI version over the Audi A3 saloon… I can’t help but think the Audi A3 is a glorified front drive VW Golf… B8 A4 still can consider with its longitudinal, AWD platform, but the A3? Its not that bad, but nah, better get VW Golf for a cheaper price…

• kadajawi on Jan 03, 2014 at 12:35 am

Most A4 won’t be AWD. And perhaps you can get an AWD A3 at some point.

But yes, a posher Golf. Same like Toyota vs Lexus.

Though Audis are rather well made, so… you do get more for your money… question is if it is worth it. BMW has been downgrading the quality as they can’t keep up with demand on the other hand.

• A4 2.0 Quattro is AWD.. but with price almost near 300k, you cant always see on the road.

• bootupjoe on Jan 03, 2014 at 3:32 am

Hey I’m also waiting crazy car price drop lah …..BN

• I like this one more: “That’s Diesel!”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=amBTr9kcJes

• Audi cars are great!
    Super comfy and confidence when driving it. Plus, surprisingly fast.
    Out of the three German luxury makers, I easily rank 1. Audi
    2. Merc
    3. BMW

The Ad though… I can’t really say I like it that much (to put it politely)…

• Peter on Jan 03, 2014 at 11:42 am

3rd ads … shame on driving a BMW 5 series … this would not be easily (ever) comprehend in M’sia.

I tried hard, but still can’t feel the shame …

• budlee on Jan 03, 2014 at 3:20 pm

its like a commercial to prevent STDs..

opposite to DVVT commercial of Perodua Kembara in days on old, which makes DVVT sound like a STDs

• Thompson on Jan 03, 2014 at 3:26 pm

In US or Europe you can use ads to poke fun of people such as Obama. While in Malaysia, you’ll get jailed. Even a small joke can made up a war.

Thats why we are humorless.

• jaxpang on Jan 03, 2014 at 3:38 pm

the lower price range car should’ve made a tease viral video too, interviewing people regret buying expensive cars because of the high cost maintenance (services, taxes, or even to fix scratches), high fuel consumption, etc

• shaun on Jan 03, 2014 at 1:05 pm

It’s like hitting somebody below the belt. Unethical advertisement. I was really impressed with Audi’ s image, choice of positioning in the market and it’s cars but this ad has actually put me off a bit towards Audi.