Mitsubishi ASX CKD bookings open, RM114k-129k

mitsubishi-asx-ckd-2wd

The order books are open for the locally-assembled Mitsubishi ASX ahead of its official line-off ceremony later this month at contract assembler Tan Chong Motor Assemblies‘ Segambut facility.

Both 2WD and 4WD variants are powered by a 150 hp/197 Nm 2.0 litre MIVEC engine that’s mated to an INVECS-III CVT with a six-step sports mode.

Regardless of which variant you choose, you get three airbags (including driver’s knee airbag), ABS, EBD, auto rain and light sensors, leather seats, navigation, front and rear parking sensors, a reverse camera, auto air-con and a high-contrast speedometer.

mitsubishi-asx-ckd-4wd

Besides four-wheel drive, the 4WD variant (above) adds on hill start assist, traction control function, active stability control, a panoramic roof, shift paddles, a push start button, security window tint, plus chrome surrounding the front grille and fog lamp housings.

The 2WD is priced at RM114,270 (CBU car was RM139,982) while the 4WD is priced at RM128,880, on-the-road excluding insurance. Black Mica, Titanium Grey, Cool Silver and Solid White body colours are available. Offered is a five-year warranty with unlimited mileage.

The pre-facelift CBU Mitsubishi ASX was part of our five-car SUV shootout, which you can read here.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Chris on Jan 03, 2014 at 10:51 am

From the text, I assume only the more expensive 4WD version gets traction control and stability control? That kinda makes the 2WD version looks really barebone for a 114k car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 7
    • Vader on Jan 03, 2014 at 11:34 am

If the push start button is standard for 2WD model too, then is great..
      However, Rm114k is not bad, but RM129k may too pricey!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
      • Black Dog on Jan 03, 2014 at 12:13 pm

This is a more realistic price compared to previously for this model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
      • U all like it or not it is still price reduction of almost 18% for 2wd…

• phew! luckily i didn’t get this car when i was shopping back in aug last year. no spec difference from cbu shows mitsu lack of responsibility towards their earlier cbu customers.

• Just saying on Jan 03, 2014 at 1:38 pm

The CBU ASX comes with 2WD only, 3 airbags (extra knee airbag), ESC, traction control, magnesium shift paddles and push start button for RM140k. The CKD 2WD omits all of those, for a saving of RM25k. Not really a good value, considering its a CKD.

The 4WD on the other hand is generously equipped for an extra RM14k over the 2WD. Perhaps, Mitsubishi wants to minimise RV drop of the CBU ASX.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
    • OMG…Pls let P1 rebadge it better lah…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 19
    • Dragon Fu Lin Ju on Jan 04, 2014 at 11:42 am

From the picture, I can see an Audi front 4WD with less sex appearances for an expensive price.

• To Be Honest on Jan 03, 2014 at 10:58 am

2 Air bags again? What’s is wrong with Japanese car in Malaysia nowadays?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 1
    • vincent on Jan 03, 2014 at 11:30 am

Makes me wonder does one airbag cost RM10k to be installed in a japanese car? Or our lives is just unworthy?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 0
      • An airbag costs rm18,000 to refit if you met with an accident.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 18
        • kadajawi on Jan 03, 2014 at 4:44 pm

That airbag got silk stitching of your initials and diamonds everywhere?

12 years ago overseas the price for a driver airbag was between RM 1300 and 3600, passenger airbag 1100 to 4500, side airbags similar prices. I don’t think manufacturers pay this much.

Also, if an airbag costs RM 18000… the Preve has 6 airbags. So the Preve costs around 60k, but has 108k worth of airbags inside? Mhhh…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 2
          • Tree Hugger on Jan 04, 2014 at 3:29 am

Actually the fault is on us consumers. We don’t exercise our consumers’ power. They purposedly leave out the additional airbags because majority Malaysians, really are still thinking like 3rd world citizen by keep buying their poorly equipped cars anyway. Just look at Toyota and Honda offerings with 2 airbags selling like hot cakes.

If you work in auto industry you will understand no matter how cheap the cost of an airbag has become, they will still omit it if it can save them some material cost without impacting sales.

The key is in unity. If only we can all unite and exercise our consumers’ power by holding to our money for, say just 6 months, by not placing booking on any Japanese cars with only 2 airbags, I believe for sure they will succumb to the pressure. 6-continous months of rock bottom sales figure will surely teach them the lesson.

Note this is not asking us to change to Preve or Suprima S. The Japs car are good it’s just that they need to be taught to respect the value of Malaysians’ lives.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 1
      • If u want cars with all those safety feature u can choose either p1 or kimchi or conti (minus vw)

• iluvamd on Jan 03, 2014 at 11:56 am

because malaysia is a 3rd world country , so being treated as 3rd class citizen

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 4
      • All ASEAN country is third world minus lion…some ASEAN country don hav airbag in their cars

• coz its local assembly, tan choong and mitsu sure wont giv u full spec at 115k. their excuse is its tax free…….look like msian life really worth nothing to these unethical car maker

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • Penang guy on Sep 03, 2014 at 9:48 pm

Malaysian life is cheap nowadays…..

• Not a bad proposition the 4WD, but it seems to me that, like the the Accord, they ditch simple safety feature for more gadgets and other refinements in the basic 2wd variant. In the coming trends, I think the leather seats or auto air cond can be traded for the traction control, but maybe a 4WD thing I’am not sure.

But the 4WD brings it very close to the base Mazda CX-5 price which although now 2WD, is much better spec, refinement and safety wise. And given the current price bracing here, 2wd brings the needed fuel savings over 4wd and I don’t think target buyers of ASX are the off roads type.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
    • Stop buying those car w/out basic safety (at least front/side/curtain airbags/ESP) …thats the only way to teach these unethicals manufacturer/importer which does not value Msian lives!

• TeeKay on Jan 03, 2014 at 11:09 am

Nice! Was waiting this! My next ride! A bit old, this ASX, but if you’re a Mitsubishi fan, 128K for a 4WD is a good deal.

But how come local assemblers have a thing against Red colour eh? Aisay….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
    • Just saying on Jan 03, 2014 at 1:45 pm

I think its based on the CBU ASX’s popular colours. The Kawasemi Blue and Mica Red colours were dropped for not being popular with buyers.

• Finally the wait is over. Any news when we can start getting the cars? Before CNY??

• hehehe on Jan 03, 2014 at 11:15 am

Put a Proton badge instantly drop to RM90k

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 7
    • This is a absolutely a good idea as long as the price can get cheaper!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Henry Leong on Jan 03, 2014 at 11:47 am

Proton and Mitsubishi JV already ended.

Now Proton and Honda JV. So got also is CRV rebadge.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • iluvamd on Jan 03, 2014 at 11:57 am

maybe will drop to 60k …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • tan sari on Jan 03, 2014 at 11:19 am

this ckd is the latest facelifted model? better prices now

• kadajawi on Jan 03, 2014 at 11:25 am

2 airbags, no ESP. In a SUV, which is more likely to lose control, crash and roll. Good idea…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • silver on Jan 03, 2014 at 12:57 pm

what is ESP do you mean ESC. IF you really do read the artical instead of complaining,the 4wd varient do come with ESC but just named differently (ASC) as most car manufacturer has different names for ESC

• kadajawi on Jan 03, 2014 at 4:46 pm

Ok, sorry. Then at least the AWD version has ESP/ESC/VSC/DSC/ASC/… Should be standard on all models though, starting from the Viva.

• yes agreed…esp(stability controls),abs & airbags shud be the minimum…

• The 4WD model do come with ESP.

• cheapest SUV here? still with specs load

• sudonano on Jan 03, 2014 at 11:47 am

I guess the one you’d wanna go for (if you really really want a Mitsubishi ASX) is the 4WD. But for a little more, you could get a CX5, which is a bit bigger i think.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • glaze on Jan 03, 2014 at 2:13 pm

yeah i think CX5 is bigger, but that will be a basic spec CX5 with only 2WD..

• Be aware after sales service, you will love it, difference authorised dealer, use difference engine oil, difference maintenance schedule, policy need parts? have to wit and wait and wait, some of them even out of stock of oil filter.

• sirimusa on Jan 03, 2014 at 12:45 pm

Frankly speaking, well priced, competitive and good all-rounder. But please, an extra 4 airbags would have made this solid SUV the pick of the year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • Sam Loo on Jan 03, 2014 at 12:57 pm

The challenge with small scale car distributors is that they will need to outsource maintenance to 3rd party workshops.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
    • stupidCarl on Jan 03, 2014 at 5:25 pm

What do you want to tell here, please explain ? Be more specific?

• seancorr on Jan 03, 2014 at 1:13 pm

So all in all after CKD its only cheaper by a mere RM10k. It should have been around RM15k cheaper to justify it being made in Malaysia.

All in all this CKD model plus the smaller Peugeot 2008 which is about RM10k lesser are both expensive…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • landcruiser on Jan 03, 2014 at 2:07 pm

i went to see the ASX 4WD in The Curve already, the 4WD is not permanent AWD like CR-V one. The SC told me this 4WD on ASX is adjustable between 2WD-4WD-4WDLock.. so i guess it will not compromise the fuel consumption since we can select 2WD. i think is always the expertise of Mitsu no doubt

• kadajawi on Jan 03, 2014 at 4:48 pm

The added weight will still increase the fuel consumption a bit though.

• Subaru xv 4wd cbu is rm129k otr with insurance, peugeot 2008 is rm 120k otr. I reckon asx 4wd shud be around rm120k to 125k as it is ckd. And asx 2wd at around rm 110k. Nvm, just wait for year end discount.

• cskiat on Jan 03, 2014 at 3:28 pm

Hello! SUBARU XV is also CKD lah. Come from Tan Choong also. Subaru is much smaller too and the interior is not as good. Be more fair when commenting. CX5 2WD is about 10k more expensive than ASX CKD 4WD but it is slightly more spacious. I went and tested these 3 cars before opting to buy ASX 2012 model early this year.

• Henry Ford the XII on Jan 03, 2014 at 2:33 pm

How is this compare to Subaru XV?

• motorhead on Jan 03, 2014 at 3:01 pm

Thanks Mitsu.. Good. ASX is in my list now.

• Euphoria on Jan 03, 2014 at 4:06 pm

The price is extremely competitive. It is 30k Cheaper than the high spec 2WD CX5. I don’t mind saving 30k in exchange for no push start, less airbags, power seats and LED lights.

The most important things like leather seats, GPS nav and rear view camera @ 115k seems like a good deal. Only 2 airbags is a shame, but Toyota and Honda are doing this too so it’s not really surprising.

In general this seems like a great deal especially since at T&H you can only get a tin kosong Civic 1.8 at 115k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
  • nzain on Jan 03, 2014 at 4:12 pm

i thought the price could be lower…unfortunately not so much different…got money can afford it lorrr

• iluvamd on Jan 03, 2014 at 4:33 pm

langkawi only 75k … shitty expensive for poor malaysian

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • Denaihati on Jan 03, 2014 at 5:10 pm

wah…big different between ckd and cbu, more than RM25k. good choice plus 5years with unllimited milage.

• David D on Jan 03, 2014 at 6:57 pm

Hey Jonathan, do note that the CKD-ed ASX comes with the knee airbag as per the CBU unit so that you can update the posting . The car is on display at their roadshow at the Curve right now, both 2WD and 4WD variants. I checked the lower part of the driver footwell, and sure enough, the knee airbag logo is a very noticeable one. Even the sales advisor on duty was damned quick to correct the 2 airbags thing, as he quickly whipped out the new brochure to show me! Talk about efficiency!

Other than that, it’s still kinda a decent value car in my opinion. Right size for the single, up and coming yuppies like me, with a high driving position as well. Build quality, more or less of the CBU unit. The most noticeable difference inside would be the locally fitted touch-screen navigation and entertainment system, which is literally the only locally made part.

And, the return of the 4WD system? Why yes, please, that would make the car feel even better to drive, plus it being more secure as well!

• motorhead on Jan 03, 2014 at 7:22 pm

2 airbags.. 6, 8 or 10 airbags.. Eventually you ll never use them for life time of the car, if you drive carefully & follow the speed limits. I ve two cars.. 8 & 6 years old. Both equipped with airbags.. Never use them… Attitude folks.. Attitude.. Want cheap? 6 airbags? Go & buy the Picanto.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 32
    • Archangel on Jan 04, 2014 at 12:02 am

Accident can happen anytime, anywhere. For example, u driving on a road under speed limits. Suddenly, one of the opposite car lose control and terbang to the opposite lane (your lane). Instantly, your car collided with the opposite car. And then, airbag to the rescue. Congratulations, you survived with minor injuries.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
    • Ryan.C on Jan 04, 2014 at 12:42 am

Please think twice before comment it..
      risk your parent life together.

• malang tidak berbau

• motorhead on Jan 04, 2014 at 12:57 pm

Yeah.. & u guys ask 4,6,8 airbags like you are ready to go rally, wreck the car & go to grave yourself.. Trust me.. If you are driving more than 140kmp.. Or a lorry ramp on you.. Pray hard the airbags can save you.. I say it again.. Driving attitude that will save you.. If you still die in accident, it’s called fate.. Your times up.. Like Paul Walker.. My dad proved it.. A driver at 68 years old.. His cars never ve airbags.. He ve accident once.. Minor one.. he always follow the rules.. (Even I can’t fllw his way) too slow.. At 60kmp road.. He drive 60kmp..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • ESP a must on Jan 03, 2014 at 7:38 pm

For the 2WD option, pls remove the auto rain and light sensor, leather seat, navigation, frong parking sensor, auto aircond and hi contrast speedo meter in exchange with another 4 airbag, ESP and traction control. Please…..!!!

• 2 airbags is already a turn-off

• motorhead on Jan 03, 2014 at 8:43 pm

Typical Malaysian.. Want cheap.. Best equipped.. Want this.. Want that.. Wake up.. As long as there’s NAP you can dream on lah… Or you can move to Langkawi.. Mitsu take the effort to CKD this car.. Lower the price.. Can’t believe there a few still complain.. It’s a free country lah.. Like, ve money, buy lah.. Don’t like don’t buy… Simple.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 19
    • Archangel on Jan 04, 2014 at 12:12 am

We as a consumer have rights to voice out our opinions and concerns. We don’t like to be treated as a 3rd class citizen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
      • motorhead on Jan 04, 2014 at 10:40 am

Yeah cry out like a baby.. You think they ll listen? You still don’t car price structure here? Excise duty 75-125% how do you expect price can go lower? Go & use some maths.. If you are nit satisfied buy the CBU la.. If you ask me.. Yes I also like it cheap.. But how many time ve to explain the scenario of car industry here in Bolehland.. Try adjust la the gov, if you can.. Only then.. May be.. May be we can get cheaper cars & well equipped.. Same like what other countries..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 17
        • Wuts ur prob dude..suka hati people la nak complaint ke puji ke..ko ni dealer mitsubishi ke..like u said its a free country..unless ko ni mmg.mitsu.dealer. this is a car website, got car reviews, opinions and complaint. So what..i still think asx 2 wd shud be rm110 otr with stability control as standard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
          • motorhead on Jan 04, 2014 at 6:23 pm

Ok.. Sorry.. Go aheah complain lah lagi.. See who is listening.. All the complain about car prices in this or other blog.. See if they lower it down for you.. But they know this.. So the CKD the car.. & sell cheaper..But still complaining? You get my point? CKD ve some manufacturing costs.. Manufacturing costs can go down with economy of scale.. Bring more here to produce, lesser costs, more sales.. You can start helping reduce the price by start to buy one.. Cover the CKD costs & lower down the price.. Or you can keep crying out loud.. Please go ahead… Lastly.. I want to thank all the CBU buyers.. I respect you all.. Only with some reasonable sales figures that Mitsu decided to CKD this ASX.. Deep down in heart.. I thank you.. You all that make this possible.. Even with higher price.. I respect your passion. ASX owners.. I salute you.. I will follow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
  • Gilbert on Jan 03, 2014 at 10:46 pm

Peninsular price ASX 2WD reduced fron CBU RM139k to CKD RM114k. However Langkawi duty free price increase from CBU RM76k to CKD RM81k. Does it mean more expensive to CKD MItsubishi ASX? Reduction in Peninsular price could due to reduction in duty.

• Redrules on Jan 03, 2014 at 10:53 pm

I wonder if Mitsubishi can bring in the diesel version?

• Gilbert on Jan 05, 2014 at 12:22 pm

Probably after Euro 4 diesel been introduced in Malaysia. Mazda CX5 diesel assembled in Malaysia & exported to Thailand, but not for domestic market due to Euro 2 diesel.

• The price range of 98K-103K is more appropriate.

• EnergyAnalyst on Jan 04, 2014 at 9:16 am

“All cars produced by Mitsubishi Motors worldwide are governed by high quality standard set by Mitsubishi Motors which ensures consistent quality level of all Mitsubishi cars. This means the cars that are assembled locally will have the same quality level with models assembled in Japan.”said Tetsuya Oda, CEO of Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia

If that is true ASX is the car that will beat many in safety aspect as it is one of the top safety pick for compact SUV category by IIHS even in the small overlap http://www.iihs.org/iihs/ratings/v/class-summary/small-suvstest

It is known as outlander sport in USA

Only beaten by 3 – Mazda CX5 ( built after oct 2013), Subaru Forester and it’s own bigger brother

but it has beaten Ford Kuga/Escape, Honda CRV, BMW X1, VW Tiguan, Hyundai Tucson, Kia Sportage .

• vincent on Jan 04, 2014 at 9:15 pm

Don’t forget those cars which were tested are fully loaded model, comes with 6 airbags as minimal and mostly equipped with ESP

• david on Jan 04, 2014 at 11:56 am

No 2.5l…wat a disappointment….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • motorhead on Jan 04, 2014 at 1:01 pm

2.0 at RM114 a few people here complaint dy.. You ask for 2.5??.. Hahaha…

Anyway.. You can check Triton, Pajero Sport.. 2.5.. Or Lancer sportback 2.4.. I was eyeing on the sportback.. But now ASX is cheaper..

• Dejavu on Jan 05, 2014 at 12:09 am

Proton please rebadge ASX

• Odie M on Jan 05, 2014 at 12:09 pm

Dejavu there is no more mitsu-proton partnership anymore…please ask proton 2 rebadge honda CRV that could be granted…

• totti on Jan 05, 2014 at 3:20 pm

With the Mitshu brand name, this type of pricing will not sell.

The proton should rebadge this car instead of failed Inspira ans sell at RM90K.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • Ivan Pei on Jan 05, 2014 at 6:09 pm

I just a booked 2WD grey one, 115k +3k Insurance (which you can get discount on depending on your insurance rating). Was considering Cx5, CRV and the Kimchis like Sportage and Tucson. Decided on the ASX simply because of value for money. For 115k, you can get a 2.0 crossover which has average for its class space, average performance (CVT), good FC (Mitsubishi claims best in class- also because of CVT & light weight), good looks (I rate ASX and CX5 as good, Kimchis as average and CRV as UGLY) and also cheapest in the crossover class.

I test drove the CBU unit this morning and was pretty impressed. The CVT gave a smooth drive but of course that means its sluggish compared to its auto competitors. However it saves fuel (best in class) and I think it’s powerful for me since I’m so used to a 1.6 proton. Ride is balanced, not too stiff so it’s comfortable through bumps and not too soft so it doesnt roll too much around corners. The build quality of the car felt very solid and I feel that the interior cabin is quite classy with soft touch materials and nice looking dashboard. Back headroom is abit lacking because I’m a six footer so my hair is touching the roof d. But I suspect for average Malaysian the back headroom should be spacious enough. Knee room no problem, I have 2 inches in front of my knees which I was surprised by even though I have long legs.

But if you look at price, for 137k, you get a CKD CX5 with no leather seats, no navigation, not much equipment but 6 airbags. Most people will top up to 145k for the extra gadgets and especially for the leather seats and Nav. For 115k, ASX gives you leather seats, Navigation, reverse cam, front and black sensors! There are 3 airbags, passenger and drivers + driver knee airbag. You also get 5 years warranty with 2 years free service. The CKD unit gets an 8 inch touch screen (Bigger than my 7″ tablet) . I saw it in person at the roadshow and it’s huge! Excellent value for money in my opinion. It will officially launch next week and I expect it to be snapped up quickly.

I very nearly bought the CX5 but was put off by the super long waiting list. I’m really glad I didn’t pay 30k extra for almost the same car!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 2
  • david on Jan 05, 2014 at 9:56 pm

just went to see at curve
    what i like
    – good use of space, 4/6 fold with small access to the back
    – isofix, threepoint seatbelt for middle rear seat.
    – logical placement of controls
    – knee airbag

something that i dont like would be
    – lack of traction control in the 2wd.
    – front passenger seat dont have isofix
    – all seatbelts dont have rachet function – bad for child seats
    – front passenger seat airbag cannot be disabled – bad for child seat
    – head unit mic is in the passenger side.
    – rear seat dont fold flat
    – 4wd version come with skyroof. display model the trim is already falling apart. would it leak?

• It is important to be given min 6 air bags but does it makes a difference if most Malaysian don’t even know the importance of buckling up the safety belts and teaching children to sit properly instead of allowing them to move freely in the car without a proper car seat or seat belts buckle up. Some driver even hold his or her child while driving the car. I cannot comprehend this.

• Hairy on Feb 06, 2014 at 4:23 pm

Question :
    The ASX front fender is plastic. Tried to search what’s the reason and purpose for it, but still don’t know.. Anyone knows? The pro’s and con’s of using plastic? I think the bumper is also plastic right?

• Keller on Feb 13, 2014 at 11:25 pm

Tested a white 4WD in Puchong today.

The seats were considered stiff to me. Stiff synthetic leather.

It was not very comfortable going over potholes but humps were ok.

Going up hill from static was like dragging in auto mode. If you sped up before the slope then only ok.

Maybe I had expected too much so feeling a little disappointed.

• Hi Hairy, The fender is not plastic but fiber material. It makes the car lighter and it will not dent for minor accident.

• Keller, do you mean the seats were covered with synthetic and not genuine leather?

• noelmania on Nov 21, 2014 at 10:48 am

ASX 4wd price should not go above RM100k with their premium full specs and additional features that only high end has. This will give mitsubishi a very good competitive edge against competitors to substantiate their poor 2nd value. After 5 years, these cars are not easy to sell and if you get lucky value of your Mitsubishi car will only fetch 30 to 40% of its original value. So once you buy it, you will have to keep it for at least 15 years but remember problems will only start after 5 years and spare parts are expensive for this make and model.

• koh kumbong on Jan 13, 2015 at 10:07 am

why do the front part (grill) have to be too wide.
    Its like a person with big mouth and lips. dosent look nice to mee.