New Proton Perdana a.k.a. Accordana on a trailer

accordana-06

We have here a set of pics featuring the new Proton Perdana on a trailer, courtesy of reader Oon HL. Travelling on the SKVE near Serdang Hospital heading north, the trailer was ferrying two units of the ‘Accordana’ and a Suprima S on the top deck.

The new Perdana, based on the previous-gen Honda Accord, was handed over to Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Abdul Razak on December 11 last year. The PM gets a stretched version of the Perdana with the W11N number plate, but other top government officials will ride in the standard wheelbase car.

Here, we see two variants of the Perdana – a 2.0L model and a 2.4L version – identifiable by the wheels the cars are wearing. The unit at the back of the truck is the 2.0L, with smaller rims that are also less sporty in design. These wheels haven’t been seen before on both Proton and Honda models.

accordana-03

Wheels aside, the Perdana features minor design differences at the front and rear ends compared to the donor car. Inside, the only visible change is a Proton badge on the steering wheel.

This is first phase of the ‘Perdana Replacement Model’ project, consisting of 3,000 units for government use. In the second phase, the car will be developed further for a general market introduction in two years time. The Perdana that you and me can buy will continue to be based on the Accord, but will have a completely new exterior and interior, according to Proton executive chairman Tan Sri Mohd Khamil Jamil.

The December 11 Proton Perdana post was the most viewed story on paultan.org in 2013, which is rather surprising as the subject is a car none of us can buy. See the other nine top of the year here.

Hi-res shots from the Dec 11 handover ceremony

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Proton staff on Jan 03, 2014 at 1:45 pm

Proton Basher in 3, 2, 1…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 119 Thumb down 68
    • Basher, come and unleash your stupidity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 83
      • SamLoo-the sales man on Jan 03, 2014 at 4:12 pm

Who care, if this perdana accord is selling at RM 100k, you will not buy Altis and Camry. Vios high end model may lose out the market too. Let Sam loo to lose his junior sales man job at UMW.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 12
        • kimi_ on Jan 03, 2014 at 5:23 pm

Proton Accord–Handling tuned by Lotus

LOL!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 6
        • great looking rim on the 2.4

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 6
        • Unforgiven on Jan 05, 2014 at 12:06 am

The r&d for this previous gen Honda was started at least 10 years ago, probably year 2003 technology. I cannot understand how the PM is proud of it, except for 1 thing, free money into the pocket system, buying the junk/rubbish/old machines from Jap, with multi millions/b, a system/process to channel money to the cronies/com. Beautiful sweet deal without much afford and knowledge. The down side is still higher car prices for the rakyat/people. Please be real and look at things in global perspective now, this is very sad only!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 15
          • Probabi on Jan 05, 2014 at 2:02 pm

Perodua : Rebadge kereta yang tak dijual di malaysia (Daihatsu Mira,Cuore,Boon,Toyota Passo)

Proton : Rebadge kereta yang dijual di malaysia (Lancer GT,Honda Accord)

Baby punya proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 14
          • This chassis got 5 star Australian NCAP safety rating while the new one got only 4. Care to explain why it’s a junk?

Since when rebadged car is more expensive then ori one? Are you on weed?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
          • Unforgiven on Jan 06, 2014 at 10:34 pm

Original Mitsu Lancer is cheaper than Proton Inspira, price proven in Langkawi. So we know why Proton cannot make cheaper cars, else the anak-anak cannot drive super cars. Rakyat is paying for high car prices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
          • Inspira don’t get tax exemption like Lancer CBU in Langkawi, that’s why inspira is more expensive in Langkawi. It’s because of taxation not because of proton cannot produce cheaper cars.

Please get your facts right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
          • Unforgiven on Jan 07, 2014 at 3:03 pm

The cost price to produce the Inspira is definitely higher than original. The cost price to maintain more than 10 years old technologies/machines will also be higher. Else how to channel free money to cronies/com?

If PROTON is capable of making cheaper cars, you also won’t be driving it for long, qualities, 5 stars, etc. Do you understand cvtc?

• Proton please make a copy of audi r8 please.. body + engine audi, interior + badge + price proton.. please..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 266 Thumb down 5
    • kadajawa on Jan 03, 2014 at 4:37 pm

Accordana MukaTembok limited edition…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 42
      • ARIFFIN on Jan 03, 2014 at 5:51 pm

Why bother when you cannot own it. Hidung tak mancung, pipi tersorong sorong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 34
        • What if I can afford it, but just disgusted at Proton business model?

Currently their company’s vision and mission is “Copy & Paste”.

Ever know about “Made in China”? We’re heading towards that now. To become ciplak competitor to China. To not have anything original.

This is not about if we can afford it or not. This is about air muka. Malu bro….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 31
          • Selamber jer on Jan 04, 2014 at 7:34 pm

Malu? Change your nationality you fool.. easy. i just give you a solution. go.. goo. we do not need people like you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 58
          • christan76 on Jan 04, 2014 at 8:56 pm

i beg to differ…after years working in auto-related industry in China, i would say some China brands do make some good car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
          • youcaveman on Jan 04, 2014 at 9:08 pm

Since when proton vision & mission is copy and paste?

Have you heard about start-from-scrach GSC? Please go out from your cave.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
          • ARIFFIN on Jan 04, 2014 at 9:24 pm

This present Perdana is not for sale to the public even with million ringgit.Ada faham?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
          • Bataman on Jan 07, 2014 at 9:55 am

Bodoh…if we can do as China do, we will become world superpower economy!!

• Lol this is not for public. Why bother, you seem so interested in it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 6
    • boooooo on Jan 03, 2014 at 5:10 pm

Bah, they can’t accept when Proton rebadged other manufacture car.

But when Citroen, Peugeot, Renault, Isuzu, Nissan, Mazda, Subaru, Mitsubishi, Holden, Pontiac, Vauxhall, Skoda and Chevrolet rebadged they just simply close one eye.

Typical basher

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 39
      • kadajawa on Jan 03, 2014 at 5:20 pm

Except Europestar china, name me any global carmaker rebadge a Proton car.

Cannot right? Loser

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 51
        • Typical basher making yourself even stupid. Hahaha sore loser.

Did BMW giving their car for other to rebagde?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 21
          • other global maker?? arab saudi Aseelah rebadge proton gen-2 + satria neo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 7
        • DonkeyKong on Jan 04, 2014 at 12:04 am

Even the Iranians have considered rebadging Protons. Before DRB took over, when Proton renewed their agreement with Mitsubishi during DSZ’s time, Mitsubishi was planning to rebadge the Exora for their entry-level MPV and rebadge the Persona for their B/C-segment model because they had a compact sedan gap between the Mirage, Colt and Lancer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
        • mickey on Jan 04, 2014 at 8:49 am

Youngman Europestar L5 was a rebadge from proton gen2 and also using the campro engine cps 1.6 litre

make a research boy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
      • Selamber jer on Jan 04, 2014 at 7:36 pm

Basher will always be basher. did not think, does not have a brain. hahaha

• All those company you listed have and do make their own cars, ALL proton’s car range now is either co developed by lotus, or completely taken from mitsubishi. Your argument is invalid. Only the saga is made from proton and wow what a beautiful car that is..(sarcasm)

• carlover on May 17, 2014 at 7:59 pm

terios yg baru ni pun daihatrsu rebaged dari model toyota rush.. tapi kenapa yg tu org x kutuk? mentaliti org kita,.. i agree with u guy…

• abuya123 on Jan 03, 2014 at 6:26 pm

Oklah tu…. better than nothing. Kalau rebadge Ferrari letak logo proton rega bawah RM50k, aku sanggup beli sekalipun pakai enjin campro

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 5
    • Hondua on Jan 03, 2014 at 11:00 pm

Najib is squirming with excitement as his brand new “proton perdana” gets delivered to Sri Perdana. Lucky Najib….it’s good to be PM. Anwar, be patient.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 19
    • Sam Loo on Jan 03, 2014 at 11:05 pm

If this Accordana hits the open market, I would expect 12 month old K5 to be trading in at ~RM30k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 7
      • DonkeyKong on Jan 04, 2014 at 12:05 am

Quite likely that 3-year old Sonatas and K5s will drop to 80k or below, but not till 30k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
      • Sam Loo on Jan 04, 2014 at 11:34 am

Fake guy, don’t pretend me to be yourself. I don’t use avatar at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • SamJuniorToyotaSalesMan on Jan 04, 2014 at 11:39 am

Before K5 price is dropped, you will lose yr job at umw first since sales is bad

• Sam Loo on Jan 06, 2014 at 8:56 am

The fake fella is a K5 owner that does not have the intelligence even to use a computer properly

• there are two kinds of people in this world…
      people who had no choice but to buy a proton, and people who bash on proton. So guess which one are you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
      • semkoo on Jan 05, 2014 at 3:31 pm

Pathetic generalization and short minded. How about people who buy and bash proton? Or dun have to buy proton but still buy it?

• Sam Loo on Jan 06, 2014 at 8:57 am

I don’t bash proton.

Just like to trade used Hyundai as it is by far the most profitable make to buy/sell

• sutrak on Jan 07, 2014 at 12:07 am

bash your backside lah.. bash.. childish comments.

i pity the accord drivers. suddenly 2nd hand price of their ‘babies’ dropped like crazy.

• EuroCar on Jan 03, 2014 at 1:46 pm

Finally the Proton Accord is come…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 12
    • kadajawa on Jan 03, 2014 at 4:32 pm

dengan penuh kemaluan nya

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 38
      • Rebadging is nothing new. Why malu?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 18
      • Selamber jer on Jan 04, 2014 at 7:39 pm

Go get rid some off your kemaluan lah, penuh kemaluan seems to many. its disgusting..

• is come?…ur grammer manyak powderful

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 5
    • Tired of seeing people changing their proton emblem to Mitsu emblem.

Finally, i can change my accord H emblem to the thundercats emblem!!!
      Damn proud of Proton!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 7
  • This car is going to Jabatan Pendaftaran Putrajaya to convert it name from accord to perdana based on it own accord.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 1
  • The 2.4l rims are beautiful!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 45
    • kimi_ on Jan 03, 2014 at 5:27 pm

People laughing at Perodua – a car company that not building car but only modify front and rear bumper…

Now Proton do the same!!!!LOLOL
      Shame on you Proton!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 37
      • Only some proton cars are rebadged. Use your mind not butts

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 9
        • Selamber jer on Jan 04, 2014 at 7:43 pm

i guess kimi always using his butts. and maybe the d word. shame on him.. make your brain useful lah brotha. please I’m begging you kimi

• Name me one car that perodua design and developed on their own? use your brain la bro

• DonkeyKong on Jan 04, 2014 at 12:08 am

How about that ugly Buddyz? I hope they launch it so that we can see who are the dumb people who would buy it.. similar to buyers of TRD Vios

• Rebadge Rebadge Rebadge…..

Now we have:
    Proton Lancer – Proton Inspira
    Proton Accord – Proton Perdana

Later we will have:
    Proton City
    Proton Civic
    Proton Stream
    ………………

Syabas Proton!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 107 Thumb down 21
    • trololololol on Jan 03, 2014 at 2:48 pm

u got it wrong lah…. it is
      proton lancer
      proton accord
      proton polo
      proton almera
      etc etc
      need get from every single company

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 7
      • Lagi Rebadge, Lagi best!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 4
      • They don’t have joint venture with nissan, VW, toyota mah… if not get sue…..
        Don’t try to rebadge Toyota if not Uncle Sam Loo will get mad!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
      • _xXx_ on Jan 03, 2014 at 4:11 pm

Proton Myvi, Proton Alza…yes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
      • Proton lineups..
        1- Savvy. ori proton (except for engine)
        2- Neo. ori proton
        3- persona ori proton
        4- exora ori proton
        5- preve ori proton
        6- suprima ori proton
        7- saga ori proton

8- inspira rebadge
        9- upcoming proton perdana accord rebade.

only two out of 9 current cars of proton are rebadged model. what world are u living in? 1990s? if u want to bash use ur brain first bro

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 6
        • yalah…I stay in Malaysia, Y2014. And you still in 90s. After almost 30 years and Proton still doing rebadge!! what to say???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 28
          • and whats wrong with rebadging? u think that proton is the only car manufacturer that rebadge other brands?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
        • Supersonic on Jan 04, 2014 at 5:11 pm

:) think twist, if proton a new born bady, rebadge from other is acceptable as you need to take time to develop your own technology.
          But proton is a nearly 30 years old so call ” car manufacturer” will it a shame on still rebadge other car? if your 30 years old son still lazy and refuse to work and asking money from you everyday, what do you think???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
          • hesrgd on Jan 05, 2014 at 9:18 am

Even 100 years old car manufacturer still do rebadging, go and bash them too.

Please read more.

• alldisc on Jan 06, 2014 at 8:14 am

other companies do not rebadge a superceded model. they rebadge latest model and dare to sell side-by-side

• webber on Jan 06, 2014 at 11:21 am

Every rebadging must come with consent from ori maker lor. Ask Honda, not Proton.

• focusing22 on May 06, 2014 at 3:42 pm

does waja rebage??

• dr$y4h on Jan 03, 2014 at 6:06 pm

Hehehe.Despite what you guys say,i think they a making a BRILLIANT move.Hey perhaps one sweet day with all the transfer of technology (including rebadging..hey even fitting an emblem also require technical specs and CAD),the ultimate breed of car will be produced here!I would like to propose the idea.To create the ultimate car.gather everyone’s best specs,and build the one.Now have good handling (Lotu*),good tuning (Mits*),good suspension (from Citroe*/Tiar*),recently reliable engine and electronics (Hond*),good body strength (Renaul*/Savv*).And plus,the owner own a vast fleet of automotive distribution companies.That is a huge plus point.All my support for you P1!!All the best!!:E

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 17
      • drust on Jan 03, 2014 at 7:56 pm

Indeed a briliant move but after 31 years in business we are still rebadge other manufacturer cars and we produce sub standard vehicle.

With the help of Gov and various bias and protected policy, Proton should be doing much better than this but in the end what we get? Lousy and no quality car and not to mention the billions of RM rugi by Proton.

I’m actually proud that we have proton and perodua but the progress that we make after all these years are sad and even more sad is we are force to buy car at much higher cost and it really burden us. 5-9 years loan payment just to own a car! :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 7
    • Rashuk Khan2 on Jan 03, 2014 at 10:17 pm

I don’t think Proton will rebadge City, Civic or Stream. Because current model Preve, Suprima and Exora too good to replace by rebadge model

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
    • Selamber jer on Jan 04, 2014 at 7:45 pm

yeayy, i am definitely going to buy all of those three new proton. suck on you brothaa

• The very last model of Proton call…..

Proton Bankrup

• youbodok on Jan 05, 2014 at 3:33 pm

Oh another one is coming in case you don’t read. Proton won’t go bankrupt because of people hatred and jealousy.

• Patrick on Jan 03, 2014 at 1:59 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 170
    • Patric, in case u didnt know, this accordana is for govt only. it wont sell to public. so it wont effect resale value of current accord.

True perdana replacement (proton build from scratch) will comeout later for mass production. hoping it will be as good or better than accord. proton should learn/gain a lot from joint venture with honda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 21
      • alldisc on Jan 06, 2014 at 9:42 am

honda malaysia is owned by DRB.

enuff said.

• S.Roma on Jan 06, 2014 at 11:39 pm

Eims,

in case u didnt know, for the 1st batch, its only for gov use, then after few years around 2016 it will be sell to public

read again report by paultan

• Chris on Jan 03, 2014 at 2:28 pm

Who is this? Sam Loo’s cousin?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 4
    • Accord?? you mean aunty magnet right?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 2
    • sam69 on Jan 03, 2014 at 2:36 pm

Patrick? i tot u are a bird, didn’t know u can bark

• I’m still driving my 17 years old 1996 model Honda Civic SO4 which we bought new, today!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
    • Low Budget on Jan 03, 2014 at 2:59 pm

How do you know Korean cars are not reliable? Do you have any data to prove it? Please also enlighten us how the Koreans managed to ‘fool’ millions of people around the World into buying unreliable Korean cars so they became the 5th biggest (Hyundai/Kia) cars manufacturer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
    • Hi Patrick, this is joint venture? i think only Proton is rebadging Honda car instead of Honda rebadging any of Proton car. Also, how to boost up Proton name as this will only available in Malaysia somemore 2 years after. I do not think this is wise move for a company who spend over numbers of billion ringgit R&D a year to just rebadge a car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
    • Lembu punya susu sapi dapat nama. Who said cetak rompak is illegal????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
      • Cetak rompak is still illegal..P1 get Honda permission to rebadge their car..p1 has to pay royalti to honda..p1 cannot get it for free..let say RM30k per car royalti it will cost p1 oni RM90000k than spending half a billion for very low volume car n gov want it Jan2014…

• DonkeyKong on Jan 04, 2014 at 12:12 am

Ini bukan cetak rompak.. ini kerjasama.. Tapi yg Perdana dulu tu curi-curi pakai muka Alfa Romeo, itu baru cetak rompak namanya. Tapi Perdana baru bukan lagi cetak rompak

• gdntsk on Jan 03, 2014 at 5:45 pm

my family has a 10+ years old Hyundai-Inokom Atos 1.0 MT that didn’t give trouble all the time like a Proton. It’s major breakdown frequency is comparable to that of regular Toyotas.

and tell me how are Korean cars so unreliable???? Hyundai is the world’s fastest growing automaker by brand and the 5th-generation Elantra has won almost 50 awards and accolades including “2012 Car Of The Year” by Asia-Allianz Auto in Malaysia. The i40 on the other hand has been reviewed by German automotive magazine Autobild and it praised the i40 and they wrote that the i40 is better than its domestic competitor, the Volkswagen Passat

• Contender on Jan 03, 2014 at 2:11 pm

Wow, did I read correctly ? This previous gen Accord will need 2 years of development before going public !!!

Either the people at Proton is so slow or dumb ….. what much more can you do ? After all is a rebadge anyway and you have done that with the modified bum

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 23
    • Awatt?? ang dah x sabaq ka nak beli?? haha..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • 4G63T DSM on Jan 03, 2014 at 5:20 pm

You don’t know meh? 2 years already very quick lor. Not very easy to design new body around an old chassis. Have a lot of tracks that need to be greased for any Proton project.

:P

Hmmm…proton must be having an inventory nightmare with so many different engines. Proton, Mitsubishi, Renault, and now Honda.

Now, that said, What I REALLY want to see is that they squeeze in 6 airbags and SHAME Honda. After all, the Preve has 6 airbags as standard. No way the Accordana will have less airbags than its sibling.

That’d be some show. hhahahaha

• alldisc on Jan 06, 2014 at 9:55 am

at least change bumper, grille and wheel designs.

maybe side mirror and taillamps.

btw, have you heard about something call as parts catalogue? parts have numbers. proton or any other car manufacturers would not have problems to store and locate parts.

and before i forget – i can understand if proton JV with Honda and sells current Accord under re-badge engineering.

but to sell an outdated model while changing just the badge is a big NO-NO.

• This is not for mass prod, only for gomen officers. YOu can read or not?

• astar on Jan 03, 2014 at 8:02 pm

2 years in world of automotive is very quick. first u hv to research/design everything u want to modify. then handover ur design to production people for them to research how to manufacture them.only then manufacturing process can begin.i can imagine proton people scratching their head how to finish this in two years. sakit kepala weh!!

• Why fix something that is not broken? Any further modification other than the badge and adding of safety features,which I highly doubt, will reduce its popularity, especially after 2 yrs.

• DonkeyKong on Jan 04, 2014 at 12:20 am

That’s because they may not be using Honda powertrains for the Proton-badged models. The Petronas EO1 engines will need to be modernized to comply with newer emission standards too while improving their fuel economy. Those engines were powerful but somewhat thirsty. Proton will also need to design new sheet metal for the exterior, and design a new dashboard and instrument cluster. They’ll also need to source for a new gearbox to match the more powerful EO1 engines that obviously have higher torque than the Punch VT3+ CVT units. And all these disparate components will need to be mated to a new generation of Siemens-VDO ECU and BCM, together with the necessary traction control and ABS systems and additional airbags.

By any measure, 2 years is a short time to accomplish all that. For people with zero knowledge of the automotive industry, this may seem like a long time based on your limited understanding of a product development cycle. But if Proton can accomplish all these in 2 years, their competence and technology level would have leaped forward by a lot.

• Shiraj on Jan 03, 2014 at 2:15 pm

Brace yourself… here comes the NEW product from the most humiliating company…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 44
    • Low Budget on Jan 03, 2014 at 3:03 pm

Humiliating is only temporary, the trick is to swallow bitter bills and work hard to improve. Who knows another 10 year down the road, you will be very happy to own a Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 17
      • vince on Jan 03, 2014 at 6:06 pm

its already been 50 yrs and yet no improvement..what makes you think that another 10 more years will bring proton to the top?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 23
        • Proton basher does not know how to count. No wonder at the end buying 2 airbags no VSC old engine old gearbox vios.

Lelelelelel

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
    • Selamber jer on Jan 04, 2014 at 7:50 pm

no, Brace your self shiraj, the humiliation goes to you actually. looks, dumb ass —> shiraj

• Dont think proton have direction. Just waste grant by malaysian people…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 24
    • castello on Jan 03, 2014 at 3:11 pm

what grant did proton get if you care to clarify?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 9
    • DonkeyKong on Jan 04, 2014 at 12:22 am

It’s a fully private company that is not financed by the government in any way, unlike the Korean auto manufacturers who are heavily subsidized by the Korean government

• S.Roma on Jan 06, 2014 at 11:45 pm

i thk u are wrong, proton is supported by gov, its got share in khazanah negara

• bluebird on Jan 03, 2014 at 2:16 pm

buy Accordana, throw away Potong badge and replace with Honda badge.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
  • downsys on Jan 03, 2014 at 2:17 pm

IMHO, it looks better than the old Accord. Front bumpers look nice and the boot looks better without those ugly extra brake lights extending to the boot (currently found on newest civic).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
  • Please google “Richest Women in Canada” !
    Mak ai manyak kuat makan dh…

• dont proton feel shameful ? those guest at the launching dont feel embarrassed?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 28
    • Why embarassed?

• u must be new in automotive industry.
        rebadge is not new laa. even nissan, vauxhall, dodge pun rebadge jugak. aiyaaa

• DonkeyKong on Jan 04, 2014 at 12:24 am

If they should be embarassed, then Perodua should be quietly launching new models without any fanfare year after year and sell them secretly because it’s so humiliating to be selling an entire line of totally rebadged products with minimal local input, without a single model that was developed from the ground-up by themselves.

• Supa Hiro on Jan 03, 2014 at 2:26 pm

Syabas Proton. Please let me know when this car will be available for Malaysian’s to buy. I will definitely buy one. This car will easily sell in milions as there are hardcore Japanesse car supporter out there. I hope Proton next rebadge project will be to rebadge Nissan GTR.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
    • Low Budget on Jan 03, 2014 at 3:06 pm

If Proton can re-badge Toyota Vios, then most Malaysian Toyota supporters will ‘pengsang’ immediately.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
      • Rashuk Khan2 on Jan 03, 2014 at 10:29 pm

If Proton rebadge Vios they shall sell at Persona price……

• DonkeyKong on Jan 04, 2014 at 12:25 am

With the technology offered in the Vios and the smaller size compared to Persona, they should actually sell it at Persona SV price, or Saga FLX SE price

• kimchi on Jan 03, 2014 at 2:28 pm

Wth …i just farted after reading this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • Disgrace

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 18
  • Liverpool on Jan 03, 2014 at 2:30 pm

After so many years and they still couldn’t develop their own cars?

“What are those guys smoking over at Proton”??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 24
    • AUSNSW on Jan 03, 2014 at 7:22 pm

that why i said proton should develop their own d-segment car and not re-badge other brand cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • DonkeyKong on Jan 04, 2014 at 12:27 am

Hello?? Exora? Savvy? Persona? Preve? Saga BLM? Those are not cars developed by themselves?

Then what do you have to say about Citroen and Peugeot rebadging the Mitsubishi ASX, or Renault rebadging Nissans, or even Aston Martin rebadging a Toyota??

Another brainless Malaysian, a sign of the failed education system

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • AUSNSW on Jan 04, 2014 at 9:17 am

Listen! Re-badge other brand car is not a big matter.I just wonder why proton don’t develop a new looking D-SEGMENT Car.One more thing.I am having my tertiary education in plymouth.So,You are brainless Malaysian.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
        • voiddance on Jan 04, 2014 at 10:51 am

you either did not read the article or faking your education.

They will develop it based on the Honda as mentioned up there. Go and read it back. This accordana is merely a stop gap solution to meet the request from the gomen. For the time being they are investing heavily on their up and coming GSC which will be launched soon. After that they will have the resources to develop the new perdana.

Haiya… susah la dengan orang berlagak pandai ni.

• DonkeyKong on Jan 04, 2014 at 1:30 pm

Educated in Plymouth and still so dumb. Pity your parents, they wasted their money.

• superman on Jan 03, 2014 at 2:31 pm

just want to say. this is the worst joke in Malaysia. Perdana based on an older phased out Honda just for the sake of having Proton sell the car!!! embasarring to Malaysia. This shows how the drb bosses think. they think all backwards.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 21
    • Hero86 on Jan 03, 2014 at 4:14 pm

and do u ever think the BOD of Honda will gladly hand over the newest Accord to P1? in your dream la dey.. it will kill Honda Msia instantly if they ever agree..

• Chris on Jan 03, 2014 at 2:32 pm

“The Perdana that you and me can buy will continue to be based on the Accord, but will have a completely new exterior and interior”

Sounds to me like “We’ll find a way to swap out the nice stuff and replace with cheapo parts that’s cheaper to produce so we can earn more money”

I have this old Proton Wira at home, as far as I can tell, it has nicer interior material than Suprima as far as soft touch material goes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 4
  • khairulx19a on Jan 03, 2014 at 2:33 pm

haters and supporter are coming……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
  • Ronnnie on Jan 03, 2014 at 2:34 pm

if completely new exterior and interior why would they still use accord based? may as well design a new one and make yourself proud. Damn funny la Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 14
  • khairulx19a on Jan 03, 2014 at 2:36 pm

just wondering,will proton introduce the new V6 variant for perdana?????

• its taking 2 years to develop for general market? lol…what a joke

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 15
    • DonkeyKong on Jan 04, 2014 at 12:30 am

Most cars when developed from scratch will take 4-5 years to develop. When platform sharing is used, 2 years is a typical figure. You are really showing your stupidity by not knowing anything about the automotive industry. Do you think car production lines are like a Tamiya tabletop where a single person can just mix and match parts and put it through the door in an hour? Or maybe you learn things only from video games?

• chauffeur on Jan 04, 2014 at 1:42 am

First, go get an automotive fields degree, second, get a job in any car manufactures. After that, then you can come here telling us whether it’s a joke or not to develop a car within 2 years for people like me and you (a not so fond of Proton people). You think copy and paste only like in computer ah? Please put that mindset away for your own sake.

• thong on Jan 03, 2014 at 2:43 pm

wow…suprima n accordana one the same trailer..some ppl might think y the hell accord is on the same trailer with proton suprima.haha

• mmouse on Jan 03, 2014 at 2:43 pm

Najib gets stretched Accord VS Guan Eng gets Mercedes Benz S300L….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 5
  • I will buy one of this car IF and only IF the engine is I-VTEC
    If it is not I-VTEC then forget about this car
    Don’t care what people say ” tak malu driving a rebadged brand ”
    All want is cheaper price than original Honda accord

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
    • And what is the advantage of VTEC? 234Nm @ 4300rpm for the 2.4i i-VTEC is not too impressing?

Proton Preve CamPro CFE has 205Nm @ 2,000rpm? With a small 1.6l engine?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
      • thong on Jan 04, 2014 at 1:43 pm

bro figures doesnt matter…its all about reliability of the engine..vip cars should withstand very high milage and priority not fully given for performance..it should be reliability, smoothness, and fc…for example my honda car has reached 130k milage but the engine sound is jus smooth like the day 1 i got the car..no added or irritating sounds present

• So you’re talking about Honda and not the VTEC technology? Okay, understand.

• Worth to buy IF AND ONLY IF the drivetrain is I-VTEC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
  • shame on those who “force” to sit on this piece of crap. even a c200 can get more attention than this ****.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 21
  • razakoss on Jan 03, 2014 at 2:50 pm

korang bukan boleh beli kereta ni pon.

complain lebih je.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 5
    • kadajawa on Jan 03, 2014 at 4:40 pm

kamu beli lah satu nanti…show-off at kampung like jutawan palsu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
      • DonkeyKong on Jan 04, 2014 at 12:32 am

Are Honda Accord buyers millionaires? Another brainless comment..

• ARIFFIN on Jan 04, 2014 at 10:22 am

Kamu sendiri tak dapat beli kereta tu. You are not in the league.Sorry bro .

• guest on Jan 03, 2014 at 2:51 pm

Proton is definitely making the Japanese proud. Imagine how happy Mitsubishi were seeing their products from the 80’s still on sale well into 21st century. In terms of product lifecycle, who else can challenge Proton’s rebadged products longevity?

This time around, Honda’s gonna be really happy knowing that their outdated accord will probably go on sale for at least another 20 years more.

I can only imagine a kid born this year, and 20 years later, the dad can pass on his “national pride” “flagship model” to his son, and his son can still be proud driving “the latest flagship model”. Talk about evergreen product, or in proton terms -> status quo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 9
    • D segment is niche market. Why bother to change frequently when the profit is less?

• guest on Jan 03, 2014 at 9:40 pm

Couldn’t pathom your logic. Hello? Perdana is the flagship? Which other manufacturer has a flagship that has a life span of 20 years and a rebadged one as well? Going by your logic, D segment like BMW 5’er will still be at E34 and Merc E class will be at W124? Why bother change it frequently? It’s niche

Also, your definition of frequently is quite intriguing also. 20 years? Frequently?

Btw, the point here is this. Proton have never created a D segment of their own. Despite having the Mitsubishi in their hands for almost 20 years, what have they learn about D segment chassis design? Nothing.

• Since when I said perdana is flagship? Niche is not flagship. They will come up with whole new design next 2 years. Are they still not learning?

Either you don’t read or someone reads for you? LOLOLOLOLOL

• guest on Jan 04, 2014 at 10:59 pm

I didnt say you mention perdana is a flag ship model. What I’m trying to say is perdana INDEED is the flagship model for proton.

Btw, whole new design in 2 years? It was just mentioned that this rebadged car will be further developed for general market in 2 years time. Where the hell does it says a new design? AFAIK, proton’s “development” tricks usually involved suspension tuning and stuff probably add a stupid android touchscreen system that can be bought at brother’s shop. What other “innovations” can they bring?

• Preve, exora, GSC …is that old design? Are you blind?

• guest on Jan 05, 2014 at 4:37 pm

Why drag preve, exora all those into the picture? My original post was referring to proton’s rebadged products’ longevity. Are you really too stupid to understand such simple fact or are you living in denial?

Besides you’re trying to deviate from your “with whole new design next 2 years” statement. If you wanna talk about new design in next 2 years, dont pull preve, exora etc into the scene please as these models are already here.

The fact that this car is the second successive “rebadged flagship” only make things worse. Flagship models represents what an automotive engineering capabilities. So what does this rebadged car says about Proton? Are they trying to prove that Proton’s roots has always been a rebadging expert and will continue to be one?

• Wah so many versions you have of your saying there. You said A then you said it’s B. This is not flagship model, why you say so?

Ok my sense already alerts me that after this you don’t say that it’s a rebadged flagship even you said so, LOL.

• guest on Jan 06, 2014 at 10:00 am

Awww looks like someone is already cornered. Trying to spin your way out? LOL

Your stupid remarks such as D segment is niche and doesnt need “frequent” refresh (20 years in proton’s case) already made me laugh la.

Btw, mind pointing out how many version of my story? I consistently maintained that proton rebadged their flagship model while you were busy spinning your way out trying to bring in exora, preve and whatever crap to save your own ass after saying “They will come up with whole new design next 2 years”, but in actual fact proton is just “developing” this Accord/Perdana for mass market in 2 years.

Btw, you can go on trying to deny that perdana is proton’s flagship. It’s just gonna make you look even dumber than you already are. LOL

• Why D segment needs frequent refresh? With low capital and demand, I dun say it should be changed untuil 20 years but at least later than other manufacturers.

“I consistently maintained that proton rebadged their flagship model..”

Since when Perdana is flagship model? Source?
            And about consistenct rebadging? Don’t you read proton will come up later with new one after 2 years?

“They will come up with whole new design next 2 years”, but in actual fact proton is just “developing” this Accord/Perdana for mass market in 2 years.”

This is developing in your sense :
            “AFAIK, proton’s “development” tricks usually involved suspension tuning and stuff probably add a stupid android touchscreen system that can be bought at brother’s shop. What other “innovations” can they bring?”

So pathetic, you don’t know proton can do more than those things, such as improving airflow, chassis rigidity, body control module, etc.

ANd about handling, don’t expect if you pay 20k to under tree mechanics, teh tuning is same with those in hands of Lotus-trained engineers.

• guest on Jan 07, 2014 at 12:19 pm

Haha, your first point is great. Exactly reiterating what I’m trying to say. “I dun say it should be changed untuil 20 years but at least later than other manufacturers”. This my friend is the product of PROTECTIONISM. Given a free market, proton would’ve been long buried seeing how other manufacturers have advanced while proton maintains status quo for 20 years.

Question of flagship is an easy one to answer. Perdana is top of the line offering from proton, obviously this is a flagship which is why it’s offered to officials even now with this new one. You dont see toyota offering japanese officials with say a vios do you? Either you’re in denial or something, really this is up to you if you choose to bury your own head in sand.

Your third point on improving airflow, chassis rigidity, body control module, etc. Huh? Really, as far as I can see, proton never did all those, even on the inspira. How does a changed bumper “improve” airflow. Chassis regidity? Changing suspension to suit local potholed roads involves improvement of chassis rigidity? Body control? First proton to have body control stuff is preve with its ESC. I dont see them fitting into earlier models like inspira etc, but with accord already having esc I’m sure proton will have the chance to stay lazy when it comes to this “body control” you’re talking about.

Seriously, I cant believe you actually buy into that lotus ride and handling marketing crap. I’ve owned a proton with “lotus ride and handling” before and it’s just pure rubbish. LOL. Seriously it really tainted the entire lotus name.

• kolejeon on Jan 03, 2014 at 2:54 pm

This car anytime can smoke Guan Engs’ S300L.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 14
  • HeShowedMeTheAccordana on Jan 03, 2014 at 2:58 pm

proton is finally making a statement with this car. they will go global with this car as i have some insider news.

The quality and driving experience will be as good as continental car just like preve. not to mention the RV of this car will be better compared to toyota and honda. sorry sam but this time proton has kicked ur ass big time.

This is the car you want to be seem driving at. so if you cannot afford it now is ok. work hard in your life and start with a preve first. then buy this accordana instead of some kimchi or toyota or honda car.

This is every mens dream car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 20
    • superbird #43 on Jan 03, 2014 at 6:17 pm

my dream car is Mk IV Ford GT40.

• HeShowedMeTheAccordana on Jan 04, 2014 at 11:41 am

those who thumb down me must be sam loo and toyota supporter

• just imagine people like u still need to work hard and save money for another 2 years then only can afford a rebadged old accord.
        when you sit inside the ‘perdana’ in 2016, you getting people already got back in 2008.
        and you can even get this car in ori form any time now till 2016.
        you can imagine how miserable and embarrassing when in 2016:
        “i just put booking for accord like perdana , price only 100k”
        “Honda accord 9th gen just facelifted and the 8th gen second hand only at 70k, why stil go for this?”
        Frankly speaking, you would not able to justified your reason then.
        realy sorry for you.

• youbinagi on Jan 05, 2014 at 9:30 am

New chassis 9th gen only got 4 star Asutralia NCAP safety rating. 8th gen is better. Go figure.

• Pronda Accordana…

• Lane Tamer on Jan 03, 2014 at 3:05 pm

Shud name it Ananconda lah. That will be the icing on the cake…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • wrong move by gov.. they should use vios instead of accord

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
  • drkarma on Jan 03, 2014 at 3:07 pm

Jokers. Some of u are real jokers. If u wana bash, bash properly. Use commonsense. Did u know that Inspira had better handling than Lancer and they sorted out the heating issues? Any mention about that? Rebadging is a global trend for companies to survive. I dun see anythin wrong in that. If this car goes for 100k with Lotus ride n handling, heck I am getin it! U lamers can stick to ur slow coach T’s and K’s!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 11
    • kadajawa on Jan 03, 2014 at 5:15 pm

If Inspira, Accordana so good re-tuned, sell it back to Japan lah

Let’s see how many Japanese get fooled by Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
    • Handling??. Better???…its better bcoz the suspension has been downgraded to softer ones …thats why it felt better…dont just mention about the suspension sir…please mention the problems inspira faced which is non existent in lancer models..water vapor in headlamps..kluk kluk sound when going over bumps..Warped disc brakes and the list can go on and on sir…yeah sure some ppl say it is value for money when you buy a rebadged proton product but you will also inherit their typical problems as well…only the transmission and engine is reliable since it will come from the original manufacturer..the rest of the car will come from the vendors of proton..and that is where the problem will start…and malaysians are the ones getting conned thinking that that they will get the whole original product package….so good luck buying your rebadged car sir….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 16
      • Lol downgraded suspension? You clearly knew nothing. Inspira has much higher damping rates than the Lancer GT, and has thinner anti-roll bar because the one in LGT is unnecessarily thick. More stable, more compliant ride, doesn’t go oversteery meloncat loncat like the stupid Lancer GT suspension tuning.

“Kluk kluk” noise? All inherited from Lancer GT/GS la wei. And while Inspira has that solved, Lancer still has them! LOL!! Not to mention much better NVH in Inspira! And you knew Inspira has tighter panel gap fitting compared to LGT right?

Water vapour in headlight? Bullshit. Both Inspira and LGT headlights are identical and came from same supplier Stanley la.

I bet you didn’t even knew that LGT had very bad bumper design, poor airflow to the CVT and engine cooling systems. So when an Inspira and LGT races up Karak/Genting together, the Inspira will have no problems, but the LGT will overheat badly in 15 minutes for no apparent reason.

Guess what? 2011-current Lancer are essentially an upgraded rebadged Inspira. Mitsu cars has so many flaws, so they just give it to Proton to deal with it (and increase sales because in terms of international market, current Lancer is a fail product compared to it’s older brothers)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
        • salak on Jan 04, 2014 at 5:49 pm

Errr..bad bumper design????..apsal banyak inspira convert jadi lancer…nk menipu pun agak2x la …agak2x ko ni pun spesis convert jugak ni…cakap ja pung pang …padahal naik lancer celup wakakaka….

• seisse on Jan 05, 2014 at 9:32 am

Lancer celup got better ride and handling and cooling system than ori one.

Wakakakakakakaka

• S.Roma on Jan 06, 2014 at 11:54 pm

guess that u know not much about cars…

• S.Roma on Jan 06, 2014 at 11:56 pm

yes agree with u, but last time there is 1 research tells that inspira is one of the car that has so many probs, im not lying…

• Lane Tamer on Jan 03, 2014 at 3:10 pm

Say it again???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • jolly_idiot on Jan 03, 2014 at 3:11 pm

If I’m PM. I’ll feel malu riding in this car.

Proton for government to make U turn instead of buying Honda as official government car. But end up still Honda but Proton rebadged Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
  • Avelanc on Jan 03, 2014 at 3:12 pm

I wanted to work as an engineer in proton. I think should be easy to work……everything just copy and paste that all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 15
    • kadajawa on Jan 03, 2014 at 4:42 pm

Yes just know how to pusing screw driver install the Proton rebadge logo…engineer celup…easiest job in the world

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
    • dzulx on Jan 03, 2014 at 6:36 pm

I know somebody who may be able to get u in
      … interested? Pm me.. but be prepared.. the sky isnt really blue there..

• Guan Yin Ma on Jan 03, 2014 at 3:13 pm

again ! Proton want to repeat the disaster with mitsubishi 25 yrs ago !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 19
  • A trailer full of shame!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 25
  • laluan sehala on Jan 03, 2014 at 3:46 pm

wonder if it has lotus tuned suspension. would be a good improvement over the standard mushy honda handling. an R3 version will be a welcome addition too. just make sure it is not only about the looks.

• are they going to sell it to public? keep the price low….will sells like hotcakes. just a bit higher than the inspira….goreng pisang panas. Prev model accord for civic 1.8 price!

• noordin on Jan 03, 2014 at 3:55 pm

Proton’s gift to the rakyat.
    2010 outdated technology but to be released in 2015 !!
    Now that is what we call progress in Msia !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
    • Hero86 on Jan 03, 2014 at 4:19 pm

basher will only know how to bash.. can not think cos dont have any brain..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
    • ustupid on Jan 03, 2014 at 6:07 pm

What do u mean ‘outdated’?
      A lot of times, new model comes out not much because of advancement, but ppl EXPECT them to come out if new one. So, they are FORCED to advance whatever good technology they have. In most cases, these ‘advancement’ are merely few percentage. What’s diefferent is the features/spec. But chassise-wise, not much different.

bongok

• Reading proton bashers’ comments *grabs popcorn*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • This version is minor change only for goverment, the trouble version for rakyat will coming soon…only for rakyat, its cheaper but will be so much trouble like old perdana. I guess All wiring system will be replaced by vdo and for sure it will get you suffer. Go proton…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • Joker on Jan 03, 2014 at 4:21 pm

Most ppl who ended buying this Accordana after it goes public will change da badge to Honda… all that matters here is the engine… by the time Proton releases this to the public be it Campro or i-VTEC, most Honda C and D segment car would be using the Earth Dream technology with dual clutch transmission already… 2 years is too long of a time…

• kadajawa on Jan 03, 2014 at 4:46 pm

Those Inspira owners also mostly change to Mitsubishi logo, put Evo X bodykit…become ori Lancer…kah kah kah…but still a Proton crap anyway

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
      • i’ve seen a lot they removed the thundercat logo from behind. i think because the owner feel shame driving crap celup car. really pity

• z79801 on Jan 03, 2014 at 4:25 pm

Well I must admit every time paultan published an article about proton or perodua, it’s a must for me to read all the comments… for some reason it entertaining LOL..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • Very entertaining, especially when reading proton basher comments which unleash their ignorance and supidity

• Plotom ahbeng on Jan 03, 2014 at 4:32 pm

proton tolong la rebadge kete nissan GTR, subaru impreza, toyota estima, ferrari enzo lamborghini aventador pulak..kasihanilah rakyat malaysia yang dah lama mengidam

• k!nex on Jan 03, 2014 at 4:38 pm

What is the good guess of the rim size for 2.0L and 2.4L ?? Got 18inch for the 2.4 ?? The 2.0L rim not nice…

• kadajawa on Jan 03, 2014 at 5:08 pm

If muka tak malu, you go to Honda showroom minta sedekah free Honda Accord wheel caps…put it at Accordana…sure macam original Honda, not a Proton car…kah kah kah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
      • praus on Jan 04, 2014 at 7:53 am

Why so butthurt with the rims? Oh ok maybe you rims fugley like those on Prius. Expensive car with cheapo rims.

Bwahahahahahahahah

• WhereIsSamLoo on Jan 03, 2014 at 4:45 pm

eh eh eh….where sam loo???? i don’t see him in this comment…… ahahahhaha

• 2 years to study how to masuk the 1.6 Campro and how to market with Lotus handling mah….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • Unknown on Jan 03, 2014 at 4:55 pm

This is not about bashing Proton because i am currently driving 1 but this is really a sad scenario for the country and the Rakyat. You are able to come out with Preve and Suprima S why can’t a self designed and built Perdana? Instead taking an old model of other manufacturers? R u silently agreeing that your company does not have capable designers or engineers to come out with a good product? Pls insult urself and don’t insult the capability of Malaysians. How can the Rakyat say that they are proud of their national car this way. This is a total disgrace but not to u Proton, to Malaysians. We have talents but u r ruining and disagreeing their capabilities.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 17
    • kadajawa on Jan 03, 2014 at 5:10 pm

Proton can produce own D-segment but RM1 Billion gone wasted for Lotus…nasi sudah jadi bubur

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • khairulx19a on Jan 03, 2014 at 6:40 pm

i think is all about the cost bro, to develop totally new car is not cheap, plus largest proton market is malaysia, so the profit alone i think not enough to cover it

one other thing from the article said the new perdana have new exterior and interior so the rakyat got different from the goverment use car

plus many manufacturer do the same thing nowadays like rebadging or sharing platform

• kukumalu on Jan 03, 2014 at 4:58 pm

Lousy car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • Matthew on Jan 03, 2014 at 4:59 pm

Why would the Govt want to use this instead of just going for the real deal? Proton can’t develop it’s own design in 2 years? In 2 years, all Proton can do is rebadge and re-spec an existing car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • astar on Jan 03, 2014 at 8:15 pm

typical time needed to produce a car from scratch is 6-7 years.since proton had no plan for D-segment car in the first place,new perdana would come out around 2019. rebadging save a lot of time

• shawal on Jan 03, 2014 at 5:13 pm

I see alot of inspiras on the road, means proton knows what its doing

8th gen accord has the lowest kit count among its peers, the headlamps was not even projectile, interior felt cheap compare to the 7th gen which still looks pristine in d used car lot.

What proton aims to do now is to build and (hopefully) improve on what honda has achieved , itll be odd if the perdana sold to the public has a lower safety ratings compare to the preve/suprima ,

At least we know now proton can build safe cars, only the powertrain is not as refined as other carmakers and it guzzles fuel when yourr gunning for it

If proton can build a better perdana than thr accord which it is based on , price it competitively , itll fly out of the showrooms

• kadajawa on Jan 03, 2014 at 5:17 pm

Why Proton takut to sell Inspira, Accordana back in Japan?

Jawab lah wahai macai Proton yang dikasihi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 22
      • khairulx19a on Jan 03, 2014 at 6:45 pm

u need to relax, so much hate in you
        why proton need to sell inspira n accordana in japan when they know no people want to buy it, they just doing stupid thing

if they want to i dont think mitsubishi and honda will allowed it

• Dey jawa… Ko tak tau ke dalam perjanjian antara Proton dan MMC salah satu syaratnya adalah Proton dibenarkan memasarkan Inspira HANYA untuk pasaran tempatan SAHAJA… Tak boleh EKSPORT… Kat Indonesia sana meleleh leleh air liur jantan mat mat indon tu mengharapkan Inspira dijual di pasaran sana bila dengar harga Proton Inspira yang dijual kat sini…

• What for? Are you on high?

• shawal on Jan 03, 2014 at 8:20 pm

Mestilah ada MOU ( memorandum of understanding),
        Macam chelsea kasi pinjam lukaku kepada everton dengan syarat lukaku x boleh main kalau lawan chelsea ..
        Xkan ler mitsu/honda benarkan proton jual keta yang diorang bwat kat negara depa..
        Proton rebadge pun diorang dapat duit apa… x eugi apa2
        Yang rugi pembeli sahaja sbb resale value turun… hahahahahaha

• DonkeyKong on Jan 04, 2014 at 12:41 am

My god, so brainless.. why would Proton sell their cars in Japan.. Did Aston Martin sell their Cygnus in Japan? Did Youngman sell their rebadged Gen2 in Malaysia just to prove that their version is good? Do you think that proves anything? Why do you have such low IQ?

• Fahmi on Jan 03, 2014 at 5:15 pm

I think just like 8th gen Accord, 16’s for the 2.0 and 17’s for 2.4 variants… Judging by the emblem at the back, I think that 2.0 variants are called Executive and 2.4 variant are called Premium, in a typical Proton naming scheme..

• Fahmi on Jan 03, 2014 at 5:24 pm

Based on my experience and knowldge, I can’t help but think that previous generation Accord (the Perdana) is lacking quite a bit of gadgetry and refinement expected in the D segment… No trip meter? No Bluetooth? No MID? No HID, xenons? Better materials for the dash perhaps… They could do with a little bit more touch… Current 9th gen Accord are a lot better in this aspect, competitive if not class-leading, I should say..

• Proton CAP AYAM SV PERDANA on Jan 03, 2014 at 5:16 pm

When is the Perdana SV coming, quick bring that in this year, slash the price by 50%…put in preve interior …. got lubang also jalan…sure can sell ..haha EPIC FAIL by PROTON 2014 …Wonderful Start of the year, everything going up, fuel, toll, books, food, GST … to name a few but PROTON will continue to be Proton JAGUH KAMPUNG !! haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • mcliong on Jan 03, 2014 at 5:24 pm

Will it be I-Vtec or Petronas@Proton engine?

• Gavin on Jan 03, 2014 at 5:25 pm

wouldn’t mind one of that 3000 units

• gdntsk on Jan 03, 2014 at 5:34 pm

I wonder what will foreigners think in 2 years time when they see the mass-production model of this “Accordana” on Malaysian roads….

• batumudo on Jan 03, 2014 at 5:39 pm

people suffer with price hike, they’re gettin shiny new rollin.

• Kelvin on Jan 03, 2014 at 5:50 pm

proton, please rebadge the audi A4 and sell proton price…

• ah kip on Jan 03, 2014 at 6:09 pm

cantik jugah inni motoka hoo

• I am sure gonna change the tail light to the original honda tail light…that missing piece make the back dam ugly

• hubys on Jan 03, 2014 at 7:26 pm

It’s ok to me. Look much better without the missing tail light

• company lain rebadge untuk erat hubungan/ kongsi ilmu, proton rebadge untuk ambik untung mudah…

kalau xnampak memang orang tu bodoh tak sekolah.. perdana rebadge dari eterna.. apa yang dorang belajar? then rebadge pulak accord

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • Perdana tu zaman bila punya kereta, teknologi tak sama. Ko ingat zaman Jepunnya Volvo 240 boleh dapat 5 star Euro NCAP 2014 ke?

Kahkahkahkahkah

• jadi tahun 2070 nanti proton kena rebadge model lagi lah sebab tu teknologi tahun 2070… yg rebadge sebelum2 ni dah xleh pakai sebab sistem outdate…

ok dah nampak permainan proton

• Wow If you are mitsu or honda owner, will you give the latest one to your competitor? Mindless basher, sigh.

• They need 2 years for developing it because it will have new exterior, interior and most importantly petronas turbo engine are ready at that time…

• Most of us might think lge is to much for buying a mercedes but wait till you see najibs convoy front car all local cars waja, perdana but later you will see xc90’s, s 60’s, an s class, alphards and you start wondering how much does it cost. lge doesnt travel with a convoy unless its traffic jam.

• Lge tu pm ke…???

• DonkeyKong on Jan 04, 2014 at 12:46 am

Who gives a damn about LGE. Same crap, different day. Give them one more term and let the power get to their heads and we’ll see their true colors.

• come to sarawak, our state boss has the collection which can put all you 11 states combined in shame. even your PM jib kor + datuk M also malu to show off.

LGE’s S-class? what the shit is that? we don’t even think it is worth being a news.

• wow… nice and clear spyshot!

• albag on Jan 03, 2014 at 11:45 pm

in fact, this Proton Perdana looks much much much better than Honda Accord… screw you Honda in designing such ugly car… Yay Proton you did it again nice job!

and screw you too Honda Accord owners…

• ah kor on Jan 04, 2014 at 12:29 am

finally.. itu dia… Potong Banana!!!

• whattanow on Jan 04, 2014 at 1:16 am

Please don’t bash with full of hatred in mind. It makes you a clown in here against those Proton supporters.

• inderaloka on Jan 04, 2014 at 1:44 am

A shame to the nation.

Innovative Malaysia?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • u change logo to honda oso no use coz the accord back is hundred times better than this fake proton product

• Proton have engineers? I think their engineers studied from monkeys, because monkey see monkey do. Monkey see Honda, monkey do honda.

If this is the case, Malaysia should stop having engineering schools or unis. Because if this sort of crap can come out of the national car makers, then don’t need to put them to study if they can copy other car and slap there pussy cat logo.

Proton puts the “p” in STUPID.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
    • Another proton basher who doesn’t read or don’t understand simple English. They will come up with new one. You are sort of crap here. LOL

• Y.C Low on Jan 04, 2014 at 10:33 am

Paul, can you enlighten us on the engine of the new Perdana? I heard it is using the current the current Campro engine and Lotus suspension.

• Bryan on Jan 04, 2014 at 10:55 am

Sounds like we get to buy and use a 4 year old car in the next two years.

• ARIFFIN on Jan 04, 2014 at 2:37 pm

Don’t worry bro, you will not drive these cars. Only for top Government officers use.

• MintBerryCrunch on Jan 04, 2014 at 11:52 am

Car companies routinely rebadge niche cars in their lineup. ATM I dont think the size of the malaysian market warrants a midsized sedan made from scratch. It’s a business decision by the sound of it.

• i have a very good suggestion to proton.
    JUST REBADGED ALL OTHER BRAND OLDER GENERATION CAR
    this is because:

1. no need to waste money for research and come out with car 10 years tech behind.An obsolete K engine or old idsi from Honda still better than your campro.also get the vvti from toyota once it switch to dual vvti.

2. other people old generation car still better than the proton latest model.Like the 8th gen FD Honda civic.

3. you can have a great variety of models, all under one roof-PROTON.like MK6 Proton, FD civic proton,idsi city proton,2nd gen vioproton.

4. Poor people Malaysian can have their dream car at very cheap price, now the Proton slogan can change to: NOW EVERY BODY CAN OWN YOUR DREAMED CAR!

5. Can help customized car: engine from VW, gear box from Honda and Toyota Skeleton, or campro engine with Golf GTI skeleton to cut cost and fullfill dream of people wanna own a GTI.

Proton just sapu all the other brand 1 generation older car and rojak it and re market it as new car under the name of proton, all just add on LOTUS HANDLING.

i think with this way, they can have better chance of penetrating the international market.

i think they are silently doing all this.
    Honda perdana is their 1st step and next would follow what i said above.

• 1.Fuel consumption wise it sucks when in city, remember Vios? Sucks too
      2.8th gen civic is better? In what way?

• 8th gen civic is better in all aspects compare to whatever model from proton. full stop.
        so naive if u ask in what way.

• Huh? Better in ride and handling? Nah. Airbags how many? CFE got 205nm flat torque is wayyyyy better than civic 2.0l 188nm, not to mention you have to push the pedal hard till 6500 rpm to get max torque whereas in preve it’s flatten all the way from 2000-000 rpm

YOU are naive. Pity.

• Dun be stupid la comparing a turbo to NA engine..u mentioned abt torque hw bout hp???n whts the use of falt n high torque when 0-100kph of preve n fd2 is abt d same ~9+ s n fd2 has top speed 214kph while preve jus 190kph (factory claimed) but in real of cos both car cn exceed it but i cn say 2.0NA DOCH Ivtech cn tapau 1.6cfe anytime.fullstop.

• japcom on Jan 06, 2014 at 9:08 am

Nowadays hp is not that important anymore as hp is for showing off, torque determines who wins. Try car with full load, torque is the king.

Please update yourself with current tech or you’ll obsolete just like big T

• a..preve with racechip..ur preve CVT gne kaput as its designed to withstand not more than 220nm torque..hw uif i mod fd2 but adding turbo to k20a2 engine???i bet ur preve will eat fd2 n mampoi terus.n remember CTR 2.0 NA engine cn do 6.3s for 0-100kph. tyr parking ur 2012 preve n 2006 fd2 side by side…i bet all d good taste chicks will naik fd2 comoared to butt ugly preve…kla i admit preve is a good car in term of handling, peformance n of cos PRICE..but fd stil wins many ppls heart

• come on la..u said hp is ntg..bullshit bro…look at super cars, they give priority to hp n oso torque ass well..whts d point u having verh high torque but very small hp…imagine u cn accelerate ur car in highway 0-100 in less than 8 s but ur top speed remains below 180kph..even 10years waja can tapau u..so in conclusion hp n torque must be ideal together n oso other factors lik hp to weight ration, aerodynamic, gearbox n drivetrain..so kiddish la u saying ONLY torque is important.

• japcom on Jan 06, 2014 at 2:14 pm

“ONLY”? Where got i said “ONLY?” You misread my comment. What car that has top speed is 180km/h?

If put racechip, preve can leave FD2 or even Camry Hybrid in dust, century sprint less than 8 sec. And that’s only a small mod. LOL

Again where got word “ONLY” in my comment? And mind you, C segment car is not meant to be super car and FD2 is not that fast.

• it is not about how fast you can drive.
            it is about the overall performance and public acceptance and more importantly, the sales figure.
            u produce car to sell, if it doesnt accepted by the targeted market, it means only the car is not good.
            the dashboard and the door panel even the door closing feel of FD is quantum leap ahead of the preve. it is the product of 2005,way better than your 2012 product.
            preve level is at the 6th gen civic, which back in 90s.

• japcom on Jan 07, 2014 at 3:54 am

Sales figure? Yes you can say it many times but good cars won’t necessarily bring good sale number and good sale number doesn’t mean it’s a good car.

• Sam Loo on Jan 04, 2014 at 6:37 pm

Just a matter of time before Hyundai Sonata becomes Inokom Sonata & Hyundai Elantra becomes Inokom Elantra.

Can imagine what this will do the the used Hyundai Market

• jeff wong on Jan 04, 2014 at 9:58 pm

Proton in mandarin means stupid….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Just feel ashamed again and again to look at this news again. Like stick other people ass on his head!!!

• Nicholas on Jan 05, 2014 at 1:49 pm

If they improve the handling, sound proofing, comfort and price it below RM100k, it will be a catch… Above RM100k then better buy an actual accord edy…

• Beat the traffic on Jan 05, 2014 at 2:58 pm

Current Accord owners really looked stupid when this is on the street. KAKAKAKAKA

• EnergyAnalyst on Jan 05, 2014 at 3:56 pm

LO & behold

Proton Perdord errrr better make that Proton Perdanord

• nighttrain on Jan 06, 2014 at 2:18 am

Donato Coco and his team have been asked to design the car for public sales. They’ll make it look inspired by AM Rapide or Mazda 6 style, with safety features on par with Kimchi standards. Now that’s a good thing. Don’t you want it? Design, European, Tech, Sushi, safety, Kimchi.

• Cakap bukan main besar. Power window rosak lagi. Plastik rough macam kertas pasir. Belum setahun pakai dashboard sudah bunyi rattle.

Mimpi mau bikin D-segement sendiri…boleh jalan lah Proton

• If want cheating or copy also don’t let people know. Silently buy the Honda platform then modify the interior and exterior of the car. Then launch it as the brand new Proton Perdana car. Who will know it is from Honda. So at least Proton got face to face at people as they able to produce quality car. But now Proton want people to think that it is Honda car which then turn into Proton car. So with cheaper price u can like get the Honda Accord. Proton are so lack of confident!!! Proton not only want to cheat people, they cheat themselves. They try to cheat the whole world, but with all people know!!! Malaysia Boleh.

• Since when Proton want people to think that it is Honda car which then turn into Proton car? Are you high?

• menthol on Jan 06, 2014 at 6:41 am

amoi = ioma = kadajawa

• farizY on Jan 06, 2014 at 9:03 am

I still believe that Proton can gain back the community respect if the Government stop protecting Proton and let the market open-up. Remove the ridiculous tax on foreign cars (and also Proton).
    IF Proton can survives in an open-market environment, that will be a really good indicator to the bashers/lovers that Proton can actually make it in the real world.
    My question is, let say the market is open and all cars are priced reasonable close to one another with respect to the class, would you rather buy a Proton or something else like maybe a VW, Audi, Merc, BMW, Toyota, Honda, Hyundai, Kia, Ford, etc?

• Alfa159 on Jan 06, 2014 at 11:10 am

Honda platform + Alfa exterior/interior = New Perdana?

• haha… v malaysian again buying OLD-new car that jap is throwing away with bolehland price. don know v should feel funny or sad ?!

• Buy buy buy this Accord
    You will never regret

• good_move on Jan 06, 2014 at 3:12 pm

good job, proton. it is much better than the campro-engine. try todo more rebadge, who cares it is not the latest model as long as we get the cheaper price!! This time is Power of Dream + the Lotus Handling. Proton Rebadge Rock!!!

• The comments this website offers does not shy from its quality to intrigue than its main articles… equally as amazing….

Today we learnt that people have fun and sense of achievement comparing themselves to their lower pars’. And crimes such as plagiarism can be beautified into universal laws of nature. People simply have no shame admitting yet alone announcing it.

To those who battle cried that rebadging creates no mistakes, you would have to get your facts right. These are the times when the right and wrong both are permitted to exist for ones’ agenda. At least us being a sensible consumer, we should in our own position be able to tell the rights and the wrongs.

• Bataman on Jan 07, 2014 at 11:05 am

Flowery language…but stupid contents…rebadging is ‘plaglarism’?? You have no understanding of ‘royalty’, ‘licensing’, ‘business deal’??

• The comments this website offers does not shy from its quality to intrigue than its main articles… equally as amazing….

Today we learnt that people have fun and sense of achievement comparing themselves to their lower pars’. And crimes such as plagiarism can be beautified into universal laws of nature. People simply have no shame admitting yet alone announcing it.

To those who battle cried that rebadging creates no mistakes, you would have to get your facts right. These are the times when the right and wrong both are permitted to exist for ones’ agenda. At least us being a sensible consumer, we should in our own position be able to tell the rights and the wrongs.

• “The Perdana that you and me can buy….”

Hehehehe. England so powderful.

• AHAHAH on Jan 06, 2014 at 5:31 pm

What a shame bila park side by side…
    1) Lancer vs Inspira
    2) Accord vs Perdana..
    Hurm..At least re-badge la car yang bukan jual kat M’sia…

• There is nothing to be shame about

• It is Proton’s Product of achievement !

• jibby on Jan 06, 2014 at 10:44 pm

cam kenal je kete ni.bestnya xsabar nk naik

• Bisnes is bisnes..janji sold out. i tak pakai this car.

• PRONDA ACCORDANA

• That’s funny thing.

• went news about proton come out .. 300++ comments in 7 hours.

1 comments per minit …

no bad proton… you have “stronger” supporter.

• Almost 30 years of R&D. Now Proton created Accordana..What an accomplishment..!! 29million Malaysian must be very proud of Proton..Compared to Somalia, we are better off.

• darkermarker on Jan 08, 2014 at 9:57 am

Proton Perdana Accord. Mana ada gaya as Govt official car?? Everywhere you can see this Accord.

Mesti mau pakai Merc, then got gaya and class for the datuk inside the car.

I suggest proton to rebadge at least the Merc S-class models.