DRIVEN: 2013 BMW 316i – offering a new level of entry

2013 F30 BMW 316i 36

Buying a car based on the allure of its badge isn’t a new thing. After all, the adage “you are what you drive” rings true for many people, especially in these parts of the woods. Association is key; there’s really nothing wrong with being chuffed by your ride, but it helps that everyone thinks so, or thinks highly of you by your – clever – choice of wheels, yes?

This writer’s household hasn’t been immune to the workings of such a spell, as the other half will (happily, or unhappily, depends on how the subject is broached) attest to. Said lady has cycled through two BMW 3-Series, both entry-level models from two different generations, from new, the purchases being made under the premise of “emotional appeal.” She didn’t even test drive the second one before signing for it.

Nothing wrong with that, even if the cars themselves weren’t quite up to living up to the ‘Ultimate Driving Machine’ or ‘Sheer Driving Pleasure’ tags proudly emblazoned on the licence plate holders. We’ll take just one of them as an example – the E46 318i, all 118 hp and 180 Nm of it bursting out from its effervescent M43B19 1.9 litre mill. Worked alright, but hardly anywhere near being the finest 3er of that era. I had an affectionate name for it. I called it “The Slug.”

Still, it got her to where she needed to be, and she reveled in the “emotional appeal,” so I couldn’t argue with it (or the other 3er), since the cars pressed all the right buttons for her. The same holds true for everyone who bought an entry-level 3er before the adoption of turbocharging attempted to offset snail-like behaviour – it’s what you believe in that matters.

2013 F30 BMW 316i 46

Munich, of course, understands this, and that’s why something like the F30 316i exists – progress has meant that the previously base level 3er, the 320i, has also become more expensive, with prices creeping up each gen.

Thus do we have the new base model, to keep the door open to those clamouring for a piece of that badge association but without the means or want to fork out the price for it. Yes, there’s the 1-Series, but as we all know, it’s the Three that defines the prop and more importantly, the association.

Runts of the litter usually have it bad (anyone remember that rudimentary, icky ASC from years ago?), with being stripped down to the basics being the norm. Thankfully, the 316i is spared the blushes – while designated without a line (Sport, Modern), the kit count is more than decent.

2013 F30 BMW 316i 26

Items on the list include a 6.5-inch central screen with iDrive in attendance, Driving Experience Control, auto bi-xenon headlamps, power adjustable driver and front passenger seats, parking sensors, auto stop-start, a Leather Dakota Black interior and a host of ConnectedDrive kit, with BMW Live and BMW TeleServices in that mix.

The car is also spared the ignominy of riding on bad looking wheels – the rather familiar 17-inch five-spoke alloys help the 316i retain some semblance of muscularity. Only one bone to pick, and that’s with the keyless entry bit – you’ll still have to push the buttons on the key to lock and unlock the doors.

Fine, but you’ll have to put the key back into the pocket once you get in, because the keyless ignition doesn’t have a housing slot, unless you don’t mind the cup-holder doing duty as such. If there’s something that needs to be ticked on the list, then full smart entry would be it.

The sixth locally-assembled model in the current BMW range is equipped with the lower output tune form of the N13B16 – there’s a higher output 168 hp form of the type, but the 1.6 litre TwinPower Turbo four-pot in this case offers 134 hp at 4,350 rpm and 220 Nm at 1,350 rpm. Paired to an eight-speed ZF auto transmission, performance figures include a 0-100 km/h sprint time of 9.2 seconds and a 210 km/h top speed.

If 134 hp doesn’t sound like much, it isn’t, but in day to day use in the city, you’re probably not going to miss much. If anything, the decent level of twist helps give the car some semblance of go from the line, once you’ve prepared yourself to expect only that much of a serving, that is.

I didn’t – the last time I was in an F30 it was a 328i in Barcelona two years ago, it of hissing brakes on the Circuit de Catalunya and bombing along B-roads. The result was that I spent pretty much of the whole first day arguing with the 316i, and not having a very good time of it. Not quite rapid enough, too soft, etc. And that BMW auto start-stop, its rough-ish behaviour never a fave, was starting to get my goat too.

By the second day, I’d tempered my expectations enough that the car was starting to get some purchase. Not fun, mind you, but eminently drivable – the approach was to stop charging around and attempt to wring out every inch of pony and pull out of it. Which, I suppose, is what everyone else does, drive it normally. Perspective also came from another quarter: “Hell, it’s a lot faster than the two I had, no?” was what the other half said. I guess.

Taken as such, a sedan with adequate pep, the 316i is very workable indeed. Like mentioned earlier, there’s not a lot of punch, and you can still catch it out at load on some terrain, but in town use what’s available is effective. More importantly, as a cruiser, it’s quite a gem – the ZF ‘box is wonderfully smooth, and the car glides along the ruts and dips without much bother.

Of note is how things are sprung – the F30 is unabashedly a softer riding proposition than its predecessor, and something like the 316i shows how this can be translated to mean comfort. Taking on corners, the softness can be less than inspiring, but a lot of this is how it’s perceived – the levels of traction are actually quite high, even if the rebound is telling you otherwise.

2013 F30 BMW 316i 9

Turn-in is pleasantly taut and sharp, but it’s the compliance that is the ace, and for that, one has to be thankful that sport suspension and an uber-thick M steering wheel has been omitted from the list, and any sport-like pretensions dropped – the 316i made short shrift of the poor excuse of black top that passes for roads around Bandar Manjalara and Kepong. “Hell, it’s a lot more comfortable than the two I had too, no?” was the view proffered by the resident 3er expert.

In the end, I have to admit the package works for what it is – enthusiasts will undoubtedly snigger at the sight of one (removal of the rear model identifier, anyone?), but you can imagine the appeal the RM209,800 offering will have for those looking for an entry-level BMW sedan without the need for any real drive dynamics or a six-seconds-to-a-hundred time.

Slap it with enough poke, but frugal enough (over 288 km, a 13.1 km per litre or 7.6 litres per 100 km readout, as suggested by the car’s OBC) for town use, make it super comfy and let the badge take care of the rest – this then is a BMW you’d buy because you simply want a BMW or want to be seen in one, and don’t want or can’t spill it out for the 320i, with the 1er not even considerable as an starting option. If that’s the “emotional appeal,” then this is your new chariot.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Furqan on Jan 06, 2014 at 8:00 pm

It’s using the same Prince engine but with different tuning as the Mini & 320i am I right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 28
    • Flowerpower on Jan 06, 2014 at 8:58 pm

No that one is a front wheel drive engine. This is a different engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 15
      • Furgan is partly right. The new 316i uses the same Prince engine (N13B16) found in the Mini Cooper S (designated N18) but with a detune power output of 134bhp.

The 320i however uses a completely different engine called the N20B20 unless you are refering to the 320iED which uses the same N13B16 tune to 170bhp which is unforutnately not sold in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
      • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jan 08, 2014 at 10:12 am

BMW Malaysia is the ONLY company in the world, not just in Malaysia, in the world, that ONLY gives 2 year warranty for their cars.

Have you wondered why? Think carefully before you buy. If a car company has no confidence to give you the basic 3 years, something smells fishy. Now, nearly ALL companies give 5 years. Even Proton and Perodua, give 5 years warranty.

So many bMW owners, after 2nd year cry so loud like a baby because, warranty habis, have to pay so much in parts prices. Many kena gearbox rosak, immediately RM80k disappears from the bank account just to buy a new gearbox.

You dare to buy a car with so many electronics and high possibility to malfunction with a mere and miserable 2 year warraty?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 25
        • Jonathan Lee on Jan 10, 2014 at 2:10 pm

BMW Service + Repair Inclusive is three years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
          • disgruntledBMWowner on Jan 11, 2014 at 12:42 pm

Jonathan, if u actually owned one u will know its all fine prints lie. Don’t be fooled by BMW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
          • BSRI conjob on Jan 11, 2014 at 1:10 pm

Jonathan.

Don’t be fooled by BSRI or anyone that tells you that it is warranty.

BSRI basically just means FREE SERVICE. It is not warranty. BMW purposedly used the word repair in their brand name so that salesmen can be trained to lie that it is as good as warranty. On top of that it is only 60,000km, most BMW customer finish it in 1.5 years to 2 years.

BMW warranty is only two years, the shortest warranty in Malaysia. Compare that to Lexus 3 years, Audi 4 years, Mercedes benz 4 years unlimited mileage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
  • Taggy on Jan 06, 2014 at 8:39 pm

From my summarization, Anthony is basically implying it’s a poor man’s Beemer. Just my impression after reading the whole report.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 7
    • seancorr on Jan 07, 2014 at 12:38 am

Not for the BMW purists out there but workable for people who want to try out BMW and are not into insane acceleration and high speed rempits that BMW owners come to love.

But once you get into the BMW wagon with this 316i, you’d wish you’ve gotten the 328i after getting addicted with the power that a BMW can give you bar your wife’s opinion on saving money and your life!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 4
    • AutoFrenz on Jan 07, 2014 at 2:02 pm

That aside…Anthony should add in three more English names to compete with Jonathan James Tan…like Anthony Sebastian Alexander Eugene Lim…sounds better maaa…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • jinggo on Jan 06, 2014 at 8:48 pm

This model suitable to all ‘Yuppie’ out there. Good marketing strategy by BMW. So, Merc, where is the C160?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 8
    • Davvie on Jan 06, 2014 at 10:05 pm

There are already c180 w204 with 1.6 blue efficiency in town for quite awhile, no?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 4
  • the 3 series interior look really cheap compared to the A4 and C class.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 66
    • i agree with you BMW interior really look cheap, only exterior look nice. Spend RM200K++ for a cheap interior?! By the way new Merc interior has improved alot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 46
    • ABTguy on Jan 07, 2014 at 9:33 am

All enthusiats do not mind cheap looking cars ! Haha.

Cheap looking never mind, but BMW please do not assemble something that has a lot of wind noise, tyre noise, creeking plastic, water submerge cars !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
      • disgruntledBMWowner on Jan 09, 2014 at 3:25 pm

U also kena?? Feel u bro. Both my F10 and F30 I kasi donation murah murah.. Buat marah je dgn servis mereka. Nearly smashed the car in front of their SC. Treating me like a child with non stop excuses..Kimak betol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
  • Contender on Jan 06, 2014 at 9:00 pm

BMW 3 series has become more affordable with this 3 series entry level model …. wonder which is selling better ? 316i or 320i ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
  • superbird #43 on Jan 06, 2014 at 9:24 pm

put MT into it, and i will seriously consider this as my 4th car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 57
  • sudonano on Jan 06, 2014 at 9:46 pm

While personally the 320i is a much better preposition for the extra 28k or so, you can’t help to say that this is a very honest car. Yes, it is not going to go fast like a 328i. Yes, it might not have any BMW Lines. And yes, no 18″ wheels, no foglight garnish and small iDrive screen.

But that is the point. It is a pure, simple and rather nice premium executive car. Considering a Japanese executive car costs about 175k on average, (for the higher spec models like the Camry, Accord), for an extra 29k you can get a German engineered, premium car.

Not to mention, your road tax will be way cheaper. And so will your fuel bills. Not bad!

Oh, and Anthony, unfortunately, many new BMWs in Malaysia, if bought from dealers, they carry the dealer names on the front AND back number plate holder, with the BMW logo. Sadly, no more of the Ultimate Driving Machine number plate holders. I think only the press cars still get it cause they come from BMW Group Malaysia, and not from a dealer… Too bad we can’t swap those out.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 4
    • zamer on Jan 06, 2014 at 10:31 pm

reading your opinion, shows you are looking for a status and ego that makes people look high on you while you actually only afford the entry level car.

but anyway, its a good option for those who think like you but to me, accord, mazda6, 508 are not bad either and is comparable to an entry level 3 series.

not to say performance, this 316i will only see a small led accord lamp far from behind. 134hp with 8 speed, the gearbox may have a hard time what gear to engage

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 85
      • Hellhole on Jan 06, 2014 at 11:26 pm

I dont think you understand the attraction of the three series at all. Yes on a straight line the power of the honda may have a skight edge. But them again when I drove my wife’s accord the feeling of instability creeps in at 145kph. I only get that feeling in a 3 series once I breach 170kph. When we talk about taking the corners on kampung road. Not even a close contest. Rather than assuming other people are badge snobs , thinking that you are the bona fide petrol head, just go and have a test drive around the backroads of Glenmarie and you willl know what I mean.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 3
        • sudonano on Jan 07, 2014 at 12:18 pm

Trust me, that 8 speed auto has some magic intelligence of some sort. It is so smart, I have never had it take a wrong gear.

Go test drive one in Glenmarie after you test drive a Japanese family car. You’d be hard pressed not to sign if your budget approves.

And of course, if you really want, go for the M performance Suspension.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
          • Fredo on Jan 09, 2014 at 11:51 am

agreed with the 8 speed AT gearbox….try d 320d as well if u hv d chance…it feels like driving a car with close ratios gearing…gear sambung2 tu…if u know what i mean

• disgruntledBMWowner on Jan 09, 2014 at 3:03 pm

That is true. What do u expect when u pay so much more. If one thing also BMW cant beat Honda then how la?? Other than sapu corner and little more power, what else is better??? other things in BMW sucks. Poor assembly workmanship causing mysterious plastic rattle, rusty seats, rattling steering rack and the lists go on…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
      • seancorr on Jan 07, 2014 at 12:33 am

There are badge snobs out there but let’s leave them be. As for this BMW, I find no issue up to speeds of 180kmh which it has no issue reaching with ease and feels planted but did not get the chance to bring it beyond that speed but boy was the wind noise annoying at that speed.

Suspension during corners is of course better than my previous Honda but hey its a BMW we’re talking about here. I also understand that this F30 was tuned for comfort comparing to the E90 but I like the way they set it up – not too harsh and not too soft. Anything else there’s the M-Sport model or the cheaper solution – the M Performance Sports Suspension.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
        • holofanboi on Jan 07, 2014 at 2:08 pm

Actually sean, its quite the vicious cycle to say ‘x group will always be around so lets just leave x group to be’.

Heck I don’t even need to use BMW fans as an example, just friggin look at the Vios camp lol… The way they bash any non-Japanese make is downright ridiculous.

Honesty seem to have disappeared these days… nearly everyone is trying to overcompensate for their own perceived insecurity =/

• seancorr on Jan 07, 2014 at 6:34 pm

Yeah I understand especially for the Vios camp…really outrageous, I mean take a look at Sam Loo and you’ll understand a Toyota fanboy’s mentality…

• holofanboi on Jan 13, 2014 at 1:57 pm

Lol, the Sam Loo fella is so hardcore he’s nothing short of a joke now xD

• an Accord 2.4 maybe…but a 2.0 accord will have difficult time wt this 316i ….just look at the twist offered…220 Nm at 1,350 rpm compared to the 2.0 accord abt 200nm at above 4,000rpm…

• driver on Jan 07, 2014 at 5:17 pm

zamer, obviously u have not driven F30 before. test drive it properly and then only give your feedback here.

• motorWhat on Jan 07, 2014 at 11:32 am

pls compare the same range.
      Accord / camry are D Segment.
      3 is C segment, equallent to Civic, Cerato.
      how would 316 fare against them?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
      • Fredo on Jan 09, 2014 at 11:54 am

i suggest u go back to school..who on earth had told u 3 series are in C segment ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 18
        • Enthu on Jan 11, 2014 at 2:44 pm

a dropout calling others to go back to school?

if 3 series is not a C-segment i don’t know what it is.

Z Segment? What a pathetic fanboy comment.

• Alvin Yap on Oct 16, 2016 at 7:45 pm

Read your comment, and I can’t help but to reply you eventhough this is an old post.

3 series is considered compact executive, and compact executive is part of D Segment.

Eventhough you probably didn’t grad your form 5, you can still get the correct info with Google

• freBodo on Jan 13, 2014 at 3:21 pm

LOL….i bet u gonna hate yourself for the entire life right now…or probably u r just gonna committing suicide perhaps

• I own both cars .. in term of cabin comfort, yes .. accord is more spacious and more ‘relax’ to drive.. but bmw is more fun to drive, more responsive and not to mention fuel consumption is excellent .. for those who said 316i will only see small led accord light far from behind .. i will only laugh .. both car don’t belong to same segment ..

• seancorr on Jan 07, 2014 at 12:24 am

IMHO this car serves it purpose for the people who wants it. It only misses out the BMW Lines and the electric rear shade. Everything else is the same from memory seat for driver down to the 320i and 316i 17″ wheel size. So the RM30k that I didn’t spend on the 320i will be used elsewhere instead.

The power is there too especially for me whose previous car was a Honda with a NA engine which took almost 13 seconds to reach 100kmh BUT of course people who own much more powerful BMW’s before will find this 316i weak and FYI the 0-100 9.2 secs apply for the manual version; the 8 speed that we have here does 0-100 in 8.9 secs if you look at the brochure supplied by BMW international.

My gripes with this car is the poor NVH and wind noise coming from the side mirrors and some vibrating noise on uneven roads from the steering column which I think only applies to my car. Interior wise could be better but sadly the design is similar in all their model range.

Other than that its a good starting point to BMW ownership EXCEPT for the 2 frigging years of warranty that BMW Malaysia offers!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
    • agreed abt the NVH of the current 3, stiff & a bit noisy is my impression everytime i went out wt my colleague. i’m comparing to my golf tsi which is very comfy and quiet. But the handling of the 3 is GTI levels (yup, u cannot have both i guess), it corners like on rails.

• seancorr on Jan 07, 2014 at 6:37 pm

The run flat tyres are not helping either; if you want a quieter ride you’d have to switch to normal tyres and risk getting a hole in it unless you sacrifice boot space to carry a tyre sealant and pump.

• BMW Owner on Jan 07, 2014 at 12:50 am

Don’t buy BMW. Their service and their product are not good and cheap. I am very frustated after bought F30. After 1 year there is so many problems and they cannot do not know how to fix it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 26
    • meejawa on Jan 07, 2014 at 10:47 am

I concur, for some reasons parts start to fail one by one in my e90 right after the warranty period. BSRI is BMW’s prerogative whether they will waive the parts fees if any needs changing. And the parts prices, omg, sure ppl say they are built tougher, alst longer and thus cost more. Really? Guess how much the AC faceplate(only the knobs and buttons plastic plate for the AC) costs? Check online and I got EU139. Ingress Auto quoted me RM4,150. Exact part number so don’t say I’m not comparing the same thing; it’s IDENTICAL. And every single time I send in for service, some parts FOR SURE will need replacing. Am I the only one who experience this? Most definitely no.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
      • disgruntledBMWowner on Jan 09, 2014 at 3:05 pm

Exactly…Can u see why I hate BMW??? Just want to let people know so they wont suffer like me and also to teach BMW Malaysia a lesson not to take their customers as fools…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • disgruntledBMWowner on Jan 09, 2014 at 3:22 pm

same here bro…

• BMW Owner on Jan 07, 2014 at 12:54 am

All members, better u buy Merz C200 or Audi A4…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 28
    • Jonathan Lee on Jan 07, 2014 at 4:42 am

Both the C-Class and A4 are getting long in the tooth and are no match for the F30. The C-Class is a particularly poor recommendation since a new one is already around the corner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
      • andrewk on Jan 07, 2014 at 12:33 pm

I’d agree to a certain degree. While the W204 is at the end of its life cycle, at 225k now, the additional 15k is a good deal for a bigger engine and better package, not to mention better ride comfort – which i am assuming is more important than performace since we are talking about the 316i here. So if you’re not particularly concern about getting the latest version, the W204 is actually a good proposition.

However, I’d agree with you on the Audi. The 25k premium for the outgoing A4 (unless they are giving promo prices) IMHO is maybe a little too much.

I guess when you are comparing the entry level models of these luxo brands, it has a lot to do with emotions and brand EQ.

• Jonathan Lee on Jan 07, 2014 at 2:29 pm

Doesn’t seem like you can get the lower-spec C200 anymore. It’s now RM255k for cheapest model, the full-spec Avantgarde C200.

At that price you might as well get the 320i. It’s faster, more fuel-efficient, better handling and, in my eyes, much better-looking both inside and out.

• Jonathan Lee on Jan 07, 2014 at 2:31 pm

Not to mention it’s nearly fifteen grand less than the C-Class.

• andrewk on Jan 08, 2014 at 8:19 pm

C200 advangarde model going for RM225k. This is not the low spec C200 elegance or c180. Both of these models are not available anymore. They are clearing our for the W205 so selling at a very attractive price.

• Jonathan Lee on Jan 09, 2014 at 10:50 pm

You can’t get a C200 Avantgarde at RM225k anymore. Check Mercedes-Benz Malaysia’s price list on their website — they revised the price a few days ago.

• andrewk on Jan 15, 2014 at 12:02 pm

The price of RM225k is still available. Just called a dealer to confirm.

• seancorr on Jan 14, 2014 at 3:24 am

Once you take a look at the pics of the W205, you wouldn’t want the W204 anymore….it was the same case for the E90 when the F30 came out.

As for the Audi A4, that was my second choice after the F30 but I picked the F30 because of the rear passenger space. The A4 is cramp especially behind.

The 316i certainly lacked features like keyless entry and adaptive dampers but those are stuff I can live without and their after sales is worse compared to BMW or Mercedes.

• beemerF10 on Jan 07, 2014 at 1:46 pm

BMW Owner, what were, and are your problems with the F30? I have driven the past and currently with the F10 5 series. In my family, we had the previous E46 and E90 3 series and also the Z4. Except for the ‘famous’ rattling sound for the M sport E90, I experienced no unusual problem from them. I do not think BMW is any worse off compared to Mercedes Benz as I too, have owned and driven all three previous generations of E Class.

• seancorr on Jan 07, 2014 at 6:39 pm

I believe BMW Owner got the first batch of F30s where there were a lot of QC issues. The ones made later in 2013 are much better now.

• BMW Owner on Jan 09, 2014 at 2:38 pm

Yes, my car made on Nov 2012 and register Jan 2013. Not sure which batch.

Just want to inform all of you that BMW product and their service center is not good.

Please refer to comments from Fredo on Jan 09, 2014 at 12:20 pm. The comments as below:-

1. Wind noise / tire noise
          2. Steering rack knocking sound
          3. Rusted front seat frames
          others issue while also exist but i believe its an isolated cases such as intermitted LCD display error, water ingress etc.
          mine got all above 3 issues initially, fixed no.2 under warranty, learn to live with #1 which i dun really bother now and plan to solve (change seat frames) under warranty too soon.

Other than that are:
          1) Signal Problem
          2) Rear Sun Shade no function
          3) Boot cannot open
          4) Rear windows not function
          5) PDC problem
          6) Fuel meter not function

I cannot use my car about 8 weeks and they said that they do not know whats the problem. There said that “maybe problem with the system”. BMW SC do not followup and try to resolve the problem.

Is this the correct BMW Service Center??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
      • disgruntledBMWowner on Jan 09, 2014 at 10:58 am

Have you bought a new MERC? stop trying to defend the resale of the BMW u bought. A fact is a fact. BMW quality is poor and their after sales service is even worse. Plus warranty 2 years only. hahaha what a joke. I also lost alot of monew on my F series BMW due to poor RV. Damm hard to sell. Took me forever to find buyer untill i throw the price to really low

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
        • bimmerfan on Jan 09, 2014 at 1:34 pm

disgruntledBMWowner, I do not worry about the RV of the cars I purchased and sold in the past, present and future. I do remember I lost a fair bit when I sold them, BMW and Merc alike. A car is not an investment, you need to understand that. If it makes you feel better, wait for the pre reg cars, they easily sell for 8% less so you do not lose that much when it comes to selling.

• disgruntledBMWowner on Jan 09, 2014 at 3:11 pm

I think u dont understand my point. When one already expects a poor RV when purchasing, don’t u think its fair that they pay for what they get. Only fools like u pay to be fooled. Not sure about u butI dont mind throwing money for good pleasurable stuff. I get irritated to be treated like a fool. Maybe u enjoy it Bimmerfan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • Fredo on Jan 09, 2014 at 12:20 pm

These are some common issues with F30:
        1. Wind noise / tire noise
        2. Steering rack knocking sound
        3. Rusted front seat frames
        others issue while also exist but i believe its an isolated cases such as intermitted LCD display error, water ingress etc.
        mine got all above 3 issues initially, fixed no.2 under warranty, learn to live with #1 which i dun really bother now and plan to solve (change seat frames) under warranty too soon.
        the car meets most of my requirements compared to the other 2 candidates A4 1.8T and Golf GTI

• BMW Owner on Jan 09, 2014 at 2:46 pm

My fren has bought C200 early 2013 same as my time. He said that Merz service center are very professional.

Any problem, they will entertain you and try to resolve, give explanation and also give loan car for customer who got problem and has to leave their car at service center.

beemerF10, i know that your car also got problem but you do not tell us the true story…

Please be honest..

• disgruntledBMWowner on Jan 09, 2014 at 3:21 pm

Best car for the price is still Porsche.. worth every cents

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • white rose on Sep 19, 2014 at 1:24 pm

Tq for your honest input. It helps new buyer like me in deciding which is the best vehicle to invest without any future regret.

• Great review. Fully agree on your rant on the absence of keyless entry, but I thought the auto start/stop here worked a lot better than the 320i, 328i, and especially 320d.

• seancorr on Jan 07, 2014 at 6:42 pm

Auto Start Stop is harsh comparing to Audi and Mercedes. I’d also agree that keyless entry should be made as standard equipment for cars at this range. The Audi A4 has it now but BMW’s main rival the Mercedes C Class doesn’t have keyless entry either and I hope the next generation C Class will have it in order to pressure BMW to make it standard.

• BMW Owner on Jan 07, 2014 at 1:16 am

Having BMW is a nightmare…do not buy BMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 38
  • Jonathan Lee on Jan 07, 2014 at 4:40 am

Knocking points off for having to press a button on your key to unlock your doors? Really? At this price range in a BMW 3 Series you would’ve been lucky to have doors you didn’t have to physically unlock with your key.

I would’ve preferred if they removed some of the kit (leather electric seats are really unnecessary in my opinion, and who really uses the ConnectedDrive stuff?) and used the more powerful version of the engine instead. Right now at this price point it’s too little for too much. The Camry, Accord and Mazda6 all have a lot more power for quite a lot less even at their most expensive trim levels (over forty grand less in the case of the Accord). And since 134 bhp isn’t going to be enough to break traction, you might as well go for a good-handling front-wheel drive car instead, such as the 6.

• having a more powerful engine defeats the purpose of the 316i. The 320i is for ppl who want more power. The 316i is for badge snobs …period. Its perfect for its target market, leather is needed to show off to camry owners, mana boleh fabric seats in a BMW :)btw, i was in Quill BMW a few weeks ago, the SC said 316i is currently the best selling model of 3 series

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
      • Jonathan Lee on Jan 07, 2014 at 2:48 pm

I’m not surprised, really. Us Malaysians prefer to look at the fancy stuff on the spec sheet rather than the bit that does matter.

• guest on Jan 07, 2014 at 10:16 pm

You’re actually contradicting yourself here by saying “Malaysians prefer to look at the fancy stuff on the spec sheet rather than the bit that does matter” and then “134 bhp isn’t going to be enough to break traction”. You read too much into the spec sheet. Horsepower isnt the thing that matters when it comes to a car’s drivability/practicality, it’s the torque. It’s not like you constantly drive at 6500rpm to take advantage of the max horsepower figure.

Personally, I’d prefer higher torque at lower rpm character of turbocharged engines than optimal torque at higher rpm of NA engines. Besides, the 316i has an 8 speed gearbox so you can stay within the optimal torque range at various speed

• Jonathan Lee on Jan 10, 2014 at 12:15 am

By fancy stuff, I meant stuff like xenon headlights, leather seats and the like. If they removed some of the non-essential kit they could’ve upgraded this model to a 320i EfficientDynamics Edition, since it’s basically the same engine with a chip upgrade.

I’m not sure what you mean about NA engines, since the entire 3 Series lineup is turbocharged. In the case of the 320i EDE it’s an extra 30 bhp and 30 Nm, all available low down.

• seancorr on Jan 14, 2014 at 3:43 am

I can’t comment for other people but when I bought this car it must have stuff like electronic leather seats and xenon lights otherwise it wouldn’t be a premium car.

Honestly BMW does lack features like adaptive xenon lights (Audi and Mercedes have it as standard), keyless entry and adaptive dampers and these will be on the list of my next car so if BMW does not include it then its sayonara from me to them. After all to me its all about the features and not much on the brand. May the best model win.

The engine of the 316i is also sufficient in the city where I live but if I were to travel on the highway most of the time I would be looking at the 320i or 328i for its power.

• fatchicken on Jan 07, 2014 at 11:19 am

bmw is not about good handling my lord…it’s the dream to fly!

• Good one Tony. So will we see the “resident 3er” in one of these soon? :)

• Does this variant come with DRL like the other variants?

• Jonathan Lee on Jan 10, 2014 at 2:19 pm

Yes. It has the same bi-xenon headlamps as the other variants in the range, so it has the same “eyebrow” and “corona ring” DRLs.

• meejawa on Jan 07, 2014 at 9:05 am

Gosh..why is paultan.org writers sound like they are trying so hard, too hard at most times, to noy write normal? I’ve felt like I’m in a speech hall where speakers do their utmost to slot in bombastic words, past participle sentences, while at times trying so much til it feels like I’m reading this at an english tea session with the writer. Trying to impress..and no longer can I get a straight to the point, light and easygoing review..sigh..but no doubt still one of the most up to date websites around…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 5
    • Yeah somehow i find this article trying so hard to impress his queen england vocabulary.

Dude, this is malaysia not some high nose queen society. Sam Loo is having migraine trying to decipher what you have wrote.

More plain english please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
      • The other side on Jan 08, 2014 at 12:19 pm

Here’s a different point of view. Have you guys considered the possibility that it is not him trying too hard but rather your poor command of the language that is causing you to struggle? Could the solution be you striving to improve your English instead of asking him to dumb it down for you?

This is a very common attitude we have in Malaysia to our own detriment. If it is too bombastic or difficult, the first reaction is seldom “I see this as an opportunity for me to improve myself” but rather “please dumb it down for me”. Same phenomenon as what we have been doing with our English and Maths over the past decade in our schools. Look where that has gotten our education system.

Even if Anthony dumbs it down for you, do you think the world will? You will just end up getting left further and further behind…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 8
        • summicron on Jan 09, 2014 at 11:23 pm

I don’t anyone is telling Anthony to ‘dumb it down’. But rather don’t get carried away with excess of words.

• using plain english is the preferred way now, as even in legal circles where lawyers tend to use ancient and complex language, there’s a movement to simplify things by using plain english.

It has nothing to do about dumbing it down for the audience, but rather making it easier for the audience to understand.

Cheers

• screw u guys. im buying this if after the ‘tak laku’ discount, the price goes down to RM180k

lol.not! MB for life!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • am i the only one who thinks that this 316i is supposed to be alot cheaper than the price suggests? especially in a CKD form. Anyway, just to let you all know that Msian CKD units are nowhere near a CBU unit in terms of built quality

• heybadigol on Jan 07, 2014 at 10:09 am

Finally a review of the entry level 3 series. Considering the price, its pretty good value for money, as you still get the 8 speeder, the i-drive, the ecopro/sport mode (though no sport plus). No mention of airbag count though.

Of course if one compares to the Mazda 6, the 6 is slightly cheaper and has a lot more interior space, not to mention has better ride. But it does not have the handling of the 3 series, not even close I think. So yes its the badge, but it also adds on the sweet handling, which you will never get with other premium cars at the price range. The similarly priced A class’ FWD architure cant match the 3 series, and the A Class ride is even harder. Don’t bother comparing to VW, cos they make people car, not premium car. And most importantly, if you are a guy, this car will get you the chicks! Hahah. No offence to the ladies reading. 3 series is the ultimate yuppie mobile (you wont feel ashamed to give it to the valet parker) and chick magnate. But if you married with kids, dont fool yourself. Just save money and buy an Accord. And spend the extra money saved for the kids education or a nice hifi set for yourself. Life is not just about cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 4
    • amirad on Jan 08, 2014 at 8:40 am

That’s the typical scenario. Once married with kids, that’s it no more driving satisfaction for you. Buy a plain Toyota or Honda for your daily transport and invest in kids education and your retirement. Maybe once your kids have graduated and earn their own living, then that would the time for you to enjoy your ride. By that time, I will be 60 years old and at that age handling cars will no longer appeal to me. So … live the moment or live for the future. My hifi separates which I bought during college years in 1990 still sounds great and yes I’m driving a Toyota.

• disgruntledBMWowner on Jan 09, 2014 at 4:04 pm

Really ah heybandigol? After driving BMW, I nearly got a divorced and I am attracting guys instead…

• astroboy on Jan 07, 2014 at 10:41 am

Find me another 1.6L 4-door sedan with balance chassis weight distribution, then we talk. The car is designed with balance weight distribution in mind, which to my surprise totally left out by the author. The small engine is to make the car affordable. Do you all know the entry level 3er is the best selling bread and butter of the entire BMW range? I think it’s a brilliant move. You want classy interior, get the C. You want sophisticated FWD, get the A4. You enjoy driving, appreciate how well the car behaves in every turns; a steering, seat and suspension with feedback, the competition is not even close.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • Article in paultan is getting longer and longer… often I have this “So what is your conclusion?”. Can the review be more straight forward and straight to the point please? I’m sorry for being a hater :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • holofanboi on Jan 07, 2014 at 2:12 pm

Then you are not the target reader for this particular brand. Is it REALLY that hard to read between the lines? The sarcasm in his words are obvious enough so please, stop skimming through whatever you read -_-

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • It seems good to get this car for city use and for those that do not need to extra torque or power. I would say this car is good enough for its handling and comfort. The missing keyless entry and power are not that important for daily use.

• amirad on Jan 07, 2014 at 11:43 am

Let premium be premium. Heck. A RM200k car regardless of the specs will always be a premium car. The feeling of driving a premium German marque justify its cost.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • 1.6l BMW still look more macho than an uncle C class or a hairdresser A4.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
    • disgruntledBMWowner on Jan 09, 2014 at 9:47 pm

Name, thats what u think. everyone looks gay in a 316i and looks Beng when they rebadge. Either ways 316i owners are screwed. By the way as a reminder, its not a chick magnet. Its a cheap magnet

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • jeff wong on Jan 07, 2014 at 1:07 pm

All bcos of old man we need to pay cheap 316i with a premium!

• Unforgiven on Jan 08, 2014 at 8:41 am

I wonder where is the hell for him? Why the rakyat still paying for the high car prices?

• blacktezza on Jan 07, 2014 at 2:53 pm

why buy a bmw if you can’t afford one? i don’t understand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • A330-300 on Jan 07, 2014 at 4:47 pm

Badge snob.

• e36 318i is far from being a slug. The E34 520i…..now, thats THE SLUG that drinks like a fish too! A 2.0 with a 1.6 power and drinks like a 3.0 in a 1.5t body.

• BMWShouldBeTakingNote on Jan 07, 2014 at 8:52 pm

Honestly, BMW should stop making sub-standard 3 series masquerading as luxury sedan.

The wind-noise is atrocious. This could only meant that there’s very little noise insulation from the glass panels. And these are stupid compromises that in the long run would only tarnish the BMW brand as a whole.

As it stands, if you need to get a properly NVH insulated 3 series, you have to go all the way to the 328i (I doubt that the 320i/d has properly insulated window panels (double pane?) due to the cost and weight).

And most people do not know what they are buying into. No lumbar support (standard in Audi or even Volvo), no adaptive damper (standard in A4), no HUD (standard in Peugeot of all things), you are really not getting much in the 316 or the 320. To get all these, you will need to go all out for the 328i (and not just plain vanilla trim, but the M-sport!)

Really, until BMW stop packaging standard fare like damper, HUD and lumbar support into their top trim and make them standard, they will continue to lose market share. And if they continue to insist on selling cheap knock off like the 316i masquerading them as value for money, they would only hurt the brand.

Please start listening to your customer. Maybe you could start to win some of us folks whom are now considering the GLA, A4 and the C-class.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 13
    • Turboman on Nov 09, 2015 at 7:24 pm

My problem with my e90 has been the interior. creaking, rattling, fix one, out come another type of problem.

In short, never ending “mouse chase” that shouldn’t happen on a “luxury” car. Or simply a car masquerading as one.

• Jonathan, get your sh!t together and write with normal English. This isn’t England.

• And by Jonathan, I mean Anthony. lol

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Jan 08, 2014 at 10:48 am

Gary, too old for new tricks, or to go pidgin. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
    • The other side on Jan 08, 2014 at 12:21 pm

Mentioned this to 2 other guys earlier in the thread Gary. You should chew on this too…

Here’s a different point of view. Have you guys considered the possibility that it is not him trying too hard but rather your poor command of the language that is causing you to struggle? Could the solution be you striving to improve your English instead of asking him to dumb it down for you?

This is a very common attitude we have in Malaysia to our own detriment. If it is too bombastic or difficult, the first reaction is seldom “I see this as an opportunity for me to improve myself” but rather “please dumb it down for me”. Same phenomenon as what we have been doing with our English and Maths over the past decade in our schools. Look where that has gotten our education system.

Even if Anthony dumbs it down for you, do you think the world will? You will just end up getting left further and further behind…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
      • The other side, if you put it that way, it seems legit too. Please do kindly ready all these texts here for the any new upcoming articles which use bombastic English so you can teach those people a thing or two too and put them in their place, just like you did to me, oh superior one :)

Anthony, please don’t dumb it down for us readers, if you have the time, we would be glad to attend your English night courses too. You are the best!

• The other side on Jan 08, 2014 at 7:26 pm

And that is why Malaysia continues to slip down the ladder of competitiveness with our neighbours. As everyone strives to continuously improve in this global world that we live in today, a big group of Malaysians continue to rest on their laurels and use sarcasm as a defense mechanism when this is pointed out to them.

Oh well, can’t save em all…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • cloudbuster on Jan 09, 2014 at 12:02 am

The 0-100km/h acceleration of this 1.6l car is faster than the new 2.5 Camry. It’s not a snail by any means unless we are comparing it to a faster BMW, Audi, VW, ..etc.

• disgruntledBMWowner on Jan 09, 2014 at 10:29 am

Just dispose off my 320i F30 but notice still got losers planning to jump in and get a 316i. Just stubborn and dont listen to peoples experience. If 320i is so bad quality, just imagine 316i. Anyway notice some losers rebadging a 316 i to 320/328i. same mentality like modifying modifying a wira into a lancer. No money dont buy and live within ur means la. Low class

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 16
    • BMW Owner on Jan 09, 2014 at 2:51 pm

I agree with you disgruntledBMWowner.

Just to inform all of you…BMW 316 is cheap car. Better go for Merz or Audi….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • Hi disgruntledBMWowner, just wondering what car u buy after disposing your 320i F30?

• disgruntledBMWowner on Jan 11, 2014 at 12:51 pm

Not yet buy. Looking around still. Using old spare cars. Most like a Merc or Porche after this. Definitely not a new BMW ever….

• Then you must wait for the coming W205 C-Class as it is the most technological up to date sport sedan now.

• kl fella on Feb 10, 2014 at 8:11 pm

the c class have been upgraded to a higher level than before. the replacement model for the old c class will be the CLA.

• Archangel on Jan 10, 2014 at 12:28 am

Nice review.

• shoku on Jan 10, 2014 at 3:35 pm

the engine output is comparable to cfe.

• BMW Owner on Jan 10, 2014 at 4:32 pm

Copy & Paste from Mr Chester Bone:-

BMW only interested in logging more sales….once you out your money down you are no longer a priority. No parts?????? How the heck did they assemble the cars and keep shipping them out from kulim then? Should they not give your defects priority in replacing them instead of building more new ones and shipping them out to chalk up sales? Food for thought

• bootupjoe on Jan 10, 2014 at 11:03 pm

I’ll prefer manual drive for this 1.6 model, less electronic control problem and fuel efficiency compare to auto drive….why no manual model ?

• Jonathan Lee on Jan 11, 2014 at 1:29 pm

The eight-speed auto is actually more fuel-efficient than the manual. Or so they say, anyway.

• Maserati on Jan 11, 2014 at 8:43 am

Sounds like I am reading an article on Harry Potter. The English is so England!

Well, some ppl might not like it ,but I say keep it up so that the english language can be improved in Malaysia.

At the moment, majority of Malaysians can’t speak proper English!

• Hugo Andore on Jan 11, 2014 at 11:45 am

So when one buys a “BMW” car, it is a mandatory thing to go for the model with the highest specs? The amount of ppl who bashed this entry level car continues to baffles me. Keep on whining. You simpletons looking down on prospective buyers just the same way Ferrari owners are looking down on you. This car ain’t created for you hypertune horsepower hungry rich playboys ok? (yea a powerful car on Malaysian roads that is) it’s for the moderate money conscious executives who wants to look good and feel good with his ride.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • disgruntledBMWowner on Jan 11, 2014 at 12:58 pm

If u listen to my advice and avoid BMW, I am indirectly helping the executives who wants to look good from being demoted to office boy and also save them from mental stress or high blood pressure

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
      • summicron on Jan 11, 2014 at 2:42 pm

Some prefer to go thru school-of-hard-knocks. But sekali kena, it’ll leave a mark I guarantee.

• Hugo Andore on Jan 11, 2014 at 3:31 pm

We appreciate your inputs on quality issues but not sure what do you mean by demoted to office boy, but it looks like you are one BMW owner who is a bit paranoid and overly concerned over your own social status as a BMW driver if 3 series becomes an affordable car to the masses. If you really want to become special, go buy a Bentley or Koenigsegg cause that’s what really separates you from rest of the crowd. Until then, stop making pompous comments here just because you are driving a “higher spec” 3 series.

• BMWShouldBeTakingNote on Jan 13, 2014 at 1:44 pm

Dear Hugo Andore,

Since you’ve indicated that you valued input to BMW, I assume you represent BMW as a company. Because your attitude paints the exact picture I have with BMW Malaysia these day. Proud, hard on hearing and ignoring constructive feedback from your customer (not to mentioned calling them simpleton).

Why are you comparing BMW to Bentley? You should compare BMW to Audi or Mercedes (which by the way are making inroads in sale). What is it with you if BMW offers standard fare like adaptive damper as standard (like the rest of the industry) instead of bundling them into options? Do you think that people driving the 320/316 would not be clamoring for more standard features in their beloved sedan? Would you still adamantly drive your sub-standard 316i? For the price of a 316i, I would suggest you looked at better value for money out there like the VW. Also how about giving us 4 years warranty for a change like the Merc? What’s up with that?

BTW, I don’t drive a high spec BMW or a BMW. But I do not want to associate myself to the brand if it meant being associated with people like you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
          • Hugo Andore on Jan 13, 2014 at 10:46 pm

First and foremost, I’m not a beemer owner and secondly my paycheck has nothing to do with BMW at all.

If you have a beef with BMW cars, be it a quality issue or their pricey services, fair enough, lodge your own complaint towards the manufacturers there’s no need to bash other people, calling people “low class” and make all the sorts of disparaging remarks. If you really want to share your bad exp with beemers, be respectful towards others who has purchased this car. This is call manners, maybe something you are lacking off.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
        • BMWShouldBeTakingNote on Jan 14, 2014 at 9:48 am

@Hugo Andore

Well it’s very astute of you to take BMW’s input when you are not from BMW.

So why don’t you keep your opinion to yourself and stop calling other people a simpleton. For the record, you are the one that disparages others, there was no single mention in the entire comment thread on calling other forumer “low class” as you’ve implied. There were however many comments that the product was “low class” as concurred by many owners. I among others feel that this is unacceptable, but you feel that we are “Simpleton”.

So please learn to read and follow net etiquette and stop being a dick.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
          • Hugo Andore on Jan 27, 2014 at 6:10 pm

Learn how to read before commenting. For someone who drives a beemer, i expect more intelligence and ‘class’ from you.

disgruntledBMWowner on Jan 09, 2014 at 10:29 am
            Just dispose off my 320i F30 but notice still got losers planning to jump in and get a 316i. Just stubborn and dont listen to peoples experience. If 320i is so bad quality, just imagine 316i. Anyway notice some losers rebadging a 316 i to 320/328i. same mentality like modifying modifying a wira into a lancer. No money dont buy and live within ur means la. Low class

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • kweiseen on Jan 11, 2014 at 5:42 pm

I’m a brand new owner of the 316, I manage 14 sen per litre which I think is comparable to hybrid durin eco mode. Suitable for city drive with parking lots getting smaller. Torque wise, not much of a difference with 320. Being a slow driver, not problem with it.

• Richard on Jan 13, 2014 at 8:39 pm

My 316’s FC is about 8.8l/100km and I am driving in KL’s peak hour traffic 5 days a week. Quite decent in my books.

• from the comment i see here means that Proton is the not problematic car in the world so far. even BMW got their major problem ermm… finally to proton basher pls stop bashing others carmakers!!

• F30 owner out there, put aside the power, let’s talk about comfort, is it worst than Camry or Accord? where should it be? between Camry and accord or between myvi and vios? haha… I said only in term of comfort ya, cause heard a lot -ve comments on the noisy cabin and bumpy suspension… appreciate your input.

• If u have gone close to both the 316i and 320i, there’s a significant difference u will first come to notice is when one opening & closing the door. Door cushioning is really bad on the 316i instantly having the feeling of cheapness IMHO.

• Huzaifah on Oct 10, 2014 at 12:28 pm

Based on your comments above, I’m cancel to buy BMW. TQ..

• I love my 328i… every single effing day…

• luckily i drive a honda… keke