2014 Honda City launched in India – new details

honda-city-2014-0003

After a world premiere in November last year, the new 2014 Honda City has officially been launched in the Indian market. Two engines are available in India – a 1.5 litre i-VTEC petrol as well as a 1.5 litre i-DTEC turbodiesel. The petrol unit now uses a CVT gearbox with paddle shifters instead of a five-speed auto, and can also be had with a five-speed manual. The diesel engine, meanwhile, is mated to a six-speed manual.

The 1.5 litre i-DTEC engine has plenty of torque – 200 Nm at just 1,750 rpm, with a peak output of 100 PS at 3,600 rpm. That’s more torque than a Honda Civic 2.0. We managed to try the diesel on a Brio Amaze mule back in late 2012, but there’s probably no chance for the i-DTEC to make it to the Malaysian market, so let’s take a closer look at the 1.5 i-VTEC.

honda-city-2014-0014

The new City’s 1.5 litre i-VTEC engine produces 119 PS at 6,600 rpm and 145 Nm of torque at 4,600 rpm. This is 1 PS less than the engine in the current City sold in Malaysia, as well as the same peak torque, but the full 145 Nm kicks in 200 rpm earlier.

Improvements to the petrol engine include a tweaked i-VTEC system, friction reduction (low tension oil seal, zigzag piston pattern coating), fuel consumption (exhaust gas recirculation EGR, valve timing, double needle plug) and weight reduction via an integrated resin intake manifold.

honda-city-2014-0076

Measuring 4,440 mm long, the 2014 Honda City is just 25 mm longer than the current car but the new wheelbase length of 2,600 mm is a significant 50 mm more, which means that overhangs have been minimised. The longer wheelbase (which matches the Nissan Almera’s) translates into greater interior space, which now includes rear air con vents.

The longer platform rides on MacPherson struts at the front and a H-shaped torsion beam at the rear. Steering is via an EPS system. The car has the option for ABS brakes and the airbag count maxes at two for the highest spec car, but unfortunately none of the Indian spec cars will get stability control.

honda-city-2014-0066

Will Honda Malaysia offer VSA stability control on all variants of the City here? This important safety feature is available on the E and E+ variants of the current-generation City – a one-up on that would be great!

The new car was developed at the Honda R&D Centre in Tochigi following extensive market surveys in India, ASEAN countries, as well as other markets. It will be sold in 60 markets, with India being the first. From what we’ve heard at last year’s Tokyo Motor Show, it will also go on sale in Japan with a hybrid engine.

honda-city-2014-0037

Since the diesel engine is the more important one for India, deliveries for that model will start immediately, with the i-VTEC version of the car to come in February.

Enjoy the videos and mega gallery including live photos from today’s launch as well as the world premiere in November last year, thanks to Shrawan from IAB.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• city sifir on Jan 07, 2014 at 9:49 pm

Not so good..current city is better.sorry,no to this city.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 73
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jan 08, 2014 at 9:25 am

This car has low RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 57
      • SamShowedMetheHilux on Jan 08, 2014 at 10:33 am

Indonesia and Thailand sell this car at RM70,000. But Malaysia sell at RM95,000.

Got logic?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 8
        • selling expensive is one thing. here they even taken out d digital temperature control, just like vios (also taken out), while almera hav to pay full spec only got it.
          d dashboard is so big but d digital player is so damn small…..
          i bet honda msia wil giv u 5 speed auto as they wil say CVT r troublesome n lots defect…….honda is good, but honda msia sucks money.
          anyway, i like this new speed meter. looks nice.

• alldisc on Jan 08, 2014 at 12:25 pm

its not really low, but its not as strong as 10 years ago. the difference between city & vios (bot B segment) is not much.

lets say a 3 years old vios has 73% value retained over 3 years, a city of similar age and price maybe 69-70% retained. the reason is used market demand itself, which the government can never has control on.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jan 08, 2014 at 9:29 am

Look at the Accord owners, all lost RV after the Perdana Accord came out. Don’t be fooled, it is for Gomen use now, but it will be for the public eventually!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 45
      • who got fooled? we all know the perdana will sell on market next year after Proton finish adjustment.

• y u say that? when the new perdana accord is not in the market for consumer now? suppose it drop when consumer version is out not before…..

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jan 08, 2014 at 2:15 pm

kzm, you are not only racist but naïve. The car was planned for the public but after kena kutuk online to the max, they shelve the plan. No car company will risk the time and effort to allow a gomen to rebrand just 3000 cars of theirs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
          • Apart from all Design and RV comments, I’ve to said – at least Honda do developed an innovative Engine and proved that how serious are they in Automotive industry.
            Toyota? selling decades old engine and just care about profit nor innovative!

• better wait for awhile before buying. Don’t want it later become proton city.

• Sam Loo on Jan 08, 2014 at 5:47 pm

SamShowedMeTheHilux will only talk about his experience being shown the Hilux and how great it is moving into the used Hyundai trading biz.

Think I might give him a free trip to Bangkok on top of his CNY bonus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
        • SamToyotaSalesMan on Jan 08, 2014 at 10:19 pm

Pity toyota sales man got such a lousy bonus. Sales is bad……we understand. Furthermore, as a JUNIOR sales man yourself, please dont lend money from bank to sponsor the bangkok trip.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
        • Stevensai on Jan 09, 2014 at 9:29 pm

Never know sales man can affords to give bonus to another sales man.

• Peter on Jan 08, 2014 at 10:57 am

Not to defame, but I really feel the design of Japanese (domestic) cars are getting uglier nowadays. They all following trends where adding excessive sharper curve to the bumper design in Toyota, Nissan (Almera)… and now Honda. You can note these in the bumper of latest Jap car especially Toyota (i.e Prius, Camry). This trends spread like a plague. I think they look nicer on paper rather than reality. For exp, I think outgoing gen of Camry looks better than the current one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
      • Low Budget on Jan 08, 2014 at 12:58 pm

You must be an old man who does not appreciate sexy curves.

• Tree Hugger on Jan 08, 2014 at 11:39 pm

Agreed the design is getting uglier. Something about the lines, shapes or proportion is not right. The funny thing is a car design must have gone through several layers of review how come all the people involved in there could approve this design? First its the Civic that took the wrong turn now the City suffers from the same thing. Must have been the same designer and approver. So sad.

• AutoFrenz on Jan 08, 2014 at 1:54 pm

Agree…current city looks better…the design should evolve just like new vios not remain static…

• they are really running out of ideas on the design.

• 3-series tail light.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 5
  • am i having not enough sleep??….. why the front… looks so indian to me…. =.=

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 61
    • Salah on Jan 08, 2014 at 10:40 am

Looks Chinese to me. Flat nose!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
    • ABTguy on Jan 08, 2014 at 11:17 am

Indian look ?

To me this look better than Chinese Ah Pek Camry look and Persona infamous Malay “wau” look leh.

Thumb up !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 21
  • E-honda on Jan 07, 2014 at 10:04 pm

Yes!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
  • Denaihati on Jan 07, 2014 at 10:10 pm

very impressive torque for 1.5L i-DTEC engine – 200 Nm. 1.5L i-DTEC. but for 1.5L i-VTEC gearbox back to CVT, hope better and reliable than previous version CVT so many complain. exterior design look like not much different tha existing model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
  • The front looks like an ugly woman trying to smile. The design just doesn’t looks right. Sorry but my vote goes to Vios for this round.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 51
    • avexnt on Jan 07, 2014 at 10:46 pm

3rd Gen Jazz already screwed up.Ugly body compared to 2nd gen model.Now the poor city also same issue.A big no to these models for now.Wait for facelift model or next generation models after 5 yrs better.Honda cars are very Sad to look at currently.Hell current civic also ugly compared to my old fd2 civic.even mr Harvinder Singh from Driven also dun really liked the current civic.Honda designers now taking break sleeping in office for now.LOL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 8
  • khairulx19a on Jan 07, 2014 at 10:22 pm

will sell like goreng pisang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 33
    • exFD2 on Jan 08, 2014 at 12:49 am

Trust this pisang goreng H will look at how stall pisang goreng T sells despite of everyone dislike T’s franchise agent – UMx who use bad bananas, poor oil & services with high price..so this round, money goes to pocket UMx, D Segment $$ will go to DRb…

• damn ugly design

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 16
  • Its Really A Horrible Looking Car. Looks China Like CopyRight !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 12
  • Sorry to say this….
    It is truly ugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 9
  • policeman on Jan 07, 2014 at 10:39 pm

I’m undecided. The earlier set of photos the car looked good. But today’s set not so much.

There is some resemblance to the previous gen City.

• spongewai on Jan 07, 2014 at 10:39 pm

to me i prefer 3rd gen and 2nd gen Honda City instead of new 4th gen… but wait for 4th gen ASEAN Honda City which unveiled in Thai in March

• the car already look dated even before its launch

• So the car that I come to love and trust now have a CVT…NO!!!!!!

Okay, as far as looks go, the rear looks better than the current but the front….is rather dissapointing, the wheels looks disproportionately small. But the interior is something that I will openly welcome from the old car, it looks more modern and the cluster more premium. Honda seems to love the touch aircond as it looks like its standard throughout …and the rear aircond vents!!. And as for safety, I do believe that we get VSC, weather standard on both spec I am not sure, but given that the Jazz CKD has it, I am optimistic about it. Sadly I can’t share the same view about the airbag count.

Now back to the powertrain….ahem…CVT! NOOO!!!!!! One of the few things I like about the city is that it still can wrestle with B-roads with paddle-shift. Thou I welcome the earlier torque grunt, but I do not like CVT at the slightest. The current car is by all means, a very effective highway cruiser with its long gearing, so I do hope we get a 5-speed box back, it happen with the Accord, so I am hoping here as well.

On my chat with some guys at Honda, the launch date for this car is on March.

• John Tan on Jan 08, 2014 at 4:16 pm

Your comment has been spot on. The front grille is a fail product, barring the one shown on the 1st picture which I think its a modulo version. Cvt is another disappointment. Especially for those people who loves driving. The rest are having some slight improvement. All and all, I feel the current version in msia is a better car

• I can’t really say weather it will be better than the current car as I judge it local spec versus local spec and we havn’t had any news on the new one’s. But compare our current City E+ vs India NEW city petrol, we have a better deal here considering VSC and 5 speeder. I still do hope that we don’t get a CVT, but given that india and ASEAN shares many parts with each other, looks like I am loosing optimism on that matter. The interior personally is an upgrade, it looks more premium and bigger and couple with a rear seat vents its definitely a better car from there.

exterior styling? when the current city came out, it blew everyone with that wild and mecha styling and still do today along with the FD Civic. It was well spec and was the most powerful and the most efficient and 3 years on with mine, still reliable. This just dosen’t do that, personally, it’s not really that bad looking from 3 quaters angle but they’ve lost the Wow factor. Maybe with an added projector lamp will help but as of now, with halogen lamps and disproportionately small wheels, I, a city fan, have to thumbs down.

Hoping the local specs will lift that mood.

• John Tan on Jan 11, 2014 at 1:24 pm

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10152113908231250&set=a.443740611249.220784.578661249&type=1&theater
          How bout this? For me this look is just so much better instead if the dull uncleish big chrome grille.

• GenXmotor on Jan 08, 2014 at 6:00 pm

I will buy if Honda Malaysia offer full spec with 6 speed manual gearbox!

• Wow, rear air cond vents? Superb… With CVT, FC should be comparable to Vios… Another good move from Honda..

If can maintain the current price (or slightly lower) in Malaysia with VSA, confirm tapao Vios..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
  • Osman Bakar on Jan 07, 2014 at 10:55 pm

Bila nak masuk Malaysia??? Mau booking ni…Better than New Vios,,,haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
  • hondaman on Jan 07, 2014 at 11:04 pm

i wonder why need 2 power sockets at the rear air cond vent? maybe for the kids to play their i pad…

• takin on Jan 07, 2014 at 11:12 pm

1 word. fugly

• roxas on Jan 07, 2014 at 11:16 pm

if this is ugly, thn the vios has no where to stand. the vios is far more ugly !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 6
  • people's choice on Jan 07, 2014 at 11:25 pm

this is what happens when ‘market survey’ is used to create a car. Not actual designers…

• Really ugly especially rear design. Ohh nooo.. Honda Malaysia going to take this as next gen City?

• good job honda. design sampah utk new owner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • anti body kit on Jan 07, 2014 at 11:33 pm

The design may look modern and aerodynamic for the Indians, but in Malaysia this design is quite normal. The body panel beaters will have problem repairing the side body which has the “longkang” starting from the rear light to the front door.

• BLT Club on Jan 07, 2014 at 11:38 pm

Wow, that is mind-bogglingly fugly. While the Koreans are improving, the Japanese are regressing. But then again, this is a car for emerging markets (read 3rd world). Sad that many Malaysians will spend their hard earned money on this.

• blublibla on Jan 08, 2014 at 11:15 am

READ. Designed in Japan and is going to be sold in Japan! Japansese just gettin’ worst at design

• The front does not look as aggressive as the rear which is nice and resembles bmw f30.

Anyway, why is it unlikely for the oil burner to reach our shore? Is it because of our low quality diesel?

• It is just a facelift, like the Vios, the main platform remains, and what the heck happens to Honda, there is absolutely no common design language for its Accord, Civic and City…seems like Vios sheds its soft image for more aggressive look, while City takes the opposite route..a truly ugly car

• Fidel Castro on Jan 07, 2014 at 11:47 pm

2 airbags no VSA?Typical Honda,cutting up the cost by compromising the consumers(third world countries!) safety. Even when we are already in 2014.Shocking.

• shawal on Jan 07, 2014 at 11:54 pm

the color, the rims , the unnecessary side lines , the front , the horror…

it’s just plain hideous to look at , why experiment when it was the looks that made the 3rd gen such a success..?

• Archangel on Jan 07, 2014 at 11:56 pm

The current facelift design looks more better than this new design.

• 1.5 hybrid for japan? Hope it makes it’s way into Malaysian soil too… I persume it will be the same engine with CRZ also?

• ray_of_hope on Jan 08, 2014 at 12:29 am

Why are Japanese cars getting uglier with each new generation? Their designers pinched by Korean makers?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • sivaji da boss on Jan 08, 2014 at 12:47 am

beribu ribu tahniah!!!

• sivaji da boss on Jan 08, 2014 at 12:54 am

jom beli

• Kepunden Parang Skeper on Jan 08, 2014 at 12:57 am

quite hideous frankly speaking..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • BrainlessSamHaiLat on Jan 08, 2014 at 1:07 am

An ugly BMW 3 series…oh wait, this is Honda 3 series

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 20
  • Nazeem on Jan 08, 2014 at 1:25 am

something wrong with the design. One word, Ugly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
  • seancorr on Jan 08, 2014 at 1:54 am

Looks weird but I think should look better in flesh and even more better with a body kit. Hope Honda has addressed the sluggish acceleration too.

Interior is an upgrade with notable features like keyless entry with push start, cruise control, shark fin antenna, hands free BT, auto AC with rear air vents and remote boot opening.

One thing that caught my eye is that the rear seats no longer fold down which is a letdown and the boot looks smaller than the current City.

All in all its a worthy upgrade comparing to the Vios which lacks many of this new City’s features.

• sl_tan on Jan 08, 2014 at 2:15 am

the design is too outdated .

i think of year 2000 car

year 2000 honda civic look better than this

• Kittfoxx on Jan 08, 2014 at 2:28 am

CVT?!!! That’s a step backwards..purists avoid

Design just looks wrong.. Kinda like the old “tadpole” city at the back mated with the current civic at the front, and a bit of the new Lexus RX “I have a toothache” front cheeks

• I dunno, the back is just not doing it for me. So is the front. And the interior color. And the rims. Yeah, that’s almost 80% of the car.

• pesona, preve world best handling small sedans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
  • NISSpengAN on Jan 08, 2014 at 6:11 am

My mighty Nissan Almera still better than city n vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 30
  • sudonano on Jan 08, 2014 at 7:08 am

Well I think it looks ok.

Not fantastic. Not hideous. Just ok.

But CVT I really hope doesn’t make it. Not a big fan of it.

And I would reckon that VSA will make it on all Malaysian models, considering the cheaper Jazz has it as a standard feature.

• EnergyAnalyst on Jan 08, 2014 at 7:10 am

With wheelbase of 2600 mm, this new city is one of the more spacious segment b sedan compare to Vios, polo sedan, ford fiesta sedan, and many other contenders , that alone could give it an advantage over the others, some may regard it as one of the redeeming factor at least?!

• motorhead on Jan 08, 2014 at 7:41 am

Keep the current design here. Current design looks better. Macho.. Masculine.

• gOOsh on Jan 08, 2014 at 8:17 am

yes… i’ve to admit… the design is not really good, especially the front end…

• no name on Jan 08, 2014 at 8:37 am

Quite surprise that many commment bout the design of the car… I still prefer this city which comes with refinement of engine, new gear box, additional features, paddle shift, etc. Compare vios which is totally under spec car, only people who dont love their life will buy that no safety vios with old technology…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
  • Agreed with ALL OF YOU….>>>>>ITS DAMN UGLY<<<<<

• improvement mostly on the interior. much more kits in th list compare to vios.

• The rear is seriously hideous!!! Nice touch on the aircond controls & display though.

• Potong on Jan 08, 2014 at 9:09 am

This car going to be rebadged in 2019 as Proton Preve

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • Maserati on Jan 08, 2014 at 9:12 am

As usual, everyone will say this car is ugly b4 launch , but as usual it will look better as time goes by.

Take the current civic for eg, ppl said it was so damn ugly . But look at it now, it looks great on the road.

Unlike Korean cars which look “good” in adverts but the looks dont last even half a year. Look at the elantra, looks terribly boring now.

Kia k5? Such a normal looking car now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 11
    • 4G63T DSM on Jan 08, 2014 at 9:38 am

erm… say wut?

First gen City – Still ugly. So no, it doesn’t get prettier. You just come to terms with it that you have bought an ugly car.

I wouldn’t call the current Civic ugly, but a it is bland and lacked the visual character of its predecessor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
    • kolejeon on Jan 08, 2014 at 9:43 am

I believe the car will look good in metal compared to this pic. Just like civic FB.

• sam69 on Jan 08, 2014 at 10:09 am

That what I said, after buying the K5, I really felt like a sorhai tai lan ngong

• wah…the back looks like a F30 baby beemer… in sync with the theme that the last one looks like an pre facelift e90

• Its obvious guys, that’s how japanese design moves. Look at the current camry’s. Look at the previous Vios. It’s push and pull.

• KyGor on Jan 08, 2014 at 9:40 am

the car back design is better than vios , but the front design vios is > then new city

• edcauto on Jan 08, 2014 at 9:44 am

the rear looks ok,the front (look) i really cannot accept lorrrr….Vios looks 10times nicer than this,and should hv better RV than this so called new car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • Wow… it seems like most of you guys know how to design a nice car….
    Almost B-C segments cars are ugly to u all…
    New City ugly, new Altis ugly, new vios ugly, new avanza ugly… new fiesta ugly, almera ugly, alza ugly, preve ugly, suprima ugly, and the most worst is… upcoming proton gsc not yet reveal its true identity already being say ugly… only korean cars are beautiful right? Lolx… but sad still ugly vios tapao all … haih…
    Design need inspiration and creative leh… not so easy to come out fresh and yet attractive design!
    As much as the specs and the safety and the car worth for what u paid for is satisfy already!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
  • myvitrd on Jan 08, 2014 at 10:13 am

Bila rasanya nak masuk malaysia ye.. mungkin kilang baru dekat melaka akan buat CKD n kasi harga murah dari harga City sekarang.. siapa tahu..

• sam69 on Jan 08, 2014 at 10:14 am

All I can say is that my face looks a lot uglier than before I bought my KIA, coz Sam has showed me both the Hilux and Broomstick.

Really jialat, can’t even get a trade in price.

I would rather have a City or Vios (2 segments down) and feel like a man driving a real car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • jik jag on Jan 08, 2014 at 10:16 am

still better than v.

• meejawa on Jan 08, 2014 at 10:19 am

A report which is direct and straight to the point. Good!

• F30 rear. Can change the logo.

• ahhh…thought it was better designed. I was wrong huh. Peugeot 208 my choice then :)

• one thing that really disappoints me about honda cars is that we cant change gears in semi auto mode from the gear lever..yea theres the paddleshifters but still…

• Peter on Jan 08, 2014 at 10:50 am

The new features touted on the engines, especially the mechanical one i.e common rail fuel injection, ECG, less-friction piston design are already implemented in Nissan HR15DE engines 3 years back in March, Sunny/Almera etc. Not so called the latest.

• Xplorer on Jan 08, 2014 at 10:52 am

CVT Gearbox?!? I though people trying to avoid the CVT gear box. I also worry for my current City 2006/07 using CVT but so far so good – just need to well maintain (on time change gear oil).

• Jebat on Jan 08, 2014 at 10:53 am

Preve is far more better than this…

Naa…just kidding.

• Is it me or did the wheel looks a bit small for this car?

• heybadigol on Jan 08, 2014 at 11:26 am

I believe (correct me if i’m wrong) that the City is Honda’s most important selling model in India, because the Civic above it is just too expensive for the average wage earning Indian. So Honda in India can fit it with all the bells and whistles. The City in the pix has rear ac vents. Not even the Malaysian Civic has rear AC vents, as only the Accord has it. So, when put in this context, I think when this City comes to Malaysia, it wont have everything you see in the Indian version. A lot of niceties will have been removed to keep cost down and profit high for HM. But happy to be proven wrong. Anyways, design wise, the City exterior isnt the most exciting thing to see. But its not ugly either. Just a typical safe & conservative styling. But the interior looks great. The shiny black bits (which came from the facelifted 9G US Civic) look cool, though I hope they are fingerprint resistant. The buttons & knobs surrounding the headunit screen looks really classy. Reminds me of a minimalist hifi amplifier.

• kanazai2001 on Jan 08, 2014 at 11:41 am

want manual 6sp… please

• benzs on Jan 08, 2014 at 12:05 pm

Another jap car without goodies introduce in Malaysia. Malaysian is still consider as nothing for them. Tough luck!

• Saga BeLum Masak on Jan 08, 2014 at 12:30 pm

Only if change the tyre to 215/50/17 j7 or 7.5 then the proportion will look nicer but… Sorry … not interested when the design made for India Market. Just like Suzuki D’zire. It seems funny..

• niterunner99 on Jan 08, 2014 at 12:44 pm

agree w Saga here…spend so much time & effort to make a new car BUT give it damn lousy wheels!!
    that’s not a way to reduce cost lah!

• AmneshRaion on Jan 08, 2014 at 1:02 pm

does this mean that our roadtax, if we purchase a city i-dtec will be diesel based pricing?

• try to look futuristic but kinda fail i think…sry honda…not my cup of tea

• Shaun on Jan 08, 2014 at 2:31 pm

-Spec and performance seems good
    -Exterior looks butt ugly
    -Interior is fine
    Few words about the look:
    Seems like the Engineers were forced by the Management to add some sexy curves or maybe asked to learn some new designs from Koreans and the Engineers say “ok, let’s through some curves on management’s face” and the result is new Honda City.

• totti on Jan 08, 2014 at 2:37 pm

The City interior will beat the Toyota Vios in term of :-

1) roomier space with 2600mm wheelbase.
    2) Aircon vent for rear passenger.
    3) higher middle console at hand brake area. (more premium feel)

As for the exterior is subjective.

• Motorhead on Jan 08, 2014 at 2:37 pm

Wow! Didn’t expect so many shallow Hals among couch potatoes critics. IMHO the landie defender is ugly but is loved globally. Beauty is only skin deep and only lies in the eyes of the beholder. It’s better to focus on the substance underneath the skin such as reliability comfort low emissions FC etc.After all most will have to live with the car for nine long years b4 parting way. The new city might not turn heads like a Ferrari. It’s a car made for 3rd world countries for the average joe to commute. That is exactly what this new city is all about eventhough others might fantasies it’s ass to be that of a Beemer. Welcome to the real world. It’s only a New Honda City and it’s honestly decent.

• AUSNSW on Jan 08, 2014 at 3:09 pm

It will just like its brother,Honda Civic.Honda Civic had facelift version just 1 year after launch globally.Such a joke.

• kadajawa on Jan 08, 2014 at 4:08 pm

Ladies and gentlemen, you’re looking at the new rebadge Saga 8 months from now…

• macha on Jan 08, 2014 at 5:30 pm

why i-DTEC diesel variant wont be introduce in Malaysia in future?

Wait for NAP announcement on 20 Jan, hope govt’s EEV plan can attract Honda to CKD diesel variant, qualify as “clean” diesel engine and enjoys attractive prices!

• sam69 on Jan 08, 2014 at 6:49 pm

Walau eh.

Listen to someone that has made the mistake buying a “high spec” kimchi.

All those accessories will mean nothing to the next car owner, especially with Korean cars, they will not last past 2 years.

Also, be prepared for hefty repair bills that are considered out of warranty.

The 5 year 100,000kms thingy is a hoax

• This car is ugly, but not all Japanese design are bad. Mazda look good !

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jan 08, 2014 at 9:29 pm

Another day busy like hell.

Kimchi after kimchis rolling into Sam’s yard. The boss left everything down to us to decide to accept or not, coz from now till mid Feb, there will be no shipments to Sri Lanka.

Came at a pretty awkward timing, CNY month, Corolla launching and now just a matter of months b4 the City launches as well

So the whole team here really pushed down the price of Elantra and Sonata like hell. Will look at the numbers tomorrow. Dem tired

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
  • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jan 08, 2014 at 11:02 pm

stupidCarl, what an intersting nick that matches your comments

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
    • stupidCarl on Jan 09, 2014 at 10:11 am

Thats the name for you that reflect how bodying you SAM family is, budak kecil where your comment come from your butt instead of your mouth. Pity UMW got such a junior but arrogant sales man. Thats why the sales is so bad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 33
    • SamLoo-the sales man on Jan 09, 2014 at 10:31 am

Dont bother the junior sales man, he is just a sales man that is so free at the empty showroom.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 32
  • Najib on Jan 09, 2014 at 12:48 pm

Salam 1 malaysia,give me 5 months,Proton city coming soon….

• joker on Feb 04, 2014 at 10:03 pm

kereta bagus tapi jalan kat malaysia macam haramjadah….dah jalan sempit berlubang mcm kawah gunung berapi….