2014 Toyota Corolla Altis Malaysian prices confirmed – 1.8 E RM114k, 2.0 G RM123k, 2.0 V RM136k

toyota-corolla-altis-2.0-v

UMW Toyota Motor has confirmed prices for the 2014 Toyota Corolla Altis ahead of the car’s local launch, which could happen very soon.

The 1.8 E is priced at RM114k, the 2.0 G at RM123k and the 2.0 V (pictured) at RM136k. Prices are individual, OTR with insurance for Peninsular Malaysia.

Surprisingly, there’s also a 2.0 V with an “Additional Safety Package” for RM139,900. It adds on extra airbags to make it seven in total (front, side, curtain, driver’s knee) and a passenger seat belt warning indicator (driver only for 2.0 V). VSC is standard on the 2.0 V, while ISOFIX is available across the board.

toyota-corolla-altis-2014-confirmed-price-list

The confirmed prices are respectively RM1,000, RM2,000 and RM1,000 lower across the range than the earlier estimated prices. See specs, equipment and more details here.

Individual prices in other regions are as follows: Sabah RM115,664, RM124,545 and RM137,497, Sarawak RM115,714, RM124,595 and RM137,547, Langkawi RM72,030, RM77,128 and RM85,425, Labuan RM72,961, RM78,007 and RM86,258.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• RUGAL on Jan 07, 2014 at 12:04 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 414 Thumb down 543
    • sam loo on Jan 07, 2014 at 12:35 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 410
      • anti toyota on Jan 07, 2014 at 8:33 pm

passengers life n safety is much much more valueable than the RV

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 4
        • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jan 08, 2014 at 9:53 am

Aiseh, so many fake Sam Loo around. Hello, I am the real Sam Loo. Last year, I got so fed up of fakes, that i created SamShowedMetheHilux to differentiate myself from all the fake Sam Loo’s. Now with the Gravatar, you know I am the Original

Okey, this is new year. It is my first post. Although I am Toyota’s No 1 salesman and even No 1 commentator in PaulTan, I have to admit one thing, all you Toyota buyers are being conned by UMW. This will affect my periuk nasi but facts are facts and I have to admit facts. I cannot go on seeing my customers being cheated by UMW at the expense of me getting more sales. I cannot tanggung the dosa anymore. I have to be fair to ALL Malaysians as well as ALL potential Toyota buyers. (Anyway, I am leaving UMW, got warning letters already because of my active postings in PT)

The fact that the Altis here got no VSC, all you guys are being cheated left right and center. This car is only USD$15,000 in the US. Some dealerships in US even sell this car giving discounts. You can get this car even at USD$12,000 (RM36,000). That also, you get pure CBU. Everything Made in Japan. Even Battery and Tayar also from Japan. Comes with more than 6 airbags and VSC and much more.

Here in Malaysia, the high end sold for RM140,000. Then you get the most needed VSC. The other models have NO VSC and it is as good as driving a machine that can guarantee your death.

Don’t believe how important VSC is? Go google PaulTan’s article about VSC and see the videos. Then you will know how UMW could not care a damn for your life despite paying RM140,000 for the car.

So, you figure out. Low specced and low safety Altis at RM140,000 that is 70% Made in Malaysia CKD vs High spec CBU JAPAN MADE Altis at RM36,000 with VSC and 6 airbags. See how much you are overpaying.

You don’t need a brain to know you kena tipu. Better just buy an Accord with VSC and more airbags for RM136,000 OTR. Proper D class Sedan.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 9
          • blublibla on Jan 08, 2014 at 11:17 am

Toyota salesman or not, you need to get your facts right. The US market Corolla is made in the US. While the Malaysian one is made in Thailand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
          • HeShowedMeTheAccordana on Jan 08, 2014 at 1:23 pm

okay. u r definitely the fake sam loo

lmfao. the sam loo we all know won’t say shit like this.

if u r leaving toyota. did paul offer u job in next driven video ?

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jan 08, 2014 at 2:23 pm

In Thailand Altis berlambak. From airport so many Altis waiting to take you to Bangkok. I ask taxi driver how much Altis in Bangkok, he said about RM75k and that also after Thailand gomen collect tax and duties.

Here RM140,000.

Undilah BN. Bijak betul.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 8
        • Sam Loo on Jan 08, 2014 at 1:57 pm

I only deal with used Hyundai

I seldom talk about sales of new Toyota, only ephasizing of its great resale value, lowest TCO.

Since now that I am now made famous by Danny Tan, those sorhai tai lan ngong kimchi owner wanna be me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • protonsucks on Jan 08, 2014 at 1:51 am

alamak, stop with the sam loo jokes la.. its boring already

• Sam Loo 2 on Jan 07, 2014 at 12:40 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 147
      • if I dun want resale the car, then I should choose bv lor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
      • why don feel pay higher price Opp think 5 year high RV whereby $ u recd aldy depreciate. Somemore, 5 yr on the road who (jap,korea,german,US, or proton (LOL)) is play as “big bro” uncertain

• No budget to get a conti. I think will settle for this car. Cerato? just no confident with Korean car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 114 Thumb down 104
      • korean cars may look interesting at first.
        but over time it just looks overdone

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 116 Thumb down 69
      • just top up another 4k and u get the jetta. u can get a conti if open ur eyes wider to the deals around.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 138 Thumb down 32
        • Carefree on Jan 07, 2014 at 3:10 pm

VW has loads of issues with build quality wor. Check out the forums and u will see. The dry sump dsg a lot of issue.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 67
          • mecha update, dsg oil update and sw updates are available from VW now. cars are being recalled to the sc to be updated with these 3 changes to resolve the issue. no worries mate!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 18
          • vwsuck on Jan 07, 2014 at 9:13 pm

What DSG?
            Drivetrain Selalu Gagal?

Wkakakakakakakakakakk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 68
          • Kimchi Rules on Jan 07, 2014 at 9:43 pm

10 years down the road, the VW Jetta will still be up and running. But your Toyota Corolla will be at a dump site rusting away.

Thats why in my home country (Korea), our car companies are learning from the success of German car companies like VW (a top seller in Korea and Japan) that makes desired cars that last, rather than commercial ones like the ones Japan has.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 19
          • Carefree on Jan 07, 2014 at 10:30 pm

Every update, reduce power of car. And after update, more issues. Also long waiting queue at sc. Overall reputation of VW is going down. Buyers beware.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 52
          • V VV Gagal on Jan 07, 2014 at 10:44 pm

More evidence…. not sure they are as reliable as we all think it is.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/motoring/news/9815860/German-cars-lose-out-in-reliability-survey.html

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 20
        • Maserati on Jan 08, 2014 at 9:16 am

Trust me, vW cars especially the 1.2 and 1.4 tsi models are a nightmare. Lotsa problems and take ages to fix.

Yes they come with a long warranty but whats the point when they take 6 mths to fix a gearbox issue.

Stick with Japs for a piece of mind

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 27
          • MaseratiCrap on Jan 08, 2014 at 10:35 am

Why should I trust you. Who are you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
          • TiuNiaSeng&Co on Jan 08, 2014 at 10:54 am

Telegraph? You trust that paper ah? Its just toilet roll in the UK. They can say all they like, but even in the UK, German cars have the highest resale value!

• Bob_B78 on Jan 08, 2014 at 11:35 am

Top up another 4k can get a jetta? U got check the price or not? Jetta currently selling 152K. OTR is close to 155K. That is like 15k difference.

• another failure guy. hey bob the builder, read my posting again. open your eyes wider. there’s this word called “discount” in the dictionary. pls look it up.

• Sam Loo on Jan 08, 2014 at 3:05 am

Get the 1 year old Celaka. Push hard and you can get it for around RM30k cash

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
    • from the price comparison bet peninsular n langkawi it look the car only tax about 58% not 80% for the 1.8L

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 8
    • Preve on Jan 07, 2014 at 1:01 pm

When Toyota launched the first gen Corolla Altis in 2002, they wanted to target the youngsters market by throwing in simple yet luxury design and giving Corolla a new name. In the end, more seniors citizen bought it instead.

In 2008, knowing that senior citizens have low visibility, Toyota was being dedicated by adding front parking sensors to avoid senior citizens crashing their cars onto the front curb while parking.

Now, Toyota realize that senior citizens are easily panicked by loud noises. Toyota decided to give 2 airbags instead of 7 airbags because when 7 airbags pop out at the same time the sound produce will be super loud.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 208 Thumb down 19
      • Low Budget on Jan 07, 2014 at 1:32 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 130
        • Low Budget! You really have a low budget mindset. What a dumb comment. Senior citizens are one of the richest community in town. They have lots from savings and they have funding from children, and they are spending heaps on health products.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 4
          • Non-car entusiasts are easy to con, either young or old. Just slap on T badge and it can sell like hotcakes, regardless its poor safety features or specs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
      • Miskin Fanboi on Jan 08, 2014 at 10:35 am

Preve is typical poor fella cannot afford to pay 10% downpayment Toyota car.

That’s why can only buy Proton full-loan 9 years zero deposit. Kesian loser.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
    • DonkeyKong on Jan 07, 2014 at 1:10 pm

Cerato and Elantra offer more value and specs than this. The specs are pretty lousy for the 1.8E and 2.0G variants, and for the price of the 2.0V you might as well go for an entry-level Accord 2.0 or any Korean D-segment car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 153 Thumb down 33
      • Sam Loo on Jan 07, 2014 at 7:05 pm

Can’t agree more.

1 year old Celaka and Elantra will be around RM30k & RM45k respectively.

That’s great value

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 35
    • Don’t put your Preve same level as other brands la. Your Preve should be lower.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 86
    • Sam Loo on Jan 07, 2014 at 2:41 pm

No Avatar means imposter

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 18
      • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jan 08, 2014 at 10:08 am

You are the imposter. Fake fella. Copy me. No back bone is it? I go on holiday, so fast you makan my life, my name, my identity. Next thing I know, you occupy my house also

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • Sam Loo on Jan 07, 2014 at 2:53 pm

Agreed. The Celaka is a much better deal 1 year later for no more than RM30k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 39
    • Arabianiaz on Jan 07, 2014 at 3:16 pm

the problem of malaysian here is they want a car with high safety features but unwilling to pay for it…now umw offering it with 2.0V and ppl start complaining it’s not worth it! u want a most reliable car on the planet with decent safety spec u have to pay for it all my frens! pay umw n toyota kao kao okie? that’s how it gonna work. nothing is perfect without a premium price tag alrite folks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 74
      • Matchbox on Jan 07, 2014 at 5:54 pm

So you are saying safety must come with premium price tag? No wonder Toyota pays out fat bonuses.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
        • No wonder Toyotot owners butthurt after buying Vios, it’s underspecced but overpriced, LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
    • Sam Loo on Jan 07, 2014 at 4:30 pm

With the no. of imposters, My name will become no. 1 again in 2014 for the most no. of posts

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 19
    • seancorr on Jan 07, 2014 at 5:41 pm

They decided to sell the model with extra airbags just to silent their critics but the price is no where near affordable…very Toyota like.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • OMG…nice car with ugly price. puihhh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
    • dugong on Jan 08, 2014 at 2:48 am

LOL 2.0L performance lose to 1.8L. WHat a scam!!!

• OMG…ALL new Altis 2.0G & 1.8E still without VSC…and yet still so expensive…puihh…Better buy Honda lah…

• Vader on Jan 07, 2014 at 12:08 pm

Toyota seem try attract people to go for 2.0V model only but this is too pricey..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 136 Thumb down 3
    • Check first on Jan 07, 2014 at 1:10 pm

Compare the OTR price, its about the same esp for the Civic Navi (RM137K OTR) and the Altis 2.0V (RM137K OTR). Only difference in pricing is the Civic 2.0S (RM132K OTR) and the Altis 2.0G (123K OTR).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
      • Air Mineral Semulajadi on Jan 07, 2014 at 1:40 pm

At leaset civic 2.0S got 4 airbags and vsc. U minght choose to go for hybrid variance which have the same safety features as 2.0 but lower price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
      • lithium on Jan 07, 2014 at 2:09 pm

In my opinion, honda malaysia made a huge mistake with the current civic. the design is bland to start with and if HM was smart it should have piled on the specs while maintaining the old price but they didn’t. HM thought the civic would sell based on brand power but forgot that today’s consumer are much more informed. the same will happen with this new corolla. the last minute decision to tack on the safety pack is too little, throw that into the norm 2.0v for rm123k then its a good deal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 7
        • instag on Jan 07, 2014 at 9:23 pm

The full specs is only for rich people, middle incomers should get the so-so car.

Better buy preve

• Pay RM137k for RM85k Value vehicle. Consumer has to bare RM52k tax for this car. Actually is reasonable to buy however become pricey after pay Rm52k for nth.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 5
      • Yup agree…..why feeding the government with our hard earn money…….senseless…….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 11
    • i wonder y 1.8 speed faster than 2.0 when from 0-100km/hr? izzit coz body lighter?
      btw, 2.0G really overprice coz its no diff fr 1.8 just tat engine is 2.0…..

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 456 Thumb down 612
    • thedarkside on Jan 07, 2014 at 12:13 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 147 Thumb down 276
    • thats the problem they treat ASEAN people do not like safety feature…most toyota model in ASEAN either have non or 1 or 2 airbag…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 5
    • BLT CLUB on Jan 07, 2014 at 12:49 pm

If only Malaysians would stop. Even the crappy Vios selling like hot cakes. Even without VSC, those Vios/Corolla/Camry drivers drive like Vettel. But then again, the world would be a better place if these people would “move on”.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 6
    • sudonano on Jan 07, 2014 at 1:00 pm

Agree with you.

Seriously. your life is worth only 3.9k.

3.9k also want to be so stingy? They really deserve nothing from us. Do we look like idiots, falling for their tricks?

Safety is not a luxury. Even the tiny Picanto, half the price has more safety features than a 120k Altis.

They really deserve the wooden spoon.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 106 Thumb down 5
    • As of now, Toyota, Nissan and Hyundai are the only companies guilty of not having a form of stability control on their models above the RM100k as standard. Most car companies have all or even mostly, implemented stability control as standard, while moving for increasing airbag count. Thou looking at the growing interest on safety locally in both the web, the reviews, and also the start of the ASEAN N-CAP program, I think car companies are now starting to implement better safety equipment.

Put it this way, both Vios and Corolla are
      ideal example of bad safety consideration by distributors. But the Vios have a standardize(thou sub-par) safety complements throughout the range and the Corolla can be had with 7 airbags. Its not in any ways good news considering the price of these cars, but it is a sign, to me personally, that distributors are moving to give better safety in cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 9
      • roxas on Jan 07, 2014 at 8:58 pm

hyundai does have traction n stability control

• ‘Abover RM100k’ sadly, the RM145k base spec Hyundai Sonata and the RM132k Tucson base spec dosen’t come with ESP. And the brilliant 6-airbags variant of the Sonata can only have with the RM173k 2.4l Theta while the Tucson is better as for a RM12k premium[2.0 Executive] you(like the Corolla) can add ESP and 4-more airbags, or so I am told from the brochure. Funny how Hyundai avoided all this bashing considering its cousin Kia, for a margin more, gets full (international) compliments of safety. And Hyundai is even selling better than Kia.

Oh, I am also adding my beloved Honda to the list, charges? the Freed , both S and E-spec (latter for RM109k), is not getting VSC. the 2nd model in Honda’s entire line-up not to have VSC after the base spec City.

• runeer on Jan 07, 2014 at 1:28 pm

Well said!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • Chris on Jan 07, 2014 at 1:31 pm

At first I thought Toyota is screwing customers around the globe, until I browse around in toyota.jp site. Even their Kei car, the Pyxis Epoch (the new viva?) is also equiped with VSC and traction control.

What more, they have sensors in the front that detects possible collision ahead, and even beeps when the car in front of you start driving yet you’ve dozed off (happen so often here when people are typing on their phone and didn’t notice traffic light has turn green).

I think I still have faith in Toyota as a brand, but not UMW.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 105 Thumb down 3
    • Low Budget on Jan 07, 2014 at 1:35 pm

Whatever safety features you have in any cars, the stupid Malaysians are still able to crash them and end up dead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 24
      • inoko on Jan 07, 2014 at 9:28 pm

Safety features do saving lives. Recently during accident on LPT, total loss preve driver saved, of course she wore seatbelt.

• Ainon on Jan 07, 2014 at 1:47 pm

Certain safety features such as a minimum number of airbags, vsc, abs, etc. should be made mandatory on ALL new cars to be sold in Malaysia. These features should be fitted at cost and no profit to be made from them. Then only we can say that all life has value, not those who drive a 100k car are more valued than those who drive cheaper cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
    • I gave up toyota since 2005.
      Despite getting strong critics from car lovers, UMW still persevere to challenge customer’s tolerance,
      Which is very much like current political arena,i believe it will not take too long to end the bad-ass’ show and return the rights back to us,proud to be malaysian.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 4
    • even rm59k kia picanto also got 6 airbags and VSC and many other safety features…….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 5
    • carazy on Jan 07, 2014 at 2:16 pm

Even my old Persona got 2 airbags, it is unacceptable for some RM100K++ car only have 2 airbags, without traction control, all those jumbo-mambo safety features, which should be standard features in all modern cars today. Even the higher spec need to pay extra RM to get an extra airbag??!! What a joker la toyota..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 5
      • curvy on Jan 07, 2014 at 9:33 pm

Meanwhile in T showroom:

Customer : Is this Altis come with traction control?

Sam L : Traction control? Is that the device to control your head unit?

Customer : *Duh*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
      • Sam Loo on Jan 08, 2014 at 3:11 am

Carazy (in the underworld) : eh, how come I am here? My Plotong has 2 aribags what

Curvy : Ah, your plotong airbags and controllers are Made In Korea. Typically, they will fail within 6 months after installation

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 15
    • Jebonr on Jan 07, 2014 at 3:30 pm

I agree with You. That’s what I said to my Wife yesterday. But don’t get me wrong, I am not against Toyota Global since I own a Recond Toyota myself. Just the Malaysia Toyota that I did not trust.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
  • Altis relatively expensive as compare same class sedan civic.

Could this price convince buyer go for altis rather honda civic?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 5
  • thedarkside on Jan 07, 2014 at 12:12 pm

rear end design mcm muka decepticon lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
  • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 119
    • HeShowedMeTheAccordana on Jan 07, 2014 at 12:57 pm

and if i see altis owner i’ll b like

omg. another bloody idiot who bought toyota tin kosong

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 8
  • Argh better buy civic fb either 1.8 or 2.0..more superior in term of performance, safety, price, look, aftermarket parts, n brand image

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 5
  • kenot on Jan 07, 2014 at 12:19 pm

To pricey lah UMW. then spec is so-so only. btw, i’m waiting sam loo comment here. hehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 5
  • Wilson on Jan 07, 2014 at 12:21 pm

i feel sad when i look at the pricing. they even put a Toyota Corolla Altis with additional safety package at price around RM139,000(check their website if you don’t believe me)…..you are really killing yourself….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 3
    • Low Budget on Jan 07, 2014 at 1:41 pm

Buy the Hyundai Elantra and you still end up saving some money for an overseas holidays compare to buying this the corolla.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 3
      • wilson on Jan 08, 2014 at 3:26 pm

ya, i was thinking about the elantra as well, heard that a new facelift is coming out soon, dunno whether true or not. will see about that~ nice idea bro~

• takNakP1 on Jan 07, 2014 at 1:58 pm

u feel sad only for Toyota?
      We all should be sad/cry for M’sia auto industry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
      • If not proton = support till die
        If proton = bash till burned

• It is ASEAN…not just boleh…just look at thai and indo…yes The Japs make cheap car for thai n indo people..it oso include cheap safety aspect n give less standard accessories..it sad to get cheap car in those country that they have to forgo safety aspect…

• Theophilus Chin on Jan 07, 2014 at 12:21 pm

Oh, they have again ruined the look by adding plastic bits to the bumpers and side shirt. Why must they do that?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 24
  • badgeforall on Jan 07, 2014 at 12:22 pm

Hey, it is a Toyota. The badge itself is worth 10 SRS airbags. In an event of accident, the badge will be the main passive safety feature.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 8
    • Wow you are so genius. I suppork you.

• Sam Loo Ori on Jan 08, 2014 at 2:34 am

Toyota got GOA you fool. You dont need VSC and other unnecessary weight added to the car.

• I don’t know how gear ratios work but clearly the 1.8 is the better car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
    • franky on Jan 07, 2014 at 9:41 pm

Better when not full load. When full load, preve is much better coz its torque is maxed through linear spread 2,000-4,000 rpm that is important to push it moving from standstill.

• superbird #43 on Jan 07, 2014 at 12:25 pm

Euro 2 emission certification?
    looks like we r stuck with the inferior fuel quality for years to come.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • it mean it can work with euro2 fuel la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
      • fridzmax on Jan 07, 2014 at 3:55 pm

Nope,

That Euro 2 is for the emission standard.

• somal on Jan 07, 2014 at 9:43 pm

Asean still use Euro 2 std engine. Nothing to shout about here. It’s good to get bashed.

• squall_shinoda on Jan 07, 2014 at 1:23 pm

Euro 2 means the emission is just like the old cars with carburetors. Fuel-injected engines are supposed to be at least Euro 3 compliant.

• if the selling price same like Langkawi RM72,030, RM77,128 and RM85,425 sure like hot cakeeee!!!but sorry umw,and ur crony member.where the 30% car reduce??janji telah Dicapati…lain kali lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 4
  • Even Honda City got VSA lor..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
  • VSC and TCS still not standard across the range, ridiculous pricing, Euro 2 dinosaur engine…

Go die la UMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 4
    • gdntsk on Jan 07, 2014 at 1:53 pm

This is the BIG PROBLEM that is caused by the federal government which doesn’t want to upgrade to Euro 4 fuel and that’s why Malaysians get old engine technology from Toyota (especially 1 NZ-FE in the Vios across 3 generations)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 14
      • fridzmax on Jan 07, 2014 at 3:52 pm

Then why those Preve & Suprimau S can achieve Euro 4 and Euro 5?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
        • gdntsk on Jan 07, 2014 at 10:03 pm

I think Proton did it so that they can export Preve and Suprima S to other countries that have strict emission regulations. And your question actually answered why the Suprima’s fuel consumption is 9.1 litres/100km on the brochure.

The Euro 4 and Euro 5 emissions can only be achieved if the fuel itself doesn’t have too much of certain impurities (meaning that one drop of petrol has mainly octane i.e. 98.9% octane in a drop of petrol) and the engine has to be tuned to suit Euro 4/5 fuel. Only the Euro 4/5 fuel has to be burnt in only Euro 4/5 tuned engines. If you burn Euro 2 fuel in a Euro 4/5 tuned engine, that will cause your petrol budget to skyrocket. Some Euro 4/5 tuned engines cannot accept Euro 2 fuel and the Euro 4/5 tuned 1.6 Hyundai Gamma T-GDi engine in the Veloster Turbo is a very good example here. It cannot run on our fuel or else it’ll “choke and die” due to the high amount of impurities in our fuel. However, Hyundai has decided to tune that engine to suit Euro 2 fuel or else the Veloster Turbo wouldn’t have appeared in KLIMS 13 for early booking by Malaysians.

• many ppl here averaged 7L/100km with the CFE Preve and SS so probably Proton is just playing safe and honest with their specs figure.

• Why in term of century sprint n top speed 1.8 better than the 2.0l car???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Because people are easy to get conned and it’s an auto industry shame!

Boooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• HeShowedMeTheAccordana on Jan 07, 2014 at 12:56 pm

Seems like toyota is speeding of up the downfall of the company with the launch of this car

the 1.8e and 2.0g is empty. might as well wait for the new perdana from proton. it will sapu this altis in no time. no need to think abt cerrato as well. keep the money in ur wallet first and book the new perdana once is out

UMW is just cheating our money. the car manufactuter that rly cares for the people now is proton with preve got 6 air bags and load of stuff.
    even preve make altis owner looks like a fool

Sam loo i wonder what you have to say now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 8
    • Kenny on Jan 07, 2014 at 6:00 pm

Willing seller willing buyer. Dun like Toyota, then dun buy lor. I will never buy Proton anymore. Proton is milo tin car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
      • ridicule on Jan 07, 2014 at 9:48 pm

Milo tin? Then go and bash other car with 5 star ANCAP safety rating because preve is one of them.

• squall_shinoda on Jan 07, 2014 at 11:30 pm

Milo tin you say…? Then you should go and bash BMW and Merc because those two are Milo tin cars as well. Which stream were you in during upper secondary school, science stream or arts? If you were from science stream, didn’t you learnt in Physics that modern cars are designed to absorb the impact of collision to minimise injuries and casualties…? That means carmakers have to build cars with Milo tin bonnet and boot but with rock-rigid cabin to minimise the collision impact towards driver and passenger.

• HeShowedMeTheAccordana on Jan 08, 2014 at 2:14 am

u reminded me of kennysia in his sohai video with your comment

bye

• HeShowedMeTheAccordana on Jan 07, 2014 at 12:58 pm

and paul.

u might want to consider stop posting news about toyota. it just makes the reader feel disgusted. All
    UMW do is trying to cheat our hard earn money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 7
    • I think the problem is not toyota manufacturer. It is UMW, he the sole importer/distributer of Toyota brand. UMW can bring latest variant but they don’t want too. They rather have the lowest spec and price it up at higher price. They want maximum profit $$$. That why u see they profit billion of ringgit last year alone and the money goes to their shareholder.

The Prius c an example should be sell RM60k since no tax, this is the price the car sold in US and other place. With 60k they already make profit, but they so greedy and heck it up to 97k. If sell RM60k would affect vios price and bla bla bla. But prius means to reduce co2 footprint and fuel usage and environment.

That the way Malaysian do business. Max profit $$$$ before people.

• Put it thiis way, if they would sell the Prius C at RM60k….who do you think would buy a Vios, which can’t enjoy such levish specs or lower price. And the Prius is imported, so basically, if the Prius C were to reach Vios level of order number, there would be a HUGE and long waiting list. And considering that there was(several months back)a 2 months waiting list for the lesser selling Prius. This would put away sales and also buyers.

I’am afraid thats reality. The Prius C can’t be sold below the Vios, the normal Prius can’t be sold lesser than a Corolla and a Lexus CT can’t be as cheap as a Camry. UMW is still running a buisness and not a charitable NGO.

• I’am a bit surprise on that UMW considered a 7-airbags+vsc variant. But sadly only on the very top spec and at a premium. But nevertheless I applaud the move knowing they could’ve, following UWM standard procedure, give the car absolutely nothing and still selling it at an exotic price.

Like the Vios, it is an overall better car then the predecessor, but there are still better alternatives out there, namely the non-Japanese, with better specs at a lower price. Thou u find having a Toyotas has its benefits(safety not one if em’), but I just find that given the competitions and their benefits overrule UMW Toyota.

Pity, the corolla in the states is considered well price and spec.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
    • Chevy Sonic LT is a nicer and more enjoyable ride than Altis. Both are 1.8L

But surprisingly, Sonic LT is same class as Vios.

Chevy Cruze is the direct competitor, which drives much better and safer than Altis. On top of that, Cruze has the 1.4L turbo choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
      • dreaer on Jan 07, 2014 at 9:50 pm

where got 1.4turbo cruze sold here? are you dreaming?

• I am talking about US market in response to AVH statement “Pity, the corolla in the states is considered well price and spec.”

• Steve on Jan 07, 2014 at 12:59 pm

Since these prices would probably have taken into account the new NAP which would be announced soon, it either means
    A) the Altis is not a fuel efficient car thus not qualified for lower tax bracket
    B) the NAP for EEV does not cover a broad range of fuel efficient vehicles which is another failure
    C) UMW is profiting from the extra money earned from lower tax and not passing the savings to consumers

You guys can guess which is the most probable reason for the high price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • The answer is obviously C. UMW can do that because badge-snobs and RV penny-pinchers will still buy anything they offer, regardless of specs or prices.

• value for money no. better rv yes. your choice. i prefer both so civic is better choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • please lar…. at least minimum 4 airbags, vsc and abs across the whole range lar… it’s 2014 already yet UMW still seriously lagging behind in offering safety features on new cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Jimmy Loo on Jan 07, 2014 at 1:06 pm

Freaking over price. RM 120k for the 2.0V with additional safety package ok la…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • gdntsk on Jan 07, 2014 at 1:07 pm

Seriously, UMW Toyota Motor is digging its own grave with this kind of pricing for a range of lowly-equipped C-segment sedans. So, the best value-for-money choice among 2.0 litre C-segment sedans is the Kia Cerato (Nu 2.0) even though the auto critics from paultan.org say that it doesn’t drive well. The best value-for-money choice among 1.8 litre C-segment sedans is………alamak, don’t know la….. either Honda Civic (i-VTEC 1.8) [pls correct me if I’m wrong over the Honda engine name] or Hyundai Elantra (Nu 1.8). And the best value-for-money 1.6 litre C-segment sedan is the Kia Cerato (Gamma 1.6). Which of the two 1.8 litre sedans mentioned earlier has better value for money? Let the discussion begin!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
  • squall_shinoda on Jan 07, 2014 at 1:20 pm

How come the 2.0L models are slower that the 1.8L model…? Looks like the Toyota Corolla Altis is meant for faggots. Better buy a Honda Civic or even a Proton Preve CFE – those two can definitely tapau the Corolla Altis anytime.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • Nope, you are wrong.
      Any Toyota can beat any Honda, even Ferrari

• squall_shinoda on Jan 07, 2014 at 11:34 pm

…if and only if those drivers are faggots. Riding a Toyota Vios to challenge a supercar is just like riding a kapchai to challenge a superbike. Full stop.

• casio edifice on Jan 07, 2014 at 1:22 pm

why 1.8 accelerate faster n have higher top speed than a more powerful 2.0 while only 30kg lighter?

• Sam Loo on Jan 07, 2014 at 1:33 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 32
    • Jebonr on Jan 07, 2014 at 3:47 pm

Wow? does that mean My old Tiara also have RV? It’s not Kimchi. :-D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 19
    • Sam Loo 3 on Jan 07, 2014 at 4:15 pm

Which one has better RV, Kia Sportage or Hyundai Tuckson?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jan 07, 2014 at 7:35 pm

You as asking uncle Sam a question that has been already answered a few hundred times over

• If some options are “without” across the variants, then why in the first place you put it there? Such stupidity really!

• I’ve just driven Altis built in 2013 in US for a week.

The traction control isn’t that good. By turning it on, I still can do power slides with some understeer –> In fact more dangerous.

In fact, turning it OFF can turn the car much better, more neutral steer, and able to power slide exactly to where I want it to go. I just hate the traction control on Altis. Traction control on VW feels much better… but well, it’s Toyota not VW.

Engine power wise, 1.8L is a disappointment. It has pretty good response, but lack of ummpphh. For the upcoming CVT? No idea, maybe the response is worse than tradisional 4AT.

The new car is heavier, and having about the same engine power. Guess there won’t be surprises in engine at all.

Besides this, I never liked Toyota’s traction control from Yaris (Vios) and Camry. They sucked. Really doubt if the new Altis will get better one (fingers crossed)

It is an ok deal for USD17k, but seriously a bad deal at RM114k for a 1.8L.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
    • bvc100 on Jan 07, 2014 at 5:11 pm

Power slide? in an FF car?
      E-brake drift, yes in an FF car.
      Powerslide… most probably no.

Or you’re actually trying to say something else?

• tezza on Jan 07, 2014 at 9:55 pm

He wanted to say Altis sucks big time. Preve has much better ride and handling.

• Peter Griffin on Jan 07, 2014 at 1:34 pm

So get this. For an extra RM9000, I get a car with a bigger CC engine, but has a lower top speed and also acceleration rate, a reverse camera, an optitron meter (which I’m sure works the same as an ordinary lighted meter) and chrome door handles? Wow! This is such a great deal! Where do I sign up?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
  • old dog on Jan 07, 2014 at 1:45 pm

so now UMW hand over the market to HiCom (you know the man behind) if you not realized…new Camry not much on the road, and now this Altis will see even less…UMW only survive with Vios and Hilux which is their only cash cow…left cronies, right cronies…pity rakyat like us…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • seyed on Jan 07, 2014 at 1:46 pm

sorry Toyota….you always in all tvc tell to people its family safety car …..but this low option is with full safety is damn pricey car in this segment 2014… we have many other choice….I’m waiting for Mazda 3 maybe…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
  • azrai on Jan 07, 2014 at 1:46 pm

The picture above look like Ah Beng just got his grandpa’s Altis and bring it straight to Brother’s.

• sambalbabi on Jan 07, 2014 at 1:50 pm

Ahhhh cvt againnn

• james on Jan 07, 2014 at 1:56 pm

i don’t understand why Toyota still wanna to repeat what had happen to Camry before…i think they are testing market… if not respone, there will improve the spec…Dissapointed with Toyota…Only wanna to earn big $$$$.. Show your social responsibility to improve car safety..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • holofanboi on Jan 07, 2014 at 1:58 pm

ONE HUNDRED AND THIRTY NINE THOUSAND RINGGIT!!!

I like ->most<- of Toyota's meter cluster but not THAT much ._.;;;

It is getting extremely difficult to justify the cost of the Altis these days, what more in the future!

Although I own a K5, deep inside im still a Jap carmaker fanboi so goddammit fix your image already H & T. If they don't bloody buck-up, Nissan, Kia and Hyundai's current value proposition gap will be unreachable by the time H & T even realize whats going on.

Oddly enough despite being a jap carmake fanboi, i've no idea why I don't like Nissan cars. The designs i guess?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
    • gambate on Jan 07, 2014 at 9:59 pm

That metre cluster gives you impression of driving a sport car, say a Lambo. You don’t want to feel like one? That’s shame!

• HHHmmmmm…..This Altis front end looks futuristic but the dashboard looks so 70’s….Peugeot and Citroen makes better quality interior….

• Alahai on Jan 07, 2014 at 1:59 pm

Look like vios!!!

• Sam Loo on Jan 07, 2014 at 2:03 pm

Don’t buy this! No RV at all. Better buy Cerato

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 15
  • Alahai on Jan 07, 2014 at 2:06 pm

Look like vios

• old school on Jan 07, 2014 at 2:06 pm

another shitty car spec

• old school on Jan 07, 2014 at 2:07 pm

with that price mazda3 2014 much better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • TOyOtaMaN on Jan 07, 2014 at 2:10 pm

been waitting for this new altis for so long but so dissapointed with it’s specs….bye bye toyota, im going for civic now which is more value for my money. :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • 408 Turbo with 6 airbags, esp, more powerful engine, more spacious.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • daniel on Jan 07, 2014 at 2:14 pm

Looks like UMW is FINALLY catching up with the competition… but the pricing is too damn high!!! Profit 20k per car???!

• What catching up with 2 airbags? I should have 10 airbags with that price

• Kaiju Groupie on Jan 07, 2014 at 2:14 pm

Toyota not giving extra airbag and VSC because prior to launch, they did a market survey and found out that majority of the buyer are on senior citizen age gaps. They hypothesize that in an event of skidding or accident in which VSC/airbags can actually save a young person lives, an senior citizen hypothetically cannot survive such event. The best outcome is coma or brain damaged due to their frail body. Thus decision were made to make it an an option only which is brilliant from strategic point of view as that will save money for Toyota and also the senior citizen’s children as hospitilization charges is more expensive than say Nilai Memorial Park expenses. True to their motto, Toyota moving forward.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • Wilson Lim on Jan 07, 2014 at 2:20 pm

Why these cars are so expensive but lack of safety features? It is because the govt taxes had forced them to take out the safety equipment thus to reduce the price so that it won’t be too “expensive” for Malaysian.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
    • BLT Club on Jan 07, 2014 at 10:00 pm

Please don’t blame the government for everything. If Honda and Kia can provide better safety features with a lower price, you can’t blame the G for that. So please engage brain before typing. It will save you from looking like m***n next time.

• Ooi Hock Jin on Jan 07, 2014 at 2:42 pm

Not bad…I LIKE it even I’m Mitsubishi Motors top fans

• Jonathan Lee on Jan 07, 2014 at 3:02 pm

This is awful. You have to pay an extra four grand on top of the most expensive variant of what is already an expensive car, just so you can have any sort of protection from side impacts? At least Honda, not exactly the standard bearers for value-for-money, fit both two-litre variants of the Civic with side airbags, and stability control is standard across the board.

• $52K duty paid for 2.0V…it’s extremely high for such low spec. car!!!

• Fahmi on Jan 07, 2014 at 3:23 pm

Better late than never, Toyota… Sell this “safety pack” for Camry as well…. For the price, it is still a ripoff though, there are many better choices…

• Maserati on Jan 07, 2014 at 3:29 pm

Beautiful car! After this car is launched, i wonder who would buy cerato anymore?

This car is great to drive plus the extremely smooth engine makes it a joy to drive.

Kimchi doesnt even come close to this altis. This car will totally wipe out kIA and Hyundai sales.

Good riddance to bad rubbish from Korea!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 51
    • bReaL on Jan 07, 2014 at 3:54 pm

did u not real all of the comments above

• Alex Chan on Jan 07, 2014 at 4:19 pm

DONT FEED THE TROLL!!

• BLT Club on Jan 07, 2014 at 10:14 pm

@Alex Chan, sorry dude need to feed the troll.
        @Maserati I presume you have driven the car to claim that is it a joy to drive? Or are you blindly bashing? Fact is, the base variants are a joke, safety items are a premium? Come on, you can’t seriously defend that when the competition has those items across the board, even on the Civic. I’m not a fan of Korean makes, but you worshipping suboptimal products creates an avenue for inefficiency. Without competition, there is no improvement. Your grammar indicates an educated mind, your comment however does not.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jan 07, 2014 at 7:32 pm

What is more beautiful is the container loads of kimchis that Sam will send over to Sri Lanka and make record profits

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • heybadigol on Jan 07, 2014 at 3:35 pm

This is a popular car here folks. It will sell by the bucketloads even if UMW sold it with only 3 wheels. Its evolution of the species. Since previously Malaysians brought so many of them, their offspring also became familiar with them & decided to continue buying them when they became older. Soon we will have a world full of Corollas & Toyotas. Hahaha.

• Blackgenius007 on Jan 07, 2014 at 3:37 pm

I still prefer the pricing of E120, RM120K for 1.8G with VCS & TRC…

• Mani MJ on Jan 07, 2014 at 3:48 pm

Sam Loo: what is Resale value???? Some one buying Hyundai Elantra High spec say Rm . 98888.. same specification in toyota or honda is RM 120000 (for eg. only)the difference in price RM 21000+
    U calculate 21000+ interest for seven years???? how much??? dont be fooled by the word resale value… for resale value … r paying RM 20000+ and interest to bank??? pls think boss….

• Sam Loo on Jan 08, 2014 at 11:27 am

Please go to school again. Even small kid know what is Resale Value.

• JibDai on Jan 07, 2014 at 3:49 pm

altis is good but with this price…….. go dai la UMW…….. better buy accord ma………

• fareed burn on Jan 07, 2014 at 3:53 pm

emission certification is Euro 2???? really euro 2????? the emission certification is euro 2????? are effing kidding me Toyota?? the protong cfe turbocharged engine was built to pass euro 5! yet sam loo is still going to bitch about resale value…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • Sam Loo on Jan 08, 2014 at 1:44 am

Whats the point of having a Euro5 compliant engine when bolehland still sells Euro2 fuel?

The Euro5 engine will choke to death in no time and kwai tai in the middle of the road

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 14
      • fareed burn on Jan 08, 2014 at 12:53 pm

the point is Proton had done a good job in creating an engine that is compliance to global standard..it’s a global car remember..the volkwagen tsi engine is tuned for euro 5 while the new engine for the new golf gti euro 6.. everyone is moving forward…bukan mcm toyota..tagline jaa “moving forward”…tp tau guna gear reverse jaaa puiiiiiiii!

• Sam Loo on Jan 07, 2014 at 3:57 pm

On the contrary, a 1 year old Celaka @RM30k or a 1 year old Elantra @RM45k is not a bad alternative

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 16
  • james on Jan 07, 2014 at 4:13 pm

how much GOV earned from duty+sale tax:
    (west malaysia – langkawi) price
    1.8E = 114k-72k=42k
    2.0G = 123k-77k=46k
    2.0V = 136k-84.5k = 51.5k
    More than half of the price are being duty+sale tax
    Do nothing…collect all blood money from rakyat!!!

• Gracke on Jan 07, 2014 at 4:17 pm

Go for Peugeot 2008!!!! much more excited and sporty :-)

• gracy on Jan 08, 2014 at 3:46 am

Want to compare that crampy car with this C segmenter? Go on but don’t complain later you have small cabin

• Guilt79 on Jan 07, 2014 at 4:43 pm

Sad.. The car with bodykit not really that nice looking. Look more like samseng jalan..

• What goes around comes around on Jan 07, 2014 at 4:44 pm

I remember a post about umw. They are slowly and surely chipping away their goodwill ppl have left for them.
    Have they not tested enough water? Altis 4 gears. Camry without vsc. Sales down the drain. 1 year later give free upgrade. Now again same tactic on new altis?!!
    Some say toyota is for uncle. Now that they leaving very bad impression to working class ppl. Eventually when we turn uncle and have been treated like umw this this way, imagine who will still support them that time.
    By that time I also also strongly believe the current blind uncle/aunties will be long gone. See who go buy that car.
    As previous comment, umw really dug a deep coffin for itself. Just waiting to see which stupid buyer jump in the grave umw dug. Really will look down to those stupid consumer still buying umw cars now.

• HZLninja250 on Jan 07, 2014 at 4:53 pm

Toyota, Moving Forward.
    Even when you slammed down on the brakes of a toyota, still “moving forward”
    I honestly don’t understand why people buy a car, for its resale value(RV). Hello,if you people are keen into one vehicle,why bother about the RV? Haven’t buy the car,already think about the RV, ridiculous!
    Talking about VSC/VSM/VSA/ESC/ESP, well on Toyota, please equip your cars with this basic safety equipment for your consumers. And airbags, at least provide a vehicle pricing over 100k with 4 airbags?
    It’s clearly like you’re trying to fool those typical malaysian who don’t know about vehicle technology.
    I urge everyone to,at least study a bit on vehicle technology, DON’T SETTLE WITH,”I’m fine with 2 airbags la,I drive slow only wad,I no need VSC wan la”,come on la,we’re in the 21st century man.

• Toyol on Jan 07, 2014 at 5:23 pm

Although expensive, still sell pretty well. Cause, easy to find spare parts…

I agree many won’t agree with me. In fact had placed booking for the E model last month. But due to uncertain waiting time, I cancel the booking and now driving a 2009 recon Wish (ready stock). So far so good! No regret!

• BLT Club on Jan 07, 2014 at 10:03 pm

Your Wish is probably a better specced and safer car. Kudos and enjoy.

• If you don’t want problems/issues n u want good resale value n reliability, look at Toyota. I own a VW, and I must say it is a much nicer car to drive. But 1 year send the car to workshop 4 times for repair, I’m considering a Japanese as my daily commuter. Can’t wait for Altis to launch to see how it compares to the Mazda 3 2014.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • seancorr on Jan 07, 2014 at 5:37 pm

So we have to pay RM140k for the full spec Altis with 7 airbags but it doesn’t come with auto wiper and light sensors nor does it has navigation as standard! Expensive it is…luckily it comes with VSC and front parking sensors to make it on par with the rest of the class.

• Toyoda on Jan 07, 2014 at 5:45 pm

If you want Toyota that much, just get the Vios laaaa. Altis just a waste of money…

• Vios is moving coffin! Shame.

• Sam Loo on Jan 08, 2014 at 5:44 pm

Consider the alternative

Get a used Cerato or Elantra. You will be amazed at how low they go. Just need to bargain hard.

For example (15 mths or below), if a new K5 costs RM140k+, for direct internet ads, start negotiating at RM40k, just stike off the 1st digit.

For Cerato, start at perhaps 30% of the new car price

• thats interesting the 1.8 is faster and have a higher top speed.. i know the weight is different but it’s still a smaller engine.. it’s either they’re too good at 1.8 or they just sux at 2.0

• Nazeem on Jan 07, 2014 at 6:54 pm

Too pricey for nothing.

• motorhead on Jan 07, 2014 at 7:04 pm

And some people said Mitsu ASX 2.0 is expensive? Hahaha… Very funny.. This toyolta also nonsense.. You can keep it in the showrooms… Not in my list.. Torsion beam??.. Hahaha.. So funny.. My Myvi also uses torsion beam..

• BLT Club on Jan 07, 2014 at 10:05 pm

So does the Renault Megane R. Your point being?

• That’s conti car. Their tuning level is different. You want to compare japs with contis? Puihh

• BLT Club on Jan 08, 2014 at 11:51 am

@fffd: the original poster condemned torsion beam. I’m just saying it also used on the Megane R. So it’s ok to have a conti car with a torsion beam but not ok for a Japanese car. So an “inferior” torsion beam is ok if the tuning level is different. Hmmm, please engage brain before commenting next time.

• motorhead on Jan 08, 2014 at 7:46 am

Agreed.. But never see it on the road till today..never.. Not worth to compare Renault with these two.

• yhhoong on Jan 07, 2014 at 7:05 pm

If one looks around today one may find more acceptable safety-equipped vehicles, even in the sub RM70k segment. Asking premium money to get more than 4 airbags for example, just doesn’t cut it these days. It also speaks a lot of the company that distributes / sells them. Ppl don’t just buy the product, they pay to buy the seller too nowadays.

• waaaaaahh on Jan 07, 2014 at 7:57 pm

daebak! the duty! tsk tsk so high! rather go for prius if the incentive for hybrid cars is still valid =3=

• old dog on Jan 07, 2014 at 8:03 pm

you want to win? hold you pocket tight (with inflation now we have no choice either), and DO NOT buy any car for the next 5 years.

now lets see how will the UMW, HiCom respond..

Malaysian are too rich and excessive with cars..stop buying and that is what a consumer can do…

• And so on on Jan 07, 2014 at 8:22 pm

And stupid and blind logo followers. Umw is cashing on that and laughing to the bank.
      The worst part is they seem to look so proud when driving 1. I looked at them and just think to myself how sohai they been and how they made Malaysian look so stupid and let umw keep milking us willingly.
      Well I definitely am not going to join that uncle batch when I get older, and hope those who posted here do the same(except rv Sam, hilux and maserati)

• Well well well, UMW Toyota finally decided to give in to our demands…. somewhat. Looks like UMW Toyota believes safety is an option for those who can afford it. A bit heartless if you ask me.

Keep demanding for more car safety equipment guys ! Only 5 or 7 years ago, good safety equipment in cars was not a big concern, but nowadays people are learning to value its importance. If we keep voicing our discomfort both with our mouths and wallets, car companies will eventually acknowledge our concerns. because if we don’t, these car companies will continue to save money in cutting corners by giving us outdated technology and low safety equipment.

One more milestone for our Malaysian auto industry; First time you can buy a Toyota with 6 airbags or more from UMW Toyota (not grey import).

• BLT Club on Jan 07, 2014 at 10:06 pm

Well said. But still the price is horrendous.

• Actually, the first time you could have a Toyota with 6 or more airbags from UMW is when they launch the Prius line-up. But I agree, car makers are giving into demands considering that rumors suggest that the previously dismal Camry sales picked up when they’ve introduced VSC to the XV50. Given with Kia’s lead, I hope to see more VSC standard and higher airbag count in lower end models.

• At least they should put 4 airbags in highest variant. 2 is very stingy. Add another 4k you get 7, what the hell is this?

• NISSpengAN on Jan 07, 2014 at 8:21 pm

Coming soon 2014 Nissan Sylphy can tapau this New altis n civic as well

• Contender on Jan 07, 2014 at 9:01 pm

ETCM is still sleeping compared to UMW…. Sylphy and Teana should arrive sooner …. it should be able to match Toyota and Honda

• pontiac on Jan 07, 2014 at 8:22 pm

finally!! a peeve contender!! par to compare. on every inch, preves wins!!

don’t say u compare with vios ok.. bios should be compare with a saga..

• AUSNSW on Jan 07, 2014 at 8:30 pm

It is 40k excise tax… OMG!

• Fong Wei Tze on Jan 07, 2014 at 8:30 pm

I t looks like the new Altis is a bit expensive,try considering the Preve or Cerato.

• roxas on Jan 07, 2014 at 9:01 pm

the front looks so fussy n ugly ! elantra is still the best looking c-seg around n value for money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • Denaihati on Jan 07, 2014 at 10:00 pm

toyota and honda car prices always so close, also the engine c.c variant….easy to make comparison.

• BeemerFreak on Jan 07, 2014 at 10:21 pm

Honda Accord 2.0L is only at 138,9000. Which to get, you say.

• Depending on Jan 07, 2014 at 11:01 pm

Yeah.. which to get…. bare spec no feature accord or full spec more feature altis?

• 4G63T DSM on Jan 08, 2014 at 9:26 am

Neither.

You are much better off in a K5.

Seriously, these sort of pricing is going to backfire on Toyota. It makes the competition look so much better.

Take for example the Cerato 2.0. Its a whopping 21K less. So what with RV, I saved 21K + Loan interest at the get go. (that’s nearly 3-4K of interest over 7 years)

• V VV Gagal on Jan 07, 2014 at 10:42 pm

More evidence…. not sure they are as reliable as we all think it is.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/motoring/news/9815860/German-cars-lose-out-in-reliability-survey.html

• kimchi sushi on Jan 07, 2014 at 11:35 pm

Well Done ALTIS! All the best for your sales in the Malaysian unker auntie market. I just got myself an outgoing model kimchi namely Forte 2.0 sx at 91k at 1.88% 3 months ago .Weirdly, for an outgoing kimchi model, I found what I’ve got is miles better than your upcoming model! You know what,i can hv 6 airbags, VSC, touchscreen with GPS ,bodykit,DRL without any additional price top-up, but priced even lower than your TRD vios . So what if the RV drop like a stone at least i save up 45k of cash that can even get a myvi 1.3 on the spot. All i can said, UMW, your pricing really can gives us cancer!

• Archangel on Jan 07, 2014 at 11:48 pm

The 2.0 V variant comes with additional airbags but with additional price? Greedy UMW. Shame on you.

• ragoo on Jan 07, 2014 at 11:50 pm

why bother buy this expensive Toyota altis car when you can just buy perodua..all perodua model also Toyota Daihatsu maa..buy myvi and rebadged T emblem sure u drive Toyota machine

• Ivan Pei on Jan 08, 2014 at 9:32 am

Might as well buy the Mitsubishi ASX lar. For 115k, instead of totally tin kosong 1.8 Altis, I can get a 2.0 crossover SUV with high riding height. Not only that, with decent specs like leather seats, navigation, rear view camera, front and back sensors etc etc.

• darkermarker on Jan 08, 2014 at 9:44 am

one word…

YUCKS…

• Asusu on Jan 08, 2014 at 10:04 am

Comparison

Last gen: 1.8G @RM123k (with VSC, 2 airbags)
    2014 gen: 2.0G @RM123k (no VSC, 2 airbags)

Last gen: 2.0V @132k (with VSC, 2 airbags)
    2014 gen: 2.0V @136k (with VSC, 2 airbags)

• the truth on Jan 08, 2014 at 10:14 am

All of you idiots talk a lot of cocks but at the end, all of you either in a toyota or in a perodua. the build quality itself is excellent for toyota. bunch of bastards

• Sam Loo on Jan 08, 2014 at 2:03 pm

There will be sorhai tailangong fellas that buys kimchis.

This is where I make my money, because they will have the urge of their life to sell it off within 3 months, will fail to sell it online because no one wants them, then within 9-15 mths start looking for used car dealers like me.

That is why I now have 3 Hilux to show Hyundai owners and many more broomsticks to shove at KIA owners when the drive into my yard

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • motorhead on Jan 08, 2014 at 11:08 am

Hold all cars purchase.. Boycott.. Let’s the sales figures down & doom.. Stop the nonsense in our car industry.. Let their cars rot in the fields & ports..

• thong on Jan 08, 2014 at 11:22 am

Engine reliability – top 10 brands according to Warranty Direct
    1. Honda (failure rate: 1 in 344)
    2. Toyota (failure rate: 1 in 171)
    3. Mercedes-Benz (failure rate: 1 in 119)
    4. Volvo (failure rate: 1 in 111)
    5. Jaguar (failure rate: 1 in 103)
    6. Lexus (failure rate: 1 in 101)
    7. Fiat (failure rate: 1 in 85)
    8. Ford (failure rate: 1 in 80)
    9. Nissan (failure rate: 1 in 76)
    10. Land Rover (failure rate: 1 in 72)
    Engine reliability – bottom 10 brands according to Warranty Direct
    1. MG Rover (failure rate: 1 in 13)
    2. Audi (failure rate: 1 in 27)
    3. Mini (failure rate: 1 in 40)
    4. Saab (failure rate: 1 in 40)
    5. Vauxhall (failure rate: 1 in 41)
    6. Peugeot (failure rate: 1 in 44)
    7. BMW (failure rate: 1 in 45)
    8. Renault (failure rate: 1 in 46)
    9. Volkswagen (failure rate: 1 in 52)
    10. Mitsubishi (failure rate: 1 in 59)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • BLT Club on Jan 08, 2014 at 11:53 am

Wow. Its true what they say, BMW = Banyak Masuk Workshop. Even Peugeot is better.

• amirad on Jan 08, 2014 at 12:19 pm

Let’s be fair and telus. Go the petrol station, you see harga sebenar petrol RM 2.80, subsidi kerajaan RM 0.70 and harga petrol subsidi RM 2.10. Why not go to car showrooms, harga sebenar altis RM 70k, subsidi rakyat RM 55k and harga altis setelah disubsidi RM125k. Still want to buy?

• helloworld on Jan 08, 2014 at 12:45 pm

MR Toyoda, pls reevaluate different distribution channel. Having UMW as the main, is spoiling the Brand. Give others an opportunity. Too long and too much. We LOVE Toyota but with UWM name there, is just another bad seed.

• CallMeCrazyButMeSupportSamLoo on Jan 08, 2014 at 12:51 pm

Hey guys, i think i support Mr. Sam loo for the very first time after he told us about the pricing and specs of UMW Toyota. But i guess we all know that already. In malaysia we are all looser(S) when we buy cars. Any cars for that matter. Buy a Proton, get a car with the worst quality and build up you can ever get in the world. Buy any other brand of cars, we overpay with all our hard earned money. Sad for us but WE really have to do something. Malaysians are the most hardworking but most ripped off people in this part of the world.

So sad to be a Malaysian when it comes to politics – The Rakyat is always most certainly the losers.

• sam69 on Jan 08, 2014 at 5:40 pm

I too support Sam after making the biggest mistake in my life buying the K5

• tehcho on Jan 08, 2014 at 2:54 pm

even the new city launch in india got rear air con venti!!
    WTF man umw…..
    I tot previously can consider this new altis, but now , need to thick twice….or not in the list…

• sam69 on Jan 08, 2014 at 5:39 pm

Whatever it is, I still can’t get my K5 traded in.

Gotta rent a Camry for CNY

• Fong Wei Tze on Jan 08, 2014 at 6:36 pm

It looks fierce and sporty

• decepticat on Jan 09, 2014 at 11:56 am

aiyo buy Honda cars or Nissan cars better la.New accord and ckd jazz are very nice to drive.Toyota cars look pretty boring and SAD looking.Dun listen to what PEOPLE say or think.The best is test-driving the cars urself.NUff Said. Peace!

• when it comes in pakistan

• THe rock on Apr 18, 2014 at 6:25 pm

Honda civic 2.0 year 2011 cost around 95k when buy 130k depreciate 35k. Silphy 2.0 2011 now around 60k when buy 120k depreciate 60k. Forte 2.0 year 2011 now around 65k when buy 97k depreciate 32k. Toyota altis 2.0 year 2011 now 95k when buy 130k depreciate 35k.

Which the clear winner in RV?