Proton P2-30A Global Small Car – tail lamp exposed!

proton-gsc-tail-lamp

Here’s a first view at the design of the upcoming Proton P2-30A Global Small Car’s tail lamp. This unit was on test in Europe. It was snapped by Safouan and uploaded to the ‘reporter’ section of French website Auto Plus. It shows a trapezoidal-shaped clear section at the bottom and a red section at the top.

We’ve already seen the P2-30A on Malaysian roads at night with its brake indicators on, which would be somewhere in the section of red just above the section where the lense is clear. The clear lense should contain the turn signals and the reverse indicator.

In the meanwhile, the P2-30A continues to be sighted in Malaysia. Today’s set of Malaysian spyshots were contributed by reader David Cheah. The Malaysian test units continue to wear heavy disguise.

This new B-segment P2-30A is supposed to be launched within the first half of 2014. A name has already been picked, as part of a naming contest called “Nama Siapa Hebat”. The winner will get a premium spec automatic version of the car.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• seancorr on Jan 08, 2014 at 6:29 pm

Looks good from the latest spy shot. Hope the front end and interior will not dissapoint.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 107 Thumb down 9
    • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 113
      • they change badge from wat car?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 9
        • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jan 09, 2014 at 9:05 am

Proton company is a failure. Even now, in private hands, it is still receiving grants of RM200 million. When will the day come when Proton does not live of Malaysians? For 30 years, 30 million people pay overpriced cars to protect Proton. Even now, we are protecting Proton.

But loser Pro Gomen commentators here will insist that Proton is Private and Gomen got nothing to do with it.

CIMB Research was reported yesterday as saying:

“We have been previously positive on Proton going into private hands in DRB but the low-hanging fruit in cost cutting has not materialised and we believe it will be loss making if not for the RM200mil in government R&D grants received every year”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 94
          • farghmee on Jan 09, 2014 at 9:39 am

eh, geran tu utk research kn?

kalu aku xsalah, kalu company tu ada buat R&D, gomen akan kasi.

toyota xdpt sbb xbuat R&D kt mesia?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 5
          • i dont blame proton. i blame the govt for making proton car expensive. u think proton is free tax? also the govt put more tax into foreign car. the govt actually making double profit from proton and non local car.. govt doing business with rakyat.. u think la. bisnes manyak untung.. yet u guys keep blaming proton..Booo!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 8
          • pirlo on Jan 09, 2014 at 11:43 am

please share the link. thank u.

• youbodok on Jan 09, 2014 at 9:32 pm

Why so fussy? Other auto manufacturers also get funding from respective governments such as Holden from Australian government and Ford from USA. Are they really successful in business? I don’t think so.

Proton is now improving. Either you are a pessimistic or anti-establishment person not to see the improvement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
          • fretnot on Jan 09, 2014 at 9:41 pm

You believe 100% Edge report?

Here: “A two-tier pricing system has developed whereby
            consumers have to pay a premium for non-national cars but standard prices for
            national cars that cannot compete in export markets overseas.”

Standard price for proton cars? Since when? If it’s standard, you can buy it at much cheaper price than now. In fact it’s been high taxed too. Sigh.

• helmi on Jan 18, 2014 at 8:06 pm

at least…proton doesn’t ripp off people like UMW toyota …hahaha…stop worship your own kind…just support

• pirlo on Jan 08, 2014 at 10:17 pm

from which car, eh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
      • Say Who? on Jan 09, 2014 at 12:28 am

LOL ben are you drunk?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
      • slk3879 on Jan 09, 2014 at 8:55 am

I thought this is a completely new model developed by PROTON, so why change the badge? You mean other car makers going to buy this model from PROTON and change the badge?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • BenSux on Jan 09, 2014 at 1:55 pm

Yo dude, go smoke some more weed bro!!!

• gen2 persona saga blm/fl/flx preve exora suprima asalnye model ape yer? :-D

• Petrolhead on Jan 08, 2014 at 9:30 pm

Now is time for Theophilus Chin to revise his GSC rendering based on the exposed tail lamp

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
    • Syoknya sendiri.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 35
      • pirlo on Jan 08, 2014 at 11:17 pm

welcome back ioma/amoi. we miss your intelligent and brilliant comments *giggles

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
      • Say Who? on Jan 09, 2014 at 12:27 am

itu je ke amoi? “Syoknya sendiri” je?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
      • amoisuck on Jan 09, 2014 at 9:34 pm

Sshhhhhhhh. Amoi talked alone like a maniac.

Bawhaha hahahaha ahahahahahahah

• See the bump look like a Fiat punto.

• Pengguna Bijak on Jan 09, 2014 at 7:59 am

I will buy if Proton give me 20 years warranty and 20 years free service.

Boleh kah Proton? Terbaikkkkk lahhhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 41
      • slk3879 on Jan 09, 2014 at 8:58 am

Oui Bijak, are you going to ask the Japanese, Korean or German automakers to give you 20 years warranty?

Or you had already owned car that has 20 years warranty? Mind to share? I think a lot of readers will be interested!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
      • Proton once did give longer than that. Lifetime warranty. Please read more.

• sudonano on Jan 08, 2014 at 6:39 pm

Hmm, looks a bit like the Exora but reversed, where the Exora has the indicators, the the LED Brake light then the reverse light.

Looks quite decent. But under the hood, fingers crossed for that new Petronas engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • BenSux on Jan 09, 2014 at 1:59 pm

U nuts ah? This is Global Small Car la. Where can fit in the Petronas engine here. Petronas engine only meant for C – D Segment cars only ler … But i will be damn suprised if proton ever put in the E01 engine for this car, then this car will become more powerful than Golf … hehe

• Sam Loo on Jan 08, 2014 at 6:51 pm

A Proton will have higher RV than kimchis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 20
    • Since when Sam Loo doing part time selling Potong?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jan 09, 2014 at 9:24 am

Fake Sam Loo. I go on holiday, he quickly steal my name and identity. Have a backbone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
  • steamafication on Jan 08, 2014 at 6:52 pm

amboi main striptease pulak dia…

• Doing the wrong thing repeatedly won’t improve anything.
      Dulu, preve, suprima, sampai sawi pun stripstease. At last semua sales lousy. Should sack the whole marketing dept.
      Yes. You have the worst marketing dept. Questioning the public how much they know about car is the worst thing a marketing dept can thing of.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 20
      • noob, testing in europe you’ll need the indicator to be 100% visible

• songk on Jan 09, 2014 at 9:46 pm

New Vios punya sales lagi lousy. Ada nampak Vios tak kat jalan? Sikit je. Siapa nak beli keta spec hancur macam tu?

Preve? Ada belambak atas jalan. Tepi pintu tajam bagi Altis Civic malu. Wakakakakakak

• pirlo on Jan 09, 2014 at 11:45 pm

actually, what is your problem with proton?

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 131
    • wheelie on Jan 08, 2014 at 10:38 pm

Wow..u sure talk like a guy who owns his own multibillion company. Have u even sat n drove the current proton models? Why would u contemplate on old models tht was almost a decade ago?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 4
      • abuya123 on Jan 09, 2014 at 2:44 am

Ignore him. He is school boy…. He know nothing. At the end wanna price like nano.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
      • It’s not the problem of current or old models. It’s the brand and the company that is shouldn’t exist in the first place. The management just does not have the capability to run a car company. Should change your product to design dashboard only …. for Wira. Even then, I doubt Wira dashboard was designed by Proton because the Preve dashboard sulks.

• xflow on Jan 08, 2014 at 10:46 pm

wow are you a fortune teller? can tell me what 4D number for next week?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
      • abuya123 on Jan 09, 2014 at 2:38 am

The number is 2431. Buy this number for draw on this Saturday.

• no lah…better buy 5354 + 9394 and will hit jackpot!!!

• awiebelang on Jan 09, 2014 at 12:23 pm

my motor number 8445..
            please try..
            mebi not jackpot but u will win something..#-_-#

• help them to reduce the pain la. you think to make a car is like making your tamiya? LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
    • Welcome to 2014, dude. How are u since u go hibernating in that cave in 1990s?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • yah…follow tata nano price that come with no safety feature and much2 less standard and basic equipment

• ruffstuff on Jan 08, 2014 at 6:58 pm

The rear looks good for a B segment hatch. Price it below myvi, this going to sell like hot cakes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
  • khairulx19a on Jan 08, 2014 at 7:03 pm

not bad, i hope overall package will be exciting

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • had higher expectation with the rear lamp..
    but ok la,boleee la ni..
    proton always disappoint us when it comes to rear lamp.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • Wah, Proton testing the P2-30A in France ? Things just got serious !

I wonder if they plan to re-enter the E.U. with the P2-30A… Better see how it does in the U.K. first. If Proton can comeback in Australia and the U.K., Europe should not be a problem (except maybe Germany).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
    • AUSNSW on Jan 08, 2014 at 10:44 pm

Erm…Then proton must develop left hand drive 1st..

• McFlurry on Jan 08, 2014 at 11:02 pm

terbalikkan acuan je atau lagi rumit drpd tu?

• Die Maker on Jan 09, 2014 at 7:28 am

Dh buat la bro LHD..Saga FLX pastu persona..gen2..proton dh develop LHD car flu..preve dgn suprima tgh on progress

• Proton Vendor on Jan 09, 2014 at 10:55 am

Exora pon LHD. haritu g Proton Shah Alam bikin Preve & Exora LHD

• Except maybe Germany?

Germany was Proton’s best market in Europe! They sold around 16.000 cars from 1995 to 2001 there?

That’s far more than Proton sold in Australia or Indonesia.

BTW: Still 4069 Proton were registered 1st of January 2013 in Germany. As the cars are already more than 12 years old and there’s a mandatory TÜV (PUSPAKOM) inspection every two years, that’s not too bad.

• alldisc on Jan 09, 2014 at 5:40 pm

i do know that wira 1.6 (Proton 416 GLX & SE) has twin airbags upfront. and this happened in the late 90s before waja was launched.

• Define comaback. How many units sold in Aus?

• alfredweinberg on Jan 08, 2014 at 7:23 pm

mini exora ?? the rear lamp looks so similar..

• copy again?-typical malaysian dang!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 62
  • EnergyAnalyst on Jan 08, 2014 at 7:25 pm

How about naming it Proton Hebat and to ensure it is pronounce it correctly we change the spelling to hairbutt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 31
  • Illizian on Jan 08, 2014 at 7:25 pm

Don’t mind if I ask why alot of Proton unit being test drive at Europe?

• McFlurry on Jan 08, 2014 at 11:04 pm

winter test maybe?

• 1: You can’t find environment temperatures below 0 degree Celcius in Malaysia. Proton did -40C during Preve development.

2: Most Proton suppliers for the electronics, gearbox, turbo, ECU, and safety systems (ABS, EBD, BA, TCS, ESP) are based in Europe.

3: They want to tackle EU market right? Therefore they need to understand what EU market/law wants. And adapt to it.

• They want to tackle EU market because that’s the best way to go holiday. Understand EU pulak. All this Lawatan sambil belajar are bulls.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 19
        • pirlo on Jan 09, 2014 at 11:47 pm

how sure you are that they are having holiday instead of working?
          please come with evidence like photos or something.

• EnergyAnalyst on Jan 08, 2014 at 7:26 pm

How about naming it Proton Hebat and to ensure it is pronounced correctly we change the spelling to hairbutt?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 29
  • Hasan on Jan 08, 2014 at 7:27 pm

I have a feeling that mymname will be a winner. I named the car Proton Aikon ^^,

• srubbish on Jan 09, 2014 at 1:57 am

But.. But.. It’s going to be Nokia backwards.. Tho i own a Nokia Lumia!

• gdntsk on Jan 08, 2014 at 7:32 pm

I hope this P2-30A will uplift Proton from being a mediocre company to a successful one or else I’ll not buy it!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • magpie on Jan 08, 2014 at 7:34 pm

Enough spyshot! I want to know whats under the hood!

• TonTon lover on Jan 08, 2014 at 7:34 pm

the car so dirty yoo.. Roughly tested?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • no one cares

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 32
    • oh really on Jan 08, 2014 at 11:16 pm

Proton doesn’t care if u’re commenting here too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
      • alldisc on Jan 09, 2014 at 6:02 pm

in fact, proton never bothers with what the european market wants.

1. high rating EuroNCAP
        2. high security rating (against theft or break-ins) – which leads to low insurance premium.
        3. superb economy (high power output is useless if peak torque is low or at high rpm).
        4. low exhaust emission which entitles for tax rebates or special entitlement like entering london city centre without paying toll.
        5. manual gearbox (problem with proton, manual means low spec as evident in Persona Base/Medium Line.or Saga BLM and FL.
        6. focus on user friendly …not looks.

• EnergyAnalyst on Jan 08, 2014 at 7:49 pm

How about calling it Proton Soccer as opposed to VW golf? The only problem is many would know football but despise having it be called Soccer instead….. Hmmm …….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
    • If proton soccer, can enter US market la. If not, can call proton football. LOL

• anakbochek on Jan 24, 2014 at 5:37 pm

Kalau salah sebut sudah jadi Proton “Sucker” pulak. What about Proton Takraw? True Malaysian name.

• tengku on Jan 08, 2014 at 7:57 pm

I swear by Tunku Abdul Rahman’s grave that that was the most beautiful tail light I ever saw in my whole life. I feel like crying…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 31
  • daniel on Jan 08, 2014 at 7:57 pm

what is it called?

• Nice AMG wheel !

• Myvi78 on Jan 08, 2014 at 8:09 pm

Still safe design …just nice …hope better fc for daily used..

• Whitegoh on Jan 08, 2014 at 8:16 pm

I buy it if Proton give us Preve spec and same price or lower than Myvi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • looks great.

• holitov on Jan 08, 2014 at 8:28 pm

The ride and handling are already better than any B segment Japs car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
  • Hopefully the tail lights consists of light tube + LED instead of normal bulb.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • Exora taillamp

• Steve Kok on Jan 08, 2014 at 8:31 pm

Let’s hope that it’s not another Honda re-badge car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 39
  • looking forward to both P2-30A and Perodua Viva Replacement Model! (Y)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • jinggo on Jan 08, 2014 at 8:38 pm

Machiam burok jek.. Machiam burok jek..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 52
  • Selamat on Jan 08, 2014 at 8:40 pm

If it comes with 1.3 turbo definitely will buy one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • sivaji da boss on Jan 08, 2014 at 8:44 pm

macam cantik..macam comel la sgt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • BLT Club on Jan 08, 2014 at 8:57 pm

Hope this car used the Fiesta as a benchmark which just won Top Gear’s 2013 COTY (albeit in the ST form). Then it would be interesting.

• Brayok on Jan 08, 2014 at 9:00 pm

Come on Proton…show us what you can do This time..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • Ton Ton on Jan 08, 2014 at 9:03 pm

The car so dirty ya.. Tested roughly arh? Hmmm and, does it have rear wiper?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 18
    • it is clearly show rear wiper…

• tonton on Jan 09, 2014 at 5:49 am

Oh! I see it… Hehe.. Sorry2.. And if that car is roughly tested, it could be more reliable because of our Malaysian road, especially in Sabah and Sarawak here.. That’s what I mean.. Feel free to critic me. =)

• srubbish on Jan 08, 2014 at 9:12 pm

I’m holding back my proton saga purchase for this car.. Hope it doesn’t disappoints..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • pirlo on Jan 08, 2014 at 10:15 pm

saga and p230a are different in term of vehicle category. one is sedan, another is compact. sedan has larger boot, obviously.

• Roy Mustang on Jan 09, 2014 at 10:57 am

Its not about the segment, its about the amount of budget you have. :D

• Fahmi on Jan 08, 2014 at 9:42 pm

Hope it comes with turbocharged small displacement engine (like Polo TSI, Fiesta EcoBoost) and decent safety specs (6 airbags and ESP)…. High hopes from me as this is the first time Proton going head to head with Perodua, hope Proton don’t disappoint this time…

• abuya123 on Jan 09, 2014 at 2:51 am

You know…. perodua only jaguh in Malaysia. And if you want Proton head to head with perodua, i dont think so. If Polo or Fiesta with Proton logo, the sale figure is disaster. If Chery, Haval or even Dong Feng with perodua logo, will sell like hotcakes

• Die Maker on Jan 09, 2014 at 7:33 am

Dgr cter pakai enjin Campro NFE..1.3 & 1.6 kalau tak silap..tp tak tau NFE Tu stand for what..hoho

• motorhead on Jan 09, 2014 at 7:51 am

Are you dreaming?

• Fahmi on Jan 09, 2014 at 9:39 am

Dream big, think big, then you will be successful in life…. Hehe…

• motorhead on Jan 09, 2014 at 10:55 am

Dream on bro.. Dream on.. Welcome to Dreamland.. Haha.. No poblem.. I dream small, but I get big.. Feel much better..

• motorhead on Jan 08, 2014 at 9:43 pm

Myvi killer?? Hahaha.. Tiara & Savvy died dy.. This model is next.. Haha..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 50
    • Archangel on Jan 08, 2014 at 10:00 pm

Wow, you already predicted the fate of this car before launch. Hope you don’t mind to predict and tell me the next draw number of 4D magnum because I want to win big cash. Thanks in advance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
      • motorhead on Jan 09, 2014 at 7:37 am

No need to predict lah.. Iswara.. Dead. Waja dead.. All dead.. No continuity in Proton model.. Keep making new model.. & once launch they ve to compete with mature models that ve been in market for so long… & why wira still survive? Because it’s compatibility with mitsu.. & Lancer is still selling.

Anyway here’s your numbers.. 6544, 4533, 7255..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
      • You depend on prediction? No wonder you are producing this junk. Have you heard of market research?
        Most people already knew that your preve & suprima can’t sell during the spy shots in PT.

• iomabongok on Jan 09, 2014 at 10:09 pm

You didn’t understand simple English? He tried to give challenge to prove that prediction is not necessary right.

Go back to school lor

• pirlo on Jan 08, 2014 at 10:14 pm

okay. we will see.

• from the car look shows(1st pic) that they test the car kaw-kaw…

• Archangel on Jan 08, 2014 at 9:50 pm

There are already many spyshot on exterior design. Hope someone out there manage to get a spyshot on interior design in the near future. Looking forward to it.

• taboogen on Jan 09, 2014 at 8:02 am

interior especially dashboard will not be disappointing.. yezaaaa

• kudin on Jan 08, 2014 at 9:54 pm

Ada aku kesah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 40
    • pirlo on Jan 08, 2014 at 10:26 pm

kalau kau tidak kesah, kenapa masih meluangkan masa untuk memberi komen?
      kalau kau tidak kesah, senyap-senyap sudah.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 1
  • letstorque on Jan 08, 2014 at 10:25 pm

Ko baca dan comment kat sini, maknanya ko kesah la bro.
    Kalau tak kesah, ko tak klik pun berita ni.
    Ni siap komen lagi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
  • Nazeem on Jan 08, 2014 at 10:30 pm

I really really hope this will be a hit. Looks good based on the spyshots. Proton better smash with this model.

• Denaihati on Jan 08, 2014 at 10:50 pm

rear lamp look like show partial only.
    this time, i’m interested to test drive…heee

• sompua on Jan 08, 2014 at 11:16 pm

P1 bashers are out numbered by p1 cybertroopers

• Testing was done in Belgium, which means damn effing sure it’s using the CVT by Punch.
    A little bit disappointed that it’s not DCT or even normal torque converter 6-speed. Even a Jatco CVT isn’t that bad compared to the Punch unit, so laggy, unrefined and not very much fuel efficient as well. Only Chinese cars use CVTs from Punch and the original design of the VT2 and VT3 (from the BMW/MINI Cooper VT1) was so problematic and got BMW sued left and right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
    • Have you driven one? Maybe it’s not quiet, and a little noisy compared to DCT, but at least they have much better clutch engagement management and they dont JERK during snail-pace traffic jams.

Oh and by the way, Punch CVT uses multi-plate wet clutches. Far more efficient than torque converters. And more reliable than most dry DCTs too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
      • srubbish on Jan 09, 2014 at 2:02 am

I think i know some of these words… Yea.. I know what a clutch is..

• Jay Jay Denis on Jan 08, 2014 at 11:51 pm

The car has the mould of a Fiat Punto

• elpaciko on Jan 09, 2014 at 12:26 am

what proton really need is a 5door satria. they could go the fiesta route which is come in 3 different body.

3 door – satria (a cheap base model)
    3 door – satria gti (hot hatch with slightly different body panel)
    5 door – satria or whatever new name (the one that could be global small car)
    sedan – saga

this way they will have several models by just using 1 structure

just my 2 cents only…

• don’t forget the ecosport…yummy

• Complain on Jan 09, 2014 at 2:10 pm

Cannot la boss, Malaysian will complain about ‘Copy paste’. What ever Proton did, they’ll be criticize. Baik tutup je.

• Roy Mustang on Jan 10, 2014 at 8:30 am

Proton GSC is the compact version.

You’re gonna get a Saga replacement model that uses GSC face.

But then again, Malaysian will complain say cut-paste eventho in automotive field, it’s common to do that. *sigh*

• shamshaw on Jan 09, 2014 at 12:37 am

im gonna buy this. look promising. but i really hope there’s gonna be LED rear lamps.

• Justin on Jan 09, 2014 at 3:55 am

Proton gsc looking good…!!!
    I heard a rumour that the name chosen is:
    “Proton Esensi”
    But this is just a rumour. Not sure.

• plasmavortex on Jan 09, 2014 at 8:34 am

Its Proton Esfora

• joule on Jan 09, 2014 at 8:43 am

up until now, i cant sell my saga blm coz of resale value. last year, i have to topup RM4k to trade in, so i keep it for this year..but..yesterday i went to Proton Edar branch, they told me to topup 9k to cover settlement..oh PROTON!! and i believe the same situation will be facing for PERODUA. so sad!
    NOW I BELIEVE!

• motorhead on Jan 09, 2014 at 9:05 am

Same to Perodua? No way bro.. Even a small workshop under the tree sells myvi parts.. My own experience.. Why? Myvi is Passo.. Perodua = Daihatsu.. Come service a Myvi at Perodua service center near Serdang.. All Daihatsu parts.. My Myvi clock mileage 130,000 km.. Still use the original driveshaft.. This car is amazing.. Google uk car reliability index.. See who’s at top.. Im not a Perodua salesman. But Daihatsu has it own class.. & no matter how much I hate Malaysian car industry & it’s tax structure.. Im grateful Perodua is around.. Still can taste Japs technology at National car price… They can do better.. Better indeed… I drove an auto Myvi 5 years ago.. & I drove a new auto Myvi recently.. There was a different.. The auto gear is better. I own manual one. 6 years dy.. Never give me a headache.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 27
      • bikers kental on Jan 09, 2014 at 11:54 am

1. Honda Jazz Reliability Index 2.00 £123.34
        2. Mitsubishi Lancer Reliability Index 6.00 £95.43
        3. Vauxhall Agila Reliability Index 8.00 £81.40
        4. Toyota Yaris Reliability Index 13.00 £137.90
        5. Suzuki Alto Reliability Index 15.00 £118.53
        6. Mazda MX-5 Reliability Index 15.00 £205.97
        7. Suzuki Liana Reliability Index 18.00 £186.12
        8. CITROEN SAXO Reliability Index 18.00 £191.55
        9. Honda HR-V Reliability Index 19.00 £195.04
        10. Hyundai Getz Reliability Index 20.00 £159.77
        11. Peugeot 107 Reliability Index 21.00 £305.14
        12. Volvo S40 Reliability Index 22.00 £134.04
        13. BMW Z3 Reliability Index 22.00 £205.01
        14. Hyundai Coupe Reliability Index 24.00 £125.47
        15. Ford Fiesta Reliability Index 24.00 £150.55
        16. Suzuki SX4 Reliability Index 25.00 £182.87
        17. Mazda Premacy Reliability Index 26.00 £154.45
        18. Citroen C1 Reliability Index 28.00 £303.61
        19. Toyota Auris Reliability Index 28.00 £301.54
        20. Honda Accord Reliability Index 29.00 £252.51

i dont see any daihatsu model on the top 20 list from uk reliability index.

http://www.reliabilityindex.com/top-100

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
        • motorhead on Jan 09, 2014 at 3:39 pm

Well.. So smartlah you. You are checking the car models index.. Daihatsu is a manufacturer.. Did you check the manufacturer reliability index? Check properly lah next time.. Or you want me to teach you smartaxxholx!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
          • gesdy on Jan 09, 2014 at 10:19 pm

What’s the different? The models carry the manufacturer names.

Plus, don’t forget that Passo specs are different from Asean Myvi specs. Not to mention the hidden parts like beams. It’s a real tin milo car!

• Roy Mustang on Jan 10, 2014 at 6:10 pm

What if i tell you,

eventho Perodua uses Daihatsu design, they didn’t use Daihatsu’s standard and specification when making die/plastic/sheet metal part.

• my 7years neo clock 290000km. still use original driveshaft, ori bearing ori everything.
        Just change oil, oil filter, air filter, sparkplug, timing belt(3x), water pump(no rust on it, maybe due to only distilled water i put inside radiator), battery, tyre (4x),
        i think p1 had improve a lot now..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
      • peyno on Jan 11, 2014 at 4:28 am

proven
        proton basher= perodua owner je

but pretending import car owner

prrrtfhhh

• mind if i ask how long have u bought ur car? if 1 or 2 years, no wonder la..

• his myvi 6years.
        btw for car 6years old car just clock 130000km already come here barking about reliability.
        puihhh..

• heybadigol on Jan 09, 2014 at 9:54 am

Is this the Honda Brio Hatch? Or based on it. Refer here: http://www.hondacarindia.com/hondabrio/index.html

Could the deal between HM & Proton also give birth to the Brio to come here, though as a Proton (in addition to the Accordana)?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
  • naz64111 on Jan 09, 2014 at 10:19 am

theo’s sketch is so bad, he only made it look sooooo fugly that others can bash it even before production start. i think we all should bash theo for bad impression instead lar..hahahaha
    im a owner of honda city 2009. thinking of switching to this car after this..hopefully the safety aspect of this car is good though..is it possible to be the new proton hybrid eh paultan?

• srubbish on Jan 09, 2014 at 12:22 pm

is there anything wrong with your honda city? why switch to smaller car?

• victortan on Jan 09, 2014 at 10:41 am

Since when Proton announced this is the rebadge of Honda Brio?
    Geez…. you people really make yourself looks like a dumb.
    Btw, I got a feeling that the back is not a looker.

• Bongcs on Jan 09, 2014 at 10:53 am

Proton Lullaby
    Proton Babyblue
    Proton CuteSangat
    Proton Comelnya

• inderaloka on Jan 09, 2014 at 11:12 am

Bilakah Proton akan muncul sebagai trend-setter? Asyik-asyik jadi follower saja. Bosanlah dengan design Proton. Berpuluh-puluh tahun dalam industri, tapi kemajuan dalam design sangat slow.

• Why compare to Perodua, or even trying to beat Perodua? Why not beat A segment from other marques as well Proton?

• ruffstuff on Jan 09, 2014 at 11:45 am

Did Proton compare it to Perodua? No right. Only people perceive this to beat Myvi sales. And Proton internal benchmark is not myvi, but different car.

• pirlo on Jan 09, 2014 at 12:01 pm

fyi, proton benchmark fiesta, mirage and brio. myvi doesn’t come into the picture.

• srubbish on Jan 09, 2014 at 12:25 pm

are you working on this project? those are great benchmarking choices!

• Benchmark Fiesta, Brio and Mirage?

The Design of a Fiesta.
          The Fuel consumption of a Mirage
          The engine reliability if a Brio.

Husho! Powerhouse B-segment from Proton!

• i dont have any bad intention seriously, but Proton should have learnt from this stigma – “never buy Proton’s the first batch”.
    All d best.

• Labu-Labi on Jan 09, 2014 at 12:03 pm

‘Ass’ is so BIG and TERRIBLE?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
  • truely malaysian on Jan 09, 2014 at 2:27 pm

you have preve to prove to the world, suprima to be superior than all other, may be this time is “all alone”, not one is as good as potong…

• not all the 1st batch of proton car got problem. I got my Exora form 1st batch in May 2009 (production serial number 0000994). I been driving my Exora for 4 years plus and my daily milages 200km per day. So far I do not encounter any problem with my 1st Batch Exora. Depend of your luck and how u manage your car.

• motorhead on Jan 09, 2014 at 3:54 pm

Again.. For those who like to compare poton & perodua.. Myvi killers.. P2 bashers.. Etc.. Check this & this fact that will make P1 going to tapau soon.. Say lah best car or what.. Syok sendiri..

http://www.reliabilityindex.com/manufacturer

• NBorneo on Jan 09, 2014 at 3:56 pm

my family have been driving from KK to Semporna on road, and the road condition isn’t that good..
    if only the car manage to hillclimb the road to ranau fast enough with full load, then i’ll be happy.. :p
    btw nice tail-lights..

• paucharsiew on Jan 09, 2014 at 8:40 pm

dun like it…

• caprico on Jan 10, 2014 at 11:45 am

Never seen such test by P2…

• reade on Jun 25, 2014 at 7:08 pm

DENGAARRR SINIIIII SEEMUAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA,….

<<<<<<<<<<<>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

PROOOOOOTOOOOONNNNNNNNN
    SYYYYIIIIOOOOOOOKKKKKKK
    SENNNNNNDIIIIRIIIIIIIII

• inderaloka on Jul 06, 2014 at 9:56 pm

Out-dated design.

• bazooka on Jul 10, 2014 at 11:36 am

Banyak komen kat poul tan ni ya tapi sayang komen nya banyak yg mcm bodoh je…