RON 97 petrol price goes up 5 sen to RM2.80 per litre

ron-97-jan-8-2014 001

The price of RON 97 petrol has gone up 5 sen to RM2.80 per litre. The last price change for the premium fuel happened two months ago, when the price was dropped by 10 sen to RM2.75 per litre.

RON 95 petrol remains at RM2.10 per litre and diesel at RM2.00 per litre. Unlike RON 95 and diesel, the pricing of RON 97 is minimally subsidised and claimed to be derived by market forces, so price changes happen more often than the other two fuels.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• BMW Fanboi on Jan 08, 2014 at 11:53 am

tq BN

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 8
    • Ayoyo on Jan 08, 2014 at 1:47 pm

Ribu ribu terima kasih BN

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
    • Miley on Jan 08, 2014 at 1:48 pm

Miley Cyrus Rocks! #22

• Vader on Jan 08, 2014 at 2:02 pm

Syabas BN!
      Another barang naik item after sugar, electricity, transportation fee, toll fee, house price, water, cukai pintu, and later on GST.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jan 08, 2014 at 2:11 pm

Must thank BN and MAI for this. This year, good year. Electrik naik, Toll naik, Minyak naik, Assessment naik, TNB Green Energy Fund also naik, pasar all vege naik as of yesterday.

One must be stupid to vote BN when Malaysia is considered one of the richest resources country in the world. No other country come close to our natural resources. If got no stealing and crony money, Malaysia’s wealth surpasses UK or Singapore.

Minyak also, PETRONAS discovered the largest oil field in the world 2 years ago. The largest in the world! Next day, story covered up.

But now, all wealth go into UMNO pockets.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 7
      • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jan 09, 2014 at 9:30 am

Oh, don’t forget GST also coming. BN’s biggest present to all of us.

• PakTam on Oct 03, 2014 at 10:19 pm

correction.
        It not TNB GE Fund..

it SEDA RE Fund.

TNB just collector.

• abuya123 on Jan 08, 2014 at 2:12 pm

Welcome bebeh….

• BNVOTER on Jan 09, 2014 at 10:24 am

TQ BN Supporter

• MAI Apprentice on Jan 08, 2014 at 11:56 am

just wonder, why not transfer all the subsidy from Ron 95 to Ron 97.. at least Ron 97 much better in terms of quality..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 8
    • Good idea!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Suo.Eno on Jan 08, 2014 at 1:25 pm

Actually when it all went to hell the 1st time that RON 95 vs. 97 subsidy reduction happened, this has been mooted again and again (either or = kill off 97’s subsidy altogether OR as you’ve described) by the rakyat you name it; from the kedai kopi class analysts to real world economists.

But of course we have some “world class defying” brainiacs in the G-unit when it comes to this.

• tokkoksingsong on Jan 08, 2014 at 12:02 pm

nah, not affected.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 17
    • don’t talk cock and sing song lah. not affected? just wait a few months down the road. ur 95 also will naik.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 4
      • stupidpeopletalkstupidthings on Jan 08, 2014 at 6:33 pm

Hahaha! Stupid people talk stupid things :D

• benzs on Jan 08, 2014 at 12:03 pm

Unbelievable! Floating price alrdy? Increase, decrease anytime G wish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
  • Sam Loo on Jan 08, 2014 at 12:08 pm

No RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • What RV that you want for petrol also consumed?? Like Sam loo after makan, shit out and want to sell it again to others? Sell it to En. Jibby!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • Sam Loo on Jan 08, 2014 at 7:34 pm

No avatar means imposter

• Gila..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • petrol 95 price not changed today but whose know tomorrow?? Thanks to Barang Naik!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 5
  • *grab popcorn*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • This proves on how critical the government financial situation is. Forget about PIDM. I am more afraid of the bankruptcy of PIDM and the gang than the bank itself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • stupidprice on Jan 08, 2014 at 12:42 pm

True or not Rn 97 based on market force… in assuie the petrol station price changed daily… that’s what we call follow market. In malaysia price remain high or raise even the global oil price drop….

Is the raise hint out gov to raise Ron 95 and Diesel soon? Since price raise is the current trend.. thanks to our barang naik government…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
  • superbird #43 on Jan 08, 2014 at 12:51 pm

looks like i have to reduce the usage of my high output vehicles at least for a while and concentrate on diesel.
    even though it will ‘kill’ me on a heavily congested road.

Cheers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
  • koochai on Jan 08, 2014 at 12:54 pm

load of bull****

• spongewai on Jan 08, 2014 at 1:14 pm

one word for G is

ENOUGH

bad week in 2014 lol like Man Utd lost again in Capital 1 semi-final 1st leg against Sunderland this morning

then NAP proposal delayed to 20th Jan (original date is 15th Jan)

sry yea if I post this

• “claimed to be derived by market forces”..
    I like….

• Petrol will increase price later for sure.
    But on long distance I do found the RON97 perform better with similar millage as per RON95. Even though putting in the same price purchased.

• Archangel on Jan 08, 2014 at 3:23 pm

Another topic about increase of price. This year (2014) is full of surprises yet shocking news.

• Usha-Usha on Jan 08, 2014 at 3:31 pm

Aku dah agak dah..

• BLUR SOTONG on Jan 08, 2014 at 3:55 pm

No choice. If don’t like Malaysia . Please get out . Quoted by out lovely MP

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • Aaron on Jan 08, 2014 at 7:29 pm

If cannot handle the rakyat keep complaining, quit governing us and get out of Malaysia. Quoted by rakyats.

• Jebonr on Jan 08, 2014 at 4:19 pm

Is that true? Didn’t realize it just now at Petronas. Wow!

• mastermind on Jan 08, 2014 at 5:57 pm

No issue ……??? If your think expensive pour water…..n u got more mileage…….ur ron 97 will go further applicable to ron95 pour water….n get extra mileage…haha…bnyak syiok lge got new mercedes..

• seancorr on Jan 08, 2014 at 6:45 pm

I like the fact that the author of the article included the sentence ‘claimed to be derived by market forces’ as there is no clear transparency on how the price is being made up from our ‘lovely’ federal government.

• Mr Smart on Jan 08, 2014 at 7:12 pm

Apparently, the crude oil price dropped, but the local petrol price never drop. When it goes up, they increase the price immediately. Thank you BN

• 4G63T DSM on Jan 08, 2014 at 7:25 pm

My last tank of 97 was just last weekend. It was fun while it lasted.

Very soon Ron95 will go up as well. If it does, its time to switch back to 97 (or looking at how bad things are going, stop driving all together…LOL), since without subsidies, prices of 95 and 97 isn’t a whole lot different.

My car just wouldn’t run 95 properly.

• BLT Club on Jan 08, 2014 at 7:48 pm

95 price increase will follow. Baik naik motor la…

• Steve Kok on Jan 08, 2014 at 8:37 pm

The rich getting richer.
    TQ BN!!!

• mosama21812 on Jan 08, 2014 at 10:43 pm

Stupid people voted for Price Reduce and the most stupid person voted for Barang Naik.

• my vios only use ron97.. ron95 for cheap plotong only

• Chris on Jan 09, 2014 at 9:57 am

Vios is kind of a ‘cheap’ car as well isn’t it. It’s practically the most dull and basic car you can buy if you don’t want a local make but can’t afford anything too expensive.

• Kevin chan on Jan 09, 2014 at 12:11 am

I just switched to Caltex Techron 95 today, and it really surprised me. My car has been improved with better performance in tems of smoother acceleration, better pick up,and good fuel consumption. I would say it almost on par with others Ron 97. Just try it out guys and who knows can save us some bucks for those who use Ron 97 regularly. My 2 cents guys . Happy driving !

• Sam Loo on Jan 09, 2014 at 8:32 am

Hello, in Sydney, ULP costs around AUD1.50 per liter & E10 costs around AUD1.47 per liter OK

• Haha..nak naik berapa2 pun..suka hati kau la..100rgt seliter pun takpe. Tak suka minyak naik, jgn pakai kereta. Naik la basikal. Apa susah..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • Chris on Jan 09, 2014 at 9:59 am

You sir, are the epitome of why this country is not progressing. Always settling for less, never aspiring for greater and fighting for it.

• No Brain? on Jan 09, 2014 at 11:00 am

You sir are the epitome of shallow minded thinking.

• Johnny on Jan 10, 2014 at 6:03 pm

price of RON95 in singapore is S$2.20/L
    price of petrol in UK is £1.31/L

stop whining. people in the UK wish petrol is nearly as cheap as it is in malaysia.

• Lane tamer on Jan 11, 2014 at 6:34 am

But have you consider the salaries and wages that people in Singapore and UK obtained monthly as compared to here in Malaysia?

While I was furthering my PhD studies in the UK, I did a part time job as a cleaner, working for 3 hours for 5 days a week, the salary that I got was almost RM2,000 monthly (if converted), which was more than enough for a student over there. End of 4 years, I even managed to buy a luxury car and brought it back to Malaysia, without having to borrow a loan.

So, please do compare the salary ya…