2015 Subaru WRX STI – leaked pictures emerge online

2015_Subaru_WRX_STI_01

Ah, good to see the good old World Rally Blue and gold wheels combo back. This, ladies and gentleman, is the 2015 Subaru WRX STI. It’s making an early appearance on the Internet ahead of its official debut in next week’s 2014 Detroit Motor Show. You like?

Don’t worry, you can say it. Looks a bit disappointing doesn’t it? Apart from the legendary colour combination, a smattering of STI badges and the customary rear deck wing, it doesn’t look all that special next to the standard WRX model.

So we now know how it looks, but unfortunately there’s still no word on what’s under the hood. The base WRX has 268 hp and 350 Nm of torque for a turbocharged 2.0 litre engine. This one should have closer to 300 hp and 400 Nm to at least match the outgoing STI.

Read about the 2015 Subaru WRX STI in full, here next week.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Adrian on Jan 09, 2014 at 1:19 pm

Is it me or does that looks like the Evo X?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 1
    • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 117
      • Prominence on Jan 09, 2014 at 4:17 pm

And how much faster is the Ferrari compared with the Impreza WRX STI? I know Ferrari are usually faster but the price is also more expensive than the WRX STI for maybe around 8 times to 10 times. Is it 8 or 10 times faster than the WRX STI? Perhaps you can check out some sepang laptimes from track day competitions. See whether can you find Ferrari among the top 10 cars in track or not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
        • I agree only those dvd sellers and yellow hair bengs love all this evo and wrx and an exhaust that i can put my cat inside.

It is this low life that want to be seen and hear and think they can drive better but most of the time, they ended up in ditch or they got a free pass to nirvana and free cremation.

Goto any function in this kinda car will tag you as low class and even the hotel valet will ask you to park yourself and dont park at the lobby.

So, go get gti or ferrari or porsche. More class unless you are like sam loo that think toyota tofu ae86 is still cool and think his hot ah lian gf panty will get wet when he drift his car. Most of the time, his ae86 ended up in longkang too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 32
          • Low life car? Do you know how much it costs to maintain a Lancer Evolution or Impreza WRX STI. You think just some random lowly educated people with low paying jobs can afford to own one of these cars? Please check your facts before you simply comment over here. Do you seriously know about the reputation that Lancer Evolution and Impreza WRX STI has built for this past 20 years throughout the world. I daresay, the maintenance costs of both cars can cost more than the maintenance cost of several sports car like Z33 350Z and Audi TT.

Please rethink what you have commented.

For the part about formal events and functions, these cars are obviously not the suitable cars for these events. The purpose of these both cars are for performance, not for the portrayal of luxury or high class. That’s like saying you bought an expensive Nike/Adidas/Reebok sports shoe and you wore it to some formal events where you received negative responses from people for wearing these shoes. So you conclude that Nike/Adidas/Reebok shoes are for cheap low class ‘ah beng’ people as well because they are not well received in formal events?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
          • truman6 on Jan 12, 2014 at 5:05 am

i bet you cant even afford to buy one of these ah beng lowlife cars..this means you r more lowlife than these lowlife ah beng? get a life..if lowlife ah beng can afford one of these, i already changed my old myvi to aston martin, dumbass…

• DVD Seller on Jan 12, 2014 at 10:07 pm

DVD Seller, modify a Wira to sound like an EVO and exhaust that sounds like a Surbo… STI and EVO are not low life car. These are car for enthusiast…

• igneelking on Jan 09, 2014 at 5:11 pm

Ah Beng,
        you know what is Rally ?
        If you only know car brand name than perhaps your world are so low…

hahaha… ” Dog eyes are always look down on human “

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
      • kzm, you know nothing and your comment is crap. Why bother commenting?

• Ferruccio Lam borg on Jan 10, 2014 at 9:05 am

ONCE upon a time, a beautiful shinny red sport car left the smooth tarmac for the challengingly rippled dusty,graveled forest tracks, sadly it’s driver saw nothing
        but the dust of a blue Japanese sedan.

• he or she really no nothing about cars.. just someone who really good at showing dumb every round of corner. hahahah

• Logesh on Jan 09, 2014 at 4:56 pm

you’re right.. hood shape and nose almost lookalike!

• AgreeAlso on Jan 09, 2014 at 5:37 pm

Yeah i feel the same. Lancer front.

• sutrak on Jan 09, 2014 at 10:47 pm

this is one car i want to ride lisa surihani in. she blowing my thing while i twist the corners is exhilarating.

• Rob aka Flatlander on Jan 18, 2014 at 6:11 am

it looks like a civic with a wing, someone at Subaru needs to be fired after the teaser concept WRX last year. This car looks nothing like it.

• ruffstuff on Jan 09, 2014 at 1:43 pm

Is this Proton Inspira rebadged?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 9
  • tokkoksingsong on Jan 09, 2014 at 1:44 pm

such a beauty. it’s good that it is still in blue with gold rims.

• Ah Beng on Jan 10, 2014 at 2:34 pm

Don’t forget to dye your hair yellow and blue. Looks good on you too.

• paucharsiew on Jan 09, 2014 at 1:47 pm

oh dear…evobaru

• Jabbawockeez on Jan 09, 2014 at 1:48 pm

A glance, i thought it is Inspira in blue.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • Inoran on Jan 09, 2014 at 2:11 pm

Subaru looks like Mitsubishi evo @_@
    Now they looks like cousin.

• Patrick on Jan 09, 2014 at 2:23 pm

I guess this STi got 356hp as the rear number plate shows 356.

• superdriver on Jan 09, 2014 at 2:35 pm

Alright man!!! The real scooby is back!!

• superdriver on Jan 09, 2014 at 2:39 pm

The Dark Knight rises!!! Almost gone for 4-5 years but its finally back! Welcome home scooby!

• BLT Club on Jan 09, 2014 at 2:43 pm

Macam biru aje,
    Macam inspira aje.

• fatchicken on Jan 09, 2014 at 2:52 pm

this car not very reliable..skip!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 23
  • superdriver on Jan 09, 2014 at 3:02 pm

Ohhh F**K!!, I just looked at the ass man and it loo super awesome! Real rally car with class.Seriouslly i dont want anything else but this.

Almost all the cars today looked like pacified home use only irregradless of made or brand.No real staggering looks and class. Just takes us from point A to B in some metallic paint and brand promoting showcase. Makes a driver proud of brand but never the drive.

===== = = ==== = ==== = =
    = = = = = = = = = = =
    ===== = = ===== ===== ===== = =
    = = = = = = = = = = =
    ===== ===== ===== = = = = ======

• kingshah on Jan 09, 2014 at 3:06 pm

it’s looked like an evo + bmw

• Gajen on Jan 09, 2014 at 3:15 pm

2 things-
    1. First picture in that angle misleads most people to think it looks just like an evo. in that angle, yes it does look quite like an evo. Try seeing other pics or even watch videos of it, from other angles, its looks totally different.
    2. Most important for a WRX STI
    -Boxer engine
    -6spd manual
    -AWD
    -STI blue
    -Gold Rims

I think this car looks bad ass. Interior in the WRX was brilliant, this should be better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Boy Racer on Jan 09, 2014 at 3:16 pm

I don’t know. The standard WRX looks better to me :/

• motorhead on Jan 09, 2014 at 3:32 pm

Oh my.. If affordable I can live with the looks.. No poblem… Retro kinda looks.. Back to old days.. Evo, fast & furious 2..

• So confuse, thought it was Inspira facelift. Their designer head already saturated.

• I expect more changes between the WRX STI and WRX. But this looks almost the same with the WRX version except with the added rear spoiler.

• Sam Loo the Third on Jan 09, 2014 at 4:52 pm

I would still love it for its awesome boxer burble

• sepul on Jan 09, 2014 at 5:05 pm

Looks great, though I prefer the standard WRX. No more boxer burble with this one guys. I’ve watched videos of the new WRX and it sounds sedated for a performance saloon. More refined. I like it better than the burble sounds.

• keane on Jan 09, 2014 at 5:15 pm

best looking wrx so far, very japanese look. Design not as busy as previous few. But usually subaru driver won’t consider much about the look

• Ah Beng on Jan 10, 2014 at 2:35 pm

Coz most of the time, the beng driver will be busy pressing his pimple onto the the driver screen.

• Shaun on Jan 09, 2014 at 5:46 pm

is it me, or it actually looks like EVO from the front?

• Thompson on Jan 09, 2014 at 8:44 pm

Probably the fast n furious trend will be back again (i dunno how to explain but you know those time ppl play skyline celica rx8 etc…)

• ae101 on Jan 09, 2014 at 9:28 pm

ahhh finally the iconic blue is back. I still like the 22b wide body version

• jenjen on Jan 11, 2014 at 4:58 pm

please give it a 9000rpm redline, 7 speed dual clutch box with column mounted paddles, vgt turbos and variable back pressure exhaust system. please please please….

• Scott The Great on Jan 12, 2014 at 1:48 pm

Dont mess with Subaru or Evo…….all i can say…..car is not for display…….more dirt is call car…asshole!!!