Lexus RC F – 450+ hp scorcher set for Detroit debut

Lexus RC F 01

The Lexus RC F coupe is set to be officially unveiled at the NAIAS in Detroit next week, but ahead of that, the automaker has released the first official images of its most powerful ever V8 performance car.

The RC F, which is based on the RC coupe that made its debut in Tokyo last November, will be equipped with a 5.0 litre mill offering more than 450 hp. Other differentiation bits come in the form of wider wheels and tyres, an active rear wing, trapezoidal quad-outlet tailpipes, air scoops, cooling ducts and carbon fibre components.

External design cues include a signature Lexus spindle grille that encompasses one single F-pattern in its mesh from the bonnet line to the lower lip, as well as ducts beneath the front bumper and fenders and strategically-placed aerodynamic stabilising fins.

Lexus RC F 02

Elsewhere, the RC F features a new bonnet, which sits higher than that of the base coupe, and an active rear wing that deploys at speeds over 80 km/h and retracts at less than 40 km/h.

As for wheels, three 10-spoke 19-inch forged aluminium wheels are available, by model grade – two of the designs are machine-polished, while the High Plus grade trim wheel is hand-polished.

Inside, the RC F features new high-back seats with an embossed F on the headrests; the seats are available in a choice of five leather trims, each complete with contrasting stitching. Aside from the seats, model specific components include the meters, ornamentation and pedals. The car also debuts a Lexus-first elliptical cross-section thick-grip steering wheel with paddle shifts.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• r.i.p mustang and m3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 6
    • lol with that face? i dont think so.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 38
      • calcutta on Jan 09, 2014 at 11:40 pm

malaysian ah beng will salivate all over this car design

then many will modify their wira/vios to look a bit like this

• car tropper on Jan 09, 2014 at 7:56 pm

The design outline similar to subaru BRZ @ toyota 86.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • Nazeem on Jan 09, 2014 at 5:53 pm

Wow, this car look so beautiful. A masterpiece from Lexus. Design yang ROAR!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
  • khairulx19a on Jan 09, 2014 at 6:08 pm

the front fascia saying “i will eat you if you dont get out of my way”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • qwerty on Jan 09, 2014 at 6:23 pm

Finally, a Lexus that will eat whatever BMW calls the Ultimate Driving Machine!

Btw, Motor Trend says the RC-F has 480hp.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
    • Eat the AMG and RS maybe, the Ultimate Driving Machine is few level above.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 13
    • paucharsiew on Jan 09, 2014 at 8:34 pm

problem is…this would not come with a Manual….thus it would never really be desirable

• Even with a striking looks and glorious engine(High revving NA FTW!!!), it is still stuck with Toyotas limited transmission inventory and can only be had, in contrast with the Luftwaffes high tech selection of super shifting DCT, a torque converter 8 speed auto.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
        • Lexus has an 8 speed auto, it was launched with the IS350, and they recently upgraded the GS350 with the 8 speed.

• I should have bracketed that part about the Luftwaffes but yeah, I was meant to say the RC-F will have an 8-speed conventional auto. It is a torque converter and considering all those fancy 7-speed DCT gearbox the Germans are fielding, it is abit out of date considering the shift time on a conventional auto is abit behind times compared with a DCT(thou probably more reliable). Thou AMG cars currently also uses 7-speed auto with exception of the 2.0-4 on the A/CLA/GLA class AMG cars which uses a 7-speed DCT, and I am expecting the new C class AMG to have a DCT. M4 and RS4 uses DCT.

PS:And is it just me but I find that 8-speed is abit too much for a performance car, but considering Hyundai is giving 10-speed Gearbox in the new Genesis just tells me that this is just the trand.

• My bad. Anyway, which is also the reason why I think lexus will offer a manual transmission because they lack a dct in their portfolio.

• qwerty on Jan 10, 2014 at 10:54 am

DCTs are indeed super quick when it comes to shifting, but it is also true that it needs a lot of care. Bring one to countries with extreme weathers like Malaysia, it will break down easily. And that is in contrast with Lexus’ pursuit of reliability.

Btw, more gears means that powers are channeled to the wheels more efficiently, due to the close gear ratios. I am for it as long as it doesn’t go beyond 8. 8 is max for me. XD

• Reiner on Jan 10, 2014 at 12:52 pm

Yes, Lexus Indeed doesn’t have a DCT, but Lexus 8 speed is pretty fast shifting SCT in market. and it has a short ratio which can counter that.

• disgruntledBMWowner on Jan 09, 2014 at 11:16 pm

How many rich people drives manual anymore? No free hand to explore chicks besides u brader…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
        • You think all people like mercedes Ah Pek like to explore chicks beside using their HAM SHAP hand?

• qwerty on Jan 10, 2014 at 11:14 am

not all but most of them..hahaha

• disgruntledBMWowner on Jan 10, 2014 at 12:27 pm

thgh.. of course not. How inconsiderate of me. I forgot u like to explore guys in ur Lexus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
          • disgruntledBMWowner…told you not to tell anybody, it is our secret and you already get the money right.

• rifle on Jan 09, 2014 at 6:45 pm

stunning on road, angry on track n_n

• Gajen on Jan 09, 2014 at 6:50 pm

what a great looking car. looks really muscular

• Zenyu on Jan 09, 2014 at 7:23 pm

the only lexus i like, other than the LFA

• This is Toyota AE86 brother..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Thompson on Jan 09, 2014 at 8:37 pm

This beast could be the 2nd SC430

• motorhead on Jan 09, 2014 at 9:38 pm

Oh my.. What a car…

• I like Lexus’s design language because personally is the few Japanese cars now that I can say looks truly Japanese, the design of kareaji, an idea of sharpness. And it is Lexus breakthrough from the king of bland to making one of the most unquestionably striking cars that can hit the road, ugly or beautiful is a matter of personal taste, but it is striking. It will definitely stand out in the seas of Luftwaffes on the road today as my encounter with a new IS in Damansara proved.

Personally, looking at how it looks and the power that Yamaha tune V8 is putting out, I can almost diss out the new M4 as I think it , next to the Lexus, is starting to look bland. But the M4 has one trick up its sleep that will keep my attention on it……it can be had with a manual.

• Spongewai on Jan 09, 2014 at 9:45 pm

bmw m4 vs lexus rc f vs merc c63 amg coupe vs what else?!

• beside the grill it is absolute stunning

• disgruntledBMWowner on Jan 09, 2014 at 11:17 pm

L = Losers?? What a logo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 17
  • kingston5 on Jan 09, 2014 at 11:20 pm

Much more desirable and special than any german uber coupes.Good job Toyota/Lexus for bringing back the sports coupe.

• farizY on Jan 10, 2014 at 8:49 am

Very bold design indeed. Different, but not in a bad way.

• So is this RC-F can be considered as sports car? Or is it only a performance coupe?

• Reiner on Jan 10, 2014 at 2:02 pm

I love lexus, but 5.0 Liter cars, only minority would buy this car, the roadtax is definitely killing.

• great front, not so great back, macam sudah kena hantam lol