Mazda CX-5 2.5 CBU available – RM165k-175k est

Mazda Malaysia has quietly introduced the Mazda CX-5 2.5 in the country, as evidenced by this price list. Fully imported (CBU) from Japan in limited units, the Mazda CX-5 2.5 appears to get all of the locally-assembled (CKD) 2.0 High Spec‘s equipment, plus an i-stop start/stop system, sunroof and a nine-speaker Bose sound system.

However, the CX-5 2.5 CBU does not get the 255/55 R19 wheels fitted to the initial batch of CBU 2.0 cars – it continues to ride on the CKD 2.0’s 225/65 R17 alloys. The 2.5 litre SkyActiv-G four-cylinder petrol engine (also found in the Mazda6 2.5) develops 184 hp at 5,700 rpm and 250 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm, compared to the 2.0 litre SkyActiv-G’s 153 hp at 6,000 rpm and 200 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm.

Estimated prices are thus: RM165,067 for the 2WD and RM175,327 for the 4WD, OTR with insurance. In comparison, the CKD 2.0 car is priced from RM137k-154k, while the early CBU 2.0 car was priced from RM160k-170k.

Quite a number of them are already on oto.my – see them here.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• bad move, earlier cbu 2.0 owners loose out the most especially since its only 5k difference. should have introduced this in the first place.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 7
    • Really f@@k berm@s.

Why you don’t introduce this when I wanted. And y u don’t introduce the skyactivD!!!!!!!!

• Ketua Zoo Monyet (kzm) on Jan 10, 2014 at 2:16 pm

Too all CX5 owners, the Malaysian government, not just Bermaz, just played your backside. Sorry lah, your RV is now free fall. Most people don’t mind paying slightly more in road tax for that extra bhp and torque.

• keretapi laju on Jan 12, 2014 at 1:10 am

not necessary….2nd hand buyers tend to look for smaller engine versions…..

• Pontiac on Jan 09, 2014 at 4:41 pm

Terima kasih kerajaan
    Terima kasih bermaz

Janji ditepati!
    Price reduce.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 16
  • It would be nice if you have some extra money to spent on monthly payment rather than be in the waiting list for 3-4 months for the 2.0 CKD version. With an extra RM200 per month u can get the i-start/stop, sunroof and bose sound system. Seems like a good deal to me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 16
    • Najib on Jan 09, 2014 at 7:13 pm

With RM200, i can feed my wife and my 3 children for 2 weeks. I don’t need the i-start/stop, sunroof and bose sound system. As long as the car has a decent safety features is good enough for me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 25
      • Yup, that’s why i said if u have an extra RM200 to spare for the monthly payment. Budget wise, an exora bold would fit u and family perfectly. Not too shabby safety features and still can save a lot of money for the family

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 9
      • Titanium on Jan 10, 2014 at 8:13 am

Sorry to say, if you desperately need this RM200/mth to feed your family, you shouldn’t buy a car that costs you RM150k above in the first place. There are cars with decent or maybe even better safety features equipped car below that price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 4
      • How you feed your wife + 3 children for 2 weeks with just RM200?

200 / 14 / 4 = RM3.6 per person per day = RM1.2 per meal…

I had roti kosong the other day and it costs me RM1.30 now..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 4
      • If you need that RM200, you might as well opt for Myvi, installment only RM500/mth, still able to fetch your family. Furthermore, you will be saving more than RM1000 and can go and get good food. Don’t complain stupidly, people go forward not backwards..or get the VOLVO 240, the car can fit your family and as solid as a tank!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
      • Related Stories on Feb 11, 2014 at 2:05 pm

You paid what you get lorrrr….
        Take it or leave it… Choiiiii

Keep it Simple Stu$#@$d…

• Heskey on Jan 09, 2014 at 4:59 pm

Janji ditepati

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
  • sudonano on Jan 09, 2014 at 5:08 pm

ouch, the early CBU 2.0 owners, I pity you all. Only 5k difference :/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • Maserati on Jan 09, 2014 at 5:59 pm

Thats y , never ever be the first few to buy a new car model. Only idiots do that just to show off.

Smart ppl buy later on when there is better offers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 12
      • For some cases not only better offer but better quality as well ie when all problems solved!

• paucharsiew on Jan 09, 2014 at 5:37 pm

win-win situation for some of us who made an order for 2.0 ckd but havent arrive. now for not much more….CBU and sunroof/Bose/i-stop + MORE POWER…..not too sad about the 19″ rims out….means i don have to spend so much on tyres…and better comfort.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
  • i heard that the waiting list is quite long for the CKD version (4-6months?)
    Perhaps the CBU is already available on the spot for those tired of waiting

• Polo Saga on Jan 09, 2014 at 6:21 pm

Janji dicapati.

• jolly_idiot on Jan 09, 2014 at 9:05 pm

What is mazda trying to do?

• motorhead on Jan 09, 2014 at 9:42 pm

Not bad for a CBU price. Good deal.

• wonder will this 2014 cbu have Smart City Brake Support + commander switch. It is after all the highest price cx5 model

• CBU 2.0 owners T_T Mazda/Bermaz you cut our throat.
    means the Mazda 6 2.0 & 2.5 can be just 5k-10 diff instead of aprox 30k diff

• Archangel on Jan 09, 2014 at 11:47 pm

Oh my, pity those who had bought the CBU model earlier.

• Wunderbard on Jan 10, 2014 at 12:13 am

Come on la… study the specs before moaning!? Everything is the same with the 2.0 CBU except additional i-Stop. Even funnier is ppl whining about m6 2.0 n 2.5, there are so many differences in features available.

N how much different is CR-V 2.0 &2.5? 20k.. n no one moans about that?

• glaze on Jan 10, 2014 at 1:17 am

yeah nobody means about that, because there is no CR-V 2.5 exist, u are drunk

• drunk glaze on Jan 10, 2014 at 7:47 am

glaze.. walk into a Honda showroom after u wake up from ur dream…

• What glaze trying to say is that there might not be a CR-V 2.5 in the market but there’s definitely a 2.4 which still couldn’t beat the price mazda is offering.

• glaze on Jan 10, 2014 at 11:15 am

you are drunk again, there is no 2.5L engine available from any Honda Malaysia. Be it Accord or CR-V.

• Shady on Jan 10, 2014 at 12:13 am

The price drop is due to big devaluation of Japanese yen.

1 year ago it was still RM4.00 to 100 yen, now is only RM 3.2 to 100yen.

In face all CBU cars from Japan should be at least 20% cheaper due to huge drop in yen value compared to a year ago.

• paucharsiew on Jan 10, 2014 at 1:59 pm

nissan gtr and toyota 86 when u drop price….tan chong and subaru…u guys too….when u drop price

• Hondasalesman on Jan 10, 2014 at 6:46 am

2wd for SUV is crap…might as well buy a sedan…

• theanswer on Jan 10, 2014 at 11:38 am

4wd for soft roader is a waste. might as well go for pickup or LR defender for real 4wd.

• EnergyAnalyst on Jan 10, 2014 at 6:50 am

How long the wait for CKD cx5 has become now? Is it that bad that this CBU is brought back to offer as am option to those who have booked local CKD to upgrade?

• i’ve just booked one earlier this year and the SA told me the waiting list would be 3-4 months

• I tell you what Bermaz trying to do….because the waiting list for CKD 2.0 CX5 is too long (6 months) if I’m noy mistaken, so they tring to divert and give some options for future or waiting list buyers..and at the same time MAKE MORE MONEY ….this is what we called seeking opportunity from difficulties……..

• sambalbabi on Jan 10, 2014 at 11:16 am

Doesn’t matter who make more money….it’s the choice of the buyer anyway….pay more to get more…i think the engine capacity and the cbu status justifies the price.

• heybadigol on Jan 10, 2014 at 11:35 am

Thats a pretty good price. Cheaper than the Mazda 6 2.5 sedan, but I believe the 6 has a larger interior and is more refined. Mazda might be having an interesting problem here, this CX-5 might steal sales from their own Mazda6!

• EDWIN on Jan 10, 2014 at 11:59 am

Good to hear that finally mazda cx 5 has 2.5 liters engine,it is more powerful than before.Now mine one is cx5 2.0. The car everything nice,but less power because of the weight of the car. my car is 4WD,4WD much more better than 2WD,but heavy weight. 4WD more stable when I driving,but less power when I driving on hill and full peoples sit at my car. I hope I can change 2.0 to 2.5 even more better drive.

• EDWIN on Jan 10, 2014 at 12:01 pm

When has new MAZDA CX-5 2.5 Test drive in mazda outlet in Malaysia?

• EDWIN on Jan 10, 2014 at 12:26 pm

bad move, earlier cbu 2.0 owners loose out the most especially since its only 3k difference. should have introduced this in the first place.

• heckler on Jan 10, 2014 at 1:13 pm

its kinda weird when we export 2.5 to Thailand and import from Japan for local use…

Am i missing something here?

• Sales & marketing strategy. Soon after this Bermaz will release the CX-5 2.5 CKD version. Just like movie, first show in cinema, later release the DVD.

• paucharsiew on Jan 10, 2014 at 2:00 pm

well…for once in our lives….lets have malaysia the luxury of getting the better things….just this once

• jaijoe on Jan 15, 2014 at 9:50 pm

i booked one already!! 2wd 2.5.

• I paid RM152k for a CBU CX5. At least I already have the pleasure of driving a 2.0 CX5 for a year before this 2.5 arrives. Now it’s old news. Imagine the gaping mouth when I drove it a year ago and the mouth still gaping now

• Related Stories on Feb 11, 2014 at 2:03 pm

You paid what you get lorrrr….
    Take it or leave it… Choiiiii

Keep it Simple Stu$#@$d…

• jaijoe on Mar 10, 2014 at 11:08 am

Just got my CX-5 2.5L 2WD 2 days ago. So far flawless!! Power is sufficient and FC is a bonus.

• CstaI on Mar 12, 2014 at 7:44 am

How long you have been waiting? I booked CID 2.0 recently thinking to upgrade.

• jaijoe2000 on Mar 13, 2014 at 9:23 pm

i booked 1.5 months back. CBU quality is great, especially the cabin noise is really reduced compared to CKD 2.0 that i test drove b4.

• dcchong on Mar 16, 2014 at 6:57 pm

So far what is the review of your 2.5 cbu? I book one too. Anything wrong?

• Cstai on Aug 04, 2014 at 11:39 am

So far what is your FC 2.5 achieved?
      Mine is ave 10km / liter.

• CstaI on Mar 12, 2014 at 7:49 am

And. Any comments on CKD units made in malaysia? Quality fine?

• cbu better
    2.5 better
    go for cbu while stock last

• Cstai on Apr 19, 2014 at 11:14 am

Book 2.5 cbu more than 1 mints still no news when delievery, agent said should be this week..

• C T Chew on May 18, 2014 at 3:20 pm

Anyway, the CX5 is overpriced for what it is compared
    to Honda CRV , the X-trial and other SUVs.Besides,re-sale value not favourable.May be a good SUV.Not owrht the price.For that one could go for Camry or Accord.

• CX 5 CBU 2.5 on May 21, 2014 at 4:15 pm

Resale value subjective mostly to ‘demand’. Excellent car eventually will gain market demand thus improving resale value.
      On the other view; why want to resell a good car?

• CSTAI on May 21, 2014 at 4:52 pm

Receive my CBU 2.5, most attractive feature were excluded. Agree that is a nice car but overprice..
        THe ford Kuga 2013 model with attractive cash rebate. Up rm15k. Is a worth buy now!

• Hi all,

am thinking of buying d CX5 2.5. Have tested the 2liter but found it abit underpowered.How is this compared to Kia Sportage??