NAP 2014 announcement pushed to January 20?

nap-2014-toyota-prius-audi-a6-hybrid

A Business Times report indicates that the eagerly-anticipated National Automotive Policy revision (NAP 2014), previously speculated to be announced between January 10 and 15, will instead be announced on January 20.

The report reaffirms NAP 2014’s expected focus on tax breaks for ‘clean’ vehicles (set to be categorised as Energy-Efficient Vehicles or EEVs) regardless of the technology or method of propulsion used, providing they are locally-produced.

As such, these incentives will not be limited solely to hybrid or electric vehicles like before; they are likely to also take efficient internal combustion engines into consideration, which should benefit Mercedes-Benz and BMW, who have consistently called for this over the past few years. More details on what could constitute an Energy Efficient Vehicle under NAP 2014 here.

mai-vehicle-end-of-life-nap-2014

The End-of-Life Vehicle policy (ELV) is also expected to be one of NAP 2014’s highlights, according to BT. Officials have told the publication that the policy would not be made mandatory; it will instead be on a voluntary basis to encourage regular vehicle inspection amongst motorists.

This is in contrast to deputy transport minister Datuk Abdul Aziz Kaprawi’s announcement in Parliament last November that the government had no plans as of now to impose a lifespan cap on cars because it did not want to burden the public.

Officials have also told BT that Puspakom‘s vehicle inspection infrastructure is inadequate – with 11 million passenger cars in Malaysia, at least 300 more inspection centres would be needed to complement the existing 50 outlets.

BT also reports that the subject of vehicle excise duties are not expected to be one of NAP 2014’s points, but EEV players are set to gain from their fuel-efficient and low-emissions technology, officials said.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• jolly_idiot on Jan 09, 2014 at 12:10 pm

ELV? Giving more excuse for them to rob money from rakyat? I don’t mind if they really do a good job in inspection and eliminate the bribe.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 1
    • Najib, where is the 30% you Promised? on Jan 09, 2014 at 3:08 pm

This is all bull. All this ELV nonsense as well as EEV is a tool MAI uses to divert from the real topic.

Where is Najib’s promise of 30% reduction in car prices over a period of 5 years? Najib promised before the election that if we voted for him and BN, he would ensure that he would match PKR’s offer to reduce car prices. Najib himself quoted saying that the BN government would reduce car prices by up to 30% gradually over 5 years and we should trust BN. Infact he said BN always keeps to their word. 7 months have passed and nothing has been done. He promised last year!

Infact companies like Toyota and VW have increased their prices. Does not matter now whether a car is EEV or ELV. What matters now is where is Najib’s promise.

Madani, please ask your boss Najib to honour his promise. This basic thing also MAI cannot do, how can the rakyat trust MAI and the BN Government?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 122 Thumb down 0
      • mana pergi….sudah dicapati lor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 0
      • After all the empty promises, how can ‘dumbo rakyat’ still vote for BN. What morons. Keep dreaming on your 30% reduction. I’m sure there’ll be a catch even if this 30% is announced. Dumbos will always remains dumbos.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 3
        • Rinnegan on Jan 09, 2014 at 4:59 pm

@dom, a bit harsh and straight to the point. None the less, if it were not for these “dumbos” it will be a different “G” with a different picture.

• don u read previous paultan articles? it shows clearly that some car company already start lowering their car price..the latest one is ASX about 18% price reduction..that u cannot denied..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 64
        • It needs to be industry wide reduction. Not selective. Lower prices means better and more importantly safer cars on the road as people would be able to afford better ones. Sadly this government is only interested in money that enters their pocket. So yeah, dumbos will always remain dumbos.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 6
          • where in ASEAN(-brunei) u get cheap car + good safety equipment?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 33
          • it is called step by step…one by one…u cannot denied that 5% decrease by some auto maker is still price reduction rite?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 35
          • in most ASEAN countries cheap and safety does not walk together….u

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 31
          • Pakai Otak Sikit on Jan 10, 2014 at 9:03 am

hoi kzm, pakai otak sikit lah. Semua pos you kalau tak racist komen mesti pro gomen komen. Tak masuk akal lah komen komen u

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
          • mane 1 tak masuk akal cube bagi 1?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
        • 2008 kena tipu, 2013 kena tipu on Jan 09, 2014 at 10:18 pm

is that reduced by the manufacturer or government? if by manufacturer it doesnt count. Also reduction in features, or from cbu to ckd, to reduce price, also doesnt count.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
        • Tarzan on Jan 09, 2014 at 10:42 pm

It’s not Mitsubishi that reduce price, but government with lower tax due to CKD. However Langkawi duty price increase RM5k from 2WD CBU RM76k to CKD RM81k.

• Cun Jaguh Bola Tampar on Jan 10, 2014 at 10:23 am

true also..there r some reductions in car prices.. but its like it is not done by the G but buy the car companies.. so people still wants the G to reduce the tax.

• 2HousePower on Jan 10, 2014 at 11:33 am

Actual fact, its already been fulfilled with the introduction of those model ending with ‘SV’. It is just our perception (sound familar?)is translating the pink lip as saying price reduction on all marques instead of just car. Perhaps we should just blame it on perception.

• Sandiwara BN on Jan 10, 2014 at 4:24 pm

This very simple. All Sandiwara. What will happen is this. There won’t be any price reduction for the next 5 years.

BN told their lapdog Madani to prepare everyone about Vehicle Inspection and the importance of Puspakom inspection. But the real agenda is to enrich Syed Mokhtar further. This will make him a few more billion riggit every year.

everybody knows, Puspakom is corrupted to the core. Money money money!. No money, no talk. Everything there is run by money. The Ulats know this. All the ULATS must pay money to get things done for thier tuans. So why kerajaan want to menyusahkan rakyat further?

• abuya123 on Jan 09, 2014 at 3:12 pm

Apa perasaan ko bila kereta zaman tok kaduk langgar kereta ko sebab brek tak makan? Lepas tu anak bini jalan dan ko permanently disable? The good news is your car can claim insurance without loosing NCD.

Dude, many people around you dont care about their car, asal boleh jalan. Give excuse takde duit nak repair hence risking other motorists.

You must never go Puspakom if say like this. They are very strict in inspection, do their job very well. They have enough tools to check. Eliminate the bribe? If you be Prime Minister, I can guarantee you also cannot eliminate bribe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 67
      • tak makan tu bodiiih…
        gaji kat JPJ Rm1500 boleh hiidup ke ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 25
      • disgruntledBMWowner on Jan 09, 2014 at 10:34 pm

agree with u abuya. However they should offer us free inspection. Otherwise mcm x ikhlas je. Lorry and other big vehicles must be thoroughly inspected. So many running around with so much smoke coming out. 15 years ago India already make it compulsary to check exhaust emmission for all vehicle from time to time using some device connected to the exhaust. We must do that here as well.

• Black Dog on Jan 09, 2014 at 3:21 pm

They should seriously look into allowing electric bikes and bicycles on our roads. Electric bicycles can be limited outside the city centre.

Many countries, especially China are so far ahead in this. What the heck they’re waiting for? Some big crony (like Naza) to start it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • who will bribe? car owner will bribe car inspector? so that mean we as car driver r the corrupt one..it say not mandatory so wat the problem?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 28
      • kzm kroni kerajaan on Jan 10, 2014 at 9:15 am

The brilliant reasoning of a Uitm or Mara graduate

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
        • Then tell me how does bribe/corruption start? im makan gaji beb..n do some part time online biz

• Push forever also people wont care; the rakyat still wont enjoy better vehicles like humans worldwide enjoy. Poor Malaysian.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 0
    • abuya123 on Jan 09, 2014 at 3:22 pm

Because Malaysia is so bodoh, we lost all CKD business to Thailand. Protect Proton so much until all companies run away to Thailand. Bodoh BN. Last time, Malaysia was on its way to be Asian Autocity of the World. Then BN started their rubbish protecting Proton and telling other car companies how to price their cars.

Jepun got fed up. Told Malaysia to FO. Now, they make Thailand AutoCity of the world. We lost few hundred thousand jobs just to protect Proton’s 30,000 crony jobs.

We lost hundreds of billions USD of revenue because of Proton. Revenue that could build more hospitals and schools.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 112 Thumb down 4
      • Nobody in Bolehland want CKD car in the first place..due to quality..so wat the prob?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 63
    • Where? minus EU, North America n Japan country…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 20
  • tomesi on Jan 09, 2014 at 12:22 pm

i cant wait for nap revision…even im already tired with current gov, but there is still a piece of hope for this NAP revision..plz, fulfil your manifesto to reduce 30% car price as u promised before GE13…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
    • they might increase it like 50%-70%, then before the election, reduce it to 30% and tell u janji dicapati.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
    • abuya123 on Jan 09, 2014 at 3:14 pm

The opposition party also dont fullfill their promise during GE12 and GE13. Politician are same!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 57
      • mayb you are right, but think back how they can fullfil all their promises when all the power, eg car price, tax and so on. are control by federal government alone which is control by BN and not opposition.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
        • but..but why the thing control by opposition gov they don want to reduce price? eg PKNS they make house but way to costly for average people to buy…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 40
          • saladin on Jan 09, 2014 at 10:39 pm

why not ask petronas to give us free petrol. why not ask sime darby give us free house. why not proton give us free car. moron…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
          • Backup betul KZM ni. The promise was car price reduction. Made by current gov. Not by Toyota, not by Mitsubishi. After all it was made by your vote.

And please, you can vote anyone you like, like we all do. But please use some sense when you support certain topics.

Ape cerita pasal PKNS pulak…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
          • Cun Jaguh Bola Tampar on Jan 10, 2014 at 10:31 am

the part on PKNS is totally true.. opposition also 2×5.. bn also teruk.. haiyaaa.. how?

• yes they made promise..they don say “today win tomolo price reduce” no.. but they did promise car price will reduce within 5 yrs correct?

• Low Budget on Jan 09, 2014 at 10:17 pm

Hope? If you hope for reduction of car excise duty in this NAP announcement, then DAY DREAMING would be more appropriate, slowly wait-lah..

• it look similar to thai eco car programme and indo low cost green car programme….the different is that EEV has no capacity limit and type of propulsion use..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 23
  • azrai on Jan 09, 2014 at 12:40 pm

Haiyaa…another delay? So how to buy Prius? Still got the incentive? Meanwhile..all the carmakers already flocking to Indonesia, Vietnam and even Myanmar.

For the ELV, I think I better get a franchise offer from PUSPAKOM in near future. Forget those VW dealership offer. :-) This will bring more profit than ever.

• fthis on Jan 09, 2014 at 12:41 pm

In every action there is a good reason and a real reason.

The good reasons for ELV will be things like making sure vehicles are in good operating condition, safe, legal, etc.

However, let’s have a look on the business implications of this decision. Puspakom is owned by DRB-Hicom, who is owned by (yes you’ve guessed it) Syed Mokhtar. Effectively, NAP is setting Syed Mokhtar up for another monopoly to not only reap economic profit, but also has a conflict of interest since DRB-Hicom’s objective as a car manufacturer and distributor (Proton, Honda, VW…) is also too sell as many cars as possible.

Either way, there will be wealth transfer to Malaysia’s “greatest” businessman. Good times ahead

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 7
  • While Malaysia is still on Euro 2 fuel quality, new EEV will not offer much unless Malaysia upgrade petrol and diesel to Euro 4 or above. In most cases Euro 4 or higher quality fuel are mandatory requirement for modern clean internal combustion engine whether diesel or petrol to operate properly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • abuya123 on Jan 09, 2014 at 3:17 pm

Errr….. save your saliva. People want cheap…. and gomen oso want to reduce their spending for subsidy. You know…. I always dream want a car powered by nuclear fuel. Single charge can be use for 20 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 28
    • alldisc on Jan 10, 2014 at 8:54 am

euro4 (or euro4M) is on its way here. as early as second quarter 2014. latest Q3 2015.

it is in the agenda of related Ministries.

• Mozilla Chrome on Jan 09, 2014 at 12:58 pm

January 2020??

Sick of them with empty promises already..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
  • kadajawa on Jan 09, 2014 at 1:02 pm

To delay-delay is BN culture lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
    • oblong on Jan 09, 2014 at 3:38 pm

TUNDA is something that BN folks learned from Ketua Pembangkang on his court case

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
      • Low Budget on Jan 09, 2014 at 10:20 pm

Ketau Pembankang and people like you and me can talk kock, but those in Power and have the authority to decide national policies should not.

• _xXx_ on Jan 09, 2014 at 6:35 pm

wrong, minyak naik mane ade delay2? ini hari ckp ini hari dorang naik jgk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Dr M and Cronies Bhd on Jan 09, 2014 at 1:05 pm

The gist of it all is this:

“BT also reports that the subject of vehicle excise duties are NOT expected to be one of NAP 2014′s points ”

So don’t expect much changes in car prices…. this BN govt has already conned you to vote for them. Deal is done. U lose.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 2
    • EnergyAnalyst on Jan 09, 2014 at 2:40 pm

It may as well also say since it is silence on the issue of open Approved Permit, please expect no announcement of revised will touch on that too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Low Budget on Jan 09, 2014 at 10:22 pm

They promise Nasi Briani and now they give you Capati and also naik harga..

• spongewai on Jan 09, 2014 at 1:08 pm

no more delayed the date, ppl or customers waiting a good news of the proposal…

• No eye see on Jan 09, 2014 at 1:30 pm

Sigh what also want follow uk us sg but open eyes big big la. Disposable income now very high is it. What fuel subsidy la. I already pay so much tax I subsidise myself? Fts.

• Latuk Bandar on Jan 09, 2014 at 1:40 pm

Quote: “Vehicles which fail the inspection need to be send for repair until they pass the inspection before they are to be on the road again.”*

*participants are encouraged to join our ‘you help me i help you’ program to speed up the inspection process.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • paucharsiew on Jan 09, 2014 at 1:49 pm

honestly nobody expects much. only people benefitting are the lansi audi salesmen who dont even want to serve you after record figures last year.

• b sensible on Jan 09, 2014 at 1:57 pm

couldn’t understand why just puspakom do the vehicle inspection…there are so many auto service centres, gov can instruct them to do the inspection too! no need to send workshop then to puspakom again. b’cos if a car is not fit, then they hv to visit puspokom twice, or thrice! opportunities to earn more! why not one shot two birds, the repair & inspection are done at the workshop. can order puspakom officials to stand-by at the workshop. besides the gov can certify the workshop fit to do the repair work. need not to worry the existing 50 puspakom outlets, we can even hv 1000+ gov certified inspection centres!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
    • Mohd Shubhi on Jan 09, 2014 at 2:03 pm

Brilliant idea!!! easy and cheaper

• Hurray on Jan 09, 2014 at 2:13 pm

1st visit puspakom – fail
      2nd visit puspakom – fail
      3rd visit puspakom minta “tolong” – pass !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 1
    • farizY on Jan 09, 2014 at 5:19 pm

Just like MOT test in the UK, they have authorized bengkel to do them.

• Expected on Jan 09, 2014 at 2:01 pm

“BT also reports that the subject of vehicle excise duties are NOT expected to be one of NAP 2014′s points ”

This is expected!

• Mohd Shubhi on Jan 09, 2014 at 2:02 pm

will they annouce about price reduction of imported cars?….cannot wait lo!

• Vincent on Jan 09, 2014 at 2:12 pm

Annouchment, implementation and enforcement is different things…we are OK for you to buy time, another few days. More concern is, whatever ou going to annouch, the implementation date will be 1 Jan 2020…and still give chance to enforce it after 2022..bra bra ba…

• damn right we need more Puspakom centers.

try going to any of the centers now to do your inspection.

need to wait at least half a day to get a simple transfer ownership inspection done.

not to include the crazy jam inside with lorries, cars crowding the center.

• abuya123 on Jan 09, 2014 at 3:21 pm

I strongly agree with you. Gila apa…. Kena queue awal pagi, kul 3 petang kereta siap. Tak pasal2 kena amik cuti satu hari. Tu yang ramai guna middle man…. or even give a bribe sebab check tak semestinya lepas. In front of my eyes…. taxi driver…. his taxi failed test after waiting from morning to evening…. just sebab alignment lari!

• Low Budget on Jan 09, 2014 at 10:26 pm

Fully agreed! Damn shitty tasks to be endured by the motorists.

• Guan Yin Ma on Jan 09, 2014 at 2:46 pm

Well, only stupid people will believe what BN promised. In the end , all policies, all projects, benefit for THEMSELVES only. 20 years had passed , and everything is still same. HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • totti on Jan 09, 2014 at 2:51 pm

Kind to elaborate the road worthy condition of car?

The term use is subjective and can be debated.

1) Absorber leaking consider fail?
    2) White smoke from exhaust consider fail?
    3) steering vibrate consider fail?
    4) tyre with 50% tread consider fail?
    5) old car can not go beyond 130km/hr consider fail?
    6) rusty body paint consider fail?
    7) Broken seat consider fail?

Let me have the answer or abuse will take place for “SUBJECTIVE” item like the above.

• will cars that is old enough pass the test when fixing it to standard might be a problem? lower income people might just need to spend more just to get their ‘antique’ back onto the road.

• Joker on Jan 09, 2014 at 3:14 pm

I dun care really if ELV means scrapping car if they completely remove the excise duty… as for EEV both Thailand and Indonesia with similar policy is now flocking with 1000cc and 1200cc car… and it’s very very cheap… Let jz hope it’s the same thing = Polo 1.2 TSI becomes RM60k..

• Guan Yin Ma on Jan 09, 2014 at 4:50 pm

Joker. Without tax polo tsi is 80k. 60k , yeah, maybe, without tsi and dsg.

• I.A.B.

• nikko on Jan 09, 2014 at 3:45 pm

Looks like Syed Moktar (Puspakom towkey) will laughed all the way to the banks again and again!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Delayed because can’t come up with a plan to protect Proton. Downward spiral we go.

• Car lover on Jan 09, 2014 at 5:30 pm

Inspection is ok, i agree. But better we get it for free since we paid road tax. i dun mind road tax increase on reasonable price, better than they charge many time if the inspection fail for several time.

who knows they purposely fail you to gain extra income? I dun say they will but this might happen.

• Should have an ELV for proton the manufacturer!

• takNakP1 on Jan 09, 2014 at 7:12 pm

NAP = National AUTA-MATI Policy

• Sad to know these:
    1)I was so proud when Malaysia launched the first Proton Saga back in 1985/86. 30 years later, Proton has not progressed significantly and is a joke that Proton has the culture to copy other car design.
    2) the new Perdana has showed the world that our proton design center has little to offer to automotive industry. Malaysia Boleh!!
    3)I think Honda just naively lowered their brand image established over 50 years in Malaysia!!! Who wants to buy a Honda when there is a risk of been branded as Proton!!!
    4)Gov is so focus on low carbon emission and efficient vehicle. Yet, we still have heavily smoking buses/trucks on the road. where is the automotive reform and transformation? Good intention, poor implementation. 30% price reduction over 5 years,.. is a dream when take a NAP!!
    5)Gov effort in protecting Proton market using “All sort of Taxes” did not yield a better auto industry. What kind of strategy is this? for sure, it is short sighted and kia su strategy.
    6)Even Korean cars can compete internationally but what can Proton compete in? Good car company hire visionaries to lead the transformation and add value..
    7)… a lot more… let’s keep on dreaming in your NAP if something positive going to come out from NAP.

• Old dog on Jan 09, 2014 at 10:18 pm

The AP holder how to survive? All their imported car is like 3-5 years old, how to calculate that? Lol year zero as registration date? See how lame it is…those AP cars owner will be exempted for sure…

• Harizz on Jan 09, 2014 at 10:42 pm

Wei ko bodo ‘KZM’. Ko komen baik2. Mak tak ajar nk tolong BN buatpe.. You kroni BN ke bodo? Buta sgt tak tengok ape jadi skrg. Aku melayu pun Malu nak tengok Najib. Kereta aku Wira dah guna 17 tahun. Anak dah besar, tapi sebab harga krt mahal tiap2 hari aku suruh keluargaku sabar kita kumpul duit beli kereta baru. AKU DAH TAK TAHAN TENGOK Bini ku, anaku bersempit dlm wira. Kereta tak guna, aku takde duit sebab tu masih guna wira. Kalau tak dah lama aku tinggal PROTON ni. BODO LA BN ! MEMANG BODO.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
    • Napping on Jan 10, 2014 at 8:21 am

KZM = Ketua Zoo Macai

• Pakai Otak Sikit on Jan 10, 2014 at 9:06 am

kzm, kroni kerajaan lah. Mesti dia ada kontrak berjuta juta dari kerajaan

• tak keloni sy adalah customer sy yg tolong saya perkenalkan service sy offer pada kluarga n kwn2 mereka..

• Cun Jaguh Bola Tampar on Jan 10, 2014 at 10:39 am

work hard to earn more money. read books. be brave n try new things. dont just say ‘aku x da duit’!! work harder n harder!! just to inform u, i hv 2 small business n i also work in a company.. i work hard bro..

• Mak2 jgn main la! sy bukan keloni bn, org bn, org umno, blogger umno, kipas susah mati bn…sy bukan zombie ok…tp sy support apa yg betul n apa yg sy cakap tu realiti…yg pnting kite kene pandai urus duit bro..kurangkn politik, politik (bn/pr) xbawak ke mana pun..kurangkn berinternet xberfaedah buat mcm sy berniaga online part time at least dapat RM2-3k dlm tangan kalo rajin..kalo bro nak jadi agen saya pun bleh komisen bro amik sume..no hal tolong bangsa sendiri drpd terpekik terlolong..kat dunia ni xade yg adil n kita kene kerja..sy sendiri pun pakai saga blm je..

• Archangel on Jan 09, 2014 at 11:32 pm

All this NAP policy is crap. We want Najib to fulfill his promise in reducing the car price. Furthermore, implement a rule to ensure all the car manufacturer produce a quality built and high safety car at reasonable price.

• Carfox on Jan 09, 2014 at 11:35 pm

With the recent price hikes, I wouldn’t be surprised if they actually increase car prices. :( And then when we complain, they’ll tell us to FO and ride bicycles or move away if we’re not happy. It’s a bad joke that my first car (1999 Saga) is pretty much exactly the same as my father’s first car (Iswara).

• becoz of Potong, instead of hundreds of thousands of jobs for the rakyat as automotive engineers, technicians etc, they all end up working as insurance agents, direct sales or even Legoland aseembling fake instead of real cars

• Well guys, if u all want cheap car price and lower tax. We gotta change everything and even close down proton. To those who keep begging Najib, Im so sorry to say you are wasting your time. Najib will never, i mean, never ever reduce the car price. He and his konco, macai will tell us bulls and lies that if car price is reduced. malaysian automotive industry will collapse, parallel importer will suffer. But they never think of the rakyat who suffer. Esp the Malays in kampung. 12 ppl cramp in a van. 4 ppl ride one motocycle. U ask them, they will tel you bersyukur because they are afraid of retaliation from BN goon. But we city dwellers had enough. In fact, BN goons are afraid of City ppl but they can still cheat the kampung folks. So for Malaysia to become an advanced country and enjoy alots of benefits including cheap car price. The current hierachy of ppl in UMNO and BN have to go. I dont mind BN and UMNO or PAS or any other party. Its the mentality of the ministers that lead our country into a mess.

• Yours Faithfully (YF) on Jan 11, 2014 at 12:25 am

According to what I have heard, the govt will not be continuing the tax incentive for the hybrid vehicles. Audi wanted to bring in their Audi A8 Hybrid if it was continued. Sad….

• 30% price reducstion. This is joke of the year. If goverment reduce 30% of car prices, the fuel prices will increase another 30%. So you got to make a choice.? Car price or Fuel price.?

• Minah on Jan 20, 2014 at 11:36 am

I need to know what he meant by increase of value added activities??? Does it mean increasing in total value of the car as well? If it true, why the car maker want to burden themselves by wasting time doing extra activities????

Yes, we Malaysians are waiting for Excise Duty reasonable % !!