Seat Leon Cupra – the most powerful production Seat

2014 Seat Leon Cupra-04

Hot hatch fans, say hello to the new Seat Leon Cupra, a sexy Spanish chicka that you will never get to date in Malaysia. The new Leon Cupra, available in five-door and three-door SC forms, is the VW Group brand’s most powerful and fastest series-production car.

One sound actuator enhanced 2.0 TSI engine is available in two states of tune, 265 PS or 280 PS, both with 350 Nm of torque. The Cupra 280 with optional DSG transmission catapults from 0 to 100 km/h in just 5.7 seconds, and in 5.8 seconds with the six-speed manual gearbox.

The Cupra 265 is just a fraction slower at 5.9 seconds with manual transmission and 5.8 seconds with DSG. Fuel economy wasn’t abandoned in the process – 6.4 litres per 100 km with the DSG is a good figure.

2014 Seat Leon Cupra-03

With DCC dynamic chassis control (Cupra Drive Profile allows for individualisation), front-axle differential lock (100% of drive can be sent to one wheel, integrated with two-stage ESP and EDS) and progressive steering (variable toothing on the rack) all fitted as standard, the new Leon Cupra does faster laps on the track than its predecessor, but is also significantly more relaxed to drive, according to Seat.

Safe and reliable deceleration comes courtesy of the Cupra-specific, high-performance brake system, recognisable by its red calipers. 18-inch wheels are standard, with the Cupra 280 getting mega 19-inch rollers. Despite considerably improved equipment (full LED headlamps, Media System Plus with 5.8-inch touchscreen are standard), the new hot Leon weighs 55 kg less than its Mk2 predecessor.

The latest Leon wears a very sharp suit – do you prefer this look or the more sober VW Golf GTI?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Ryan.C on Jan 09, 2014 at 3:14 pm

Finally, seat has a good designer!

• Seat is a dead brand. It is as dead as Fiat, Lada and Skoda.

Pergi mampus Seat!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 46
  • Dr M and Cronies Bhd on Jan 09, 2014 at 3:17 pm

Halo … Proton … ARE YOU READING THIS ??

Look what VW has done to this previously shitty brand. It could have been you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 0
  • rifle on Jan 09, 2014 at 3:30 pm

hot chick..pheewwwwiiitttttt :D

• I want this more than VW ofcos.

• ‘do you prefer this look or the more sober VW Golf GTI?’

Not only the looks are different. As far as I know, the Cupra is even faster than the GTI, but you have to pay a price for that. It’s louder, harder and less refined than the GTI.

That perfectly makes sense, as there’s no real competition between the Cupra and GTI, both have their own customers. Why should VW create a competitor to it’s GTI in their own group of companies? ;)

• This is a very new marketing strategies used mostly by Koreans, like Samsung & Hyundai. As we all know Kia is under Hyundai. E.g. They came out with the Sonata & K5, both same segment, targeting same segment. Many ppl may say that they are eating their own market share. But actually this is a very clever strategy. They want you to choose between a Kia & Hyundai as oppose to maybe, Kia & Toyota. They give you more choices. No matter you buy Kia or Hyundai, they will earn. Yes it may cost quite a lot on R&D and stuff, But in global market, they win. In this case, it is the same. VW wants you to choose between a Leon & Golf, as oppose to maybe a Golf & Renault. no matter you choose Golf or Leon, They still win. Like Samsung, they flooded the whole tablet & Smartphone market, making many other brands hard to stand. Very risky strategy.

• This Cupra looks more similar to audi style rather than VW.. maybe a hatchback A3?

• paucharsiew on Jan 10, 2014 at 1:57 pm

this is more Golf R rival than GTI rival

• yippi33 on Sep 08, 2015 at 3:32 pm

Prefer this rather than Golf..Price is much cheaper as well right? that’s why VW restrict its sale to other countries..they want more moolah maybe..

• Ray Farraie on Mar 20, 2018 at 1:28 am

2017 seat leon ada stock dkt malaysia