BMW showcases automated BMW M235i at CES

A compact coupe with powerful turbocharged engine, a short wheelbase and rear wheel drive – one would probably consider the BMW M235i (the hot version of the new 2-Series) a driver’s car. But an M235i that doesn’t need a driver? That’s exactly what BMW showcased at CES this year – watch the video above.

This automated M235i demonstrates a new generation of control systems that it is calling BMW ActiveAssist, which is parked under the ConnectedDrive banner. It is a safety assistance system which brings the vehicle back into line in demanding driving situations without any input from the driver.

The prototype can pilot its way at high speeds with precision on a slalom run between cones, adheres to a marked out circular course regardless of the friction coefficient of the road surface, and executes an obstacle-evading lane change to perfection. Even when deliberately provoked into oversteer, the prototype follows its path safely and along almost identical lines time after time, as it can react to fluctuating grip levels which might happen in real life, such as aquaplaning.

The sensors delivering the necessary information are the same as those fitted as standard on today’s vehicles and also send data to the DSC system, for example. Understeer – where the car pushes over its front wheels – is dialled out by opening the steering. Oversteer is caught using a carefully gauged combination of countersteering and brake inputs.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• AWESOME !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
  • disgruntledBMWowner on Jan 10, 2014 at 3:39 pm

I hate BMW, but still have to face the fact that this 2 series beat the mercedes A and B class hands down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • disgruntledBMWowner on Jan 10, 2014 at 4:40 pm

Stop using my nick u fake. Be original. Stop trying to deceive the public to buy BMW and then they suffer. U r selfish to do that. U buy urself a BMW if u really dream of a BMW but don’t bluff people without experiencing the suffering ur self.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
  • disgruntledBMWowner on Jan 10, 2014 at 3:51 pm

What are they thinking? BMW sales have dropped 15% worldwide due to their poor quality and poor after sales service and warranty but still want to produce more cars. BMW owners for F series are smashing and burning their cars worldwide due to frustration. A simple splash of rain water from a small puddle have caused engine failure in few cases which is not covered by insurance.BMW Malaysia will blame customers and said its their fault and they dont cover natural disaster. Please dont torture urself and do the community a favour by boycotting BMW Malaysia. Let these people know the people’s power.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
    • Yours Faithfully (YF) on Jan 11, 2014 at 12:51 am

I was thinking of getting a new 520d. I know all cars will have a little problems here and there. But … is it really that serious?

• disgruntledBMWowner on Jan 11, 2014 at 10:14 am

Based on my experience, I advice to u refrain from. Don’t just believe me. Google it. Kedai besi buruk also don’t accept it as scrap

• BMW's 2 Year warranty on Jan 10, 2014 at 4:16 pm

BMW Malaysia is the ONLY company in the world, not just in Malaysia, in the world, that ONLY gives 2 year warranty for their cars.

Have you wondered why? Think carefully before you buy. If a car company has no confidence to give you the basic 3 years, something smells fishy. Now, nearly ALL companies give 5 years. Even Proton and Perodua, give 5 years warranty.

So many bMW owners, after 2nd year cry so loud like a baby because, warranty habis, have to pay so much in parts prices. Many kena gearbox rosak, immediately RM80k disappears from the bank account just to buy a new gearbox.

You dare to buy a car with so many electronics and high possibility to malfunction with a mere and miserable 2 year warranty?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • Dominic on Jan 11, 2014 at 10:53 pm

Muahahaha…….Gearbox again? i though BMW gearbox no problem!

• Simon Hoh on Jan 11, 2014 at 9:01 am

Owning a BMW has always been about the driving experience. Surely this wouldn’t provide it? Moniker should be DisconnectedDrive? :D
    I can imagine myself having a few heart attack episodes in the drivers seat if the car is driving itself. Look, a chicken crossing the road, BMW swerves … and rams into a national feedlot cow. *This one wandered from its condo*

• RoKie on Jan 12, 2014 at 12:13 am

Holy cow ! Now everyone can drift ! Fuyoh !!!