BMW i Remote App – now offering BMW i3 info through the Samsung Galaxy Gear smartwatch

P90140891-highRes

BMW has unveiled a research prototype of its BMW i Remote App for the Samsung Galaxy Gear at the 2014 Consumer Electronics Show in Las Vegas. The application, which made its debut with the BMW i3 and allows its drivers to share information with the vehicle at any time via their smartphone, has now found its way on to the smartwatch.

The Galaxy Gear is worn on the wrist like a watch and cleverly complements the linked smartphone – users can view important information on the smartwatch without having to take their smartphone out of their pocket, unlock a screen or enter a code.

In the case of i3 users with a Galaxy Gear, the specific i Remote App displays information of the i3’s range on electric power, battery charge available and any inputted departure times on the smartwatch.

Using the Galaxy Gear’s touch display to click on the figures sent by the application opens a sub-menu containing more detailed information. Another sub-menu informs the user of the vehicle’s current status, such as if any of the doors, windows or the sunroof is open.

The application additionally enables users to send navigation destinations to their vehicle and to regulate the climate on board, with the option of using voice commands via Samsung’s speech recognition system, S Voice.

Also on the car-smartwatch bandwagon is Mercedes-Benz, who has teamed up with Pebble.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• BMW's 2 Year warranty on Jan 10, 2014 at 4:15 pm

BMW like to come out with stupid things and gadgets which are non relevant. What is more important is warranty.

“BMW Malaysia is the ONLY company in the world, not just in Malaysia, in the world, that ONLY gives 2 year warranty for their cars.

Have you wondered why? Think carefully before you buy. If a car company has no confidence to give you the basic 3 years, something smells fishy. Now, nearly ALL companies give 5 years. Even Proton and Perodua, give 5 years warranty.

So many bMW owners, after 2nd year cry so loud like a baby because, warranty habis, have to pay so much in parts prices. Many kena gearbox rosak, immediately RM80k disappears from the bank account just to buy a new gearbox.

You dare to buy a car with so many electronics and high possibility to malfunction with a mere and miserable 2 year warranty?”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
    • barang naik on Jan 10, 2014 at 5:12 pm

If you dont like 2 years warranty, then lu boleh keluar.

Bmw suits bn trooper coz after 2 years, they can always change car. Tak suka boleh keluar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • My 7 year old BMW had covered almost 200,000 kilometres and touch wood , is still running fine. Many kena gearbox rosak is an overstatement, How many is many ? please cite your sources. And RM80k for a gearbox ? we can get a reconditioned one for less than 10k , again…are you even a BMW owner ?

Its fair to say that BMW parts doesn’t come cheap but its an ultimate driving machine after all

• fancy but useless. unless you plan to audition for the next version of knight rider.

• disgruntledBMWoener on Jan 10, 2014 at 4:59 pm

Simple car seat also they cant do properly want to come out with gadget. Anyone notice BMW is trying so hard to market their brands so hard recently?? Too many BMW owners around the worlds are disposing off their new cars by either smashing it or burning it. See youtube. Giving 2 years warranty is already sending shivers down their sping. their cars are like time bomb waiting to explode. Heavy loss for BMW.

• darkermarker on Jan 10, 2014 at 11:20 pm

I think Ah-Beng Taukeh would love this gadget….hehehe

• now, how many watches should a rich guy wears? Branded watches like Tissot bla2 cannot be forgotten.

• NightHunter on Jan 11, 2014 at 1:24 pm

Kakaka… Anybody who anti-korean especially cars, will now have a piece of korean in their cars…lol…