Mazda SkyActiv 2 engines to be 30% more efficient

Mazda-SkyActiv 001

Now this is a bold claim. Mazda’s executive officer in charge of powertrain development, Mitsuo Hitomi, told Automotive News that its future SkyActiv 2 engine line-up will be 30% more efficient than the existing, still-fresh SkyActiv technologies that only debuted in 2011.

There will be plenty of time to turn that claim into reality, however, as the Mazda SkyActiv 2 line-up is not scheduled to be introduced until the end of the decade. The 2020 European regulations, with its ultra-strict CO2 emissions standards (95 grams per kilometre), is the real target.

In the matter of how, Hitomi said Mazda aims to crank the petrol engine’s compression ratio up from the existing level of 14:1 (already the industry’s highest) to 18:1. That’s because the new range will make use of homogeneous charge compression ignition, or HCCI in short.

Mazda-SkyActiv 001 (1)

HCCI engines make do without traditional spark plugs. A higher compression ratio would compress the fuel-air mixture to such a high pressure that it ignites by itself, similar in concept to a diesel engine’s combustion cycle. This way, more complete fuel combustion and lower emissions can be achieved.

There are some complications, though. There’s an ever-present risk of engine misfire at high and low engine speeds, and the engine’s operating temperature is much higher than that of a conventional motor. Then there’s the issue of higher fuel requirements. Even the current SkyActiv engines had to be retuned (reduced compression ratio of 13:1) to run on our fuels.

Good thing is, there’s still a long way to go. Hitomi claims that the SkyActiv 2 line-up will bring as big a jump in efficiency as the original range introduced, and an even more advanced SkyActiv 3 family is already planned for 2025. Looks like the sky’s really the limit for Mazda.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Mrreal on Jan 10, 2014 at 12:48 pm

This is BS claim. 30% is better than diesel. Diesel itself is just 20 better than gasoline.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 43
    • Don’t be so negative – we wouldn’t know what technology will prop up at the end of decade bro. Nothing is impossible

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
    • Ketua Zoo Monyet (kzm) on Jan 10, 2014 at 2:09 pm

At least Mazda is douing something eventhough planned for few years later. See Proton? Nothing coming from them. Hybrid also, kena tunggu lama.

What do the Macai Proton engineers do?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
      • Even if proton introduce a hybrid car today, there will always be doubters. There are even people doubted whether proton’s airbags will deploy or not in accident. It’s ok to be sceptical given proton’s past quality issues but sometimes the criticisms borders on stupidity and uncalled for.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 17
        • Hansem on Jan 12, 2014 at 11:59 am

Oh really? Please rethink back of one bold technology/design introduced by proton engineer.. none! Gaji buta..

• fegrer on Jan 10, 2014 at 2:47 pm

You don’t read news? It’s coming. Go and find it yourself I’m not going to spoonfeed you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
      • armandd on Jan 10, 2014 at 3:16 pm

Your name suits you amazingly well.

• Let’s keep an open mind about it. If Mazda really is capable of achieving such technology its a benefit to all consumers as eventually other manufacturers can follow suit.

http://www.marketwatch.com/story/mazda-named-the-most-fuel-efficient-auto-manufacturer-in-us-environmental-protection-agency-report-2013-12-16

This is the 2013 market report and it does show Skyactive technology to be effective and efficient.

• another talk cock sing song case. ya ya.. 30% more efficient at the engine itself. after you go through the flywheel, bla bla bla.. only left with 5% improvement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 33
      • Ananz on Jan 10, 2014 at 5:46 pm

After reading through reviews about the Skyactive cars available i don’t think they talk cock about their fuel efficiency. Apart from hybrids, turbos or diesel engines their Skyactive NA gasoline can be considered the top compared to other makes.

Only thing i would be worried is whether this technology is reliable as it is still new. No other NA gasoline engines have such high compression ratio so far which might be a cause for worry?

• Mrreal on Jan 10, 2014 at 6:03 pm

Spot on, Korean car manufactures a year ago was being sued in usa for false claim about their car miles per gallon. Will gasoline with less thermal unit than diesel will create better efficiency than diesel by using diesel-like technique ignition? Maybe just 5% improvement from engine itself other improvement of fuel efficiency possibly by other factors such as reducing weight, friction ,height ….

• arcana on Jan 10, 2014 at 9:38 pm

I own 2 mazdas so I can tell u its no bullshit and here are some figures for comparison :

Mazda 3 2.0 MZR engine, weight 1315kg, 10-11km/l fuel economy city drive.
        Mazda 6 skyactiv 2.0 engine, weight 1390kg, 14km/l fuel economy city drive.

Even with 75 kg added weight and a bigger car, skyactiv still beats my old car by 25% extra mileage. Of course other tech available in the car helps improve the figure, but nonetheless its very impressive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
        • saladin on Jan 12, 2014 at 4:25 pm

my toyota wish valve matic 1370 kg can do 13km/l city use. new honda civic fb 2.0 can do 12-13km/l. basically all new car can achieve this kind of milege. just mazda shouting too much.

• Unreal on Jan 10, 2014 at 7:56 pm

Mrreal, this is what makes Mazda one of the most watched car brands right now. They have the courage to invest and develop unconventional engines to make Doubting Thomas’s like you sit up and take notice. What’s more, Mazda’s fuel efficiency claims are not fiction and made up like what some Kimchi brands have done (and have gotten into trouble as a result of it). Mazda’s efficient engines have been tested by the US Environmental Protection Agency and have been ranked the most efficient.

http://www.marketwatch.com/story/mazda-named-the-most-fuel-efficient-auto-manufacturer-in-us-environmental-protection-agency-report-2013-12-16

So, perhaps before you go around shouting BS, maybe consider what is possible rather than live in your real world of low tech cars.

• Let us think positive to solve the global warming problems. Look future. You all know the climate changed nowadays.

• jolly_idiot on Jan 10, 2014 at 2:34 pm

They’re making the gasoline engine the diesel way. Will it knock? Too high compression on gasoline will it be good for all kind of petrol like ron95?
    Nature of diesel is it won’t ignite easily but gasoline do. I doubt the knocking will kill the engine.

• don^don on Jan 12, 2014 at 3:50 am

actually the 14:1 compression rate is not accurate.

The 13:1 static compression ratio is a bit like marketing gimmick. The dynamic compression ratio is when the piston compress the air is less than 13:1. That’s why they can achieve high compression ratio and still won’t have knocking when using ron 87 fuel.

“At part throttle, the Skyactiv engine goes to a late closing intake valve mode so that the intake is still open on a large part of the compression stroke. As the piston travels upward, just enough air is forced out of the open intake valve to eliminate the vacuum in the intake manifold”

Thats the quote u can found in page 4. They leaked some of the pressure during compression stroke.

http://www.motoiq.com/MagazineArticles/ID/2105/PageID/3527/131-Compression-and-40-mpg-on-87-Octane-fuel-Introducing-Mazdas-Skyactiv-Technology.aspx

• drCoorper on Jan 12, 2014 at 3:31 pm

Actually Diesel Self Ignition Temperature (SIT) is much lower than Petrol..so YES it actually can ignite itself relatively (than petrol) easily..

• superbird #43 on Jan 10, 2014 at 2:42 pm

i would never thought that the thermal efficiency of SI(petrol) engines of 25-30% can be increased further, perhaps with the assistance of automotive technologies of today.
    given the same compression ratio, say 16.5:1, a SI engine is more thermally efficient than a CI(diesel) engine.
    even so, there are many reasons which impedes the use of high compression ratio in SI engines.

• Subnill on Jan 10, 2014 at 3:23 pm

Actually, Skyactiv Gasoline used in malaysia has the same tuning with Japan and US market (Compression ratio 13:1). And recommended fuel for Skyactiv in japan is just RON90.

UK market got 14:1.

• Whatever on Jan 10, 2014 at 4:41 pm

Well i guess the gasoline quality that the writer’s trying to mention is on the EURO terminology (euro 2,3,4) not RON numbers. As far as malaysia is concerned we’re still at euro 2 even for petrol.

• I hate idiots on Jan 10, 2014 at 8:26 pm

Read the sentence carefully. 30% more efficient than current skyactive. Nobody mentioned 30% more efficient than diesel.

• Guan Yin Ma on Jan 10, 2014 at 9:11 pm

aiya. use otto cycle la.

• superbird #43 on Jan 11, 2014 at 4:11 am

otto cycle is the ideal cycle for SI reciprocating engine. it is different from the actual cycle of 4-stroke combustion engine.

• Hansem on Jan 12, 2014 at 12:21 pm

Dude.. do you actually know what you are talking about? Otto cycle IS for 4 stroke engine.. go back to school and learn more on internal combustion engine..

• Sam Loo (used kimchi) on Jan 11, 2014 at 2:58 am

Still can’t match toyota’s superior vvti engines..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • Ish…ish…ish… Why some of the comments sounded like sour grapes?

If Mazda can really delivers what it claimed, we all should welcome in opened arms. Be it a sushi, kimchi, hamburger, sausage or pizza, as long as it helps to save running cost and at the same time we can do our Mother Earth a favour, we should be encouraging it.

• Mrreal on Jan 11, 2014 at 7:36 am

Are you guys really buy this? 30% more efficient than current skyactive! Current sky active mazda claim 40 mpg for 2.0 liter engine. that will make with 30% more efficient means 52 mpg.
    Even 2.0 liter diesel on VW, BMW, and chevy cruze only goes to 43 mpg!

• Unreal on Jan 11, 2014 at 9:07 am

For 2020? Yes.

• No doubt 30% is a bold claim. But even if there is only 10% improvement its still very good over the conventional gasoline engine. Mazda provides us with really new technology available here and not like some brands still using engines and transmissions from 10+ years ago. Hopefully this will make the other makes to bring new engines here

• Mrreal on Jan 11, 2014 at 12:05 pm

You admitted yourself 30% BS claim. Mimicking diesel-like compression ignition yet expecting better mpg or fuel/liter than diesel? Diesel has more thermal unit than gasoline for same amount of volume, it is more dense. Do you think you would get more energy by drinking tea or coffee than drinking milk that both go into same digestion system?

• I didn’t say its BS claim. 30% is a bold claim but have you ever compared what the previous Mazda 2.0 gasoline engine consumption against the new Skyactive 2.0 engine?
          Mazda LF-series 2.0 engine (2013):11.5km/l (average consumption)
          148hp/6500rpm, 183nm/4500rpm
          Mazda PE series 2.0(SkyActiv-G):14.0km/l (average consumption)
          155hp/6000rpm, 203nm/4000rpm

The skyactive engine has an improvement of over 20% fuel efficiency over the previous generation of engines which is a lot.
          As long as Msia still uses Euro 2 diesel, we do not benefit from fuel efficient diesel engines but should gasoline engine improve in efficiency we as consumers in Msia will get some benefit even with Euro 2 fuel. Sure it might not be 30% improvement but any improvement is commendable.
          Just keep an open mind about it. Diesel and gasoline does have its market but here in Msia its gasoline which is more important as almost all passenger cars here uses gasoline

• saladin on Jan 12, 2014 at 4:32 pm

improvement from previous engine yes. compare to other other brand not that much.

• Aiyo…..so many engineer over here….you cant do this, do that wth

• salehudin on Jan 12, 2014 at 5:02 pm

saladin mind telling which brand you compare to? Just curious cuz EPA rating in US shows Mazda better than all brands ady wo

• Unreal on Jan 11, 2014 at 9:08 am

For 2020? Yes.

• roxas on Jan 12, 2014 at 2:36 am

go go mazda !! at least mazda is the only japanese that is always trying to be different. the rotary legend once.

• Why it have to have such a adjective as the theme….if not gimmicks? Like naming the new 350zx Nissan. ‘ Jetspeed ‘ ….gross…rite?
    the main player stick to tradition and did all improvement without need of overemphasizing it….

Very good…high compression ratio? Not that other manufacturer can’t make it…. But thinking about the longevity of the internal parts…it’s not really worth it, at least mathematically…

Weight reduction?? It still weight almost 100kg more than the fully armed ASX4
    And many others…

• It’s not gimmick, it’s for attracting consumer

• Wally1 on Jan 24, 2016 at 12:43 pm

With direct injection and variable valve timing, I believe efficiency can be created, but 30%?. I call BS. I have rebuild over 300 engines in the last 40 years, I have a little knowledge on compression ratios. They are not being truthful and there is no way they have 13/1 static compression. It may be running dynamic compression with electronic controls that bleed compression at idle, but these compression ratios with todays lack of quality fuels are not sustainable long term without engine damage and degrading performance. .. It’s marketing, I can tell you a turd is a candy bar until you taste it. Please don’t get me wrong, I actually have a old Mazda truck that is very reliable, but don’t piss on my head and tell me it’s raining, I live in the real world, where physics still apply.