PDRM to evaluate Proton Inspira with Revolo hybrid kit

revolo-dssz

PDRM will be conducting a 10,000km test of a bolt-on hybrid system called Revolo in one of its Proton Inspira patrol cars. The evaluation is expected to take about two months time, and the cops will provide feedback on the performance of the system then.

Revolo is a bolt-on hybrid system that’s being marketed in Malaysia by DFRAN Technologies. The executive chairman of DFRAN is none other than the ex-MD of Proton, Datuk Seri Syed Zainal Abidin Syed Mohd Tahir.

If the test run is successful, PDRM may consider fitting the Revolo hybrid system into more of its vehicles. According to Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Khalid Abu Bakar, PDRM currently has about 3,000 patrol cars in its fleet, with an annual fuel cost of about RM28 million currently.

Revolo originates from India, by a company called KPIT Cummins, a consulting and engineering firm public listed in India. It is designed to be used in cars with engine sizes of between 800cc to 3,000cc. A report by Autocar Professional India quotes the cost to be between Rs 65,000 to Rs 150,000, which translates to between RM3,500 to RM8,000 at current exchange rates.

The system consists of an electric motor, electronic motor controller, battery pack, mechanical assemble and coupling, proprietary software for controlling algorithms of the motor and batteries and an intelligent battery management system to enhance battery performance and life. The Revolo system functions in parallel with the engine, which means the engine and motor will work simultaneously.

The system supports regenerative braking for recharging up to 20% capacity, but the battery can also be charged via 220V plug-in and takes three to four hours to get up to 90%, or up to a full charge in six hours.

According to Datuk Seri Syed Zainal, the Revolo system’s electric motor has a maximum torque of 35Nm, and can provide motor assist of between 80km to 100km on a full charge. Claimed fuel efficiency improvement is about 35%.

We’ve put some reading material on the Revolo system embedded in the gallery above, so check it out to learn more about the system. We don’t really have much details on how the system is integrated into the car for now. We’d love to learn more about it.

Autocar India has a test drive review of the system installed in a Maruti Suzuki Alto. Is this system legit or hype like Hydroxene? What do you think?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• At first I have some doubts about this system, but when I realized DSZ is actually behind this, I gained confidence. Must work really well.

I guess DSZ still wants to improve Proton in his own way eventhough he is no longer a part of them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 109 Thumb down 97
    • Ketua Zoo Monyet (kzm)) on Jan 10, 2014 at 2:06 pm

Smell of kroni here. What a coincidence the ex MD of Proton has this contract. Though technically no conflict of interest, but come on lah, so obvious. MACC where are you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 87
      • Robot Boy on Jan 10, 2014 at 2:50 pm

and Proton is so clean of cronies and politics yes??? are you ok?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
      • Crony or not, I bet DSZ and his DFRAN gang are the only one creative enough to propose this low cost Indian project.

He’s also an engineer, mind you. Unless you are an engineer, don’t judge like you know everything. Stupidity will follow if you do.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 115 Thumb down 23
        • DSZ is a civil engineer by education

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
          • Celicazz on Jan 10, 2014 at 6:45 pm

And you suggest that his years spent in automotive industry doesn’t gained him knowledge of automotive?

6 years of Proton, 6 years of Perodua, years in Hicom… he is educated in Civil, so?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 5
          • Didn’t suggest anything :)
            Just said “DSZ is a civil engineer by education”.

The rest.. you added :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
        • Crony..crony..crony..
          No other issue to say ah…? Why ah..?
          Already boring with crony issue…
          Who should be there…???
          Your father? Your mother?Your brother or sister? Yourself? and then you will stop the crony issue?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 7
        • ramzdan on Jan 10, 2014 at 10:14 pm

You meant he and his gang is the only one creative enough? my foot! You must be crazy. Is he the only one comes across Revolo? Did you know that there are so many talented people and engineers in Malaysia but do not have any so called crony connection? Will you pass Puspakom inspection for Revolo if you are nobody? There are more creative and cheaper ways to help Proton, but all were turn down just because the higher management need to protect the cronies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 35
          • You got any prove other proposals turned down ka Macha? If turned down, why was that? Then go propose your own system lah. What a dumbass.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
        • Hero86 on Jan 12, 2014 at 1:16 pm

and care to tell us hows ur CGPA?

• start-a-figt on Jan 10, 2014 at 3:20 pm

its not a contract but merely a Prove of Concept.. if he can prove his claims. then it would be beneficial….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
      • Haha..,that mean I already make someone angry by telling the truth..hehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
      • Corruption Everywhere on Jan 11, 2014 at 11:34 am

This is how Malaysia works. That is why there is corruption everywhere. Go see other countries, a bit of crony suspicioun only, the Anti Corruption come and penalise. In this case, it clear cut, cure got kickbacks and crony practice.

go to Putrajaya and see, even the contract to clean jamban or cut the grass is always given to the relative of the Menteri. Mind you, just to cut grass alone for Putrajaya, if you got the contract, you can make millions per month.

The same with jamban. Just to clean Putrajaya jamban alone, if you got the contract, you can make untung bersih million per month. Biasalah Malaysia, buy 1 tisu roll for the jamban for RM2, but sell for RM20

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
      • DSSZ is PAS la bro

• Azmi turbo on Jan 12, 2014 at 9:27 am

DSSZ is a much better manager and well presented professional than all DRB gang together. That dato lukman does not come even an inch close to Charisma and image of DSSZ. We all know of dato lukman rude and ego manners in his work places. Many ex proton and drb staff talking about it. Hope DSSZ and his team can show people the way again.

• Amran Pekida on Jan 24, 2014 at 1:06 am

letak syarikat cina, barulah semua puji dan tidak lagi bising “kroni, kroni”

• Fries on Jan 10, 2014 at 4:20 pm

Agree 100%. With DSZ it gives the project a lot more credibility than some dunno what Datuk this or that. Or god forbid if it was DRB-Hicom that came up with the idea.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
  • Shame_Loo on Jan 10, 2014 at 1:07 pm

So, put in this to convert into hybrid? Can I redeem the tax that I paid?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 7
  • Huzaifah on Jan 10, 2014 at 1:09 pm

DSZ is great people in Proton during his tenure… Perhaps this system will be sold to Public..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 25
  • norman on Jan 10, 2014 at 1:15 pm

Of course,remember Wan Farouk who is in the ride n handling dept and the person who is in charge of Satria Neo handling?Because of some dispute inside these good fellows left the company.Now Wan Farouk built his own suspension system called Ftuned..You want whatever setting of suspension you got it..Quality almost same as Ohlins but pricing like Tein

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 16
  • This is all crap. Hybrid system is much more than just a bolt on. The word system should tell you that it is way more complicated. This is all about making a hype off this (esp in a time of rising cost) and selling to the unsuspecting public. DON’T BUY INTO THIS!!! You have been warned.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 44
    • thepolygon on Jan 10, 2014 at 4:10 pm

Yup.. attention has to be paid in cooling down the batteries strapped in the boot compartment (In the video). If it shares the same compartment with the passenger… prepare to feel the heat.

I hope a real built in hybrid will be available from Proton rather than a bolt-on.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
      • Don’t be so pessimistic la. If many car tuning/engineering company can do very good bolt-on turbochargers and superchargers (many very reliable for daily and track use), then why not a bolt-on ICE-electric hybrid system?

Sure, nobody has ever done this, it won’t be as good as a true hybrid car (will take up boot space, looks very aftermarket, sounds damn hard with those power management systems blablabla), but then again, the same thing also apply to any bolt-on kits back then.

If this research really works, then PDRM will save a lot of taxpayers money in the long run (more torque and acceleration for the Inspira too!). Just imagine if it’s available for the public in the future…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Goog luck DSZ!
    Proton going to have it’s own hybrid vehicle after all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • BLT Club on Jan 10, 2014 at 1:33 pm

Macam inilah cara nak buat duit. Cari barang murah, tambah markup tinggi dan jual kepada kerajaan. Macam ni baru boleh jadi negara pendapatan tinggi. Syabas, syabas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 37
    • BLTsuck on Jan 11, 2014 at 11:34 pm

Markup tinggi? Your source please or it only happens in your dream!

• Xplorer on Jan 10, 2014 at 1:40 pm

Hmmm… Wondering will it KABOOOM after using it for sometime? Cross my fingers !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
  • So I buy a ferrari. Put this system on and bring back to Malaysia. Voila !!!!! Tax free!!!! Woooo hooooo. Janji dicapati lorrrrrr.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 42
  • halo DSZ, got lifetime warranty like the “power window”?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 9
  • disgruntledBMWowner on Jan 10, 2014 at 2:26 pm

Good invention. Kudos to India’s engineer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 16
  • tishaban on Jan 10, 2014 at 2:38 pm

The Autocar India review is from 2012, wiki entry from 2010/2011. Almost zero mention beyond 2012 if you google.

I’m guessing this tech is not as good as they claim it is. I hope Proton did some due diligence. And I hope they didn’t pay more than RM8,000 :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • pirlo on Jan 10, 2014 at 3:36 pm

i think, there is none mentioning that proton involved in this project neither development nor installation. PDRM only use their own Inspira fleet for evaluation. not sure either PDRM approached DFRAN or vice versa towards the hybrid product.

• Xplorer on Jan 10, 2014 at 4:17 pm

“Projects” mar … Got the point ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • superman on Jan 10, 2014 at 2:42 pm

I believe all the negative points heere are bt BRD comm team. well done DSZZ and god speed.

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Jan 10, 2014 at 2:48 pm

Means PDRM patrol cars will break down more often… Like chasing suspects on the highway, then hybrid system failed, suspect lari…

No wonder our crime rate increase non-stop… This is where our money went into…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 44
  • azrai on Jan 10, 2014 at 2:52 pm

Beside DSZ, do you notice Datuk Mohd Nadzmi Mohd Salleh was also there? EX-Proton team?

• Pitty Malaysia… has to rely to other hybrid company even after more than 20 years established their own automotive company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 22
  • hanssen on Jan 10, 2014 at 2:58 pm

can it be self assembled? cost of installation could be more than the revolo kit i am afraid

• WHAT? 28 MILLION? WHT A WASTE OF TAXPAYERS MONEY. SHOULD USE VIVA.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 26
    • not viva, use kereta lemboooo. mesra alam dan taiknya warna hijau

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
  • farghmee on Jan 10, 2014 at 3:36 pm

ada proven record/samples?

• Hero86 on Jan 13, 2014 at 3:35 pm

Thats why they are going to test it for 10,000km.. and that should be around 2 3 months..

• mastermind on Jan 10, 2014 at 4:21 pm

from my observation base on the video,
    it work, because it help to reduce engine workload.

on engine alone, ecu will act to combine petrol and air on demand,

on this hybrid system, the engine should cut the petrol demand earlier because the electric motor is help with it own controller.

the question is
    1)how much energy it can deliver from the battery?
    2)let say the battery energy is all used up the electric motor is just burden to the engine (the battery weight should be consider also).
    3)it is safe during accident by optioning lead acid battery use?

I hope We Malaysian take this positively, if someone form India can do this. We should take the idea and grows it on our know how and technology.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • what a very exciting piece of technology

• Guan Yin Ma on Jan 10, 2014 at 4:33 pm

Walao. My prius AC DC inverter already cost more then 10k, not even including the battery and motor. This whole system only cost 8k ? HAHAHAHA. Joker.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 25
    • cheated by toyota on Jan 12, 2014 at 12:09 pm

what? your converter damaged already….what a toyota
      what? you pay 10k for that….what a toyota
      sad to see you laugh but internally you’re in a deep pain

• Cun Jaguh Bola Tampar on Jan 10, 2014 at 5:04 pm

this is interesting.. dsz is really good, i respect him.. all the best!

• Datuk Seri Syed Zainal Abidin, please come back to Proton !

The company needs you ! I understand that you’re currently leading the Brainy Bunch Islamic Montessori and I fully respect that, education is one of the most important things in the world, if not the most. And so is religion and culture.

But in your short reign at Proton from 2006 to 2012, Proton went from almost certain death to ‘hey, this might just work’ wishful thinking status !

Please come back. Please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • policeman on Jan 10, 2014 at 6:54 pm

Didn’t Mitsubishi deny Proton the rights to make any modifications to the engine?

Bolt on hybrid > engine messed up > PDRM blames Proton > Proton suggests rebadged Civic as replacement > Government agrees > PDRM cruising around your neighbourhood with VTEC > PDRM Winrar!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 20
    • Proton and Mitsu has nothing to do with this. This is just between PDRM and DFRAN Tech. Read carefully next time, genius. Don’t make yourself look stupid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • powershot on Jan 10, 2014 at 7:05 pm

where can i get one of these?

• i think the system is almost like honda hybrid concept which is mild hybrid instead of full hybrid like prius. still it save quite a petrol cost since it assisting most of the time

• Saga BeLum Masak on Jan 12, 2014 at 12:09 pm

Most likely. What I see is, this system is more like S-Hybrid introduced in Serena. A system which is attached to either a Gear Box or to a drive shaft to reduce torque load. Or in other word, to assists the drive torque.

• The technology was there, India has good resources their R&D in engineering also very good. DSZ maybe had studied the potential of this equipment. Why not give a try.

• If people know DSSZ then people will know he is orang kuat PAS. his whole family is. What crony you all talking about when he is not with BN.

• celicazz on Jan 11, 2014 at 11:40 am

poeple are just talkin… they know nothin… these blind bashers, they worth nothing

• rawfi on Jan 11, 2014 at 12:02 pm

This is project. Got project then got money, everything is for government is wasting money. Just my 6 cents

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • Saga BeLum Masak on Jan 12, 2014 at 12:19 pm

When you don’t have any contract, you will try to introduce your product on sample free basis just to get a buy out. Any result within the test period will determine the suitability of your system to be worth buying or not.

I will do the same if I have the great invention but have no contract. And for DSSZ, He knows what he is doing for the best of Automotive Industry.

Should this invention succeed, there should be some for the after market installation for sure.

• jenghow on Jan 12, 2014 at 12:12 am

I have doubt on this implementation. This bolt on solution uses BELT that connected to gear shaft, compressor and dynamo. Can the OEM belt able to handle the extra tension when the motor start spinning to give the “extra torque”? Will it shorten the existing belt lifespan? You know, it is gonna be ugly if the timing belt snapped.

• cheated by toyota on Jan 12, 2014 at 12:13 pm

bro, mitsubishi 411B used timing chain instead of belt.

• Tracks on Jan 16, 2014 at 8:18 am

The system used is similar to the current Nissan Serena S-Hybrid (Smart-Hybrid). It works on a simple principle of providing assistance to the ICE especially during acceleration. Charging can all be done through regenerative braking. Unlike the Nissan Serena though, it has an additional plug in charging feature and hence able to be recharged using our standard 240VAC power supply.

Concept looks great but best fuel saving typically comes from town drive (urban) drive as it encounter the most start-stop situation.

Interesting to see the results though and wondering about the system reliability.

• Muzaffar on Jan 25, 2014 at 8:15 am

I am an aerospace engineer for the past 20 years and do know a breakthrough when I see one. Make no mistake here DSZA introduced into P1 IAFM (Campro 1.3), converted the slow selling Savvy into successful Saga, CVT (from Punch). improved the FC of Campro and introduced the Preve (probably the safest car and the most European)of its price range . He probably has the knack to turn a problem into a solution. Rovolo Technologies fit the bill. It is a low-cost plugin EV solution that has proven itself in India for the past 2 years. I personally believe it will work on any local cars. Do not forget that Alan Mullaly the current CEO for Ford was the Boeing CEO with an aerospace engineer background

• lakshmanan on Feb 03, 2014 at 11:07 pm

it’s an out of the box solution. it’s still in testing. if ARAI approves it,it will be mass marketed in India. if it’s successful there,no reason for failure here,unless vested interest interferes,more rent seekers get involved,poor quality installation is done. that having been said,if it can tahan Indian drivers, its going to survive in anyone’s hands!

• Sorin on Jul 03, 2014 at 12:31 am

I want to install this system to my Volkswagen UP!
    It is possible?

• carlos navarro on Oct 04, 2017 at 6:03 am

I’m new to the conversation, when I started reading about Revolo, I was excited to convert 500 vehicles to Hybrids. I contacted KPTI Revolo and the answer after 3.5 years is that they continue in “tests”, does anyone know the status of Revolo?

• carlos navarro on Oct 04, 2017 at 6:07 am

I’m new to the conversation, when I started reading about Revolo, I was excited to convert 500 vehicles to Hybrids. I contacted KPTI Revolo and the answer after 3.5 years is that they continue in “tests”, does anyone know the status of Revolo and KPTI in this field?