Perodua Alza facelift officially revealed, from RM52,400

Alza Facelift-2

Yes, we showed you the car unwrapped yesterday, but today is the day of the Perodua Alza facelift’s official launch, and here are the full details, specs and pricing from the event at 1 Utama.

The compact three-row MPV’s proven mechanicals are unchanged, so under the hood is the familiar 3SZ-VE 1.5 litre engine with DVVT. With 104 PS and 136 Nm of torque, the 16-valve DOHC unit is paired to either a five-speed manual or a four-speed automatic.

The Alza has been around for over four years (launched back in November 2009, 167k sold to date) so a fresh face is welcome. The MPV looks more like the current Myvi now, with a more sculptured front bumper, a thicker grille and a reshaped lower air intake. The headlamp cluster loses the orange-coloured “eyebrow” signal lamps above the main projectors.

Alza Facelift-3

At the back, the tailgate gets a black-painted strip adjoining the glass. The Perodua and Alza emblems sit on this strip. It’s a small change that delivers quite a big visual difference. The bumper gets vertical reflectors at the edges, following the style of the original Myvi SE. The Alza gets an SE variant for the first time and it wears a five-piece bodykit for a sportier look.

Safety-wise, the four-star ASEAN NCAP car is equipped with dual-airbags across the board, ABS with EBD and Brake Assist, and ISOFIX mounts (second row) for child seats. The front brakes are ventilated discs while the rear brakes are drums.

Inside, changes include a black interior in place of the previous two-tone black/grey combo, a new instrument cluster design and a for the Advanced Version, a multimedia system with navigation and reverse camera functions, plus a roof-mounted monitor. You’ll also find a storage compartment under the new front armrest for the automatic variants. The third-row seats can now be split-folded.

Alza Facelift-5

Five colours are available, and they are Ivory White, Ebony Black, Glittering Silver, Mystical Purple and Passion Red. All are metallic colours except for Ivory White. Red is a new colour.

The latest Alza starts from RM52,400 for the Standard (MT), while the Standard (AT) is RM3k more at RM55,400. One rung up is the SE, which is priced at RM56,400 for the (MT) and RM59,400 for the (AT). The auto-only Advanced Version with all the bells and whistles has a sticker price of RM64,000 OTR.

According to Perodua, prices have been reduced by 2.1% to 7.4%; the latter applicable to the top spec car. The Alza, like all Perodua models since the S-Series was launched in March 2013, comes with three years of free service.

Alza FL Advanced Version

Alza FL SE

Alza FL Standard

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Najib on Jan 10, 2014 at 5:08 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 212
    • Lam Kuan engg on Jan 10, 2014 at 5:17 pm

When importer car drop the price?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 6
      • good job perodua on the price deduction.
        may this should be the starting point in our automotive industry.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 5
        • peyno on Jan 11, 2014 at 8:47 am

mampus la previous owner ALZA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 15
          • Sam Loo on Jan 11, 2014 at 11:14 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 490
          • Tsark on Jan 11, 2014 at 11:37 am

What? You say Toyota is symbolizes success?

That’s joke of the century. Noone wants to die in a tin milo car!

Of course, the safety quality of Toyota symbolizes failure in auto industry. Don’t buy it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 164 Thumb down 18
          • peyno on Jan 11, 2014 at 12:35 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 124
          • SamLooSupporter on Jan 11, 2014 at 2:29 pm

Support Sam Loo on comment on RV . www.facebook.com/SamLooRV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 91
          • abuya123 on Jan 12, 2014 at 10:06 am

Agree all to sam loo except,
            1. Low income mean lazy.
            2. Toyota is symbol of success

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 9
          • SamLoo is a bitch on Jan 12, 2014 at 6:29 pm

To Sam Loo(o0o), I do agree the car shown above is a total crap. But from the way you express yourself, Toyota is the best in the universe. You said aim higher in life, aim for a Toyota, like it is the pinnacle of automotive technology. It is the best! Holy crap!

People who are successful and if they really want a good car, they don’t go for Toyota. They don’t walk into the showroom and talk to trash like you, they buy something better than Toyota. Something worth buying and driving than Toyota.

Next time when you want to comment, please think carefully. Don’t keep saying Toyota. The world has a lot of choices. You just don’t want to face the truth. Good luck and have a nice day Asshole!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 4
          • ignore him pls on Jan 12, 2014 at 11:07 pm

i think we just ignore uncle sam loo…the way we respond to his comment made him famous (although in the way of hatred ) … i think if we ignore his comment sooner or later he will disappear from here… so just ignore him … :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
          • SamisPaul on Jan 14, 2014 at 12:45 pm

Sam is not famous at all, as a manner of fact, let him continue to bodoh in his life. Too free at the showroom, umw sales is just bad

• Say What? on Jan 22, 2014 at 8:59 am

If this is the attitude, then every previous owner of any car ‘mampus’. Come on laa

• BruceWayne on Jul 27, 2016 at 12:11 pm

You lost me at Toyota bro. Lol

• pricecheapcheap on Jan 12, 2014 at 7:58 am

already many lah, suzuki, nissan, VW etc mostly CKD lah. grey importer not included as they mostly selling pre-registered units with premium price to be paid by ‘price-unconscious’ people…. <– these people should be educated.

• Yeah, yeah…. Sam Loo with his “high class” hilux. What? Only 4 speed since ages ago? Dual airbags only? No curtain/side airbags?

Did I missing any brand new “high class” hilux or did we talking about a different meaning of high class here?

• Ibrahim Ali on Jan 10, 2014 at 6:11 pm

Dont talk shit…I,I,I,I,I,I,I Repeat…Dont talk shit, 3 times…we havent see u abolished the foreign car taxes…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 113 Thumb down 4
      • anuar on Jan 12, 2014 at 12:54 am

diam lah x 6 kali…u betul bagi rakyat susahnya….tax.tax..tax…u senang,rakyat mampus……..

• Amran Pekida on Jan 10, 2014 at 6:23 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 461
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jan 10, 2014 at 8:05 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 119
      • RUGAL on Jan 10, 2014 at 11:16 pm

RV..RV..RV..haiyaa..cars are not for investment..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 4
      • dugong on Jan 12, 2014 at 9:07 pm

I agree with you…only thing vios is the same piece of crap too!

• Alza SE & Advanced Version combined together already pre-booked with impressive number.
      Day 1 & 2: 13000 units
      They should lower the Myvi 1.5 price too and 2014 will be theirs.
      RIP Proton, you better come harder for your lil bro. lol
      Can’t wait to see Proton Global Small Car.
      Congrats Perodua

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • Janji your head!

• Najib on Jan 10, 2014 at 5:09 pm

saya naik harga tol,turun harga ni =)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 143 Thumb down 9
    • Rakyat on Jan 11, 2014 at 1:15 am

=’)

• kadajawa on Jan 11, 2014 at 7:48 am

Mampus lah Exora sales….HA HA HA!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 43
      • peyno on Jan 11, 2014 at 8:47 am

perodua salesman?? kancil, kelisa, myvi owner…
        set2 tu jerrr

prrrtfhhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
      • Low Budget on Jan 11, 2014 at 5:35 pm

Exora ta akan mampus, sebab lebih besar-mah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
      • phuwekk on Jan 15, 2014 at 4:02 pm

Apa puna bengong nak banding exora dengan kereta perasan mpv ni. seat belakang pun tebal 3 inci ja lepas tu budak2 5 tahun ke bawah ja yg leh duduk. ada hati nak panggil mpv. puiii.. tapi bagus la harga yg advance dah kurang 5 ribu. tapi bagi yang dah terbeli advance tahun 2013 mesti tengah sumpah seranah perodua la ni..wakakaka. nasib bek aku tak beli..ish3.

• Talk3Talk4 on Jan 10, 2014 at 5:15 pm

Lagi Serupa, Lagi Teruk.

C’mon P2! You can do much better than this!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 32
  • Boy Racer on Jan 10, 2014 at 5:16 pm

More value and it looks better. Way nicer than “Buddyz”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 12
  • Sang Fakir~ on Jan 10, 2014 at 5:16 pm

tot that they will upgrade to EPS system.. sigh~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
    • theanswer on Jan 10, 2014 at 5:20 pm

dream on la bro. unless u’r driving a megane rs..then u’ll have good eps.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • blublibla on Jan 10, 2014 at 5:17 pm

The facelifted Alza may not come with mechanical improvments but the improved looks with a now fully black interior coupled with lower prices makes it a bargain!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 23
    • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Jan 10, 2014 at 6:45 pm

Bargain my ass…! The fact they offering lower price means they cut costs somewhere… Since there’s nothing’s been omitted, it’s safe to say they sourced even lower quality parts than the pre-facelifted models.

Heck, maybe gearbox even more prone to faults.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 29
      • Agreed..no such thing as bargain. P2 definitely cut out/omit stuff they cud

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
      • Natural on Jan 12, 2014 at 12:00 am

For those ppl yg menyalak2 dikaki gunung,kononnya master in automotive industry,yg suka merendah2kan product lain, sedarlah..org seperti inilah yg sebenanya seorg ‘looser’..hipokrit terhebat & ego tak bertempat..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
    • calcutta on Jan 11, 2014 at 3:34 pm

skin deep

i rather better internal than “improve look”,but many people like u sold on looks

• downsys on Jan 11, 2014 at 5:55 pm

Not necessarily true. Whenever Apple releases a new phone with much upgraded internals but looks the same, people complain non-stop. They always want something new yet when it arrives, they complain about it.

• calcutta on Jan 11, 2014 at 11:31 pm

apple still sells record numbers of the new iphone with the “same look”

smart people emphasis on user experience and quality,orang bodoh care bout the new bumper and side skirts

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • Low Budget on Jan 11, 2014 at 5:36 pm

Black color absorb heat, hot,hot,hot..

• theanswer on Jan 10, 2014 at 5:18 pm

rim design looks better than before.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
    • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Jan 11, 2014 at 3:26 am

So what…? The rim will still turn black after a week of use…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 9
      • KERRY on Jan 11, 2014 at 12:30 pm

Wei toyota fanboy,

Just go drive and overnight in your tin milo lah. What do u expect? Discount 20K? Can only afford tin milo, wanna talk like clever people.

Wait a minute. U not even own a tin milo i guess. Maybe saga flx?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 16
      • budak nakal on Jan 11, 2014 at 11:49 pm

ni budak gosok burit toyota pandai cakap je.. mmg kurang ajar tak prihatin keperluan rakyat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
      • humble man on Jan 13, 2014 at 2:03 am

same goes to your toyota. turn black after a week use

• rifle on Jan 10, 2014 at 5:23 pm

make sure to upload advance version pics.. :D

• Advanced Version : 69,517 – 64,000 = 5,117 ??? Math fail ?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 1
  • Oh well, although not much changes but at least they did reduce the price than increasing it :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • Under-powered car
    Have to slam the accelerator harder to get the car move faster

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 8
  • downsys on Jan 10, 2014 at 5:31 pm

Can you elaborate the differences between Standard, SE, and Advanced? It’s almost a 9k jump from Standard to Advanced, so it better be worth it…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • This car shares some traits with the 911 GT2 RS, the Porsche carrera GT and the Henessy Venom GT….no its not fast, its the car that scared the shit out of the driver, well at least me, cause I have a heavy righht foot. It is rather light, just too light, anywhere close to the triple digit speed and thou the powertrain has no problem acheiving that, the whole car due to gawdawful NVH and body penals(theres some parts of teh C-pillar falling of in mine) feels like you are in a Category 5 Typhoon. Than theres the brakes, gentle tapping only gives it suggestion on weather you want to stop, press real hard to confirm, and brave pills are required when driving in Heavy rain. All in all, I still try avoid driving it, thou this is mostly because I am pempered by my Saga and a Honda City.

But every dark clouds has its silver lining, and for the price, it is a decent family carrier and has rather good refinements, it also able to swallow those Ikeas flat boxes. And I rather like the look, its sporty looking for a family MPV and I’d say Perodua has done a fine job improving on that part. Overall, if you are the type like my parents who likes to take things slow(60kph on the highway slow)its a good consideration. Other than that, avoid it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 114 Thumb down 14
    • magpie on Jan 10, 2014 at 10:01 pm

Couldnt agree more..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • Machi on Jan 10, 2014 at 11:53 pm

You spot right on! it took ages to get 110kmh. So I only take it to carry my roadie and mtb bike only…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • victortan on Jan 11, 2014 at 8:17 am

Yup, you are right. The main point of MPV should be more focus on safety and comfortability, which what a family purpose vehicle needed.
      Please do not spend on this car, for this kind of lazy improvement!
      The reduction of price is good but I rather Perodua improve more on the safety and refinement. Gosh I really hate to drive this car in highway.

• I too would like to see stability control and more airbags in the Alza……cause it badly needs it. But honestly there are some move I like to applaud towards perodua. I do not know what your position socially or financially, but spend a day outside the suburbs and you can really appreciate peroduas move. Here in ulu Selangor, we have families of 4 or more siblings and most of them are cramp up in small kapchais/or datsuns wheezing around broken. Most if them can’t afford a VSC equipped MPV in their lifetime(cheapest i know I the Honda stream At RM140k). Add to that, perodua added ABS+EBD and 2 airbags across the board unlike previously where you have to get the mid spec to enjoy such luxury and lower the price.

It will be pretty selfish to say do not spend on this car as to quite a majority of Malaysian,have no choice. We people living in the suburbs have the luxury of knowledge and opportunity to drive well equipped cars, but the Alza for a low earning income class of the out-town folks, it is a much safer alternative towards the kap chai or 30 yr old 120y for their love ones. That’s why I proposed to avoid it if possible, not a divine command to avoid even considering it.

And yes I too hate driving it on highways.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
  • Dominic on Jan 10, 2014 at 5:37 pm

More than enough already…

• albag on Jan 10, 2014 at 5:47 pm

good car as always… love the price reduction… thanks perodua for being such rakyat conscious in this price rising era…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 16
    • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Jan 11, 2014 at 3:28 am

Rakyat conscious…? So how much did they bribe you with BR1M…?

Do you think they can simply reduce car prices…? Cut cost lar… Means some aspect of the car will be LOST…!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 42
      • Low Budget on Jan 11, 2014 at 5:41 pm

If he can buy a car, surely he cannot get BR1M, unless he can…….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 20
      • budak nakal on Jan 11, 2014 at 7:11 pm

sampah cam ko mmg kurang ajar.. kereta turun harga rakyat menghargai.. mmg tak guna

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
        • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Jan 11, 2014 at 10:41 pm

budak nakal cam ko ni yg hanya tau terima BR1M patutlah hidup sengsara seumur hidup… pikirkan lar… nak hidup sengsara atas kononnya bantuan pakai duit orang lain, ataupun nak BERDIKARI dan rajin bekerja cari rezeki…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
          • budak nakal on Jan 11, 2014 at 11:44 pm

ada wang u ambik la.. cakap cam u pandai sgt.. jadilah kerajaan bodo!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • azhar on Jan 10, 2014 at 5:47 pm

good job perodua!..while others increase u decrease the price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 16
  • motorhead on Jan 10, 2014 at 5:52 pm

Ahh.. Price reduction? Tq2..Alza lagi best. Thumbs up. I ll go to showroom trrw.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 10
    • ask your friend who worked in Perodua R&D what items that had been reduced.
      ok see you tomorrow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
      • motorhead on Jan 10, 2014 at 8:11 pm

Reduced stuffs? Well, actually I don’t care.. Im a hobbyist.. I fly rc planes & helicopter.. I just need the space.. & of course.. Cheap maintenance.. I need money for my hobby.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
        • then, you are one of their target market. good for P2 to have you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
          • motorhead on Jan 10, 2014 at 9:22 pm

Yes din.. I ve to admit Im the target market.. People design cars for few purpose & market segmentation.. You can’t get all in a car. Im glad you can understand that. Tq.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
        • It may be good as it can swallow those 1:16 scale helos plus parts, but as I experience with mine, the ride isn’t what you want to be carrying fregile objects. Not sure how fregile a RC helos are, but I have one occation a while back that the vibration of the car broke my small model tank….minor problem, just the antenna fall off as and it was a cheap model place on the dash for decoration purpose. TBH, almost all kinds of cars can fulfill the role of transporting RC planes, a Myvi/Jazz or the incredibly well spec Picanto does come with fold down seats large enough for those RC helos, you are not transporting a 1:100 Yamatos or anything.

PS: Intersting hobby RC Helos, thou I prefer die-cast modeling.

• motorhead on Jan 11, 2014 at 10:53 am

Thx for the info… Indeed Im using myvi for my RC transportation now.. My models getting more & bigger.. So need more space.. Most of my rc planes are epo.. So ride no much issues.. Keep in touch bro.. My email [email protected]

• -out of topic-

Not really have much experience with RC helos and tthe only time I’d ever own one was back in primary school….it didn’t last long. My interest now mainly skewed towards modeling, having most of the Combat Tank Collection and saving up for a Tamilya Water Line series.

PS: Thanks for the email, but I don’t think its something you would post on a public site.

• motorhead on Jan 11, 2014 at 3:54 pm

Din, I went to showroom dy.. As expected.. No stuff reduced.. But stuffs added, new aloy rims.. Diffuser.. Seats fold better.. Nice leather.. Can’t find anything I don’t like.. Priced reduce all right.. Fortunately The salesman gave me good RV for my Myvi.. Will confirm next week..

• Just about how my first reaction towards the Alza when I visited the showroom about 5 years ago; affordable, well spec, nice design. Of course I learned the harsh reality of ‘don’t judge a book by its cover’. Of course for the price it is a great family carrier. Just don’t expect anything else about the drivability and quality.

• motorhead on Jan 11, 2014 at 9:31 pm

I don’t know what your problem with your car & i i don’t know what is your expectation with Alza.. If your are not satisfied sell it & buy some other more expensive MPV to get what you expect.. For your info.. My bro in law & friend use Alza for years.. No complain.. I ve driven a Myvi for six years.. & I never ve high expectations to it.. But she serve me well fir me to from point A to point B.. I upgrade a few stuffs, she handle better than standard.. Every morning i sprint at 140km on kesas highway with no fuss.. if I get my hands on the Alza.. I know what to do for improvement. Enjoy this..
            https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zz_oQX9lZCc&feature=youtube_gdata_player

• Put it this way, mine did’t enjoy a problem free life, issue that pops up mostly regarding the brakes. As for buying and getting a new one, sadly a) it would be a huge financial investment for my parents who use the car most often and b)there is of now, no real need to replace it as most of the places they travel is just a 10min down to the town area.

It is a good car for the price, but like I said, drivability and quality is certainly and issue and for a person who has ride in a Myvi(since almost everyone has one), I believe it is a downgrade, on drivability as the Myvi I felt handles better, not sure about the quality. I am not saying you should buy it, but I am just pointing out on the negatives which mainly is the quality as a current user, and I am a person that prized driving factor above most things.

Currently the quality issue on the Alza also recieved a special section in its Wikipedia page and I do suggest, as a potential Alza buyer to check it out. All cars has its faults and is best to find weather it does effect your purchase decisions.

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Jan 11, 2014 at 3:29 am

WRONG…!!! It’s not lagi best, it’s Lagi Mudah Terbakar…!!!

• motorhead on Jan 12, 2014 at 10:21 am

You know I ve seen many Rover burnt.. Don’t forget.. Ferrari.. Recently.. Porsche that claim Paul Walker lives.. Stop your toyota craps.. I also a vios owner.. I know it’s problem.. Starting to ve leak here & there.. Go to hell Toyota.. Org turun harga lu naik harga macam sial.

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Jan 12, 2014 at 4:05 pm

Typical idiot who sees the words Sam and Loo, then brands me a toyota fanboy… The word HAILAT not big enough is it?

HA HA HA!!!

• 4 years….is this the best P2 can come up??? It’s ridiculous!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
  • Guan Yin Ma on Jan 10, 2014 at 6:04 pm

Price is not everything. Value and driving experience are far more important then price. By lowering price and add a few toys inside ,people will think that P2 just want to gain the market share in this industry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
    • how can u say like that?…people want janji dicapati la…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
      • Guan Yin Ma on Jan 10, 2014 at 9:08 pm

Janji ditepati is reduce excise tax and import tax. Not just reduce 5-7% of the price. That is more like a ” DISCOUNT ” , rather then JANJI DITEPATI.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 6
        • Since when gov janji ditepati to reduce excise n import tax? They promise to reduce price 30% within 5 yrs..discount oso mean reduce price..who the one who bodoh? Give 1 car in indo/thai fit u think associate with price reduction + safety (since both them have low cost car programme)? If I see oni more thumb down mean that u all unable to justify wat u guy saying..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 21
          • Pakai Otak Sikit on Jan 11, 2014 at 11:24 am

Typical kzm, talking rots. Today, if not racist things he is talking, he talks pro BN nonsense. Balik kampung lah kzm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 10
          • Guan Yin Ma on Jan 11, 2014 at 1:14 pm

So given the number of likes, I think more people agree what I said. 5-7% price reduction is just same as year end discount. Whereas some car company even give up to 20k discount during year end.

• Ur answer not convincing at all..try “pakai otak sikit” how to answer….so wat the point of having price reduction if 7%, 10% or 30% just merely yr end discount? Better ask free rite?..please don call it nonsense or just typical bn bla bla just bcoz u cannot answer it..

…n please la don brand people who don believe ur political views as bn or pr fanboi..my view n bn view always similar that does not meant that I’m their fanboi..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 20
      • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Jan 11, 2014 at 3:20 am

Bodoh lar you…! When car manufacturer reduce car prices, that means something is omitted…

This one you called janji dicapati ar…? If the lower quality parts is what makes car prices come tumbling down, it could only mean one thing – to kill off cheap Malaysian lives…

BODOH…!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 13
        • People who cannot answer a question will resort answer like this (comment above me)..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 13
          • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Jan 11, 2014 at 10:47 pm

As if you can answer than question… People want janji dicapati not only harga kereta turun, harga kereta naik never mind, as long as quality increase… But in P1 and P2’s case, harga turun AT THE COST of reduced quality under the SKEWED IDEA OF “VALUE FOR MONEY”… So, unless you carry a death wish and wanna DIE FASTER, is this what it is called JANJI DICAPATI…??? If your answer is YES, then congratulations, buy that kereta keranda… I close case… otherwise, GTFO and DO SOMETHING…!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
          • Hello, Saga SV is safer than Saga ori, it’s got 3 star Asean NCAP safety rating. That’s what you call : “SKEWED IDEA OF “VALUE FOR MONEY”?

Go out from your cave.

• You lar bodoh. There are many ways of reducing cost rather than omitting / reducing parts quality.

It’s much better if you improvise yourself rather than looking down on people.

• lu sapa? on Jan 10, 2014 at 6:34 pm

Mazda 3 MPS wannabe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • What? on Jan 10, 2014 at 7:53 pm

This mean alza RV will drop with the price reduction??

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Jan 11, 2014 at 3:21 am

Definitely… Even without the car price reduction, the poor quality itself is already enough to bring the RV down…

Ask those existing Alza owners, few months on the road, the car drives like a 15-year old piece of rust…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
      • FU*K SAM! on Jan 20, 2014 at 3:41 pm

Speak for yourself IDIOT SAM. Not all ALza owners share the view. If you so damn good, you don’t have to buy it. If you don’t buy it, you have no damn right to comment it. So suck it up!!!!

• Mozilla Chrome on Jan 10, 2014 at 7:54 pm

Now I feel Myvi SE is overpriced.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 1
  • Er, i can’t spot any improvement. Can someone help me out here?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • So what about interior?

• Krasher on Jan 10, 2014 at 8:16 pm

Revenue that they recover from 167k units sold and price reduction is less than 8%?! I love P2

• Very minor changes. Nothing impressive. I was hoping they throw in some high tech gadgets such as Android Multimedia Interface to all range.

• yo on tv3 news man

• Denaihati on Jan 10, 2014 at 8:47 pm

look nice front and rear bumper, also spoiler give balance to exterior look. Passion Red varian may look better. i think the good thing is the price reduction.

• Not interested at all. Doesn’t even come with 4 or 7 air-bags nor Traction Control and ESC as option. Come on! Are we still living in the early 2000s? When are we able to see 4 air-bags or even Traction Control and ESC as standard features for most car manufacturers? Especially we lived in a tropical climate, we will endure more slippery roads. These safety equipments are essential for our people to be safe on the road to some extend. Very disappointed to say that we only focuses on the car’s exterior and interior rather than the passive safety equipments.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • Bro, most people are superficial and only look at things skin-deep hence little aesthetics changes are enough to refresh their interest. The main point that will attract the attention is the reduced price, as most of the comment here can attest to. At least, ABS is standard across the range now.

• AUSNSW on Jan 10, 2014 at 10:28 pm

Can perodua lower down the price of myvi oso?

• Low Budget on Jan 11, 2014 at 5:50 pm

They should scrap MyVi, this model taken too long to run already.

• mokhlisnor on Jan 13, 2014 at 9:07 pm

hello low budget aka low minded.. The current Myvi is a totally new Myvi or they called it Full model Change (FMC). It only retain the name. same like Honda Civic where they call it Gen 1 to Gen 6. In this case this is Myvi Gen 2. U hardly see any common parts between these 2 Gen except some engine parts.

• alza, myvi, vios and viva..all driven fast bcoz they got f1 dna frm toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • Kak tipah on Jan 10, 2014 at 10:36 pm

Facelift?? Nampak sama aje…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • darkermarker on Jan 10, 2014 at 11:18 pm

I think Kedai-abang can do facelift better than P2.

Sorry, P2. Please don’t be mad at me saying this. Be mad at your designers instead. :)

• allen tan on Jan 10, 2014 at 11:28 pm

remove few parts or steps that consumer cant see simply bcs they don’t understand the entire manufacturing process, then label with cheaper price, and everyone happy.

• bacang on Jan 11, 2014 at 7:58 am

yup. been there done that. what can we do? the management ask to do so.

• Archangel on Jan 10, 2014 at 11:33 pm

Good job Perodua in decrease/reduce the price of this facelift Alza but pity those who had bought the previous Alza.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • sam loo on Jan 10, 2014 at 11:42 pm

Better buy vios, good rv & nice looking

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 22
    • SenGz on Jan 11, 2014 at 4:19 pm

Yayayyaa…. 4 speed gearbox, same old engine! You call it “REALIABLE”, I call it DONT BOTHER TO IMPROVE. Look at the other brands! Please buck up UMW Toyota!

• x alza on Jan 11, 2014 at 12:52 am

Pakai alza thn 2010.. jual nov 2013. Rm38k (auto standard no airback) speed at 110km++ dah bergoyang terhuyung hayang..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
  • Keris Jawa on Jan 11, 2014 at 1:43 am

Pergh…! Macam pisang goreng panas!!!

• ZephyrLock on Jan 11, 2014 at 1:58 am

For that price range (RM50k – RM65k), it’s a real good deal in my opinion.

It seems that right now, The Exora Bold and the Alza are competing for different target of consumers.

My personal pick would be the Alza for ease of use in driving around town and fuel economy, and the Exora Bold for spaciousness and power!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Jan 11, 2014 at 3:24 am

Pick the Alza if you think your life is cheap and plenty of time to waste going in and out of SC getting warranty claims…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 14
      • KERRY on Jan 11, 2014 at 12:37 pm

Enough la bro,

U work at used car only is it?. Stop talking nonsense lah. Juat show us your modified Saga flx. Bumper depan tukar Lancer kan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
      • ZephyrLock on Jan 11, 2014 at 1:02 pm

k.

• P2, where is your originality? You pay your designer only for minor FL?
    And now after years of rebadging, P2 started to imitate Proton?
    They changed the fog light similar to Bold, the rear also similar to Bold, and also they also reduced the price which Proton did with Saga and Persona SV.
    Was thinking better to wait Proton to launch Exora SV which will at least have Lotus Ride and Handling, more space, more comfortable, more air cond blower for the back row passenger (especially here in Malaysia it’s a must to FEEL the air cond), more safety features and more power although need to pay few thousands more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
    • budin on Jan 11, 2014 at 10:36 am

ini Malaysian market lah kawan…make-up sikit jadi new model…

takut dalam panas, beli saja mini kipas USB…cucuk at power socket sambung wayar belakang

• peyno on Jan 11, 2014 at 12:26 pm

hahaha kena beli kipas tuu … prrrfthhhh mavam kereta thn 70an pakai kipas

• peyno on Jan 11, 2014 at 8:49 am

still no rear disc brake??? no ESC???
    sooo we dont want our beloved ppl die in this car

• budin on Jan 11, 2014 at 10:37 am

Exora full spec pun takda org beli banyak…kesian loser MPV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
      • peyno on Jan 11, 2014 at 12:24 pm

ppl buy the car for safety purpose.. u buy the car to follow others kampung ppl’s choice?

• toyol on Jan 12, 2014 at 10:31 pm

buta kaa..exora punya la bersepah kt jln xdak org beli lg..haha..ko je xmampu beli..pkai boon siew je la…haha

• just me on Jan 11, 2014 at 12:53 pm

Never know that disc brake n esc only can safe life, wondering if 1989 proton saga if equip with it can get 5 star in euro ncap

• Perutdua cekik darah on Jan 11, 2014 at 10:02 am

Myvi 1.5 SE just 3k cheaper than Alza SE? Dafuq. Im wondering how much is Perodua profit margin by selling 1 Myvi. what an OVERPRICED car!

• bekas perutdua on Jan 11, 2014 at 11:24 am

join P2 first. see how the japanese mentality towards us, malaysian. then you will know. outsiders do not know. that’s why malaysian worship P2.

• Bataman on Jan 11, 2014 at 10:42 am

Still the same shit car. They lower price because now there are many competitors…Mitsu Mirage and Attrage, Nissan Almera, KIA Rio….around same price or a little bit more. People will rather buy other cars than junk P2 cars.

• *yawn*

• MiraViP on Jan 11, 2014 at 12:20 pm

Is there any chance for a Viva Facelift? Just asking..

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Jan 11, 2014 at 12:34 pm

Just noticed they’ve omitted the Door Visors and put them as optional accessories. Pre-FL Alza Premium and Advance variants came with standard door visors…

This is just one of a few things omitted to bring the price down. If you think P2 is doing a good job for the so-called cheapskate Rakyat, think again…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • “This car is a low class car for low class people. It is for people who are lazy and do not work hard which results in lower income and less disposable income.”

Sam, I knew there were assholes in this world but didn’t expect to see one writing on this board today.

Who are you to call people who make less income low class?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
    • Low Budget on Jan 11, 2014 at 6:00 pm

Sam is high class everywhere except the stuff between his ears.. Always go for one brand only and always kena tipu dengan harga mahal.

• Jogho on Jan 11, 2014 at 4:54 pm

Hi,

Does anyone know what are the promotions offered by Perodua at the New Alza launch in 1Utama?

The Perodua branch near my house is offering free 3 years service (incl. parts & labour).

Thank you.

Regards,

• aLZA wANABee on Jan 11, 2014 at 5:24 pm

Oh GOD! Perodua stupid enough to put in the same crappy Lokatoo navi system into the Alza. Tot they are smarter than Proton. But equally idiotic. Big minus from me. Software crashed and the maps never up to date.

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Jan 11, 2014 at 10:50 pm

VALUE FOR MONEY mah…!!! idiot commenter kzm above for example is like that – give them shitty features, reduce price, and they (plural) worship the devil…

• may i noe what is the point of having roof-mounted monitor? P2 dun even specify the function of it izzit? lol.. pointless.. better spend more time on safety like rear disc brake and ESC instead of pointless multimedia system.

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Jan 12, 2014 at 1:27 am

More TIME…? It’s the same on how they spent (should I say wasted?) MONEY on a grand carnival inviting artists and performers to launch a car with a minor facelift bringing useless features like new skirts, bumpers, and roof-mounted monitors, and we have people here going hoo-ha about price reduction at the cost of god knows what…

With this kind of money, it should be well-spent on R&D improving quality… Sadly they want QUANTITY to kill off cheap lives instead… Oh well, this is Bolehland… everything is possible…

• david on Jan 12, 2014 at 12:35 am

Hi Danny,
    as an influential blogger, you have the responsibility to disclose that this car do not have ESC/ESP/VSC and educate buyers the importance of it.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Jan 13, 2014 at 1:56 am

Hi David,

Thanks for your feedback. We are very passionate about safety here at paultan.org (see the link below), but in Malaysia, and in this segment, ESP is not a norm. Not a glaring omission.

http://paultan.org/2012/06/27/esp-stability-control-is-a-must-malaysian-motorists-deserve-better-active-safety-in-their-cars/

• This is Face-lift or Cost Down activities?

• Henry on Jan 12, 2014 at 11:10 am

The correct price for this car should be 35k for the Advance Version.

• motorhead on Jan 12, 2014 at 2:29 pm

I love it.. So funny.. Hahaha.. Pecah perut… You know sir.. Alza or myvi is rebadge model.. They outsource the engines, gears & etc from Daihatsu.. 20k also can.. But may be you can get a full set engine onlylah, minus body, then you assemble the body yourself & you sell it at 35K yourself.. Perodua wud happy to hire you….. Haha.. So funny.. You make my day..

• pirlo on Jan 12, 2014 at 11:23 pm

not really. they have localized more than 70% for engine parts. even auto gearbox are now assembled locally in Nilai under Aichikikai monitoring. manual gearbox are already assembled locally since old myvi. they have achieved more than enough more minimum % localized parts for tax exemption.

• Poh Kee on Jan 12, 2014 at 7:23 pm

Can anyone recommend other better car (besides Exora) within this RM55k-RM65k range which is a 7 seater or 5+2 like Alza? Looking to buy a 2nd car and want to make comparison.

• Justin on Jan 13, 2014 at 1:06 am

Alza is quite a fun and value for money mini mpv. I have been in this car many times because some of my close family and friends own an Alza. Honestly it is a decent car that i will strongly recommend for family use.

Infact, I really don’t understand why people don’t like Proton and Perodua. We own a Persona and Preve and both are just great…!!! Even our Myvi is good. So for me I have always seen Malaysian cars as perfectly fine. People should try them out first before judging. Just my opinion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • I am looking to buy a MPV and would like to know is there any reviews done to compare what we have now in Malaysia (Alza, Avanza, Livina, etc etc). I have looked at the new Alza and must say it looks and drives great. Would be glad to hear from others out there who has compared these several models.

• Xplorer on Jan 13, 2014 at 11:33 am

Nick,

If U can accept those Old Tech Engine then should be OK. Safety wise … Plus Minus for all those models …

• Eventually it is a value for money car i would say. I have driving this more than 3 years and so far didn’t have major problem. However this car is ride comfort and safe with 5 ppl instead of 7. This car will suit if you are driving with relax style. If you are looking for 7 seater and hope it can ride like Fast and Furious then better look for others option :))))

• If I can comment on this Alza;
    Hopefully perodua can re-adjust the sitting position and re-design the middle seat to make it more supportive. I remember sitting in the Alza or even Exora, when the car brakes, even not at a high speed, you tend to slide forward.
    All the best Perodua.

• mossi on Jan 13, 2014 at 10:26 am

senangnye keje kat perodua.. dah ler 3 model je.. pastu buat minor change je tiap taun… tuka sport rim (tu pun konfem2 enkei yg design), tambah leather, tuka entertainment system..

• Horny Ah Beng on Jan 13, 2014 at 1:19 pm

Hooray! Now I can buy my dream car and fit my 7 kids in. And can also cucuk and smoke all those VW GTI that think they are king of the road.
    Memang lagi best!! TQ perodua.

• Preve is upgraded to 6 air bags,new vacuum pump, new gearbox and not even claim they are face lift or “new” preve

• Ha Gnih on Jan 13, 2014 at 3:45 pm

Alza is an Alza. It is a family car. Which is supposed to be driven cautiously and courteously. Don’t expect an Alza to have the performance of a WRX or even a GTR. Those who keep yelling up and down about how dangerous this car is and bla bla bla, are usually those who makes it SLIGHTLY better in life and can afford a Thai-assembled Toyota or Honda. Which these days alot of those brands from the kimchii land and land of the rising sun are assembled in places like Pekan, Tampoi, Seberang Prai, Kulim and Alor Gajah. Hah! So much for ‘imported’ cars konon. So leave those who can only afford the Alza at best, with their own choice. I’m sure not everybody can ‘achieve’ what some could here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Orang Miskin on Jan 14, 2014 at 12:44 am

Wonder how long it will take to deliver … cant wait ..

• mmaker on Jan 14, 2014 at 2:59 am

what’s latest promo? buy this new alza can get 1kg kangkung aaa?

• Jogho on Jan 14, 2014 at 11:24 pm

Hi everyone,

The New Alza has ABS with EBD and BA, but does not have ESC. Can this be considered as having stability control?

Regards,

• autodriver on Jan 15, 2014 at 8:59 am

new Alza does not come with electronic stability control.

any MPV below 100k come with ESC? Even the more expensive rivals like Livana or Avanza does not come with ESC and yet selling at higher price than Alza.

• nizam on May 18, 2014 at 11:18 pm

the all new kia carens has ESC + ABS + EBD. Price not sure. but the price of careens in Australia is $2000 more than exora.

• raymie on Jan 15, 2014 at 1:06 pm

Be positive… Harga dapat diturunkan kemungkinan kerana perodua telah meningkatkan efficiency pengeluaran dgn mengurangkan non value added xtvt. Kudos kpd staff mereka kerana berusaha ke arah era globalisasi…

• Jogho on Jan 17, 2014 at 7:38 am

I believe, Perodua cannot lower their car prices too much, so that previous Alza owners do not lose too much on resale value. A friend bought an Alza last year and she regrets for not delaying it by a few months to enjoy a lower price and better features.

• better go for exora bold premium , space is bonus,,,,
    dah beli puas hati

• Mamat Fauzi on Jan 17, 2014 at 7:24 am

Alza Owner for 2years already so far its very good as a family car. Of course underpowered kalau naik bukit janda baik xleh celen dgn keta lain. About safety, if u think to go over the road speed limit then my advice, ‘igtlh org yg tersyg’. Company is providing me new car every 3yrs so i have 1more yr to see if this new batch creates any internal issues. Willing to pay extra if P2 can give option of rear a/c vent. its very important. TQ

• nizam on May 18, 2014 at 11:14 pm

what is your comment on the a/c ventilator? is it good enough to blow up to the third row?

• peyno on Jan 17, 2014 at 10:11 am

no safety featues????
    perodua kangkung baharu

• nuajon on Jan 17, 2014 at 12:09 pm

sama je apa yg baharu? xde beza design sama cuma beza facelift…xde yg baru derrrr

• Orang Miskin on Jan 17, 2014 at 6:40 pm

hhmm.. Got news from few salesmen that the price havent been approve by the goverment. New Alza has been hold to register . T^T Including mine..

• Jogho on Jan 18, 2014 at 12:02 am

I heard, Perodua is waiting for the NAP announcement by MITI that is coming up next week to determine the actual prices.

• Aleeya Zaharah on Jan 23, 2014 at 4:28 pm

still no news on the official price list… (T_T)

• Orang Miskin on Jan 24, 2014 at 4:52 pm

T^T Still cannot register the car yet..
      Mau sampai bila ni . Launch pun dah launch. kereta tak kasi keluar..

• Jogho on Jan 27, 2014 at 12:01 am

Both the Toyota Passo Sette and Daihatsu Boon Luminas have VSC for many years now. But our latest rebadged version (a.k.a. Perodua Alza facelift) stil does not have it???

• xoomie on Jan 28, 2014 at 7:04 pm

why i dont see any of this new alza on the road?

• saya nk tahu sy dh booking alza,dekat 3 minggu.
    betul ke proses untuk kereta baharu alza kastam perlu endos dan ambil masa berape lama..?blh x sy dapat info nie?

• Orang Miskin on Jan 30, 2014 at 8:03 am

Masalah betul. Nak register satu kereta pun susah sangat..
      Kopi “O” kasi kerajaan Gao sikit la Perodua ..

• kereta perodua memang kena endos kastam…
      coz bayak barang import kt dalam… terutama kt part2 engine tu (paling banyak kt model first model dengan sapa2 dpt keta kat showroom tu)

• ALZAA facelift is way better. But still, I ain’t gonna waste my money buying a tin milo product. A slightly harder tin milo would be a Protong Sampah, but still I ain’t gonna waste my money buying from these 2 cheap so-called local manufacturer. I personally think Sam Loo (look at the top most comment) is just an arse hole that thinks Hilux is the best car in the world. Everybody knows, pick up truck drivers are one of the worst kind of drivers out there (and kiasu). Bullying other road users with its oversized grill, high intensity front light and sports light and ridiculous absorber height. No signalling when changing lanes and easily hit other cars when reversing. Why the Endau Rompin setup in Urban Kuala Lumpur? That’s even ridiculous.

• nazwan on Feb 18, 2014 at 12:22 pm

Suka2 kata yg pakai keta P1 & P2 xde duit.. hahaha..suka hati kau org la, kalau rasa mcm dah kaya sgt..hahaha..
    Kau org beli Porsche or Ferrari pun still akan ada negative comments. so what.
    Biarlah org nak beli, bukan mintak duit mak bapak kau org pun..
    Masing2 ada money managements masing2, jgn ingat pakai VW tu duit byk sgt ke..silap2 yg pakai P1 & P2 ddk kmpg toreh getah, duit berjuta, tak bising pun…hahahaha…

• I plan to buy Advance version, any car owner could share their comment about this car? specially on advance version, thanks.

• Mr. Curiosity on Dec 19, 2014 at 9:04 am

Guys, have u ever notice that each time a perodua alza involved in an accicdent, the MPV crumple like paper. I am searching for a MPV and I fall in love with Alza, however, after some observation on the all previous accident involving Alza, I have changed my mind. :(

• I like this car so much, I’m getting one of this by the end of the month. For budget wise, this is a totally worth it mainstream MPV, I would rather keep my money to spend on housing loan as well as saving plan for migrate, instead of spending 100k in buying an imported car, it does no good but to stuck in the jam in KL city, or driving it out for wantan mee during the weekend.