CBU Mazda 3 Sedan estimated specs & price unveiled

mazda3-sedan-australia

The last official word from Malaysian Mazda distributor Bermaz on the new Mazda 3 was in November last year, where the sedan bodytype was previewed at 1 Utama. Although the car on show was an Australian spec 2.5 litre car, Bermaz said the Malaysian-bound CBU car will have a 2.0 litre engine, with an estimated price of RM139k. No specs were mentioned.

Thanks to an estimated price and specs list posted by a Mazda dealership in Sungai Besi onto their Facebook fan page yesterday, we now have an idea of what kind of specs the CBU version of our Mazda 3 will have. Notable equipment includes six airbags, smart keyless entry and push start, I-Stop (automatic start/stop when stationary) and I-Eloop (an implementation of regenerative braking).

mazda-3-pricelist-sgbesi

No stability control is mentioned but the car could have it and the lack of mention could just be an omission on the part of the spec sheet, since stability control seems to be standard along with a full suite of airbags in recent Mazda launches.

Curiously, the car is listed with a seemingly low price of RM128k. But then RM6k is added in the form of ‘standard accessories’, which along with OTR costs brings the price up to RM135,159.00. Add on a RM3,776.50 insurance premium and you get an OTR price including insurance of RM138,935.50, which is pretty much the indicative RM139k price mentioned earlier.

The dealership adds that lucky early bookings will get their cars delivered before the CNY holidays. We tried out the Mazda 3 recently – read our review here: Mazda3 third-gen 2.0 and 2.5 test drive review.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Daniel on Jan 12, 2014 at 6:11 pm

138K, Altis, Mazda 3
    119k, K3 2.0

after 5 years

Altis Mazda 3 100k
    k3 2.0 80k

Korean cars low resale value

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 102 Thumb down 164
    • altis, mazda 3 after 5 years 138k-100k= depreciate 38k
      k3 119k-80k= depreciate 39k.
      same thing bruhh :)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 251 Thumb down 24
      • Suren on Jan 12, 2014 at 7:16 pm

Hye Bros,

Like that Persona 2014-RM51k, 2009-27k, Loss=RM24k… So Persona better resale value… Since you all calculate depreciation at dollar value…

#facepalm

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 5
        • Najib, where is the 30% you Promised? on Jan 13, 2014 at 10:48 am

Lets not talk about taxes in Malaysia. Lets see how the Malaysian government is screwing our lives up

This car in the US is USD$16,945. You get VSC and much more safety features. At this price, the US government has already collected taxes from Mazda USA. At this price, the US Mazda dealership would also be making a margin of profit.

So USD$16,945 = RM50,835

In Malaysia, we are paying RM135k. Somemore, Bermaz will get it much cheaper from their principal in Japan being an official country dealership. So, if USD$16,945 includes all the taxes of the US government and US Mazda dealership taxes, Mazda Japan will probably sell this car to Bermaz for probably USD$10,000.

Yes, we Malaysians are being cheated by the Malaysian government. Najib, where is the 30% car price reduction you promised?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 8
          • Do you see any other ASEAN country come with those RM50-60k price for Mazda 3? Even Vios in thai cost higher than RM50k..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 23
          • AT LEAST THAILAND CAR IS CHEAPER

• juice on Jan 12, 2014 at 7:16 pm

Mazda3 is crampy for a C segment car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 9
        • 1st row legroom(inches)/2nd row legroom(inches)/bootspace(Litres)/Total passenger volume(cubic feet)

Focus: 43.7/33.2/374/93.1
          Civic: 42.0/36.2/354/95.1
          Elantra: 43.6/33.1/419/95.4
          Cerato: 42.2/35.9/422/96.1
          Altis: 42.3/41.4/452/(Biggest no doubt)
          Mazda 3: 42.2/35.8/408/96.2
          All cars are based on latest Sedan Models.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
          • Vader on Jan 13, 2014 at 10:57 am

These information is more useful and welcome instead those keep talking endless RV topic.
            If talk about car then don’t talk RV, if talk RV then go for properties..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
          • No. Boot wise preve is biggest 508l

• Bob_B78 on Jan 14, 2014 at 10:25 am

Biggest boot space is Jetta at 510.
            But very pricey car.

• anthonion on May 06, 2014 at 9:54 pm

wow Alan, where did u get this info? is there any source for this so everyone can check on other make/models :) thanks

• crappy on Jan 12, 2014 at 7:21 pm

Mazda3 is crap useless car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 76
      • i dont whether his (Daniel) is correct about the depreciation value, but your calculation is definitely wrong. You should calculate in percentage%:
        Altis/mazda:( 38k/138k)x100=27%
        kia: (39k/119k)x100=33%

im neutral on korean or japanese cars but i just want to point out your mistake of calculating depreciation value..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 7
      • vincent on Jan 12, 2014 at 11:47 pm

What Daniel pointed out did not include the interest calculation, most people doesn’t buy car with cash. So if you spent 138k on a Stupid Altis, for instance, you have to pay more interest. Just imagine a person that only pay 15k downpayment. The guy who buy Altis have to take a loan for 123K, where is the smarter Cerato buyer pay the loan of 104k.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 7
        • pathfinder on Jan 13, 2014 at 11:13 am

i like the word stupid altis….:-D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
          • engineer on Jan 13, 2014 at 9:45 pm

yup..toyota the worst japanese car nowaday in term of technology

• OMG…Damn cheap man…Nice car with nice price.lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
      • David on Jan 17, 2014 at 1:27 pm

Hey stoo pid; the only true way to value this (depreciation) is by PERCENTAGE drop, idjut, Bruuuuuuuuuuuuh.
        Take this example, bruh, stoo pid, idjut:
        110 to 100, a drop of about 9%
        20 to 10, a drop of 50%, brruh. I know where my money has been better invested, even if you don’t, brrrrrrrrrruuuuuuuuuuuh.
        And I’ll do it for you. The Mazda has dropped about 27.5%.
        Whereas the k3, almost 33%,
        brrrrrrrrrrrrrruuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuhhhhhhhhhh.

• carlieser on Jan 12, 2014 at 6:31 pm

Wrong, mazda3 2010 only 77k. That’s after 3 years. After 5 years sure only get 60k.

You lost 138k – 60k = 78k

Take a kia frote, buy 2009 for 81k
      now after 4 years 51k. After 5 years might be only 43k

You lost 81k – 43k = 38k

Don’t talk bulls here

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 107 Thumb down 7
      • JohnDi on Jan 12, 2014 at 7:22 pm

Hahaha good job carlieser… You knock out the guy out, it just show this guy Daniel doesn’t know what is talking about. Poor guy!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
      • I think he’s being sarcastic to those Korean cars haters, you need to pick up some sense of humour.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
      • engineer on Jan 13, 2014 at 9:54 pm

but then, u cant compare RV as factor of brand. it also due to popularity.. for example, look at Honda Civic FD, still have a good resale value.. because new Civic was designed with ugly face. same as Camry. so then, u cant compare previous Ugly-Smile face Mazda 3 to a completely new design Mazda 3. myb for this year, this car will be the hottest car, and have their own fan on 2nd hand car. in term of price, no sign of GOV reduce the tax.. hopefully, plant at Kulim will produces CKD unit.

• i bought honda accord oso thinking of future resale value…
        wtf!!! proton accord now!!! wut say u!!!
        we cant run away fr cekik darah gov…
        just buy wut ever ”over tax” car u like and enjoy the ride…

• shaun on Jan 12, 2014 at 6:33 pm

You make me laugh at u. As per ur calculation Altis n Mazda3 loses rm38k n Kia loses rm39k. The difference of 1k determines the low resale value of Korean cars? Ha ha n ha. Pure ignorant n conservative mentality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 6
    • altis mazda 3 138k-100k= depreciate 38k
      k3 119k-80k= depreciate 39k
      is the same thing bruhh :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
    • Grandma police on Jan 12, 2014 at 6:47 pm

You all are pulling these numbers out of your Pigu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
      • Funny on Jan 12, 2014 at 7:13 pm

bored with resale value…buy cars is too enjoy…not resale value…all car price will drop not matter what…Jap not much diff from korean now…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
      • policeman on Jan 13, 2014 at 7:27 pm

Grandma?

• no name on Jan 12, 2014 at 9:05 pm

Only people who dont care about life value will still concern bout rv… People want drive car with high safety… U want to drive coffin car, go buy toyota… People who love car n life only care on features n safety… drive so fast on highway with ur family inside the car, but no vsa n 2 airbag u think safe enuf????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
    • SamhowedMeTheHilux on Jan 12, 2014 at 9:10 pm

For Celaka, trade in value after 1 year is around RM30k, but for now, no used car dealer will accept ant trade ins

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 28
      • koozold on Jan 13, 2014 at 3:59 pm

Trade in value for 30k? how much for second value? 40-50k? like that p1&p2 tutup kedai sial.. better buy second hand Cerato. I need to find investor to jv and open up a second hand car dealer. The main supplier from Sam Loo. For Korean car only no others made.

• after 5 year how to contact you to buy back my Mazda3???

• Mackaroni on Jan 12, 2014 at 9:23 pm

Guys…he is just being sarcastic…==….chill please

• DearSir on Jan 12, 2014 at 10:29 pm

pfft only poor people care about resale value

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
    • Daniel,

Ha..ha..ha.. how you calculate lah. So easy also can be wrong.

• mhaameem on Jan 13, 2014 at 2:46 pm

people buy car to drive..not to sell..

• A bit expensive being a C-Segment car. But if I were to choose between this Mazda 3 and the New Altis, this will definitely be my choice than the boring toyota :)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 11
    • Grandma police on Jan 12, 2014 at 6:47 pm

Isn’t it better to get low spec honda accord instead

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 14
      • That’s why i mentioned “IF I WERE TO CHOOSE BETWEEN THESE 2 CARS”. Of coz, If it’s not choosing between these 2 cars, I would have many other choices. Eg: The New Accord like you mentioned

• _xXx_ on Jan 12, 2014 at 8:18 pm

better book now else after CKD, you pay 5k lesser but all items in std accessories list are gone!

• afif nazmi on Jan 12, 2014 at 9:58 pm

if me definately go for peugeot 508. just add around 10k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
  • Pinky on Jan 12, 2014 at 6:14 pm

R.I.P Altis :'(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 18
  • HondaLover on Jan 12, 2014 at 6:16 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 191
    • Your engine is only pathetic SOHC engine, unless it’s FD but again it’s too old and poor to compare with much newer feature-packed cars nowadays.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 18
    • shaun on Jan 12, 2014 at 6:36 pm

You think your cheap n totally bias comment can make others change their minds?? I think u just cant accept that Mazda has really a better car this time than Honda n u r stuck with your so called clever decision of buying a Honda and trying to satisfy yourself by degrading other brands.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 10
    • loudpost on Jan 12, 2014 at 10:46 pm

not mazda but bermaz

• Ohplease on Jan 12, 2014 at 10:56 pm

Seriously, Civic is a boring car. Look how 80s is the current version front grill + bumper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
      • sambalbabi on Jan 13, 2014 at 1:06 am

Honda is a crap the moment they change to SOHC engine. I’m not gonna spend sub-rm130k for a SOHC engined car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 11
  • nuffg on Jan 12, 2014 at 6:17 pm

No VSC and traction control?
    Don’t buy. If buy, one actually buys a 2000 era car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 14
  • OMG…rip off car without VSA / Traction Control

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 19
  • Mazda seems to follow Toyota to offer overpriced and underspecced cars. Mazda…moving backward

*sarcasm*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 3
  • Boy Racer on Jan 12, 2014 at 6:23 pm

Standard Accessories RM6000?! So, without the standard accessories you get accessories that have no standard. T_T

RM 128k pricing with standard accessories would have been great…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • Stability control is standard in all new Mazda models so no need to mention. Just like the brake pedal already nothing new to Mazda. Pity honda/toyota fans who need to buy high end model to get it, though still nothing can be done with their boring looks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 6
    • Mazda3 has more boring looks. big lazy koala nose for lazy people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 29
    • cromer on Jan 12, 2014 at 7:20 pm

Where got it said standard in all variants? If there is any it should be mentioned out in the first place.

• at 139k..maybe could consider accord at this price?
    and btw…mazda rv also would be that good also tho….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • wouldnt be that good…

• Accord is meh on Jan 14, 2014 at 10:41 am

Why would I want to drive a bloated Honda Accord? To show my friends that I am planning a family or maybe to ferry my grandma around?

• western on Jan 12, 2014 at 6:38 pm

Paul, I think it should be auto stop-start not auto start stop. Auto start stop usually means the pushable ignition button.

• joker on Jan 12, 2014 at 7:24 pm

So this is the underpowered car, 100km/h at 2500rpm. That’s a big joke in 2014!

• How many speaker , frm Bose ?
    Seat leather / fabric

• Leather wrap steering can be made at Kedai Abang, better to add traction control and VSC.

• chammer on Jan 12, 2014 at 7:30 pm

I’m waiting for JC to hammer this crap in TG

• The engines works stressfully to achieve desired output. 100km/h at 2,500 with 2.5l engine is very outdated these days. Any 2.0l engine can do that, preve turbo, sylphy, civic, etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • tHe^CuLpRit on Jan 12, 2014 at 7:34 pm

got I-Eloop.. so we get the higher powered 163hp version?

• mizuru on Jan 12, 2014 at 11:40 pm

nope.i eloop refer to regenerative system for better mileage and not bhp.

• fcmop on Jan 12, 2014 at 7:36 pm

So what’s the estimated FC? If only 12km/l it’s not impressive at all. It should be real city calculation, not those inapplicable foreign standards

• bawang on Jan 12, 2014 at 7:36 pm

With all new skyactiv engine compression 14:1 the best in class..

• So can this car outrun Vios?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
  • it is interesting to see how Berjaya marketing will compete with honda, sime darby, naza.

if re-use the strategy on CX-5 (CKD months later, omit this and that features, and lower the price by 10~20k). this RM138k is expensive but reasonable to Berjaya.

• not hope anymore at gov tax promise on Jan 13, 2014 at 10:04 pm

agree.. as per previous mazda 3, cx5 have cbu..then ckd at kulim. any mazda worker work at kulim to tell us what happen overthere?

• potential winner becomes a loser at this price point

• JDM-as-F on Jan 12, 2014 at 8:07 pm

Any confirmation on the Bose sound system?

• sudonano on Jan 12, 2014 at 8:08 pm

Actually it is not too bad.

I think ESC should be included la, I mean 6 airbags and no ESC is weird, and the spec list looks like there is more to it (the table is not fully complete, no bottom border).

Though curiously, the Mazda 8 does not come with ESC on the local official Bermaz units, but it has 6 airbags. It is not indicated on the site, which I suspect has not been updated for a long time.

But, actually, if you think about it, lets say you are a person who only thinks the Japanese can make good cars, Koreans make egg cartons and the Germans/American cars are made from recycled sardine cans, and only think Honda, Toyota or Mazda, this is the best bet. Yes the Altis with “Advanced Safety Specification” or whatever they call “giving you features we should but we want to charge you cause we are so stingy” pack, the Mazda makes more sense. Better cabin, made in Japan, looks better, would drive better and is probably more efficient thanks to SkyActiv.

Interesting to see how this goes. Mazda has turned around with many CX5 and Mazda6 running our road.

(Oh and to those who did book this car, do take Soul Red. Its gorgeous.)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Comparing Mazda3 with its rivals, Mazda3 is quite crampy and has smaller boot. Sigh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • mskrotisck on Jan 12, 2014 at 8:11 pm

Waiting for Masakroti telling joke to compare this car with BMW 3 series. Putuihhhh

• sEnGz on Jan 12, 2014 at 8:14 pm

“No stability control is mentioned but the car could have it and the lack of mention could just be an omission on the part of the spec sheet, since stability control seems to be standard along”

Here that or not SAM LOO??!! Stop promoting your Vios and even entry line Altis which does not have VSC… and still need conventional keys to start the engine.

• Do you have problem to start engine with key?

• this keyless engine start-stop has better security as there is a motorized steering lock locking the steering column.. and the comprehensive MCU/ECU is only recognizing the specific key fob to start the engine..

• Would go for Accord which is the same price anytime anyday..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
    • Autoexpert on Jan 13, 2014 at 1:07 pm

What’s more, BETTER RV than all TOYOTAS anytime and anyday. Go figure SAM LOO!

• Better wait CKD lah.

• honest on Jan 12, 2014 at 8:47 pm

Honda city got vsa
    enough what
    half the price

• setscrew on Jan 12, 2014 at 9:40 pm

It’s a bit dear considering this is just a c-segment, but then, it’s so much loaded with technology, hence, it’s still deemed much more “reasonable” than the “kosong” CKD Altis…. We can expect to see some 10~15k price drop when the Mazda 3 CKD is available maybe in 6 months time or a year the most.

• Mazda…. better spec and value for money. Interior feels up class and better quality than toyol and hondie. Have u seen the seats on the new camry?? the previous model was better. Shame on UMW TOYOTA. People buy vios for the sake of resale and nothing else. Might as well buy a myvi, toyol sourced engine and design

• The price is really steep for a C-segment, but considering that it has all the latest Mazda tech this should be a better buy over the upcoming Altis. I wouldn’t suggest opting for a low-spec Accord though as the safety features are quite below par, unless you really need that extra amount of space.

• thefact on Jan 12, 2014 at 11:14 pm

139 for A CBU :)

Altis is at 139 for A CKD???? and is the altis specs even comparable? so who is expensive here?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • wheresthecamera on Jan 12, 2014 at 11:28 pm

but… but where’s the reverse camera?

• grandmapolice on Jan 12, 2014 at 11:34 pm

altis is also cbu.

• TunTanSri on Jan 14, 2014 at 12:25 am

Toyota Altis is CBU? Are you kidding me! Its CKD is Thailand and by the crappy looks of it, it looks like it is built by the protesters at the streets of Bangkok. Angry!

• Lemer on Jan 12, 2014 at 11:24 pm

Over-priced crappy without ESC and looks ugly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
  • lamanblog on Jan 12, 2014 at 11:39 pm

Ford Focus all the way.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
  • heybadigol on Jan 12, 2014 at 11:45 pm

No mention of the 9 speaker Bose sound system, heads up display, and smart city brake, amongst the important specs from the US Mazda3. Doesnt mean these will not be here though. Could be because the specs shared isnt the full list.

• RejimKejamGanas on Jan 13, 2014 at 3:21 am

These are not included in this Mazda3. I’ve spoken to dealers from Bermaz and they have confirmed it.

• Safety first. No VSC and traction control, no money.

• sayyed on Jan 12, 2014 at 11:53 pm

Its a little bit pricey ….but there is many new innovative options for this new speed hunger sporty Mazda 3…..@ Darren Chen if we want compare between new Honda acord Mazda 6 is correct one ..Mazda 3 segment level is Honda civic…Toyota altis…and Volkswagen jeta…Nissan sylphy….just compare first fuel consumption new Mazda3 per 100KM Liter….. Second compare acceleration 0 to 100 km is 6 sec… Third look for body design and inside cockpit and Dash and compare with ugly and uncle style other competitors in 2014 …search and Google’s… About how much fun if you drive with this car…..maybe market resale value is still with ugly and simple Honda and Toyota ..but with Mazda brand always come with many fun and loves for driving…like zoom zoom…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
    • bengH on Jan 13, 2014 at 5:54 am

This is underpowered car, only manual tranny variant and highest variant got satisfactory acceleration. Others are sucky big time. Only on par with Vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • RejimKejamGanas on Jan 13, 2014 at 12:46 am

Don’t know why all my comments are not showing up. Could the admin advise?

Well, this is my last try:

NOT available in this spec:
    Engine bay noise insulation
    Battery cover
    BOSE speaker system
    Auto head lights
    Rain sensor
    Auto dimming mirrors
    Front parking sensors
    Leather seats and leather side panels
    Dual zone air-cond
    i-Activesense
    HUD (Heads Up Display)
    Digital speedometer
    Cruise control

• Maybe they omit and replace them with :
      Kanasai speakers
      No auto headlights
      No rain sensor
      No leather seats
      No Dual zone a/c
      No digital speedo
      No cruise control

This car is only a wow if it is launched in 2003.

• What!! no HUD!! oh no. That is one of the killer feature in Mazda3.

• takNakP1 on Jan 13, 2014 at 12:52 am

I find most comments are hilarious.
    No matter what brand whether sushi, kimchi or conti with or w/out VSC or 6 Air bags, it it doesn’t kills on the road it might kill you slowly by the bank.

• Hey wait a minute.. where is the hatchback version? Its the best looking mazda3 and is bermaz going to get it in malaysia?

• motorhead on Jan 13, 2014 at 7:39 am

Tested the previous Mazda 3.. Cramp? Yes cramp. To extend uncomfortable at the back seat.. Underpowered. In this segment better look at Slphy.. No need to talk so much.. You ll be amazed with the acceleration & the gear.. Wait for the new Slphy..

• Whatever on Jan 13, 2014 at 8:02 am

Good. In order for this Mazda 3 to be a worthy buy it must be rich in features being offered and the price must be comparable to higher RV cars ie. Civic. If not better just buy a civic. Looking forward for this car if the spec holds true.

• Ooi Hock Jin on Jan 13, 2014 at 8:08 am

It is worth to buy compare to Toyota Corolla Altis 2.0V

• Bermaz just self-upgrade itself to become just like UMW.

• Bravo! on Jan 13, 2014 at 9:27 am

First of all, Bravo to the first few posts who show them Malaysian is getting smart and know how to calculate rv With interest imposed during car purchase. Talking rv on Japan cars is just stupid as their otr price is already dearer by 20~30k.
    Now let’s compare Japan to Japan car. Mazda has the look, the spec and features and the airbags. I’m very sure they will have stability control.
    Altis pls go balik kampung! Cbu? Go back Thai pls. Not even 1 category can compare with mazda3 skyactive(maybe interior space).
    Rip umw and umw rv cronies!

• Ha Gnih on Jan 13, 2014 at 9:35 am

If one can afford cars that cost exceed the 100K mark, then resale value should be the least of our worries. Buying a car is never an investment. Be prepared to make a loss once you drive it out right from the dealership. If one worries too much about resale value, just ride a bicycle. Mmkay ?

• Helloo Bro 139K for a fully imported car bro ….CBU u can possibly compare to Toyolta Altis which is CKD….different quality and spec…..

• mmaker on Jan 13, 2014 at 9:40 am

no more 1.6 mazda3 ?

• helloo….now days when people buy car they dont think of RV…..its safety, handling and comfort lah…..its uncle and aunty mentality ……now days people are more affluent…..

• AUSNSW on Jan 13, 2014 at 12:40 pm

If the car is safe to use, then it is not necessary to change car every 3-5 years.Maybe can use 10 years or more.Totally agree with you,Mott.

• Correction: people on paultan.org is very affluent but still, sadly, most Malaysians still have uncle and aunty mentality who do not bother to do any research before buying a car.

• tomesi on Jan 13, 2014 at 9:47 am

Mazda 3S & Tribos Application Centre “Dear Mr Paul Tan This vehicle is come with DSC (Dynamic Stability Control) & TCS (Traction Control System).”

They reply about DSC and TCS….

• Only 2.0 engine listed? I wonder if the 1.5 engine will be brought in.

• Maserati on Jan 13, 2014 at 10:46 am

Well, this car is not a great car. I would take the new altis over this .

But any jap car will pawn Korean junk upside down anyday !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • seriously on Jan 13, 2014 at 12:05 pm

Recent photos of the car at port revealed that it comes with fabric seats only. seriously Mazda? 139k high spec for fabric?

• If it’s fabric seats, I’m gonna look elsewhere. Seriously! No matter how god u think u are, you’re not a Golf!

• BOSENOMORE on Jan 13, 2014 at 2:41 pm

By the way, the CBU does not comes with Bose speakers. Better off with a CKD?

• kambinganas on Jan 13, 2014 at 9:45 pm

Yes, I can confirm that it is correct. The dealers sent me the photos as well. I send it to PaulTan also.

• coffeedude on Jan 13, 2014 at 1:39 pm

my my my ….. so many comments on RV.
    Is everyone doing a Sam Loo impersonation?
    haha

• Accordana on Jan 13, 2014 at 1:39 pm

Those jealous with Mazda 3 are those poor loser that only afford to buy Preve. Kasihan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • guilt79 on Jan 13, 2014 at 2:05 pm

It got TCS, DSC, iStop and i-Eloop.

Quite a good value for money actually.

• Chrisg on Jan 13, 2014 at 2:28 pm

Camry, civic, slyphy ( even the name turns me off, like a sex disease), vios, accord, CRV, alphard (ugly coffin carier) altis….none of these cars are as good as the new kimchis, peugeot, . If want to buy a jap make, its only Mazda that makes the grade. If buyers are intelligent enough, compare the specs and drivability, safety features etc….I won’t be ashamed seating in a Mazda, kancil, my I. But ashamed to be seen in a vios, altis. I’m no ah beng or pimp.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • Triage on Jan 13, 2014 at 3:05 pm

Sifus, can I just ask the elders in the forum, if I’m earning RM9,000 with one mortgage of RM300,000, do you think buying a RM138K car is a good idea, in the light of the current economy? It’s between Mazda 3 and the Ford Focus Sport+

• WSK3010 on Jan 13, 2014 at 4:22 pm

i’m not a dealer but with that income and if u r single, then no problemo.

• motorhead on Jan 13, 2014 at 4:46 pm

Don’t buy both.. Try Slphy.. Test drive one.. Focus ok.. But if anything wrong.. It ll cost your limbs… Long wait for spare parts if accident. New Slphy is coming.. Xtronic is brilliant.

• bluebird on Jan 13, 2014 at 5:55 pm

If RV is on the back of your mind, BOTH Mazda 3 and Ford Focus should not be in your consideration.
      But if you really want either 1, you should choose the car WITH a service center NEAR your place.

• Saga BeLum Masak on Jan 13, 2014 at 9:15 pm

Our Menteri olredi said, “If you cannot afford to buy a car, buy a motobike. If cannot afford a motobike, buy a bicycle. If you don’t like the price in bolehland, go buy it somewhere else…”

For RM9k, your expenses including property and ride should not exceed 60% of your total income. That means, 40% is a must for your savings and emergencies. Just calculate.

• kambinganas on Jan 13, 2014 at 10:06 pm

Aku rasa lebih baik for you to go for a B-segment sedan if you have a small family. Depending on how long is your housing loan tenure, your monthly installments for your car may be more than your housing installments. It is unwise to pay so much for your car and less for your house. Better to pay more for your house as it is the only asset among the 2 that will naik nilai and where you save by not paying rental. Car on the other hand, you will eventually have to sell/trade-in for a new one no matter how well you maintain it. Old car maintenance can be very costly.

Worst case, in the current economy, you can pay for your home through EPF withdrawals in case you lose your job. You can’t do this with your car and will end up losing more when you desperately need to sell it.

I think the price set by Bermaz for the new Mazda 3 is not worth it, read RejimKejamGanas komen for a list of things missing from the spec. The FoFo offers better value but the distributor and dealers offer poor after sales service, as bad as VW I am told.

• This is the one of the most generous specs given thus far by any dealers out here.

Lets just hope they are all nicely packaged. It would be on to the test drive to find out.

• AhBeng on Jan 13, 2014 at 5:11 pm

This type of asking price may just go for CX5 CKD

• drupal on Jan 13, 2014 at 10:50 pm

Sifus, can I just ask the elders in the forum, if I’m earning RM13,000 with one mortgage of RM500,000, do you think buying a RM138K car is a good idea, in the light of the current economy? It’s between Mazda 3 and the Ford Focus Sport+

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
  • chichi on Jan 13, 2014 at 11:45 pm

underspec gao gao la this one… compared to any 2.0 out there in the world…

• Will there be a chance that all the spec removed be implemented as package in ckd mazda3 in the future? If the ckd have hud leather sit adaptive headlights bla bla bla then cbu buyers will feel so terrible they didnt wait

• jerryloh on Feb 24, 2014 at 8:47 pm

what you guys think about the the new city?