GALLERY: New Proton Perdana 2.4P in detail

Proton_Perdana_Accord_ 003

We’ve reported on the new Proton Perdana based on the eighth-generation Honda Accord various times, but this is the first time we’ve been able to snap detailed photos of it in the metal.

This Proton Perdana 2.4P is the official ride of none other than Proton executive chairman Tan Sri Mohd Khamil Jamil. We normally see him in an Audi A8L with the number plate DR13 (DRB), but at a DRB-Hicom media event that happened over the weekend, he used this Perdana with the plate W2239L. No, he doesn’t get the special stretched version, as that’s reserved for the Prime Minister.

The 2.4P is the more premium version of the two models available. The other is the 2.0E, which we sighted being transported on a trailer recently. The 2.0E has smaller seven double-spoke wheel compared to the five double-spoke wheel design on the 2.4P.

Other than unique sets of alloys, other changes include revised grille and bumpers, removal of the non-functional bit of tail lamp on the boot lid, and additional chrome on the boot lid. There are no changes to the interior except for a Proton badge on the steering wheel.

This is first phase of the ‘Perdana Replacement Model’ project, consisting of 3,000 units for government use. In the second phase, the car will be developed further for a general market introduction in two years.

The Perdana that you and me can buy will continue to be based on the Accord, but will have a completely new exterior and interior, according to Mohd Khamil.

Perdana 2.4P and 2.0E on a trailer

Hi-res shots from the Dec 11 handover ceremony

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Aiseymen, i thought we got the same thing as honda owner, alas when proton tweak here and there, well no more honda already left :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 12
    • ARIFFIN on Jan 12, 2014 at 5:29 pm

Will you get it? He he. Not for sale la !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
      • Low Budget on Jan 13, 2014 at 9:29 am

Read the article properly, it says it will be open for sale to the public later with new interior and exterior! Will the same old crappy Proton’s problems with fittings and accessories coming back to haunt the future Accordana?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
        • ARIFFIN on Jan 13, 2014 at 3:46 pm

We are talking about the present model and not the later one. Moreover those that are getting these can afford to buy Merc or BMW. They are using this PERDANA to go to work, formal functions with free petrol and are chauffeured driven.

• Shameful Honda on Jan 13, 2014 at 11:14 am

I was an ardent fan of Honda. In PT, I am always pro Honda and always kutuk Toyota Camry.

Since 6 years ago, I have been saving to buy a Civic Hybrid. Now I am using just a Waja. Been saving real hard. Every month I save my hard earned money to buy my dream car Civic Hybrid.

After I read about this Perdana, my dreams shattered. Cannot believe my dream company Honda can stoop so low to allow their hard earned R&D to be used as a rebadged car.

My image of Honda went down the drain completely. Honda really got no shame to do this.

Now, all the money I have saved, I think I will buy an Altis or even a Camry.

I think many potential buyers are like me, being ardent Honda fans but now shattered. This can be likened to Samsung Galaxy Note 3. Samsung work so hard to come out with this beautiful handphone, then one day it gives Akira or GC to rebadge it. How do you feel? YOu spend RM2000 to buy your Samsung Galaxy Note 3 and suddenly Akira comes out with the same phone for RM600. Exactly same phone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 79
        • policeman on Jan 13, 2014 at 12:53 pm

So you post this here to gain sympathy from us because of your “shattered dreams”?

That ain’t shattered dreams. Shattered dreams is maybe finding out you have only 6 months more to live!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 13
        • holofanboi on Jan 13, 2014 at 1:51 pm

Exactly! I myself am quite a Honda fan (somewhat still am to this day) and went into the car buying market last year with the full intention of buying a civic 2.0 (i just absolutely love the front styling)!

So I went to the showroom in Shah Alam and to my sheer disappointment the civic was so hollow in each place I was knocking it. I’m not exaggerating here when I say that it feels MUCH cheaper than my dad’s civic 2008 fd1. Im pretty sure the salesman knew my actual feelings of the car since I was busy knocking around the dashboard and door panels while he was explaining about the car to me…oh well.

Im no badge snob but knowing that my alltime favvy naturally aspirated brand is now in cahoots with Proton…aih.

Does Toyota and Nissan have a free slot for a new fan? =S

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 14
        • alldisc on Jan 13, 2014 at 1:57 pm

why worry? this is previous generation accord, not the latest one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
        • Bryan on Jan 13, 2014 at 3:32 pm

Bro, if Honda refuses to let Proton rebadge, their Alor Gajah plant will explode with C4.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 7
        • ARIFFIN on Jan 13, 2014 at 3:41 pm

You want to use or you want to show off. To show off HONDA? Really cheapskate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
        • laboo on Jan 13, 2014 at 10:08 pm

Proton improves Accord ride and handling lor. You think Lotus RnD is mere a hype like Vios FC? LOL Think again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 10
        • drCoorper on Jan 14, 2014 at 7:22 am

It about making business la….I don’t think Honda will do this kind of move if not getting any profit from it..beside there million of customers with abundant of money (earned them hard or smart) and willing to spent it on this brand other that you..

• AntiHonda on Jan 14, 2014 at 4:15 pm

I’m own one CBU honda with imported prize, the stupid honda bring down the price half for CKD and now can see many on the road. Now accordana come in even worst. Since then I’ve banned Homda and no longer their hard fan. Feel cheated right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
        • Robert on Jun 09, 2014 at 7:25 pm

Bro…give them (Proton) a chance or they will lose out to other brands.

• Johnson on Sep 21, 2014 at 9:31 pm

Hope can also have Mercedes or BMW PROTON. At least everyone can drive luxury car. Let’s rebadge Mercedes or BMW.

• Sungguh memalukan!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 21
    • I would rather proton re badge any model than to develop their own junk. At least honda have done proper rnd.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 15
    • shame_Loo on Jan 13, 2014 at 11:45 am

The front bumper looks nicer as compare to ori Honda design. See, Sam is doing the right thing, asking all of you to buy his Toyota Junk, at least the RV won’t hurt that much due to “rebadge”…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
  • Once again, its obvious that Proton rushed to release a Perdana replacement just to secure the deal for government officials to use a Proton instead of a Honda. If not they would have taken their time and released the model with the new interior and exterior. Very sloppy job Proton!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 10
    • DonkeyKong on Jan 12, 2014 at 10:49 pm

It’s a part of the Honda tech transfer arrangement. They’ve set up an assembly line to assemble this previous-gen Accord so that their workers can get used to the procedures and the tooling methods, etc. In the meantime, they’re coming out with new molds for the new sheet metal that are different from the Accord’s, although they’ll all have the same underpinnings.

So, it’s not merely a rebadging exercise.. the 3000 units are something like “on the job training” for the new Proton assembly line for them to gradually ramp up towards a full-fledged production line.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 12
      • Unforgiven on Jan 13, 2014 at 6:59 am

What’s the point? The technologies/ machines are junk from Japan, rnd was more than 10 years ago, 2003. Do you really think you’ll lean to make a future d seg? Preve is the best example of the c seg 1.6T technologies that we have, as compare to what we have globally, it’s a joke!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 23
        • CDsegment on Jan 13, 2014 at 9:59 am

it’s all about volume. bargaining stuffs from H means can save R&D costs. D segment is much smaller than C segment. P1 already play around lancer (wira) then waja to come out with preve. with knowledge from perdana and H accord, sure after this model based on H, P1 can comes out with better D segment model in the future. preve is the best example for their C segment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
          • Unforgiven on Jan 13, 2014 at 1:53 pm

Look global, look at today, look at the future. The preve 1.6T stand at what position in global perspective? Good engine? Good fuel efficiency? Yes, just jaguh kampung.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 17
          • global ka on Jan 13, 2014 at 5:23 pm

“Look global, look at today, look at the future. The preve 1.6T stand at what position in global perspective?”

they just begins global thing recently lah. ask again 5 or 10 years from now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
      • Henry Ford the XII on Jan 13, 2014 at 10:00 am

I am soooo confused:

If Perdana Replacement Model for the government = Perdana 2nd Generation,
        Then in 2 years time, Perdana Replacement Model for the ‘rakyat’ = facelift for Perdana 2nd Generation? (Or is it Perdana 3rd Generation?)
        And obviously 2-3 years after that, the typical facelift exercise will be done, and that will be called….

IMHO, they should just wait until the total transformation of Accord to Perdana for both government and “rakyat”

• Prius is my Lover on Feb 11, 2014 at 12:00 pm

on job training car as Malaysia Prime Minister Officer car? fooyooooo
        I hope the technician forgot to “pasang” a screw nut in the brake pedal there.
        Please assigned one unit to encik Taib also

• 2 years just to develop new logo. Good job Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 14
      • CDsegment on Jan 13, 2014 at 10:01 am

why? that tiger logo only comes 2 years ago?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • titosusn on Jan 13, 2014 at 3:11 pm

No…how come you said like that! it is the logo plus front grill. Those potong engineers tried very hard to think and inspire how to create a front grill that can use the cheapest plastic which will not shatter with 1 month when this accoordana on road. So they need 2 years to think and design it. Of course their working time is from 10 to 11 am and from 3 to 4 pm. The rest of the time will just have tea party everywhere around their sophisticated R & D center.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 8
        • global ka on Jan 13, 2014 at 5:26 pm

why sound so P2. the current alza facelift is very good example.

• Black Dog on Jan 12, 2014 at 4:27 pm

For him, this car is for publicity only. His normal ride should be a RR or Bently

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 15
    • Have you seen those cars? Any pics?
      If not you are talking kok here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 44
      • dodgeviper88 on Jan 13, 2014 at 8:40 pm

Which part of Audi A8L that you don’t understand? Are you trying to say that the author of this article is talking kok?

• turboG on Jan 22, 2014 at 12:16 am

ghRR bro, go home to do your study before you talk kok here!

• rifle on Jan 12, 2014 at 5:13 pm

Nope…Paul had stated that his normal ride is AUdi A8L with DRB plate number :D

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 3
    • Archangel on Jan 12, 2014 at 5:14 pm

True. All these are gimmick only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
    • ARIFFIN on Jan 12, 2014 at 5:30 pm

You got it right. Brilliant.

• E-Honda on Jan 12, 2014 at 4:28 pm

This is the laziest car maker ever!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 27
    • pukimahai on Jan 12, 2014 at 4:41 pm

No just laziest. It is totally a shame of the country. See how many years they can survive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 28
    • yousak on Jan 12, 2014 at 4:50 pm

Then other manufacturers do such rebadging too. Feel free to bash them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 35
      • Jamil on Jan 12, 2014 at 6:53 pm

Other companies are not losers like proton. They are famous, global and successful and they rebadge for. Their own markets and what the rebadge is the latest model not phased out ones and not just change the badge . In case of proton it looks like all the left over CKD of is model will be rebadged so Honda makes money and drb can force government to use them. This is crony at its best and when you have no plan do do business.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 36
        • drb CAN force government???

waaa…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
          • Jamil on Jan 13, 2014 at 9:51 am

they can and there did on cancelling the original Accord purchase by Government and forcing them to buy the rebadge old accord. this is crony and politics power. behind the scenes does not look clean at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
          • hambrk on Jan 13, 2014 at 10:13 pm

So what, as it’s also local industry, gomen should help them, no? Maybe you suggest gomen shouldn’t help the growth of local industry and i can call you estupido.

• Jamil on Jan 13, 2014 at 7:58 am

Negative points by drb staff who control all posting for proton here. Even here they r doing politics. Proton could be a great company but with incompetent bosses and politics and crony ways it has failed and will never be the company Tun M had in vision. Why not drb sell the company to a proper company and let it grow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
          • DRBoddo on Jan 13, 2014 at 11:09 am

yeah lah.., that’s what DRB staffs are good at – playing politic at work, login to fb, browsing around.. give negative point to all proton/drb basher. huh.. still we the rakyat pay them the money from tax.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
          • Who are you to ask people to sell to whom you want? Are you the biggest share holder? If not shut the fk up, oh before yousay you oay the tax, it’s now under DRB.

• Works on Jan 12, 2014 at 8:34 pm

Why we should bash others?Proton should prove to others that their better…not benchmark other brand weakness…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 10
        • Already better, 5 Australian NCAP safety rating lor.

And why should we bash proton only, other makers also have weakneses. Prove to others that you are just all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • rifle on Jan 12, 2014 at 8:37 pm

true..rebadge is normal in automotive industry..if u wanna bash proton, then bash other manufacturers that active in rebadging too.. :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 37
        • Vader on Jan 12, 2014 at 9:57 pm

Rebadge is normal, but only minority along its car range. But potong almost 50% car is rebadge, including the flagship car? Don’t u see the different?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 24
        • Can you name me any car maker “rebadge” the “already obsoleted” model? And not only one time what happen to the “Citreon” Tiara?
          Name me one! Please!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
          • kenapotonglagi on Jan 13, 2014 at 6:53 am

I totally agree with you mate. Rebadge only based on current model. The Aussie Holden is doing it quite often. But those are based on current models.

I don’t understand, proton make noise to prove Preve and Suprima S their global challenger… why can’t their slightly tweak the exterior to become the new Perdana? Like Audi A4, A5, A6 & A8 look quite alike.
            This is the way many car manufacturers do to rollout their new model in short time frame.

Any facts about the fuel efficiency abt the Petronas that fit in the gov fleets? Hp?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
          • rifle on Jan 13, 2014 at 7:49 am

read that..several models that mazda rebadged from suzuki..n i don’t say that i support proton for rebadging other car manufacturers for its flagship model, but if u read enough articles, u know that nowadays, proton rebadge other cars to make money to develop a new one such as inspira n preve, 1st they rebadge lancer, after a few years, there comes the preve..get it?the time now is not the same as the “citroen tiara” time..but we have to agree that proton doesn’t have enough budget to develop 100% new car, thats y rebadging is a must b4 they can continue developing their own flagship model..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
          • C and D segment is not same. You want same things all the time you buy Vios

Kekekekekekekkek

• Fruit-tale on Jan 13, 2014 at 10:58 am

Its not rebadging that hurts, its the long wait for new Perdana replacement that the public expect to see turned out to be only an Accord rebadged.

• ARIFFIN on Jan 12, 2014 at 5:31 pm

Why bother. Not made for you la. The owner will be chauffeured driven.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 12
    • Low Budget on Jan 13, 2014 at 2:47 pm

Even any Ahmad, Ah Chong, Muthu also can manufacture this car. Just buy a 2nd hand Honda Accord (the last model), change the badge and the rims and Hey Presto! New D-Segment model.

• mamatwhyla on Jan 12, 2014 at 4:32 pm

Proton, faster rebatch civic as waja replacement. Then followed by Waja-R, fd2r rebatch. Then you gain back my respect. Forget to say, Waja-R at RM99K with Brembo, Recaro still intact. tq!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 20
  • Latuk Bandar on Jan 12, 2014 at 4:37 pm

I can’t wait for Proton to rebadge Rolls Royce.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 10
    • hohohohoho on Jan 12, 2014 at 7:28 pm

no worries, another 50 years they will rebadge your dream car then they will take 10 years to develope for local market. live as long as possible as you could got a chance to see they rebadge Ferrari F12 in 2100 year then will take 20 years to develope for local market. Oh yeah…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
      • They do not need to rebadge Ferrari when they owns Lotus.

• alldisc on Jan 13, 2014 at 2:07 pm

perhaps proton should rebadge lotus. hihihihi

• rteheatshit on Jan 13, 2014 at 4:05 pm

What! say the again! so what the hell they rebadge honda and mistubishi??????answer me, answer me. They own and spoil the Lotus and I am really doubt the Lotus wouldn’t be still exists after 10 years if still under the management of poton…

• PoOTong on Jan 12, 2014 at 4:37 pm

What a shame. Copy the entire last generation car still need 2 years to develope. Develope what? u copy the whole car already still want to develope? develope ur own cheap charlie materials to substitute the high quality spare from Honda. WTH…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 53
  • no name on Jan 12, 2014 at 4:39 pm

I wonder whether this unit has vsc n airbag. The current 8th gen accord dont hv vsc n with 2 airbag only. So under spec… They dont really value people life… N people who buy only care the brand value… It is like riding a coffin….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • 8 gen accord do has vsc as standard..while 2.0 gt 2 airbags while 2.4 gt 4 airbags…arabians love to use 8gen accord to drift. watch it here

• erwinkairm on Jan 12, 2014 at 4:50 pm

i wonder what tech did they got from honda. and what do honda allow proton to thinker?

other than the badge, grill, front bumper, side mirrors nothing much has change. i suspect the mechanics is unchanged from honda…

• sudonano on Jan 12, 2014 at 4:53 pm

After seeing countless Accords with the Honda logo, idk, seeing a Proton logo on this body design just looks ‘wrong’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • sudonano on Jan 12, 2014 at 5:16 pm

One more thing very interesting. If you notice on the bottom right of the windscreen, just next to the driver A pillar, there is a red and white sticker. That sticker is very VERY SIMILAR to the Honda PDI OK sticker. Is Proton taking the Accords made by Honda, then just changing the bumpers and steering wheel and alloys?

This video shows the old accord has that sticker too http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qr2MZkT0Gww

If it is true that it was just a bumper change, then it would be rather insane, to purchase fully assembled Hondas and just slapping stickers (which adds cost) just for the logo. I hope it is not true.

(Honda owners, check and see, your cars will surely have the PDI sticker on the windscreen.)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 16
    • Vader on Jan 12, 2014 at 10:18 pm

PDI may refer to pre-delivery inspection, it applied to majority of the cars..

• sudonano on Jan 13, 2014 at 10:10 am

That is correct, but why are they using a Honda PDI and not a Proton PDI sticker, after all it was made by Proton (right?).

Inpira has the Proton PDI sticker. So these units were bought directly via a Honda dealer, and modified to carry the Proton logo?
        I am not too sure, ut either way still find it very stupid to do this. Considering everything is the same except for the logo.

• Vader on Jan 13, 2014 at 11:10 am

I get ur point.
          Potong and Honda malaysia is belong to same “big boss”, maybe that why the supply chain may cross to each other..

• Peter on Jan 13, 2014 at 10:56 am

If you talk abt business, buying the (whole) old Honda production line without change (including full procedure) except the bumpers make more sense. Any extra chg will cost them. What else you want to change? Everyone already been told this’s a re-badge, no more no less.

• Archangel on Jan 12, 2014 at 5:27 pm

Proton already have the platform to build a car but take two years to developed a car for general market? Proton surely slow in doing work.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 11
    • Boy Racer on Jan 12, 2014 at 6:30 pm

Lol, had the same thought too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • DonkeyKong on Jan 12, 2014 at 10:56 pm

So, if they just outright rebadge it so that it can come straight to market immediately like the Inspira, they get bashed. They take two years to develop a new body on the Honda chassis, to develop a new interior, and test out new engines and gearboxes for it so that the final car doesn’t use Honda internals, they’re accused of being slow.

Maybe if you’re in charge, Proton will sell a million cars a year and nip at Toyota’s heels, right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • CDsegment on Jan 13, 2014 at 10:07 am

no, the all new interior and exterior based on the accord platform will be rolled on the road few years in the future. the R&D for this already taking place 2 years ago. this model is just a facelift of the accord for government use only.

• Hugo Sanchez on Jan 12, 2014 at 5:31 pm

The more I hear about our “new” Proton Perdana, the more embarrassed I am, as a Malaysian. Whatever poop they have at the helm of Proton, just step down quietly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 19
  • I think you got your facts slightly wrong Mr Tan. Khamil Jamil lives in my housing area and I always see his super cars roaming around here. He holds a certain affection towards the number 54. About three weeks ago, I saw his new “Perdana” parked at the masjid for Friday prayers. Unsurprisingly enough, his plate number was W 54 A. Just trying to convey my message. On another note, keep up the good work Paul. I really love your blog.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
    • Paul Tan on Jan 12, 2014 at 6:02 pm

I see. Maybe he has multiple cars. This Perdana was at the airport to pick him up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
      • Yes, he has multiple company cars including 4 Audis (A8L, A6 Hybrid, A5 & Q5); and 3 Protons (old Perdana RG54, Accordana W54A & Exora Proton54).

Yes, he has an obsession with no 54 (never die!) and the reg no DR13 originally belongs to the late TS Yahaya Ahmad, founder of DRB.

• Boy Racer on Jan 12, 2014 at 6:06 pm

Proton is already using the Accord as the base model but they’re taking two years to ‘further develop’ to intro it to the public? Kinda slow isn’t it..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
    • dtctrc on Jan 12, 2014 at 6:46 pm

So what, you want it to be ready in 1 sec?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
      • Boy Racer on Jan 12, 2014 at 7:43 pm

Hahaha, that would be great. Just saying that since they had decided on using the Accord as the base model for the new Perdana, shouldn’t they have like a clear idea of how to develop it into their own new Perdana and that process shouldn’t take Proton 2 years if they had a clear idea on how-to.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
        • DonkeyKong on Jan 12, 2014 at 10:59 pm

Their version will look different from this because it will have different interior and exterior, and a different powertrain.

It takes time to build a new production line, and develop new molds for new stamped steel components, and Proton will even use HPF parts for the passenger cell, which is totally different from Honda and they have to develop the new molds and steel parts from scratch, and validate these thoroughly.

Two years is REALLY FAST to accomplish all that, if you understand anything at all about car manufacturing. I’ll be either surprised or impressed if Proton really could pull it off on time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
        • The badged Perdana was a quickie.
          Proton does not have a good platform to develop the new Perdana. The old Perdana’s platform is outdated.
          So they use the Accord’s frame and worked from that to develop their own stuffs. Save the problem of design, test and patenting it
          Two years is not long since you still need to design it, develop it, factory test it, patent it, get is approved. road-test it.
          Just to illustrate, get yourself a piece of paper, and wrote your own timeline to develop a car. How long you need to design each parts. from headlights all the way back to the tail-lights and rear bumper. You have to ensure it does not violate patents that was filed by other manufacturers.
          How long do you need to build the parts prototype and test each prototype?
          and so on and so forth.

• Other car manufacturers typically took 5-6 years and billions of dollars to design a car from scratch until production. Launch new car, immediately develop it’s replacement.

Even with platform-sharing, 2 years is still damn FAST. You don’t understand the automotive industry very well ah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • p1bash on Jan 13, 2014 at 10:25 pm

no need to understand, we just want to bash proton only. all things done are wrong.

• Peter on Jan 13, 2014 at 11:00 am

The motives is to ‘keep current 8th gen accord owners in high spirit’. If they launch the car full scale now, the 2nd value/ resale value of existing 8th gen Accord will drop like water fall, of course backfire Honda (M). 2 Years time is just abt right time.

• ARIFFIN on Jan 13, 2014 at 4:42 pm

Do you think manufacturers care about second hand value? He he

• Jalan Kaki on Jan 12, 2014 at 6:18 pm

I was thinking of buying a used Honda Accord. But now I am not sure. People will think I drive a Proton. Malu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 25
    • Ori Accord dun have Lotus Ride and handling. Malu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 11
      • obviously this idiot above (lari) is a butthurt potong hardcore supporter. Nowadays only shameless idiot will say good things about proton. idiot…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 27
        • if they are good, we say it la. if they are not, we say it too la. good is good, bad is bad. only idiot will tell one part of it. LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • What is there for you to be proud of by buying a used car? People will still think you don’t have enough money to buy a new car anyway. Buy a new Accord if you value your face so much. Or else, just walk like your name suggests.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • DonkeyKong on Jan 12, 2014 at 11:01 pm

Orang senang malu = orang yang tiada keyakinan diri = orang yang mudah gagal dalam hidup. So it’s okay, maybe you can’t afford a real Accord anyway, let alone Proton’s version.

• ARIFFIN on Jan 13, 2014 at 12:07 am

Buy second hand car, tak malu ke? Cheapscate. Hypocrite

• Sam Loo on Jan 12, 2014 at 6:25 pm

K5 and Sonata owners lining up coming into my yard again these 2 days.

OMG, i even had to stop taking in Sonatas, dowan to keep too many cars before CNY

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 19
    • no worries, no one will sell you this junk above as this only used by those money suckers and they will scrap it straight away after used..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
    • Sam Looser on Jan 12, 2014 at 9:00 pm

Hahaha Sam Loo now your accord RV dive down the drains. Even worse than K5 I am sure. My neighbour brought his accord to used car and was shown the broomstick. No one dares to trade in accord now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
    • Hadi75 on Jan 12, 2014 at 9:10 pm

Oi!!what does kia and hyundai got to do with this story….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
    • SamToyotaSalesMan on Jan 12, 2014 at 10:07 pm

HAHA! Sam continue to talk bodoh for year 2014, bravo Sam Bodoh Kindergarden headmaster ! You sepcialise in talk bodh and sing song while driving your old camry 2.0e.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
    • Vader on Jan 12, 2014 at 10:11 pm

Shame Loo, tak makan ubat hari ni lagi?
      No need to worry, just tell us where is the yard, all the 1 year old sonata and k5 sell in rm60k sure will sold out in a second..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • Sam Loo on Jan 12, 2014 at 11:48 pm

K5 & Sonata owners queue up to get a quote on their rotten cabbages whenever there is a new B/C/D Segment sushi launch.

For the Accordana, is a unique case, as it still as a sushi DNA in it.

As such, kimchi owners are wetting their pants now as we speak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
      • stupidCarl on Jan 13, 2014 at 9:18 am

What do you want to tell here, please explain ?

• Low Budget on Jan 13, 2014 at 2:56 pm

Perhaps he is trying to tell us that he has Japanese wife or wives..

• SamisPaul on Jan 14, 2014 at 12:27 pm

May be Sam Liar want to tell us he hates K5 because his old camry was overtake by K5 at the highway

• but what is under the hood ? vtec or petronas engine???????

• Shitbox engine.Pronda Accordana can drive to scrap yard also people wont buy.Disgraceful car.Very very depressing indeed:( Seriously Pity malaysian car enthusiast who love Honda.If sell this junk honda on ebay, people who buy it shall melt it, use the metal and build drain covers in factories overseas.Petronas engines have no class at all.SAd piece of Trash!!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 13
      • avexnt on Jan 12, 2014 at 11:44 pm

Nope not Shitbox Petronas engines but Vtec engines sourced from Honda themselves!!!WTD??.Damnit,whats wrong with Proton?They should learn from Hyundai.LOL drain covers and sewer covers in NYC perhaps.Hahahaha!!
        Disgraceful automotive product but who gives a damn?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
        • Why butthurt with petronas engine? It’ll come out at later stage.

• lampa engine or puki engine 2…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 20
    • lucas on Jan 12, 2014 at 8:32 pm

as mentioned, everything same as accord. just a rebadge, modify rim,front bumper n grille.

• Yeah. I would also like to know what kind of engine they r using on the new accordana
      Hopefully is a I-vtec

• cartroopers on Jan 12, 2014 at 6:56 pm

it looks like a bigger saga.

• 9gager on Jan 12, 2014 at 7:28 pm

Were the shots taken at KKIA 1?

• i don’t get the idea of “developed further for a general market introduction in two years” and “will have a completely new exterior and interior”…..

to me it sounds like only cosmetic work to be done, in TWO FXXKING YEARS. handling? ride? engine enhancement? safety features? all are not to be improved??

• So the chairman of proton, sits in an Audi rather than a proton..

Ownself also not convinced your car is “global” standard, still want malaysians to buy proton..

All these umno and co ppl are really baskets

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
  • more uggly than original …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
  • just me on Jan 12, 2014 at 8:55 pm

this is a smack on the gov face. If it is not because of this stupid rebadge, they will be driving new model accord.

• SamhowedMeTheHilux on Jan 12, 2014 at 9:14 pm

Well, would you rather have the Inokom Sonatadana instead of Accordana?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • Blaze on Jan 12, 2014 at 9:13 pm

The last two paragraphs; “This is first phase of the ‘Perdana Replacement Model’ project, consisting of 3,000 units for government use. In the second phase, the car will be developed further for a general market introduction in two years.

The Perdana that you and me can buy will continue to be based on the Accord, but will have a completely new exterior and interior, according to Proton executive chairman Tan Sri Mohd Khamil Jamil.”

So after two years, the public can get the New Perdana which is base on this Accord, which by then will be 7 years old… Hmmmmm….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • sompua on Jan 12, 2014 at 9:55 pm

Actually all this arrangement (drb- honda- govt) is just to deceive the people, the govt wants honda, but not to be seen as luxurious and not loyal to the proton brand, they decided to quickly re-logo the accord. With this they can say, look we are driving proton, not like other “govt” which drive accord, camry or mercedes. 47% of the population has been deceived.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
    • xherd on Jan 13, 2014 at 6:33 am

Learn the economies of scale, furthermore D segment car is niche market. It’s not about deceiving only stupid people who are living in denial think about it.

• Kota Kinabalu International Airport !

• Cak Koro on Jan 12, 2014 at 10:29 pm

Proton Perdana always rebadge from stone age untill now. LOL…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • donnyck on Jan 12, 2014 at 11:05 pm

who cares just buy and tapao all civic and city

• Maggi on Jan 12, 2014 at 11:09 pm

Lousy car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
  • malu..malu…malu….!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
    • Go out from your cave, rebadging is business thingy.

• Car manufacturer rebadge to meet market demands in both geographical and market area where they intend to enter or do not have a specific product for it. You dont rebadbge a foreign car which is already selling in your country, by your own national car manufacturer too.

“rebadging is a business thingy” is a typical mentality comparing with others in a totally wrong environment and situation. Lack of understanding and simply using an example just to justify an action is where this country is moving backwards. Just like our politicians comparing countries that are worse off and using data which show our superiority as oppose to trying to improve.

I think you better crawl back into your cave.

• Already selling? Now is new gen, please crawl back to your cave.

What understanding? Please elaborate or you just blind basher.

• This gen of Accord has been replaced by newer one. Since when it’s still on selling?

What wrong environment? Care to explain? Or else go back to your cave, it’s very naive comment.

• protonaccord on Jan 13, 2014 at 12:12 am

Proton the copy miao!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Mahasiswa on Jan 13, 2014 at 12:52 am

Why I can’t rebadge my senior puny thesis to become my thesis in Uni? My prof said he will fail me if I do so….
    Why? Why? Our pride of nation can do that, and so many people say very good, why I can’t do the same…??
    Can someone tell me why?
    Proud of you Proton, how I wish your CEO is my prof…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
    • Potong already fail long long time ago. He got a “father” who is the big boss that keep sucking money from his “workers” and give the money to potong. Potong will still there as long as his “father” still here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • Low Budget on Jan 13, 2014 at 10:39 am

I guess your relationship with the prof. is not so good. How come the Ridhuan the ex-Chinese can pass even he cut and paste the whole thesis by someone else? Foe now it is purely cut and paste by Proton and later they will modify the content a bit and sold it to public.

• Thomas on Jan 13, 2014 at 1:19 am

what is the actual cost of each car? No info.

• Gee.. summore take old model and rebadge.. the cheaponess is getting more obvious…

If cant compete, just zhap the Proton and let foreign cars to come in with cheaper pricing..

• youbodok on Jan 13, 2014 at 6:24 am

Even long partner Mitsu didn’t let proton do any change in lancer engine, why Honda must give proton latest chassis?

• This Honda Accord cannot sell well here in Malaysia…then Proton rebadge it..aiyo…sell below 100k then people will buy

• Hero86 on Jan 13, 2014 at 3:14 pm

really??? doubtful la.. cos msian will ask for more cheaper price..

• superbird #43 on Jan 13, 2014 at 2:36 am

when will proton “management” will start to consider developing/rebadging v8/v10/v12 engines for the flagship model? they have ventured into the business for so long(is it?) yet the only engine they have most of the time is a fuel hungry, outdated 4-bangers.
    as an engineer myself, i feel sorry for my automotive counterparts in proton. there’s just no challenging projects for them to handle/tackle. huhuhu…..

• pelik_hairan on Jan 13, 2014 at 3:36 am

kenapa kereta ni sama dengan honda accord lama?

• proton basher on Jan 13, 2014 at 7:24 am

It will take two years for the cronies to set up new factory to make a cheaper version of the interior including the power window that will fail in 3 months.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • You guys can ‘menyalak’ here all days to make ppl notice how you disagree with this accordana but the fact is you just simply dont understand the politics game..it just the first layer here..they dont even care about the dignity and enthusiasm on car development..anything can turn into money..why not..so dont show how low you are to understand this game..

• Others also do rebadging. They dun care about dignity and enthusiasm too? Oh and this is not for public, why bother?

• What a shame …

• Pui! this is very embarrassing with this kind of car maker……pui!

• Why embarass?

• So free ah, just finish your facebook? go back to do the design thing. Ur front grill still not made from cheapest plastic. Go back to work..poton r n d idiot!

• mamat on Jan 13, 2014 at 8:16 am

the MAIN problem is THEY REBADGED the existing car that already BASI to us ~ go home la R&D people

• Hero86 on Jan 13, 2014 at 3:17 pm

alamak.. headache la u.. its not for public la.. so, let the YBs use it.. why need to bother??? PENING AR!!!

• pelik_hairan on Jan 13, 2014 at 6:09 pm

how u confirm not for public?

if it’s for public sooner later than pm me

• common sensor on Jan 13, 2014 at 8:24 am

DonleyKong. Correction. This model is entirely assembled by Honda Malaysia associates in Honda factory in Alor Gajah Melaka. There are no Proton workers involved during the assembly process. None.

• common sensor on Jan 13, 2014 at 8:26 am

Forgive me. Its DonkeyKong NOT DonleyKong.

• Those lazy people copy bulat-bulat. Don’t even bother to change the bumper.

• You are lazy not to read this is not for public. I think you are over caring.

lololololololololol

• newGENoldCAR on Jan 13, 2014 at 10:49 am

all this bashing and all i can think of proton is the 1985 SAGA.. yeah, it’s a rebadge model yet the car is a national pride.. i like the tank look and steel bumpers, ain’t nobody dare to crash onto you..
    hell, i even drive the 1985 SAGA now and the car is 29yo, 9 years older than me..

• superdriver on Jan 13, 2014 at 6:56 pm

Dude that time Malaysia knows how to make car as much as papua new guinea. No knowledge at all. Now after 30 years still dunno ar…papua new guinea people will laugh man

• Visitor on Jan 13, 2014 at 11:02 am

How come the car is at KK airport?

• Fruit-tale on Jan 13, 2014 at 11:06 am

Well…massive production in 2 years. In 2 years we will have another new Accord coming up from Honda by then. So the Perdana will be outdated by 2 Accord versions. Not to mention with amateur Petronas engine under that hood if the rumours are true. I don’t know what to say more. Lets hope for something positive for our D-Segment in the future.

• Awangku Pajaang on Jan 13, 2014 at 11:48 am

As consumer minister said (as in Ayam case)if you x like Proton buy something else, why waste -ve energy criticise? Not everybody like Porsches or Rolls royces!

• I might get flamed or disliked about this but I actually find this front bumper and styling looks better than the original Honda Accord bumper. This one looks more sporty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • pelik_hairan on Jan 13, 2014 at 6:11 pm

if u copy other’s work and yet do it worser than original, u should bury yourself

• Not really all rebadged Proton cars looks better than the original one. Let’s say Inspira VS Lancer or Wira VS old Lancer. My vote goes for Lancer. The old Lancer’s rear light looks better than Wira.

• commonsense on Jan 13, 2014 at 12:59 pm

After 30 years in existence still have to rebadge other people’s car as their flagship. Tak malu kah? What real achievement has proton done after 30 years? except to cause millions of malaysians to suffer. because of proton’s existence, malaysia has the 2nd highest car prices in the whole world.

• mayonis on Jan 13, 2014 at 1:01 pm

love to read post about proton and perodua. why? cos it is so ‘meriah’ and hilarious, can go for 300 comment just in one post. basher vs supporter.

:)

dear paul tan.

please post more about proton. maybe about standard RIM that been use by proton and perodua also can. can’t wait to read all the comment. :)

haven’t hear anymore about R3 division. does it still exist? will accordana will have some touch from R3?

for me the re-engineering case should not be an issue. cos it should back to main objective of business (profit). so i dont think that accordana will be mass produce as global car. it is more to local market ( soon)only . beside this car segment market for local is not so big.

everyone want bigger car/CC but only 10% can afford to own it in Malaysia because of the tax.

plus if proton want to produce its own for this segment car. they should focus on the developing the engine categories first. currently they only have 1.3 and 1.6 campro. it will more costly for them. for cost effectiveness, they just re-badge some car for bigger segment.

• ai like on Jan 13, 2014 at 2:23 pm

WOW! I LIKE PROTON MORE!
    THEIR DESIGN VERY GOOD.

• fuzikawa on Jan 13, 2014 at 2:54 pm

I don’t agree with Proton continuing this so-called ‘collaboration’. It doesn’t help much Proton now, not even in the future. I still remember those who criticized Inspira last time, being a non ‘national-car’, what about now with Honda?
    Perhaps a truly developed D-segment by Proton itslef would worth the effort.

• I start fall in love with Proton. Now I am driving S40 2.4i. Will switch to Proton when they rebadge Volvo or BMW or Merc. Malaysia Boleh !!!!!!!!

• shame on you proton, you are a disgrace to nation.

• Syabas, Malaysia memang boleh.

Pakai wang rakyat untuk sokong Proton pakai kereta lain re-brand sendiri nama. Tak malu keh?

Boleh saya cadang, lain kali pakai lah mercedes atau bmw.

• Proton is under DRB, TQ
      And please read more about rebadging.

• owner accord on Jan 14, 2014 at 8:36 am

xkira la proton under siapa pon.. xkan la proton dah xda modal nk buat design kereta sendiri. arkitek ada engineer pon ada, mkn gaji buta ka? proton tau keja ciplak jer.. memalukan..

• mehmet on Jan 15, 2014 at 4:32 pm

“please read more about rebadging?”

ni vvti ingat baca banyak? proton bawah seluah DRB maksudnya ni perdana bukan honda?

awak ni macam tahu, ceritalah.

• Another possible transformasi by using CRV 3rd Generation to replace all the current Nissan X-Trail used by government agencies.

• No No No on Jan 13, 2014 at 8:54 pm

Seem like something not right for the front bumper.. dont seem like its suit the car…

The logo at the center with the chrome strip, looks like a Saga (just happen a photo snap Saga beside it).

Really got nothing to shout out about the rebadge.

• nible on Jan 13, 2014 at 10:43 pm

It’s not meant for shouting about or sold to people. So why bother?

• noname88 on Jan 13, 2014 at 9:08 pm

Wonder what is the engine under the hood?

• haizzz on Jan 13, 2014 at 9:14 pm

It shows you how crappy Proton cars are when the chairman himself opt to use an Audi instead of a Proton.

No brand loyalty within the company. If the people in Proton doesn’t even want to use a Proton car, that tells you a lot about how passionate they are about their own cars. None.

Cincai copy & paste. Sell to the rakyat. Ask rakyat to buy ‘Buatan Malaysia’. If not, ‘pengkhianat negara’. While they use Audi, BMW, Merc.

• Since when it’s sold to rakyat? This is for gomen use lor

• CarsUnite1M on Feb 05, 2014 at 3:31 pm

1) Tan Sri Kamil AND Dato’ Lukman both use 2.4P Perdanas. They even requested for special plates for their Perdanas, to show their affection for their new corporate vehicles.

2) According to hearsay, Dato’ Lukman owns an Exora for personal use. So what’s this question of brand loyalty?

3) The 2.4P Perdana was sold to the Government at a price far below the original market price for the Accord model. No tax, no excise, etc. I expect to see the Phase 2 Perdana (the one for public consumption) to be priced slightly higher than the Inspira, but far lower than its cheapest competitors in the D-segment.

• 1) TS Khamil has 4 Audis (A8L, A6H, A5 & Q5) given by DRB/Euromobil. The Accordana (W54A) comes automatically given his Chairmanship of Proton. He is also given an Exora (Proton54) which he seldom utilises. He PREFERS to ride in his privately owned Toyota Alphard/Vellfire.

2) DLukman has an Audi A6 for personal use & that’s a fact, not hearsay! He can’t help it that his official cars provided by Proton are Accordana & Exora.

3) Yes, Accordana was cheap due to no tax, excise, etc levied.

FYI, all Accordanas are made by Honda M’sia at its plant in Melaka, and NOT by Proton. However, the stretched Accordana limos were cut and joined by DRB-HICOM’s subsidiary Auto Conversion Eng (ACE).

• Believe me this car is done by Malaysian, please don’t ask.

• Acordana on Jan 13, 2014 at 10:50 pm

Change this rim to Preve! Look Nice leh~ hmmm

• sudah lah on Jan 13, 2014 at 11:43 pm

proton..semua dah tahu. ada pilihan,boleh cari lain.. Tak perlu nak pening di kemudian hari.

• roxas on Jan 14, 2014 at 1:47 am

tat bumper, this now looks like a passat..

• hippo on Jan 14, 2014 at 10:56 am

Worth buying if below 100k, although my friend who bought this not that long ago was cursing Honda Malaysia like to tomorrow. Best if they bring in Proton Siti and Proton Sivik.

• Luxgen the Best on Jan 14, 2014 at 11:36 am

Get off proton. Look at Luxgen taiwan which only founded 5 years ago. Luxgen S5 turbo way better than preve.

• mehmet on Jan 15, 2014 at 4:38 pm

sabar lah sikit, tak lama proton keluar 320i dan proton E class E250/S500/S600

tahun depan semua MAS kapal tukar sama proton A380. cantik tak?

• urzu3 on Jan 15, 2014 at 5:21 pm

from Audi A8 3.0 TFSI LWB Quattro with price tag RM658,800 car to Proton Perdana 2.4P roughtly RM170,000…

all of menteri and gov YB should use proton car only. baru la org x rasa diorg ni mcm kerajaan langit.

• Hendrik on Jan 15, 2014 at 9:57 pm

Accordana is okay if the price is lower than real one

• Ptuii!!!

• nuajon on Jan 17, 2014 at 12:04 pm

aiyooo! fake copy paste…no ide!

• That’s why don’t say we don’t support proton..even proton themselves support Honda la.

• CRVowner on Jan 27, 2014 at 2:44 pm

Bought new CRV last year. Now really afraid that Proton will copy CRV to replace Nissan X-Trail for Government use. Resale value sure drop one. Should have bought Mazda CX-5. Shame on you Honda Malaysia.

• CarsUnite1M on Feb 05, 2014 at 3:26 pm

Haiya. Why you guys all fussing about the rebadge. Govt. wanted a new fleet of cars, and Proton managed to deliver in 8 months. You think it’s easy ah, to make the changes that they did to the existing Accord to turn it into the ‘Accordana’ you see now? As PROTON and PaulTan.org themselves have said, THIS IS A STOP-GAP MEASURE. DRB-Hicom did a damn good job in providing the vehicles that the Govt. needed, in the time that the Govt. gave. If Najib admin told them 2yrs ago to provide new Perdana, then no problem laa…

Also, using an existing platform like the Accord is a damn good idea. DRB-Hicom has already invested heavily into PROTON and Lotus, and so spending EVEN MORE money to create its own D-seg car would’ve been ludicrous, especially considering that the Perdana replacement should’ve been introduced when the original Perdana was phased out! Kalau pre-DRB PROTON was already working on a project, takpala jugak. You must also bear in mind that DRB and PROTON management have said that this is not going to be the car we’re getting; They’re only retaining the drivetrain & chassis. Everything else will be BESPOKE PROTON by the time it is released to the public in 2016.

You guys make my head spin laa…

• STOP GAP MEASURE? If that’s true, then why are the smarties at Proton currently working on re-badging 2 other Honda models??

No one is making your head spin but Proton management…

• Proton will make u lick your own spit.

• My proton on May 18, 2014 at 3:34 pm

It’s true what you hv said. Those cant afford to buy …just stay away.

Never heard of proton cars being called back for inspection, but Toyota and Lexus did.

• anti proton on Feb 10, 2014 at 3:09 pm

Another hole or traps for honda fans! 1st mitsubishi, now!? HONDA WEI!!! honda accord for that model will curse like hell. I believe everyone know what happened who has bought inspira, (proton lancer, prolancer) lolx

Another shameless news from proton, dun feel like buying honda, or put honda in my priority list anymore!

why we want to get japanese car?
    1. lesser problem, better quality parts..
    2. not everyone can afford easily (but alot) :D
    3. higher status ma!!! proton meh.. correct??
    4. good customer service at service center…(not all but the worst one better than the best one at proton) ;D

I won’t feel a single proud driving this hondana? perdacord? protoncord? whatever la… lolx…

• proton suckssss… big time…. not worth buying

• Is it legal to re-badge a car?

Also, is there integrity and pride in doing this?

• Flat Black on May 18, 2014 at 11:37 pm

Proton… kami takkan lupa pasal Perdana ni. Kaburkan mata rakyat konon kerajaan ganti Perdana dengan Proton. Pasang pun di kilang Honda. Tidak dijual pada umum. Menteri2 tak yakin dengan Pereve ke? Segment (C or D) tu alasan je kan. Kalau nak (guna Proton) seribu daya…

• hart932 on Jul 05, 2014 at 3:53 pm

If this Pronda price below RM100K, would be a good buy. Just replace proton parts with Original Accord ones!

• FCK PROTON on Jul 23, 2014 at 11:54 am

WTF … Saw one this morning . Accord with proton logo on it ?It’s just like you holding a counterfeiter Channel bag !Anti Japanese car now .FCK U who buying it , no money dun buy big car.

• FCK PROTON on Jul 23, 2014 at 12:01 pm

so R&D 1.7 BILLION ultimate result is just a copy cat in the end ? Well done

• English Guy on Aug 01, 2014 at 11:54 pm

Actually I think the new Proton Perdana looks good in those pictures, though living in the UK I cannot say what it will look like up close in real life. However, Hondas are decent cars and Proton should be able to assemble them to a decent standard, especially since BL managed the task in the UK back in the 1980s, which helped as BL was known for some awful cars around then (with some from the 1970s probably worse than anything Proton has put it’s name to in the last 30 years). It is a pity that life turned out the way it did for BL/MG Rover, because after all those Honda based MG and Rover models in the 1980s and 1990s, a rebadged 8th generation Honda Accord would be a much better buy than the current MG6 that MG Motor are trying to sell in the UK at this moment.

• Zachrophelia on Sep 20, 2014 at 11:50 am

I’ve been riding all the Proton strength and flaws for years it’s nothing to me. I’ll be getting this bad boy when it comes out. Avid Proton fan here. Haters gonna hate but I’m shaking all of you off like dirt.

• Amir Yazman on Jan 21, 2015 at 8:40 am

Yea…
      You’re not alone Brother.
      Another Proton Fan here still cruising a Waja 2004

• Amir Yazman on Jan 21, 2015 at 8:36 am

Hello…
    I don’t think there’s anything wrong to rebadge Accord as New Perdana.
    Toyota pun biasa buat.
    I remember Toyota Cavalier. It was Chevrolet Cavalier in US, being rebadged for Japan market.
    No biggie. It’s just business…

• zizan on May 13, 2016 at 2:57 pm

What they have in proton is engineer. They are not inventor. Technically, they are good for discussion. Yes, That’s why they can’t come up with something totally new design.

• Pernah nampak bbrapa hari lepas kat jalan Bukit Gambir, Penang…well, peduli ape org kutuk Proton ciplak, or kutuk Honda sbb bg design kt Proton, yg pntg, Proton Perdana baru tu lg lawa dr Accord yg ditiru…aku mmg lama da x puas hti dgn tail lamp Accord tu…Gud job Proton