Mugen’s hardcore widebody Honda Vezel concept

mugen-vezel-widebody-01

We’ve seen plenty of the Honda Vezel lately, but this is easily the most hardcore version of the new B-segment crossover so far. Mugen brought two modded Vezels to the Tokyo Auto Salon 2014 – one is the kit that will go to production while this is a wider and wilder ‘concept’ that may make production some day.

The most striking bits here are the massive wheel arch extensions, which allows this Jazz-based SUV to roll on mega 20-inch wheels. The square cut and contrasting colours means no one will miss those arches. Also in grey are the front apron, a rear apron with integrated exhaust pipes, a scary-looking honeycomb grille, plus a roof wing extension.

mugen-vezel-widebody-02

Compared to the OTT exterior, changes under the body are kept to just a lowered sports suspension, a complete exhaust system and more powerful brakes. Mad as it is, we won’t be surprised seeing this hardcore Vezel roaming our streets one day (it will be coming to Malaysia) due to the need to stand out from the crowd.

Too much? See the milder Mugen kit (also in the gallery below), Modulo kit and the standard Honda Vezel, as well as our live gallery from the 2013 Tokyo Motor Show.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Xplorer on Jan 13, 2014 at 1:29 pm

Wow!

• heybadigol on Jan 13, 2014 at 1:35 pm

Urghhh, my eyessss!!! Please Danny before posting, please put disclaimer: Not for people with taste. May cause severe eye ache. Proceed with caution.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 17
  • Accordana on Jan 13, 2014 at 1:36 pm

Arghhh… this one fugly like hell. Honda please leave it for Proton to rebadge it later OK.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 23
  • sudonano on Jan 13, 2014 at 1:56 pm

my eyes.

Where is the Not Safe For Eyes disclaimer? LOL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
  • The blue color is kindaa ugly over kill it ….red, green, silver and black are nice……

• Fungly.. mugen why cant u stop making good looking cars transform to ahbeng car?

• venven81 on Jan 13, 2014 at 2:21 pm

a big NO!

• SpongeWai on Jan 13, 2014 at 2:21 pm

fuh, absolutely stunning the Mugen Kit and the wheel design…

but i prefer MODULO kit

• WaJib on Jan 13, 2014 at 3:08 pm

Perfect…. for the Ah Beng modification.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Archangel on Jan 13, 2014 at 3:09 pm

Oh my, this is so can attract other people on the road.

• Faisal on Jan 13, 2014 at 3:17 pm

when good taste goes takes the back seat, you have this hideous car/suv/don’t-know-what-i-should-call-it

• nonama on Jan 13, 2014 at 3:21 pm

too much for me..

• phantom on Jan 13, 2014 at 3:47 pm

Hunger for attention? Can have this honda vezel concept…

• Carbon on Jan 13, 2014 at 4:04 pm

Vezel will easily be the best selling B segment suv if brought in here and with the right price. As usual with Honda cars, plenty of mods possibilities (cool or not-so-cool)

• slk3879 on Jan 13, 2014 at 4:17 pm

Not even for most Ah Beng

• Rice, rice baby..

• motorhead on Jan 13, 2014 at 4:34 pm

What unnecessary added weight. Totally useless.

• Muscular!!!

• nzain on Jan 13, 2014 at 4:44 pm

coz of the concept named ‘hardcore’ so it look over than usual n distracting

• holofanboi on Jan 13, 2014 at 4:44 pm

Danny, if, by any chance you were somehow asked to review this particular car in its bodykit, would you be willing to be seen in one?

Its okay dont shyshy

• Ah beng love honda on Jan 13, 2014 at 4:54 pm

Walao, ah beng love it!!! Well done honda this is the ultimate ah beng car of the year!, so beuatifool and sopowderfool!. Satria modified also almost like this supercar sure can fly…this design is not too much, it is just perfect. The interior is like playstation and it comes with justin blabber free cd.

• AhBeng on Jan 13, 2014 at 5:04 pm

No.. not this one.. Honda – mugen, pls don’t allow this to happen. Like Lexus IS, overdone design will ruin the sales too… so gross.

• Ah beng love honda on Jan 13, 2014 at 5:04 pm

The wheel arch, made in serdang by ah fatt workshop? Got speakers on the wheel arch Also?…must carry a sling bag when I drive this car and hair must be yellow?..

• Wow… Mugen actually hired a 5 years old as designer…

• Denaihati on Jan 13, 2014 at 5:32 pm

it is very nice for toy model collection but without big mud guard it is quite interesting and it is exclusively for young people.

• nice. Honda already boring with fluidic design. Nice try.

• whatisthis on Jan 13, 2014 at 5:57 pm

So ugly….Too much plastic. what a joke. Ran out of ideas?

• WOOOOOOW on Jan 13, 2014 at 6:41 pm

TRANSFORM AND ROLL OUT!!

• Sam Loser on Jan 13, 2014 at 6:59 pm

Eew!

• i like how it totally looks like sh!t

• Mari Hamada on Jan 13, 2014 at 7:18 pm

Waaakakakakaka waaakakakakaka waaaakakakakaka wakakakakaka….the Mugen R&D department watching too much Ultraman lately.

• abahko on Jan 13, 2014 at 7:33 pm

the basic mugen is more than enough. this hardcore thingy is too much. yucks fugly.

• pelik_hairan on Jan 13, 2014 at 7:35 pm

cantik jugak proton exora yang baru ni

• Saga BeLum Masak on Jan 13, 2014 at 9:20 pm

Ish…ish….ish… Boleh togoliat jari den nak basoh rim tu….

• roxas on Jan 13, 2014 at 10:00 pm

1 word. exaggerating.

• anti body kit on Jan 13, 2014 at 10:42 pm

Is this an excuse for Honda to market this car at a higher price with all the ugly plastic parts in the name of body kits?

• Proton Vezel on Jan 13, 2014 at 11:05 pm

Proton Vezel

• darkermarker on Jan 13, 2014 at 11:49 pm

Transformer Honda….

More than pain in the Eyes

• whattanow on Jan 14, 2014 at 12:27 am

Come on Mugen! I’ll bet some Wind Auto Bodyshop in Serdang can do better than this crap.

• masonteh on Jan 14, 2014 at 11:58 am

the wide bodykit is a crap..please leave it out…so extremely ugly….and not every car suitablr for a wide bodykit!!!

• calcutta on Jan 14, 2014 at 10:48 pm

eh,Honda copy our national pride beng wira,beng community has this design 10 years ago

or is the other way round?

• niterunner99 on Jan 15, 2014 at 8:32 pm

Looks like mid way in fixing the body kit…haven’t finish painting!
    That pic of other rim option is terrible!

• engine on Jun 06, 2016 at 9:40 am

Unquestionably believe that which you stated. Your favorite justification seemed to
    be on the internet the simplest thing to be aware of.
    I say to you, I definitely get annoyed while people consider worries that they plainly
    do not know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and defined out the whole thing
    without having side effect , people could take a signal.
    Will likely be back to get more. Thanks