Perodua contributes RM1.5m to MIROS’ calibration lab

perodua-miros 004

Perodua has signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS). Central to the MoU is Perodua’s contribution of RM1.5 million to renovate MIROS’ PC3 lab in Melaka in order to house the latter’s crash test dummy calibration equipment.

The contribution is part of Perodua’s Corporate Responsibility programme to help the automotive industry by providing the necessary infrastructure and equipment for the measurement of safety.

Having begun in October 2013, renovation on the facility is expected to complete by the end of next month. According to Perodua CEO Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh, the contribution is a prime example of a “smart partnership” between the private and public sector, which the Malaysian government is promoting.

perodua-miros 003

“MIROS is an important institution and it is our privilege to contribute towards its activities,” Aminar said. “This contribution will also benefit the entire automotive industry as well as road users as the calibration equipment will greatly assist in the speed of data collecting and subsequent analysis of MIROS’ work.”

MIROS will display the Perodua logo and name at the crash dummy calibration room as a show of its appreciation. After the installation, MIROS will maintain all the calibration equipment at its own cost.

“This crash test dummy calibration room is important because it will help in reducing the time to maintain this very sensitive equipment as such equipment has not been available in Malaysia before this,” said MIROS director general Prof Dr Wong Shaw Voon.

miros-pc3 001

A crash dummy’s sensors have to be calibrated once after every three tests, and MIROS has previously had to ship the dummies to Japan for calibration, which takes time and money.

MIROS is the government body behind the ASEAN New Car Assessment Programme (ASEAN NCAP). According to Prof Wong, ASEAN NCAP Phase 3 is ongoing, and we can expect the results in March. He also said the testing procedures mirror that of Phase 2. See the results for Phase 1 and Phase 2.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• All p2 cars will be 5stars afterwards without any hesitance to be awarded for. Yes?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 4
    • abuya123 on Jan 13, 2014 at 12:51 pm

Of course la…. depa bagi derma bukan saja2…. Malaysia Boleh….

• You think like Proton meh? Without any contribution also given a second chance to improve the rating on their 1 star saga.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 29
      • pirlo on Jan 13, 2014 at 11:07 pm

why proton must be in the picture eh, ioma/amoi?
        it is not related to 2nd change either old 1-star saga or new 3-star saga. the difference is largely on safety aspect; dual airbags, ABS, EBD offered. if let’s say alza offers 4 airbags and ESC, then it can also run the crash test again to justify it.

• This is why proton is losing its market share with ignorant people like you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
          • pirlo on Jan 14, 2014 at 11:13 pm

why should i be ignorant? can you justify your statement? my statement above stated that equal chances given to both car manufacturer proton and perodua when it comes to new safety features offered in their vehicle line-up. hence, also no problem if let’s say alza offered 4 airbags, probably can improve to 5-star rating asean ncap.
            do not be to bias la.

• ruffstuff on Jan 13, 2014 at 11:52 am

5 Star Asean NCAP for all Perodua models are now secured.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 4
  • Grandma police on Jan 13, 2014 at 12:05 pm

This means guarantee Perodua get good crash test results la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
  • Painter on Jan 13, 2014 at 12:20 pm

Kudos to Perodua. Everyone should contribute towards nation building.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
    • If they know their role ethically, they should not doing this. Don’t count this as nation building.

• james on Jan 13, 2014 at 12:23 pm

i don’t think it’s a good idea.
    MIROS should be totally independent from car manufacturer to ensure un-bias results.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 4
    • abuya123 on Jan 13, 2014 at 12:53 pm

Just like company and auditor. Can company give donation for auditor to built new building for auditor? No matter auditor still independent or not, their integrity will be questionable by public!

• MIROS has not been independent since their first batch of crash test with Saga FLX+.

• pirlo on Jan 14, 2014 at 11:15 pm

see? why are you being so ignorant?
        giving a statement without facts. can you share to us how you can came up with that?
        This is why Malaysia is being ruled by BN with ignorant people like you. now i know you are one of the minority of 47%.

• Bolehland on Jan 13, 2014 at 5:48 pm

This is Malaysia

• powershot on Jan 13, 2014 at 6:42 pm

i agree. MIROS should maintain its impartiality towards all car manufacturers

• victortan on Jan 13, 2014 at 12:36 pm

It is so obvious what Perodua is up to, we are not stupid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
  • policeman on Jan 13, 2014 at 12:39 pm

This is an obvious bribe.
    MyVi noiw sure 5 stars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
    • Ya ya…everything is corrupt..lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • Then who do u think should sponsor or give money for those calibration? Barang Naik gov? then nanti all p1 model all got 5 star..maa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
      • policeman on Jan 13, 2014 at 7:27 pm

No need to sponsor. Minta sedekah saja tau! Come up with some services and make money from it.

• roxas on Jan 13, 2014 at 1:09 pm

above contribute so that all perodua cars will get full score in safety test.

• Xplorer on Jan 13, 2014 at 1:31 pm

“Lu gosok belakang gua then I gosok belakang U” concept for both parties ?

• Chris on Jan 13, 2014 at 1:57 pm

P2 pay, P2 chooses dummy. Special crash test dummy that will ensure all test are in favour to P2.

• sudonano on Jan 13, 2014 at 1:58 pm

Why is everyone saying Perodua will now get 5 stars?

They will now get 7 stars, with Top Safety Pick ++++ before the car even touches the barrier.

Anyway, I just hope MIROS and ASEAN NCAP remains transparent, like EURO NCAP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Even if MyVi got 5 star ratings (before all this), would you guys still buy it? I thought so…

• I think better to spend that RM1.5million to equip the myvi and Alza with stability control. Thats directly benefits the rakyat.

• mizzuddin on Jan 13, 2014 at 2:33 pm

shortcut..?

• Archangel on Jan 13, 2014 at 3:12 pm

Something fishy about this topic. Anyway, hope Perodua can produce a safe and good quality car in coming future.

• EnergyAnalyst on Jan 13, 2014 at 7:17 pm

Fishy story? Perhaps it is a balancing story to the latest kangkung story?

• motorhead on Jan 13, 2014 at 4:36 pm

And Toyota contribute??? Puihh..

• then, who we want to ask to contribute for this kind of facilities?…if let say goverment contribute 100% ..some people may said wasting money. I’m not sure if kedai”ABANG” want to spent their money for this…:)

• pirlo on Jan 13, 2014 at 11:04 pm

miros is under MOT. they should receive the fund from that ministry not other car manufacturer which could contribute to bias attitude. people said wasting money IF the money was not well-spent by irresponsible party. be transparent how the money spent.

• Guan Yin Ma on Jan 13, 2014 at 6:09 pm

Typical ALI BABA style in malaysia business enviroment. YOU HELP ME, I HELP YOU .

• Announce this officially proves that professional ethics that I learned in university is pure BS in Malaysian business culture. Ever MIROS heard of kickbacks?

SPRM? forget it.

• ComeOnMiros on Jan 13, 2014 at 9:06 pm

Miros should higher the requirement for the car to get 5 star rating. Test the car not just hit it, but test about the stability of the car and all the safety equipment… Learn from what the Ancap do lah, just “A”NCAP, not euro… not hard rite? i Know its cossy abit, but for our life leh…