Volkswagen Group – record 9.7 mil units sold in 2013

volkswagen

Ever towards 2018 and the No 1 slot. The Volkswagen Group has announced that its total global sales for 2013 amounted to 9.7 million vehicles, topping the record 9.3 million mark set in 2012. Excluding the MAN and Scania heavy truck brands, the Group delivered 9.5 million units last year (9.1 million in 2012), with the numbers led by the Volkswagen Passenger Vehicles brand.

VW delivered 5.93 million vehicles worldwide last year, an increase of 3.4% over the 5.74 million units from 2012. The Asia-Pacific region was the largest contributor with 2.73 million vehicles, a 15% increase over 2012, of which 2.51 million were delivered in China (including Hong Kong). Europe contributed with 1.64 million units, a marginal growth, while North America and South America reported a decline in sales, posting 616,800 (623,300 in 2012) and 720,400 (836,600 in 2012) respectively.

Audi sales, meanwhile, grew globally, rising to 1.58 million units last year from 1.46 million in 2012. The brand seems to be developing well in the APAC region, with the 579,100 units moved in 2013 making for a 20.9% increase in volume from 2012 – the brand is also making headway in North America, delivering 190,300 units to make for an increase of 12.7% over the previous year.

As for the other Group brands, Porsche recorded full-year deliveries totaling 162,100 vehicles, while Skoda and SEAT delivered 920,800 and 355,000 vehicles respectively in 2013. The company said that it doesn’t expect any significant change in things for 2014, with market developments this year to be on a level similar to last year. In any case, the 10 million mark looks tantalisingly close.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• trololol on Jan 13, 2014 at 2:54 pm

9.7mil sold, 9.69mil send back to work shop due to dsg, aircon prob

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 39
    • TrollNaza on Jan 14, 2014 at 8:57 am

9.69 million sent back to workshop? Thats the Toyota Camry la!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
  • BMW Fanboi on Jan 13, 2014 at 3:22 pm

….. of which, 3.1M have DSG failure

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 90
    • samhailatloo on Jan 13, 2014 at 3:44 pm

Way more than that. Not including other problems

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 58
    • Asian BMW on Jan 13, 2014 at 4:33 pm

I heard that Proton targeting to export 500,000 cars oversea market in 5 years time…

dream, dream, dream…dream… (willie nelson song)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 7
    • VW sold 2.51 million units in China, although VW recalled 384,181 vehicles for DSG problems there in 2013?

So obviosly there are no more problems with the DSG after the recall? ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • Merc Fan Boi on Jan 13, 2014 at 7:33 pm

Thats BMW la that has failure for working with Peugeot. Now BMW cars quality has gone down because of sharing parts with Peugeot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 25
    • Ha ha ha on Jan 13, 2014 at 7:37 pm

Smells like jealousy …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
  • holofanboi on Jan 13, 2014 at 4:39 pm

Hmmm….Just how widespread is this DSG failure in % of total sales anyway?

While I’m not a VW Polo/Golf owner, half a dozen of my Putrajaya daily colleagues drives their Polo/Golf more than 80~120km daily. I’ve been asking them politely if there was any of the typical DSG symptoms that’s being circulated online throughout the past 2 years and surprisingly none of them (i’ve sat in it okay) exhibit any problems whatsoever.

Since i’ve been seeing their VW ->nearly<- every weekday, I'm starting to wonder just how bad it truly is..maybe someone who've seen the yards at VW service center could chime in?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 7
    • dino years on Jan 13, 2014 at 5:53 pm

i’m not sure too but go look at volkswagon sg/malaysia facebook. the comments read like a complaints book.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
      • You believe everything that is written on Facebook?

What about the “Ancient Aliens” then?

652330 people on Facebook believe ‘that extraterrestrials have visited Earth’? ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
        • SamToyotaSalesMan on Jan 14, 2014 at 12:37 pm

Dont believe the blog comment so much, make your own judgement. There is another joker Sam Loo the bodoh, you believe what he written on RV ?

• Truth Or Dare on Jan 13, 2014 at 11:56 pm

Not everything written in Facebook is the truth, as we all know.

• policeman on Jan 13, 2014 at 7:24 pm

It is as bad/common as Proton’s power window failure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
    • Jules on Jan 13, 2014 at 9:14 pm

Maybe putrajaya does not have those jams like the ones in kl & pj?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • If they could have solved that DSG failure problem, I bet the sales would have been even higher

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
  • The DSG problem I experience was judding, after mechatronic recall and change clutches, everthing was fine. Klang valley service center always full need to add more service center.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • bambootree on Jan 13, 2014 at 5:41 pm

This is my 2nd VW and touch wood it never fail on me. i heard the 1.8 and 1.4 DSG have issue but is been sorted out after updating the software.

• glaze on Jan 13, 2014 at 5:48 pm

As an owner of the 7spd dry clutch DSG Golf, I experienced a clutch pack change on end of second year of ownership. The reason that the DSG issue is so famous because of the amount of complains via social network, forums, etc.

Overall I would say it is a very good car to drive, no regret so far. Every cars will have issue be it minor or major, but what the customer expects is the SC to be able to fix it asap. VGM still got many room of improvement in the after sales service I would say.

Once news spread via internet, everybody will be spreading fast. Most of the comments are not actual owner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
  • Michael on Jan 13, 2014 at 7:25 pm

How attractive is vw cars to you, seriously?
    Build Quality, design, space & practicality, performance & handling & last but not least the asking price?
    I wonder what d fuss is all about vw cars when alternatives are abundance nowadays. BETTLE & GTI is a different story….
    POLO, GOLF & PASSAT ? c’mon….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
    • Unforgiven on Jan 13, 2014 at 11:24 pm

The DSG is so far one of the most fun car I’ve driven, love the performance of the gearbox, seriously. CVT is actually not fun at all, just be real.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • Michael seems to be still in the rabbit hole. Did you find Alice down there by the way?

• I had mk5 gti & owned a mk6 gti and my bro has jetta mk6 1.4tsi.Never even once had a prob with the dsg.i was told by the salesman 2010 models had few issue but not as bad as what all other so called “owner” claimed. I think only most of the guys who comment on the dsg fault was just plain “dengki” i think paul couldnt agree more with me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • EnergyAnalyst on Jan 13, 2014 at 10:34 pm

With GM dying further, VW is already the top 2 car and having done so in spite of all DSG woes, me think if you did something right in making your models frugal in fuel consumption coupled with technology advancement without any sacrifice on the power output and performance , you will increase your popularity and system woes will not be detrimental overall , look at skyactiv from Mazda, like wise for Ford with Ecoboost , however problematic ford sync is it just sells

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
  • EnergyAnalyst on Jan 13, 2014 at 11:46 pm

VW conquer World!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • Not BMW Fanboy on Jan 14, 2014 at 1:09 am

..either. ..can’t afford to own one.jealousy..y..or other car brand salesman.

• Keris Jawa on Jan 14, 2014 at 1:16 am

From graduation: Proton Iswara, Wira, Satria 1.6 (M) UK model, Honda Jazz, B Class, Golf GTI (current). All been sissy cars, I know. Bought to fit financial limit but the last one bought to rekindle old flame which has been beyond reach for the last 19 years when first saw it at Deansgate, Manchester (I can still point that spot). About to clock 4,000 km. He’s been good so far. Beyond expectation really. I call him Al ‘Adb, in Arabic it means ‘Pemotong’. Salaam Maulidurrasul!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • Doesn’t matter if sissy car or whatever. As long as you have repaid your government loan and didn’t break your bond like so many others.

• Keris Jawa on Jan 14, 2014 at 11:56 am

Cheers mate for the reminder! I have paid my debt to MARA. I love my country so much.

• Expatriate VN on Jan 14, 2014 at 11:22 am

9.7 Million and keep growing ……

• Leng Chong on Jan 14, 2014 at 11:12 pm

I own a VW and the car is good but After Sales Service is worse than Proton. You can’t secure a service appointment within 30 days because every time fully booked and your warranty will be voided. They just ignore you when you complain that they have caused your warranty to be voided and ask you to pay. So 5 years warranty … Ptui !

• Darren on Jan 18, 2014 at 2:03 am

http://geligalabs.com/Ramblings/2014/01/15/the-long-and-arduous-process-of-vw-malaysias-warranty-claim.html

this worth a read fellow volkswagen owners.