Customer safety is paramount, commits Proton boss

proton preve ancap

In light of a recent widely-circulated road accident involving a Proton Preve, company boss Tan Sri Mohd Khamil Jamil has vouched that customer safety is paramount to the national brand. In fact, the company’s value proposition is safety, performance, and ride and handling – in that order.

Photos of the wrecked Preve with its detached engine went viral over the past few days, with many questioning the vehicle’s safety (and in certain quarters, quality too). Commenting on the matter, Proton said that the engine detached itself from the vehicle by design, especially in such a heavy frontal collision.

The Preve’s crumple zones acted to absorb the impact and minimise the intrusion into the passenger cell. Don’t think for a second that the entire car is soft, though, as the parts that need to be strong are incredibly so. That the doors of the wrecked car could be opened is a testament of the safety cell’s strength and effectiveness.

Khamil also added on that Proton’s most recent models, namely the Preve, Suprima S, Saga SV and Persona SV all offer improved safety features without bloated prices. The C-segment sedan and hatchback models have both received five-star ANCAP safety ratings, and feature six airbags and ESC as standard.

The two models under Proton’s new Super Value line-up, meanwhile, are more affordable that before without compromising safety. The Saga SV is ASEAN NCAP three-star rated, and comes with two airbags and a host of other improvements. The same goes to the newer Persona SV, which features dual front airbags, all-wheel disc brakes, ABS and EBD.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Jan 14, 2014 at 3:29 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 279
    • free advice: u need to read more.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 189 Thumb down 7
      • Talk kok lah Proton boss. Airbags was compulsory all over the world since 90s. Proton refused to use it until few years ago. How many people died since 1985 in Proton cars?

And now they talk kok about safety. Berapa banyak orang Proton bunuh dan buat cacat?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
        • sharin on Jan 16, 2014 at 11:43 am

Unfair comment. Car companies tailor their spec based on the market.Even Toyota came up with cars without airbag for the Malaysian market previously.The Avanza for that matter initially had no airbag and was even more dangerous due to its high center of gravity. This is not to blame Toyota because there are even more outrageous examples that are not fair to be singled out.

• abuya123 on Jan 16, 2014 at 10:20 am

just close down Proton. 30 years protect Proton, we lost beratus billion dollars and hundreds of thousand jobs to Thailand. All to protect the lazy pariah workers of Proton dan kuncu kuncu supply chain companies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
        • sharin on Jan 16, 2014 at 12:01 pm

Even without Proton the car companies may not have chosen us as their hub in Asia. We have a relatively small population and labour pool. The country is always at near full employment. When we established proton we did not have competent people to make strategic decisions,today we are much wiser but it remains to be seen whether we can be competitive in the industry.

• Many manufacturer have that design…it’s part of the feature of effective crumple zone…read up before u comment…

Let me ask u, if a car involve in an accident, the car will still be on the road and endangering other road users. So to prevent it to endanger other people, we should build tanks for commercial use?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 9
      • imran on Jan 14, 2014 at 6:46 pm

proton could interview the woman with orange shirt standing beside her campro engine (preve’s driver) make some explainantion on TV about preve’s safety in action that save the woman driver. proton could gain a lot more praises for their cars safety features.

later give the woman another preve as a gratitude for showing people how safe proton cars are.

https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/-paSBziPHrmQ/UtAzbOQBTpI/AAAAAAAAZpE/NOVJ-Bg2Tw0/s640/blogger-image–1249685159.jpg

This is ANCAP not asia NCAP like p2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 3
        • Betulkar on Jan 15, 2014 at 12:14 pm

Betul kar ini safety features from Preve? Or fail mount? Driver selamat? How bout engine dropping at road … what happen if other road user hit on that engine ? Mampus lor ???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 20
          • if the car involve in accident, the probability for the mount to fail is exponentially higher or lower? LOL

• How about Proton produce a TV commercial like that?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VojePSOrnYw

• jibby on Jan 15, 2014 at 3:09 pm

what do u mean by “This is ANCAP not asia NCAP like p2”?? ANCAP & Asean NCAP is obviously the same thing. i suggest u eat more kangkung, LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 21
          • You eat more kangkung please. ANCAP is Australasian NCAP. ASEAN NCAP is for 3rd world countries. Now go buy Kangkung. Raised to RM3/kg.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
      • Mappuhh! on Jan 15, 2014 at 11:51 am

I think concern by AFP is valid. How come you try saving passenger inside but ignore hazard it may cause to people outside. That’s why we got pedestrian safety rule now. To correct Mr Jamil a bit, normally engine is design to slip underneath car during hard frontal accd, not to detach… ha ha. As a car brand boss, world are looking at you Mr Jamil.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
        • Mappuhh! do u ever know what is inertia??

• Hampeh on Jan 16, 2014 at 11:55 am

‘Moving fortress’ Merkeva also busted to pieces when hit by weapon it’s not designed to sustain. Now still need a physic class boy? Clue, after Senna’s incident, F1’s wheels got a catcher, but then, still few wheels seen flying. The point is, a VIP should get his words right, or else…

• Mr Mac on Jan 15, 2014 at 3:41 pm

bro…watch youtube video on Volvo North america VNL series trucks with long engine hood design crash test. Volvo explains in the video that the truck engine were designed to fall down when frontal collision so that the engine would not crash into the cockpit area smashing the driver’s kneecaps.

for the case of preve…it did exactly and the Campro was thrown away since the car spun several times . faham ke tak ni? kalau tak i recommend ride bicycle la to work. ok?

• Mapuh kerah on Dec 26, 2022 at 11:38 pm

Wow .. compare truck with preve.. fall down n thrown away is realy not the same

• Aunty-Phu-kangkung-1-kg on Jan 14, 2014 at 3:51 pm

Well, F1 have use that theory for safety. So, saying that it doesnt make sense is certainly an exaggeration. However, we dont know if it meant to be like that or Proton just use it as an excuse. But, Proton wasnt the first company to face this kind of thing. If im not mistaken, there in one case where Lambo Avertando(?) split into half just by hitting a tree.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 4
      • excuse? errr, i think the engine really ‘ejected out’ in one of the recent accident. surf the net. means that either unintentionally(excuse)or not the engine really detached right?

• krone on Jan 14, 2014 at 3:52 pm

There are bunch of people here talking about safety features and designs. You might missed it, like crumple zone, tougher chassis(ex. HPF), airbags, VSC/VSA/ESC etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • anony on Jan 14, 2014 at 3:59 pm

Before u ever comment, did u google it before question?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
    • Lalalala on Jan 14, 2014 at 4:58 pm

You really need to read more so that you won’t be the ‘katak di bawah tempurung’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 2
      • take my thumbs down!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 50
        • noob_pinion on Jan 15, 2014 at 6:10 pm

apparently you have more than Lalalala…
          here’s another one from me…nah, take my thumbs down and go read crumple zone

• Jonathan Lee on Jan 14, 2014 at 5:09 pm

You clearly haven’t seen enough wrecked Enzos.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • Danny C on Jan 14, 2014 at 5:32 pm

Proper explanation:
      Using the word “fly off” the vehicle during high impact collision is rather misleading.
      Bracket of engine mount is made of aluminium, it doesn’t crumple but snaps when there’s force exceeds the level it can withstand, engine mount snap and engine detaches to fall under, hence avoiding extrusion towards firewall and then passenger compartment. Engine is designed to be like that during serious collision, this isn’t new tech or what, cars since decade ago have this feature, along with collide-able steering rack, just that the sentence of “Suprima S’s engine will fly off the engine bay to protect the passengers should there be any serious collision ”

In this case, the engine detached and fall under, other parts that connected to it(i.e: exhaust manifold, cables and piping)torn off too due to high impact when the car spun or sway, the force caused the engine to swung apart the car.

Someone said that engine coming off the car body during collision isn’t safe and can cause danger to other road user, but they don’t see danger of other car parts like tyre, bonnet, door, windscreen and other debris that tear off the car during accident?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 1
      • sj413 lwb on Jan 15, 2014 at 9:18 am

engine fall off during collision? no worries as our road users will slow down eventually to watch the accident and taking pictures. and not forget, taking down the plate number for 4D.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
    • erwinkarim on Jan 14, 2014 at 5:56 pm

apparently engine ejection is a safety tech.

http://jalopnik.com/5907068/this-shelby-gt500-crashed-so-hard-its-engine-detached-and-hit-another-car

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iMVDWs5tUY4

http://www.telegram.com/article/20121113/NEWS/121119867/1246

engine ejection does make sense since less mass means less momentum force, which in turns means less force goes into a passenger…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • As far as you know no other manufacturer employ such designs? Use the internet to find informations too, not only porns.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
    • Fly High on Jan 14, 2014 at 10:05 pm

Duh..how dump are you? Even Ferrari road car detached it’s engine from heavy accident..nobody stand in the middle of the road,so the possibility to hit someone is 100% (if the person is YOU whose watching in front of the accident)

• alldisc on Jan 15, 2014 at 10:51 am

ask yourselves – why no car manufacturers dare to do crash tests at more than 100kph??

even lexus, merc and bmw will not agree to do so.

same reason for any NCAP not to conduct crash tests at high speed. the safest cars are all in PS3 – when u play at home. crashes at 300kph, not a even a scratch or injury on the driver.

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 163
    • mental on Jan 14, 2014 at 3:51 pm

Sorry to tell you. The driver didn’t die and still standing
      https://fbcdn-sphotos-c-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/q71/1545989_602901186432380_772696689_n.jpg

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 2
      • Oh my god! What accident was this?

And some people are still questioning the vehicle’s safety?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 0
      • luckily thoose doors can be open without using cutting tools from bomba..that accident is so horrible

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
        • alldisc on Jan 15, 2014 at 10:55 am

that is most important factor… the passenger cell.

cars of the 90s… doors will jammed and cannot open while engine will intrude into the driver…

• It’s not yet sold in USA, already in Austalia after such safety testing : Australian NCAP test.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
    • ruffstuff on Jan 14, 2014 at 4:26 pm

Ask the same question for others who achieve 5 star rating. So what? It is not a guarantee, it is to reduce risk of fatality and injuries.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
    • Adoi encik Bob. Proton dah selamat pon tak puas hati lagi? If there’s no safety features. You’ll bash tin Milo, x selamat piece of junk. Typical basher la

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 1
    • kadajawi on Jan 14, 2014 at 5:49 pm

There is never a guarantee, it just shows that the Preve is up to the international standard. You are more likely to die in most Japanese cars sold in Malaysia, especially Toyota and Honda, unless recon or non CKD hybrid.

Not selling in the US or Europe? You are aware that you need dealers, service centers etc. for that?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
    • To sell in the U.S., Proton needs to build a factory there. This will take time, but eventually, Proton will sell in the U.S.

A safe car is a car that protects its occupants, even if it means sacrificing itself. When I saw that photo a while back, I was surprised (and pleased) to hear that the driver survived uninjured, even though it is clear that the Prevé in that accident did NOT have curtain airbags (non-5 star ANCAP).

One day, we might get into an unfortunate accident, and on that day, we will be grateful that we bought a safe car like the Prevé / Suprima and not the 2 airbags dugong Vios.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 4
      • eventually aero will reach puberty on Jan 14, 2014 at 7:38 pm

why yes. eventualllly proton will sell well and be the top most super profitable car company in world and sell million billion trilion car, even to ET. eventually.

eventually aero will also reach puberty and finally be able to understand the fact that proton and the select few have been ripping the average malaysian from a safe car in the first place, for so many years already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 40
      • pirlo on Jan 14, 2014 at 11:23 pm

now US fell into 2nd place (or 3rd?) behind china. better penetrate into china since it is in the same asia region.

• alldisc on Jan 15, 2014 at 12:39 pm

europe, america, china, india – need to understand market need and not easy to penetrate.

europe wants compact hatchbacks with super low FC and exhaust emission – this means turbodiesel with manual gbox.

america big 3 sellers are 1. family sedan (like camry which was no. 1 for 10 years since year 2000) 2. pick up trucks and 3. small economical hatchbacks (like Toyota Echo)

3. no need to say about china here. the success rate of youngman is self explanatory.

4. india is also a difficult country to penetrate in – ask samy vellu.

• Your comment shows how a typical blind basher should be. Kudos!

• Jonathan Lee on Jan 14, 2014 at 11:41 pm

North America has broadly the same level of safety regulations as the European standards the rest of the world uses (including Proton). By and large, if a car is safe enough to achieve European approval, it should be safe enough for the US and Canada, too.

Where the laws differ is through little, finicky technicalities like lighting. As small as they may seem, it all adds up in costs associated with the development of a car, as you now have to design a car with two regulations in mind and build two slightly different cars for different parts of the world. It’s difficult for even large companies to justify the costs when they’re not even sure if their products will sell well there, which is why even well-established brands like Renault, Peugeot, Citroën and Alfa Romeo have pulled out of the North American market, with only Alfa set to return in the near future. And you wouldn’t call the cars they make “unsafe”, would you?

• JeremyNg on Jan 15, 2014 at 9:58 am

Are you drunk ?! there is not such things as 100% wont die …… even FIA also cant guarantee that F1 car can prevent driver dead although it’s one of the safest fast car around

• dey, duduk dlm rumah pon boley mati laa.

• superbird #43 on Jan 14, 2014 at 3:42 pm

guess i should stick to my ageing 3500lb automobile. no SRS, no traction control, no crumple zones, no VSC and also no EBD. yet i drive back home safe and sound.
    the steel body of 8mm thickness and 8mph bumper are the only protection that i have. also, its the best anti-SUV and anti-pickup truck insurance.

Cheers…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 37
    • kadajawi on Jan 14, 2014 at 5:51 pm

Means you were lucky enough to not have been in a serious accident yet. When you do, RIP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
    • JeremyNg on Jan 15, 2014 at 10:02 am

Think this way , you can have the strongest car in the market but when u accident the steel is so strong that it will not absorb all the impact; in the end the driver need to take impact force. whats the point the car survive but not the driver ?

There is a reason why a car has soft point to absorb the impact

• forroadsafety on Jan 14, 2014 at 3:45 pm

It may not be widely publicised, but it’s normal practice in modern car designs: the engine is mounted in such a way that it detached itself in major accidents, usually triggered if the impact exceeds a certain limit (e.g. 10g or above). It reduces the impact force, and takes away the risk of the heavy, dense and hard engine block from intruding the passenger cell.

Lamborghinis are designed to split in half in major accidents, also to protect the occopants. No one ridiculed them about it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
  • dino years on Jan 14, 2014 at 3:47 pm

The “engine detached itself” part is questionable, especially since it sounds so stupid, and if the design was really so good, why on this good earth didn’t proton use it as a selling feature?!

But the photo of the door opening and the owner standing next to her metal ball convinces me that 5-star ANCAP is no joke.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 37
    • mental on Jan 14, 2014 at 3:53 pm

Cause proton marketing aren’t that good. They didn’t really market their good features. Such as the EVP and VT3+ gearbox in the new preve and suprima S. No one knows about it. They just said it’s the same as preve with the suprima s shell without any improvements. but actually, many improvements have been done on the new suprima s.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 4
      • pirlo on Jan 14, 2014 at 11:26 pm

in my opinion, that’s the biggest difference between proton and perodua: marketing. proton’s marketing is worst comparing to perodua. kudos to perodua for highlighting all simple features or accessories in their facelift models like shopping bag hook, coin slot, bottles holder etc, in which for us, naahhh too basic to include although engine and transmission same, suspension same, safety same.

• Rokuth on Jan 14, 2014 at 4:04 pm

I used to sell Nissans in the USA from 2002 to 2009. Part of the Sales Training included Nissan reps pointing out the designed Safety Features incorporated into the new designs. One of them was… yup, how in an accident the engine was designed to break away and go underneath the car…
      Reading the comments here though, I guess that would not be a good selling point in Malaysia…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 0
      • alldisc on Jan 15, 2014 at 1:03 pm

malaysians would walk away if a salesman starts to say about accident when they want to see a car and hear all good stories of the features

• tiadaid on Jan 14, 2014 at 4:34 pm

Because Malaysians don’t give a damn about safety features. I spoke to a Proton staff and according to him, a JD Power survey on what Malaysians want from a car puts safety aspects in 5th place.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
    • ruffstuff on Jan 14, 2014 at 6:46 pm

Because it is not a feature specific to Proton, and something not common to advertise the engine will demount upon heavy impact.

• ERIC OOi on Jan 14, 2014 at 3:59 pm

The engine detached itself is an old design already my friend, last few years at penang bridge grand livina was having the same thing which the engine detached when a heavy collision occur, it’s a smart design, if without it the engine might be in the cabin already…. Good job proton, by the way I didn’t own a proton before as most of my family own almost every proton models, the only worst part of proton which might really need improvement was the electrical and the minor thing which is like signal, air conditioning become hot air, fuel gauge, door handle (mostly on my family wira and gen2), and the small small thing, which is small problem but big headache which the worst thing is breakdown and can’t start up at the middle of the journey, many first batch of preve owner have already become the early bird scapegoat, but what I admire about proton was the reliable of the engine, even until nowdays I still saw many of the first generation saga and iswara which is around 1980-90s were still running good, but other brands such as t&h and even the luxury brand such as oooo,vlvo, merc, bm that year was significantly disappearing. It’s just my point of view anyway, don’t flame me o… Cheers!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 2
    • engine by mitsubishi wad…

• tokmoh on Jan 14, 2014 at 7:10 pm

There’s still plenty Volvo 240s around, you just gotta pay more attention. They were really sturdy back then, even today, relatively is compared to most other contis. Some fair amount of merc too. BMW is just too few, as expected from Banyak Masuk Workshop memang Banyak Makan Wang.

who is “oooo”? Audi?

• Mat Global on Jan 14, 2014 at 4:00 pm

Yes exactly. That is why i’ m comfortable continuing driving my Preve Cfe for more than a year.

The car amazed me in that order, – safety, performance; ride and handling.

Driving frequently along Karak to Kuantan over wet and dry conditions, I am thankful that the car is very accomodating to drive. At times at 190kph.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 6
    • ruffstuff on Jan 14, 2014 at 6:47 pm

Well brother, im glad you made a choice due to safety. But just an advice here. Speed kills.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
      • Actually stupid driver speeding kills..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
        • speeddoesnotkill? on Jan 15, 2014 at 12:45 am

speed kills. crash at 100km/h into a concrete wall and you will DIE. crash at 10km/h into a concrete wall and you will SURVIVE. Speed does not kill? You need to spend more time thinking.

• “Speed has never killed anyone. Suddenly becoming stationary, that’s what gets you.” – Jeremy Clarkson

• skatax on Jan 14, 2014 at 8:37 pm

We all know you’re trying to prove something, but a word of advice: never mention how fast you’re driving. We’ll never know when PDRM & JPJ will start using your online statement to issue summons in future. This already happened in US.

• Guan Yin Ma on Jan 14, 2014 at 4:02 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 137
    • mental on Jan 14, 2014 at 4:10 pm

have you read the news about the accident recently? If no please don’t talk shit here.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 3
    • mental on Jan 14, 2014 at 4:12 pm

Or maybe you cares more about your tyre rather than safety of you or the passengers. then i understand that haha

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 2
    • then just go live in your no tax wonder land, LOL…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
    • DonkeyKong on Jan 14, 2014 at 4:57 pm

Cheap metal plate body? I guess you don’t know anything about HPF steel? It’s stronger than Volvo’s boron steel, and Proton is one of five manufacturers that have that technology with temperature-controlled quenching. That’s some seriously impressive stuff, depending on how you quench the steel section it can be 1.5-3 times stronger than regular high-tensile steel.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 3
    • Tomorrow i go buy aeroplane tyre and put into my kapchai…maybe it is safer…
      Cuz aeroplane tyre can tahan dunno how many thousand tonnes, maybe during an accident it won’t explode and save my life…

• low tax country Brunei golf 1.4tsi ain’t cheap oso

• Keep Calm and Eat Kangkung on Jan 14, 2014 at 4:15 pm

Even though you have 6 star with 10 airbag and whatever electronic safety device system but still the same ugly and outdated design with poor quality, no people going to give a damn for you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 62
    • mental on Jan 14, 2014 at 4:48 pm

that’s your problem. I rather have ugly and outdated design with poor quality rather than die in an accident.
      Seems like people want to sit in luxury car with only 2 air bags. that’s why many other manufactures still giving 2 air bags even in 2014.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
      • be calm on Jan 16, 2014 at 12:32 pm

i prefer to have 6 star ancap, 10 airbag and etc. safety system. outdated design can’t be done to it but the quality (interior and exterior) can be improved…
        but good looking car without safety is a big no-no for me. you may say it’s cool to die in that kind of car, but it won’t work for me… well, sure people will gave you a glance because you die on the road in a good looking car. maybe i’m one of them…

• DonkeyKong on Jan 14, 2014 at 4:59 pm

Poor quality? Have you owned one? Or just relieving your constipation the other way round through your mouth?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • ruffstuff on Jan 14, 2014 at 6:49 pm

You mean die in style because your car looks good?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
    • Just saying on Jan 14, 2014 at 9:44 pm

So, how about ‘well-loved’ cars like the dugong (and now catfish) that are ugly, outdated and lacking safety? At least proton is considering its buyers’ safety. UMW? Dream on.

• Some peeps rather die in low safety equip toyota or honda branded car than survive in more equip safety of p1 car…

• speeddoesnotkill? on Jan 15, 2014 at 12:46 am

Haha, no wonder people they say Malaysia lives are cheap. That’s because Malaysians make their lives cheap.

• Keep Calm and Eat Kangkung on Jan 15, 2014 at 9:41 am

I just say the truth, but so many Proton fanboys get butthurt up there?

LOL i didn’t even mention other brand as comparison to Proton but somehow the brand of T & H came out from no where.

Well i think the people in Proton is ignorant as you guys, never thought of getting improve but with high ego. In the end you all are destiny to fail, keep my word.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
    • JeremyNg on Jan 15, 2014 at 9:51 am

You may say that you’re a safe driver so you no need a safe car but what if 1 day u stop at traffic light surrounded by car and a lorry lose control and hit you. Think about it , that time nothing much u can do expect to pray that the car save your ass …… except you don’t mind your life.

and you use a god name and post something silly LOL

• Keep Calm and Eat Kangkung on Jan 15, 2014 at 10:43 am

A 6 airbag car with ESC with whatever safety electronic device and get bang by a lorry would mostly survive huh?

I don’t know either i should laugh or pity you.

But it’s funny L0L

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
        • JeremyNg on Jan 15, 2014 at 2:06 pm

At least u have higher chance compare to car like Kancil ……

• dino years on Jan 15, 2014 at 4:04 pm

I don’t get you? Do you mean whether a car is 1 star or 5 star, if it gets hit by a lorry the chances of surviving = 1%?

You must have sustained brain damage after your 0 star car was involved in an accident

• Already expected…. Proton clarify up the accident, they don’t believe, didnt clarify also kena bash… those bashers know nothing about safety. If they know, then here wont be so many dugong on the roads… obviously is a joke… this show us Malaysian knowledge in car safety is so low! They only know how to make money and spent on junk. Other than Proton there are many nice cars packed with nice safety features.. just dont get it why still got dugong on the roads.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 4
  • 4G63T DSM on Jan 14, 2014 at 4:25 pm

“company boss Tan Sri Mohd Khamil Jamil has vouched that customer safety is paramount to the national brand. In fact, the company’s value proposition is safety, performance, and ride and handling – in that order.”

Em…

Great to know that Proton is putting in more emphasis on safety. To my mind, safety is paramount.

But they have seemed to have forgotten about efficiency and fuel economy. How about build quality?

6 airbags, ESC and a NCAP crash structure is basically the MINIMUM requirements now. I hope Proton isn’t putting in the MINIMUM safety requirements in expense of every other attribute.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 29
    • DonkeyKong on Jan 14, 2014 at 5:00 pm

I don’t recall any Perodua or Toyota coming with 6 airbags, VSC, etc. by default?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 3
      • kadajawi on Jan 14, 2014 at 5:51 pm

Prius C, Prius or any Toyota sold in Europe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
        • Toyota Aygo neither has VSC nor side airbags by default in Europe. It only got three stars in the recent EURO NCAP…

• ruffstuff on Jan 14, 2014 at 6:50 pm

Honda, toyota and many others still does not meet the MINIMUM requirements here in MY.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • tokmoh on Jan 14, 2014 at 7:19 pm

This.

I gotta admit, I was really pleased when I heard Preve’s specs updated with std ESP+6 airbags.

But really, the name of the game now is efficiency. Nothing suggest proton is putting effort on this.

Cannot have direct injection cuz wanna sell to 3rd world country, then what for bangga la being global car? Just 3rd world ada la!

Why still using heavy cast iron block? Save weight and go aluminium edi la, what excuse proton will say then?!?!

No start-stop to save fuel on idling?

No frugal sub-100g CO2 modern diesel?

and so on so forth. Disappointing, proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
      • pirlo on Jan 15, 2014 at 12:33 am

chill bro. proton have owned petronas engine rights and patterns. E01 is one of them, used AL engine block.
        anyway, both have pros and cons between iron cast and aluminum block. the only advantage for aluminum over iron is weight. iron is stronger to take larger torque and heat, cheap.
        ecoboost is using iron block as well.

• tokmoh on Jan 16, 2014 at 2:53 am

You’re right. But we gotta agree proton needs to show results.

If they say they’re gonna be global car, prove it. I’m pleased safety is improved, but is that the only criteria? Of course not.

The other criteria is fc. Other global carmakers have their own methods and give fancy names, blumotion, blutec, efficient dynamic, drive-e, skyactiv, ecoboost, etc. Fancy, but they produce results.

Their products in same class as preve, suprima, gsc are returning over 60mpg uk, above 20km/l.how can proton compete if they can make more frugal and safer cars?

I don’t wanna hear excuses. “It’s too expensive”, “we can’t sell to (insert 3rd world country with sh*tty emission) if we have this”, “no expertise”, “our emission not good for diesel”, blablablabla. I wanna hear proton giving on par results, Hyundai/kia with sh*ttier junks than proton a decade ago can turn themselves around, while we self pity and just syukur kangkung is cheaper, is that acceptable?!?!!! Youidiot is. Proton macais are.

If that is fine by you too, don’t jealous other parts of the world are stepping up their game. Don’t complain Toyota, Honda, nissan are insulting us like dirt with overpriced, empty junks.

Some c-segment cars don’t have it? They can, and they do eelsewhere. But they won’t nor need to, not until proton steps up its game. If it ever will.

Prove me I’m an idiot.

• be calm on Jan 16, 2014 at 12:44 pm

you are not and idiot, at least from me…
            well, proton made one step on safety, let see what they bring with next car…
            i’m pretty sure they are going to introduce hybrid sometime this year or early next year, until then let’s see,
            i’m pretty sure now i’m back on the middle stance after seeing the improvement by proton, if they didn’t bring new features in the new car, maybe i’ll tilted more on the bashing community…

• Rokuth on Jan 18, 2014 at 7:40 pm

Actually the comparsion between an iron block engine and an aluminum block is not accurate. Aluminum also has a better rate of heat transfer allowing it to dissapate engine heat more efficiently. Modern Aluminum alloys are much stronger than cast iron. Additionally while Aluminum is softer, requiring piston liners, it is not as brittle and handles shock much better.
          The main reason why iron blocks are still around is that they are cheaper to produce, and easier & cheaper to work on.

• youidiot on Jan 15, 2014 at 12:41 am

Some other C segment cars also dun have some features you mentioned. You cannot get all in one car. You made a rubbish comment here.

• iron block warms up faster, therefore speeding up engine warmup time, reducing losses from cold starts.

aluminium also reduces reliability, any overheating may warp the block very easily.

start-stop coming on new NFE engines in new Proton small car

• PassingBy on Jan 14, 2014 at 7:52 pm

i dont see those MINIMUM requirements on the current toyota.. so dont complain bout fuel economic like as if toyota is way way way cheaper :D

• speeddoesnotkill? on Jan 15, 2014 at 12:47 am

Well bro, I rather drive a safe car first than one which is unsafe but fuel efficient. If you want safe and fuel efficient, that car won’t be cheap.

• I don’t know if Proton’s management will read this, but I think they’ve gotten their priorities wrong.

Proton should make cars that people want. And what the majority of Malaysians want is a reliable, safe, good-looking, reasonably priced and well-equipped car to drive from A to B.

Proton has the pricing, safety and tech part in check, but they are still struggling with reliability and QC issues. No doubt that current Protons (Prevé, Exora, Suprima, Saga FLX etc.) have improved greatly over the older ones like the Waja, Savvy and Gen-2, but it is just not enough.

Don’t get me wrong, if you’ve read my previous comments on paultan.org, you would have guessed that I’m a staunch supporter of Proton, in which case you’re mostly right. However, I’m no blind supporter, and in this case, I’m a bit disappointed with the motives of DRB-HICOM. I hope they recognize the importance of streamlining their vendors, improving their after sales and rectifying whatever QC issues that persist.

Proton has come a long way, but so have other brands and Proton needs to do more to remain relevant. Thanks for reading.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 0
    • agreed. proton would be so much more successful if they just got the quality of their cars together. its those annoying trips to the workshop to fix some rattling dashboard, broken seat levers, and such that really drive people to other cars.

Also, they could really improve on soundproofing. sound might not affect the cars drivability but a quiet car really seems more “premium” no matter what. my good friend who has an exora asks proton to give free vouchers for autofoaming/ other soundproofing.

• kadajawi on Jan 14, 2014 at 6:13 pm

I agree too, but quality costs money. I doubt Proton is making much profit per car, if they were to improve quality they would have to raise the price. At which point no one would by a Proton anymore.

The Chinese can produce great high quality products… but they will be priced accordingly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
        • my opinion is the Proton market is not big enough. so they can’t produce enough car to get the minimum price. today, people hard to believe in proton’s quality because of its history but i believe they struggle to improve the car’s quality. but if they can get the bigger market, maybe the price will be cheaper.

• Im agree oso…

• “Customer safety is paramount, thats why we put stability control (ESC) on our family-aimed Exora”.

-PROTON-

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • ruffstuff on Jan 14, 2014 at 6:51 pm

Good catch there. I really do hope the exora have ESC. Hopefully the SV come with that.

• SamhowedMeTheHilux on Jan 14, 2014 at 4:56 pm

If customer safety is paramount, all kimchis should be barred from Malaysian roads

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 19
    • DonkeyKong on Jan 14, 2014 at 5:02 pm

Toyota Vios should also be thrown into the dustbin. Avanza is an even bigger joke, I’ve seen an Avanza getting bumped into by a Myvi recently and it was in worse shape than a Myvi although the Myvis is such a crappy car.. the only ANCAP-tested 3-star car that has a compromised passenger cell.. 3-star my foot!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
      • GOA body perhaps..as long as the passengers are safe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
        • kadajawi on Jan 14, 2014 at 6:19 pm

Passenger cell comprimised means they are not safe anymore. Any slighly faster impact and that’s it.

GOA body is a marketing term to make you think their cars are safe. An Avanza is not up to European safety standards for example. It did poor in the lousy China NCAP which tests at lower speeds. Do an Euro NCAP test with it and expect 1 or 2 stars…

• Just saying on Jan 14, 2014 at 9:17 pm

Some Toyotas are not safe too. I have seen more than once Avanza, Hilux and Vios skidded, went off the road and ram into something or worse overturned, eventhough its not raining and on straight roads some more. Yes, driver’s errors cant be ruled out but i reckon if those cars have ESP then accidents like those can be avoided.

• I think most jap car should be barred..most kimchis r much2 more equip than jap in term of safety oni small number r lowly equip eg i10, pregio n starex…most kimchis car offer ESP on their car

• mental on Jan 14, 2014 at 4:57 pm

Proton has done so many things for their customer. Although there are still a lot of things need to be improved. But Proton is improving more and more compared to the old models. Still, most Malaysians still not satisfied.
    Proton improve also wrong, no improve also wrong. Want BMW specs and quality with Saga price. You can know that by reading through the facebook comments. All blindly basher typical Malaysian. That’s why Toyota Malaysia never improve, still giving same old 2 air bags and guess what? typical Malaysian thinks that they are driving 10 stars ANCAP.
    And yet they are comparing with KIA and Hyundai about quality and specs. Proton want to improve also susah, cause good things also kena bashed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 5
    • Yes, they are improving but yet up to standard in term of exterior design, cabin quality and fuel efficiency. We look it and drive it every day, but crash test 5-star result doesn’t 100% secure your life. Drive safely is the key unless you really need to give it a 5-star proven.
      If there is a fair-price-fight between the other car-makers, I believe the market dominant would greatly different. People wait desperately for the CKD model, rather go for P-brands.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
      • kadajawi on Jan 14, 2014 at 6:38 pm

Exterior design is subjective. I personally like most of it, it has a VW group sort of design which is rather pleasing. Interior quality… Costs money. I’d rather have safety than quality, and with a Proton the price is crucial. Fuel efficiency… Safety increases the weight of the car, which drives up the fuel consumption.

• BLT CLUB on Jan 15, 2014 at 6:33 pm

If you disregard quality, how do you know the safety features would work? Food for thought….

• Ok…how about…put stability control (ESC) on Saga. Easy, right? (with a slightly price increase, of course)

• ruffstuff on Jan 14, 2014 at 6:55 pm

The problem with ESC on BLM, is due to price. Malaysia still not familiar or not care enough if Proton have all those safety features. What they want is Proton have to be cheap no matter what. Surprisingly for Preve the non Premium version sold more than the Premium version during launch. So malaysian do not care much about ESC, they are more price sensitive rather than feature, especially for Proton cars. Another example is Korean cars, which still struggling to compete with Japanese.

• ZephyrLock on Jan 14, 2014 at 5:38 pm

Fuel consumption and build quality must not be forgotten too, Proton.
    But this is a step in the right direction nonetheless ;)

• TANKsaga on Jan 14, 2014 at 5:42 pm

safety feature isn’t the problem, the problem is the way of driving..
    Drive safe and all end’s well, the safety feature is a bonus in case you caught in a situation one can’t simply avoid..
    Not to mention when we drive with full care, others will still drive carelessly..

• speeddoesnotkill? on Jan 15, 2014 at 12:52 am

The problem is Malaysians think they are driving safely. They think they are good drivers, speed does not kill, and people get into accidents due to lack of skill. Go figure.

• motorhead on Jan 14, 2014 at 5:57 pm

Please la make new engines also.. Campro 1.3 & 1.6 for decades dy.. Want total safety?.. Better buy tanks.. Or drive big trucks..

If not better close shop.. I can’t wait dy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • sentr on Jan 14, 2014 at 10:57 pm

Then you probably will die in Japs cars rather than saved in proton cars.

• BLT CLUB on Jan 15, 2014 at 6:34 pm

Maybe he owns a Conti? Don’t assume man

• Autoexpert on Jan 16, 2014 at 12:41 pm

Stupid! How many % of Proton cars on the road now have ESP and 6 air bags and rated 5 stars ANCAP?

• persona bl on Jan 14, 2014 at 5:58 pm

currently owned potong persona..kinda good car nvh acceptable, toughness quite tough better than vios.. the complaints: that the car back seat is too short to sit comfortably, high fc in town though long journey from klang to penang half tank, dashboard breaks easily (proton hq service centre so called engineer broke it) and brake tak makan. To think this is what I pay and this is what I get is not quite accurate , I don’t ask for leather seats, touchscreen, etc etc.. simple comfort, good fc and safety will do….. proton still have long journey to go. put aside those turbo turbo thing first…focus on the basic needs…

• motorhead on Jan 14, 2014 at 7:15 pm

Sorry for bro.. Unfortunately I know this dy.. Poton ve long way to go.. They can’t make new engines.. Own gears also cannot make.. They ve 1.3 & 1.6 campro only till today.. & it seems they want to keep that engines till doomsday.. 1.0, 1.5 1.8 2.0.. Semua xde.. You can dream on good FC poton engines.. To new owners.. Good luck… It’s a free country.. Buy what you want..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
      • pirlo on Jan 15, 2014 at 12:38 am

same like perodua la cannot make engine and gearbox.

• motorhead on Jan 15, 2014 at 9:37 am

Wah smartlah you.. Pergi sekolah lah.. Type Perodua.. Google.. See who inside perodua.. Morons.. Daihatsu ve share inside.. & Daihatsu under Toyota.. They are in one group.. Making, using & selling the same engines & gears.. Same entity.. Can you dig that sucka? Thx to NAP.. You ve P2 so you can get Japs tech under the name of Perodua.. Yes they don’t make the engines here.. Because they don’t ve to.. You know what rebadge means sucker?

• Herman Tino on Jan 15, 2014 at 12:30 pm

hahaha…motorhead melenting hahaha….

• pirlo on Jan 15, 2014 at 12:49 pm

in that case, perodua’s title as national car maker should be stripped off, right?
            and my point above only stated perodua cannot make engine & transmission. they assemble it. that’s all. not related to perodua is owned by daihatsu 55%, perodua divided into manufacturing, sales, corporate division, umw also has share in P2 etc. we all know that.

• mizuru on Jan 14, 2014 at 8:21 pm

well they certainly tackle safety issue..if only they could solve reliability issue.most of the car in workshop having problems are the national car.conti car second,followed by kimchi and the sushi is the least problematic.the japanese truely have mastered the art of longevity

• people in malaysia care bout design and brand only, they dont put the safety in the first step….

• Any plan for Facelift the preve or at least upgrade the car accessories such as leather seat, day time running light n reverse sensor as found on suprima.I believe it’s feasible as suprima n preve interior is basically same. I believe Proton need to take such move to boost up it’s sales while facing fierce competition from vios,almera n upcoming new city…

• It seems to me the car engine mounts went bad, more of QC/design/material issue.

There is no way breakaway engine mounts could send the engine flying. I doubt Proton car has such feature to begin with.

Proton could have came out with a better excuse to clarify the issue.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
  • One thing about Msians, they tend to just look at the design and brand name only! As compared to the same price range models such as the Persona and Myvi. I do agree la that the design of myvi looks hotter and sexier than the uncle design persona. But drive both cars, you’ll notice Proton’s body, chassis, handling and comfort is miles away as compared to the myvi which feels flimsy and milotin like. And don’t get me started with the reliability of Perdoua cars. People always say Peroduas are less problematic than Protons. Less problematic my foot! I already lost count of a friend’s lagi best masuk SC. I myself own a mid batch Persona and didn’t face any issues at all and it’s already 6 years old.

• jolly_idiot on Jan 14, 2014 at 11:27 pm

Since when dr. M treat us Malaysian so good? Safety is priority in Proton? Sure dr. M is not taking revenge in misleading us in false claim proton is safe?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
    • youidiot on Jan 15, 2014 at 12:36 am

5 star Australian NCAP preve is not a joke. How many stars you want, 100000 trillion?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • speeddoesnotkill? on Jan 15, 2014 at 12:56 am

Just by the fact that the Preve has received a 5 star rating in the Australian NCAP shows that it is a safe car. This is not the ASEAN NCAP run by Malaysians who give the City a 5 star, this is the Australian NCAP.

• paultan.org should post the accident photos, and then clarify that the driver just opened the door, stood up, and walked out relatively unharmed. Even gave an interview. What car under RM100k, heck even under RM 150k can give you that sort of safety? Even the new Accord wouldn’t do so well.
    Malaysians are ignorant. To choose a Vios over this to save what, RM 20 a week of petrol fees? Just takes one accident to lose you or your loved ones’ lives. Safety is of most important, even more so than efficiency and I’m glad Proton have their priorities right. Ride and handling should be next too, active safety should be as important as passive safety features.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • tokmoh on Jan 16, 2014 at 3:55 am

I’ll give proton that they were right to choose safety as the first criteria to improve itself. But taking other matters into consideration, it’s still a long way before we can be proud of it. now’s not the time to be all jolly happy, proton has yet to made it quite enough yet.

Do not underestimate importance of efficiency, that’s saying those biggest carmakers are idiot. Saab are very safe cars, but not much else. look where are they now? Volvo is luckier to have the Chinese to help them keep alive, and they’re very promising with xc90 mk2 to begin their true Renaissance.

New honda accord can be safe, it and Volvo s60 scored max in iihs’ new small overlap test that kantoi even the German cars. You don’t have to think too hard why Honda doesn’t want to give us equal treatment.

Here in our country, it starts and ends with proton. Proton screwed itself with arrogance under TM. Even msian steve jobs can only do too much to undo its damage. Well, at least i liked where he steered proton, and where it could possibly go.

The market already shied away, and rather be insulted by Japanese sh*t than bitten twice by proton. Can you blame them? Not when you’re working your arse off just to see it all go to some arrogant, incompetent f*ck syok sendiri as Asia’s answer to bmw, waste your annual leave to be told “biasala, ni bukan macam t, h” by bloodsucking sc, etc.

The Japanese certainly capitalised well on this. Go be pissed all you want, the insult can only end when proton rise to a true global standard. then you’ll see Toyota, Honda equipped like in first world country with competitive price.

Open your mind, then you’ll understand what i mean, than to just get butthurt and call me crap. yeah, that solves the problem. I give rubbish comments, then tomorrow Honda, Toyota gives minimum 6 airbags+esp standard, and slash price at least rm20k to all models

• And to those complaining about “eco-ism” of proton, have a look at what Euro emissions stage they comply with and what stage the Civic and Altis is in. Proton is euro 5 compliant, the latest European standards. Toyotas and Hondas sold here are only up to euro 2, about 1998 standards.

• Steve Jobs on Jan 15, 2014 at 9:45 am

Proton – Euro 4
      Honda – Euro 3

• CFE and IAFM+ is Euro 5, which is used in all of their cars except the Satria Neo and Persona. My bad on Honda, FB Civic is Euro 3. I remembered FD Civic which was Euro 2.
        The only thing good about the Civic is that it uses a 5-speed torque converter. Say all you want about it being old tech, but truth is CVTs and DSGs can’t match it for refinement and smoothness. Trade offs for being more efficient isn’t that great as well, and torque converters ARE much much more reliable and cheaper to repair as well.

• farizY on Jan 15, 2014 at 9:35 am

Critism is fine, but don’t simply bash for the sake of it. Credit where credit is due. Kudos Proton for the vastly improved safety.

• Joker on Jan 15, 2014 at 11:36 am

Proton is heading to the right way at the moment.. Safety,ride and handling is one of the most if not the most important aspect in a passenger car. The main problem everyone is having here in Malaysia is the premium in Excise Duty… 6 airbags and Traction Control should be a must in every car produced nowadays and here we are getting mostly 2 airbags and no Traction Control because of the steep price we Malaysians need to pay and most instead opt for the “Kosong” car which is totally unsafe to drive. 99% of the driver in Malaysia i believe will need the assistance of Traction Control as i doubt most drivers can deal with understeer and oversteer.
    As for Proton improve more on reliability and design would be more than sufficient.. and please scrap that Campro engine…

• May I suggest that proton we d their product to otheradvance country ffor crash test. If the results is almost the same with ASEAN ANCAP, then all the negative comments will diminish. The only problem is whether proton dare to do this or not. Come on proton fans if u so worship the proton product, urge the proton management to do so.

• bacang on Jan 15, 2014 at 8:13 pm

camne? tak faham. u mean other crash test like euro ncap, ancap, china ncap, are on par with asean ancap? use asean ancap for benchmark?

• Alex tan on Jan 16, 2014 at 10:58 am

The engine also needs tyo be equiped with air bags too to protect other road users and pedestrians since it is expected to be on the road any time, n new danger on the road pedestrian have to watch out besides the roaming vehicles.

• izzat on Jan 18, 2014 at 7:52 am

On a factual note, Volvo cars are among the first to feature engines that will detach if the cars involved in a heavy or severe collision. I won’t be extremely surprised to see Proton is designing cars with such features for safety. It should have been a standard safety feature on all recent cars regardless of brands or marques.

• Fly High on Jan 20, 2014 at 12:06 am

See this..120mph crash test..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6dI5ewOmHPQ