Infiniti Q50 Eau Rouge Concept previews 500 hp beast

Infiniti Q50 Eau Rouge-07

The Infiniti Q50 Eau Rouge has been revealed at the 2014 NAIAS in Detroit. It is a concept car that serves as a design vision of a high-performance variant of the Q50 sports sedan (Infiniti Skyline in Japan), which made its debut in Motor City a year ago. Looks menacing, doesn’t it?

Featuring bespoke aerodynamic carbon fibre bodywork, Eau Rouge is lower and wider than the standard car. Almost every exterior panel is bespoke, with only the front doors and the arch of the roof pillars carried over from the stock Q50.

New front and rear fenders extend the 3-Series rival’s already broad-shouldered stance by 20 mm, while a larger deck lid spoiler creates air-pressure downforce.

Infiniti Q50 Eau Rouge-12

The sedan’s customised red paint is matched with dark-chrome detailing in place of chrome bright work. The Q50’s double-arch front grille also takes the dark-chrome’s matte finish, as do the glasshouse surrounds, door handles and deck lid accents. The curving hood is double air-vented.

Infiniti is the title partner of F1 champs Red Bull Racing, so it’s only natural for the Eau Rouge to be F1-inspired. The sculpted front wing assembly and the rear aero packaging take their cues from Seb Vettel’s RB9 race car. The rear fog light packaging is unmistakably F1, too.

Inside, the red hot Q50 boasts a “high-grip” sports steering wheel, paddle shifters, red-infused carbon fibre detailing to the doors and center console, plus dark-chrome trim.

Infiniti Q50 Eau Rouge-13

Flight of fancy? This car will make production, without a doubt. “If we built this car I would expect it to feature over 500 hp and 800 Nm of torque. Through our various alliance partners we have access to a range of engines featuring this performance capability which, with a fair amount of engineering effort, can be developed to exhibit Infiniti character and accommodated within the Q50 engine bay,” said Johan de Nysschen, president of Infiniti.

“The engine we are evaluating for the Q50 Eau Rouge is a big personality, V-cylinder engine with forced induction. I think our engineers have been waiting for a project like this,” de Nysschen further hinted.

A Mercedes-powered Infiniti to take on the F30 BMW M3 – what do you think? Previewed at KLIMS13, the Infiniti Q50 is set to arrive in Malaysia in the second quarter of this year with a Daimler-sourced 2.0 litre four-cylinder turbo engine. It has a spot in our 2013 Top Five cars list, and you can find out why here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Gavin on Jan 14, 2014 at 4:00 am

The interior of the car looks like a Hyudai Interior. Quality of the interior should be improved.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 26
    • AutoFrenz on Jan 14, 2014 at 8:44 am

The overall design is inspired by sonata…the taillights look like current toyota mark x…but it does look aggressive though compared to the lame 4 series….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
    • qwerty on Jan 14, 2014 at 11:04 am

You mean the Infiniti has an interior of poor quality?? That’s pretty….erm..cute~

• Sam Loo on Jan 14, 2014 at 4:27 pm

Hyundai can be compared with Tata/Geely/Great Wall/DongFeng/Mahendra..

They are in the same basket of 3rd grade car manufacturers

• jolly_idiot on Jan 15, 2014 at 12:31 am

I wonder what phone are you using today? Samsung? Or sony ericsson?

• rifle on Jan 14, 2014 at 5:17 am

luxury beast

• That’s what happen when u ask an F1 driver to be the advisor/consultant during your model R&D.

• shawal on Jan 14, 2014 at 5:42 am

would anyone steer-by-wire a 500bhp beast on land..?
    sounds scary…
    plus 2014 is the year where they’re trying to extensively connect your car toy your phones, smart gear whutever..

• Nissan on Jan 14, 2014 at 8:37 am

why are there lubang in between legs?

• Veneno on Jan 14, 2014 at 3:20 pm

senang kalau “barang” tu besar sgt, boleh selit kat celah tu.. hahahahaha..

• I like the seat design where you can rest your penis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • EnergyAnalyst on Jan 14, 2014 at 10:00 am

In 5 words

Enhanced Beauty with Borrowed Substance

• lamanblog on Jan 14, 2014 at 10:16 am

fury version of mazda6

• bolehland on Jan 14, 2014 at 10:18 am

that hole on the sit makes you can easily kentut.
    very user-friendly!

• Cuckoobird on Jan 14, 2014 at 12:06 pm

Kentut??? Your hole is so far forward? I thought it’s for konek besar.

• Why dont use nissan very own engine?sourcing from merc will only cost more…doesnt it seem like a stupid move…

• EnergyAnalyst on Jan 14, 2014 at 2:11 pm

Reciprocal business dealings. Mercedes is using Renault’s engine for A and B series and in the process sold many Renault’s engine. It is only right to return the favour since there is a Daimler and Renault-Nissan global partnership since 2010

• paucharsiew on Jan 14, 2014 at 9:13 pm

eh nissan u have great RB20 don need use noob engine la….screw the emissions test

• Thompson on Jan 14, 2014 at 10:19 am

Could compete the Toyota FT-1

• masonteh on Jan 14, 2014 at 11:53 am

nice colour…nice cae,but arrive kat malaysia..too bad…bad prices..

• spongewai on Jan 14, 2014 at 1:57 pm

Merc Benz C63 AMG, BMW M3, Audi RS4, next gen Lexus IS-F, meet your latest rival, Infiniti Q50 Eau Rogue concept

• mizuru on Jan 14, 2014 at 6:41 pm

opinionx3.everybody has one.truth be told,the car exterior look like mazda 6.the interior though are outrageously good looking for a sport line.

• Nesniw on Jan 15, 2014 at 12:20 am

Infiniti doesn’t looks impressive in photos. If you look at the actual car… the contour, the details will impress you!

• jolly_idiot on Jan 15, 2014 at 12:40 am

I wonder is Seb Vettel’s has a big dick where he purposely design this kinda seat to fit his dick.

Car is good in every angle just the seat that make my day non stop laughing.

Real drivers have big balls and need to rest them too.

• putih on Jan 15, 2014 at 7:17 am

Evo X in curvy body.