Mercedes-Benz S600 debuts in Detroit – the V12 W222

Mercedes-Benz S600-01

Here’s the flagship of Mercedes-Benz’s flagship, the Mercedes-Benz S600. Crowning the W222 range (non-AMG of course), this Detroit debutant is powered by a V12 biturbo engine with 530 hp and 830 Nm of torque, the latter available from just 1,900 rpm. The new S600 has a bigger engine (5,980 vs 5,513 cc) than its predecessor, but the Euro 6 mill is 21% more economical.

The new engine features an all-aluminium crankcase, one-piece chain drive, forged crankshaft in high-grade quenched and tempered steel, modified forged pistons, new ECU, new dedicated ignition coil with twin-spark ignition, cam follower, two intake and one outlet valves (three-valve technology), hollow-stem outlet valves (filled with sodium) and low-temperature cooling-water circulation with separate expansion reservoir.

Mercedes-Benz S600-04

The comprehensive standard spec of the S600 reinforces its role as a flagship. LED Intelligent Light System, Magic Body Control suspension with Road Surface Scan and the Driving Assistance package Plus, all come as standard. The latter comprises Active Lane Keeping Assist, Active Blind Spot Assist, BAS Plus with Cross-Traffic Assist, Distronic Plus with Steer Control and Stop&Go Pilot, Pre-Safe Brake and Pre-Safe Plus.

“The S-Class has always been the embodiment of our claim to deliver the very best in terms of both technology and design. And our flagship model, the S600, epitomises the focus of our development work, the ‘Essence of Luxury’, in a way that no other model can. Our customers in North America and Asia in particular will enjoy this new top model with its exciting V12 engine,” said Ola Källenius, executive VP of sales and marketing at Mercedes-Benz Cars.

Mercedes-Benz S600-07

Mercedes also announced upgrades for the entire W222 range. From March 2014, when the S600 will roll out, all current variants will be upgraded with the addition of a head-up display, touchpad and Collision Prevention Assist Plus.

The latter features autonomous braking at speeds of up to 200 km/h, should the driver fail to respond to early warnings, reducing the severity of collisions with slower or stopping vehicles. The system also brakes in response to stationary vehicles at a speed of up to 50 km/h, and is able to prevent rear-end collisions at up to 40 km/h.

Plenty of tech mentioned, and if you want to learn more about how they work, read our W222 S-Class launch report. The latest S should be launching here pretty soon – we’ve already spotted the S400 Hybrid twice in Malaysia.

If you’re looking for a V12 AMG, there’s always the S 65 AMG.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• wht a car man!! art of s class just makes me melt..RIP A8 n 7 series

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
  • They’ve done it again. Every generation, Mercedes Benz takes it up a notch and outclasses their competition in the luxury car segment. The interior looks like a private jet on wheels.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • A bit pointless if you ask me.. A luxury car built for comfort and luxury.. I don’t see the point of using a high performance engine in such a car..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 28
    • Buyers of this S600 want effortless power at any speed. Cruising at 200+ on the Autobahn let’s say. Look at what rpm is the max torque available. You don’t get Bentleys, Rolls Royce with small engines now do you? I wonder why. Hmm…

• I think Danny Tan didn’t specially mention the differences between the spec of the S400 and the S600. The safety and equipment list between an S400 and the S600 looked the same.

• paucharsiew on Jan 14, 2014 at 6:20 am

so no more s65 amg?

• NurburgringDriver on Feb 04, 2014 at 12:45 pm

Are you stupid or stupid? The S65 AMG is unveiled WAY BEFORE this model lah. There was even an article on it

• mizuru on Jan 14, 2014 at 6:28 am

wow,that is the ugliest wood trim i see on a luxury car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • EnergyAnalyst on Jan 14, 2014 at 9:15 am

Mercedes has beaten BMW as the most saleable premium car brand for North America and globally sailed pass Audi in 2013 as the no 2 luxury car brand in sales thanks to their spanning new models. With Mercedes Benz vowed to bring out further 13 all-new ( no predecessor ) models by 2020. Reinvention is the key, bravo Mercedes Benz , well done Daimler AG !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • jenny fur on Jan 14, 2014 at 12:28 pm

Lexus is just getting a small rest…merc shd run as fast possible while lexus doing that..else, no chance at all.

• “globally as the no 2 luxury car brand in sales”
      The key word no 2. Nobody will border who is no 2, people only remember who is no 1.

• EnergyAnalyst on Jan 14, 2014 at 10:50 pm

It is bother no border. If you don’t bother — why reading about this and then make your comment obviously you at least bother to do that

• niterunner99 on Jan 15, 2014 at 8:28 pm

No doubt it’s fully loaded with so many options that even car owner doesn’t know/remember how to use..BIG but it’s still looks very nimble.
    It looks like this is going to be priced closed to a entry level Rolls or Bentley.