Proton chairman: no more rebadging in the near future

DRIVEN_Proton_Suprima_S_review_ 029

Proton is not in the business of simply rebadging vehicles, and such practice will not be a part of the national carmaker’s immediate future – that’s according to Proton executive chairman and owning conglomerate DRB-Hicom’s Group managing director, Tan Sri Mohd Khamil Jamil.

He insists that the new Perdana model – often called the Accordana; the closest to a simple badge swap as Proton has come yet – is simply a stop-gap measure in reaction to the Government’s desperate plea to replace the ageing (and costly to maintain) fleet of original Perdana V6 vehicles.

It’s also just the first phase of a more comprehensive D-segment project by Proton, the second of which – the general market version that will be sold to the public, as opposed to the so-called Accordana’s 3,000-unit run that isn’t – will come to fruition in the next 24 months.

Proton_Perdana_Accord_ 003

Khamil intimated that effectively, Proton is developing its own new car, albeit one that will be built on an existing Honda platform. There’s a distinct difference between the practice of rebadging a car and a platform-sharing agreement between two brands, he added. The ongoing Perdana project is of the latter in nature, not the former as thought by many.

On the new 2016 model, Proton deputy CEO Datuk Lukman Ibrahim also reiterated that the new car will have a “larger degree of differentiation” to create more visual distance between it and the vehicle it’s based on. As such, while hidden components will most likely be kept the same, the car’s exterior and interior will be unique to Proton. No word yet on what will be under the hood, though.

So there you have it, folks, no more rebadging for Proton in the near future. Thoughts on the matter?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Yala…behind put lotus handling…then the diff is huge already

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 113 Thumb down 16
    • Proton is a huge culprit in our country’s automotive low (or no) standard. PM kangkung, Proton also kangkung. Selling overprice junk. Will Proton turn over a new leaf? Doubt so. Seeing is believing. Otherwise this talk is all crap.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 190 Thumb down 85
      • Black Dog on Jan 14, 2014 at 3:51 pm

Why not rebadge? As long as the price is cheap and quality good, I don’t care.

Because I don’t have the confidence Proton can develop a car better than the Koreans or Chinese in future.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 136 Thumb down 46
        • Khamil is a dolop. Don’t know how to run DRB. Now doing this rebadge crap. DRB is nothing but Syed Mokhtar company. Everything for the crony, Malaysia might collapse one day as one person control everything. Beras pun satu orang control

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
          • youbodok on Jan 15, 2014 at 10:58 pm

Dun know how to run? Which part? If rebadging, other maufacturers also practsiing it. Why bother?

• abuya123 on Jan 16, 2014 at 10:19 am

just close down Proton. 30 years protect Proton, we lost beratus billion dollars and hundreds of thousand jobs to Thailand. All to protect the lazy pariah workers of Proton dan kuncu kuncu supply chain companies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 10
          • mugamuga on Jan 16, 2014 at 6:00 pm

Hey youbodok,

Yea, maybe other manufacturers do practice it, but only for few cars.

When the entire Proton line-up is based on someone else’s work, that is simply ‘copy&paste’ business. Like what China is famous for. Copycat everything. Except, I think China’s quality might be a bit better than Malaysian copy&paste products.

What purpose does this type of company exist? It doesn’t bring pride to our nation (foreigners laugh at our cars), it certainly is not safer than foreign cars, highly overpriced, so it doesn’t serve our own citizen as well.

The only one who benefits from the existence of Proton (and Perodua) are the cronies and kuncu-kuncu.

Why bother you asked?

• perry on Jan 14, 2014 at 3:57 pm

overpriced junk? tell me if you can get city cheaper than cheapest preve in thai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 82
        • Tell me why then there is more City in Thai than Preve? Cheaper (as you claim) but still more City sold. Care to explain further to enlighten us?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 21
          • kadajawi on Jan 14, 2014 at 4:55 pm

The City was launched long before the Preve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 34
          • perry on Jan 14, 2014 at 10:20 pm

You want to say high sales number because the car is good? Honda city in thai (highest variant) only comes with dual airbags + VSA, still want to compare with preve?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 15
          • Dream on on Jan 14, 2014 at 11:26 pm

Come on, I saw more new Vios than Preve on road last week at Bangkok.

And now you want to say the Proton marketing in Thailand not strong enough? Preve not popular in Bangkok only bla bla bla…

No excuse PLEASE lar!! It is piece of junk. People buy Proton because it is cheap, no second reason.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 11
          • perry on Jan 15, 2014 at 12:32 am

So you want dual airbags VSA city rather than more features Preve? You better drive slower, lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 20
        • sunil on Jan 14, 2014 at 4:49 pm

Ok what if Preve is cheaper than city in TH? almost nobody buys that Proton in TH. Same thing in Langkawi.

Cheapest City in TH is cheaper than cheapest Preve in Msia. That is what we mean by overprice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 10
          • walaweh on Jan 14, 2014 at 8:41 pm

becoz its a prtn. yup,that play a part too. fyi, only car with 1.5l capacity n below will fall under 1st time buyers scheme,which car is it?many,even ford now change its fiesta to 1.5l engine due to policy.

preve, 1.6l.

but nevertheless,exora one of the top mpv there cuz mpv doesnt fall into the scheme :-).

so,there u go.

but prtn isnt that renown in asean,same as vw. do you think based on tech,advancement, n safety, why vw still have problem to outsold asean made car n mpv?

so,sales doesnt mean its good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
          • perry on Jan 14, 2014 at 10:22 pm

You compared 2 different cars in 2 countries. That’s IDIOT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 24
        • cheap but crap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 10
        • Iwantcheapproton on Jan 14, 2014 at 5:12 pm

Thais are not mat sallehs. How to get cheaper price?

• Hameed Koyakutty on Jan 14, 2014 at 9:03 pm

During DSSZ
      Different shit, Same Idiot, Different day…..
      Now under DRB
      Same shit, Different Idiot, Different day……

DRB supposed to announce Proton’s restructuring programme 3 months after takeover……but now already how many years no plan yet??? Ptuuuuiiiiiii………

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 12
      • Suggest just sell Proton to VW group if they interested, then I will be the first to buy Proton if they rebadged Skoda as our national car with maintained same price range.

• I will not be hesitant to buy if they rebadge Seat Ibiza Cupra or Skoda Superb…hehe…

• do you guys think proton cares? they dont ask long as they are selling well & making money. same goes to toyota.
      no company will care as long as they are making tonnes of money.

• The money that Proton makes? most of it is our money or grant from beloved G…

• Hmm…
    I listen first

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 1
    • me too.. the problem is some idiot never listen or read..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 4
  • Mosama21812 on Jan 14, 2014 at 2:11 pm

Proton won’t go any where if just depend on out dated campro engine. Jaguh kampung only.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 16
    • carguy on Jan 14, 2014 at 2:47 pm

FYI they have the new CFE engine. CPS engine is being widely used for cheaper cars. Campro are the baseline engine that proton provide. These 3 are different engine. And of course the coming Perdana replacement model will have at least equipped with the CFE engine, or they may have a new 2.0 for that. We’ll see. Keep bashing is not a solution, instead we should support. And you don’t have to buy their product to support, but at least support physically.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 38
      • jammerlee on Jan 14, 2014 at 3:12 pm

CAMPRO =baseline
        campro + vvt + variable intake = CPS
        campro+ turbo = CFE

you call it advancement?
        http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Campro_engine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 22
        • slurt on Jan 14, 2014 at 4:01 pm

CFE is derived from Campro, but most parts are different to cater the turbo power. You read but you dun understand?

Take vios with decades engine and it’s the same engine. Nothing cahnge, why noone bashes it? Because it’s a Toyota?

*Vomit*

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 15
          • no because proton engine is shit and the toyota one works

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 29
          • No one bash Vios for the same engine? you must be new here slurt.

I think if theres an extensive survey were to be carried out, on the topic of Toyota or UMW Toyota The result will show that it received the most negative reactio amongst comments.

On the topic of engine, I have no qualms on weather or not the engine is old, as long as it performs well. The CFE and Campro does put out a healthy performance, but(esp on the CFE)the Fuel consumption, something the buyers takes heavily into consideration these days, is rather poor. Add to that, reliability is also an issue, but the reason that there are more stories of Proton breakig down on the road is that there are more of it on the road. If say Proton achieved a 1 in 4 cars breakdown, it would result about 24,000 cars in 6 months(Proton sold 97000 cars last Jan-Jun or so I found) whereas if Toyota achieved similar result it would be only 10700(44,000 sold at the same time).

The 1NZ-FE advantages over the CFE/Campro are that even at more than a decade old, it still hold strong in regards to its fuel consumption and reliability. There is no problems of having a old or old design engine, the Murcielargo LP670-4 SV uses the same engine Laborghini has ever built….bored out to double the displacment, but the design is still from the 60s, same can be said with Bentley’s V8. We are still living on ICE engine, engine that uses a mix reaction of petroleum and air to drive a car, so basically I really don’t care how old the engine is, as long as it is effective in the era.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 8
          • tokmoh on Jan 14, 2014 at 6:51 pm

decades old engine and still better fc than so-called improved CFE (driven ep1)? what now?

the biggest facepalm with proton is they keep overlooking fc. they probably can get away with it here, but in global market, gi mampos!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 13
          • slurt on Jan 14, 2014 at 10:27 pm

@tokmoh
            It’s definitely stupid to compare FC between 1.5l engine and 1.6l turbo engine that churns out output power like n/a 2.0l engine.

Pttuihhh on your face.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 19
          • tokmoh on Jan 15, 2014 at 1:26 am

Ok, so need to compare with 2.0 right? How abt mazda’s skyactiv?

What excuse this time, mazda is older than proton, so of cuz better experience to develop more efficient engine, kan?

Typical macai response. When pointed the weakness, always find excuse to justify own shortfall, i

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
          • tokmoh on Jan 15, 2014 at 1:36 am

… Instead of working harder to improve its weakness.

CFE can’t even beat dinosaur vios fc, you think the world outside wanna buy it? When they’re spoilt with various sub-100g co2 cars giving >20km/l fc? Eat kangkung la!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
          • slurt on Jan 15, 2014 at 11:03 pm

“CFE can’t even beat dinosaur vios fc”

Still want to compare that puny engine with turbo powered engine? I guess you never learn.

• Eugene on Jan 14, 2014 at 3:40 pm

How to support physically if you don’t buy their product?

Rebadging with so many excuses. Shame!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 8
        • jaguhkpg on Jan 14, 2014 at 7:30 pm

Support physically… I like the idea… tomorrow I’ll go draw a word Jaguh Kampung right only forehead…run naked in public…

Well, get back in reality… it’s because of proton we leave suffered to pay high car price. I lived in NSW for 3 years. I hardly saw proton there… though my apartment not very far from one of Proton distributor showroom… The wonder how this dealer survive with poor demand there… oh well, at least I’m permanent working in Spore for now… public transport is so accessible.Thus, don’t need a car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • Teehee on Jan 14, 2014 at 3:52 pm

Sorry boss, I’m afraid Proton’s CFE is based on the campro and I really wouldn’t mind an Accord engine. More reliability compared to the campro and smoother. Maintenance would be a breeze also comparatively.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
        • CFE got 205nm on 2000-4000rpm, sissy i_VTEC only got 190 Nm at 4300rpm. In preve when full load you dun have to rev till 4,300 rpm to get full torque.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 20
          • but then cfe explode and condemn at 2000rpm, so how?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 28
          • neemfa on Jan 14, 2014 at 6:16 pm

What use if its no good in real world performance? Tekan2 also cannot go..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
          • MrDDR on Jan 14, 2014 at 6:27 pm

Explode and condemn at 2000rpm. Already happen or you just assume?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
          • neemfa,
            stop your bad imagination, it just shows how childish you are.

why so buuthurt, preve smokes your pathetic civic?

lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
      • CamtakPro on Jan 15, 2014 at 12:59 pm

How to support physically? My buying the tin milo and died with your body got crush! God bless u.

• Eh kampung people getting smarter these days. Don’t play play. Soon gonna lose that title also.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
      • so you want to say kampung guy are stupid la? i’m kampung. i didnt drive proton, but i do support them. by insisting kampung guy to buy preve instead of vios junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 17
        • Bro, kampung people are not stupid. As more get educated, it gets harder for Proton and government to lie and con them. You can support them man but don’t let them short change you. By the way, I think Paul Tan did a comparison with Vios and Preve (or Suprima). If you consider Vios a junk, no words to describe Preve then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 18
          • about the comparison, Vios wins only because its all around. Preve have better power, handling, safety features. And maybe you dont know Proton and Toyota have a same tax from government, then why Toyota selling B-segment vios expensive than C segment Preve and less safety features?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
  • Yeah right

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
  • carlover on Jan 14, 2014 at 2:12 pm

Dilenma..
    Can Proton produce a competitive model by its own?

Proton reach its glory time during late 90s and early 2000, it is the time when Proton is selling Wira, Satria, Waja and Perdana. Is it consider rebadging? As we know all the above model comes from Mitsubishi, although Proton’s model isn’t really look alike from Mitsubishi’s model (compare to the difference between Inspira and Lancer)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
    • I would rather prefer they re-badge than develop their own. At least we r getting more quality n reliable products than being a guinea pig. How long they can take to actually stabilize home-grown products? 5-10years? That’s enough to make Malaysian suffer with the initial high defects with more-expensive-than-oversea-proton-price. Re-badging quality cars with top up of lotus handling, additional airbags, etc will treat Malaysian better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 9
      • how about we shut down proton instead and get rid of car taxes already

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 17
        • There is no need to go till that extend. Changing proton into car assembler or “re-badger”, with option to have own R&D to improve stock products will sure give an edge n more quality cars. CKD with acceptable local parts + improved features from local R&D. This can safeguards the local businesses at the same time Malaysian will have better cars to buy at affordable price. Win-win

• suckered_by_samloo on Jan 15, 2014 at 10:40 am

In your dreams. With or without proton, cars will still be expensive. The G is already used to getting such a fat income from car duty . You think they will forgo it overnight?
          Coupled together with greedy companies like UMW, the people here will remain victims for a long time more.

• carguy on Jan 14, 2014 at 2:53 pm

Perdana, Wira and first gen satria are almost the same as the mitsubishi version (Mitsubishi Eterna, Lancer, Mirage), in fact they look more similar than Inspira/Lancer. FYI Waja is not rebadge from misubishi, it is purely design by Proton, but engine sourced from Mitsubishi(1.6) and Renault(1.8).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
      • Yeah, as long as critical parts like engine, gearbox, etc, from proven source, proton can sell better car at more affordable price. How long it took to actually iron out all the problems in Waja actually? Not to say proton is the only 1 coming with all problems, but as long as the cars come with less problems on major components, last longer with lower purchase price, It will be value for $

• Guan Yin Ma on Jan 14, 2014 at 2:15 pm

This is so lame. Takut malu cakap malu la, what no more rebadging in near future…. If not whats the point u sign such expensive agreement with HONDA, just to rebadge accordana ? I am expecting more to come such as citywaja..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 27
    • Tua Pek Kong on Jan 14, 2014 at 2:23 pm

sorry Boss, is citypreve, coming this year end, already confirmed by insider. jazzsavvy and odysseyexora also coming in 2015.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 12
      • waaaaaahh on Jan 14, 2014 at 2:50 pm

wa! prevent us from buying Honda cars huh?? even if we buy the one with a ‘H’ badge ppl will also say we buy proton rebadged models and change the proton badge to ‘H’ by our own.. ohh dear!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • kpgboi on Jan 14, 2014 at 7:43 pm

You missed out Satria Euro R3 direct rebadge frm Civic Euro Type R (300 hp) hot hatch… don play play… with lotus handling some more… sure smoke the latest Impreza WRX Sti …. nyaman kalao bawah balik kampung… ho.. ho.. balik kampung…

• Noooo! My dream of Proton City, Proton Vezel and Proton Civic Type R!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
  • celicazz on Jan 14, 2014 at 2:15 pm

does it makes any differences on blind bashers? no.

but, slowly, proton is on the rise again.

they have the talent, but not the money.

hopeful they’ll succeed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 51
    • policeman on Jan 14, 2014 at 2:28 pm

They have talent?

To design cars? No. They outsource designers.
      Make engine? No. Their engines are lousy.
      Make gearbox? No. They import.
      Make interior parts? No. Outsource to lowest bid.
      They have talented staff? No. School dropouts and uneducated people are hired at low cost.

Where is the talent? What talent have they got?
      Only talent they have is in rebadging. Now they want to stop that!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 51
      • Everyone is talented in their own way. These guys are talented dumbos. Sharing platform on what’s going to be an 8 year old model come 2016. Already on the tail end of things.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
        • It’s different in most parts. New chassis is nothing if can get 4 star only in safety rating.

• ASEAN NCAP is full of crap. If you want standard, do a Euro NCAP. Not even the US can beat them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
          • Go out from your cave, 4 stars in Australian NCAP safety rating, not ASEAN one. pls read more.

• celicazz on Jan 14, 2014 at 11:42 pm

old platform means old safety rating?

hey, engineering are limitless possibilities. u can re-engineer an old platform to meet latest safety standard.

material engineering, thickness engineering, value engineering.

you dont know engineering, dont talk craps.

• motorhead on Jan 14, 2014 at 2:54 pm

Yes correct Mr. Policemen.. They can’t even make their own gears.. Auto industry is challenging.. But it’s ok.. Let it die faster.. The faster the better.. Than scrap NAP, open the industry.. P2 will survive.. She can just bring in Daihatsu or Toyota bulk units.. Straight from Japan or Thailand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
        • At least they have their own engine. Might come up with gear after this. So what, there are still manufacturers dun use their own gears in their own cars.

• NightHunter on Jan 14, 2014 at 5:01 pm

Make their own gears as in transmission ?

=.= …. a lot of car makers such as BMW , Jaguar, Nissan, etc… source their transmission from companies like ZF, Borgwarner, LUK, Aisin… =.=”

• celicazz on Jan 14, 2014 at 11:39 pm

u still want to answer those idiots that self-pronounced automotive-genius (read:idiot)?

waste of time, i think.

• bekas perutdua on Jan 15, 2014 at 1:06 am

hang memang orang luar perodua betul ni. worship perodua sungguh2. aku bekas perodua pun segan. hang kalau ok kereta daihatsu yang tak laku tu, perodua bawak sini, cost down sana sini, delete features sana sini, tekan vendor kaw2 paksa harga murah, compromise quality/material, pastu jual mahal, ok boleh beli.

• youbodok on Jan 14, 2014 at 4:13 pm

LOL clearly you dun know anything or understand anything. Please go back to school lor

• policeman on Jan 14, 2014 at 8:04 pm

Why go back to school?

• celicazz on Jan 14, 2014 at 11:44 pm

u need to. bcos such narrowmindedness comments u r having doesnt help.

kindly we ask u to go back to school so that one day u can proceed to learn more abt engineering

• pirlo on Jan 14, 2014 at 11:39 pm

outsource designers? italdesign design for alfa romeo, vw, fiat.
        make engine? the question is make engine, yes. proton make engine. from basic engine, to variable intake manifold, intake dual-lobe cam, turbo, vvt. up to euro 5 requirement.
        gearbox? ford and volvo source their transmission from getrag. toyota from aisin. mitsubishi from jatco.
        interior parts? they prioritize local vendors first, then outsource to the outsiders if there is no suitable option here.
        talented staff? why are you downgrade people’s intelligence like you know them?
        ok la. please explain to us how NEDC cycle works.

here in internet, people can be keyboard warrior telling others stupid. afraid to reveal the name.

• celicazz on Jan 14, 2014 at 11:52 pm

they have.

what meant by ‘talent’?

so, others don’t outsource designers? Pininfarina? Ital-design? Giugiaro?

lousy engine? others did turbo? camshaft profiling? no need Lotus help?

dont make own gearbox? BMW n Merc uses ZF, Getrag. Toyota, nissan uses Aichi Kikai, etc.

outsource to lowest bid? others dont? Toyota make own dashboard? Nissan too?

school dropouts? may geniuses are school dropouts, bill gates, steve jobs… seriously, how many of them u know are school dropouts?

only rebadging? how many models they did by themselves? how many are rebadge? others dont rebadge?

seriously, where’s your point?

u dont know business, dont know engineering, dont know anything.

seriously stupid.

• policeman on Jan 15, 2014 at 6:44 pm

You must have gone to college, but you can’t comprehend an implicit question.

The question I asked is where/what is the talent? Obviously not in design or manufacturing.

You always end up comparing to others. Why? Why keep comparing? Insecure?

• You want talent in design? Ok, if you find preve is ugly then I’m sure you love dugong / catfish / ultraman iron man design almera.

It’s beauuuuuuttiiifffuuulll

lelelellelellelelel

• perhaps facts and figures could help support your points here..

• “they have the talent, not the money” ??

i thought it’s the other way round?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • kerapu on Jan 14, 2014 at 2:19 pm

yeah proton….that is true malaysian. no rebadging anymore. people are tired about it. be malaysian product…i mean 100% malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
  • policeman on Jan 14, 2014 at 2:20 pm

There will be more rebadging in future. When they stop Accordana, they’ll rebadge another D segment, maybe new partnership with Nissan.

Lets say Accordana release in 2016. Production until 2026. Get outgoing model from Nissan. So the next Perdana will be based on the 2019 Nissan Teana.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 16
    • pirlo on Jan 14, 2014 at 11:41 pm

talk without facts. there is a maybe there. how can nissan get into the picture?
      you are truly like BN supporter. you know hassan malik right? or maybe bung mokhtar? your statement was exactly like them.

• Near future? Hahaha
    how near? 6 months?

• motorhead on Jan 14, 2014 at 2:27 pm

What’s wrong with rebadge? That ego for what? Nevermind.. Ve P2.. I never buy anything from P1.. Yet.. Almost did.. Glad I didn’t.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
  • Passerby on Jan 14, 2014 at 2:31 pm

plotong is a scammer and produce failure product… look for the Inspira see how fail it is… nowadays I can hardly seen 1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 24
    • fanofthisite on Jan 14, 2014 at 3:07 pm

you must have a problem identifying cars or mistake all Inspiras on the road as Lancers. At least go find out and tell this forum how many Inspiras sold / registered past 6 mths.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • I can see inspiras on the road every single day. Where are you living man? In the jungle ar?

• vee-oh on Jan 14, 2014 at 2:31 pm

oo ok..so my Attrage will be safe from being rebadged as the new Saga

• You are not up-to-date lar..Mitsu is not in the same bed with Proton anymore. Anyway, hardly seen any Attrage on the road. Even the Mirage is a rare sight.

• motorhead on Jan 14, 2014 at 2:37 pm

Smart people win.. Ego & stupid people will loose.. Poton blooming time was with Mitsubishi.. After that Poton like lost in the dark.. Well good.. Better tapau terus. Keep it up Perodua.. Go Daihatsu.. Nippon go..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
    • bekas perutdua on Jan 14, 2014 at 11:45 pm

wa bekas staff perodua. sekarang jepun tengah tekan local people in perodua. check balik berapa ramai dah berenti. orang jepun tak kisah pasal orang malaysia. janji perodua ni persinggahan sementara untuk daihatsu indon yang mana market lebih baik. daihatsu dah set up R&D kat sana. apa guna ‘R&D’ kat perodua? haha~

• …nearly chocked on my kangkung belacan lunch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
  • Why shame … P2 did that with success!.

• You are on the right track Proton!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Wilson on Jan 14, 2014 at 2:56 pm

Come on la Proton. U have already rebadged a mitsubishi model which come with a 2 litres 4g63 engine and follow by a v6 engine donkeys years ago.. yet nothing was done after that. after so many years, start it over again with an accord… really give up~

• Learn economies of scale. Market for D segment like Perdana, Accord, Teana is not hot like A, B, segments.

• drifit on Jan 14, 2014 at 3:00 pm

Proton makes totally new Perdana with its own effort, who going to buy? How many?
    This is one of the main big reason not to create one but re-bagde it.
    Campro engine is outdated?
    Please study and learn. What is the difference among VTEC, MIVEC, VVTi, DVVT, Campro and etc…?
    If one doesn’t proud of what local, your neighbour, your friends, your relatives can do, can achieve. I have nothing to say nor wasting time changing your mindset.
    Service is bad. Ask yourself, who do it? Is still by Malaysian.
    Are all of you here going to workplace with the attitude you are complaining here or set yourself to lead with thumb-up attitude?
    We always can see how good are phrases, setting good attitude, set loving community and others good thing shared in Facebook. Yet still many just like the follower, follow whatever other rubbish people talking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 12
    • Balik kampung tanam ‘KANGKUNG’ la. Buka Astro tengok Oh My English!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 15
      • rubber on Jan 14, 2014 at 4:23 pm

Why kangkung? If you love it so much you grow it yourself

• Regret la growing kangkung. Goverment reduced prices. Probably a good idea to switch to sawi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • “Rakyat” will be happy if you “Proton” close shop.
    Please do so ASAP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 14
    • srcst on Jan 14, 2014 at 4:24 pm

Which source says that? Or you are just pathetic keboard warrior

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
    • kadajawi on Jan 14, 2014 at 5:01 pm

Hahahahahaha. Do you really think cars would get cheaper if Proton closes shop? All cars are taxed heavily, except for hybrids until end of 2013. The taxes are a huge source of revenue for the government, they won’t give that up. Only effect will be no more affordable and good cars. You only can buy Peroduas low quality rebadges of ancient Japanese cars. Everything else as expensive as before or even more expensive, since there is no competition left.

• pirlo on Jan 14, 2014 at 11:47 pm

proton & perodua are both mainly government’s income for taxes. you think if both of them close, taxes will be abolished? in current economy state with debt of half trillion ringgit?
      dare to take the challenge?

• Enthu on Jan 14, 2014 at 3:13 pm

Let’s see if this time Proton will finally walk the talk.

No one is interested in your announcement anymore, almost all of us are skeptical.

• jeff wong on Jan 14, 2014 at 3:18 pm

Dun talk so much, I ll only consider Proton when their name can put side by side with Toyota or the alike. Just like Samsung n Sony today !

• porker on Jan 14, 2014 at 4:26 pm

Yes, that’s the spirit of proton bashers. All things done are WRONG, dun need to use brain. I suppork you.

• kadajawi on Jan 14, 2014 at 5:03 pm

Proton has already passed UMW Toyota long ago. Only the Japanese, Americans and Europeans get proper, modern Toyotas. Malaysians are getting ancient deathtraps.

• AUSNSW on Jan 14, 2014 at 3:22 pm

Yes! Finally proton promise no more rebadging.Hope proton can improve more near future.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • The exterior and interiro will be totally different? Who is he trying to dupe? The whole platform mould and shape is there, u cannot simply change them, tats why u see Wira same shape as Lancer, Inspira same exteriro and interiro, and whole mould for the interiro and exteriro are already set in cement…and for the last time, the Waja used dated Mistu Volvo S 40 platform, tats why u see the basic shape and c pillar same ..judging by some post, there r still so many ignorant people out there who blindly sapot P1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • As if proton never comes up with its own cars. Why stop rebadging, the more the merrier.

• We have enough nonsense from u (Proton) because of u we have to pay extra for our car with lower grade of quality. Don’t u think if we could have better n safer vehicle on the road, chances of accident will reduce.
    Thanks for the the protection mechanism Mr.NAP, I have to pay RM1000 for 7 years just to get a entry level car that usually owned by college students in other countries.

• vioser on Jan 14, 2014 at 4:34 pm

Preve got 5 star ANCAP safety rating lor. You prefer Vios with 2 airbags, no VSC? LOL

• kadajawi on Jan 14, 2014 at 5:08 pm

You forget that you have to pay the same taxes if you buy a Proton, that’s why outside of Malaysia Protons are much cheaper. The tax money goes to the government. It probably pays for health car, road repairs and a couple of Ferraris in the government officials’ garages. You’d still have to pay these taxes if there is no Proton. They are merely a scapegoat for the government to rip you off.

• You forgot to mention that this college students in other countries have to pay tution fees of RM100.000… ;)

• jolly_idiot on Jan 14, 2014 at 3:48 pm

Hahaha! Joke of the day!

• Hate Proton on Jan 14, 2014 at 3:55 pm

Dah cukup malu sementara waktu??

• Clarify Please on Jan 14, 2014 at 3:57 pm

Those who get this proton accord already have mercedes, audi or a very good brand cars. Now the problem is,
    1.Why they need this proton ( basically a low/bad reputation in everyone’s mind) since they got mercedes or audi ?
    2.Government claim the old perdana is costly to maintain. Okay, I’ll accept that. So why don’t go buy preve? Remember, Preve have the features/accessories same as 100k+ cars. You promote the preve is as good as those 100k+ but at the end you yourself go buy the accord?(accord cover with proton’s breed

• Huh? Preve is C segment, replaced Waja
      Accord is D segment, replaced Perdana

BTW I agree preve rear cabin is spacious nearly like Camry.

• Gropa on Jan 14, 2014 at 4:44 pm

Thing is, Proton is learning. By rebadging cars, proton learn on how to build certain class of car and as an example here is the accord for the D segment. Proton are very good in making B segment car and as I can see, they are also able to build C segments too.. but risking building a D segment on its own? I dont think so. Partnering with honda is just a way for proton to learn to how to build D segments in near future. They cannot use Perdana anymore since in modern day, perdana’s size is considered C segment instead of a huge D segment. And for the 100k+ car price thingy, let me put it this way.. You sell empty house first to see if customers like it or not. Then only you decorate it if you are certain that people will buy it. Well, literally

• After all these years still learning? This means incompetence and if not for the various support that Proton is given, it would have go down long long time ago. Incompetence. I am all for supporting local product but if after all this time and it is still learning and falling behind, then it should be reconsidered.
        Honestly speaking, if everyone can afford a better car or if other car make is similarly priced, very very few will consider a Proton.
        To Malaysians, Proton like our own child. We support and we always want to know whats up with it. This can be shown when a Proton news is shared in Paultan, it will garner hundreds of comments. But like every parent, we have to be realistic in knowing our child’s potential. For example, if a child cant sing after learning for years and they vision to be the next American Idol, we have to let them know no matter how hurtful it is. We cant keep on protecting them and lying to them or continuing sleeping with the judges for favor for example. Truth hurts but being truthful is the only way to go in this case.
        Cheers

• Where were Honda, Toyota etc when they were at proton’s age? Before you say Qoros, it’s totally different process of production.

• pirlo on Jan 14, 2014 at 11:58 pm

agreed. the whole point of this new accordana related to government’s demand for new official car. they know the country is burden with large debt. so, why we need to buy new car? use the available car la like exora or preve. those cars can be modified for luxury looks. now, they demand new d-segment, urgently. and want it in special edition, limousine. the stretched vehicle need to run for CAE analysis and crash test. who is gonna pay that?
      cibai la najib. kangkung turun harga, kecoh. pakai je la kereta yang dah ada. naik pun berdua ngan rosmah. duduk belakang. muat la tu.

• sj413 lwb on Jan 15, 2014 at 8:57 am

mana muat boss, itu rosmah saiz apa, koman2 pun mau pakai private jet baru muat. naik bentley pun boleh bikin pancit itu tyre.

• funny ppl on Jan 15, 2014 at 11:03 am

rosmah gets a private jet.

• hak istimewa on Jan 14, 2014 at 4:02 pm

ya semua org koni sni sapot plotong tutop kedai tanam kangkong lgi untung, so plotong patut dengar tutop kedai, jual kankong,janji dicapati

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • No point Proton announce this and that… put how much effort to convince and clarify are useless to those bashers coz they wont listen 1… the more you say the more worst lolx… show it to everyone that Proton u can do it!

• superbird #43 on Jan 14, 2014 at 4:13 pm

all that i care is that they start developing a reliable and efficient engine, be it an i6 or a v8 for the future.
    why have to stick with an i4, with displacement less than 2L? why cant they develop a 3/4 or 5L engine for our roads?
    we as working-class citizens have the right to own a car which is more powerful and of larger displacement, not just the “clowns” in the politics.

• Jonathan Lee on Jan 14, 2014 at 11:46 pm

I’m afraid that would be a bad decision, especially as the rest of the industry continues the downward trend in terms of engine displacement. You’d have to climb very high up even BMW’s lineup to find anything bigger than two litres and four cylinders.

As a manufacturer producing cars primarily aimed at families, Proton doesn’t need anything more than four cylinders. What they need to do right now is make their engines more powerful and more efficient; today’s CFE engine uses up a lot of fuel for the amount of horsepower they make.

• Lee Kuan You Know I'm Da'Man on Jan 14, 2014 at 4:20 pm

teman ingat teman nak masuk Proton la, bila teman jadi bos teman nak amik kwn2 teman yg kuat bash ni. Teman nak tengok hebat mana kwn2 teman ni buat kerja. Teman tgk kawan2 teman yg pelbagai bangsa sembangnye punya la high class itu ini. Macam seronok klau dapat bekerjasama dgn you all. I hope my dream will come true. hahaha

• imgee on Jan 14, 2014 at 4:40 pm

Diorang yang duk bash ni sembang je lebat, time buat keje pemalas dan tak reti. Reti bash orang lain je, kekekekekekekekek

• Jonathan Lee on Jan 14, 2014 at 4:35 pm

It’s understandable, the whole rebadging exercise: building cars is formidably expensive, and sometimes the returns of the models required to fill in holes in Proton’s lineup doesn’t justify the cost of building them from the ground up. What’s most important is that the cars that they do build in-house continue to improve. The cars they build now are decent for the local market, but they still have a long, long road ahead if they want to actually put up a fight internationally.

• Sam Loo on Jan 14, 2014 at 4:45 pm

Yeah, once crony 1 steps down, crony 2 will step in.

Can’t wait to laugh at Inokom Sonatadana in a few years

• iVincent on Jan 14, 2014 at 4:54 pm

better re-badge than simply design a new “proton kangkung” with lower price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Not daddy's son on Jan 14, 2014 at 4:56 pm

I rather avoid all Honda models. There are so many brands in Malaysia why take the risks. All the Accord owners looked so stuuppiiddd

• Wht is proton????

• Buy the car if u like the brand. If not just shy away. Let market force decides

• kadajawi on Jan 14, 2014 at 5:12 pm

All car makers, including the Japanese, including Mercedes and even Aston Martin rebadge. So Mercedes don’t know how to make a car? That’s stupid. You rebadge when it doesn’t make sense to develop your own model. That is very expensive, and if sales figures aren’t going to cover the investment there is no point investing a lot.

• z79801 on Jan 14, 2014 at 5:24 pm

this is my one and only entertainment site, the comment section in paultan…

• janice on Jan 14, 2014 at 5:31 pm

LOL, these Jokers must stop this Proton crap shitbox development and just follow Singapore’s method.Just abolish the useless vehicle taxes upon malaysians,import all the JDM’s into malaysia.Malaysian’s seem to Worship Jap cars more than Korean Kimchi’s (Pui Sam Loo!!!)Settle Case!!(Coming in another millenium for this nation).WTS with their useless statement?Need to read more news in topgear and caranddriver.Wake Up bastards!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • halimpreve on Jan 14, 2014 at 5:47 pm

From day 1, that is since the 70s, 80s I finally started to appreciate Malaysian initiative in engineering. I purchase Perodua Kenari year 2000 – clock almost 400,000 km! of today. Bought a Preve last year. Saying about bad and good is everybody right. At least give credit and suggestions what you would do. Travel elsewhere and see how challenging to master and survive the automotive industry of any country on this planet. Can learn from many success stories from Germans, Japanese, Korean and now China? Its a hard deal.. I was in Sudan & Uzbekistan where global auto players want to follow our model. hmmm too much to say here. Its a global game. I am confident to backup Proton. The brand itself can survive. I am ordering the next new model with my eye close. Good Luck fellas

• why asking for more rebadge of hondas? i dont fancy honda. boring design n charctristic

• mael lambung on Jan 14, 2014 at 6:10 pm

Lantak ler org nak kate ape with this my opinion…Why people like to say tutuplah proton then kuragkn tax?? kalau nak tutup worker anak bini diorag nak makan ape ler,,nk makan kangkung?? pastu tax, itu government punye keje lah tutup mane pon proton sama jew lagi tax naik lagiler..hang kasi pikiaq le panjang2..bagi aku ade baguih jugak proton tak wat rebadge sekurangnye ade ler jugak nampak hasil engineer tempatan wat kuar engine sdiri,,nak pikiaq nak kuar engine sebiijik ingat senang ke woi apatah lagi nak wat sebijik kete ag..event aq bukan worker proton tapi kite sebagai rakyat tempatan tak gune gak duk pong pang bash sana sini..kite tgok sejauh mane pentadbiran drb buat kat proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
  • darkermarker on Jan 14, 2014 at 7:16 pm

Talk is cheap lah these days.

I could simply make a statement that I will open up a super car factory that will rival, and even obliterate Zonda. Nest year, I will challenge Lamborgini pulak.

Even the Malaysian PM doesn’t walk the talk. After promise this and that before GE. Reduce and control of prices.
    What happened now??

Cakap tak serupa bikin.

• problem major buat xnampak..kangkung tepi paya nampak pulak..

• anonymous1 on Jan 14, 2014 at 7:30 pm

Can any marketing guys explain why proton has so many models within the same segment:
    Preve vs. Persona vs. Inspira

Aren’t these 3 models canabalizing their own market??
    Does any other manufacturer have different model within the same segment in the same market?

I guess they have woken up when they came up with Persona SV.

• passerby00 on Jan 14, 2014 at 7:42 pm

what is so wrong with rebadging? you can’t satisfy everyone’s creed right? i will be happy to drive a rebadge model with a cheaper and bigger price difference too. why? higher local content why should we pay more for the same?

• kpgboi on Jan 14, 2014 at 7:49 pm

Can’t stop laughing at ur comments.. u guys rock!

• jeff wong on Jan 14, 2014 at 7:51 pm

Reminder, proton is now privately owned, why support ? Think before u buy.

• wongok on Jan 15, 2014 at 12:18 am

You are not Malaysian to support Malaysian goods? Then who you are?

• jeff wong on Jan 14, 2014 at 7:55 pm

As long as proton cannot sell in the open market, they cannot survive. Sure die !

• jeff wong on Jan 14, 2014 at 7:57 pm

Wake up. Malaysian.

• i once own a proton when i first start working due to cant afford other brand.
    i work really hard and eventually afford my second car which is non proton (japanese).
    after that i never look back.
    my third and fourth car is conti.
    i think a lot of people out there do like me and many of them still in struggle to get rid of proton or perodua.
    this is our dream.
    coz we are “forced” to buy proton as our first car.
    it is such humiliating to drive a proton whether you agreed or not.
    it is not because the proton car is very bad or lousy, as it has improved much over the years.
    it is because driving a proton directly or indirectly show you cannot afford other brand.
    basically you have no choice, then you drive proton.
    you could have own a civic, altis, even jetta; why you just sit inside that pathetic preve and tell everybody that:this car is fully loaded with value, i really the smart guy to own it. but deep inside you, you know you just only can afford preve.
    you have no freedom to choose.
    those already free themselves to be able to make choice wont look back on proton.
    proton have taken away most malaysian the freedom to make their choice on car.
    that is why a lot malaysian hate proton.our right is violated.
    i believe if the current proton owner was given the choice for similar segment from other brands, most will not choose proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
    • jdmfansi on Jan 15, 2014 at 2:28 am

Your comment really hit those inspira owner face with baseball bat. hahaha. Through forum they keep telling people how smart they are. But deep down in heart a lot actually feel malu and that’s why removed the thundercat logo or changed to diamond.

• This guy’s comment surely hit the spot… at least represent a certain kind of mentality for most of middle class guys who cannot afford or achieved higher standard of living in society. They need to blame something to ease their desire/heart and in this case, the victim is proton.

Example:
      “coz we are “forced” to buy proton as our first car.” “it is such humiliating to drive a proton whether you agreed or not.””it is because driving a proton directly or indirectly show you cannot afford other brand.”

• I’d rather seen driving in proton than die in accident coz lack of safety features in Jap cars

• jeff wong on Jan 14, 2014 at 8:01 pm

No more rebadge Potong will die faster as cost of building a brand new is high unless u plan to sell the car to the world just like Korean car manufacturers.

• it is good that proton is improving.
    it is also not too bad if the proton still the same like 20 years ago.
    really not bother whether they are rotten or excel.
    but the worst is why the car that i want to buy is 40% to 50 % more expensive than it suppose to be?
    you tell me not to blame proton but the gov.
    but you know all this crap happen because proton.
    if the proton car is good and ANCAP 5 stars, make it as a fair market and let the consumer to decide the car that want.
    if the proton car is crapy, just slash the price.last time crapy korean car also sell at very cheap price. now they are better,more confident, they raise the price.it is fair.
    dont decide what the car malaysian should drive.
    we decide!

• embry on Jan 14, 2014 at 10:47 pm

Because of proton? Shut down proton and the high tax remains. What say you?

• z79801 on Jan 14, 2014 at 8:59 pm

We have never ask to shut down proton, but wat we ask is for proton to play it fair and square, we have been spoiling proton for far too long now, it’s not that we don’t support proton it’s just that we just can’t take it anymore, it’s not like they dont make any improvement, they do but it’s just not enough to compensate the time, money, and patient that we have given.

People can only excel when they r put under a lot of pressure that is how we human being evolved and succeeded, so for the sake of having a nice car, loved by everyone we should just let them play it fair and square.

And by fair and square I mean by reducing the tax on cars for a certain period of time whenever proton launch a new model to see how good is their car compared to others. I know this may sound stupid but for the sake of having a better future I say y not?

I need to elaborate more about this radical idea of mine but I’d like to see what do people think about this, instead of bashing proton for the sheer fun of it why not we bash and in the same time throw out an idea for them.. a positive and negative encouragement..

• just shut it down and safe our life..

• Are you sure saving life? Japs cars here under 100k are moving coffin. 2 airbags without VSC. Better keep proton alive.

• Joseph on Jan 14, 2014 at 9:28 pm

The proton cfe engine has improve a lot in term of house power and toque . This is a one of the best improve for proton. For me l still don,t want to buy proton yet why because the fuel consumption still very high is around 9.8 litter per 100km. If the proton can make it around 6.7 litter per 100km l will consider to buy proton again. Most of their 1.6litter turbo car the fuel comsumption around 6 until 6.9 litter per 100km. If proton ppl around here please keep notices. One more question why turbo engine plug in cvt gear box. Most of the turbo engine is using speed gear not cvt. of course not doubt the proton prevve and suprima the design is very pretty ,handing is super and safety also improve a lot . Is a very good car.

• They stated “9.9L/100km” just to play safe. If you really drive one like you drive a Myvi/Vios, you can get 7L/100km easily. EASILY. As long as you can hold yourself from mashing the pedal for epic boost.

Turbo + CVT does work really well. DCTs are for track junkies (unreliable too).

• hohaho on Jan 14, 2014 at 9:30 pm

It’s just a politically correct statement. In truth, proton need to sell a honda based car bcos this is the only way to sell proton cars that are mass accepted by the public.

People with the budget n means would not consider buying a proton unless it is a re badged like this Accordana.

If it is a pure proton model, most would rather buy a perodua.

• Kah_Meng88 on Jan 14, 2014 at 9:34 pm

Maybe Proton is using the platform to acquire skills that can improve its built quality. Accordana is just to secure the government contract that provides additional fund for Proton to invest in its R&D.

• mossi on Jan 14, 2014 at 10:06 pm

will the Global Small Car is not re-badge from any other car?

• Cakap pandai la.kalau pandai sangat become proton adviser la. bising2 di sini waste time only.

• mystvearn on Jan 14, 2014 at 11:06 pm

I may one of the very few who actually thinks this statement is counter productive to Proton’s future given the cost needed to make low-volume cost vehicles. It is always better to rebadge cars which are not going to sell a lot. Satria Neo already 8 years, no replacement in sight for now. Maybe after the new city car.

• chauffeur on Jan 15, 2014 at 12:08 am

This a bad PR. Marketing team just don’t know how tackle the ‘expert’ out there and they make a Chairman make this sort of statement. I just hope Proton doesn’t have to lick their own spit in the future.

• RUSure on Jan 14, 2014 at 11:13 pm

Did I read it correctly?
    “platform-sharing agreement between two brands” as in one brand already using a new platform and the support sharing partner get a 2003 platform. I think that is a decade if I count correctly.

• Who cares if decade. The mods are major, most parts won’tbe same as ori

• RUSure on Jan 15, 2014 at 1:03 am

The major mods that you are thinking of is just cosmetic or features. If you dun mind paying market rate for some decade of technology and safety of 2003, then that is just the car for you.

• Cosmetic? I think you dun read the whole article.

Read it again.

• RUSure on Jan 16, 2014 at 1:52 am

“a “larger degree of differentiation” to create more visual distance between it and the vehicle it’s based on. As such, while hidden components will most likely be kept the same, the car’s exterior and interior will be unique to Proton”

Dun make me laugh, if they gonna change anything on the platform might as well create a new platform.

• jeff wong on Jan 14, 2014 at 11:33 pm

Only no choice ppl will buy proton. If given a choice : same car , same price, who want proton ?

• huhhg on Jan 15, 2014 at 12:12 am

Preve vs…

Civic? SOHC engine, no!
      Altis? Outdated interior, torsion beam, no!
      Mazda3? Underpowered, omitted features, no!
      Forte/Cerato? Maintenance / spare parts availability, no!
      Focus, Pug? Reliability, no!

I choose Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • b sensible on Jan 14, 2014 at 11:40 pm

proton need to find its niche. they should move away from low budget mass production car. they should go somewhere not so high tech but able to satisfy most buyers. they should also ditch the compact models as the market is over saturated (too crowded like to space to breathe).
    one thing they should aim is mpv. yes they should make the mpv better. packaged in 4wd as you know in msia, the roads are hilly & winding. so need better handling. also the b-road have holes you need extra wheels to cushion the impact! make 6 airbags a standard due to high accident rate. include navi as msians travel in group throughout the country. apart from that, include more variants i.e. petrol, ngv, diesel, hyrbid, 1.6l, 2.0l, 2.0l turbocharged. besides they can hv van version to cater for commercial use. taxi version is also possible with modification on the seating configuration for passenger comfort. minivan might be possible to cater for superstars like andy lau.
    sometimes in having too many models like compact, sedan result in offering too many incentives to attract sales. it should be more niche focus-to deliver the right product to the right customers!

• funny ppl on Jan 15, 2014 at 11:14 am

what ever they do, they will be bashed. no doubt about that.

• Low Budget on Jan 15, 2014 at 12:50 pm

Until the foreigners start praising the quality of Protons and start buying it in droves. If not most Malaysians will bash Proton till end of time.

• at last someone with brain… good one b sensible..

• pearjai on Jan 15, 2014 at 12:54 am

Proton promise just like bn promise ! junk product made by cronies…..even cronies dont use proton !

• ambekau on Jan 15, 2014 at 1:25 am

Haha… think twice before buying this car…
    “As such, while hidden components will most likely be kept the same, the car’s exterior and interior will be unique to Proton.

Proton car with Honda (Accord) maintenance price!
    Hah!! Ambik Kau!!

• Superman on Jan 15, 2014 at 7:54 am

A lawyer and an accountant trying to be car specialists. What a joke!! All drb did so far is to open CKD boxes of other cars and out them together and if they do any thing wrong they get based by the principal company. Now they have proton they try to be car makers. Instead of laying off the proton engineers and replacing them with alam flora ppl and not letting proper talent to work in proton you have no chance to survive. Imagine if we were in japan, proton would have been closed down in days. Instead of making all these claims go and hire some proper professionals from overseas or local or at least bring back some of the talented people whom you fired so proton can start new. Drb is nothing but ego and show off.

• spiderman on Jan 15, 2014 at 11:16 pm

So what, there are billionaires from school/uni dropouts. Maybe you are not a multi-talented guy who cannot get praises for what you have done, because you know to do only one or two things while others can do many things. Get a life dude and never quit learning.

• Superman on Jan 16, 2014 at 7:28 am

Actually I’m fine and have a good living. Studied hard and worked hard. I know proton for 18 years now and they never grow due to politics and mis management. Drb is a political company looking to take whatever they can and when the screw up they try to cover it or blame it on others. Every billionaire drop out in the world had a dream and someone who invested in it. Will drb guys do it? I know many talented ex proton staff who were forced to leave and immediately we’re hired by other companies. Why bcz they believe in them. One day proton will be empty of talent and alam flora ppl will run it.

• You’ve nailed it, Superman. A former Alam Flora guy is now head of marketing for lotus cars in M’sia! Good luck…

• Proton could have been a successful car manufacturer if not for its inconsistency – direction wise, policy wise, management wise. I think I’ve mentioned this before – Proton is best owned by individuals who really love making car, full stop.

• Jaguh Kangkung on Jan 15, 2014 at 9:28 am

No more rebadging in the near future?

Joke of the century.

• I am sure they will rebadge people also. they may bring people from Europe and rebadge them as Locals.

• Denaihati on Jan 15, 2014 at 9:36 am

hope it will happen with better quality, safety and reliability. and doesn’t mean rebadging is bad. give us value for money. good luck proton.

• doohhh on Jan 15, 2014 at 10:55 am

no more kangkung car in the near future!!!

• sah_dah_kena on Jan 15, 2014 at 11:40 am

hahha protonfag dah terkena taik kat muka sendiri

• tok_kok on Jan 15, 2014 at 6:11 pm

Aiyo Proton chairman .. don’t tok kok lah..

• IloveProton on Jan 16, 2014 at 10:11 am

Paultan 23/07/2013: Government to replace Proton Perdana Executive and Inspira official cars with Honda Accord 2.4 and 2.0 .The Ministry of Finance in a memo dated July 29, addressed to all relevant government agencies.
    The Star 18/09/2013: PETALING JAYA: The Federal Government has opted for the Perdana Replacement Model (PRM), reversing a plan to replace its ageing fleet of Proton Perdana Executive cars with the Honda Accord.
    Do u smell something? To introduce an OLD Accord with cosmetic change is merely a business decision to secure $$$ rather than to develop a new Proton Perdana. Do remember Honda and Proton is now under DRB Hicom. Believe me or not, most Malaysian would appreciate if Proton do nothing (maybe only badge) on Honda Accord.

• Jbonr on Jan 16, 2014 at 1:14 pm

I actually think this Acordana looks nice. But I would prefer it to have a Honda badge. :-D

• I heard some of mechanics doesn’t recommend buying 2.4L Hondas. Hmm….I wonder why loh

• proton on Jul 13, 2015 at 11:16 am

GIMIC la…scared honda second hand price will drop value only. There is nothing to be shamed of if honda cars dropped value. =)
    To those honda owners, VERY GOOD (in bad way), dont always dream that honda accord will look like a expensive car to you all, if you own one. ITS A CHEAP CAR….o0o

• Standard Proton boleh simpankan janji kat bilik cleaner tandas jelah.

Yang nak percaya janji-janji Proton ni fanboy yang tidak pijak di bumi yang nyata sahaja.