Volkswagen Beetle Dune concept debuts in Detroit

volkswagen-beetle-dune-concept-unveiled-1

How does the idea of a rugged, off-road Bug strike you? Well, imagine no longer – the Volkswagen Beetle Dune concept has made its debut at the ongoing 2014 NAIAS in Detroit.

Even before we start throwing some numbers at you, you can see it’s bigger all-round than the standard Beetle, and it is – being 4,290 mm long, 1,856 mm wide and 1,536 mm tall, the Dune is 12 mm longer, 48 mm wider and 50 mm taller.

Track width’s also gone up by 29 mm to 1,607 mm up front and 1,573 mm out back, and filling up those two-part extended wheel arches are 19-inch alloys shod in 255/45 series rubber. Bridging the two wheel arches are a brushed aluminium sill panel into which a chrome-plated protective underbody panel sits.

The face gets a redesigned bumper with a black honeycomb intake flanked by trapezoidal inserts that incorporate semi-circular fog lamps and slim indicators, both LED. Although it doesn’t seem so, the bonnet is more bulbous – the middle has been raised, and there are air vents on each side.

Round the back, there’s a reworked bumper and not one, but two spoilers. The one on the roof doubles up as a ski-rack (for sand skis as well as snow skis, in case you were wondering). That smart yellow-orange metallic paint’s called ‘Arizona’.

The interior’s largely familiar from the production car, but with a passenger grab-handle in place of the ‘Beetle box’. The middle of the dash is dominated by a high-res 7.7-inch touch-screen.

Back in January 2000, Volkswagen premiered the New Beetle Dune concept premiered in Los Angeles. While that was far from a production possibility, the Beetle Dune is very much based on the current production model, using the same 2.0 TSI engine with 210 PS and a six-speed DSG. And there’s an XDS electronic diff lock, too.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• BMW Fanboi on Jan 14, 2014 at 6:16 pm

Woi, make a proper working DSG for everyday normal usage firstlah. All this other things want to do but their own basic transmission also cannot work properly. Johhh….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 20
    • Merc Fan Boi on Jan 14, 2014 at 11:58 pm

There goes another jealous BMW fan since VW became top selling European car in Malaysia in 2012 and 2013, beating BMW for the very first time

• This car will have the same DSG problems as thousands of Malaysians having. Sure to breakdown. Sampai recall pun tak boleh selesai sebab semua DSG rosak gila

• ‘How does the idea of a rugged, off-road Bug strike you? ‘

The idea of an off-road, 4WD bug is actually from 1940 (type 82E, type 92 SS) ;)

http://www.whq-forum.de/cms/uploads/pics/kommandeurwagen-2.jpg

• tok_kok2 on Jan 14, 2014 at 7:00 pm

Pls stay away from VW if it comes with a DSG gearbox!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 25
  • AutoFrenz on Jan 14, 2014 at 7:59 pm

Very sporty indeed…in fact beetle should become a stand alone model just like mini…so that we can expect more variants ala mini like beetle countryman, beetle paceman, beetle clubman, beetle coupe, beetle shooting brake and of course beetle sedan apart from the standard beetle…hows that…anyone…hello…

• motorhead on Jan 14, 2014 at 9:00 pm

Amazing!! But price sure amazing too if reach NAPland.

• Leng Chong on Jan 14, 2014 at 11:03 pm

Have a look at Volkswagen Malaysia’s Facebook. You would not want to own a VW even the price is cheaper than Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 19
    • BMW Fanboi on Jan 14, 2014 at 11:31 pm

Exactly. VW’s FB page is filled with complains from real people FB account with hundreds of friends for each profile. Please know the truth and don’t listen to the VW salesman in this forum saying it has been solved. The DSG 2012, 2013, 2014 all fall into the same category :
      Drivetrain Selalu Gagal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
      • VW Owner on Jan 15, 2014 at 8:25 am

There is no DSG problem in 2013. It was only up to 2011. But so fixed their 2011 problems in 2012. So it looked like it went on, but actually it ended. All new DSG transmissions from 2012 onwards had their electronics fixed. Now it is the best gearbox money can buy

• Do you believe everything on Facebook? If you do, then you are going to be taken for a ride by fake people. There are a lot of them in cyberspace.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • motorhead on Jan 15, 2014 at 10:29 am

Are VW salesman? Go to Myvi fb.. Any.. Just choose any, see their comments.. I never saw anything like VW fb.. Loads complaints.. Most of them are owners.. Waste energy & anger there for what? For fun? Prrfftt.. Come on lah.. We are not kids..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • roxas on Jan 14, 2014 at 11:39 pm

lol…just went into VW malaysia FB, all complaint only. lol. those owner so babi la tot sendiri drive german, but problem banyak ! my kimchi is better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
  • motorhead on Jan 15, 2014 at 8:46 am

Fortunately my Myvi Dune superior with VW dune.. Loads with problem.. After 110km just ve clutch plate change.. Changed brand new Daihatsu stuffs.. Just cost me 1k complete set.. My car like new… Now 130km.. Still using ori parts for 6 years.. Glad also I didn’t buy VW.. Go Daihatsu.. Banzai.. Nippon rock.. Sorry for all VW owners.. Just don’t go suicidal ok?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • After 110km only you already had to change the clutch? “Banzai.. Nippon rock”? :D

• motorhead on Jan 15, 2014 at 9:49 pm

Ooop.. Typo.. My bad.. 110,000km.. Forgot to put three more zero.. It was still ok.. But abit stiff.. I changed anyway.. Now 130,000km & beyondddd… Haha..

• petrolhead on Jan 15, 2014 at 5:03 pm

Despite all that you say, people still buying more VW than any other European car. Why do you think this is so? I wont tell you the reason, but if you are smart, you will know what it is. By then, you qualify to be a VW owner like the rest of us.

• motorhead on Jan 15, 2014 at 9:53 pm

Yeah2.. Go go.. Buy lah.. I like to read all the people suffering in VW fb.. Some of them suicidal… Quite interesting.. I wish you ll become one of the owners too.. Please go ahead make your day & my day.. No offense.. I ll be happy you buy it too..

• sharon on Jan 16, 2014 at 12:05 am

You drive a MyVi and you talk about something you dont actually know? Not very intelligent aren”t you?

• motorhead on Jan 16, 2014 at 7:37 am

Yes.. I drive Myvis.. Two myvi.. A manual & auto.. & I own a vios.. Earning 6-10K… Yeah I may not so intelligent.. But I were just reading all the comments from poor VW owners in VW fb.. So poor.. Kesian.. Keleta stranded for months..

• motorhead on Jan 15, 2014 at 10:35 pm

Check out. & like. Volkswagen Malaysia Protest.. Owners or soon to be owners.. Or those like to read complaints can join.. Hehehe..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • Hey don’t be stupid la motorhead. If so many people died or injured, there would be many lawsuits by now. There are none, so stop lying or being ignorant. Go finish college first, then start earning money and buy different cars. After that compare and decide.

• motorhead on Jan 16, 2014 at 7:32 am

Stupid? Im stupid or the owners that setup the fb were stupid? They just setup the fb la moron..check yourself.. Volkswagen Malaysian Protest.. A site to counter all unanswered complaint from VW fb.

• Genuine VW Owner on Jan 16, 2014 at 3:18 pm

Motorhead – So you are not a VW owner? I am a VW owner and member of VW club with more than 1500 members. None of us have problems with our cars. Some of us did undergo the software update for the older models, but none of us have problems whatsoever.

With regards to the VW Facebook, it was discovered that there was a serious effort to undermine the VW brand here in Malaysia, as it became the best seller in less than 5 years.

Therefore, do not believe everything you read on the web, forums and online. Many of them are doing it intentionally. If you want to know more about VW’s,ask a genuine VW owner about it.

Peace!

• ponyrider on Jan 21, 2014 at 8:38 pm

Allooo.. why the need to defend car brands/manufacturers?? What do you get? No manufacturers are perfect.. sure got problem 1..!! Got money, buy la whatever you like. Rosak, hantar kedai. Ofkos.. repair cost will be proportional la to your car’s price. Where got susah? No need to beria2 defend2. Fanboi ka genuine owner ka… samhilux ka… adoii.. you never learn. Now abang pony basuh lu orang kau2! heheeh