Caltex launches Journey Card loyalty programme, teams up with BCARD – one litre = one point

Caltex Journey Card-2

Chevron Malaysia Limited (CML) officially launched the Caltex Journey Card Loyalty Programme this morning, a partnership with BLoyalty Sdn Bhd, which runs the BCARD loyalty card programme. This means that Caltex will finally have a rewards programme, joining Shell (BonusLink), Petronas (Mesra), Petron (Smiles) and BHPetrol (eCard) in offering points.

With the Journey Card, one litre of fuel will get you one BPoint. Since it is also a BCARD, you can also earn and redeem BPoints at over 65 merchants with 1,200 outlets nationwide. Brands that are under the BCARD umbrella include Starbucks, Chatime, Kenny Rogers Roasters, Papa John’s, Krispy Kreme and Wendy’s.

Caltex Journey Card-1

Buying and servicing Mazda cars at official dealerships will also net you points. Besides Berjaya Group brands, one can also earn BPoints from online retailers Zalora and Lazada, among other merchants.

BPoints accumulated can be redeemed for petrol or mart items at any Caltex station, or at any BCARD participating merchant, so you can earn points for petrol and spend it on coffee, for instance. Keeping track of your points balance can be done at BCARD and Caltex official websites, and BCARD’s smartphone app.

To start earning BPoints at Caltex, apply for a Journey Card at Caltex stations (can be used immediately) and present the card at the counter when making payment. An automated card system at the pump is in the works, so “do bear with us,” said CML chairman Jeremy Oh.

Caltex Journey Card-3

In conjunction with the Journey Card launch, there will be a “Swipe Your Way to Cardiff” contest where lucky winners will bag an all-expense paid trip to Wales to watch a Barclays Premier League match between Cardiff City and Liverpool. There are also weekly and consolation prizes to be won. This BCARD contest runs from now till February 28, and Journey Card members get 2X entries. T&Cs can be found at BCARD’s website.

In addition, the first 400 new Journey Card sign-ups at each Caltex station with a minimum purchase of RM30 (on RON97 petrol or Mart items) will receive a special gift.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• noob_pinion on Jan 15, 2014 at 5:44 pm

finally indeed…all this while caltex has been missing from all the discussion in the forums about rewards and rebates…

• abuya123 on Jan 16, 2014 at 10:06 am

Kedekut oil company. Give lah cars as presents. Earn so much money but kedekut.

• abuya123 on Jan 16, 2014 at 10:26 am

Perempuan pakai ketat sampai nampak camel toe!

• sutrak on Jan 16, 2014 at 10:54 pm

bring some cun chicks when launching your card.. if u’re not serious in getting good chicks, nobody is going to be serious about your card.

the one on the right is ok, but need to wear some sleeveless, tight top and short skirts lah.

• policeman on Jan 15, 2014 at 6:46 pm

How much points to get the one in far right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Caltex is crap petrol. Bodo punya card.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 30
  • ntah pa2 on Jan 15, 2014 at 9:10 pm

1 liter 1 point..kedekut taik idung masin punya caltex..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • OMG…this is same as Shell Bonuslink lah…1 liter = 1 point. so shell also kedekut…

• ben yap on Jan 15, 2014 at 10:18 pm

Smiles giving RM1=1 point.

Caltex is RM2.10 = 1 point.

Not attractive point system and made worst with their lack of petrol stations. will be another failure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Along on Jan 15, 2014 at 10:38 pm

B-Card… The only down side with B-card is not allowed to purchase diesel… Limited to petrol only…

But the upside, it has wider usage same as Bonus Link… Can be used at ChaTime, Wendys, Papa Johns, Kenny Rogers, Cosway, KrispyKreme, Zalora, Lazada and many more which affilated with Berjaya Holdings…

Bonuslink also give 1 L = 1 point…

Caltex is very popular in Northern States rather than in Klang Valley…

• policeman on Jan 15, 2014 at 11:02 pm

Popular in Kampung areas where people don’t know that their fuel is mixed with kerosene. That’s why you get bad mileage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • Liliyth on Jan 15, 2014 at 10:39 pm

By far from now with comparison to Smile card & also the calculation of reward point, smile card wins hand down but the bcard have wide variety of merchants to collect points.
    If u’re a frequent user of their merchant, grab it else if it’s for petrol, not worthy.

• Along on Jan 15, 2014 at 10:53 pm

It will be a huge hit especially on the Northern states (Perak, Penang, Kelantan, Kedah and Perlis) where Caltex are more common sight than other brands… It will boom in Klang Valley…

B-Card having quite wide usage than Bonuslink since so B-Card are allowed to collect points at eateries (which Bonuslink don’t have)… B-Card can collect points at ChaTime, Starbucks, Wendys, Papa Johns, Kenny Rogers and many more Berjaya affilated…

• Along on Jan 15, 2014 at 11:03 pm

Petron Smiles and BHP eCard which RM 1 = 1 point… Shell Bonuslink, Caltex B-Card and Petronas Mesra which 1L = 1 point…

For me, least worth to have is Petronas Mesra points because can only use in Petronas (RM 10 fuel free for 1000 points = 1000 litres but can purchase anything from Kedai Mesra RM 1 = 1 point)… Bonuslink have expiry points if never redeemed for 3 years…

• Mr Mac on Jan 16, 2014 at 12:58 pm

I might consider switching my loyalty towards Caltex after I have determined these factors: Mesra card have expiry date…I lost almost 2000++ points as I thought Petronas Mesra has no expiry dates for the points collected. Ya lor…it was hard la for me to accumulate 1000++ points in short period looking I commute to work with kapchai.

I was comfortable with Smiles card from Esso/Mobil before but I have stopped when Petron bought it over. I no support Crony son. haha!!

so choices left are Shell and Caltex. Shell is tied up with bonuslink and duhhh!! Cannot redeem fuel with bonuslink as far as I have researched. only selected shell stations . To accumulate thousands of points to redeem from Bonuslink? Forget about it! it takes forever and it is much more expensive than buying the same thing CASH!

Caltex might be addressing all these unsatisfying loyalty cards from other petrol brands. Most importantly for — [PETRONAS Mesra people please take note] …. dont impose expiry date la dei!! ok? people will run to other alternatives. BCard should be alert on this…

• Passerby on Jan 15, 2014 at 11:04 pm

i welcome this move as myself only fill in caltex… shell sucks while petronas, petron and bhp is belongs to cronies which i ban using their products…

• Passerby on Jan 15, 2014 at 11:05 pm

i welcome this move as myself only fill in caltex… shell sucks while petronas, petron and bhp is belongs to cronies which i ban using their products…

• fatchicken on Jan 16, 2014 at 12:16 am

why shell sucks? pls share why. why cronies petrol no good? why? pls tell us why.

• Haiyah, itu Vincent Tan/Berjaya crony oso maaa.You wanna ban your car move using water leh?

• Nissan on Jan 16, 2014 at 12:15 am

i have a Dragon-i BCARD. Can i collect point at Caltex with that card? or need to apply another Journey Bcard? so many cards nowadays.

• GT-Rider on Jan 16, 2014 at 9:52 am

yes can use it. jus make sure u go for the one with dragon shape nozzles.

• motorhead on Jan 16, 2014 at 8:08 am

Caltex? Smooth.. Yes.. But lack of power.. Need more kick like BHP.. 800ppm or Petronas also not bad.. Put more additives in your petrol caltex.

• Why not in Sarawak?? We only have lousy shell, petronas and unknown Xcel here

• stiff on Jan 20, 2014 at 3:05 pm

Nissan yes you can use your Dragon-i bcard at Caltex. As long as it’s bcard, you can use it.

• yohan on Feb 09, 2015 at 11:32 am

BPoints Expiry
    Points Expiry Date Status
    6 30 Jan 2018 Active
    23 07 Feb 2018 Active

so, whats up with these expiry dates :(