Kia GT4 Stinger Concept – rear-driven 2+2 sports car

Kia GT4 Stinger-07

No more teasers, the Kia GT4 Stinger Concept has made its debut at NAIAS 2014 in Detroit. Penned by Kia’s California design team, the Stinger is a rear-wheel-drive 2+2 sports car.

“It’s an authentic 2+2 sports car that can turn heads as a daily driver while also being right at home on the track. It’s about purity, simplicity and timelessness. The GT4 Stinger is a throwback to days when driving a car was a visceral experience that wasn’t muted by electronic gimmickry,” explained Tom Kearns, chief designer at Kia Design Center America.

Kia approached the GT4 Stinger project with an eye toward weight reduction, functionality and driving enjoyment. “If anyone were to ask if Kia has the credibility to build a car like the GT4 Stinger, I would simply point out that Kia races – and wins – against some of the world’s most legendary performance brands,” Kearns stressed.

Kia GT4 Stinger-12

Kia Racing and partner Kinetic Motorsports captured the Grand-Am Continental Tire Sports Car Challenge Drivers and Team Championships in 2012 with the Forte Koup and are currently preparing the turbocharged Optimas for their third season of duty in the Pirelli World Challenge in 2014 following a second-place finish in the Manufacturer’s Championship in 2013.

Under the Stinger’s hood is a tuned version of Kia’s 2.0 turbocharged direct injection four-pot with 315 hp, the same engine that pushes out over 400 hp in the race Optima. The T-GDI is mated to a close-ratio six-speed manual gearbox driving the rear wheels, which are wrapped in 275/35 Pirelli P-Zero tyres.

Custom 20-inch aluminium centre-lock wheels feature carbon fibre inserts for strength and weight reduction. Tucked inside the massive wheels are Brembo Gran Turismo two-piece 15-inch cross-drilled rotors and four-piston calipers.

With a shorter wheelbase and overall length than a Cerato, width greater than a Cadenza, and a swooping roofline nearly nine inches lower than a Rio’s, the “Ignition Yellow” coupe’s proportions are spot on. Maybe it’s time for Kia to come up with a proper sports car, with this as inspiration.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Hadi75 on Jan 15, 2014 at 9:55 am

Looks like american muscle car to me…..but the again it was design there……

• Chris on Jan 15, 2014 at 10:57 am

You know how we usually stereotype one car design to a specific region? American, European, or Asian?

No matter how I look at it, this car has a little bit of all. Korean? Bukan.. German? Bukan.. American muscle? Bukan…

A world car?

• i like the headlight…it can become fog lamp at same time..very clean design

• Hadi75 on Jan 15, 2014 at 9:55 am

Looks like american muscle car to me…..but the again it was design there……

• Joe Radzif on Jan 15, 2014 at 9:57 am

Still waiting Proton to do like this…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • takNakP1 on Jan 15, 2014 at 11:04 am

not even in far future. far future re-badge will happen again because no re-badge in for near future.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • thedarkside on Jan 15, 2014 at 10:04 am

very neat design both in and out

• Denaihati on Jan 15, 2014 at 11:25 am

very awesome, look like can compete with big brand.

• dewaSemut on Jan 15, 2014 at 11:45 am

To those who said this car is a R8 rip-off earlier.. well see for yourself lah… :)

• Obviously on Jan 15, 2014 at 12:32 pm

Interesting design sentiment…the headlights appear more like the fog lamp/daytime running light housings so (to me) the car looks like it has no eyes.

A blind car?!

• Hyundai De La Junk on Jan 15, 2014 at 1:04 pm

Good one, Kereta Buta…lol

Rubbish design, the rear ligh look like copying Protong Tuah Concept, A pillar look like those cheapo carbon look alike sticker which can get from Bros Accs Shop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 28
  • Black Dog on Jan 15, 2014 at 12:47 pm

“If anyone were to ask if Kia has the credibility to build a car like the GT4 Stinger, I would simply point out that Kia races – and wins – against some of the world’s most legendary performance brands,”

Eat your heart out, Sam Loo!

• ss427 on Jan 15, 2014 at 1:28 pm

Sam would prob say this GT4 has no resale value again :(
      duh!

• mentari-o-korea on Jan 15, 2014 at 1:57 pm

Momma mia!!!

• my first expression, ufghh.. my heart pounded fast at first sight… hmm waiting for proton to give the same effect on me in the future..

• brownkids on Jan 15, 2014 at 2:58 pm

freaking ugly~
    well beauty is in the eye of the beholder…

• shaun on Jan 15, 2014 at 3:46 pm

Would like to see it in production

• abcde on Jan 15, 2014 at 5:30 pm

its a huge and fast evolvement from KIA..
    while ours is still with facelifting such Alza, myvis..sick of it

proton and perodua can go eat kangkung

• Maseratits on Jan 15, 2014 at 6:18 pm

nice car but my fat ass can’t fit in the back seat of this shit

• riario on Jan 15, 2014 at 6:30 pm

Perodua and proton kangkung goreng belacan mayak sodap loo , kasi itu sam loo kurang pedas.

• Simple, clean, stunning…..In other words an awesome looking car, and contrary to many, I like the lower housing of lights…it looks unique and differet. A 315hp 4-pot front, manual in the middle and drive at the back, long hood, short tail, those are a recipe for a driver-centric car and I do hope Kia makes it, its just too awesome to ignore.

• Karl Tan on Jan 15, 2014 at 11:36 pm

Toyota GT-86 and Subaru BRZ is getting owned of they don’t tuned up their ponies…lol

• mizuru on Jan 16, 2014 at 4:45 am

FAILED ATTEMPT TO PLAGIARISED THE DESIGN FROM AMERICAN MUSCLE CAR.NO DISTINCT STYLING, A FUGAZZI.ONLY THE FRONT GRILL AND THE BADGE TO DIFFERENTIATE THEM.COME ON, ALL THOSE HYPE AND THIS IS WHAT THEY HAVE TO SHOW FOR?

• disgruntledBMWowner on Jan 17, 2014 at 4:08 pm

I will buy this. Looks awesome. Kia must come out an exclusive brand under their umbrella for a car like this like Lexus under toyota. I suggest KarvIAr